728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Polymeric Paver Sand

Polymeric Paver Sand

Pavestone's new PolySand makes outdoor living more beautiful and enjoyable. This premium polymeric jointing sand is a precise mixture of polymer binders and clean natural sand. PolySand bonds with the paver surface adding joint strength, as well as, reliability to the pavement system. PolySand complements any paver installation, ensuring professional results for years to come.
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
57%of customersrecommend this product8 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
57%of customersrecommend this product8 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for Polymeric Paver Sand
Review 1 for Polymeric Paver Sand
from Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job.

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First and most important be sure you pick up Poly Sand to fill in the joints. The Paver Sand that comes in a similar bucket just will not work. Color was great as we didn't want it to stand out but blend in with the pavers.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Polymeric Paver Sand
from Lake Tapps, Washington, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding for use with pavers

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The paver walks I installed 25 years ago were covered with moss, lichen and weeds growing out of the sand between them. I used a pressure washer and then full strength bleach to clean the pavers and remove the old sand. After thoroughly drying I swept polmeric sand between the pavers. I then used a battery blower held very low and parallel to the surface to get the sand off the tops of any pavers without blowing it out of the joints.. Then spray a VERY FINE mist over the whole surface 3 or 4 times in the frist hour. Too heavy a spray will wash the polmeric to the bottom and it will not harden. You can use a garden sprayer if you need to get a very light mist on the sand. The picture shows the pavers after cleaning and after sand installed. I really liked this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, better than plain sand.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
34out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Polymeric Paver Sand
from Virginia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product!

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I normally do not write reviews but figured I'd would like the other reviewers that thought the material did as it should. I think it is key and important to follow the directions. Used the product two nights ago and went out the next morning and 90% of the area was hardened like it should be. Good product! Read and follow the directions!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Polymeric Paver Sand

Very Happy with Results

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading what everyone had to say here, I was very nervous about whether to get this sand or not. Some people said it was great, some said it was awful. I used the successful users' instructions as my guide, and they were right on. I agree...it is NOT concrete. If you want the hassle of working with concrete, I think that is a different project. This was my first paver project, extending my patio. I set the pavers about 3/8" apart. After I had them all set, I watered them down and let sit over night. Then I opened the product and poured it onto the pavers, a section at a time, concentrating on the cracks, leaving some on the top of the pavers. I used a push broom to get it into the cracks, until I was happy with the level. Then I used the MIST setting on my hose nozzle to very lightly mist the whole thing. I did this every 5 to 6 min over a 40 min period. It was a VERY hot night, so it was ready for another round pretty quickly. I let it set overnight and it came out perfectly. It is plenty firm, not at ALL like just regular sand, and the look is great. Looks sort of like a rough grout. The only thing I would caution is that you must clean the excess sand off any areas that you don't want to have a bit of hardened sand on. I have a couple of spots that hardened on my regular patio area, but, because it isn't cement, it is pretty easy to scrape off. I am very pleased and glad that I didn't back way from this product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Polymeric Paver Sand
from Austin, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Consumers Misunderstand

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just want to point out something very important. Polymeric sand is not the same as concrete. It is SAND. Therefore, it will not become truly hard. It is supposed to remain soft. It was created to give the look and appeal of sand, so your hardscape looks natural. However, the polymers added are to help it resist washing away, as well as give it some firmness. If you want something to harden and stick like glue, then set your stones in concrete. Opposite effect.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Polymeric Paver Sand
from Flagstaff
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the money so far....

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Applied the sand according to the instructions and I am satisfied so far. There was a little film left on the pavers but not enough to detract from the intended color. The sand hardened as intended and is sheeting water off the patio, but I am not sure how the product will be affected by freezing temperatures.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Cons: not sure yet.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Polymeric Paver Sand
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Marginal Holding Power

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product between flagstones in my walkway and it never hardened. Now every time it rains, it gets soft enough that I can push my finger right through it. I poured it over my flagstone walkway, swept it in until all cracks between joints were full and made sure the stones were clean. I sprayed it with a fine water spray until it was thoroughly wet. It never hardened enough for me to feel like the product worked as advertised. Expensive sand!
+34points
49out of 64found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Polymeric Paver Sand
from Bryant, A
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Polymeric Sand

PostedJune 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time with this product. Try something else - that is what we are going to do now. We hired a professional & this is the product that he used & as soon as it rained, there were visible holes, indentures & the sand is coming out like mad now :( For the time/effort spent, we are very disappointed!
+26points
34out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Polymeric Paver Sand
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The product worked well. I believe from reading the other reviews, installers may be wetting the product too much. It needs to be just barely damp for an hour, don't over water it during this time.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Polymeric Paver Sand
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product did not work as it should

PostedMay 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product does not perform like it should. I used it between flag stones and the product will not harden. Product develops a skin on top, but is soft.
when the product gets wet the upper layer seperates and bubbles. Know I have spent a lot of money and have a major problem. Not happy with the product and do not know how to fix it.
+27points
37out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Polymeric Paver Sand

This sand is not supposed to harden.

PostedMay 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I learned about this product, which is designed to work as flexible joint like rubber cement to fill gaps between pavers, it's flexible but not as loose as level sand, so it does not crack like concrete, it is supposed to be soft, not to be hard like grout.
I was surprised to find the rating is so low, but it's maybe because the review was based on different expectations?
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Polymeric Paver Sand
from Los angeles
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Job well done

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Followed instructions and product performed as it should have .
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Strong
Cons: discoloration if not used correctly
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Polymeric Paver Sand

Did not work as intended

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So I purchased two separate bags to complete my project. They were both labeled as the same color (tan) but when I opened them, low and behold two different colors. And trust me I checked the bags like 18 times and yes they were SUPPOSED to be the same color, tan. One was like this light brick red and the other was the intended tan. so I use the product anyway and follow the instructions to mist the sand with light water. The next day what do I have between my walkway pavers? Sand. It did not harden one bit. Also I just want to add the first bag I used was so clumpy like it had gotten wet, we literally had to smash it up with a hammer before we could spread it.
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Polymeric Paver Sand
from Riverdale, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never hardened!

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product seemed damp when I opened the bag, but as a first time user, I assumed it was supposed to be that way. I followed all the instructions on the product and filled the paver cracks/spaces to at least 1.5" deep, misted the product for 20 seconds, waited the 20 minutes, misted it again, and yet a third time. I let it sit and dry, but it never hardened.... it is STILL JUST SAND!!!! What a waste of time and money.
Cons: Not Durable
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Polymeric Paver Sand

Nothing but regular sand

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tis was nothing more than regular sand. I followed the directions to a T. It turned my patio into a big mess with a sandy patio 2 weeks later still blowing around in the wind.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.