728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote

12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Want it delivered to your home? Search Internet # 203393371. LG Electronics Window Air Conditioners feature Electronic Controls that are easy to read and use, the electronic controls offer more accurate temperature management with a stylish design. in addition a remote control is included for your personal comfort. The user-friendly remote control adjusts temperature, fan speed, and the timer. LG LW1212ER 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, 115 Volt, EER Rating of 9.8, Electronic Controls with Remote Control Included, 3 Fan Speeds, 4 Way Air Direction.
Overall rating:
3.952 / 5
4
 / 
5
(105 reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product77 of 104reviews
Rating Breakdown 105 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(58)
4
(19)
3
(9)
2
(3)
1
(16)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product77 of 104reviews
Customer questions and answers:
51 Questions | 111 Answers
Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Review 1 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest Installation I've ever seen.

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two of these AC Units. The first was purchased last summer, and is still working great over a year later. I am pleased with the cooling capacity, noise level, and energy efficiency.
I have not scientifically measured the efficiency of this unit compared to others, so that is why I rated "Energy Efficiency" at 4. My electric bill is not bad, in spite of massive heat waves.
The installation of this AC unit was a breeze. The actual AC unit slides into the metal shell frame, which you mount in your window first. That means no having to balance a heavy item while trying to secure it. Just install the light-weight shell in your window, make sure it is secure, and then slide the actual AC unit cleanly into place.
There are two adjustable feet on the frame that are well balanced with the unit's center of gravity, and easy to adjust. On my window, I had to use a 3/4" board between the brick wall and the adjustable feet, but in a frame house, I imagine the feet would hit the outer ledge just fine.
I found the frame to mount very securely in my window, and because there are two feet (on either side), the whole thing is very stable. So, except for a small board I already had laying around, everything I needed was in the box.
Note: A normal "AC Window Bracket" will not work, or be needed with this unit. Two adjustable feet will be able to make secure contact with your outer window frame.
Because you can access the inside area of the frame (with the AC unit removed), this product would lend itself to be installed in a variety of conditions that normal one-piece units could. When just the frame is in the window, you have complete access to the inside of the shell, and therefore could fabricate any number of ad-hoc mounting solutions your situation may require, such as additional security from the side-an ideal solution for ground-level urban environments.
No matter where you install this, be sure to block the top of the window from opening. I used screws on the inside edge of the window track to prevent the window from being opened by accident.
Tip: Have open-ended wrench of the right size handy before you begin.
Make sure you have a grounded 15 Amp outlet near the window. If you must use an extension cord, do not use a power strip, use an extension cord made for air-conditioners.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+42points
45out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Allison Park, Hampton Township, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Unit -Easy to Install

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have central air in the house but since it has been in the high 90's going to a 100 this upcoming weekend - we got this to help out the main unit since it runs constantly from 7am til 8 pm and the house was only cooling to 77 and with temps in the 100's I'm guessing it will be in the 80's in the house.. I like the fact it is a pull out unit - meaning you can install the frame in the window, get it all secured - then slide the main unit in. Its quiet for a 12,000 BTU unit and has cooled the living room, dining room and kitchen off nicely. We have a 1,600 sqft ranch house and its working as a supplement to the main central air very nice, and the price was very good for a 12,000 unit. I have 2 other LG units at my one rental property and they both work great.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Unit - Installation was easy

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I researched Consumer Reports before buying.This unit was rated best of all in the 12,000 BTU category.
The chassis slides into the frame like higher priced products and installation took about 40 minutes.
It's not any louder than a fan and it cooled the room down 20 degrees (from 95 to 75) in one hour!
I highly recommend!
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Raleigh, NC, USA

Quiet, cool, efficient

PostedJune 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had this as the main a/c in our living room/kitchen area for 2 years now, about 600 sq feet. Installation seemed pretty straightforward, but I've put in a number of window a/cs. It is a lot cheaper to 'zone cool' with window units than to use the central a/c to constantly cool rooms that aren't being used. Even in the hot NC summers, our electric bill rarely exceeds a hundred dollars. It seems wasteful and unhealthy to set an a/c unit below 70 degrees during the southern summer (come on, if you like it that cold, move north). Ours is usually set at 72 (the real temp in the house stays around 75 at this setting). It's quiet, reduces the humidity to nothing, so between it and the ceiling fans, it's real nice. On weeks like this, when the temps are in the 100s for days on end, it runs non-stop, but so did the Frigidaire 15,100 BTU a/c this one replaced. They both seemed to produce about the same level of cooling, the the LG is much quieter, and obviously takes significantly less power. We're very pleased with it.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Palm Springs, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome AC

