728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Storage Bins, Cubes & Totes or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in

Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in

Our most popular of crates, the Large Crate has some great proportions that will look great anywhere you put it at home or at the office. All of our 12.5 in. wide crates hold hanging file folders perfectly. Add wheels and you have a rolling file cabinet. Or stack them for vertical shelves.
Overall rating:
4.439 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(139 reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product124 of 134reviews
Rating Breakdown 139 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(86)
4
(41)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product124 of 134reviews
Customer reviews for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
Review 1 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
from Weehawken, NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Super for creative coffee table

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The crates are perfect for indoor tables and storage ideas. We required a slightly bigger table for our space so we used 6 of these. Photos attached if anyone wants to see. They are slightly fragile specially when you are drilling screws through them to join them together so need to be careful. That is the reason I took 1 star off. Otherwise, it looks fabulous. I also used the red wheels from Home Depot and they are stellar. Cant write enough good things about them!
Pros: Multi Use, Stylish, Light Weight, Seals Well
Cons: fragile
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
from Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Built Coffee Tables...

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I saw a photo online of a coffee table made out of crates. We wanted to build some just like it. We couldn't find crates anywhere local to buy. Went to Homedepot.com and found what we wanted. I was worried that shipping would damage them. They came with out a scratch and in perfect condition. The crates are good quality but each one is a little different in size by 1/16 to 1/8 of an inch. Gave the tables we made some character. Over all great product and has many uses. Strong, well built, and works great.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Stylish, Light Weight, Seals Well
Cons: measurements slightly off
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in

Perfect for DIY

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like others who have posted reviews, I bought these crates to create a new coffee table. They worked perfectly! 4 crates, a piece of plywood, 4 legs and 4 threaded plates to screw the legs into....two alternating wood stain colors and two coats of poly = a beautiful new coffee table! I plan to buy one more and create a matching side table to sit between two accent chairs. I absolutely love the way everything turned out.
Pros: Light Weight, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
from Springdale, AR, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

18 IN X 12.5 IN. X 9.5 IN. WOOD CRATE x4

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love them, for my new coffee table. Will be quite the conversation piece in my Living room
Pros: Multi Use, Stylish, Good Shape, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+97points
97out of 97found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Perfect item for my project!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I saw a table on Pinterest featuring these crates as the main part. It looked like an easy cheap table to make, so I ordered the inexpensive crates. These were much more than I thought they would be. Very stable, good quality, uniform in appearance, took the stain well. Turned out to be a well built quality table that I would gave paid a lot for, if already made.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Light Weight, Good Shape
Cons: no con's!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Versatile modular wooden crates great for many projects!

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I first purchased 10 of these crates, and now another 9 to create shelving units in my small apartment and office. Besides staying within my budget, the modular aspect allows me to get creative about organizing the space. It is highly customizable so I had some fun adding edge paint to pop the look for a simple guest room with a farmer-chic touch. For the price it is definitely worth it... the minor thing to note is that when it first came out of the box I had to wipe down and vacuum the saw dust and some required a bit of sandpapering, but considering it as a raw base to create my own shelf I can't complain too much. When I have more time I would love to do wood stain on my new set of wooden crates to give it an antiqued look for the entrance of the office. I also prefer these over getting another heavy shelf unit due to the fact that it will make moving out of my apartment and into my next apartment a lot easier. I am overall very happy with this space saving solution and plan to get more in the future!
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
from Santa Ana
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great crates for craft projects and decor!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought three of these and painted them for a bridal shower. They are pretty porous, so the primer soaked in pretty well. I would recommend two coats. For being unfinished, they required very little sanding to get them ready for use (unless you need the edges extremely smooth). After the shower we used them to pack up the supplies and they proved to be very strong and sturdy as well.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Light Weight, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+40points
40out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for DIYs!!

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought 8 of these crates (in-store) to make small furniture for our son's "big boy" room. We made 2 nightstands and a bookcase, finishing them by giving a "distressed" and aged look. We are so pleased with the results! For the price, these are incredible.
Pros: Light Weight, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+122points
122out of 122found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in

Beautiful. Clean. Perfect.

