728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Commercial Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Propagate your seedlings effectively with Viavolt's 2 ft. 1 Bulb T5 High Output Fluorescent Grow Light made for plant propagation. 2,000 total lumens in the blue spectrum is perfect for propagating seedlings, clones, or keeping plants happy year round. At 2,000 lumens and 24-Watts, the High Output T-5 boasts itself as the strongest fluorescent lighting around.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product25 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(7)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product25 of 27reviews
Customer reviews for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
Review 1 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
Kristin
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A++++

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this light fixture to jump start my seedlings. Couldnt be happier with this product. Everything about this product a plus. Its afforable, easy to use, very slim design makes this a must buy. I love it and will buy more in the future. Happy Customer
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
Blake

Easy to Install, the seedlings seem happy

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The lights were easy to install and the seedlings seem happy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
Cons: lights seem hot to touch
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
treeofwoe
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice cheap light

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this light for use in an experiment for my aquarium. It is super bright, small and attractive. Mounting clips are easy to install and snap fixture in and out of place if needed. I believe the Kelvin was 6500-6700 which is pretty much the exact same color temp as the sun. each unit comes with a jumper cord to chain multiple fixtures together. I would have still been happy with this fixture even if I had paid much more
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
willy
from Tomball, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't be beat for the money

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With a few dollars of PVC I have a grow light that is as functional as those costing up to $100.00. No tools required except a hack saw. Spring plants are growing every day with a simple timer to plug the light into you can save several dollars. Additional lights can be daisy chained together to expand as needed.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, econical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
mulchfairy
from Alexandria, VA, USA

This light does what it says.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The light came with no instructions, but really needed none; two screws (included) secure the clips that hold the light onto whatever surface you mean to attach it to. The light comes with both a (removable) switched cord with a plug end, and a short cord in case you want to attach more than one light together in sequence. I attached the lights to the underside of plastic utility shelving units (which I also got from Home Depot). My orchids and epiphyllums will live on the shelves (which are also in front of a window) through the winter. So far, they seem pretty happy (my African violets are blooming!:) ... and the lights (I bought two) are working great.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
Rosebud
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should have bought these sooner

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These hang perfectly from the three shelves in my small vinyl greenhouse. The connecting cords could have been two inches longer but I made it work. The lights are quite bright and I put them on at night. Still early to tell, but my sprouts seem to like them.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Very Bright
Cons: longer connections to each other would be nice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
co79
from Independence, Ky
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great deal &great price!

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
serves My need very well! great price. Would recommend.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
Thom

Eh, it's so-so.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install, but cheaply made. Still, it works and for the price is the cheapest grow light I could find. I made a little bracket out of PVC to hold it over my seedlings and it's been doing its job well, though I think there may be a small short at the switch.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Very Bright
Cons: fair quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
Yosh

Better than I imagined!

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shipping was fast, and receiving was delightful. The employees all offered a helping hand and were so incredibly nice! I will definitely order more online!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
Dug007
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Too Bad When It Works

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A good feature is if you want to attach more of these fixtures together because you need more light coverage, there is a connector cable so you can run all off of the one power cord supplied. The performance was okay while it worked, but after 2 weeks of use the bulb burned out, which made me feel that the newest tubes aren't being installed in these or maybe they aren't for long term use. Plants need about 13 to 14 hours of sunlight a day to keep them healthy, which is what I had been timing out, but maybe this isn't good for more than a few hours of use a day or as I said maybe I was given a shoddy bulb to begin with. The on-off switch box spliced in the middle of the power cord seemed handy, but after a week it seemed to have a few glitches when turning on. At first, I thought the bulb might need some time to warm up and come on even though when I first fired it up it came on immediately, but that wasn't the case and I had to play with the switch every so often to get the bulb to fire up. Could all go back to a bad bulb, but I won't know now until I purchase a new bulb to se if the switch is faulty as well. Too bad my local HD doesn't sell this product it would save a lot of time in replacing it if something is faulty with the switch and getting replacement bulbs. I would only recommend purchase if you can find at your local HD, not by buying on-line.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: quick burn out of bulb
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
wrkincer49
Gender:Female

great little light

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's a little light, but it does a big job. Looking to get a few more.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
RJLJ
from Durango, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great product but something's missing

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Product works great but was missing all the installation hardwear and their was no instructions how to install this product
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: missing hardwear, missing instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
Elizabrad

Exactly what I was looking for.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm using the Via Volt light to start seedlings. It arrived quickly and does exactly what I want it to do.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
DDinAA
from Ann Arbor
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product. Wish it had a reflector.

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed the light in the "ceiling" of my kitchen bump-out for a plant I brought indoors for the winter. No installation instructions, but in 5 minutes I figured out what the hardware was meant to do. The light is bright! I wish it had a reflector, which would not only concentrate the light on the plant but help shield the light from my eyes. I could not find a suitable reflector in any normal retail outlet but found one in a re-use center that I can modify.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright
Cons: lacks installation instructions, lacks reflector
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
stgild

Great value

PostedJune 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 3 of these for my small greenhouse. They were easy to put together and the included connectors were a nice added feature. I was able to connect 2 together to save on outlet usage. The light output was good, it ended up as one light per shelf which was adequate. The hanging brackets were very easy to use. They are light and very slim which was good for making it easy to move them around and set up. My seedlings were healthy and bright green. The only thing I would say as a complaint is that I wish the connectors were longer - they are very short, although I did not expect them in the first place so it was still a bonus. Overall very nice, and I would purchase again as well as recommend. Excellent value for what you get.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
Texgal
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product, short pigtails

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The light itself is good but the pigtails (connection cord between lights) is very short. It's about 12 inches long and that would be fine if you are hanging lights in a straight line.
I needed lights for a small inside greenhouse and they were too short to reach from one shelf to another.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: short pigtails
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
equi
from Morrisville, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

compact & easy to install

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
so far so good. easy to install and the single bulb makes it less of an eye sore in my living room
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
RiverRob
from Rancho Santa Margarita, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great light, was looking for a light smaller than a shop lamp. This is perfect for my Tech Bench in my lab. Light is really bright, lights up a big area for the size. The on/off switch is a plus.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: too bright at eye level
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
Lightlover

Love it that's why I bought 2

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best little light takes little space and really bright.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
handyandy

the hole where the screws go in were not lined up. I had to drill in new ones

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
beside having to drill new holes, the light work great.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 >>