728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw

6-Amp Pole Chainsaw

Trim high branches without ever leaving the ground. This Ryobi Electric Pole Chainsaw features an adjustable shaft for an overall length of 9 ft. Designed with convenience in mind, the Ryobi Pole Chainsaw features an instant-starting 6-Amp electric motor, and an automatic oiler system. This saw features an in-line motor for precise pruning, and the angled head provides ultimate control. The 8 in. chainsaw blade easily cuts through branches up to 6 in. thick, making it easier to trim even larger areas of growth. All backed by a 3-year warranty, the Ryobi Electric Pole Chainsaw is ready to make quick work of all your hard-to-reach pruning jobs.
Overall rating:
3.941 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(136 reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product109 of 135reviews
Rating Breakdown 136 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(67)
4
(35)
3
(12)
2
(3)
1
(19)
Features 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product109 of 135reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
Review 1 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this pole chain saw do the job well.

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have three 10 years old oak trees that need to be trimmed every two three years, so I purchased this Ryobi electric pole chain saw to do the job and save some money. After the first use, the saw already paid for itself. There are few things that u need to do in order to have a problem free job. number one is don't forget to adjust the chain tension every now and then during use, number two is u need to add bar and chain oil to the reservoir once a while during use, also you need to remove the chain guard plastic cover to remove debris buildup every now and then during use. You need to read the instruction carefully about safety folks, very important.
Pros: Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Decatur, Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This electric pole saw rules

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
First time I have ever owned a pole saw, let alone an electric one. I bought this saw based on the positive reviews and I am not disappointed. I have used it on three occasions so far, trimming high overhanging branches that border our driveway on both sides. I have not had issues like other reviewers have complained about. I have had to adjust the chain once. The saw cuts through 6" limbs with ease. It uses a little bit of chain oil but I expected that. It is light weight and I just keep it extended all the time and store it that way. Even if it dies tomorrow, it has already paid for itself versus hiring a company and paying them $75 an hour.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Hudson , FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I love my pole chainsaw

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wow!!!! What a purchase. Cut threw the limbs like butter. Even one 3" around. Not hard to put together at all. I thought it was not heavy at all either. I am a woman over 60 and could handle this saw just beautifully. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

Overall good product

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good product - easy to assemble and use. The main issue is it is a bit heavy when extended -- but when the motor and chain are at the end of the pole -- what do you expect? The weight helps when cutting (down force) but once you cut through the branch the fall weight can be tough to handle. I work out regularly so not a major issue for me -- but for people without the upper body strength it could be an issue. Also - after the first cut the chain became a bit loose -- easy to adjust and expected as this is common with chain saws --just a heads up. On the positive side - I trimmed an area in an hour that would normally take me several -- and NEVER had to get onto a ladder.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
Cons: Too Heavy
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Yuma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good first impression

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Found this electric pole saw tucked away near the gas cans away from the other yard tools. Easy to assemble and use. Cut several 4" and 6" branches off a Tamarind tree. Only negative found was the telescoping tube on my unit wouldn't collapse all the way because of some interference with the electrical cord inside the tube. But enough to fit in the bed of my short bed. The chain did loosen a bit after a few minutes use so check often and adjust. You need to buy chain oil for the saw. Also a 7/16" wrench to chain adjustment.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: cord interferes inside tube
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
from south Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Paid for its self

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I tried to rent a gas powered pruner but they didn't have one. I bought this and an electric chainsaw for less than what I was going to pay to rent for the weekend. The first saw I bought lasted about an hour. I was working it harder than I should have. I took it back and was a little more gentle with the second one. I completed the job of cutting back a large oak tree. With some TLC this will cut well. I cut some 8" limbs. If you work it too hard It won't last. Keep the cuts square and keep it oiled and you shouldn't have any problems.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw

good product

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is a really good investment for the money. Great for trimming trees in the back yard.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
from USA

Abusive

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm not the kinda guy that takes care of my tools. I'm very abusive and use them in the way that everyone says not to. That said, after I screwed up the original chain on this saw, I went to home depot and bought another one. It uses the homelite 8in chain. Once I got the hang of adjusting the chain, this little bad boy was just as relentless as I was. I removed dead and live branches from 12 spruce trees and then used it to cut 3, 8-in trunks. Well as you might have guessed, the chain is rather dull now and needs downward pressure to cut anything but it did everything I wanted too without a hitch. Yes, I did use bar oil that needs to be bought separately except for the trunks when I saw sparks coming from the chain. It was the end of the day and I was too lazy to put some in. It did what it supposed to do and it doesn't owe me a dime. Surprisingly, it's still alive so I'm gonna get another chain and do some cleanup of stubs. Would not hesitate to buy another if I killed this one but it's still going.
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw

Great little saw.

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am not a fan of Ryobi products, but they had this pole saw for sale so I bought it thinking it would get into a bind and I would just have to work it. I was wrong. This saw has enough power to cut some 6 to 8 inch limbs like nothing. I am very pleased with the purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Was looking for something that was lightweight and easy to use. The Ryobi was all that I could hope for.

