728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

Ryobi takes Cordless to the next level with the 40 Volt Lithium-Ion String Trimmer. This string trimmer is designed to deliver cordless convenience without sacrificing power. With a 40 Volt battery pack, this string trimmer delivers longer runtime, and fade-free power. And for you gas-lovers out there, this string trimmer actually delivers longer run time than a gas trimmer. Compared to Ryobi 2-Cycle String Trimmer. Ryobi also loads this string trimmer with convenient features like the 11-13 in. adjustable string width for ultimate cut control. The 90 degree pivoting head swings out for easy walk-behind edging, and the charger has your battery fully re-charged in under two hours. All backed by a 3 year warranty, there has never been a better time to consider cordless.
Overall rating:
3.873 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product53 of 70reviews
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(36)
4
(15)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(9)
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product53 of 70reviews
Customer reviews for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Review 1 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This trimmer is my all time favorite

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great trimmer and edger. The 40 volt battery provides great power and duration. Good balance and easy control. The step release to convert to an edger is fast and simple. The use of the tool as an edger is equally as good as a string trimmer. The edger uses more string but it does a nice job. If you need a bladed edger/trencher Ryobi makes that attachment also. The Ryobi 40 volt outdoor power tool system is great.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Uniontown, PA 15401, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic ! Beats old gas trimmer, hands down !

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My 1yr old gas trimmer gave up the ghost and I decided to look for alternatives to the gas trimmer. The 40v Ryobi trimmer is the answer for me. I have 1-1/4 acres to trim around including the house, garage and parking areas.
I charged the battery out of the box it was about 1/2 charged (as described in the owners manual) about 45 min. to get a full charge. I trimmed for about 1 hour barely ever going over full throttle. The 18-24" grass near the upper field was no problem a little more throttle and it zipped right through it. Its very quiet ) I could listen to the stereo in the garage) and doesn't throw grass and debris like the gas trimmer. I wore my usual Herman survivor rubber boots but I could have trimmed in my tennis shoes.
I had no trouble with the string or string advance. It was nice not to have to beat the trimmer head on the ground.
It almost makes trimming a pleasure to do.
You can also get very precise with it. I never thought about investing in an edger but the edger feature was a nice surprise, it really does a nice job along the sidewalk.
I was worried about battery life, but when I finished it was still 3/4 charged.
In my opinion its the best trimmer I have ever owned.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY POWERFUL FOR A CORDLESS WEEDEATER

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
GREAT CORDLESS WEEDEATER FOR PRICE AND DURABILTY I WOULD RECONMEN THIS WEEDEATER TO ANY HOME OWNER
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Indianapolis

Great product

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Powerful, quick charge. I can charge battery while I mow and have plenty of charge to trim. Only feature that takes some getting used to is the automatic feed. It works but is different than the bump heads. You have to start the weed eater head and wait for it to stop to feed string out and repeat several times. Again, the feature works but is just different. Great weed eater. Is not the lightest on the market but feels like a gas weedeater.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Muskegon, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Weed Trimmer

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am an older woman and had no problems putting it together, and using it. I am now considering buying the saw attachment so I can trim some trees.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No cords, no gas or oil, it's just so simple to use and has lots of power. 40 volt battery charges fast and can be used on other tools.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Easy to Store
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for me

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Just what I was hoping for. I have a 1/2 acre lot with lots of flower and shrub beds that need edging. I found my gas trimmer to be too powerful, noisy, smelly and heavy. I love the precision I can get with this trimmer with the edging wheel and variable speed. Easy to handle and I use less than 1/2 charge to do the whole yard. Haven't had any problem with the line durability or advance. Don't know how it would do in heavy weeds but for trimming grass it is awesome.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Crystal Lake, IL 60014, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very well built, very well thought out

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Light weight, vibration free, exceptionally quiet, ran longer then my gas unit, easier to change string, flips to edger configuration easily, built in hole for hanging, I might even get my wife to run this!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Machine

