728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw

6 Amp Pole Chainsaw

Trim your high limbs and branches without ever leaving the ground. This Ryobi Electric Pole Saw features an adjustable shaft for an overall length of 9 ft. Designed with convenience in mind, the Ryobi Pole Saw features an instant-starting 6 Amp electric motor, and an automatic oiler system. This saw features an in-line motor for precise pruning, and the angled head provides ultimate control. All backed by a 3 year warranty, the Ryobi Electric Pole Saw is ready to make quick work of all your hard-to-reach pruning jobs.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product59 of 70reviews
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(16)
3
(6)
2
(1)
1
(10)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product59 of 70reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
Review 1 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
Robert
from Yuma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good first impression

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Found this electric pole saw tucked away near the gas cans away from the other yard tools. Easy to assemble and use. Cut several 4" and 6" branches off a Tamarind tree. Only negative found was the telescoping tube on my unit wouldn't collapse all the way because of some interference with the electrical cord inside the tube. But enough to fit in the bed of my short bed. The chain did loosen a bit after a few minutes use so check often and adjust. You need to buy chain oil for the saw. Also a 7/16" wrench to chain adjustment.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: cord interferes inside tube
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
FredH
from Jacksonville , OR.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beats gas units for occasional use !!

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have borrowed a mixed gas unit last couple of years for the 1/2 to 1 hour I need to trim around house and shop . Rebuilt carb first time and last year totally replaced carb and fuel lines due to ethanol gas . Same issue this year even though gas had been drained . So looked around and found this at Home Depot . I am very familiar with saws , I own a Pro Stihl 441 magnum , and do lots of cutting . Although Electric , I was really Impressed with this saw , Everything from 1" to 6" Oak limbs , No Problem .
1) Make Sure Bolt for Chain is Tight before using .
2) if Chain starts to hang down a little , Stop and Tighten . Although the drive is similar to a regular chainsaw , If chain gets to loose , it jumps the bar and may damage the chain . ( I was able to use a grinder and fix the 3 drive links that got hammered ) .
3) IT IS ELECTRIC !!! Let the Weight of the saw cut . With the bar being at an angle , you can basically get the saw up there , rest it on limb , and pull trigger .
4) Use GOOD Extension Cord !!! I Use 12 gauge in either 50' or 100' length . Quickest way to burn up a electric motor is to long a cord and to small of gauge wire size . Example stringing Two ( 2 ) 14 gauge 100' cords together . Bad Idea . To much power loss through cord , thus motor overheats .
All in All , A great Product for that occasional use that I need it for .
Fred H.
Jacksonville, OR.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
Akimom
from McKinney, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lightweight pole saw

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this saw to help me take down three large Live Oaks. It more than did the job. My neighbors' all can't believe how easy it is to use! I'm a 58 year old woman and this saw was the reason I saved big $$'s by removing the trees myself!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
homeowner12

Limited usefulness

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you have a lot of horizontal branches to cut 6 ft to 8 ft off the ground and don't like ladders, this works great. It's too cumbersome and dangerous to use on a ladder to get higher branches, and doesn't retract all the way that it could because the internal cord jams the telescoping poles, limiting it's use for low branches. A better solution for high branches is a rope and chain manual tree saw. It's useful for branches you can't reach up to 25+ feet off the ground; requires more effort, but is much cheaper and versatile for occasional use. Another option is an electric pole saw that can be taken off the pole for cutting up the branch once it is on the ground. This pole saw doesn't work for that either.
Pros: Cuts Well
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
+21points
26out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
EdMM
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Was looking for something that was lightweight and easy to use. The Ryobi was all that I could hope for.

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Ryobi was ready to use right after taking it out of the box and putting OIL in the chain oiler. Was nice having the auto oiler, unlike many of the prunner I looked at that had a manual oiler. I have a driveway that is over 1/3 of a mile long and have prune all the trees on the driveway with no problems. I did this with the Ryobi even with a bad back.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
Abuser
from USA

Abusive

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not the kinda guy that takes care of my tools. I'm very abusive and use them in the way that everyone says not to. That said, after I screwed up the original chain on this saw, I went to home depot and bought another one. It uses the homelite 8in chain. Once I got the hang of adjusting the chain, this little bad boy was just as relentless as I was. I removed dead and live branches from 12 spruce trees and then used it to cut 3, 8-in trunks. Well as you might have guessed, the chain is rather dull now and needs downward pressure to cut anything but it did everything I wanted too without a hitch. Yes, I did use bar oil that needs to be bought separately except for the trunks when I saw sparks coming from the chain. It was the end of the day and I was too lazy to put some in. It did what it supposed to do and it doesn't owe me a dime. Surprisingly, it's still alive so I'm gonna get another chain and do some cleanup of stubs. Would not hesitate to buy another if I killed this one but it's still going.
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
cmos
from Sodus, Sodus Township, MI 49126, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not retract

