728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Badger Food garbage disposals are a reliable and functional choice when affordability is the prime concern. Badger 100 features a 1/3-horsepower heavy-duty quiet Dura-Drive induction motor, rugged galvanized steel construction for disposer durability, and a space-saving compact design.
Overall rating:
4.052 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(154 reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product128 of 150reviews
Rating Breakdown 154 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(75)
4
(52)
3
(4)
2
(6)
1
(17)
Features 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product128 of 150reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 70 Answers
Customer reviews for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't forget to get putty

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My old disposer quit working after 9 years.
I replaced with same model so I don't have to re-adjust fittings.
It had been 9 years so I forgot to what come with and what doesn't come with unit.
* Plug in cord doesn't come with unit, it's Okay I can re-use from old one or take from my junk appliance.
* Wire retainer doesn't come with it, my old one doesn't have it either and I can't find anything to substitute in my garage, I had to use zip tie.
* Sink putty didn't come with unit.
I re-use sink flange, otherwise I had to go back to HD to get just putty.
I waste new flange and gasket by reusing old flange.
I would be appreciate if small tube of patty came with it. most people need it anyway unless reusing same sink flange.
* One tip for installation.
Get scissor jack from your car's trunk to hold unit while installation.
It's so much easier than holding it with your knees or ask your wife to hold it.
* Also don't forget to punch out dishwasher connect pipe.
It was written in installation manual but I forgot to do so until I found out next day my wife used dishwasher.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: lack of installation parts
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for price

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered this product because I've had good experiences with Badger products before. I must say it exceeds my expectatins. We just moved into a new home that did not have a garbage disposal. This product has more than suited our needs and we are extremely happy with it. It is very quiet compared to disposals we've had in the past and it just gets the job done.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Lawrence, KS
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product for the price

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I own rental properties and this is my go to disposal. I buy them in bulk from HD which gets the price down in the high $60 range. You can't beat a $60 garbage disposal. The 1/3 HP seems weak when you compare to other models that are 1/2 HP, etc...Honestly though, you'll never know the difference. If you require additional horsepower on a garbage disposal, you really need to ask yourself "what the heck am I putting down the sink"
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Caldwell, Idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product for the money

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband installed this for my mother. He had no trouble installing it and it works perfect. Mom was so happy that her old beat disposal was finally gone!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Emmaus, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We just had our second Badger 1/3 HP fail in 10 years

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When this garbage disposal works, it's great. When the motor burns out without any
clogged items, it's time to switch brands. I gave this one a second chance because I thought
we were abusive the first time around. This time we were very careful and then it just flat out
stopped and you could smell the motor. I will never buy this disposal again. It would have been
worth spending more for the quality.
Cons: doesn't last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Kennesaw, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to install

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Took @20 minutes to install as it matched up exactly to old one. Same brand lasted 11 years so hoping for same or better from this new one
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Austin, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Simple Install....

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking to replace an older disposal that wasn't really working any longer and since it was an Insinkerator brand product, I looked to the same manufacturer for a simple solution and this was as simple as could be. I used the supplied wrench to take out the old one, leaving the drain connector in place, so no new putty work, and screwed on the new one until it locked into place. I re-used the old plug wire and wired up the new one and after connecting the pipes, it fired right up with zero problems.
Easy and was done in under 40 mins from start to finish. :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Lutz, Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was able to install it in an hour by myself and it works great!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from WV

Easy Replacement; Need other parts to do install

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Purchased this unit after my Model 80 had an irreparible leak through the motor. Opted for the model 100, as it was the only one in stock at my local HD. Pretty much a straight drop in upgrade, however, the kit lacks a wire retaining clip (secures the power cord to the unit, preventing any type of electrical connections coming undone. Felt a little mislead, as the box states you only need adjustable plyers, plumber's putty, and a screw driver. It isn't until you read the manual that it states this part is "not included". All in all, model is more powerful than the model 80 it replaced, and is less nosiy. Only time will tell if this one will hold up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, good instruction manual.
Cons: several "extras" that aren't included
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great small sized disposal