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing works like a buzzsaw once you get some decent line in it. The line that comes with it is very weak. I put some .095 Rhino line it even though it says it takes .065 line and it works great. The edger isn't really strong enough to do my walkway, but you can get the attachment for it that works much better.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: a little heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best buy on the market for a rtrimmer

PostedJune 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a good buy. The battery lasts longer than a tank of gas on on comparable gas trimmer. Quiet, easy to use. I trim a 1 acre + lawn with lots of trees, flower beds, walkways to trim and there is juice in that battery when I finish. Ive gone through a lot of trimmers and still have several of them, but this one will be the last one. Usding the trimmer on low power is the key to avoind line breakage.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Cost Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from McCordsville, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely love this item.

PostedJune 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was very easy to assemble and use. I was very happy with the guard I thought it would be in the way but it actually worked very well. I had not been able to trim lawn yet so it was pretty bad but I was able to get me entire yard done including both sides of a fence and the battery was still going strong.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems Great & Using Larger Line

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After my gas trimmer/edger bit the dust and reading all the reviews of this one, I decided to go for it. So far, I'm extremely satisfied. I was looking at a Worx model when I came across this bad boy and decided to go with it primarily due to the overall reviews and extra power this one has. I bought it with the intent of also getting the blower so that I could go completely gasless, but since it is out of stock I will have wait. Anyway, I currently have nearly 3 full spools of .095" line that I thought I was going to have to give away. To my surprise, however, I was able to respool the Ryobi just fine with it and it even auto-feeds as designed. Coupled with the fact that this unit has plenty of power, I think the thicker line will be just fine. I might go one size down if I was buying new line (.080 I think) just so I could get a little more on the spool at once.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Denham Springs, LA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

precision

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This trimmer/edger is perfect if you buy the square or edged line. Round line makes any trimmer under perform. I like the fact that it has only one line coming out of the head. When you have two lines they are never in perfect unison and not as precise. It's very quiet and no vibrations like 2 cycle motors. Battery last a long time and has indicator which lets you know the amount of charge left. I've tried several cordless trimmers and this one is the winner by far.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Douglasville, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is the best weed eater I have ever owned so far.

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I cant find anything I don't like about this weed eater. I was worried about the line being thin as other customers have stated and about it feeding automatically. I purchased the 40 volt weed eater and the hedge trimmer for 20.00 more dollars where I could get the extra battery. I have a lot of heavy trimming and the line never gets tangled and always feeds. I edged both sides of my driveway first through heavy Zoysia grass which has never been edged since we built our house 7 years ago. I trimmed a bank at the road with knee high grass and brush. I have trimmed all around the pool with rocks and around the lake. Never have to stop because the line doesn't tangle and automatically feeds.I always start high on the brush and come down. Since I bought the hedge trimmer Im going to try that around the lake for the small trees that are coming up.I have already used the hedge trimmer on the bushes it also works great. This is so easy to operate for me being a women of 50 years old its not as heavy as my gas weed eaters that don't work.Has plenty of power. I was surprised it went through the heavy weeds as good as it did. I did take the strapped off my other weed eater and hook it on to this one to help with the weight because I weed eated so long. I honestly can not say enough good stuff about this weed eater. I hope it last forever. Comes with a three year warranty also. Since I bought it I have weed eated for 4 hours the first day and an hour today.Its so nice to have one you don't have to hassle with the string and the gas. Very satisfied with the purchase of these both.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Webb City Mo
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT PRODUCT!!!