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Ryobi was ready to use right after taking it out of the box and putting OIL in the chain oiler. Was nice having the auto oiler, unlike many of the prunner I looked at that had a manual oiler. I have a driveway that is over 1/3 of a mile long and have prune all the trees on the driveway with no problems. I did this with the Ryobi even with a bad back.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Jacksonville , OR.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beats gas units for occasional use !!

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have borrowed a mixed gas unit last couple of years for the 1/2 to 1 hour I need to trim around house and shop . Rebuilt carb first time and last year totally replaced carb and fuel lines due to ethanol gas . Same issue this year even though gas had been drained . So looked around and found this at Home Depot . I am very familiar with saws , I own a Pro Stihl 441 magnum , and do lots of cutting . Although Electric , I was really Impressed with this saw , Everything from 1" to 6" Oak limbs , No Problem .
1) Make Sure Bolt for Chain is Tight before using .
2) if Chain starts to hang down a little , Stop and Tighten . Although the drive is similar to a regular chainsaw , If chain gets to loose , it jumps the bar and may damage the chain . ( I was able to use a grinder and fix the 3 drive links that got hammered ) .
3) IT IS ELECTRIC !!! Let the Weight of the saw cut . With the bar being at an angle , you can basically get the saw up there , rest it on limb , and pull trigger .
4) Use GOOD Extension Cord !!! I Use 12 gauge in either 50' or 100' length . Quickest way to burn up a electric motor is to long a cord and to small of gauge wire size . Example stringing Two ( 2 ) 14 gauge 100' cords together . Bad Idea . To much power loss through cord , thus motor overheats .
All in All , A great Product for that occasional use that I need it for .
Fred H.
Jacksonville, OR.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Maui, Hawaii, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

a great tool to reach branches

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It really cuts well - slicing through good size branches of 4-5" thickness with ease.
My only issue is that the head of the tool - the chain saw - is heavier that the handle/trigger end, so it takes effort to keep it balanced. I broke my elbow 2x and had surgery on it 3x - so holding up the heavy end is a challenge. 'Normal' people should have no problem. They just need to be careful when it cuts all the way through the branch, and be prepared so the chain saw end doesn't suddenly fall toward the ground!
+35points
36out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Fresno, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Pole Saw

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I love the Ryobi Chainsaw, but if I'd known that I cannot pick up parts locally and are only available online, I would have have not made the purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: parts online only
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw

Worked precisely as advertised

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needing to trim a mature tree in our yard I purchased this item and was very pleased with its performance. I've read many reviews about chain issues and was sceptical however I did not experience any issues. The product worked very well on small and medium diameter (4") limbs. With ease it cut through them. The instruction booklet says check the oil level ever 20 minutes and this I highly recommend as the unit I now own used that amount of oil. I found it to be somewhat cumbersome fully extended but if you hold any pole out from you body that has any weight on it you find similar results. The weight of 9 pounds is right on and what you'd expect. Maneuvers easily and was able to control it without extreme effort. I am 100% satisfied with my purchase and am very glad I purchased this product to own vs renting a similar product from a tool rental(daily rental was $50 plus tax and gas/tax, they didn't rent the electric models) .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
from McKinney, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lightweight pole saw

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this saw to help me take down three large Live Oaks. It more than did the job. My neighbors' all can't believe how easy it is to use! I'm a 58 year old woman and this saw was the reason I saved big $$'s by removing the trees myself!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw

Limited usefulness

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you have a lot of horizontal branches to cut 6 ft to 8 ft off the ground and don't like ladders, this works great. It's too cumbersome and dangerous to use on a ladder to get higher branches, and doesn't retract all the way that it could because the internal cord jams the telescoping poles, limiting it's use for low branches. A better solution for high branches is a rope and chain manual tree saw. It's useful for branches you can't reach up to 25+ feet off the ground; requires more effort, but is much cheaper and versatile for occasional use. Another option is an electric pole saw that can be taken off the pole for cutting up the branch once it is on the ground. This pole saw doesn't work for that either.
Pros: Cuts Well
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
+22points
27out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Garden grove, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't get part I need after it broke!

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this pole saw, used it twice, the chain adjuster broke, it is a $2 part, I can't seem to get the part to replace the broken one. Home Depot, doesn't have the part, tried several professional lawn shops, no luck at any of them, I called Ryobi and the part has been on order since May 2013. That was not a typo, 2013! I would say my chances of ever getting the part to repair my saw is slim to none! I do not recommend this product as it broke quite easily even though I kept it cleaned and oiled and used it properly. That being said, going from hand saw to electric was wonderful while it worked. I will look for another electric pole saw, a more reliable brand.
Cons: broke easily
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
from st. peters mo.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

light weight

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I reasonly had a stroke and needed something light weight and easy to handle this fit the bill just right.. My wife even uses it with ease.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great chainsaw

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is an excellent chainsaw. A breeze to set up, and it worked great. I ran it for a good 3 hours straight, and cut through branches 5"-6" across like they were nothing. The chainsaw didn't even bog down a little bit. Just make sure you keep it full of oil, and this should be the perfect chainsaw for anybody.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6-Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Peachtree City, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Saw

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great saw for the money. I thought the fact that it was electric meant it would be a weak saw. Not so. It sliced right through 4" hardwood limbs with no trouble. The fact that there's no 2 stroke gas/oil to mess with is a plus.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>