728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Badger Food garbage disposals are a reliable and functional choice when affordability is the prime concern. Badger 500 features a 1/2-horsepower heavy-duty quiet Dura-Drive induction motor, rugged galvanized steel construction and a space-saving compact design.
Overall rating:
3.929 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(169 reviews) 169
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product131 of 164reviews
Rating Breakdown 169 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(87)
4
(39)
3
(12)
2
(6)
1
(25)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product131 of 164reviews
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 103 Answers
Customer reviews for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Vancouver, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a garbage disposal...

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I bought my house 14 years ago, it had a garbage disposal and it lasted until last month. I bought this disposal, brought it home and pulled my old one out - same brand! Same size! Everything fit with little effort. I have good experience with my old one, and so far I am very happy with the new one. I think this disposal will prove to be as great as my previous one. This new one runs quiet enough for me - it is quieter than the one I replaced. I suppose the higher end models are quieter.
I would say that this product is totally AWESOME - but - it is just a garbage disposal. "Everything is awesome..." (Lego movie)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Dickinson, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great! Easy to swap

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought a house that had a Badger disposal, but it didn't work. I bought this unit hoping that it would be an easy swap. The new unit did not come with power wiring, so I had to take it off the old unit but installation was a breeze and it works great!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: did not come with wiring
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Chomps up Food Fast!

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It has been over a month with the Badger 500 and it chews up food really fast so I have never overloaded it yet even though I try! It is great so far and a little quieter than the old disposer. I am not afraid to put peels in there or gunky food. It has eaten a few of my plastic spoons and didn't skip a beat. I have grown up with the Insinkerator brand so I expect this one will last and last as well. I never knew you were supposed to use cold water so I do that now. We had a pro from Home Depot install it and he was fast and courteous.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Nice Design, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+33points
35out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Cape Coral, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product and relatively easy to install

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was alomost an exact replacement for the one I already had so installation was straightforward. The only difficulty is the weight since holding it up while positioning it can be tiring. I used the scissors jack from my car to hold it in place during that process. It worked great.
Also , remember to knock out the dishwasher plug before installing the waste disposal. After seeing that the dishwasher did not empty after running, I figured that one out. Next time I will read the directions completely.
The product does the job and seems quieter than the earlier model. I would recommend this product.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best for the money

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had this exact unit and it lasted 13 years and it had to be replaced because water was dripping out the bottom of the motor housing - probably a shaft seal failure. New shaft seals are available, and since the motor's OK, maybe I will fix the old one. But I got the exact model a few weeks before writing this and it's been fine. No problem installing, but have a partner help by holding the drain on the topside so it stays put while installing the motor. Use plenty of light on the bottom side so you can see the nubs on the twist-lock assembly.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Tampa Bay, Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value but install not great.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was replacing an In-Sink-Erator and was able to use the existing mounting hardware. However, I had to make an extra trip to obtain a Straight Flange to replace the 90º flange supplied with the product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality
Cons: install required extra part
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Norfolk, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far, so good

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed it myself. Pretty easy. Took about 30-40 minutes
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Chula Vista, California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Horrible product

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been using the Badger disposal for 15 or more years. However in the last 3 years, these disposals are failing very frequently. Almost all the failures are when they start leaking. I have had at least 5 of them go bad within a year. My plumber has also noticed that they are failing at an alarming rate and he changes many more disposals than I do. I will NOT purchase them any longer.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from chicago

Great product, good instructions, easy install

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this to replace one that was worn out. This was an exact replacement for the previous unit and install was a breeze. I've used In-sink-erator products for many years and find them to be highly reliable and durable.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Forest Hill, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hoping for another 14 years...

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
We bought this product after the one initially installed in our home finally locked up after 14 years. She was a good little disposal, but we had to put her out to pasture. The new one has similar noise profiles and I must assume the energy efficiency is the same. Maybe a little better, considering the new one probably does not have fish tank gravel caught in it somewhere. If you are looking to grind your food, and not spoons, rocks, etc. this is the model for you. If you are hoping for a whisper quiet solution, this is probably not your best option. Don't forget to punch the plug out on the side before attaching the dishwasher line.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Albany Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Buy

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Badger 500 1/2 hp garbage disposal has worked very well. It's well built and strong and will last for year. This is the second unit that I've purchased in 9 years and I'm very happy with this unit.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Richfield, MN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So glad to have a disposal!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have had this disposal in for about a month now, and we really like having it. We didn't have one before, so this is great! We are really glad we decided to put one in. It sure works fast!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Coppell, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install using just two screwdrivers and 1/2 hour of work

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My installation was a replacement rather than a new sink install, which cut a few steps out of the process. I simply disconnected and unscrewed my old one. One thing to keep in mind is that if this is a new sink install you will need to buy a separate power cord and install on the unit. If you are replacing an old one, you may be able to simply take the old power cord of the old one and install on the new one. This will save you about $11. I did it and it works fine.
I looked at the Badger 100 1/3 HP and decided to go with the Badger 500 1/2 HP. The price difference is very little and the warranty is 2 years with the Badger 500. If you are halfway handy, the job can be done in about 1/2 hour, not counting the time to go to Home Depot.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Castle Rock, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked Well But Didn't Last As Long As I Expected

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed a Badger 5 series 3-4 years ago, stopped working the other day. When I turn it on I hear power but the unit doesn't function. Warranty was only two years so I have to replace it. I'll try one more Badger because it worked well up until it died, but I expect longer life from this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, questionable quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
18out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Evans, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Product

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Disposal is quiet, efficient and quick. When it's time to replace we will purchase the same.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Disposal at a good price

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great. Even though you don't run it very long, it is very quiet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Harrison Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product at a great price

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced a similar model that was 15 years old. Easy to install. Works great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Flushing, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was an easy replacement project.

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used Insinkerator disposers for years. The last one served for at least 15 years and was easily replaced when the housing cracked and leaked.
I ordered online and picked up at the store. Very convenient.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Fort Walton Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great desposal!

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very very easy to install...I had my 16 yr old son install it (with my supervision). He had no issues at all, easy to follow directions, easy assembly!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, High Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Insinkerator installed in less than 15 minutes

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Because there was an Insinkerator previously installed in this kitchen sink the mounting gear from the previous device served for the new one. This made the installation a really not too greuling 15 minute ordeal. Seriously, it was a snap - and right in the middle of Christmas company. Everyone grinned and the device will chew up anything we toss into it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not out where the inlaws can see it
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>