728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Badger Food garbage disposals are a reliable and functional choice when affordability is the prime concern. Badger 100 features a 1/3-horsepower heavy-duty quiet Dura-Drive induction motor, rugged galvanized steel construction for disposer durability, and a space-saving compact design.
Overall rating:
4.241 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(353 reviews) 353
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product308 of 343reviews
Rating Breakdown 353 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(194)
4
(109)
3
(16)
2
(9)
1
(25)
Features 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product308 of 343reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 99 Answers
Customer reviews for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Palm Bay, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The Badger is a snap to install.

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installing the badger 100 1/3hp was very easy. Removal and install took less than an hour. At 89.00 dollars the value of this unit is very good. This was our third unit in twenty-one years. We have well water that contributes to unit failure via the can rusting through. I suppose a stainless unit may prevent this failure but I would just as soon have a fresh disposal every six to seven years. A stainless unit if it exists will probably be very costly anyway.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't forget to get putty

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My old disposer quit working after 9 years.
I replaced with same model so I don't have to re-adjust fittings.
It had been 9 years so I forgot to what come with and what doesn't come with unit.
* Plug in cord doesn't come with unit, it's Okay I can re-use from old one or take from my junk appliance.
* Wire retainer doesn't come with it, my old one doesn't have it either and I can't find anything to substitute in my garage, I had to use zip tie.
* Sink putty didn't come with unit.
I re-use sink flange, otherwise I had to go back to HD to get just putty.
I waste new flange and gasket by reusing old flange.
I would be appreciate if small tube of patty came with it. most people need it anyway unless reusing same sink flange.
* One tip for installation.
Get scissor jack from your car's trunk to hold unit while installation.
It's so much easier than holding it with your knees or ask your wife to hold it.
* Also don't forget to punch out dishwasher connect pipe.
It was written in installation manual but I forgot to do so until I found out next day my wife used dishwasher.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: lack of installation parts
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
35out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for price

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered this product because I've had good experiences with Badger products before. I must say it exceeds my expectatins. We just moved into a new home that did not have a garbage disposal. This product has more than suited our needs and we are extremely happy with it. It is very quiet compared to disposals we've had in the past and it just gets the job done.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good deal!

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was not easy to install, but I guess it may be for security.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Lawrence, KS
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product for the price

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I own rental properties and this is my go to disposal. I buy them in bulk from HD which gets the price down in the high $60 range. You can't beat a $60 garbage disposal. The 1/3 HP seems weak when you compare to other models that are 1/2 HP, etc...Honestly though, you'll never know the difference. If you require additional horsepower on a garbage disposal, you really need to ask yourself "what the heck am I putting down the sink"
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from WV

Easy Replacement; Need other parts to do install

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Purchased this unit after my Model 80 had an irreparible leak through the motor. Opted for the model 100, as it was the only one in stock at my local HD. Pretty much a straight drop in upgrade, however, the kit lacks a wire retaining clip (secures the power cord to the unit, preventing any type of electrical connections coming undone. Felt a little mislead, as the box states you only need adjustable plyers, plumber's putty, and a screw driver. It isn't until you read the manual that it states this part is "not included". All in all, model is more powerful than the model 80 it replaced, and is less nosiy. Only time will tell if this one will hold up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, good instruction manual.
Cons: several "extras" that aren't included
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Alexandria, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Garbage disposal

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought this garbage disposal for a rental property that I have .. they last quite a long time and they serve their purpose.. good product
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Why buy a more expensive one?

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great garbage disposal. Some other units cost hundreds more. I can't imagine why anyone would spend any more. I don't need a wood chipper, I just want to get rid of my food waste. Maybe others are more quite, but it's only on for about two seconds, so who cares? This works perfectly.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Albuquerque, NM
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I must have purchased a lemon...

PostedAugust 1, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product from Home Depot in January of 2015. It was easy to install, it was quiet when it worked, but it jams every 3 or 4 times I use it. I use the crank, reset the button, and turn it with a wooden spoon. It starts again, only to jam up shortly after. I don't even use it now, but have to run it once in awhile to clean out the food debris that gets down there.
I finally called the 800 number on the disposal. They assured me that it was under warranty and gave me a number for local service. The local service company took my info and said they would call me back when they checked up on this matter. 2 days later and they haven't called, so I called the 800 number again. I was told to call the local company again. So I did.
Still waiting... not happy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, jams with nothing in it, warranty not serviced in a prompt manner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Leaks out the bottom in less than 2 years.

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had problems with the product jamming, but the biggest problem is that it is leaking out of the bottom in less than 2 years. It has warped my kitchen cabinet and may cause a mold problem down the road.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Caldwell, Idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product for the money

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband installed this for my mother. He had no trouble installing it and it works perfect. Mom was so happy that her old beat disposal was finally gone!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install replacement

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
These are ok for light use. They tend to need replacement every few years. It is a quick replacement if you already have one of this brand installed since they keep the mounting the same from year to year.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Emmaus, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We just had our second Badger 1/3 HP fail in 10 years

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When this garbage disposal works, it's great. When the motor burns out without any
clogged items, it's time to switch brands. I gave this one a second chance because I thought
we were abusive the first time around. This time we were very careful and then it just flat out
stopped and you could smell the motor. I will never buy this disposal again. It would have been
worth spending more for the quality.
Cons: doesn't last
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Benson, MN 56215
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quite and Smooth

PostedJuly 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We call this one Steve, he was replacement for a 10 year old Herman. Steve is very quite, he eats quickly without shaking, he never spits up on me ,and he never complains about my cooking. I can talk on my cell phone while Steve is running and no one can here him chomping in the background. Steve jumped right into Herman's old place with ease but is a lot quieter than Herman. If your after Steve, this one is mine but you could buy one elsewhere, my family is very please with Steve's performance and we are happy to have him fill in for Herman's old place.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unreliable Quality Product by Emerson

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have yet to find a quality product by Emerson. This is another example of unacceptable product construction and reliability. I have replaced two of these units in the past 7 years. The Badger 100 comes with an inadequate 1 year warranty which falls short of what is necessary to protect your investment. I currently have another failed Badger. I can assure you it will not be replaced by another Emerson Product. I am single and use the unit sparingly and it still failed to perform reliably. Look elsewhere for a Disposer unless you like replacing them on a consisent basis spending unwarranted amounts of money that could be utilized elsewhere.
+25points
31out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Fort Myers, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Junk

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2 years old, leaks water through the motor. Has been used very little, looks like new. Going in the trash, will not buy another.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Kennesaw, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to install

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Took @20 minutes to install as it matched up exactly to old one. Same brand lasted 11 years so hoping for same or better from this new one
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Royal Oak, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedAugust 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great, love this product. It is so much quieter than my old one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from santa fe, new mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

disposal

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
the first disposal's motor wouldn't, had to to return to homedepot and exchange. The new one seems to be ok
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Hiram, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Perfectly!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This item replaced an identical unit which finally started leaking after 11 years. It locked right onto the collar under the drain and had it running in about 15 minutes start to finish. It has been over a month and the unit still operates as expected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>