728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Plant Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Propagate your seedlings effectively with Viavolt's 2 ft. 1 Bulb T5 High Output Fluorescent Grow Light made for plant propagation. 2,000 total lumens in the blue spectrum is perfect for propagating seedlings, clones, or keeping plants happy year round. At 2,000 lumens and 24-Watts, the High Output T-5 boasts itself as the strongest fluorescent lighting around.
Overall rating:
4.244 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product37 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(21)
4
(12)
3
(6)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product37 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
Review 1 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A++++

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this light fixture to jump start my seedlings. Couldnt be happier with this product. Everything about this product a plus. Its afforable, easy to use, very slim design makes this a must buy. I love it and will buy more in the future. Happy Customer
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Easy to Install, the seedlings seem happy

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The lights were easy to install and the seedlings seem happy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
Cons: lights seem hot to touch
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Dublin, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent grow light for small space

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was the perfect grow light for a small space. The only problem were the tiny brackets to mount it which were not sturdy enough to hold it and readily broke. But rigging an alternative was no problem, and the light does exactly what I needed for a good price.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: inadequate mounting brackets
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Coloraod Springs, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Nice light. It is very light weight can be strung in series with other lights. Very efficient. My plants love it.
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Great for boosting natural light

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It has met my needs for a grow light. I use it in our apartment window that does not get a lot of light to boost what my plants get. Having it on during daytime hours has resulted in my citrus plants fruiting despite being indoors.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

WORKS

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This is nice bright white light not the pink color of some grow lights. The promised mounting hardware was not included but double stick foam mounting tape worked because the fixture is very light weight. It's OK and my herbs are growing.
Pros: Functional, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: no mounting hardware
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Wappingers Falls, New York
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy and Works Great

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a very light weight fixture. It is easy to install and the switch on the cable is very handy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: hard to make level
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

It does what I need

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The grow lite was easy to hang and works great for starting propagations.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice cheap light

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this light for use in an experiment for my aquarium. It is super bright, small and attractive. Mounting clips are easy to install and snap fixture in and out of place if needed. I believe the Kelvin was 6500-6700 which is pretty much the exact same color temp as the sun. each unit comes with a jumper cord to chain multiple fixtures together. I would have still been happy with this fixture even if I had paid much more
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Alexandria, VA, USA

This light does what it says.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The light came with no instructions, but really needed none; two screws (included) secure the clips that hold the light onto whatever surface you mean to attach it to. The light comes with both a (removable) switched cord with a plug end, and a short cord in case you want to attach more than one light together in sequence. I attached the lights to the underside of plastic utility shelving units (which I also got from Home Depot). My orchids and epiphyllums will live on the shelves (which are also in front of a window) through the winter. So far, they seem pretty happy (my African violets are blooming!:) ... and the lights (I bought two) are working great.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Weight
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from nm
Age Range:25 to 34

Pretty Good

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
we got this light for our indoor plants since all our windows are north facing. it's kind of ugly (both the fixture and the light color), but it's keeping our plants alive.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Tomball, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't be beat for the money

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
With a few dollars of PVC I have a grow light that is as functional as those costing up to $100.00. No tools required except a hack saw. Spring plants are growing every day with a simple timer to plug the light into you can save several dollars. Additional lights can be daisy chained together to expand as needed.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, econical
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Dudley, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

One unit that worked did well and revived my plant..

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ordered two lights. One worked fine. Second, non-functional.Wasn't just a bad bulb. Something internal.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Unique, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: one light didn't work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Too Bad When It Works

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A good feature is if you want to attach more of these fixtures together because you need more light coverage, there is a connector cable so you can run all off of the one power cord supplied. The performance was okay while it worked, but after 2 weeks of use the bulb burned out, which made me feel that the newest tubes aren't being installed in these or maybe they aren't for long term use. Plants need about 13 to 14 hours of sunlight a day to keep them healthy, which is what I had been timing out, but maybe this isn't good for more than a few hours of use a day or as I said maybe I was given a shoddy bulb to begin with. The on-off switch box spliced in the middle of the power cord seemed handy, but after a week it seemed to have a few glitches when turning on. At first, I thought the bulb might need some time to warm up and come on even though when I first fired it up it came on immediately, but that wasn't the case and I had to play with the switch every so often to get the bulb to fire up. Could all go back to a bad bulb, but I won't know now until I purchase a new bulb to se if the switch is faulty as well. Too bad my local HD doesn't sell this product it would save a lot of time in replacing it if something is faulty with the switch and getting replacement bulbs. I would only recommend purchase if you can find at your local HD, not by buying on-line.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: quick burn out of bulb
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Olean, New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Stopped working the first day

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The light worked for a few hours the first day I used it , then quit. I'm not sure if it's the bulb which I will replace and see if it works. Very disappointed with purchase.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Ann Arbor
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product. Wish it had a reflector.

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installed the light in the "ceiling" of my kitchen bump-out for a plant I brought indoors for the winter. No installation instructions, but in 5 minutes I figured out what the hardware was meant to do. The light is bright! I wish it had a reflector, which would not only concentrate the light on the plant but help shield the light from my eyes. I could not find a suitable reflector in any normal retail outlet but found one in a re-use center that I can modify.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright
Cons: lacks installation instructions, lacks reflector
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Works perfectly!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was really easy to install. The product came with out anything missing.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture
from Chehalis, WA 98532, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everything is excellent...!!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't do many reviews, I very rarely say that many things are excellent, but in this case, everything is excellent.!! In this case the product is fantastic, & does exactly what I needed at a price that fits my small budget.. & it is expandable, it has a cable that lets you buy more later & add them as they plug in to each other, can't go wrong with this one.. Bob
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Exactly what I was looking for.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm using the Via Volt light to start seedlings. It arrived quickly and does exactly what I want it to do.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 ft.T5 High 1-Bulb Output Fluorescent Grow Light Fixture

Great value

PostedJune 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought 3 of these for my small greenhouse. They were easy to put together and the included connectors were a nice added feature. I was able to connect 2 together to save on outlet usage. The light output was good, it ended up as one light per shelf which was adequate. The hanging brackets were very easy to use. They are light and very slim which was good for making it easy to move them around and set up. My seedlings were healthy and bright green. The only thing I would say as a complaint is that I wish the connectors were longer - they are very short, although I did not expect them in the first place so it was still a bonus. Overall very nice, and I would purchase again as well as recommend. Excellent value for what you get.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>