728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

Ryobi takes Cordless to the next level with the 40 Volt Lithium-Ion String Trimmer. This string trimmer is designed to deliver cordless convenience without sacrificing power. With a 40 Volt battery pack, this string trimmer delivers longer runtime, and fade-free power. And for you gas-lovers out there, this string trimmer actually delivers longer run time than a gas trimmer. Compared to Ryobi 2-Cycle String Trimmer. Ryobi also loads this string trimmer with convenient features like the 11-13 in. adjustable string width for ultimate cut control. The 90 degree pivoting head swings out for easy walk-behind edging, and the charger has your battery fully re-charged in under two hours. All backed by a 3 year warranty, there has never been a better time to consider cordless.
Overall rating:
3.873 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product53 of 70reviews
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(15)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(9)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product53 of 70reviews
Customer reviews for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Review 1 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Dothan, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I am extremely satisfied.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading other reviews, I decided to try the Ryobi. After multiple purchases of gas powered trimmers over the years, which always let me down for one reason or another, I tried a cordless trimmer several years ago and will never buy any other kind. I've been a loyal customer of another popular brand for years, but decided to give this trimmer a chance, mainly because the battery and charger interchange with other Ryobi products. I am not disappointed with my decision. I have a fairly large yard which requires a lot of trimming and this trimmer was up to the task. I haven't had mine for very long, and don't usually review a product until it has proven itself; but I've been so impressed with the performance of this trimmer until I thought it deserved some praise. I didn't think anything could match the performance of my preferred brand and was skeptical, but so far I'm delighted with my purchase. I didn't realize when I purchased it, that there are additional attachments available. I plan to give some of them a try as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well designed product with plenty of power,

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very well designed product with plenty of power and battery life. The comments about the line feed are partially true - it does take some time to advance the line. However, the more I used the trimmer, the more I got into a rhythm of letting the line out while trimming and I didn't find it all that bothersome. More importantly, I found it didn't take me any more time to trim and edge because of two other features: the edging wheel and the battery. I was skeptical about the edging wheel, but it is a huge help. With my old gas-powered trimmer, I had to go fairly slowly when edging to try to keep a straight line along the drive and sidewalk. The wheel helps hold the edger on a consistent line and height. The net result is that I got back the extra time I was using to let out the line by edging faster. The other big feature is the 40V Li+ ion battery. I have a relatively small lawn, but purchased this because I didn't want to worry about recharging or loss of power. Finished the whole lawn and still had over 75% of my batter life and lots of cutting power at the end. No time wasted adding oil/gas mixtures and pull starting. Lastly, the product seemed reasonably rugged and was very easy to assemble (less than 5 minutes). Note: I am using the 0.065" line; I agree with the other comments that a slightly thicker line might be even better.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Whidbey Island, Washington, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't Feed Line so it's a real pain

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Auto feed doesn't work - or maybe it works a little but I don't notice since I have to stop and manual feed it all the time. You can hear when the line is getting short and then I have to stop, turn it over and push the manual feed button and pull the line. Also, sometime the line heats up inside and fuses to itself. It has pretty good power and you can get 20-30 minutes out of a battery charge, but I wish it had a bump and feed. Would not buy again.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

Lots of power, line is a problem

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This trimmer has plenty of power and the battery lasts a long time. Trimed a large 1a lawn and still had power left. Battery gauge is helpful. Edger mode is great. The line is very thin and does not last long. With this much power you wonder why the went with such thin line and only one string. Two strings would have been better. I used a better quality of line and it works better. Ryobi cartridges are expensive and the breaks often.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight
Cons: line too small
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Stuart, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I am thrilled with the performance.

