728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Rubberized Coatings or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray

12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray

Rust-Oleum LeakSeal Black Spray is an easy to use, rubberized protective utility coating designed to fill and seal leaks and cracks. It provides a water-tight, flexible seal that prevents moisture penetration, rust and corrosion. LeakSeal dries to a semi-smooth, firm finish that will not sag or drip and can be top-coated with latex or oil based paints.
Overall rating:
2.885 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product13 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(9)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product13 of 25reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
Review 1 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than Flex Seal!

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Months ago, I saw Flex Seal on TV, and gave it a try around some flashing on my roof. The spray pattern was nothing like what was on TV. It was all over the place and made a mess. I saw Rust-Oleum's product this past weekend and decided to give it a shot. Wow! What a difference! It works as advertised and I know it will be backed by the Rust-Oleum name. The odor is a little strong, but for what the product is (spray rubber?), it is not that bad.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
from SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product..... not enough

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is a great product for every day fixes... but the contents of the can run out to fast for the price.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Good Protection
Cons: not enough product in can
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great stuff

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a roof flashing leak. Cleaned up the area, but on several coats and brushed smooth to make sure it got in the cracks...... just bought some more to do another area that is leaking... will see next big storm. I am sure it will hold.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray

Junk

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried. On leaking skylight, does not spray evenly, then spray from can blows it all over the place. Scraped this stuff off and used regular silicone caulk. This is a horrible product.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Did Not Stop Leak!

PostedMay 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was highly recommended by store employees. Useless on a small steady leak. Had a leak around the threads of a sink basket, drain pipe and spray hose. Cover areas you do not want this stuff on, because the spray goes every where. Sprayed LeakSeal on the leaking areas and waited 15 minutes. It never fully dried. After 3 coats it made the leaks worse. In the end, I returned the product for a full refund and bought a new faucet set and drain pipe. Initially I was using duct tape, then bought epoxy putty that was containing the leak. LeakSeal did not seal or stop the leak. Save your money, this product was a bust for me.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, messy, strong fumes, never dried, did not stop leak
-9points
0out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
from Fairview, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Recommend this product !!

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
For years I had a leaky dining room window.. so much so that even with a shower outside I had to keep a pot on the floor. I tried year after year calking with silicone . Never did the job. . I decided to give the Leakseal Black spray a try this past fall. To my amazement with the brutal winter snow and the rains NEVER once did a drop of water come in ! The stuff is fantastic
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection
Cons: not enought product in the can.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
from Hawaii, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works the way it should.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems to work pretty good. Need to see how long it will last over time. I guess the only complaint is it doesn't go very far for coverage. But as long as it works? I would tell people to buy it to repair leaks.
Pros: Easy to Apply
Cons: does not cover much area
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray

This stuff works great.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This stuff does exactly what the can says. It has a very powerful spray pattern. My only complaint is that the 12OZ can doesn't have as much spray as one would expect. I would probably purchase a little more than you think you need, unless you're using it for a small project.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Modern
Cons: not much in the can
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
from Lakeland, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Rust-Oleum

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a hard time getting this stuff to come out of the can even shaking it was still a pain in the butt was useless. I found a better one called Home Armor Flexible Sealer now that stuff work a lot better than this stuff..
Cons: does not spray well, spray not thick coat
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray

Not enough in the can...

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like this product, but I barely covered a four square foot area with only one coat. The old wall behind the washer has lots of cracks and is drafty. This can ran out FAST! Less than a minute of spraying time.
For the price I paid, I can't justify buying it again, because there is not much in there.
AND it has a massive odor! It is very strong. Make sure you have a fan handy and open your windows.
But, it looks good and feels good when dry. It appears to work at keeping the drafts out.
It would have been cheaper and cleaner to re-drywall the same area.
I gave it a fair rating because I am sure it works excellent for what it was designed to do, but the volume and cost make this only 2 stars.
+6points
28out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ust-Oleum LeakSeal Black Spray

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product and got the job done sealing a small roof leak.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product might work for some cracks but not basements

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While this product may seal small cracks in certain surfaces it did little to stop the flow from heavy rains in the single crack I had in my basement.
Pros: Good Coverage, Dries Quickly
Cons: did not perform as expected.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than advertised

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went on easy and worked wonderful. Used on leaky gutters
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray

Excellent product used on metal surface

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product performance in windy and wet conditions
Pros: High Quality of Material
Cons: makes a mess spraying on globs all over
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
from Harrisburg, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. Easily applied, and it works!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
from Ruther Glen, VA 22546, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Many great uses for this product.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We have used this product for many purposes. The latest one was repairing a broken water heater pan. The product sealed the large Crack very well. Except for a small part that bubbled open. I'm confident another application of silicone and this rubber spray and it will be perfectly sealed. I have a extended warranty on this job so we will see how long this product last. But for short term it's wonderful.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't Buy Enough

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product to repair an air bed. Unfortunately I didn't read instructions before buying. I would have known I need 3 cans to do the job.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product for my applications

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used the product to seal a leak on my RV rupper roof, Works great as a custom coating for customizing some auto parts for my show car. Very easy to use and tough.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
from Jackson, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It doesn't seal as it states it will

PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff does not work as it says it will. Oh sure it will seal a leak if you put 4 cans on but not if you apply it as recommended!
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray

Not worth the high price.

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm not very happy at all with this stuff. It made a big mess, applied very unevenly, had a tendency to come out in clumps. I was trying to cover 8 square feet. I could not find a description of coverage area anywhere on the can. Online description says it covers 10 sf. If I had been able to read that on the can while at the store, I definitely would not have bought it! It only actually covered about 7 sf. And at $10 a can, I can't justify buying another can for 1 more square foot. I'm very disappointed. Would NOT recommend this product.
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 >>