728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Rubberized Coatings or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray

12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray

Rust-Oleum LeakSeal Black Spray is an easy to use, rubberized protective utility coating designed to fill and seal leaks and cracks. It provides a water-tight, flexible seal that prevents moisture penetration, rust and corrosion. LeakSeal dries to a semi-smooth, firm finish that will not sag or drip and can be top-coated with latex or oil based paints.
Overall rating:
2.947 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product10 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product10 of 18reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
Review 1 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
orange7
from SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product..... not enough

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is a great product for every day fixes... but the contents of the can run out to fast for the price.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Good Protection
Cons: not enough product in can
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
Stoneman
from Fairview, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Recommend this product !!

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
For years I had a leaky dining room window.. so much so that even with a shower outside I had to keep a pot on the floor. I tried year after year calking with silicone . Never did the job. . I decided to give the Leakseal Black spray a try this past fall. To my amazement with the brutal winter snow and the rains NEVER once did a drop of water come in ! The stuff is fantastic
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection
Cons: not enought product in the can.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
TomC
from Hawaii, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works the way it should.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems to work pretty good. Need to see how long it will last over time. I guess the only complaint is it doesn't go very far for coverage. But as long as it works? I would tell people to buy it to repair leaks.
Pros: Easy to Apply
Cons: does not cover much area
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
Vlad
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than Flex Seal!

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Months ago, I saw Flex Seal on TV, and gave it a try around some flashing on my roof. The spray pattern was nothing like what was on TV. It was all over the place and made a mess. I saw Rust-Oleum's product this past weekend and decided to give it a shot. Wow! What a difference! It works as advertised and I know it will be backed by the Rust-Oleum name. The odor is a little strong, but for what the product is (spray rubber?), it is not that bad.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
Bryce

This stuff works great.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This stuff does exactly what the can says. It has a very powerful spray pattern. My only complaint is that the 12OZ can doesn't have as much spray as one would expect. I would probably purchase a little more than you think you need, unless you're using it for a small project.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Modern
Cons: not much in the can
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
86hugger
from Harrisburg, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. Easily applied, and it works!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
Mistrgekko
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great stuff

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a roof flashing leak. Cleaned up the area, but on several coats and brushed smooth to make sure it got in the cracks...... just bought some more to do another area that is leaking... will see next big storm. I am sure it will hold.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
DrTomLLC
from Ruther Glen, VA 22546, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Many great uses for this product.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We have used this product for many purposes. The latest one was repairing a broken water heater pan. The product sealed the large Crack very well. Except for a small part that bubbled open. I'm confident another application of silicone and this rubber spray and it will be perfectly sealed. I have a extended warranty on this job so we will see how long this product last. But for short term it's wonderful.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
Greg

Not enough in the can...

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like this product, but I barely covered a four square foot area with only one coat. The old wall behind the washer has lots of cracks and is drafty. This can ran out FAST! Less than a minute of spraying time.
For the price I paid, I can't justify buying it again, because there is not much in there.
AND it has a massive odor! It is very strong. Make sure you have a fan handy and open your windows.
But, it looks good and feels good when dry. It appears to work at keeping the drafts out.
It would have been cheaper and cleaner to re-drywall the same area.
I gave it a fair rating because I am sure it works excellent for what it was designed to do, but the volume and cost make this only 2 stars.
+7points
27out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
Befond
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't Buy Enough

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product to repair an air bed. Unfortunately I didn't read instructions before buying. I would have known I need 3 cans to do the job.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
Fred
from Jackson, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It doesn't seal as it states it will

PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff does not work as it says it will. Oh sure it will seal a leak if you put 4 cans on but not if you apply it as recommended!
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
Anonymous

Not worth the high price.

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm not very happy at all with this stuff. It made a big mess, applied very unevenly, had a tendency to come out in clumps. I was trying to cover 8 square feet. I could not find a description of coverage area anywhere on the can. Online description says it covers 10 sf. If I had been able to read that on the can while at the store, I definitely would not have bought it! It only actually covered about 7 sf. And at $10 a can, I can't justify buying another can for 1 more square foot. I'm very disappointed. Would NOT recommend this product.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
ewe2

Horrible Product!

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doesn't work as advertise when it comes to concrete. Doesn't seal cracks and is not paintable. In fact, the sprayer broke half-way through usage and the black gunk bleeds through the paint. I had to do more work to fix my patio after using this product then if I just used the concrete paint without doing anything to the cracks!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
Containerman
from Copake, NY 12516, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A total waste of money!

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A total waste of money. I put on two ample coats and it made absolutely no difference in the leak of the rain gutter.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: doesn't do what it's sold for
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
Mr33Fixit

spray in can doesnt last long nor seal any better than paint.

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was told this is the stuff that had been comercialized showing a screen door on the bottom of a boat, was used spraying to seal & boat then floated.
What they dont say is how many cans it would take. Would be wiser to buy a different boat than this product. It has been a waste of my money and time for I will never recomend to a friend.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
Kingi
from NH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy more than you think

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You'll need more cans than you think and the stuff has a strong smell. I have a headache from the odor after spraying the item outside and leaving to dry. My whole house now smells like bad rubber after moving the heavy item back into the house. .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
ltlbull
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Exactly as described on my roof around flashing!

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product was great! It stopped a bad rain leak that I had with flashing around my chimney. I highly recommend it!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
DrummerDan
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product for my applications

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used the product to seal a leak on my RV rupper roof, Works great as a custom coating for customizing some auto parts for my show car. Very easy to use and tough.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 oz. LeakSeal Black Spray
Clownn
from CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

It's horrible! Don't waste your money!!!!!!!

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff splatters and is not waterproof its horrible!!!! It goes everywhere it does not seal air or water out don't waste your money
Cons: Difficult to Clean, super messy, doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.