728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

Ryobi takes Cordless to the next level with the 40 Volt Lithium-Ion String Trimmer. This string trimmer is designed to deliver cordless convenience without sacrificing power. With a 40 Volt battery pack, this string trimmer delivers longer runtime, and fade-free power. And for you gas-lovers out there, this string trimmer actually delivers longer run time than a gas trimmer. Compared to Ryobi 2-Cycle String Trimmer. Ryobi also loads this string trimmer with convenient features like the 11-13 in. adjustable string width for ultimate cut control. The 90 degree pivoting head swings out for easy walk-behind edging, and the charger has your battery fully re-charged in under two hours. All backed by a 3 year warranty, there has never been a better time to consider cordless.
Overall rating:
3.873 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product53 of 70reviews
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(15)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(9)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product53 of 70reviews
Customer reviews for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Review 1 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Webb City Mo
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT PRODUCT!!!

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trimmer/edger is the best money I have ever spent on any tool period! Battery life is superb, ease of use is superb, overall rating would be a 10 if a 10 was offered! I would definitely recommend this to anyone! I am now in the process of purchasing the 40V blower because I know how well the Ryobi products are made!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Texas, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you're looking into cordless, make the extra investment for this model!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I initially went to Home Depot to pick up the 12V 10" model, but as I was waiting for someone to find one in the back, I was doing some research. I wasn't too thrilled with the idea of 10-15 min of use on one charge. For about 50 dollars more I could get this, 40V model and boy am I glad I made the investment. This beats a gas powered trimmer all day every day, I have about 3/4 acre, which requires a ton of edging and trimming. I get at least and hour per charge.
PRO TIP FOR EDGING: Low power will keep the line from snapping. It took a good portion of line wasted for me to figure this out. Also moving up a size to a .80 line makes all the difference. If you try to edge on full power the line will snap every time. Go about 25% power, ramping it up if needed to get through a tough spot. also you'll get more life out of the battery. I used to have a ryobi gas trimmer that I had to buy the separate edger attachment for and with this trimmer it is not needed. The wheel on the edger works perfectly as a guide, and it is so easy to switch from trimming to edging, just a quick tap with your foot.
I was really on the fence about spending so much on an electric trimmer, I've always heard that they're under powered and do not last long on a charge, but stepping up to this 40V model really makes all the difference.
I highly recommend this. No loud motor, no hand numbing vibrations, no mixing gas and oil, no tearing your rotator cuff while trying to start, no 7 step starting, etc.
I am very happy with this purchase, I will come back and update this if the durability falls into question but so far, so good!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: line auto feed not very consistent
+68points
76out of 84found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from McCordsville, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely love this item.

PostedJune 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was very easy to assemble and use. I was very happy with the guard I thought it would be in the way but it actually worked very well. I had not been able to trim lawn yet so it was pretty bad but I was able to get me entire yard done including both sides of a fence and the battery was still going strong.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Machine

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing works like a buzzsaw once you get some decent line in it. The line that comes with it is very weak. I put some .095 Rhino line it even though it says it takes .065 line and it works great. The edger isn't really strong enough to do my walkway, but you can get the attachment for it that works much better.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: a little heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Crystal Lake, IL 60014, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very well built, very well thought out

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight, vibration free, exceptionally quiet, ran longer then my gas unit, easier to change string, flips to edger configuration easily, built in hole for hanging, I might even get my wife to run this!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading many reviews, I decided to try this trimmer when my 2-cycle refused to start. I do several yards per week, most all of them very nice with little heavy trimming required. I was tired of hurting my shoulder trying to start the gas trimmer. This Ryobi trimmer is the best. It's light weight is a blessing after a day of mowing. I don't use the auto feed, I manually feed the line. This trimmer is so well balanced that mowing with it is very easy, allowing for a cut that looks like a mower did it. The edging option works flawlessly, very easy to edge and keep the cut straight with the edging wheel. After doing my biggest yards I still have over 3/4 power left. The varible speed is very nice, allowing you to save power when trimming light work, and helps in keeping control. All and all, I like this unit better than any gas trimmer I have ever used. Now I just have to see how it holds up, as I have only used it for a couple of weeks...several yards a day.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Stuart, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I am thrilled with the performance.