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this AC. The 3 speeds actually result in lower noise at the low setting. Cooling is great.
Installation is a breeze, since the unit will slide out of the case.
Quality is top notch.
Vent direction works good.
Also, this unit makes use of the slinger fan which throws excess water at the cooling coils to increase efficiency....make sure you tilt it back a 1/2 inch from level to make use of this like the directions say......do NOT drill any holes to drain the water....here in Palm Springs there is NO water that overflows.it all goes to cooling the coils and evaporates there..............z
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from North Carolina, USA

A little slice of heaven

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our central air has been nothing but, trouble since it was installed about six years ago. It's busted again. I decided that I need to do some shopping for a new system. In the mean time we're having record highs. It's supposed to be in the 90's and humid tomorrow. So, my willingness to suffer through it has worn thin.
When I brought this unit home it was 84 in the cool end of my house. The instructions are OK. You'll probably have to make some things work for your windows. But, it installs easy. I got it installed by myself. There is a little heavy lifting but, install the cabinet and then slide the heavy part in. It starts making cold air right away.
Right now I'm loving it. I don't expect this unit to cool my whole house but, right now it's obvious that it will make life much easier downstairs.
This unit has bought me some time to shop around for a better central air and furnace. It makes gobs of cold air. It's reasonably quiet. The function and finish is good. If the HOA doesn't say anything I'll try to leave it in place all summer. I purposely installed it in the back of my house so, it's not visible from the street.
You just don't realize how much AC means to you till it's hot outside and your AC is out of order.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Cocoa Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Works great in Steamy, Humid Florida

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this unit about 4 weeks ago, to replace one that was older and not functioning.
Within the first hour of having it on, the room temperature was cooler and the humidity went down quickly.
As it has been drastically hot in the last few weeks, I've been using it all day on the Energy Saver. It does a great job keeping both the living, dining and kitchen cooled to a comfortable, dry feeling,and fresh environment. I'd been spoiled, having always had central air, but using the unit on Energy Saver is practically the same!
This unit was too heavy for me to carry to the second floor, so thank goodness for my brother-in-law. He went to H.D. with me to pick it up, we carried it up the stairs, and he installed it in minutes. It fit perfect in the existing opening, and all is well.
After not having A/C for about 2 weeks, this was indeed a life saver!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Powerful, Good Size & Fit
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Broken out of box

PostedJune 10, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just picked this unit up yesterday. I spent roughly an hour and a half trying to decipher the miniature illustrations accompanying ambiguous installation instructions. I noticed some loose black screws in the box that didn't match the rest, but thought nothing of it.
Once it was installed in the window, I tested it. I heard the fan blades binding on the plastic shroud. With the faceplate off, I reached in grabbed the shaft. The motor that drives both the front and rear blade was loose and free to rock back and forth.
LG customer service is available 24/7, and they picked up on the first ring, which is a plus. They confirmed that it's not a feature; the motor should not move.
It wouldn't be worth the hassle of returning the unit, sacrificing more of my time disassembling, returning, and reassembling a new air conditioner. I fixed it myself.
Two of the four screws that secure the blower motor had stripped out the plastic shroud they are mounted into. They were floating around in the box when I opened it. It looks like someone over tightened them at the factory. I installed two new screws with larger threads. Fixed.
Maybe they should use machine screws, brass inserts, and locktite? We're not talking about a throw away window fan here. This is a moderately priced air conditioner that is prone to vibrate. Don't cut corners.
Another thing to note. There are load bearing frame guides made from cheap plastic that you snap into the bottom of the unit. The instructions even mention "NOTE: Be careful when you install the cabinet (Frame Guides [10] are broken easily)". Maybe LG should make them from a more robust material so they don't have to warn the end user about fragile parts.
Yesterday was cool, so I cannot rate how well this unit actually works. What I can tell you is that right from the box, I am disappointed with this unit.
The price is right but the quality is seriously lacking. I haven't even had a chance to use it and I'm already regretting my purchase.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Westbrook, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great air conditioner!

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Delivery was great! They brought it into the house.
That is wonderful when you are handicapped!
Great unit, price, and service!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Paducah, KY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing cools half my house!

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love it. Never used the remote. Cooled half an 1100 sq/ft house with it. Never a problem with it. Electric bill did not go up with 2 of these instead of my central air.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Powerful, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Eco-Friendly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Baltimore, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice AC Unit. I hope it lasts!

