728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light

2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light

The High Output Multi-Volt 2-Light T5 Compact Strip Light from Lithonia Lighting features a compact, low-profile design perfect for residential or commercial applications. A multi-Volt ballast (120-277 Volt) insures instant-on and no humming or flickering while high output operation ensures maximum light output. Mount flush to surface or suspended from ceiling using mounting chain (sold separately).
Overall rating:
4.14 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product42 of 48reviews
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(29)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product42 of 48reviews
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
Review 1 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from California
Gender:Male

A lot of light from a small fixture.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought 4 two of the 2 light fixtures for our garage, which is a normal 2 car garage in a planned development. There is a support beam running through the garage, so we needed to put light on each side of the beam. The fixtures with the high output bulbs put out great light. It is like instant daylight. There is nothing negative about these. What I will say is that I probably could have used 4 of the one bulb fixtures and still had adequate light. My neighbor came over and said he was going to install them in his garage. I suggested the one bulb fixture to him, but he said he wanted it just like mine. So, the one or two bulb is a personal thing. The bulbs are $10 each, so that makes a difference. I don't think there was a big price difference between the 1 and 2 bulb fixtures. Now all I have to do is finish the garage clean up project, which includes hole patching and painting.
Pros: Functional, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: no defuser so the bulbs show. ok by me.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light

Excellent

PostedApril 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These lights will blow you away. The amount of light they put out is really amazing especially for such a tiny fixture. Each 54 watt tube puts out 5000 lumins for a total of 10,000 for the fixture. Compare this to 1500 lumins for a standard 100 watt incandescent. Be aware that this is the fixture only, you have the buy the bulbs separately. Also the fixture itself is just your basic white bent up metal with no reflector, but it has a quality ballast that starts up immediately even in a cold garage.
Installation is a snap, screw it to the ceiling, three wires and snap on the cover.
Oh, and did I mention that it puts out an amazing amount of light? :)
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lousy Quality

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very cheap construction, soft, thin sheet metal, sharp edges will pinch and cut wire. I bought five of these. Two of the ballasts failed within 2 months of occasional use. HD took one back for replacement, I had to buy a new $30 ballast for the other.
Tubes get very hot. 2 of the ten Sylvania HO tubes I bought failed within weeks, severe blackening at ends. Didn't even try to return. $11. each! Junk... Stay away and avoid at all costs!
Will not flush mount, screws and punch-outs stick out 1/4" from back side.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad ballast

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one to replace a bad aquarium light. The light is separated from the tank by glass so the fixture never gets wet. It failed about a year later. I replaced the bulbs and it still didn't work so I have to assume it was the ballast. Home Depot didn't carry a replacement ballast so I bought another one hoping I just got a bad one. Two years later, the new one failed. I tried new bulbs again and it doesn't work. Home Depot still doesn't carry a replacement ballast.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: doesn't last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Tyler Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice Unit but NO Replacement Bulbs

PostedJune 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to install unit. Home Depot has plenty of these units in stock but they do not carry replacement bulbs in the store or online. The store manager in Tyler (Texas) could not explain this insanity.
Cons: no replacement bulbs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Surprise
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Upgrading fro T12 to T5 shop lights

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I do a lot of work in the garage and was never happy with the old four foot T12 overhead lighting. Had two rows of twin tube four foot fixtures, plus two additional over the welding table, but still it didn’t seem like it was very bright, especially when comparing to where I work, (they use T8s). So one day when looking through the T12 bulbs at Home Depot trying to figure out which was the brightest for my application, I walk over to the fixture isle and notice the large difference between T12 to T8 to T5 on display so I took a chance and bought two of the four foot, two tube T5s. Replace two of the T12 fixtures over a bench that I like to do fine work and was never happier: gave away the old fixtures and have been slowly up-grading/replacing other older T12 fixtures through-out. The only rating I gave as average is the valve as these are a big increase in cost per fixture and the bulbs. Overall this is what I’ve needed in lighting in the garage and shop.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Light Purchase in Years

