728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw

6 Amp Pole Chainsaw

Trim your high limbs and branches without ever leaving the ground. This Ryobi Electric Pole Saw features an adjustable shaft for an overall length of 9 ft. Designed with convenience in mind, the Ryobi Pole Saw features an instant-starting 6 Amp electric motor, and an automatic oiler system. This saw features an in-line motor for precise pruning, and the angled head provides ultimate control. All backed by a 3 year warranty, the Ryobi Electric Pole Saw is ready to make quick work of all your hard-to-reach pruning jobs.
Overall rating:
3.958 / 5
4
 / 
5
(118 reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product96 of 117reviews
Rating Breakdown 118 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(60)
4
(30)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(17)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product96 of 117reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
Review 1 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Decatur, Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This electric pole saw rules

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First time I have ever owned a pole saw, let alone an electric one. I bought this saw based on the positive reviews and I am not disappointed. I have used it on three occasions so far, trimming high overhanging branches that border our driveway on both sides. I have not had issues like other reviewers have complained about. I have had to adjust the chain once. The saw cuts through 6" limbs with ease. It uses a little bit of chain oil but I expected that. It is light weight and I just keep it extended all the time and store it that way. Even if it dies tomorrow, it has already paid for itself versus hiring a company and paying them $75 an hour.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from south Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Paid for its self

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried to rent a gas powered pruner but they didn't have one. I bought this and an electric chainsaw for less than what I was going to pay to rent for the weekend. The first saw I bought lasted about an hour. I was working it harder than I should have. I took it back and was a little more gentle with the second one. I completed the job of cutting back a large oak tree. With some TLC this will cut well. I cut some 8" limbs. If you work it too hard It won't last. Keep the cuts square and keep it oiled and you shouldn't have any problems.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

Overall good product

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product - easy to assemble and use. The main issue is it is a bit heavy when extended -- but when the motor and chain are at the end of the pole -- what do you expect? The weight helps when cutting (down force) but once you cut through the branch the fall weight can be tough to handle. I work out regularly so not a major issue for me -- but for people without the upper body strength it could be an issue. Also - after the first cut the chain became a bit loose -- easy to adjust and expected as this is common with chain saws --just a heads up. On the positive side - I trimmed an area in an hour that would normally take me several -- and NEVER had to get onto a ladder.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
Cons: Too Heavy
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Yuma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good first impression

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Found this electric pole saw tucked away near the gas cans away from the other yard tools. Easy to assemble and use. Cut several 4" and 6" branches off a Tamarind tree. Only negative found was the telescoping tube on my unit wouldn't collapse all the way because of some interference with the electrical cord inside the tube. But enough to fit in the bed of my short bed. The chain did loosen a bit after a few minutes use so check often and adjust. You need to buy chain oil for the saw. Also a 7/16" wrench to chain adjustment.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: cord interferes inside tube
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw

Chain falls off every 5 mins

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The saw worked great for the first 15 mins. The, the chain fell off. Ok, not a problem...put back on, tightened appropriately and then it fell off again, and again, and again....Maybe I had a defective product, but for my money, a chain should not be falling off after cutting one branch at a time (thin branches at that). I spent 30 mins total cutting, and 30 mins fixing. If this is fine with you, the Ryobi pole saw is for you. For me, i want to spend more time using the tool for what it was meant to be used for--cutting--rather than spending all my time fixing this poorly designed product. Returned to Home Depot the day I bought it and got a full refund.
Pros: All In One, Powerful, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Garden grove, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't get part I need after it broke!

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this pole saw, used it twice, the chain adjuster broke, it is a $2 part, I can't seem to get the part to replace the broken one. Home Depot, doesn't have the part, tried several professional lawn shops, no luck at any of them, I called Ryobi and the part has been on order since May 2013. That was not a typo, 2013! I would say my chances of ever getting the part to repair my saw is slim to none! I do not recommend this product as it broke quite easily even though I kept it cleaned and oiled and used it properly. That being said, going from hand saw to electric was wonderful while it worked. I will look for another electric pole saw, a more reliable brand.
Cons: broke easily
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this pole chain saw do the job well.

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have three 10 years old oak trees that need to be trimmed every two three years, so I purchased this Ryobi electric pole chain saw to do the job and save some money. After the first use, the saw already paid for itself. There are few things that u need to do in order to have a problem free job. number one is don't forget to adjust the chain tension every now and then during use, number two is u need to add bar and chain oil to the reservoir once a while during use, also you need to remove the chain guard plastic cover to remove debris buildup every now and then during use. You need to read the instruction carefully about safety folks, very important.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Riverview, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good buy

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's pretty heavy, though easy to use. Just need to take multiple breaks while using the tool. Your tree will thank you..
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Jacksonville , OR.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beats gas units for occasional use !!