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a 5'2", 48 year old female who does not have the patience nor stamina to start a gas trimmer. I decided to give this model a try. It exceeded all my expectations. It is very light weight which is a plus since I have 20 acres of trimming to tackle. It edged my driveway with ease and I have a long driveway. The battery lasts 40 minutes easily. I choose to restring it manually instead of purchasing the replacement cartridges and this can be done with ease. I recently purchased the pole saw attachment and it to exceeded my expectations as well. It is well worth the money and is simple to use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Olympia, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I wanted. No more mixing gas, no more pulling and pulling on a string to start.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Right out of the box charged fully in less than an hour and trimed whole yard and it's a large yard using only a third of the charge. Lots of power, string feeds automatic. Ordered online and picked up free at local Home Depot.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Eden Prairie, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Probably one of the best battery powered trimmers

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased this last week and used it for the first time for about 15 minutes total. Trims very nicely. I tried a little bit of the edging and it looked really good. Just have to figure out how far off the sidewalk/driveway you need to be to get the right cut. I might have to readjust the cutting distance to the max 13 inches for the edging initially to get a good cut.
The battery charged really fast out of the box and after using it, the battery life indicator still said full. This trimmer/edger definitely has a lot of power. I try to be green when I can and not be such a gas guzzler. Its a little ridiculous to need gas powered trimmers/blowers unless you have really large property. This one definitely last a long time on one charged battery.
I think this will be a very long lasting product. Time will tell.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems Great & Using Larger Line

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After my gas trimmer/edger bit the dust and reading all the reviews of this one, I decided to go for it. So far, I'm extremely satisfied. I was looking at a Worx model when I came across this bad boy and decided to go with it primarily due to the overall reviews and extra power this one has. I bought it with the intent of also getting the blower so that I could go completely gasless, but since it is out of stock I will have wait. Anyway, I currently have nearly 3 full spools of .095" line that I thought I was going to have to give away. To my surprise, however, I was able to respool the Ryobi just fine with it and it even auto-feeds as designed. Coupled with the fact that this unit has plenty of power, I think the thicker line will be just fine. I might go one size down if I was buying new line (.080 I think) just so I could get a little more on the spool at once.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Pittsford, NY 14534, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great lawn tool

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this thing is fantastic, no gas and oil mix, no more hard starting , no more pollution . i have almost an acre with 5 out gardens , i can trim the perimeter , the gardens and around the house 3 times before i have to charge it
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+13points
19out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Macomb, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This 40 volt Trimmer will run as long as my old gas powerd one

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This 40 volt trimmer battery will last as long as my old gas powered one. It is also about the size as my old gas one. This is not one of those short trimmers where you are bending over while using it and getting a sore back. As other people noted that the trimmer line keeps feeding everytime the trigger is pressed, well that is what it is designed to do! I just keep the trimmer running on low speed unti until I need to whip another area.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best buy on the market for a rtrimmer

PostedJune 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good buy. The battery lasts longer than a tank of gas on on comparable gas trimmer. Quiet, easy to use. I trim a 1 acre + lawn with lots of trees, flower beds, walkways to trim and there is juice in that battery when I finish. Ive gone through a lot of trimmers and still have several of them, but this one will be the last one. Usding the trimmer on low power is the key to avoind line breakage.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Cost Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I look forward to the trimming now!

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I decided to take the plunge after my last 2 stroke trimmer died. I was tired of mixing gas, having that gas go bad when I didn't use it all, trying to fill that tiny gas tank without getting it everywhere... This seemed like a great idea if it worked well.
I got it home, charged the battery and went straight to work. When I pulled the trigger all the way, I was amazed at how much power this thing had. I seemed to have more kick than my old two stroke (granted, it was a cheap one) and ran circles around the older corded trimmer I had.
Having read some reviews, I heeded the advice of others about doing the fence line on low to medium power. I zipped all the way around my chainlink fence this way, trimming right up to the metal, and only had to advance once. I did the same on the driveway and while I used a little more, it still didn't break any more (a little less even) than the heavy duty line on my old 2 stroke. I have some areas that I can't reach with the lawnmower and this thing blasts right through them on high.
I can do my yard and edge the driveway twice before the charge indicator light drops from 4 to 3 bars, so the battery seems to have plenty of stamina.
The only concern I have is the plastic used in construction, I would prefer to see some more solid materials, but time may prove that it is well designed. It does seem sturdy, I will report back if any of the plastic fails on me.
It is so nice to pull it out and go right to work without topping off fuel and choking/starting/warming up. The small .065 string does the job just fine for me, I purchased a second prewound cassette and more string, so I can have a rewound backup when needed. The cassette can absolutely be reloaded, so you do not have to buy them every time.
I'm looking forward to seeing the grass grow a bit more so I can show it who's boss!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a toy!

