728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Duo Flush Valve

Duo Flush Valve

The Fluidmaster Duo Flush Valve allows you to quickly convert your existing toilet into a Dual Flush toilet. Duo Flush enables you to use less water by offering two different flush settings, one for liquids and one for solids, and with Duo Flush technology you save water without sacrificing flush performance. Duo Flush replaces the toilet flapper, thus eliminating potential leaks in the future.
Overall rating:
1.667 / 5
1.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
23%of customersrecommend this product3 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
1.7 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(12)
Ease of installation 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Quality 
1.7 out of 5.0
1.7 out of 5
Value 
1.7 out of 5.0
1.7 out of 5
23%of customersrecommend this product3 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Duo Flush Valve
Review 1 for Duo Flush Valve
from San Antonio,Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GREAT

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Duo Flush Valve was kinda scarry looking and I thought I was going to need a Plumber,but the instuctions were easy to read and instalation was a breese.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Duo Flush Valve
from Miami, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea...horrible design

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installation was not difficult at all...and it worked well for a while...I was happy to be saving water. But the materials are so CHEAP...all plastic...and especially the plastic handle. There's no way that handle can withstand repeated use. After 6 months, it was over. Handle broke...water was leaking...all that "water conservation was out the window. Back to the standard flapper now and keeping it that way. Don't waste your money or time with this.
Cons: Leaks, very cheap design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By FluidmasterSupportSeptember 4, 2014By FluidmasterSupportSeptember 4, 2014
Hi joelsom - - I’m very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with the Duo Flush System and would appreciate the chance to learn more from you and remedy this situation. Please contact the Technical Service Department at Fluidmaster and ask for the Supervisor any time during Fluidmaster’s operating hours, 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific) Monday thru Friday. Our toll-free number is 800-631-2011 or if you prefer e-mail, please contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.comFluidMaster
Review 3 for Duo Flush Valve
from Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't waste your money

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these 6 months ago to replace a standard flapper valve system that lasted a decade with the idea of conserving water and going green. Turns out the flush valve sticks in the open position once a week so the entire water conservation aspect of this design ends up being no better then a standard flapper valve. Then this morning the internal stainless steel cable that actuates the flush mechanism broke so the whole think is just plain trash. Maybe my 4th of July project should be to build an outhouse in the back yard - at least that is reliable. (Side Note - why can't I give something a zero rating?)
Cons: does not perform as advertised, unreliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By FluidmasterSupportJuly 28, 2014By FluidmasterSupportJuly 28, 2014
Hi MaxRockatansky – - I’m very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with the Duo Flush System and would appreciate the chance to learn more from you and remedy this situation. Please contact the Technical Service Department at Fluidmaster and ask for the Supervisor any time during Fluidmaster’s operating hours, 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific) Monday thru Friday. Our toll-free number is 800-631-2011 or if you prefer e-mail, please contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.comFluidMaster
Review 4 for Duo Flush Valve
from Los Gatos, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome design, OK Quality

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The design is great. Unique adjustment on top allows "tuning" of your flush. It is super easy to install, but you must actually pay attention to the instructions. Fortuantley, the instructions are pretty clear and straightforward.
Quality is just OK (cheaper plastic parts), but just glad I didn't have to take the toilet tank off for the retro-fit! Last time I did that with other products, could not find the right gasket to replace the one that was old and cracked. This no-tank-removal design elimantes that issue...nice!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Duo Flush Valve
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Handle Design Prevents Consistent Performance

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The valve itself does save water and is a good idea. However, the handle design cannot withstand repeated use. Cheap, small diameter plastic gearing, thin gage actuation wire inside the mechanism and an inadequate locknut make handle performance unacceptable. Guests often push the handle with the force of a traditional toilet valve. The handle cannot withstand these forces.
Cons: flush handle poor design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Duo Flush Valve

Don't waste your money on this product

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree with all the one star reviews. The handle mechanism is poor in design. After a month of use we really had to crank on the handle to get it to flush. Had to get the handle almost vertical to get the toilet to flush. After a month the mechanism would let water drip into bowl until you jiggled the handle to make the "flapper" sit flush with the seat. I was so elated to switch back to the old mechanism so I wouldn't have to deal with the constant leak after flushing then having to jiggle handle to stop the leak.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks, fails to work after short period after install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By FluidmasterSupportJanuary 21, 2014By FluidmasterSupportJanuary 21, 2014
Hi YoJoe – I am sorry that you had a problem with our Duo Flush Tank Lever; Fluidmaster is always looking to improve the durability, the materials and in some cases the aesthetic look of our product(s). The Tank Lever for the Duo Flush was rereleased into our kits with a stronger and thicker weld on the inside because of reviews such as these. If you would be so kind to contact our Technical Service Department we would like to replace the unit free of charge in order to get your feedback on the newer design. Contact Fluidmaster Technical Service Supervisor at: 800-631-2011, hours of operation are from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM Monday thru Friday.or e-mail us at techsupport@fluidmaster.comFluidMaster
Review 7 for Duo Flush Valve
from Edmond, OK
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks, not easy to assemble, full/half flush doesn't work