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have borrowed a mixed gas unit last couple of years for the 1/2 to 1 hour I need to trim around house and shop . Rebuilt carb first time and last year totally replaced carb and fuel lines due to ethanol gas . Same issue this year even though gas had been drained . So looked around and found this at Home Depot . I am very familiar with saws , I own a Pro Stihl 441 magnum , and do lots of cutting . Although Electric , I was really Impressed with this saw , Everything from 1" to 6" Oak limbs , No Problem .
1) Make Sure Bolt for Chain is Tight before using .
2) if Chain starts to hang down a little , Stop and Tighten . Although the drive is similar to a regular chainsaw , If chain gets to loose , it jumps the bar and may damage the chain . ( I was able to use a grinder and fix the 3 drive links that got hammered ) .
3) IT IS ELECTRIC !!! Let the Weight of the saw cut . With the bar being at an angle , you can basically get the saw up there , rest it on limb , and pull trigger .
4) Use GOOD Extension Cord !!! I Use 12 gauge in either 50' or 100' length . Quickest way to burn up a electric motor is to long a cord and to small of gauge wire size . Example stringing Two ( 2 ) 14 gauge 100' cords together . Bad Idea . To much power loss through cord , thus motor overheats .
All in All , A great Product for that occasional use that I need it for .
Fred H.
Jacksonville, OR.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from CA

Excellent Product

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cut through oak like butter. Easy to keep the chain tightened and I didn't find that it had to be tightened any more than any other chain saw I've used. It's light which makes it very convenient to use in high branches and limbs. So far I've used it for trimming and major pruning 10 trees and have had no problems so it's already paid for itself many times over.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Erie, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy assembly, easy operation, easy chain adjustment. I borrowed my neighbors Ryobi and after two days I returned his and went and bought my own. Easy to adjust the extensions, even with bulky gloves. It is a bit top heavy, but use your head and you won't lose your balance, even from the top of a 20' extension ladder. I love the angled head.
Improvements I would like to see, a more robust chain tightening screw, which comes loose far too easily, and is tucked in too close to the bar, but this is really a minor complaint. Overall it is a great bargain for a fantastic tool. Highly recommended.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Farmington, NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Good

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stopped working after cutting only a few branches and unfortunately I didn't start using it until after my 30 day replacement warranty from Home Depot was already passed. Now it has to be sent off to their warranty center because nobody around here will work on it. It's gonna take at least a month, probably more, before I get it back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Was looking for something that was lightweight and easy to use. The Ryobi was all that I could hope for.

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Ryobi was ready to use right after taking it out of the box and putting OIL in the chain oiler. Was nice having the auto oiler, unlike many of the prunner I looked at that had a manual oiler. I have a driveway that is over 1/3 of a mile long and have prune all the trees on the driveway with no problems. I did this with the Ryobi even with a bad back.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from USA

Abusive

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not the kinda guy that takes care of my tools. I'm very abusive and use them in the way that everyone says not to. That said, after I screwed up the original chain on this saw, I went to home depot and bought another one. It uses the homelite 8in chain. Once I got the hang of adjusting the chain, this little bad boy was just as relentless as I was. I removed dead and live branches from 12 spruce trees and then used it to cut 3, 8-in trunks. Well as you might have guessed, the chain is rather dull now and needs downward pressure to cut anything but it did everything I wanted too without a hitch. Yes, I did use bar oil that needs to be bought separately except for the trunks when I saw sparks coming from the chain. It was the end of the day and I was too lazy to put some in. It did what it supposed to do and it doesn't owe me a dime. Surprisingly, it's still alive so I'm gonna get another chain and do some cleanup of stubs. Would not hesitate to buy another if I killed this one but it's still going.
+47points
47out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Maui, Hawaii, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

a great tool to reach branches

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It really cuts well - slicing through good size branches of 4-5" thickness with ease.
My only issue is that the head of the tool - the chain saw - is heavier that the handle/trigger end, so it takes effort to keep it balanced. I broke my elbow 2x and had surgery on it 3x - so holding up the heavy end is a challenge. 'Normal' people should have no problem. They just need to be careful when it cuts all the way through the branch, and be prepared so the chain saw end doesn't suddenly fall toward the ground!
+35points
36out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Vancouver, wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

RyobiRyobi Chain Saws 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw RY43160A

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a gas one...and yet were skeptical about electric...and we Love it! It "buzzed" right through it!
We acquired a "Master Gardeners" property...(and Yes it was...she was diligent....we Are Average) and will continue to use this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from McKinney, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lightweight pole saw

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this saw to help me take down three large Live Oaks. It more than did the job. My neighbors' all can't believe how easy it is to use! I'm a 58 year old woman and this saw was the reason I saved big $$'s by removing the trees myself!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw
from Gainesville GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a surprise

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was not really expecting much but what a surprise this little chain saw has been great no more climbing trees to trim. Cut through hard woods like butter. I have already got my money out of this little saw.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw

Limited usefulness

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you have a lot of horizontal branches to cut 6 ft to 8 ft off the ground and don't like ladders, this works great. It's too cumbersome and dangerous to use on a ladder to get higher branches, and doesn't retract all the way that it could because the internal cord jams the telescoping poles, limiting it's use for low branches. A better solution for high branches is a rope and chain manual tree saw. It's useful for branches you can't reach up to 25+ feet off the ground; requires more effort, but is much cheaper and versatile for occasional use. Another option is an electric pole saw that can be taken off the pole for cutting up the branch once it is on the ground. This pole saw doesn't work for that either.
Pros: Cuts Well
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
+22points
27out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 Amp Pole Chainsaw

Great saw

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Thing cuts through limbs like butter, powerful and easy to use would buy it again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>