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a 5'2", 48 year old female who does not have the patience nor stamina to start a gas trimmer. I decided to give this model a try. It exceeded all my expectations. It is very light weight which is a plus since I have 20 acres of trimming to tackle. It edged my driveway with ease and I have a long driveway. The battery lasts 40 minutes easily. I choose to restring it manually instead of purchasing the replacement cartridges and this can be done with ease. I recently purchased the pole saw attachment and it to exceeded my expectations as well. It is well worth the money and is simple to use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Texas, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you're looking into cordless, make the extra investment for this model!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I initially went to Home Depot to pick up the 12V 10" model, but as I was waiting for someone to find one in the back, I was doing some research. I wasn't too thrilled with the idea of 10-15 min of use on one charge. For about 50 dollars more I could get this, 40V model and boy am I glad I made the investment. This beats a gas powered trimmer all day every day, I have about 3/4 acre, which requires a ton of edging and trimming. I get at least and hour per charge.
PRO TIP FOR EDGING: Low power will keep the line from snapping. It took a good portion of line wasted for me to figure this out. Also moving up a size to a .80 line makes all the difference. If you try to edge on full power the line will snap every time. Go about 25% power, ramping it up if needed to get through a tough spot. also you'll get more life out of the battery. I used to have a ryobi gas trimmer that I had to buy the separate edger attachment for and with this trimmer it is not needed. The wheel on the edger works perfectly as a guide, and it is so easy to switch from trimming to edging, just a quick tap with your foot.
I was really on the fence about spending so much on an electric trimmer, I've always heard that they're under powered and do not last long on a charge, but stepping up to this 40V model really makes all the difference.
I highly recommend this. No loud motor, no hand numbing vibrations, no mixing gas and oil, no tearing your rotator cuff while trying to start, no 7 step starting, etc.
I am very happy with this purchase, I will come back and update this if the durability falls into question but so far, so good!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: line auto feed not very consistent
+68points
76out of 84found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a easy to use string trimmer, this is the one for you. After getting tired of hard to start and even harder to keep running big name brand string trimmer I decided to give this Ryobi 40 volt a try and loved it. The only down side I can find is the string can break easily if you're not careful and hit something it can wrap around, like a stick or ground rod, etc. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
Cons: would like a stonger stirng.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This trimmer is my all time favorite

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great trimmer and edger. The 40 volt battery provides great power and duration. Good balance and easy control. The step release to convert to an edger is fast and simple. The use of the tool as an edger is equally as good as a string trimmer. The edger uses more string but it does a nice job. If you need a bladed edger/trencher Ryobi makes that attachment also. The Ryobi 40 volt outdoor power tool system is great.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

