728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Lighting Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 ft. LED Lighting Strip Indoor/Outdoor Extension Kit

8 ft. LED Lighting Strip Indoor/Outdoor Extension Kit

The easiest and most versatile water resistant linear LED lighting product that can be easily customized to suit any indoor or outdoor task and accent lighting application. CabLED can be cut and reconnected in 7 in. increments and supports a complete line of accessories, connectors and mounting hardware. CabLED linear LED lighting strips last 35,000 hours and provide over 68 lumens per foot of light output. The kit includes an 8 ft. LED Indoor or Outdoor Lighting Strip, (2) 4 in. Jumper Cables, and (1) End Cap. The kit will require the 18-Watt Power Supply (180-A2418W-US-A1) and Power Supply Connector (Model # 300-C8KOPS-A0-A1) that are sold separately.
Overall rating:
3.846 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product10 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product10 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for 8 ft. LED Lighting Strip Indoor/Outdoor Extension Kit
Review 1 for 8 ft. LED Lighting Strip Indoor/Outdoor Extension Kit
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value, Would recommend to others but read on ...

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After finally getting the strip lighting installed I am very pleased. I bought the started kit from HD, installed the transformer and dimmer and the 6 foot section that came with the kit. I needed a total of 14 feet so I ordered the 8 foot extension and a coupler on line. After connecting the 8 foot section I stepped back and noticed the two sections were two different colors - obviously I wasn't happy. The 6 foot was a brighter blue, the 8 foot a softer white. Another reviewer had the same issue.
I contacted Cabled tech support - first tier support not much help - eventually they gave me a phone number at the manufacturer. The girl was very helpful and she shipped me a 14 foot section at no cost. I replaced the other two sections with this section and it looks great. I priced up puck lighting on line and it came to over $300. I invested $125 in the Cabled strip lighting and am very pleased - even after the different color issue. Installation can be a little tricky - make sure the ends are square and insert lighting strip well into the connector before crimping. I had to redo the crimp a few times. My recommendation to HD is stock more of the parts! The starter kit is all you can buy in the store. Having to order the rest online turns a one weekend project into two weekends.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 ft. LED Lighting Strip Indoor/Outdoor Extension Kit
from Cedartown
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy too install great product! Would use again and again
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 ft. LED Lighting Strip Indoor/Outdoor Extension Kit
from Knoxville, IA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this product, my only complaint that it needs to come with the power supply and channel brackets, like the 6' kit. Need more kits that have everything included besides the extension kits.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 ft. LED Lighting Strip Indoor/Outdoor Extension Kit
from Florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great look, customer service required to get tone match with starter ki

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I did see the potential for the problem I encountered mentioned in another review so it does exist and customer service did take care of it for me but it did cost me shipping to Optiled to get the resolution. Problem is starter kit light tone (warm) did not match extension kit (bright) and is quite obvious in a continuous undercounter installation. Had to return the parts to get a single run of same light tone, they did ship the bright version as I requested. Only reason I give it a 4 was for the hassle, it's great looking and otherwise deserves a 5 they just need to get their act together on the light tones so they do not put customers through the hassle.Thank you customer service !
Pros: Well Made, Looks Great
Cons: mismatch on light tone with starter kit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 ft. LED Lighting Strip Indoor/Outdoor Extension Kit
from TEXAS
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very difficult to assemble

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very difficult to assemble. Additional parts not available at local store.Directions unclear.Expensive. Look great once all assembly issues are over come.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, expensive
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 ft. LED Lighting Strip Indoor/Outdoor Extension Kit

This product is great for under cabinet lighting.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This a great product to either showcase your kitchen cabinets or a new countertop with great dimmable lighting.
Pros: Functional, Unique, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 ft. LED Lighting Strip Indoor/Outdoor Extension Kit
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Lighting Addition to Kitchen

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great addition to a starter kit that I purchased in the store. It is a great undercounter light source for my kitchen remodel..
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 ft. LED Lighting Strip Indoor/Outdoor Extension Kit
from Hutchinson Island, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expensive, but the look and ease of installation make it worth the investment. Remember, you get what you pay for.

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The lights have adjustments that can be used to create the mood needed for any occasion. They are extremely simple to install and the final product looks very professional.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
Cons: expensive
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 ft. LED Lighting Strip Indoor/Outdoor Extension Kit
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't forget to order Power Supply Connector (or hard wire)

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
CabLED's LED Lighting Strip is a wonderful product that I have been installing as Under Cabinet and In Cabinet Lighting for 6+ months now. There is one main concern or consideration when purchasing this product:
1. Make sure you check the Kelvin rating for the light you are picking. This is located on the back of the package and can range from 2700K to 4500K with 3000K being the one most popular with my customers (and myself) These are stocked together and the cooler colors don't match well when using multiple strips.
I have not used this product in an outdoor environment yet but the connectors look like they would be good in damp locations. The light strips themselves are completely sealed which I personally like.
For Under Cabinet lights, the 6' starter kit is usually sufficient and can be purchased in store. Longer runs require any one of several extensions, but these must be ordered online. The transformer will state the maximum foot length it can support. I have never exceeded 25% but I would expect 80% would be fine.
The crimp connectors are a little tough to work with. I use channel locks to complete the connection.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: check k rating on back of package
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 ft. LED Lighting Strip Indoor/Outdoor Extension Kit
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The starter kit is great for kitchen cabinets. The kit can be extended easily and is made of good quality material. The color temperature is dead on for this type of applications, not too blue and not too yellow.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 ft. LED Lighting Strip Indoor/Outdoor Extension Kit
from williams, az
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

many tries to get lit after cutting. very pricey

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
you don't offer purchase the strip only. Although other individual parts in this kit are offered for sale, the only way you can purchase the strip is purchase the kit.
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 ft. LED Lighting Strip Indoor/Outdoor Extension Kit

lighting strip matched kit purchased in store and works well

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The order arrived without any materials to attach it to my cabinets. This required placing another order for those parts which involved waiting another week to complete my project and another shipping charge That information should have been available when placing my first order.
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 ft. LED Lighting Strip Indoor/Outdoor Extension Kit
from Pismo Beach, CA

No Brackets

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The LED light strip is great, but this kit does not include any installation brackets. This "kit" is supposed to be an extension kit for a previous installation, but how do they expect you to install the light strip without brackets. I returned this order to Home Depot.
-5points
4out of 13found this review helpful.