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This trimmer/edger is the best money I have ever spent on any tool period! Battery life is superb, ease of use is superb, overall rating would be a 10 if a 10 was offered! I would definitely recommend this to anyone! I am now in the process of purchasing the 40V blower because I know how well the Ryobi products are made!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Texas, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you're looking into cordless, make the extra investment for this model!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I initially went to Home Depot to pick up the 12V 10" model, but as I was waiting for someone to find one in the back, I was doing some research. I wasn't too thrilled with the idea of 10-15 min of use on one charge. For about 50 dollars more I could get this, 40V model and boy am I glad I made the investment. This beats a gas powered trimmer all day every day, I have about 3/4 acre, which requires a ton of edging and trimming. I get at least and hour per charge.
PRO TIP FOR EDGING: Low power will keep the line from snapping. It took a good portion of line wasted for me to figure this out. Also moving up a size to a .80 line makes all the difference. If you try to edge on full power the line will snap every time. Go about 25% power, ramping it up if needed to get through a tough spot. also you'll get more life out of the battery. I used to have a ryobi gas trimmer that I had to buy the separate edger attachment for and with this trimmer it is not needed. The wheel on the edger works perfectly as a guide, and it is so easy to switch from trimming to edging, just a quick tap with your foot.
I was really on the fence about spending so much on an electric trimmer, I've always heard that they're under powered and do not last long on a charge, but stepping up to this 40V model really makes all the difference.
I highly recommend this. No loud motor, no hand numbing vibrations, no mixing gas and oil, no tearing your rotator cuff while trying to start, no 7 step starting, etc.
I am very happy with this purchase, I will come back and update this if the durability falls into question but so far, so good!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: line auto feed not very consistent
+68points
76out of 84found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from East Fihkill New York
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very impressed with this product.

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using gas trimmers for years but I wanted to get away from them and use a cordless model. I always seemed to have trouble with gas trimmers-poor starting, stalling and the headaches of getting and mixing the gas. I was afraid that a cordless would not be enough power and not run long enough to finish on one charge. I have an acre property with the usual trimming and edging. I was completely surprised when using this Ryobi 40V. The variable speed control works great with more than enough power to trim and edge the entire property. I had 3/4 of the charge left after approximately an hour of use. I can only say after using it once that I am very happy I made the decision and I don't anticipate any changes. Goodbye gas trimmers.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Long-Lasting
Cons: don't have any.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Stuart, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I am thrilled with the performance.

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a 5'2", 48 year old female who does not have the patience nor stamina to start a gas trimmer. I decided to give this model a try. It exceeded all my expectations. It is very light weight which is a plus since I have 20 acres of trimming to tackle. It edged my driveway with ease and I have a long driveway. The battery lasts 40 minutes easily. I choose to restring it manually instead of purchasing the replacement cartridges and this can be done with ease. I recently purchased the pole saw attachment and it to exceeded my expectations as well. It is well worth the money and is simple to use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Other battery operated trimmers are like toys compared to this one.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I just bought this a few weeks ago and have used it three times. It runs and runs and runs on a battery charge. It does not take long to charge up the battery. The variable speed trigger is a great help. I very seldom need to run it at full speed. The 18V battery operated trimmer I had before is like a toy compared to this one.
I am a senior citizen and the only draw back to this when used as a trimmer for a long period of time my arms give out because of the weight. To use it as an edger is a delight with the large wheel and no strain on the arms.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Sturdy, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading many reviews, I decided to try this trimmer when my 2-cycle refused to start. I do several yards per week, most all of them very nice with little heavy trimming required. I was tired of hurting my shoulder trying to start the gas trimmer. This Ryobi trimmer is the best. It's light weight is a blessing after a day of mowing. I don't use the auto feed, I manually feed the line. This trimmer is so well balanced that mowing with it is very easy, allowing for a cut that looks like a mower did it. The edging option works flawlessly, very easy to edge and keep the cut straight with the edging wheel. After doing my biggest yards I still have over 3/4 power left. The varible speed is very nice, allowing you to save power when trimming light work, and helps in keeping control. All and all, I like this unit better than any gas trimmer I have ever used. Now I just have to see how it holds up, as I have only used it for a couple of weeks...several yards a day.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>