review after extensive research, purchase and use

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've been through 3 different trimmers including power heads with attachments and was extremely hesitant about my next purchase. Went through all the internet reviews and read up on everything, anything I could find which was pretty difficult because there doesn't seem to be much about Ryobi's battery powered products.
My search narrowed down to staring at trimmers at the Home Depot at basically 3 choices: 1. Lower end gas trimmers where you have to mix oil and gas which always cause problems because people, I, don't measure the mixture exactly and/or don't use fuel stabilizers over long period of storage... Thought about it but I can't deal with maintenance. I just have to be lazy once or twice or make mistake or family member does something wrong and it's another hundred and whatever bucks down the drain 2. Higher model gas trimmers like Echo that are cost close to and around $200 and up. Was told aggressively by a Home Depot employee that these were the only proper trimmers to get and you get what you pay for and that these trimmers are what landscapers use 6 hours a day. 3. Ryobi 40 v which the Home Depot employee told me is not as good build quality and not as much power as the higher end gas trimmers. He liked his Echo trimmer and after our discussion two bystanding listeners picked up the Echo. After staring at the trimmers and deliberating for about 30 minutes I took the chance with the Ryobi because I wasn't planning to trim 6 hours a day and because I had it with the gas trimmers and the maintenance required. I want to spend my tinkering time with my motorcycle rather than my trimmer. I was hoping the electric power would be more hands off. I say I took a chance because I definitely had conerns and worries from reading all the stuff online and what the Echo fan had told me.
My conclusion after going through 2 spools of string is that I made the right choice. My biggest worry was the repeated complaints about the trimmer string spool. I read you have to buy the prewound string spools which Home Depot sells 10 dollars for 3. They are indeed sold like that but you don't have to use them. I read you can't buy third party string which also is not correct. I just bought the .same guage third party string and just rewound it on the spool which is as easy as it sounds and worked fine. Don't know what the online hoopla was about on it. The casing and spool is also not flimsy as I've read somewhere. It's foolproof
Negatives: the complaints that did have some truth to them was about the build quality. There is a lot of plastic on the product and the unit doesn't lend itself to disassembling for cleaning or repairs. Hopefully it won't need it but I wonder how it will hold up in the long run. Second the auto string feeder mechanism which is supposed to feed a bit of string everytime you release the trigger and trimmer comes to a stop and is restarted again, doesn't always work. It works more often than not but that means sometimes I have to flip the thing upside down and manually release string to proper length to get the auto feeder mechanism going again.
The positives: the 40v lithium ion battery system is winner. It's more than enough power to do any trimmer job you have. I almost never even have to engage the trimmer at full strength bc most weeds and grass go flying at half strength. The battery lasts a long time. I did trimming and edging for my church which has a huge yards, driveway and a lot of edges and this thing lasted me plenty for the entire job and then some. Believe me you'll need the break before the battery runs out. The real beauty of this thing is that it's light and responsive controls. The variable trigger works nicely and the electric motor is SMOOTH which allows you to control the trimmer much easier and precisely. The trimmer is also very quiet for obviously reasons. All the noise comes from the string spinning through the air and the sound of weeds being wacked. The lightness of the unit, quietness and the fact that all you gotta do is pull the variable trigger control to turn the thing on and off just makes the entire thing convenient to use.
Conclusions: Honestly this is a game changing yard tool. The tech has finally caught up and surpassed the gas trimmers imo. The power, battery length is not a concern. I can't imagine every going back to the maintenance, noise, weight, deadarm causing vibration of a gas trimmer. This entire 40v system is also really smartly designed. The trimmer unit without the battery and charger is only 64 bucks. I can also buy other units around similar price and use my 40 v battery on them. Will probably pick up the blower.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
+35points
39out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Macomb, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This 40 volt Trimmer will run as long as my old gas powerd one

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This 40 volt trimmer battery will last as long as my old gas powered one. It is also about the size as my old gas one. This is not one of those short trimmers where you are bending over while using it and getting a sore back. As other people noted that the trimmer line keeps feeding everytime the trigger is pressed, well that is what it is designed to do! I just keep the trimmer running on low speed unti until I need to whip another area.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Pittsford, NY 14534, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great lawn tool

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this thing is fantastic, no gas and oil mix, no more hard starting , no more pollution . i have almost an acre with 5 out gardens , i can trim the perimeter , the gardens and around the house 3 times before i have to charge it
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+13points
19out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Webb City Mo
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT PRODUCT!!!

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trimmer/edger is the best money I have ever spent on any tool period! Battery life is superb, ease of use is superb, overall rating would be a 10 if a 10 was offered! I would definitely recommend this to anyone! I am now in the process of purchasing the 40V blower because I know how well the Ryobi products are made!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from East Fihkill New York
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very impressed with this product.

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using gas trimmers for years but I wanted to get away from them and use a cordless model. I always seemed to have trouble with gas trimmers-poor starting, stalling and the headaches of getting and mixing the gas. I was afraid that a cordless would not be enough power and not run long enough to finish on one charge. I have an acre property with the usual trimming and edging. I was completely surprised when using this Ryobi 40V. The variable speed control works great with more than enough power to trim and edge the entire property. I had 3/4 of the charge left after approximately an hour of use. I can only say after using it once that I am very happy I made the decision and I don't anticipate any changes. Goodbye gas trimmers.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Long-Lasting
Cons: don't have any.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for me

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Just what I was hoping for. I have a 1/2 acre lot with lots of flower and shrub beds that need edging. I found my gas trimmer to be too powerful, noisy, smelly and heavy. I love the precision I can get with this trimmer with the edging wheel and variable speed. Easy to handle and I use less than 1/2 charge to do the whole yard. Haven't had any problem with the line durability or advance. Don't know how it would do in heavy weeds but for trimming grass it is awesome.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect for someone tired of gas machines

