728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

Ryobi takes Cordless to the next level with the 40 Volt Lithium-Ion String Trimmer. This string trimmer is designed to deliver cordless convenience without sacrificing power. With a 40 Volt battery pack, this string trimmer delivers longer runtime, and fade-free power. And for you gas-lovers out there, this string trimmer actually delivers longer run time than a gas trimmer. Compared to Ryobi 2-Cycle String Trimmer. Ryobi also loads this string trimmer with convenient features like the 11-13 in. adjustable string width for ultimate cut control. The 90 degree pivoting head swings out for easy walk-behind edging, and the charger has your battery fully re-charged in under two hours. All backed by a 3 year warranty, there has never been a better time to consider cordless.
Overall rating:
3.873 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product53 of 70reviews
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(15)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(9)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product53 of 70reviews
Customer reviews for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Review 1 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Webb City Mo
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT PRODUCT!!!

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trimmer/edger is the best money I have ever spent on any tool period! Battery life is superb, ease of use is superb, overall rating would be a 10 if a 10 was offered! I would definitely recommend this to anyone! I am now in the process of purchasing the 40V blower because I know how well the Ryobi products are made!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for me

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Just what I was hoping for. I have a 1/2 acre lot with lots of flower and shrub beds that need edging. I found my gas trimmer to be too powerful, noisy, smelly and heavy. I love the precision I can get with this trimmer with the edging wheel and variable speed. Easy to handle and I use less than 1/2 charge to do the whole yard. Haven't had any problem with the line durability or advance. Don't know how it would do in heavy weeds but for trimming grass it is awesome.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Dothan, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I am extremely satisfied.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading other reviews, I decided to try the Ryobi. After multiple purchases of gas powered trimmers over the years, which always let me down for one reason or another, I tried a cordless trimmer several years ago and will never buy any other kind. I've been a loyal customer of another popular brand for years, but decided to give this trimmer a chance, mainly because the battery and charger interchange with other Ryobi products. I am not disappointed with my decision. I have a fairly large yard which requires a lot of trimming and this trimmer was up to the task. I haven't had mine for very long, and don't usually review a product until it has proven itself; but I've been so impressed with the performance of this trimmer until I thought it deserved some praise. I didn't think anything could match the performance of my preferred brand and was skeptical, but so far I'm delighted with my purchase. I didn't realize when I purchased it, that there are additional attachments available. I plan to give some of them a try as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Austin, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just about perfect

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've always disliked using gas trimmers because of the noise and the smell (used 2 strokes in the past). I find myself doing the yard either early in the morning or late in the evening because of the Texas summer sun and it really messes up a nice quiet neighborhood to pull start your trimmer/mower. So now that I recently have a yard to take care of (first time out of an apartment) I decided to try a cordless electric model. Obviously, being my first electric/cordless unit, my biggest worry was the runtime and power, and I was so pleasantly surprised. It's just not an issue at all. It's got all the power I needed to trim out some bushes that had grown over my driveway at a 90 degree. When I was done, I had plenty of runtime left to trim around all my trees and down my fenceline. The helpful LEDs on the battery told me I had about a quarter power left 30 minutes into the job.
I think what I like most about this unit, though, is just how tall it is. I'm 6 foot 1 inches and even with gas trimmers I usually have to bend over a little to get the right trim which really gets to my back. With this trimmer I can stand up completely and trim out where I need to. Combine that with how balanced it is with the battery and it really is just awesome to use.
I would definitely recommend the trimmer. I'm probably going to pick up the 40V Blower too; if I like it half as much as the trimmer I won't regret it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store, great runtime
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Pittsford, NY 14534, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great lawn tool

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this thing is fantastic, no gas and oil mix, no more hard starting , no more pollution . i have almost an acre with 5 out gardens , i can trim the perimeter , the gardens and around the house 3 times before i have to charge it
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+13points
19out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like most folks I do not like to spend extra cash unless I am getting more value as a result. This trimmer is definitely worth the investment. From the quality, power, and lasting battery charge you will recognize the value.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY POWERFUL FOR A CORDLESS WEEDEATER

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
GREAT CORDLESS WEEDEATER FOR PRICE AND DURABILTY I WOULD RECONMEN THIS WEEDEATER TO ANY HOME OWNER
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No cords, no gas or oil, it's just so simple to use and has lots of power. 40 volt battery charges fast and can be used on other tools.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Easy to Store
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Denham Springs, LA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

precision

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trimmer/edger is perfect if you buy the square or edged line. Round line makes any trimmer under perform. I like the fact that it has only one line coming out of the head. When you have two lines they are never in perfect unison and not as precise. It's very quiet and no vibrations like 2 cycle motors. Battery last a long time and has indicator which lets you know the amount of charge left. I've tried several cordless trimmers and this one is the winner by far.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Crystal Lake, IL 60014, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very well built, very well thought out

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight, vibration free, exceptionally quiet, ran longer then my gas unit, easier to change string, flips to edger configuration easily, built in hole for hanging, I might even get my wife to run this!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Ephrata, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi 40v Lithium Ion Trimmer

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Traded in a :"NEW" 4 stroke split boom trimmer that performed extremely well, after started. VERY VERY difficult to start and was HEAVY. This 40v lithium ion trimmer has all the power, starts at the press of a "button" and NO GAS!.... I've used it 3 times to trim my entire yard, which is over 1/4 acre, still haven't had to charge. Best of all was the sales associate "Chuck" he was able to Refund my previous purchase and get me this one which is AWSOME!, Thanks Home Depot, You guys ROCK!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems Great & Using Larger Line