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace a super large, super expensive, fancy-smancy disposal that came with the house I had just bought. The day I moved in the fancy-smancy unit quit working (and it was only about 2-3 years old). I replaced it with this 1/3 HP Badger 100. Prior to buying my house, I lived in a condo for 14 years; bought it new and the builder had installed this same unit. That unit lasted for almost 13 years with daily use. So naturally I bought the same unit as a replacement for my condo. It is a great little unit; it makes noise so you know when it is on (I prefer this - I want to really hear that the machine is on when in use). I also like that it takes up less space under the sink so I gained more storage. The old unit was so large, I could not slide anything under or around it. I definately recommend this brand and size. I use it daily for scraping plates before putting into dish washer, egg shells, things like that. I do not put bones done the disposal so cannot tell how this unit would respond.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Phoenix AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reliable

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Reliable
Had to replace the old garbage disposal as the house seems to use the garbage disposal frequently (lots of homemade dishes with vegetables).
Installation was very simple. I left the original sink plate in place as this did not need to be replaced, which I think really saved a lot of time and frustration. Basically just removed the lock ring on the old one, saw that the new one had the same interface, so was able to keep the sink connection plate in place. Punched out the air gap for the dishwasher, hooked up electrical and was done with in 30 minutes. We have had the product running for a while now and is able to handle most everything that is thrown in to it. Only problem is when someone throws in ½ a lemon or lime, I need to go fish it out.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from mesa, az
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Garbage-D

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It came with all of the parts needed but was not pre-wired. So I had to take the power cord from my old unit and wire it in. Fortunately I had a junction box clamp on hand, otherwise I would have had to make another trip to the store. I would be much nicer if it came with the cord already wired in. The unit works fine though.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not prewired
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Milford
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

'Garbage' dosent begin to describe this product

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed the first unit i purchased - it leaked from the bottom and from the seam in the middle of the unit
Returned it to the store and got a replacement - installed it. the replacement unit leaks from the bottom. Very cheap shoddy product, wasted an entire afternoon tryng to replace the disposal and going back and forth to HD.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Portland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple & quick replacement

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The previous identical unit lasted 9 years so I saw no reason to spend more to replace it when the internal seal failed. It was one of the easiest plumbing jobs and for someone who's done this maybe only once before it took about fifteen minutes.
Pros: Easy to Install
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I just installed this

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I replaced a Badger 500 that had started to leak through the bottom after 8 years. I have never had to replace a disposal though I lived in a house for 25 years with the same one still working fine. Guess nothing is made as well as it used to be. I took the old one apart and found that it simply had rusted through all the metal to the engine. I don't expect to be in this home more than 5 years, so I will hold my breath. The 100 is essentially the same as the old 500 except for a smaller motor, but I do not put bones and really tough stuff in there anyway. The motor in the old 500 still ran fine even though it was rusty and wet.
Having a scissor jack would have helped, but I improvised with boxes and phone books to hold it up tight to screw on the ring. I found it impossible to hold it up and in place and screw on the ring with only two hands.
The Badger 100 was $15 less than the 500 model. Since this appliance appears to have become a disposable item, why pay a bigger price. I searched for one with a stainless or chrome grinding chamber, but could not find one. They probably are available somewhere.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Allentown, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good quality for the price

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Eeasy installation. Quieter then the one it replaced.Generally pleased with purchase.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Columbus, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good disposal but didn't last

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
easy to install, good while it lasted, but quit working 2 weeks after the 1 year warranty and couldn't get a new one being 2 weeks over date
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Great buy

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Small and compact. Perfect for a little home like mine. The only down side was I was not to the power cord was sold separately. But it works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cause my sink to clog up

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I put this Garbage Disposal to replace the old broken one from the last house owner three months ago. At first, I works just fine, It is not noisy, and waste goes away quite fast. But recently I notice that the time it took for the water to go away in the drain starts to get considerably longer and today, it just completely clogged up. When I took a plunger try to plunge stuff which clogged inside, I notice some big chunk of potato skin comes up from the sink which I used to deal it with my garbage disposal. They are still in big pieces, almost the same as the way when I pop them inside the garbage disposal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Great product at an economical price

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
When my garbage disposal broke I was concerned that it would become an expensive and time consuming job, but when I went to Home Depot to buy this product and took it home to install it, I was pleasantly surprised to see how easy it was to install and how quietly and efficiently it worked.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>