728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Badger Food garbage disposals are a reliable and functional choice when affordability is the prime concern. Badger 500 features a 1/2-horsepower heavy-duty quiet Dura-Drive induction motor, rugged galvanized steel construction and a space-saving compact design.
Overall rating:
3.957 / 5
4
 / 
5
(211 reviews) 211
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product168 of 206reviews
Rating Breakdown 211 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(107)
4
(53)
3
(15)
2
(7)
1
(29)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product168 of 206reviews
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 121 Answers
Customer reviews for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Vancouver, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a garbage disposal...

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I bought my house 14 years ago, it had a garbage disposal and it lasted until last month. I bought this disposal, brought it home and pulled my old one out - same brand! Same size! Everything fit with little effort. I have good experience with my old one, and so far I am very happy with the new one. I think this disposal will prove to be as great as my previous one. This new one runs quiet enough for me - it is quieter than the one I replaced. I suppose the higher end models are quieter.
I would say that this product is totally AWESOME - but - it is just a garbage disposal. "Everything is awesome..." (Lego movie)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Palm Coast, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Badger 500-1/2 Feed Garbage Disposal quieter and efficient.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Badger 500 Continuous Feed Disposal was suggested to me by a salesperson at The Home Depot as a replacement for the original disposal installed in my kitchen.. He was so right. I had no trouble (as a novice "Miss Fixit" handy person)! It's a great product, fficient and is quiet like I was told.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Sterling VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Started leaking shortly after the warranty expired!

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this a few years ago, and it works fine.
However, after a few years, the seam between the two halves of the housing started leaking! Water was spraying all over under my sink, not just dripping.
I strongly recommend NOT buying this model, or if you do be sure you put a water alarm under your sink to prevent damage.
Cons: Not Durable, Leaks, short warranty
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Dickinson, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great! Easy to swap

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought a house that had a Badger disposal, but it didn't work. I bought this unit hoping that it would be an easy swap. The new unit did not come with power wiring, so I had to take it off the old unit but installation was a breeze and it works great!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: did not come with wiring
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Peachtree City, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good!

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this disposal to replace our 13 year old Badger 5 and it was a direct replacement. Since I replaced a Badger with another Badger the flange did not need to be replaced. All in all it took me about 30 minutes to change it out, it was pretty simple. My setup doesn't have a p-trap coming off the disposal like they show in the directions so I didn't use the elbow that was included; it's just a straight pipe that goes into a tee at the sink drain. I've seen mixed reviews for this brand so we'll see how long it lasts, but so far it is doing its job. I did notice that it is much quieter that the older one and also is not quite as big, so that is always a plus!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Chomps up Food Fast!

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It has been over a month with the Badger 500 and it chews up food really fast so I have never overloaded it yet even though I try! It is great so far and a little quieter than the old disposer. I am not afraid to put peels in there or gunky food. It has eaten a few of my plastic spoons and didn't skip a beat. I have grown up with the Insinkerator brand so I expect this one will last and last as well. I never knew you were supposed to use cold water so I do that now. We had a pro from Home Depot install it and he was fast and courteous.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Nice Design, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+35points
37out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Cape Coral, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product and relatively easy to install

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was alomost an exact replacement for the one I already had so installation was straightforward. The only difficulty is the weight since holding it up while positioning it can be tiring. I used the scissors jack from my car to hold it in place during that process. It worked great.
Also , remember to knock out the dishwasher plug before installing the waste disposal. After seeing that the dishwasher did not empty after running, I figured that one out. Next time I will read the directions completely.
The product does the job and seems quieter than the earlier model. I would recommend this product.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Great job for the price

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As a first time home owner I was surprised when the garbage disposer stared leaking water all over the kitchen floor. I purchased the badger 500 1/2 at my local Home Depot because it was the same model as the one that broke. I did not realize however that it would cost another $100 to install. I decided to try it myself and save some money, how hard could it be... I watched several YouTube how to videos and started the task. After a few minor mistakes on my end, I managed to install the unit on my own and it's water tight! Not all that difficult if you follow instructions. It's relatively quiet and does a great job at eliminating good waste.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Norfolk, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far, so good

