728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Specialty Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 ft. T5 865 High Output 6500K Fluorescent Grow Light Replacement Bulb

4 ft. T5 865 High Output 6500K Fluorescent Grow Light Replacement Bulb

These high quality 4 ft. T5 HO lamps are excellent for all indoor gardening applications and plant propagation. Use the color/spectrum of your choice for the growth phase of your plants. Mix and match bulb types for full spectrum effect.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product7 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product7 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for 4 ft. T5 865 High Output 6500K Fluorescent Grow Light Replacement Bulb
Review 1 for 4 ft. T5 865 High Output 6500K Fluorescent Grow Light Replacement Bulb

These are good T5 HO replacement tubes

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
T5 HO tubes at 6500 Kelvin burn at the blue (bright daylight) end of the spectrum. Great for initial growth and getting started. They put out a lot of light (up to 5,000 lumens) for the electricity used (it is lumens, not watts that the plants respond to). Yes, they are smaller than reg fluorescent tubes and require their own fixture. DUH! They give off very little heat and can be placed within an inch or so of the canopy without heat burn. 3000 Kelvin tubes are at the warm end of the spectrum and are better for wrapping up/blooming stage. A mix of both works well once the plant has established a good root system, sturdy stalks/stems, and are ready to flower. Begin with 6500K, then switch to a mix of 3 & 6.5 Kelvins, then when the plant is winding down, switch to all 3000 Kelvins. That mimics the beginning of summer, middle of summer, and the approach of fall (to the plant). These bulbs are average grade and good enough. There is a lumen drop over time but at this price you can exchange them twice as often, keeping your plants receiving closer to the 5K lumens per tube they start out at. Pretty darn good. The other reviewer's issue was not with the tube, it was with the FO (faulty operator). I grow very rare orchids in a lab and have learned over time T5 HO is more than sufficient to get a great job done. These tubes are cost effective (IMHO) and do the job.
+62points
65out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 ft. T5 865 High Output 6500K Fluorescent Grow Light Replacement Bulb
from Gary, IN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great shop light

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Makes my shop bright as day time. There are no shadows and my eyes do not get as tired.
Pros: Easy Replacement
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 ft. T5 865 High Output 6500K Fluorescent Grow Light Replacement Bulb
from Boston, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great light for the value - and growing plants

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had issues getting the lights to withstand shipping when I ordered them elsewhere. I was very impressed with the sturdiness of the packaging. All my lights made it without issue or damage.
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 ft. T5 865 High Output 6500K Fluorescent Grow Light Replacement Bulb
from Lake Ronkonkoma, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Would you believe this bulb fell 4 ft onto a concrete floor and still works? It did!
Pros: Very Bright, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 ft. T5 865 High Output 6500K Fluorescent Grow Light Replacement Bulb
from Yardley, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A+++

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product was as ordered and in good condition. No problems.
Pros: Easy Replacement
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 ft. T5 865 High Output 6500K Fluorescent Grow Light Replacement Bulb
from Loretto, Pennsylvania
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bulbs work great, if you don't understand what you are buying, you will need a t5 fixture as well, they are different from t8 and t12
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Very Bright, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 ft. T5 865 High Output 6500K Fluorescent Grow Light Replacement Bulb
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great value and price

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great customer service counter at store. Had my order ready in a couple minutes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 ft. T5 865 High Output 6500K Fluorescent Grow Light Replacement Bulb

very good light

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i bought 2 of these lights for my shop along with other kind of lights i had in there . wow what a difference . really light thing up . i think they are not cheap by no means ' but usually you get what you pay for . but at 11 dollars a bulb you better not drop any . 2 things i didn't like . one the directions could have been better as to how to wire the lights . and to i had to order the bulbs seperate as the store didn't have the 54 watt bulbs in stock that i could use for the lights but i ordered them through the store and they were delivered to my house 'only thing i had to wait a few days. total about $193. . 8 bulbs ans 2 fixtures . but it is great to be able to see .
Pros: Easy to Use, Very Bright, Easy Installation
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 ft. T5 865 High Output 6500K Fluorescent Grow Light Replacement Bulb

wrong fit

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I thought I was buying bulbs that fit my fleurescent fixtures. No, I needed to buy the fixture too. That was not explained on the site, that I would need a fixture too. I could have saved a lot of time if that fact ( they don't fit regular fixtures) had been stated on the site page. Next time I will forgo the web site and just go to the store so that I can get all of the information and leave nothing to assumption.
-89points
15out of 119found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 ft. T5 865 High Output 6500K Fluorescent Grow Light Replacement Bulb

Quit working after a week

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The ballast quit functioning after a week. Returning the item.
Customer service and shipping were great.
Pros: Very Bright, Easy Installation
Cons: Burns Out
-8points
1out of 10found this review helpful.