728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Propagate your seedlings effectively with Viavolt's 2 ft. 1 Bulb T5 High Output Fluorescent Grow Light made for plant propagation. 2,000 total lumens in the blue spectrum is perfect for propagating seedlings, clones, or keeping plants happy year round. At 2,000 lumens and 24-Watts, the High Output T-5 boasts itself as the strongest fluorescent lighting around.
Overall rating:
4.283 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product48 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(27)
4
(17)
3
(7)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product48 of 52reviews
Customer reviews for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
Review 1 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A++++

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this light fixture to jump start my seedlings. Couldnt be happier with this product. Everything about this product a plus. Its afforable, easy to use, very slim design makes this a must buy. I love it and will buy more in the future. Happy Customer
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Easy to Install, the seedlings seem happy

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The lights were easy to install and the seedlings seem happy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
Cons: lights seem hot to touch
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Alexandria, VA, USA

This light does what it says.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The light came with no instructions, but really needed none; two screws (included) secure the clips that hold the light onto whatever surface you mean to attach it to. The light comes with both a (removable) switched cord with a plug end, and a short cord in case you want to attach more than one light together in sequence. I attached the lights to the underside of plastic utility shelving units (which I also got from Home Depot). My orchids and epiphyllums will live on the shelves (which are also in front of a window) through the winter. So far, they seem pretty happy (my African violets are blooming!:) ... and the lights (I bought two) are working great.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Weight
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice cheap light

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this light for use in an experiment for my aquarium. It is super bright, small and attractive. Mounting clips are easy to install and snap fixture in and out of place if needed. I believe the Kelvin was 6500-6700 which is pretty much the exact same color temp as the sun. each unit comes with a jumper cord to chain multiple fixtures together. I would have still been happy with this fixture even if I had paid much more
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Great for boosting natural light

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It has met my needs for a grow light. I use it in our apartment window that does not get a lot of light to boost what my plants get. Having it on during daytime hours has resulted in my citrus plants fruiting despite being indoors.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Coloraod Springs, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Nice light. It is very light weight can be strung in series with other lights. Very efficient. My plants love it.
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Dublin, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent grow light for small space

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was the perfect grow light for a small space. The only problem were the tiny brackets to mount it which were not sturdy enough to hold it and readily broke. But rigging an alternative was no problem, and the light does exactly what I needed for a good price.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: inadequate mounting brackets
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Too Bad When It Works

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A good feature is if you want to attach more of these fixtures together because you need more light coverage, there is a connector cable so you can run all off of the one power cord supplied. The performance was okay while it worked, but after 2 weeks of use the bulb burned out, which made me feel that the newest tubes aren't being installed in these or maybe they aren't for long term use. Plants need about 13 to 14 hours of sunlight a day to keep them healthy, which is what I had been timing out, but maybe this isn't good for more than a few hours of use a day or as I said maybe I was given a shoddy bulb to begin with. The on-off switch box spliced in the middle of the power cord seemed handy, but after a week it seemed to have a few glitches when turning on. At first, I thought the bulb might need some time to warm up and come on even though when I first fired it up it came on immediately, but that wasn't the case and I had to play with the switch every so often to get the bulb to fire up. Could all go back to a bad bulb, but I won't know now until I purchase a new bulb to se if the switch is faulty as well. Too bad my local HD doesn't sell this product it would save a lot of time in replacing it if something is faulty with the switch and getting replacement bulbs. I would only recommend purchase if you can find at your local HD, not by buying on-line.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: quick burn out of bulb
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Tomball, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't be beat for the money

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
With a few dollars of PVC I have a grow light that is as functional as those costing up to $100.00. No tools required except a hack saw. Spring plants are growing every day with a simple timer to plug the light into you can save several dollars. Additional lights can be daisy chained together to expand as needed.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, econical
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too small

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These lights were too small for my use and had to be mounted in a fixed position. I needed something bigger for my cell trays. If you just need a small grow light, this would probably be great for you. I returned it and kept the wider 2-light grow light which hung from adjustable chains.
Pros: Functional, value for the money
Cons: too small, not adjustable for height
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Portland, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good compact lighting for starting up your garden

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These lights provide good illumination for promoting the growth of seedlings. There was one mismatched nut in the collection that came for attaching the hanging brackets, but I found a replacement in the garage. The ability to daisy-chain these lights means that you don't need as many outlets ((I have three running off a single outlet).
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

electrical problem

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
One of the 2 lamps I bought had electrical problems.
Pros: Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Santa Fe NM
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does what I need

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use and you can add more lights to it which makes it handy
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Pretty good product

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The light came just like it was described. I wish it had bigger holes on top to mount hanging brackets to it but I was able to rig something up to hang it from my ceiling. The one thing that I forgot to take into consideration is how much energy this thing uses! I had the light set on a time to run for 8 hours a day. We got a call from our power company saying that our electric bill was $38 after 9 days when it would normally be $3-4. Just be aware of the energy it uses. Great product overall though.
Pros: Looks Great
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

WORKS

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This is nice bright white light not the pink color of some grow lights. The promised mounting hardware was not included but double stick foam mounting tape worked because the fixture is very light weight. It's OK and my herbs are growing.
Pros: Functional, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: no mounting hardware
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Weatherford TX

grow light

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This light is working really good for part of my seedlings and young tomatoes and peppers. Better than the other ones I picked up that are "grow" lights. This one performs better and plants are hardy and healthy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, works!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Wappingers Falls, New York
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy and Works Great

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a very light weight fixture. It is easy to install and the switch on the cable is very handy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: hard to make level
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

It does what I need

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The grow lite was easy to hang and works great for starting propagations.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from MN

Exactly what the description says

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this a few weeks ago for seed propagation, and to keep our indoor plants happy in the MN winter- so far so good. Easy to assemble this product- we also used zip ties to hang it from a bar in our indoor wire greenhouse. The light is pretty blinding, but the plants seem to love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Dudley, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

One unit that worked did well and revived my plant..

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ordered two lights. One worked fine. Second, non-functional.Wasn't just a bad bulb. Something internal.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Unique, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: one light didn't work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>