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this because my toilet didn't seem to have a full flush for large waste, this product failed on all claims. Installation was a nightmare but I'll give some of that to my limited work space. The product then leaks, so the bowl ends up with water that comes from tank and floater turns water on to refill, over and over and over. The full flush isn't any better than my previous simple flapper system. The half flush didn't work at all even when dialed up to maximum level.
Going back to Home Depot tomorrow to try another brand that has the standard flap system.
Cons: Leaks, installation difficult
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By FluidmasterSupportApril 22, 2014By FluidmasterSupportApril 22, 2014
Hi OkieBlackhawk – I am sorry to hear of your experience. In most cases we find the leaking is from the refill tubes that are shoved inside the overflow pipe siphoning water. The other common reason is simply the angled seat adaptor putty was not spread evenly around its base. We would appreciate the opportunity to learn more about the issues and remedy this situation with you. Please contact the Technical Services Department at Fluidmaster during our operating hours from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific) Monday thru Friday, at our toll-free number 800-631-2011 or if you prefer e-mail, please contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.comFluidMaster
Review 8 for Duo Flush Valve
from Houston, Tx.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Works Well

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installs real easy, I had a leak at first between my angled valve seat and the supplied adaptor, but resolved it by pushing the adaptor on tighter. It would be better to simply replace the angled seat with a level one but I didn't want to take the tank off, but doing so would eliminate a potential leak point. I was able to get my 3.5 gallon flush down to 2.10 for full flush and 1.25 gallons for the light flush. Fluidmaster should upgrade the kit to a metal flush handle though, the plastic one is cheesy. I am going to buy another one for my other toilet.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Duo Flush Valve
from Maine, USA

Does not work

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I saw this in the store and thought that this would be great to cut down on water usage. It worked great for about four months, but then it would just continually run after a full flush. I would come back to the toilet and see that it had been running for hours... so much for saving water. I finally just put back the tried and true (old) parts.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks, Not Durable, flimsy handle
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Duo Flush Valve

Don't waste your money

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this and the fluidmaster performax hoping to save on water but after one week it started having problems. Sometimes the flap will not close correctly so the water would leak and in order to fix it I would have to flush again and sometimes again. Of course this means I would have to pay attention to make sure it doesn't leak - normally, people flush and walk away, not flush and monitor the toilet. It is too much trouble to flush and then come back a minute or two later to make sure it is working correctly. I don't write reviews often but this is the one time I am writing a review to make sure you don't go out and spend $35(I spent $70 since I bought two) for this and the performax hoping to save on water. You save about .4 of a gallon per flush and assuming 20 flushes per day that is 8 gallons per day you save. Multiply 8 x 365 = 2920 gallons you save per year. At $6 for every 1000 gallons, you would only save $17.52 per year. That would require 4 years to recoup that $70 I spent. In 4 years it could possibly break again so it would not exactly be a saving. Save your money and either have the tank water be lower or take up volume by using two 20oz bottles filled with some rocks(so it will not float) and fill the rest with water and put them in your tank. You will thank me for saving the time and money.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Duo Flush Valve
from Yuma, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a piece of junk

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This is a piece of junk.........Seven months and it broke, going back to the conventional flush.......I would not recommend to my worst neighbor
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: doesn't last
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Duo Flush Valve
from Peoria, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

failed after 2 months

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this not to save water as it would take years to get the payback but wanted a flush system that worked consistently. Well this unit turned out to be worse than any flapper I've used. The problem is the seal around the piston gets knocked out of the groove it sits in and causes the toilet to run constantly. Going back to a standard valve and considering this a lesson learned. Unfortunately I did not keep any of the old hardware so it's going to cost more to go back to where I was.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: Leaks, poor quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Duo Flush Valve
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The handle is flimsy. After a few months it fails to reset properly and end up running consistently. I can't find any info on how to repair it so I am going to to ditch it, warn others and look for a replacement. I was really hoping this would cut down on my water usage but instead has increased it.
Cons: handle is weak, waste water
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By FluidmasterSupportDecember 6, 2013By FluidmasterSupportDecember 6, 2013
Hi DenverHomeowner2000 – I am very sorry that your Duo Flush toilet tank handle broke. Instead of “ditching” it please give Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Team a call. We can replace the handle and ensure you have the system set up properly. The Technical Service toll free number is 800-631-2011 or if you prefer to e-mail us please use techsupport@fluidmaster.com. Fluidmaster Technicians are available from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific Standard Time) Monday thru Friday.FluidMaster
Review 14 for Duo Flush Valve
from Eastpointe, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Complete Failure

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product failed in less than a month. Grey seal slips off center piece, center shaft hangs up. never noticed any difference between half flush and full flush. Flimsy plastic junk.
Cons: Leaks
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Duo Flush Valve
from Milwaukee, WI
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not work

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
- had problem with the valve staying open permanently when flushing. Rotating the unit more toward the left side of the tank fixed this most of the time, but not all of the time. The cable catches where it enters the housing of the unit. It's all poorly fit plastic, not much you can do.
- just doesn't work. Use the "half" flush with the adjustment dial set to minimum and it empties the tank. The half flush actually opens the valve slightly longer than the full flush.
- Returning, may try a competitor unit if one appears to be better quality. Would love a dual flush valve if it worked.
Cons: poor design, poor fit, improper operation
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.