728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Badger Food garbage disposals are a reliable and functional choice when affordability is the prime concern. Badger 500 features a 1/2-horsepower heavy-duty quiet Dura-Drive induction motor, rugged galvanized steel construction and a space-saving compact design.
Overall rating:
4.292 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(667 reviews) 667
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product588 of 656reviews
Rating Breakdown 667 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(397)
4
(169)
3
(43)
2
(15)
1
(43)
Features 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product588 of 656reviews
Customer questions and answers:
37 Questions | 208 Answers
Customer reviews for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Peachtree City, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good!

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this disposal to replace our 13 year old Badger 5 and it was a direct replacement. Since I replaced a Badger with another Badger the flange did not need to be replaced. All in all it took me about 30 minutes to change it out, it was pretty simple. My setup doesn't have a p-trap coming off the disposal like they show in the directions so I didn't use the elbow that was included; it's just a straight pipe that goes into a tee at the sink drain. I've seen mixed reviews for this brand so we'll see how long it lasts, but so far it is doing its job. I did notice that it is much quieter that the older one and also is not quite as big, so that is always a plus!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Boston
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So Far, So Good. Replaced a Similar Model

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this to replace a similar Insinkerator Badger. It is my understanding that all of the Badgers have pretty much the same dimensions as far as where the pipe outputs and stuff like that. Even the bigger/smaller motored version of the Badger. So, it was fairly easy for a semi-hany person to swap out.
If you have a dishwasher, DON'T FORGET TO KNOCKOUT THE KNOCKOUT PLATE!! Don't ask how I know that ;)
I had thought about spending a little more money to buy a quieter model. But, I'd potentially have to modify the existing output pipe which is pretty complex in my installation. I talked this over with my girlfriend and it's really not worth it for an appliance that only runs for short bursts. Yes, it's a little loud, but it's not like a dishwasher where it's running continuously for a long time.
As far as power, no complaints there. It has plenty for everything I've encountered so far. I imagine it's plenty of power to chew up anything a reasonable person would put down there. I tried a whole apple for the video and that was too big for the chewing blades to reach with out cutting it up first, but otherwise it will east most everything.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: a little loud
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Vancouver, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a garbage disposal...

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I bought my house 14 years ago, it had a garbage disposal and it lasted until last month. I bought this disposal, brought it home and pulled my old one out - same brand! Same size! Everything fit with little effort. I have good experience with my old one, and so far I am very happy with the new one. I think this disposal will prove to be as great as my previous one. This new one runs quiet enough for me - it is quieter than the one I replaced. I suppose the higher end models are quieter.
I would say that this product is totally AWESOME - but - it is just a garbage disposal. "Everything is awesome..." (Lego movie)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
35out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Saint George, UT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Solid disposal

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I am the Maintenance Supervisor for a very large apartment complex, I always have my guy's install the badger disposals which saves them time and the company money.
The Badgers last a lot longer then other brands.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Palm Coast, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Badger 500-1/2 Feed Garbage Disposal quieter and efficient.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Badger 500 Continuous Feed Disposal was suggested to me by a salesperson at The Home Depot as a replacement for the original disposal installed in my kitchen.. He was so right. I had no trouble (as a novice "Miss Fixit" handy person)! It's a great product, fficient and is quiet like I was told.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Shreveport, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase!!!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The disposal was easy to install. The instructions were very clear. The product works better than I had imagined. Great price too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Garbage Disposal

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Badger 500 was purchased to replace a older model that had rested through .
This unit was very easy to install . All I had to do was swap out the electrical plug wires and snap the unit into place . All the plumbing lined right up for easy installation .
This disposal is very quite and chews up whatever we put in it .
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
Cons: no cons
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Chomps up Food Fast!

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It has been over a month with the Badger 500 and it chews up food really fast so I have never overloaded it yet even though I try! It is great so far and a little quieter than the old disposer. I am not afraid to put peels in there or gunky food. It has eaten a few of my plastic spoons and didn't skip a beat. I have grown up with the Insinkerator brand so I expect this one will last and last as well. I never knew you were supposed to use cold water so I do that now. We had a pro from Home Depot install it and he was fast and courteous.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Nice Design, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+45points
48out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Dickinson, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great! Easy to swap

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought a house that had a Badger disposal, but it didn't work. I bought this unit hoping that it would be an easy swap. The new unit did not come with power wiring, so I had to take it off the old unit but installation was a breeze and it works great!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: did not come with wiring
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Norfolk, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far, so good

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed it myself. Pretty easy. Took about 30-40 minutes
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Sterling VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Started leaking shortly after the warranty expired!

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this a few years ago, and it works fine.
However, after a few years, the seam between the two halves of the housing started leaking! Water was spraying all over under my sink, not just dripping.
I strongly recommend NOT buying this model, or if you do be sure you put a water alarm under your sink to prevent damage.
Cons: Not Durable, Leaks, short warranty
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Cape Coral, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product and relatively easy to install

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was alomost an exact replacement for the one I already had so installation was straightforward. The only difficulty is the weight since holding it up while positioning it can be tiring. I used the scissors jack from my car to hold it in place during that process. It worked great.
Also , remember to knock out the dishwasher plug before installing the waste disposal. After seeing that the dishwasher did not empty after running, I figured that one out. Next time I will read the directions completely.
The product does the job and seems quieter than the earlier model. I would recommend this product.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Washington
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could be a piece of junk or you could get lucky

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installed first unit and later found water leaking from the bottom close to the reset button. Upon further research, this is a known issue and has happened multiple times with this particular product. Be wary of the great value of the disposal, it's hit and miss. Ended up exchanging for another unit which worked just fine.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Castle Rock, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked Well But Didn't Last As Long As I Expected

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed a Badger 5 series 3-4 years ago, stopped working the other day. When I turn it on I hear power but the unit doesn't function. Warranty was only two years so I have to replace it. I'll try one more Badger because it worked well up until it died, but I expect longer life from this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, questionable quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
21out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Flushing, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was an easy replacement project.

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have used Insinkerator disposers for years. The last one served for at least 15 years and was easily replaced when the housing cracked and leaked.
I ordered online and picked up at the store. Very convenient.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Salt Lake City, UT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Junk- they don't last!

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have gone through three of these in the last 10 years, the most recent one only lasting 2 1/2 years before the body cracks flooding the area under the sink.
They are easy to replace, but the just do not last a reasonable length of time. A garbage disposal should last more like 10-15 years, not 2-3.
After researching other units we are replacing the Badger with a Waste King L-2600 which has great reviews and a guarantee more than twice as long as these. (And, it is less expensive!)
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Chicago, Il.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage disposal replacement.

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install and quieter than the disposal I replaced.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Round Rock, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very. Good garbage disposal.a

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The garbage disposal came with the instructions for a quick and easy installation. This was my first time installing this type of equipment, if I can install it with no leaks or other problems than anyone can do it.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from SA TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good choice for replacement

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After coming back from the Home Depot , 15 minutes and we were done installing. Easy to install and quite running just like the original
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Horrible

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Total waste of money. Broke within 1 week of installation. Just stopped running.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 19 >>