728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote

12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Want it delivered to your home? Search Internet # 203393371. LG Electronics Window Air Conditioners feature Electronic Controls that are easy to read and use, the electronic controls offer more accurate temperature management with a stylish design. in addition a remote control is included for your personal comfort. The user-friendly remote control adjusts temperature, fan speed, and the timer. LG LW1212ER 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, 115 Volt, EER Rating of 9.8, Electronic Controls with Remote Control Included, 3 Fan Speeds, 4 Way Air Direction.
Overall rating:
3.939 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product72 of 98reviews
Rating Breakdown 99 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(55)
4
(18)
3
(7)
2
(3)
1
(16)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product72 of 98reviews
Customer questions and answers:
49 Questions | 109 Answers
Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Review 21 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
k2020
from Bronx, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

something is wrong with this units

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought the ac a yr ago and it stopped cooling you can hear the fan running but it wont cool the room. also it wont turn off I have to unplug it from the wall. extremely disappointed with this purchase.
my friend also bought this unit and had to take it back right away because it had the same problem. she actually took it back twice deferent times.
Cons: Quality, Performance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Fini
from Mi
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just a great product

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pros: remot, ability to use a universal remote, cooling is >= what it says on the box. Install was easy and recommend cleaning will be easy due to not having to pull the whole thing from the window. Also uses the water runoff to help cool the rear coils which helps keep energy bill down.
Cons: this silly thing did not install itself.
Other: came with everything you should need to install it. Great product.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, quite, remote feature
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Joe915
from Charlton, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good so far

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had so many problems with my first unit I bought and installed yesterday, that I took it back to the store and exchanged it today. The fan was broken, the case was dented, the remote did not work and the vents were broken. All this and the box was sealed and in great condition. So it was the manufacturer not Home Depot. They exchanged it no problem and the second unit works great so far. It is quiet and is cooling the room down very effectively. The only reason I gave it a second chance was there were so many good reviews. The directions are very poor, lack diagrams & the description of parts doesn't always match the parts list,but you will be able to figure it out. It appears that most of the time these are great, but they do have the occasional dud. If you get one try again even though it is such a pain to do all that work twice.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Mack
from Mt Vernon, TX 75457, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The air-conditioner has great features. The remote works great.

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation was pretty tough due to our windows being the old 60's style aluminum windows. It took a while to make the modifications necessary to get the case to fit properly so the internal unit could be slid into place, but once done, the unit works great.
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Staggs
from Arkansas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT PRODUCT! LIFESAVER!

PostedJune 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Instant COLD air!!! After about 4 hours it easily cooled 500 sq. After about 8 hours....FREEZING! Had to turn it down!
DELIVERS!!!! YOU CAN'T GO WRONG!!!!!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Nate
from Wausau, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the AC

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love the AC. Bought this one to replace a 8,000btu and this one cools off our 3 bedroom apartment great. It is very quite for the size/ We have a TV right by it and have no problem hearing the TV. Defiantly worth the money. No complaints. Is harder to install but the casing can be installed first then the rest which makes it a lot easier.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
RonR

Very nice A/C system. Energy Star Compliant. Easy to install even for a novice.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would definitely recommend this unit. Terrific buy and I'm looking at replacing my other older systems with this unit as I get funds to do so.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Anna
from Riverview, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

not happy with this item

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this unit for my parents and it stopped working after a few weeks. well the fan worked but the unit would not blow cold air. it just ran up the electric bill.
Pros: Looks Great, Powerful, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
Cons: Blower Speeds, Performance, coolent goes out very quickly-less than a yr.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Nate
from Carlisle, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great A/C. Bad Directions

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Air conditioner is cooling our entire downstairs nicely. My only complaint is the directions. Step 1 of the directions tells you to remove the shipping screws and remove the unit from it's cabinet. This would be fine except that the unit if mounted inside with foam and seals. So, by pulling it out of the cabinet you rip every single seal inside of it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
kitty
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

My favorite feature is that the filter is easily removed and cleaned.