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed it myself. Pretty easy. Took about 30-40 minutes
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best for the money

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had this exact unit and it lasted 13 years and it had to be replaced because water was dripping out the bottom of the motor housing - probably a shaft seal failure. New shaft seals are available, and since the motor's OK, maybe I will fix the old one. But I got the exact model a few weeks before writing this and it's been fine. No problem installing, but have a partner help by holding the drain on the topside so it stays put while installing the motor. Use plenty of light on the bottom side so you can see the nubs on the twist-lock assembly.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Southern CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Solid Performer

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My prior Badger garbage disposal was a 1/3 HP and lasted us many, many years. I decided to step up some and purchased the 1/2 HP garbage disposal, as recommended by my plumber. To date, the disposal has worked without a hitch. It is a bit loud but so much so that we are bothered by it. We are thoughtful as to what we do put down the disposal. Items such as potato peelings, heavy vegetable or fruit peelings, coffee grounds, egg shells, etc. are placed in our regular trash container. We also do not place any grease down the disposal. These precautions are mainly to avoid clogging the line rather than a negative directed at our new disposal. For the money, $100, the Badger 500 - 1/2 HP garbage disposal is a solid performer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Tampa Bay, Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value but install not great.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was replacing an In-Sink-Erator and was able to use the existing mounting hardware. However, I had to make an extra trip to obtain a Straight Flange to replace the 90º flange supplied with the product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality
Cons: install required extra part
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Chula Vista, California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Horrible product

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been using the Badger disposal for 15 or more years. However in the last 3 years, these disposals are failing very frequently. Almost all the failures are when they start leaking. I have had at least 5 of them go bad within a year. My plumber has also noticed that they are failing at an alarming rate and he changes many more disposals than I do. I will NOT purchase them any longer.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Coppell, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install using just two screwdrivers and 1/2 hour of work

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My installation was a replacement rather than a new sink install, which cut a few steps out of the process. I simply disconnected and unscrewed my old one. One thing to keep in mind is that if this is a new sink install you will need to buy a separate power cord and install on the unit. If you are replacing an old one, you may be able to simply take the old power cord of the old one and install on the new one. This will save you about $11. I did it and it works fine.
I looked at the Badger 100 1/3 HP and decided to go with the Badger 500 1/2 HP. The price difference is very little and the warranty is 2 years with the Badger 500. If you are halfway handy, the job can be done in about 1/2 hour, not counting the time to go to Home Depot.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Castle Rock, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked Well But Didn't Last As Long As I Expected

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed a Badger 5 series 3-4 years ago, stopped working the other day. When I turn it on I hear power but the unit doesn't function. Warranty was only two years so I have to replace it. I'll try one more Badger because it worked well up until it died, but I expect longer life from this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, questionable quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
19out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Flushing, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was an easy replacement project.

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used Insinkerator disposers for years. The last one served for at least 15 years and was easily replaced when the housing cracked and leaked.
I ordered online and picked up at the store. Very convenient.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Olathe KS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Every decade or so, the garbage disposer bites the dust. I always get one (Badger/Insinkerator) that will work with the existing drain fitting. Therefore easy to install. Works perfectly well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from hemet, ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GOOD

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is a great purchase and easy to install. It didn't came with the electrical plug but i use the old plug from the old disposal and and works.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

love it!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quiet. Does its job very well. Love that it is more compact than my old one. A ND works better!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Treasure Coast
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks after warranty...

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Funny that I would recommend it even after it leaks but for the value, it is not bad. We got about 5 years out of it. Same thing happened like James F. I would like a better one but the simplicity of hooking up the exact same model might lead me to get the same one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>