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The cord jams in the shaft preventing it from retracting all the way.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
SandyMaui
from Maui, Hawaii, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

a great tool to reach branches

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It really cuts well - slicing through good size branches of 4-5" thickness with ease.
My only issue is that the head of the tool - the chain saw - is heavier that the handle/trigger end, so it takes effort to keep it balanced. I broke my elbow 2x and had surgery on it 3x - so holding up the heavy end is a challenge. 'Normal' people should have no problem. They just need to be careful when it cuts all the way through the branch, and be prepared so the chain saw end doesn't suddenly fall toward the ground!
+34points
35out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
mike

this product works well

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This pole chain saw works well and extends without being flimsy. The only problem I see with this pole saw is once extended its very hard to operate alone. becomes very top heavy and its alot heavier than I anticipated. Good Idea to have someone help if you have to fully extend
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Store
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
nonukes
from st. peters mo.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

light weight

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I reasonly had a stroke and needed something light weight and easy to handle this fit the bill just right.. My wife even uses it with ease.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
Nobody
from Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Do not work

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
3 times, 3 times asked for replacement, does not work, the cutter always get lose. and do not cut.
Do not buy this product you will wasting you money and time. Specially time.
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
lausteash
from Corpus Christi Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worse Purchase ever I regret buying this saw did not last more than two uses

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I always thought that ROBI was a good name brand. I bought the saw and used it two weekend cutting small branches. I returned it twice and now the saw is worthless. The worst purchase I made. If this is the quality of product ROBI puts out this will be the last Robi product I purchase. You should include a new class in the Quality and name it worthless.
Cons: realible, works well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
Buzz
from Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Far Too Expensive

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This saw should sell for $40. The product is way over priced considering cost of product materials and labor. No oil. No extension cord. Wire binds within pole which prevents collapse of pole. Uses to much oil and leaks when not in use. NO THANKS!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
cookj

6 Amp Pole Chainsaw

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this to trim trees on new property. It has worked wonderfully and it get a lot of use. Only wish that it extended more.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: doesn't not extended enough
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
JQPPTC
from Peachtree City, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Saw

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great saw for the money. I thought the fact that it was electric meant it would be a weak saw. Not so. It sliced right through 4" hardwood limbs with no trouble. The fact that there's no 2 stroke gas/oil to mess with is a plus.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
sweetlysing
from Leland NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gardening is great but now I have more time to relax

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used to use a pruning saw - this made doing work a piece of cake - very easy to use - I recommend this product highly - my only regret is that I should have bought one sooner
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, easy for women to use
Cons: the pole does not retract for storage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
Jolee
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hope this product has good features.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Brought this as a birthday gift for my husband. It is the dead of winter with over two feet of snow, so we will have to wait till Spring to try it out. Hope that it meets all our needs. The buying process was great.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
BobbyJ
from Louisville,Ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good for the money

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
right out of the box, add chain oil and start to work,
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
Frommiafl
from Miami, FL, USA

Good pole chainsaw with some caveats

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
On the plus side, this chainsaw is powerfull enough for its size and the pole extends far enough to prune most of my tree branches.
On the minus side, I had to adjust the chain on mine out of the box, as it was very lose. This is OK for me, because I like to check any new equipment I get before using it, just be aware you may have to check yours, too.
It tends to get a little top heavy with the pole extended to reach tall branches. This was expected because the head contains the motor, chain, etc...
The most annoying thing I have found with this particular model is the fact that there is lots of oil that drips from it when in storage. The manual tells you to empty the tank every time you finish using it, but there is still oil that drips from it and I ended up having to put a plastic tray right under the head of the saw to catch the messy oil while in storage.
This saw is not meant for heavy duty prunning, but should be useful for the average home user.
Be sure to put some oil in its tank everyt time before using, though!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Easy to Store, easy pole extension
Cons: Limited Features, gets a little top heavy when extended, drips and drips oil even when tank is empty
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
Jungle2Jim
from Florida

Almost useless

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The saw worked fine the first few times, but then I had problems with the chain coming off easily. The housing that covers up the end of the bar and gear is very poorly designed, and does not last. After only a few uses, I ended up replacing all the little parts in there. It still had problems, I could cut one or two limbs and then the chain would fly off each time. Not worth the hassle, I went back to my manual pole saw, which has double the reach anyway.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>