728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Badger Food garbage disposals are a reliable and functional choice when affordability is the prime concern. Badger 500 features a 1/2-horsepower heavy-duty quiet Dura-Drive induction motor, rugged galvanized steel construction and a space-saving compact design.
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product90 of 121reviews
Rating Breakdown 126 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(61)
4
(28)
3
(8)
2
(6)
1
(23)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product90 of 121reviews
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer reviews for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Sandra
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Chomps up Food Fast!

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It has been over a month with the Badger 500 and it chews up food really fast so I have never overloaded it yet even though I try! It is great so far and a little quieter than the old disposer. I am not afraid to put peels in there or gunky food. It has eaten a few of my plastic spoons and didn't skip a beat. I have grown up with the Insinkerator brand so I expect this one will last and last as well. I never knew you were supposed to use cold water so I do that now. We had a pro from Home Depot install it and he was fast and courteous.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Nice Design, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
pdf11035
from Tampa Bay, Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value but install not great.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was replacing an In-Sink-Erator and was able to use the existing mounting hardware. However, I had to make an extra trip to obtain a Straight Flange to replace the 90º flange supplied with the product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality
Cons: install required extra part
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
mike
from TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best for the money

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had this exact unit and it lasted 13 years and it had to be replaced because water was dripping out the bottom of the motor housing - probably a shaft seal failure. New shaft seals are available, and since the motor's OK, maybe I will fix the old one. But I got the exact model a few weeks before writing this and it's been fine. No problem installing, but have a partner help by holding the drain on the topside so it stays put while installing the motor. Use plenty of light on the bottom side so you can see the nubs on the twist-lock assembly.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Rich
from Cape Coral, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product and relatively easy to install

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was alomost an exact replacement for the one I already had so installation was straightforward. The only difficulty is the weight since holding it up while positioning it can be tiring. I used the scissors jack from my car to hold it in place during that process. It worked great.
Also , remember to knock out the dishwasher plug before installing the waste disposal. After seeing that the dishwasher did not empty after running, I figured that one out. Next time I will read the directions completely.
The product does the job and seems quieter than the earlier model. I would recommend this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
tonydons2
from Norfolk, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far, so good

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed it myself. Pretty easy. Took about 30-40 minutes
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
hamrdul
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Insinkerator installed in less than 15 minutes

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Because there was an Insinkerator previously installed in this kitchen sink the mounting gear from the previous device served for the new one. This made the installation a really not too greuling 15 minute ordeal. Seriously, it was a snap - and right in the middle of Christmas company. Everyone grinned and the device will chew up anything we toss into it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not out where the inlaws can see it
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
silverado
from Chicago,Il
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasted 30 Days

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed the Badger 500 1/2 HP on New Years eve of 2013, It lasted t January 31st when it would do nothing but hum,make a really Bad burning smell and get very hot I could barely touch it.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Vee123
from Columbia, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this product is very efficient and quiet

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good product and was easy to install, I thought it was going to take a long time to install however, I was shocked that I had my garbage disposal up and running in no time even surprised my wife.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Heather
from Fort Walton Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great desposal!

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very very easy to install...I had my 16 yr old son install it (with my supervision). He had no issues at all, easy to follow directions, easy assembly!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
skinman
from Castle Rock, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked Well But Didn't Last As Long As I Expected

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed a Badger 5 series 3-4 years ago, stopped working the other day. When I turn it on I hear power but the unit doesn't function. Warranty was only two years so I have to replace it. I'll try one more Badger because it worked well up until it died, but I expect longer life from this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, questionable quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
17out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
bblair
from Flushing, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was an easy replacement project.

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used Insinkerator disposers for years. The last one served for at least 15 years and was easily replaced when the housing cracked and leaked.
I ordered online and picked up at the store. Very convenient.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
teacher155

This is a great disposal.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was easy to install and works great! It was reasonably priced and is much quieter than the old disposal.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Jason
from Temecula, CA

Need a replacement after 6 month

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only 6 months after installing, this disposal is leaking out of the bottom. I am glad this has a 2 year warranty and I am happy the company is sending me a new one, but does this mean they are going to be sending me another new one 6 months down the road? I wish I would have spent the extra money on a quality disposal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Busybee

not worth anymore

PostedApril 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We started using the 500 1/2HP seventeen years ago and we loved them. They lasted for years, even with tenant use.
However, the last few years have been very frustrating. The units now hardly last a year, maybe two if we're lucky. They all have the same problem, rusting out and leaks from the housing. We are looking into different brands, will not use these again. - Sorry badger, what did you do to these one-time good value disposers?
+86points
91out of 96found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
CHIP
from Saint Petersburg, FLORIDA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Little issue see below

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Instillation was somewhat simple, yet the printed instructions had several typos and marginal confusion in its word structure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
DPChase
from United States
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this exact unit in a neighbors house a month ago and decided to add it to my place. Her installation was a replacement and mine was a new install. Both were extremely easy and straight forward. Both installed without a glitch and are working great. Strong, quiet, efficient and no vibrations. I would recommend this unit to any household.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design, no vibration, Powerful, Quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
aco1987

Product is very quiet and works great

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great,my wife is very pleased with the way it preforms.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
kstrong
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY THIS BRAND!!Didn't even last the full warranty period.

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I replaced our old disposal, which came with our brand new house and worked great for 18 years, with a Badger 5-1 1/2 horse-power unit. I can't believe that the motor has burned up after only 23 months!! I will try to take advantage of the warranty but have since lost the receipt and probably will be denied. i 5 STAR DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT for anyone. Do not waste your money. The old adage rings true: you definitely get what you pay for, so spend the extra $20.00 and save yourself some hassle!!!
Pros: Easy to Install, cheaper than most.
Cons: Not Durable, does not last!!!, make sure you do not lose the allen wrench!!!!!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
catcjc

the disposal that really works

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The old disposal was backing up and not doing a very good job. This new one is great, grinding up everything that is given to it. My landlord installed it and it has been a great addition to my kitchen chores of getting the dishes, pots, pans, and glasses ready for the dishwasher. It was reasonably priced and fairly easy to install.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
kitflorida
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just like the other review

PostedMay 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
started to leak after 2 years. by the time I figured it out everything under the sink was wet so my cabients are warped. Seems like this thing was built to last exactly the warrant time of 2 years.
+47points
48out of 49found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>