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used these crates by hanging them on the wall and creating a unique bookshelf. They are sturdy and of good quality. Once stained they created a beautiful book shelf for my daughters room.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Light Weight, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cute and perfect

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this box as a shelf and decoration for my room. See the pictures attached.
The package came on time with minimal inside packaging, showing that the box is sturdy enough to not need reinforced packaging but also I didn't have to throw away/waste so much packing material.
The edges are slightly rough and the corners are pointy. If this is going in an environment with kids, it might be worth it to sand for a minute or even paint it. I plan on painting it with a leftover sampler paint I got from Home Depot for another DIY project. The handle part is beveled so it's not too uncomfortable on the hands.
Feels very sturdy, not heavy. The thickness of the wood was more than I expected; I thought it would be flimsier wood. I have it on its side with my heavy printer on top (see pic) and books and notebooks inside. It looks cute in my room!
Pros: Multi Use, Alternative for Real Wood, Stylish, Light Weight
Cons: somewhat splintery
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
from Atlanta, Ga

Matches the description

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The crates came packaged separately in their own boxes which helped them to not get damaged during shipping. They matched the description. I used them to make a coffee table for my wife from Pinterest. They are sturdy crated and finish really nicely. If you need a good crate for any DIY or craft projects I would get these over the ones at W-mart any day.
Pros: Multi Use, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
from los angeles
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good Boxes

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The boxes were delivered to my door quickly. For the most part well sanded and ready to go. The slats on the boxes are more flimsy than I expected. In fact one of the boards started to crack but i fixed it with some wood glue and a small nail. Overall good quality though. Nothing to do with the boxes but more to do with home depot pricing... it would be great if there weren't two different prices for this item... in store $3/box and online $12/box...but you don't keep any in stock at the stores! I did get mine for $9/box, ended up being cheaper than the ikea bookshelf i was going to buy and more fun to design. Overall happy.
Pros: Multi Use, Light Weight
Cons: wood a bit flimsy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
from Yardley, Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great craft component

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality construction, easy to cut, sand and assemble into final product.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wood Crate

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought six crates and used them for shelving in my garage. Three stacked vertically from my work bench to the ceiling and three across top made good-looking, functional shelves. I left them bare and they look great!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+85points
86out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
from Medina, OH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect! Arrived on time and I love them. Great condition!

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is great! Tried finding crates everywhere but maybe due to Halloween, there are none to be found a this time of year because everyone is using them to display Halloween items. My alternative was to order these and they arrived in perfect condition, are really well constructed and I am soooo happy! Thank you Home Depot!! Oh, free shipping also right to the house!!
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Light Weight, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reasonable Pricing

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to stain and make shelving in my restroom. Stained great and the crates are pretty sturdy!!
I bought two. In the picture it only shows one shelf but its 2 both with same brackets.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
from Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

All in all very satisfied!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
2 of the slats were almost broken, Since I was making a table I put that side down.
Pros: Multi Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
from Coral Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

SIMPLE BUT ELEGANT

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
PERFECT FOR SETTING MY SUBWOOFER ON! WELL MADE AND COOL!
Pros: Durable, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
from massachusetts
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Durable, functional, great quality

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The crate is great for adding a beautiful look to our farmer's market stand. It's very sturdy and well made. Durable and reliable, we look no further for something to go through the wear and tear of farmer's markets and still come out great. I recommend finishing the product before putting it into use.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Crates and Pallet - Large Wood Crate - 18in x 12.5in x 9.5in
from Berwick, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Planter Boxes

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 4 of these to use as yard art. I painted them, stapled landscaping fabric inside them, filled them with peat moss, compost, and rich potting soil to make a gorgeous raised planter that is portable. These crates have handles on the side so they can be carried if need be. Some plants do well in an area while others don't. This way, I can just move them to another spot without replanting them. Just don't fill with too much heavy soil.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>