728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Badger Food garbage disposals are a reliable and functional choice when affordability is the prime concern. Badger 100 features a 1/3-horsepower heavy-duty quiet Dura-Drive induction motor, rugged galvanized steel construction for disposer durability, and a space-saving compact design.
Overall rating:
4.195 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(236 reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product204 of 231reviews
Rating Breakdown 236 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(127)
4
(74)
3
(9)
2
(6)
1
(20)
Features 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product204 of 231reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 85 Answers
Customer reviews for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Palm Bay, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The Badger is a snap to install.

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installing the badger 100 1/3hp was very easy. Removal and install took less than an hour. At 89.00 dollars the value of this unit is very good. This was our third unit in twenty-one years. We have well water that contributes to unit failure via the can rusting through. I suppose a stainless unit may prevent this failure but I would just as soon have a fresh disposal every six to seven years. A stainless unit if it exists will probably be very costly anyway.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't forget to get putty

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My old disposer quit working after 9 years.
I replaced with same model so I don't have to re-adjust fittings.
It had been 9 years so I forgot to what come with and what doesn't come with unit.
* Plug in cord doesn't come with unit, it's Okay I can re-use from old one or take from my junk appliance.
* Wire retainer doesn't come with it, my old one doesn't have it either and I can't find anything to substitute in my garage, I had to use zip tie.
* Sink putty didn't come with unit.
I re-use sink flange, otherwise I had to go back to HD to get just putty.
I waste new flange and gasket by reusing old flange.
I would be appreciate if small tube of patty came with it. most people need it anyway unless reusing same sink flange.
* One tip for installation.
Get scissor jack from your car's trunk to hold unit while installation.
It's so much easier than holding it with your knees or ask your wife to hold it.
* Also don't forget to punch out dishwasher connect pipe.
It was written in installation manual but I forgot to do so until I found out next day my wife used dishwasher.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: lack of installation parts
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
32out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for price

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered this product because I've had good experiences with Badger products before. I must say it exceeds my expectatins. We just moved into a new home that did not have a garbage disposal. This product has more than suited our needs and we are extremely happy with it. It is very quiet compared to disposals we've had in the past and it just gets the job done.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Lawrence, KS
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product for the price

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I own rental properties and this is my go to disposal. I buy them in bulk from HD which gets the price down in the high $60 range. You can't beat a $60 garbage disposal. The 1/3 HP seems weak when you compare to other models that are 1/2 HP, etc...Honestly though, you'll never know the difference. If you require additional horsepower on a garbage disposal, you really need to ask yourself "what the heck am I putting down the sink"
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

garbage

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Second on that I have replaced in two years. Maybe the more expensive ones are better..
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Emmaus, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We just had our second Badger 1/3 HP fail in 10 years

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When this garbage disposal works, it's great. When the motor burns out without any
clogged items, it's time to switch brands. I gave this one a second chance because I thought
we were abusive the first time around. This time we were very careful and then it just flat out
stopped and you could smell the motor. I will never buy this disposal again. It would have been
worth spending more for the quality.
Cons: doesn't last
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Caldwell, Idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product for the money

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband installed this for my mother. He had no trouble installing it and it works perfect. Mom was so happy that her old beat disposal was finally gone!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from WV

Easy Replacement; Need other parts to do install

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Purchased this unit after my Model 80 had an irreparible leak through the motor. Opted for the model 100, as it was the only one in stock at my local HD. Pretty much a straight drop in upgrade, however, the kit lacks a wire retaining clip (secures the power cord to the unit, preventing any type of electrical connections coming undone. Felt a little mislead, as the box states you only need adjustable plyers, plumber's putty, and a screw driver. It isn't until you read the manual that it states this part is "not included". All in all, model is more powerful than the model 80 it replaced, and is less nosiy. Only time will tell if this one will hold up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, good instruction manual.
Cons: several "extras" that aren't included
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Milford
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

'Garbage' dosent begin to describe this product

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed the first unit i purchased - it leaked from the bottom and from the seam in the middle of the unit
Returned it to the store and got a replacement - installed it. the replacement unit leaks from the bottom. Very cheap shoddy product, wasted an entire afternoon tryng to replace the disposal and going back and forth to HD.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from thornton colorad
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does not last - Check internett reviews by typeing leaking at bottom

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lasted only 5 years of light use before leaking from the bottom. I expect better.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best product ever

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to install and has been working perfectly since my purchase. Excellent product
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Kennesaw, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to install

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Took @20 minutes to install as it matched up exactly to old one. Same brand lasted 11 years so hoping for same or better from this new one
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Apple Valley, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than expected!

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was easy to install. Quieter than what I thought it was going to be.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Houston, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product.

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product was purchased for a rental home. It was installed without any issues and the resident is happy with the producyt.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Great Product

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A little more noisy than the others ones available but other than that, worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unreliable Quality Product by Emerson

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have yet to find a quality product by Emerson. This is another example of unacceptable product construction and reliability. I have replaced two of these units in the past 7 years. The Badger 100 comes with an inadequate 1 year warranty which falls short of what is necessary to protect your investment. I currently have another failed Badger. I can assure you it will not be replaced by another Emerson Product. I am single and use the unit sparingly and it still failed to perform reliably. Look elsewhere for a Disposer unless you like replacing them on a consisent basis spending unwarranted amounts of money that could be utilized elsewhere.
+25points
31out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from dacula ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Installing a Badger 100 garbage unit

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used this one to replace a Badger 1 that was 15 years old and had began leaking. Used same sink hardware - did not replace it. Old one was easy to remove but had to use a screwdriver and hammer to loosen it. The wrench with the new unit would not do it but hammer and screwdriver worked great. Installing the new one presented a problem because it is impossible for one person to lay on their back under the sink, hold the unit with one hand in place, and make it fit and be able to tighten the bracket that holds it in place. I used the tire jack from my car, placed a 8X8 board on top of it, and the unit on top of the board. Then slowly turned the jack until the unit was in place. Then I tighten it enough to hold it in place which allowed me to use both hands to work with the bracket until it was in place and began to get tight enough to hold the unit. Then tightened the unit all the way and removed the jack. Entire process took about 2 hours but at least 1 hour was involved with trying to install the new unit. Once I came up with using the jack, it was only about 15 minutes until I had it in place.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Plainfield, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performs as expected.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was an easy one to install since it was replacing the exact same one that failed. The original lasted over 10 years and hoping this one has the same life. We use ours very minimally so I cannot comment on overall performance.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Fort Myers, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Junk

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2 years old, leaks water through the motor. Has been used very little, looks like new. Going in the trash, will not buy another.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Badger 100 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Norman, OK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy duty

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have this model already in my home when built. It lasted 15 years. Replaced and going strong five years later. Bought this one to place in the new home we are building.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>