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Put these lights in the garage and they are fantastic. We needed good light in the garage to work on my show car so thought we would try them after seeing them in the display at Home Depot. I put two of these strips in a 20x20 garage and the light is amazing. The install was very easy. These strips come with connectors so you can hook them up together then just plug in your 14/2 with ground right into the connector and your done.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A lot of light from compact package

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Lights were easy to assemble and surface mount. These lights put out a lot more light than 4 light t-8 troffers. This was used in a garage, 8 fixtures for 900sq ft with the 6500k bulbs. It is a very cool bright white, but not overly blue.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Colorado
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poorly made chinese junk

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This is a poorly made light fixture. It is really thin soft metal. You will need to straighten all the metal pieces to make them fit together. The bulb sockets are really thin cheap plastic. Due to the poor design it will not screw flush to the ceiling. I used sawed off pieces of paint stir sticks to shim it away from the ceiling so it would fit flat. Unfortunately this poor quality has become the standard today in America. The GOOD is these fixtures put out a lot of light once you have bought the bulbs. I bought 8 of them for two lines of 4 fixtures to put in my garage/shop. It is as light as day which is what I wanted. The bulbs light quickly even in extreme cold. If they had sold the bulbs with the fixture this would have been a better value.
Pros: Very Bright, work in cold temperatures
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, poor quality, won't fit flush with ceiling
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Great light output. Looks good in a shop or hidden location. Good energy saving !
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Lorain, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Flourescent Strip Light, HO T5 Compact

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought 2 of these lights for a one car garage that I'm using to re-cover my little bi-plane in. They went up in about 10 minutes and I now have plenty of light to see the finer details of my project.
Pros: Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good deal for the price.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is so bright in my basement I need sunglasses now.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Very Bright
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Woodlake, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome bright lights

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Put them in my car wash...so many compliments about the brightness. Makes those washing their cars feel safe....Thank you Lithonia
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Taunton, MA 02780, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent fixture for the money

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I would strongly recommend this product to any one - very bright and economical to operate, being a electrician, I feel it is a very good value.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Clearwater, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than the sun!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have two of these 2-light t5ho fixtures with two other Lithonia compact 4-light t5ho fixtures in my 600 sq' shop mounted directly to 14' ceilings, and let me tell you... the place is light up like daylight! They replaces three 100w incandescent lights and the difference is like night and day (no pun intended). People who walk into my shop are blown away by the light output. Shadows have been nearly eliminated completely and it is so easy to work in there now. They do take half a second to come on and aren't instant but I can't complain. This was money well spent and I couldn't be happier. I'd give these a 5* but the 4-bulbs version are a little better in comparison so they get the 5* and these get the 4*.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light

Much brighter than I expected, easy install with electrical quick connect.

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Much brighter for such a small fixture than I expected.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright
Cons: assembly directions would be nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

two fixtures purchased and both arrived damaged.

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These are very good lights. Easy to wire and install. The two that I bought didn't seem to be put together very carefully though because the reflectors were all bent, wires hanging out, and ballasts were hanging loose. Once I got all that fixed they worked well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Aldie, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow! These lights are bright!

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have a dark basement storage room with no lights. I installed these lights and can't believe how bright the room is now. The installation was easy. I highly recommend these lights.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Barnwell, SC 29812, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

T5 lighting

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Replaced existing system with this unit and at worst it took me 15 minutes to uninstall the old and install the new unit. Light comes on quickly and is bright, covers a fairly large area with smaller more efficient bulbs. I am not a contractor or electrician just a DITY so very impressed with the ease of installation and functionality of the unit.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light

Bright but bad radio interference

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I put 4 of these up so far. They are ultra bright compared to any other fixture/bulb combination I have. The only thing that comes close is a 65w cfl (300w equivalent). I ran into a problem when I put one in my work shop. When the light is on there is horrible radio frequency interference across all the fm band. I will have to move the antenna outside and hope that helps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>