728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bath Ventilation Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*

High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*

The ENERGY STAR Qualified High Performance Exhaust Fan Series features a unique Snap-In Installation System. The included bracket nails or screws to the ceiling joist allowing the fan housing to Snap-In. Connect the wiring and the ducting, install the easy fitting grill and you are done. A bath fan installation can now be done in minutes. The durable high impact plastic housing ensures quiet operation and maximum performance.
Overall rating:
4.361 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product57 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(25)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product57 of 61reviews
Customer reviews for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Review 1 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
HLfromSantaCruz
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great value for the performance.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unit is fairly quite for it's output rating. Fit into my small 2x6 mounting location. Mounting was easy for my new installation. Nice looking on the outside.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
MIELEC
from Grand Rapids MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Product

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have installed many bath fans over the years. This model is a very good value, made well, and should last a long time.
This was a replacement for an existing fan. The ceiling opening was enlarged, bracket installed, connect power, duct. The fan snapped into the mounting bracket just fine. From the bathroom, not the attic. It is a easy installation, 30 minutes. Took longer to clean up.
This unit CAN be installed in an finished ceiling.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
ChrisH
from Mentor Ohio
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best for price

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan is very quiet and installed easily. It can be for a new installation, but it seemed designed for replacement work. I put this in completely from the bathroom side. Issues that popped up were not the fault of the fan but rather vent stacks and electrical wires in the attic. In less than 2 hours including clean up I was done.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design, Quiet
Cons: none yet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
JDug

Straight foreward install and quiet running

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Compared to others I have installed, this was easier than most. Easy wiring, just don't forgot the wire grommet (included) to protect the wires.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Alex

Great bathroom fan for the price.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For a small bathroom, this is great. It's not silent, but not loud by any means. And it gets rid of steam very well. This was a replacement. I cut the ceiling about 1/4 inch larger than the actual fan and it clicked in just fine. The cover masks the ceiling just fine.
I have access the the attic above the bathroom. Because of the exhaust tube, I don't think it could be done from below without any access to the attic.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design, noise to price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Mike
from Winfield, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and extremely quiet

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This bathroom fan is very quiet and was very easy to install with its snap-in design. The hardest part of the installation was the electrical since this was a replacement of an existing fan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, very quiet fan
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
brog
from Browntown, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quiet running

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Though I am pleased at its quiet running feature, I had difficulties when first installed. The fan was rubbing against the inner housing preventing it from turning. I had to literally remove the fan so as to cut some of the housing away so the fan could operate freely.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install, poor construction, sloppy craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Carl

Not for retrofit

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After installed, the fan is quiet and moves a lot of air. I no longer have a steam problem in the shower area which is why I bought it. I would NOT recomend this fan if you have existing sheet rock. It's made for new installs. It's impossible to install as per the instructions. I even called the tech assist line and they confirmed what I thought. It can not be installed as the directions show. I bought 2 fans and like the first one so much I've decided to keep the second one. if you mount the bracket to a long 1x4 you can mount it without a problem.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Piper

Runs Quiet

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Fan works and looks great. I was replacing and older fan, so had to do some extra work to make this one fit, but not that difficult.
Pros: High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Rock
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works great and is pretty quiet.

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this fan. Customer service was great and The fan was delivered UPS in just a few days. Ording was easier than ever. This is truly the only way to shop. The fan works great and is very quiet.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design, i will also install one in my other bathroom.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
jman

great value

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
great item for value. looked easy to install but was timely
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
mnotpit
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall a good product. Installation into an existing bathroom ceiling wasn't the easiest, simply due to the way the exhaust port is formed and the way it clips into the stud mounting bracket, but it still wasn't bad. It's quiet and effective.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Tallen
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good but not great

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Quiet but be sure to install with smooth walled galvanized or aluminum duct or it will not function efficiently
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: not very efficient at exchanging air
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
gbern
from chicago
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
so far working great. very quiet. great value for the price. A bit lighter construction than others I've seen, but seems to work great. Not sure how the durability will be over time.
Pros: Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
ra2dc
from Syracuse NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent fan, mount system could be better

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this for a brand new install in an existing 50 sq ft bathroom. I purchased over-rated for room size due to feedback of some other customers. Upon opening the box, I didn't like the cheap looking metal clip that the entire fan mounts to. You mount the clip and then snap the fan onto it. Upon installing, I further disliked this mounting scheme because cutting a square hole in the ceiling the size of the fan and then mounting the bracket does not leave enough room to slip the fan housing through the hole to snap onto the clip. I had to open the hole a bit, which I later regretted because now the plastic fan shroud doesnt cover the hole entirely. Also, the mounting clip results in the fan not being flush with the ceiling. It is flush on the side of the mounting clip, but slightly recessed into the ceiling on the opposite end. Not all that big of a deal since it will be hidden in the end, but further reinforces my displeasure. And the springs on the fan shroud seem weak, I wish they held tighter, the fan shroud isn't pulled tightly against the ceiling and there are some gaps.
However, the fan is extremely quiet and sucks air nicely. It's so quite I can't tell it's running unless everything in the bathroom is off (shower, radio, sink, no toilet filling, etc). I lit a candle and blew it out on the edge of my bathtub and saw the smoke quickly move toward the vent.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
MattM
from Jersey Shore
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product with some limitations

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This Air King 70 CFM 1.5 sones fan is a good fan and runs quietly. I installed it in a bathroom that is being completely remodeled so it is effectively new construction. There is a bracket to attach to the ceiling joist. Then the fan snaps into the bracket. Knockout a plug in the built-in electric box and attach the wires. 1/2 hour tops. Following are reasons I give it 3 stars rather than 4 or 5. The depth graduations on the mounting bracket are on one side of the bracket - should be on both sides. Knockouts in the built-in electric box are not convenient for connecting BX in tight locations. There is not enough room in the built-in electric box to put pliers on the nut for an electric connector. Screws in the connector can only be accessed from one side, so you have to be careful about installation of connectors.
I would recommend this to a friend with the above cautions.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: limitations of built-in electric box, depth graduations on mounting bracket on 1 side
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Mike
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Quality Product!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this for a Customer. Delivered in a timely manner. Excellent Product. This product was not available in the Store so happy to have found this online!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
RedThumb

purchased to replace a noisy fan

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This basic low noise fan was sized to fit the small bathroom and also to fit my budget. There was a problem with the snap-in installation until a wire was found to be shifting under the catch as the fan box was raised. Once the wire was restrained the box clicked in securely.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
chris

Good Value

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not too difficult to install in an existing location, but it took some drywall repair to the ceiling afterward. Works much better and is quieter than the previous exhaust fan.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
swanee

better but not best

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install. Quieter than builders grade but not as quiet as Panasonic, but cheaper so have a trade off decision to make.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: noise level is just ok
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>