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After my gas trimmer/edger bit the dust and reading all the reviews of this one, I decided to go for it. So far, I'm extremely satisfied. I was looking at a Worx model when I came across this bad boy and decided to go with it primarily due to the overall reviews and extra power this one has. I bought it with the intent of also getting the blower so that I could go completely gasless, but since it is out of stock I will have wait. Anyway, I currently have nearly 3 full spools of .095" line that I thought I was going to have to give away. To my surprise, however, I was able to respool the Ryobi just fine with it and it even auto-feeds as designed. Coupled with the fact that this unit has plenty of power, I think the thicker line will be just fine. I might go one size down if I was buying new line (.080 I think) just so I could get a little more on the spool at once.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from East Fihkill New York
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very impressed with this product.

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using gas trimmers for years but I wanted to get away from them and use a cordless model. I always seemed to have trouble with gas trimmers-poor starting, stalling and the headaches of getting and mixing the gas. I was afraid that a cordless would not be enough power and not run long enough to finish on one charge. I have an acre property with the usual trimming and edging. I was completely surprised when using this Ryobi 40V. The variable speed control works great with more than enough power to trim and edge the entire property. I had 3/4 of the charge left after approximately an hour of use. I can only say after using it once that I am very happy I made the decision and I don't anticipate any changes. Goodbye gas trimmers.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Long-Lasting
Cons: don't have any.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Indianapolis

Great product

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Powerful, quick charge. I can charge battery while I mow and have plenty of charge to trim. Only feature that takes some getting used to is the automatic feed. It works but is different than the bump heads. You have to start the weed eater head and wait for it to stop to feed string out and repeat several times. Again, the feature works but is just different. Great weed eater. Is not the lightest on the market but feels like a gas weedeater.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect for someone tired of gas machines

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had my trimmer for two months and love it. I'm one of those people that didn't take care of the gas powered equipment and would suffer everytime they didn't work so I decided to try battery and I couldn't be happier. The thing has awesome power and endurance easy to handle lasts longer than any work I need to do..sometimes I keep doing things to drain the battery so I can charge it. I haven't had the problems with the cord that I've seen on some of the reviews I have read but it's still new. Now I'm looking for a cordless lawnmower but I'm not liking the reviews...stay tuned
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, quick charge
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Machine

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing works like a buzzsaw once you get some decent line in it. The line that comes with it is very weak. I put some .095 Rhino line it even though it says it takes .065 line and it works great. The edger isn't really strong enough to do my walkway, but you can get the attachment for it that works much better.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: a little heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from McCordsville, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely love this item.

PostedJune 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was very easy to assemble and use. I was very happy with the guard I thought it would be in the way but it actually worked very well. I had not been able to trim lawn yet so it was pretty bad but I was able to get me entire yard done including both sides of a fence and the battery was still going strong.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Going For 4 Cycle And Ended Up With This

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went to buy another Ryobi after my 14 year old, two stroke finally quit. Lithium-Ion batteries are solid and since this trimmer was 40V I decided to give it a try. Easy job of putting everything together. All plastic which worried me since my old Ryobi was mostly metal. Also only a single line gave me a little buyers remorse as I was using a four line spinner previously. Charged the battery and went out to trim and try out the edger. WOW! Blown away. This trimmer works fantastic. Easily handled everything I threw at it and to my surprise the edger worked great. Look forward to getting the blower next!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, trimmer & edger in one
Cons: not as light as i expected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Texas, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you're looking into cordless, make the extra investment for this model!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I initially went to Home Depot to pick up the 12V 10" model, but as I was waiting for someone to find one in the back, I was doing some research. I wasn't too thrilled with the idea of 10-15 min of use on one charge. For about 50 dollars more I could get this, 40V model and boy am I glad I made the investment. This beats a gas powered trimmer all day every day, I have about 3/4 acre, which requires a ton of edging and trimming. I get at least and hour per charge.
PRO TIP FOR EDGING: Low power will keep the line from snapping. It took a good portion of line wasted for me to figure this out. Also moving up a size to a .80 line makes all the difference. If you try to edge on full power the line will snap every time. Go about 25% power, ramping it up if needed to get through a tough spot. also you'll get more life out of the battery. I used to have a ryobi gas trimmer that I had to buy the separate edger attachment for and with this trimmer it is not needed. The wheel on the edger works perfectly as a guide, and it is so easy to switch from trimming to edging, just a quick tap with your foot.
I was really on the fence about spending so much on an electric trimmer, I've always heard that they're under powered and do not last long on a charge, but stepping up to this 40V model really makes all the difference.
I highly recommend this. No loud motor, no hand numbing vibrations, no mixing gas and oil, no tearing your rotator cuff while trying to start, no 7 step starting, etc.
I am very happy with this purchase, I will come back and update this if the durability falls into question but so far, so good!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: line auto feed not very consistent
+68points
76out of 84found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Stuart, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I am thrilled with the performance.

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a 5'2", 48 year old female who does not have the patience nor stamina to start a gas trimmer. I decided to give this model a try. It exceeded all my expectations. It is very light weight which is a plus since I have 20 acres of trimming to tackle. It edged my driveway with ease and I have a long driveway. The battery lasts 40 minutes easily. I choose to restring it manually instead of purchasing the replacement cartridges and this can be done with ease. I recently purchased the pole saw attachment and it to exceeded my expectations as well. It is well worth the money and is simple to use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>