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the LG 2014ER about a week ago to cool my living room and so far I am happy with the purchase. The unit is much quieter than the older models I had used before and it cools just as well. It has a pull-out chassis, which I feel makes installation easier for a larger unit like this. You install the frame in the window first then insert the unit into the frame. I found installation to be a bit tricky as the instructions are simplified to the point of being too vague. Several screws that hold the unit together for shipping are used later in the installation, so do not misplace them (not mentioned in the earlier instructions when unpacking). Make sure you do have a ruler and level on hand to make sure the pieces fit correctly. I found some of the metal to be slightly warped while installing. While some of the pieces did not fit exactly, it was close enough to work. The Energy Save feature does not work well in my room as it constantly turns on and off every 1-2 minutes, so it might as well be on all the time. It has a Dry feature to dehumidify the room without cooling. It also has a thermostat and timer. This unit has a 1-year warranty, while some competitor models offer up to 2 years.
Although homedepot.com said the air conditioner was Sold Out online and there were none in stock at any of the nearby stores, I found several on the shelf at my local store. The LG 1214ER air conditioner is the top-rated 2014 model for its size in Consumer Reports.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet
Cons: cheap construction, possible durability issues?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from North NJ

Nice air conditioner

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Heavy, so was not so easy to install. It took some time to get the screws in the side panels because they are flat. Other then that, the unit works great, cools nicely and runs quit for a window air conditioner. I keep it on energy saver most of the time and it does its job. Only have it for a few days, so far, so good.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Denver, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ehhhhh....not impressed

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read other reviews about the LG models being quiet during operation. That's certainly not the case.
The FIRST unit I bought, after installing; I learned the compressor had no freon in it. it did not cool at all. The freon either leaked out or was never put in at the factory. LG tried to convince me to have a service company come to look at, but that made no sense at all - I think for $300+ the expectation should be that it works correctly out of the box. Several service companies I chatted with suggested returning - their experience is that if it isn't working out of the box it will most likely continue to have problems. agreed.
I returned it for a second model and the 2nd model works fine. but it's not any quieter than the GE model it replaced.
In fact, the chassis, housing, everything on the LG model was identical to the GE model it was replacing. I'm convinced they are all coming from the same factory in China or wherever and the only difference is the branding.
so, I gotta give LG negative points for lack of QC. Overall it does its job but there is no way this unit is any quieter than other models. and the fact that I had to load this unit in and out of my car 3 times is baloney - they are not light by any means.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product was a replacement. Manufacture Warranty

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was a real pain getting this product replaced. The Manufacture Warranty consisted of a one week wait for a Tech to come to the house. Another 10 day wait to decide if the A/C was worth fixing, Then a call saying it was going to be replaced. Great ! All I needed to do was ship back the unit and they would mail me a check in a month or so. What a joke. this all happened in the middle of the summer.
Cons: manufacture warranty sucks !
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

The air-conditioner has great features.W/remote works great

PostedApril 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
SLID IT OUT OF ITS CASE INSTALLED AND RUNNING:} 15 MIN. PERFECT. VERY HAPPY TODAY. WILL UPDATE WHEN MID-SUMMER GETS HERE. 82 TODAY AND 65 IN THE HOUSE.:]
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It was good for 4 years

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
we bought this unit 7/30/08 with a 5 yr warranty. It quit after 4 yrs. We have been waiting for two weeks for the repair company to contact us to schedule the repair. The unit itself has compressor oil in the bottom of it and the cover is completely rusted through on one side. The units being sold now have only 1 yr warranty. I'm going to switch brands.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Miami, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

IRRITATING NOISE COMING FROM UNIT

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unit ran very quiet for about a week, then an irritating fluttering sound from within developed. It's not loud but it is annoying when you're trying to sleep. And it does not get the room ice cold like our previous unit did. Also, the remote only works if you're directly in front of the unit within a few feet. If you're looking to control it from your nightstand in a large bedroom, shop a different unit.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Good product. Poor installation instructions.

PostedJune 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have no complaints with the unit. It works great. I like the timer feature.
LG really needs to improve the quality of the installation instructions. They are poorly written. In particular, the illustrations are useless. They are too small and do not help at all.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Sacramento CA

Poor Quality!

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Within two hours of having this unit installed it began to have a loud fluttering noise. It would stop periodically but then start again. Whenever the noise would start the cooling would stop. I decided to return the unit and I ordered a replacement. Right out of the box, the second unit had rattlling noise. This noise was different than the first unit but it would also stop cooling when the noise would start. The setting on the unit was at 63 and the temperature in the room was 84. It should not stop cooling. This is obvious poor workmanship and quality control . Now I will have to return the second unit and will be purchasing a different brand. Don't waste your time and money.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value for a great price.

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great air conditioner, cools of 2 rooms well (about 500 sq.ft.). The last one I had was a 14,000 BTU unit but it was 20 years old and broke down in the heat wave. This one is 12000 BTUs but works much better. I would have gone for more BTUs but they don't fit the window it needs to go in. Looks great, good remote, nice and quiet also. I don't know how energy efficient it is, I only had it for a month but it was rated highly. It is a bit heavy but that is to be expected for a unit of this size. Great value for a great price.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>