728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bath Ventilation Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*

High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*

The ENERGY STAR Qualified High Performance Exhaust Fan Series features a unique Snap-In Installation System. The included bracket nails or screws to the ceiling joist allowing the fan housing to Snap-In. Connect the wiring and the ducting, install the easy fitting grill and you are done. A bath fan installation can now be done in minutes. The durable high impact plastic housing ensures quiet operation and maximum performance.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(88 reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product81 of 88reviews
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(42)
4
(33)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product81 of 88reviews
Customer reviews for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Review 1 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*

Poor Performance

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My old exhaust fan was 70CFM, so I thought this one would work well being 70CFM as well. It doesn't keep up. Even for 30 min after taking a shower it is still muggy. The fan is properly ventilated to the outside, but this thing though quiet doesn't work at all.
The design being the snap in mounted is not a good design either.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
from Lees Summit, Missouri
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy!!!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When my old exhaust fan went out, I began researching options on Home Depot's website. After much reading, I decided on this model and am very pleased with the result. I actually purchased it in early December, but due to the holidays, just installed this past weekend. It was easy to install, looks great, and is very quiet.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My new Air KingHigh Performance Bath Fan is BETTER than i hoped!

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just self-installed my new Air KingHigh Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan and im so pleased with it. It's so much quieter than the fans I've had experience with in the past. Its also the fastest acting bath fan i've ever had the pleasure of owning. The specifications on the Home Depot web site made it easy to choose the right fan for my bathroom as well. The instructions were clear and the installation was a breeze. I could'nt be happier!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, super quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
from Camp Hill, PA

Great fan at a great price

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very quiet and works great. I have it on a 10-20-30-60 timer switch (1800W) and I have no complaints. Make sure you realize that this product does not have a light, because the picture at first glance looks like it does.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great value for the performance.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Unit is fairly quite for it's output rating. Fit into my small 2x6 mounting location. Mounting was easy for my new installation. Nice looking on the outside.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
from Greenville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellant buy

PostedMay 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For 40 years we never had vents in our bathrooms. It was quite a surprise to me what a differance the vents made in moisture control. I first did one bathroom and was so pleased with this fan I purchased another. For the price and area I needed to cover these fans work great and they are so quiet I forget to turn them off. My only regret is, I didn't have timers put in while I did use the duel switch that I love.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
from Grand Rapids MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Product

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have installed many bath fans over the years. This model is a very good value, made well, and should last a long time.
This was a replacement for an existing fan. The ceiling opening was enlarged, bracket installed, connect power, duct. The fan snapped into the mounting bracket just fine. From the bathroom, not the attic. It is a easy installation, 30 minutes. Took longer to clean up.
This unit CAN be installed in an finished ceiling.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good buy

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installation is not that simple if you replace on older fan - you have to get in the attic to remove the old one - once you did that it's still work to be done there to attach the wires.
Enlarging the opening creates some mess but once everything is completed it is worth it.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
from Miami
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ceiling vent fan

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The unit is very quiet. Make sure that if installing through ceiling that install clip is on vent side. otherwise install clip CAN NOT be used and screws will be needed to install.
It is a very good price.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design, Quiet
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
from Maryland

Nice fan for the money

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The fan was easy to install, but it does have a 4 inch exhaust If you home is like mine I only have a 3 inch exhaust run through the house so I did have to use a reducer. I wish they would make this fan in a 3 inch exhaust that would have made the job a LOT easier.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: needs 3" exhaust
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
from Augusta GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wanted something other than your standard builder grade for our new home and this product fit the bill without breaking the bank. Installs easily and is super quiet.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*

Efficient for the price

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
A tad bit louder than I would like for powder room but works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works great and is pretty quiet.

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this fan. Customer service was great and The fan was delivered UPS in just a few days. Ording was easier than ever. This is truly the only way to shop. The fan works great and is very quiet.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design, i will also install one in my other bathroom.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
from Durango, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A pain to install, but it works.

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I choose this model fan after reviewing many models on-line. The air flow seemed good compared to the low noise rating. My number one issue with the fan was during installation. The instructions state that you cut a square hole in the ceiling the size of the base of the fan. The fan comes with an "L" shaped bracket that you then screw onto a ceiling joist. The fan is supposed to then catch on one edge of the bracket, pivot up, and snap into place onto the other end of the bracket. Great, except for one glaring problem. The fan exhaust port protrudes past the square base which prevents the fan from pivoting up into the ceiling.
I tried removing the exhaust port and that helped but still no go. The only way this works is if you cut the hole larger and in the shape of the fan. But that leaves an open gap on one end of the where the hole had to me made over sized. It's as if the person who wrote the installation instructions never then tried following those instructions.
The fan does work well and removes a respectable amount of humidity from the bathroom. But if I had to do it over again I'd buy a different fan.
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
from Visalia, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great fan

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was the best balance between cost, volume of air pushed and quietness. Good choice.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*

Not for retrofit

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After installed, the fan is quiet and moves a lot of air. I no longer have a steam problem in the shower area which is why I bought it. I would NOT recomend this fan if you have existing sheet rock. It's made for new installs. It's impossible to install as per the instructions. I even called the tech assist line and they confirmed what I thought. It can not be installed as the directions show. I bought 2 fans and like the first one so much I've decided to keep the second one. if you mount the bracket to a long 1x4 you can mount it without a problem.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*

Don't agree with CFM rating

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Bathroom is only 5X8 with 8' ceilings and it still is very foggy after a guys 12 min. shower. Not what I was hoping for
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fan, great value

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The fan is very quiet, and compared to other 70CFM units, surprisingly inexpensive.
I docked the unit one star but I was on the fence about it. The issue is the mounting system. I actually think it's brilliant and super easy to use, but with a caveat. Unlike other fans that have a housing you need to size the opening for, then insert the fan body into the installed housing, this uses a large L clip that the unit rests on the bottom edge, then snaps into place on top. Screwing the L bracket to the joist was easier than working with full housing. Again, it's super easy to use. The trouble is for remodel installation, the hole needs to be cut larger than the unit to account for the angle the unit needs to be at when swinging up into the opening to clip in on top. This leaves an air gap for warm moist bathroom air, and a hole for blow-in insulation to fall through. It's a small enough gap that I was easily able to cover it in the attic with spare bits of drywall just set on top of the relief cuts, but it did complicate the install a bit.
That said, I would still recommend it for the low noise level, good CFM rating, low price, and *almost* perfect mounting system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*

Easy installation and super quiet

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a small bathroom but this fan did and excellent job on getting rid of moisture and is super quiet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for High Performance 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan, ENERGY STAR*
from SoCal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ok fan for miniature bathroom 2' x 5'

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
moves the air out............ it is not rated strong, gets a rattle sometimes, but, overall pretty quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>