728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Dining Sets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED

Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED

Dine and entertain in your outdoor living space with the Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set that includes 6 dining chairs and a 40 in. dining table. The chairs blend comfort and durability, with a cast-aluminum frame and Olefin fabric cushions. A marble mosaic table top adds a touch of style with an umbrella hole for a coordinating rectangular umbrella (not included).
Overall rating:
2.776 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
45%of customersrecommend this product30 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(8)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(31)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
45%of customersrecommend this product30 of 67reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
RCKUBE
from Troy, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Warning...tile cracks

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got the Captiva 7 piece dining set from 2011. Noticed early this spring small cracks in the tile. Well in the few months since they have developed into large cracks and several tile corners have broken off. Not to mention placing a level across the table I have place 4 quarters on top of one another before they reach the level. The warranty place went out of business also on top of it all. The good thing is the local home depot that we purchased it from is stepping up to the plate and going to replace for us. I will NOT be getting the 2012 captiva set though based on the experience we have had with this table.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
NICUNurse
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY!!!!!

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this set over Mother's Day weekend and contacted HD about returning it today. What we loved the most about this set turned out to be its' downfall: the metal frame can't adequately support the heavy tiled top. The whole top is warping, causing tiles to crack. It is very evident where there is support, and where there isn't, based on the long lines of cracks running through the tiles. Also, there are big chucks popping out of random tiles! Really poor quality.Thankfully, the guy at HD that was helping us with the return today has already seen 4 other sets (out of the 8 sold at that store!!!) come back for the same reason and was great about it. They are sending out their truck to pick it up. Beautiful set right out of the box, but you'll be sorry within a month: run the other way!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
Csharp33
from San Ramon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Top cracked

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's beautiful... Then got major cracks running down the length of both sides where the underneath support bar is.
Home Depot replaced the table however we are skeptical to take it out if its box after reading all the reviews everyone else seemed to have same issue.... Hoping if to replace with another table with great reviews
Pros: Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
cawilking
from Twinsburg, OH
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just over a year old and the table top has cracked, there are cracks everywhere in the table top and the edges of the table are disintegrating. The entire table top is now warped and has separated from the metal frame that supports it. The chairs and cushions held up quite nice. The table looked great for the first year.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
Lyla
from Brunswick, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Table cracks

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I saw this patio set and loved the way it looked and the seats were comfy..when we got it home and put the legs on the table and turned the table over there was a crack in the middle of the table. I have spent four months trying to get the table replaced only to get a run around from the company. The tabletop has further deteriorated.
I recommed NOT to buy the patio set!
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
Lazyfencebuilder
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Absolute junk and no customer service

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The table originally looked beautiful and assembly was straight forward. After about 4 months the table top developed cracks so we contacted Home Depot and were told it was past 90 days and to contact Home Casual for warranty coverage. So we called and sent pictures and were told the table was on back order. After a few months with no response we emailed again and were told that Home Casual no longer covered the Capitva table and would forward the claim to the new company. During that time the table top has basically disintegrated. It has now been 6 months since our claim and we still have an unusable table.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
howzball
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Started off Great

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the box this set was perfect, well built and heavy table so wind wouldn't blow it around. All the chairs and cushions were super comfortable and for the price it was a no brainer. Now a year later the table top looks like it's been through a hurricane. It's cracked along every edge, some edges are cracked from end to end. We're just waiting for the tile to fall off. Looks like we're past a year so no chance of a warranty.
I wish the rest of you luck if you purchase this set. Seems like it has a serious design flaw. If your top isn't cracked yet all you have to do is wait. We even went and bought the best, heavy duty table cover we could find so this has never been exposed to the elements. The top that isn't cracked still looks day 1 brand new.
No more Home Depot tables for us.
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
Darek

Junk

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nine month into ownership table top cracked. It is impossible to get a warranty claim on it. Do not buy.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
Steven
from Hebron, KY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Total garbage

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got 4 months of use of this table. It started cracking during the fourth month and completely fell apart shortly after. I spent quite a bit of money for this set and was happy with it the first few days. I can't believe that something that I spent so much money on didn't even last one summer. I do not recommend this set to anyone. Buy all cast aluminum this tile top is no good.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
Rusty

The Captiva II set is well built, attractive and useful.