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had my trimmer for two months and love it. I'm one of those people that didn't take care of the gas powered equipment and would suffer everytime they didn't work so I decided to try battery and I couldn't be happier. The thing has awesome power and endurance easy to handle lasts longer than any work I need to do..sometimes I keep doing things to drain the battery so I can charge it. I haven't had the problems with the cord that I've seen on some of the reviews I have read but it's still new. Now I'm looking for a cordless lawnmower but I'm not liking the reviews...stay tuned
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, quick charge
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Monrovia, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plenty powerful enough to trim even over-grown St. Augustine & Burmuda grass

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love it!! No mixing gas & oil or pulling the start cord for days! I trim around a border of river rock and old brick of about 300' and doesn't even use ½ a battery charge. The auto-string advance is really weak, but there is a manual advance button on the head that works very well. The only shortcoming is the .060" line which doesn't really hack it, but I found that the heavier duty .080" line fits and feeds fine, as well as doing a much superior job of edging and trimming through tough grass and lasts much longer when trimming against irregular borders like mine of rocks and bricks
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

Best Cordless trimmer so far

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Long gas hater and city dweller who's tried various cordless trimmers over the years and this is by far the best performing trimmer I've owned. It actually edges the property without hesitation, finishes trimming and still has plenty of power to spare - Huge amounts of power. I have to hit the manual feed button once in a while but I was expecting that and will put up with it as I've never had a perfect working auto feed mechanism. Also the thing is so light and friendly, come on - for the price and what it is, you can't beat it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight
Cons: wasn't free
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from richmond, tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

does not feed line automatically

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
...that's the only problem with this model. which is a deal breaker, because it means you have to stop every couple of minutes and manually feed the line. it's supposed to feed 1/4 of line whenever you stop for at least 2 seconds. problem is, 1/4 inch isn't enough to replace the amount that has worn down, so you have to keep start/stopping to try to get enough line out to continue cutting. gets frustrating quickly. after you manually feed the line, it works great. power is great, battery lasts well over 30 minutes. then it needs line again. stop. try to feed it automatically 4 or 5 times. doesn't work. feed it manually. start over.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Light Weight, battery & power are great
Cons: Difficult to Use, auto-feed is poor
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Uniontown, PA 15401, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic ! Beats old gas trimmer, hands down !

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 1yr old gas trimmer gave up the ghost and I decided to look for alternatives to the gas trimmer. The 40v Ryobi trimmer is the answer for me. I have 1-1/4 acres to trim around including the house, garage and parking areas.
I charged the battery out of the box it was about 1/2 charged (as described in the owners manual) about 45 min. to get a full charge. I trimmed for about 1 hour barely ever going over full throttle. The 18-24" grass near the upper field was no problem a little more throttle and it zipped right through it. Its very quiet ) I could listen to the stereo in the garage) and doesn't throw grass and debris like the gas trimmer. I wore my usual Herman survivor rubber boots but I could have trimmed in my tennis shoes.
I had no trouble with the string or string advance. It was nice not to have to beat the trimmer head on the ground.
It almost makes trimming a pleasure to do.
You can also get very precise with it. I never thought about investing in an edger but the edger feature was a nice surprise, it really does a nice job along the sidewalk.
I was worried about battery life, but when I finished it was still 3/4 charged.
In my opinion its the best trimmer I have ever owned.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Tennessee, USA

Not durable

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this trimmer a year ago after getting tired of trying to pull start multiple gas trimmers over the years. I loved the Ryobi for a couple of months. Toward the end of the summer line feed became an issue, but I could deal with that. This spring line feed became worse. Today the trimmer died. Completely. Battery is fully charged and nothing. I'm very disappointed in the quality. Guess my search for a durable and easy to use trimmer continues. Anybody need a Ryobi 40V battery?
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>