728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Strip Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light

2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light

The High Output Multi-Volt 2-Light T5 Compact Strip Light from Lithonia Lighting features a compact, low-profile design perfect for residential or commercial applications. A multi-volt ballast (120-277 Volt) insures instant-on and no humming or flickering while high output operation ensures maximum light output. Mount flush to surface or suspended from ceiling using mounting chain (sold separately).
Overall rating:
4.114 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product38 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(24)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product38 of 43reviews
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
Review 1 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from California
Gender:Male

A lot of light from a small fixture.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought 4 two of the 2 light fixtures for our garage, which is a normal 2 car garage in a planned development. There is a support beam running through the garage, so we needed to put light on each side of the beam. The fixtures with the high output bulbs put out great light. It is like instant daylight. There is nothing negative about these. What I will say is that I probably could have used 4 of the one bulb fixtures and still had adequate light. My neighbor came over and said he was going to install them in his garage. I suggested the one bulb fixture to him, but he said he wanted it just like mine. So, the one or two bulb is a personal thing. The bulbs are $10 each, so that makes a difference. I don't think there was a big price difference between the 1 and 2 bulb fixtures. Now all I have to do is finish the garage clean up project, which includes hole patching and painting.
Pros: Functional, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: no defuser so the bulbs show. ok by me.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Colorado
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poorly made chinese junk

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This is a poorly made light fixture. It is really thin soft metal. You will need to straighten all the metal pieces to make them fit together. The bulb sockets are really thin cheap plastic. Due to the poor design it will not screw flush to the ceiling. I used sawed off pieces of paint stir sticks to shim it away from the ceiling so it would fit flat. Unfortunately this poor quality has become the standard today in America. The GOOD is these fixtures put out a lot of light once you have bought the bulbs. I bought 8 of them for two lines of 4 fixtures to put in my garage/shop. It is as light as day which is what I wanted. The bulbs light quickly even in extreme cold. If they had sold the bulbs with the fixture this would have been a better value.
Pros: Very Bright, work in cold temperatures
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, poor quality, won't fit flush with ceiling
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lousy Quality

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very cheap construction, soft, thin sheet metal, sharp edges will pinch and cut wire. I bought five of these. Two of the ballasts failed within 2 months of occasional use. HD took one back for replacement, I had to buy a new $30 ballast for the other.
Tubes get very hot. 2 of the ten Sylvania HO tubes I bought failed within weeks, severe blackening at ends. Didn't even try to return. $11. each! Junk... Stay away and avoid at all costs!
Will not flush mount, screws and punch-outs stick out 1/4" from back side.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light

Excellent

PostedApril 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These lights will blow you away. The amount of light they put out is really amazing especially for such a tiny fixture. Each 54 watt tube puts out 5000 lumins for a total of 10,000 for the fixture. Compare this to 1500 lumins for a standard 100 watt incandescent. Be aware that this is the fixture only, you have the buy the bulbs separately. Also the fixture itself is just your basic white bent up metal with no reflector, but it has a quality ballast that starts up immediately even in a cold garage.
Installation is a snap, screw it to the ceiling, three wires and snap on the cover.
Oh, and did I mention that it puts out an amazing amount of light? :)
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad ballast

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one to replace a bad aquarium light. The light is separated from the tank by glass so the fixture never gets wet. It failed about a year later. I replaced the bulbs and it still didn't work so I have to assume it was the ballast. Home Depot didn't carry a replacement ballast so I bought another one hoping I just got a bad one. Two years later, the new one failed. I tried new bulbs again and it doesn't work. Home Depot still doesn't carry a replacement ballast.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: doesn't last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Aldie, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow! These lights are bright!

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have a dark basement storage room with no lights. I installed these lights and can't believe how bright the room is now. The installation was easy. I highly recommend these lights.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Lorain, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Flourescent Strip Light, HO T5 Compact

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought 2 of these lights for a one car garage that I'm using to re-cover my little bi-plane in. They went up in about 10 minutes and I now have plenty of light to see the finer details of my project.
Pros: Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light

Bright but bad radio interference

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I put 4 of these up so far. They are ultra bright compared to any other fixture/bulb combination I have. The only thing that comes close is a 65w cfl (300w equivalent). I ran into a problem when I put one in my work shop. When the light is on there is horrible radio frequency interference across all the fm band. I will have to move the antenna outside and hope that helps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light

It's ok

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Took a little work to assemble. It comes where you have to assemble the end connections
Overall it could be better materials to put together.
It does come with a decent length of wire for installation so it does not have to be right next to the outlet box.
Overall it works for what was needed, but it could be better
Pros: Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Bensalem
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great light for our garage

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My old garage light would not come on when needed during super cold evenings. I think I made a good choice by updating to this fixture which uses smaller tubes and also slightly more power......
It was a bit pricy.... You get what you pay for.
Pros: Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from SCW, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

served the purpose for the garage.

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ok to install, gives great light for small task in garage.
Pros: Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light

Excellent lighting

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I put 10 of these in my basement for my workshop. The T5 54watt bulbs provide plenty of light. The bulbs are sold separately, you are money ahead if you order a box online.
I also wish they had a bulb guard if some sort, a medium duty wire cage would surfice.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good deal for the price.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is so bright in my basement I need sunglasses now.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Very Bright
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Woodlake, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome bright lights

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Put them in my car wash...so many compliments about the brightness. Makes those washing their cars feel safe....Thank you Lithonia
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Taunton, MA 02780, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent fixture for the money

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I would strongly recommend this product to any one - very bright and economical to operate, being a electrician, I feel it is a very good value.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

two fixtures purchased and both arrived damaged.

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These are very good lights. Easy to wire and install. The two that I bought didn't seem to be put together very carefully though because the reflectors were all bent, wires hanging out, and ballasts were hanging loose. Once I got all that fixed they worked well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light

Did the job

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The unit was lightweight and easy to install. I was lighting a utility room with a 15 foot ceiling. A standard bare incandescent bulb just wasn't cutting it. The high output works great and now I can see what's on the shelves.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from bay city, mi.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

more light

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used this 4 ft. light to replace 8 ft. high output. Used h.o. t5 bulbs and seems to have the same light output as the old light at half the price. and uses less power
Pros: Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Clearwater, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than the sun!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have two of these 2-light t5ho fixtures with two other Lithonia compact 4-light t5ho fixtures in my 600 sq' shop mounted directly to 14' ceilings, and let me tell you... the place is light up like daylight! They replaces three 100w incandescent lights and the difference is like night and day (no pun intended). People who walk into my shop are blown away by the light output. Shadows have been nearly eliminated completely and it is so easy to work in there now. They do take half a second to come on and aren't instant but I can't complain. This was money well spent and I couldn't be happier. I'd give these a 5* but the 4-bulbs version are a little better in comparison so they get the 5* and these get the 4*.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-Light High Output Multi-Volt T5 Compact White Fluorescent Strip Light
from Barnwell, SC 29812, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

T5 lighting

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Replaced existing system with this unit and at worst it took me 15 minutes to uninstall the old and install the new unit. Light comes on quickly and is bright, covers a fairly large area with smaller more efficient bulbs. I am not a contractor or electrician just a DITY so very impressed with the ease of installation and functionality of the unit.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>