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The set arrived in two boxes which the drivers put into the garage. The assembly was straight forward and a couple of hours. The surprise is the weight of the table top. You will need assistance with the assembly and placement of the table. The adjustable table legs made leveling the unit easy. The table top did require a sealer of which I put on two coats. This lengthened the assembly time. The unit is comfortable and is at a good height for eating even for children.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
JoeP
from New York, USA

Not worth the Money

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this just like everyone else did, thinking it would last a long time with the stone top, wanted to stay away from glass tops. Had it 1 months before I noticed cracks and chipping of the stones. The manufacturer offered to replace it for a $250 shipping fee, Home Depot said they would take it back and exchange it. Now I don't think I want a new one after reading that everyone else had the same problem.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
PEJEK
from Columbia, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Do Not Buy this patio set-Martha needs to take it back to the drawing board

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hats off to Home Depot for taking back both, yes both patio sets we purchashed. I read the reviews before purchasing it, and most said it held up nicely, there were some at the time that spoke about the cracks but made the purchase anyway and within the 90 days cracks appeared all over the table top, I decided to give it one more try and had it replaced and shortly after the next 90 days the 2nd one was in worse shape than the first one, Home Depot gave us a $1100.00 shopping card since it was over the 90 days. I really loved the size, the look and the chairs were very comfy, so so disspointed it didn't work out for us. We used each set only one time. So I will be looking agian in spring of 2013.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
123abc

Broken after a year

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this table (although with different chairs) in May, 2011. Our first table had a smallish chip so HD exchanged it for us. We used it all last summer and then covered it up. We didn't use it this summer because of the bugs and rain. When I took the cover off in September, 2012, one edge of the table was shattered. There's no way of knowing exactly when it happened as we hadn't used it for a year. No tree limb fell on it or anything, it just broke. When I bought it there were just a handful of reviews from people who just bought their sets and were happy. Since then there have been many reviews saying the table broke after just a few months.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End, seats six
Cons: Not Durable, Heavy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
Handyman
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to construct, but table is heavy

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Table is made of stone and needs to be sealed before use. That's easy enough to do with a paint brush. It took me about three hours to put the chairs and table together. Everything fit well and there was enough parts to do the job. Table is heavy so you should have two or more people to lift and move it. Everything appears to be well made.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
JoeD
from Ashburn, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Table Tiles Crack

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Bought this set last Fall and have been disappointed. The chairs are great but the table is poorly made. Have had several tables now with cracked tiles. Just not small chips but large cracks across the whole width of the table. Table has been replaced several times but same problem is occurring. Returning set and will wait until Spring to buy a diffrent set.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Not Durable, tiles crack
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
PAhost

Tile Cracking within 36 days

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The table looks nice, chairs are very comfortable, but the tiles on the top started to crack within 36 days of purchase. Currently dealing with manufacturer.
Pros: Comfortable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
CT868
from Tonica, IL 61370, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Like the heavy weight for a farm patio. Won't blow away.

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The table is great, we got it five days before it was even expected. The only problem is that on one edge of the table there was a flaw. This was shipped with styrofoam around all the edges but it must have been packaged over this scuffed edge. When the table top is this heavy how can you ship it back. Will it be okay with some kind of sealer or how can that be repaired and protected from the weather. Wanted to attach picture but that feature won't work.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
mich

tge top started chipping pealing wuth 30 days. waiting for replacement furniture.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not happy about poor quality. Waiting for replacement now! Top began chipping and peeling within 30 days. Not happy!
Cons: Cheap Material, top chipped and peeled
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
Scott

Tabletop Tile Peeled Off After 2 Weeks

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this dining set at Home Depot. Was a great deal at $999. Seemed like a durable tabletop and very comfortable chairs. Set everything up by myself in about 2 hours. It looked beautiful on our deck and we loved sitting at it and had a couple dinners at the table. Not more than 2 weeks after we brought it home and assembled it, we came out to find that one of the tiles in the tabletop design was literally peeling off. The mortar had come loose and the tile had peeled back and was not fixable.
I called Home Depot, had them come pick it up and refund me. Was very sad to let this one go, but didn't want to risk getting the same table again and having the same problem, whether it be 2 weeks later or 1 year later.
Just purchased a set at Costco. Paid a little bit more, but hoping for a more durable set this time around.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Captiva II 7-Piece Patio Dining Set -DISCONTINUED
TiffLott4262
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this Table, in my opinion it should be pulled off the market. As other reviews, Our table also cracked and it hasn't even been outside in the elements. We have a screened in porch and over the winter we even kept it covered in our heated garage. Our 1 year warranty was up just over 30 days ago. I will be calling in a formal complaint. This table cost me About $150/mo for a whopping 7 months of use. What a JOKE. Don't let the looks fool you, you'll be disappointed.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, breaks, not worth a dime
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>