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am a homeowner who just bought an acre + lot. I did not want to drag 200 feet of cord and did not want to mess with gas tools. I was uncomfortable with the cost at first, but I am VERY surprised at how well this single-line trimmer tackled the heavy grass and weeds. It is lightweight but a little top-heavy. The 40 volt battery lasts a long time and recharges quickly. The on-battery meter tells you how much power you have left. The original line lasted surprisingly long and is not hard to reload. The line I got to replace isn't as good, but there is no spec on original line. I bought this and the hedge trimmer as complete units, and a blower attachment separately, which is the most economical way to have two batteries and chargers. Those will be reviewed separately, but overall great products.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store, very convenient for large yards
Cons: replacement line not specified
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Denham Springs, LA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

precision

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trimmer/edger is perfect if you buy the square or edged line. Round line makes any trimmer under perform. I like the fact that it has only one line coming out of the head. When you have two lines they are never in perfect unison and not as precise. It's very quiet and no vibrations like 2 cycle motors. Battery last a long time and has indicator which lets you know the amount of charge left. I've tried several cordless trimmers and this one is the winner by far.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Douglasville, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is the best weed eater I have ever owned so far.

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I cant find anything I don't like about this weed eater. I was worried about the line being thin as other customers have stated and about it feeding automatically. I purchased the 40 volt weed eater and the hedge trimmer for 20.00 more dollars where I could get the extra battery. I have a lot of heavy trimming and the line never gets tangled and always feeds. I edged both sides of my driveway first through heavy Zoysia grass which has never been edged since we built our house 7 years ago. I trimmed a bank at the road with knee high grass and brush. I have trimmed all around the pool with rocks and around the lake. Never have to stop because the line doesn't tangle and automatically feeds.I always start high on the brush and come down. Since I bought the hedge trimmer Im going to try that around the lake for the small trees that are coming up.I have already used the hedge trimmer on the bushes it also works great. This is so easy to operate for me being a women of 50 years old its not as heavy as my gas weed eaters that don't work.Has plenty of power. I was surprised it went through the heavy weeds as good as it did. I did take the strapped off my other weed eater and hook it on to this one to help with the weight because I weed eated so long. I honestly can not say enough good stuff about this weed eater. I hope it last forever. Comes with a three year warranty also. Since I bought it I have weed eated for 4 hours the first day and an hour today.Its so nice to have one you don't have to hassle with the string and the gas. Very satisfied with the purchase of these both.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from middle tennessee
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great trimmer, poor charger

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
got this unit about a year or so ago and am very satisfied with it. just throw in the battery, and go. I have a 1.3 acre yard and hate trimming but this thing makes it easy. lasts several uses before needing charged even. only downside is that the CHARGER of all things doesn't work as of two days ago. was on here seeking a solution before deciding to leave a review. if you look up the charger several other people have had issues with it dying way too soon in it's life. and the charger costs 1/3 of the price of a whole new trimmer set. so, recommend the product but be prepared for a bad charger after a year. charger has only been used about five times all last year and once this year.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: charger not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from East Fihkill New York
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very impressed with this product.

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using gas trimmers for years but I wanted to get away from them and use a cordless model. I always seemed to have trouble with gas trimmers-poor starting, stalling and the headaches of getting and mixing the gas. I was afraid that a cordless would not be enough power and not run long enough to finish on one charge. I have an acre property with the usual trimming and edging. I was completely surprised when using this Ryobi 40V. The variable speed control works great with more than enough power to trim and edge the entire property. I had 3/4 of the charge left after approximately an hour of use. I can only say after using it once that I am very happy I made the decision and I don't anticipate any changes. Goodbye gas trimmers.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Long-Lasting
Cons: don't have any.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Dothan, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I am extremely satisfied.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading other reviews, I decided to try the Ryobi. After multiple purchases of gas powered trimmers over the years, which always let me down for one reason or another, I tried a cordless trimmer several years ago and will never buy any other kind. I've been a loyal customer of another popular brand for years, but decided to give this trimmer a chance, mainly because the battery and charger interchange with other Ryobi products. I am not disappointed with my decision. I have a fairly large yard which requires a lot of trimming and this trimmer was up to the task. I haven't had mine for very long, and don't usually review a product until it has proven itself; but I've been so impressed with the performance of this trimmer until I thought it deserved some praise. I didn't think anything could match the performance of my preferred brand and was skeptical, but so far I'm delighted with my purchase. I didn't realize when I purchased it, that there are additional attachments available. I plan to give some of them a try as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>