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this air conditioner. It is more quiet than our old unit and puts out cool air during the hottest of days. It took 2 men and a strong young man to install it, but I think that goes for most big window units.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
MelindaL
from Grafton, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The air conditioner works great.

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The air conditioner cools my bottom floor (about 900 sq ft) with no problem. Consumer Reports was right. The value of the unit is well worth it!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
laurora
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Relief for Less!

PostedJune 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great price for a high quality 12,000 BTU AC. It's wonderfully quiet and effectively cools my entire top story while controlling the temp on the ground floor on the hottest 100+ days. I do use a tower fan in my hall to push the cool air into the study, but yes, it cools about 550 square feet. Installation was more complicated than I expected. I ended up using a store-bought support instead of the flimsy brackets. This is a heavy unit and perhaps they could design a better way to hold it in a window. Other than that, I am extremely pleased and would definitely recommend this product to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
JeffFromAcushnet
from South Coast of MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Window A/C For The Price

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purcahsed one of these a few months back at my local Home Depot. Installation is easy once you figure out where the two bottom brackets for the curtains attach to the chassis.
I converted my attic into a home theater room and a computer room. Temps have averaged 90 degrees so far this summer in both rooms. The rooms are 12x12 with slanted ceilings.
The first unit cooled the theater room within the first day. I keep it set at 66 on energy saver mode. Noise levels are VERY ACCEPTABLE for a 12,000BTU A/C. No complaints at all with the first unit.
NOW FOR THE SECOND ONE! Home Depot was out if stock so I ordered one on line. It was delivered in two days and the box was in A+ condition. We unpacked it from the box, installed the unit and turned it on. All it did was make a HUMMING sound. After further investigation, the motor that spins the fan NOT ATTACHED. Therefore the fan did not spin. I secured the fan motor with four screws I had and the unit works fine.
I called LG to report the problem. They are sending a tech over to see if the unit is safe for operation. I spoke to the local tech to let him know what I had done and he is still nervous that it won't stay secured. I won't know until he arrives on 7-23-12. I will update after he leaves.
So be aware of poor quality control and check the entire unit before installation. I purchased both for $319 which I find acceptable for a 12,000BTU.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Looks Great, Powerful, Good Size & Fit
Cons: poor quality control at lg before product leaves f
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
George
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great unit

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought another one at a differant store that was so noisey, I took it back after one night of use, bought this one and was impressed on how guiet it was even on high speed, well down LG
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Marcy

Pretty satisfied, but be warned, unit is hard to install and can be a bit loud

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit is extremely hard to install. It took my handyman 3 hours to install the unit and the window enforcer. The unit is pretty powerful and efficient; however it's gotten louder since I first used it two weeks ago. The noise is tolerable, assuming that it doesn't get any louder. For the price, I'd say it keeps my large space - 600 sq ft - cool and comfortable and overall I'm happy with the unit.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Dale
from Hollywood, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great A/C

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced another LG a/c unit with this one i have a small 2 bedroom starter home in Hollywood Fl we had a 1000 BTU in the living room and it worked great but on hot summer days it would have a time to keep up with the heat and there is little insulation in these older homes i replaced it with this 12000 BTU and in one day we noticed a big difference in the cooling it nows keeps up with the heat and even cools the kitchen i will now put the 1000 BTU in the bedroom to replace the 5000 chep one i have in there now anyone who uses window a/c to keep cool should buy this one its a great unit and the auto shutt off is good too cause its like having a mini central a/c thank you LG
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Waniak

It is very quiet.

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was the perfect size to replace my panasonic unit.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
spidc60
from Waxahachie, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Freezing cold!

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this unit for about two months now. It keeps the living room and the bedroom very cold. Also, I just got the electric bill today and it is looks good as well. I am very happy so far!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
oilikeit2
from Vero Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Value and Quality

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have always trusted LG products and this is no exception. It is quiet, preforms very well and was in my opinion a great value.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 12,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Adrienne
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The is a great air condition

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great air condition will recommend to anyone looking for a air condition to cool off room or house.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>