728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can

2+ gal. Gas Can

The Smart-Fill Fuel Filling System is a safe and easy to use portable plastic fuel container. It is designed for easy and safe operation. It meets all applicable requirements for both child resistance and senior adult friendly as enforced by the Consumer Product Safety Council.
Overall rating:
2.057 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(122 reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
27%of customersrecommend this product32 of 118reviews
Rating Breakdown 122 reviews
2.1 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(11)
3
(14)
2
(8)
1
(74)
Features 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
Quality 
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.6 out of 5
1.6 out of 5
Value 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
27%of customersrecommend this product32 of 118reviews
Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Review 1 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bad. NO! WHY!?!?!?!?

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot, do you like your customers? Then stop selling this gas can that does not pour gas.
Do you like pouring gasoline out of a container into your power tools? Yes you say? That's why you're buying a gas can? Then buy a different gas can. Not this one. At least not with this ANTI-POUR spout.
I bought a second one b/c I was sure what I had the first time was defective, and I then physically destroyed it trying to get it to work. NOPE, it is designed to fail.
This gas can is a failure.
Well technically the container does contain the gas, but the spout doesn't pour.
Did I mention that you should not buy this? Just Don't.
I can't even ...
Pros: contains gas
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, Not Durable, fails to pour the gas, breaks easily, wastes time and effort, i don't like it
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Atlanta, ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst design ever.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The release mechanism is very strong. I had to disassemble the spout for my application. It takes two hands to compress the spring, leaving one no way to hold on to a less than both feet on the ground position. Anyone dumb enough to need all of this protection should be restricted from using flammable fluids. I'm taking mine back (at least the pieces I still have), for a refund. My application requires me to stand on a piece of equipment, and extend the can toward the filler cap. Impossible with this design. One star rating is only because there was no zero choice.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from West Bloomfield Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good luck figuring out how to open the pour nozzle

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's a gas can. It does what other gas cans do - it holds gas.
My chief complaint is the kludgey pour nozzle - it has some sort of anti-pour design that requires an advanced understanding of mechanical engineering to operate. They managed to take something as trivial as opening a nozzle to pour gas and turned it into a confusing and frustrating process.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Dahlonega
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

don't like the nozzle

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I don't like the nozzle you have to twist the green thing and pull down on the nozzle at the same time to open up the air way to pour your fuel, why can't I just have the old style just a cap. Also, it can and sometimes leaks around that area.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Easley, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Horrible! I bought this thing and immediately filled it with gas only to learn when I got home that the lock on the spout was defective. I cannot return it until I use the 2.5 gallons of gas I purchased. I have doubt they will refund my money after a month! Be afraid! Buy something different!
Cons: Not Durable
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

AWKWARD - MESSY

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Safety Mechanism on the Spout is this Products primary downfall. As most people, use of a small gas container is for small engines, which some require lubricating oils. The mechanism is awkward to use causing delivery of gasoline/oil to the tank of the engine to be messy. This requires additional time and inconvenience to clean if you properly maintain your equipment. Otherwise, let that fuel/oil spill all over your machine. It will get all greasy fast. I recommend that you purchase a better product with a better spout instead.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Austintown, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks.

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the lowest review I have ever given here on the Home Depot page, but the gas can is not that great. As a Health and Safety Engineer, I get the whole safety spout thing, but this one leaks and is hard to use. First off, the can is just hard to use. I noticed that not only do you have to twist the safety valve to the unlock position, but you have to pull up on it as well. This makes it very hard to keep the can steady while trying to fill up a small motor that takes little gas. secondly, it leaks. The safety release (the reason you probably bought this can) is its biggest flaw. I would not recommend this can.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, Leaks
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

Do not buy!

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst gas can I've ever bought. I have used three of them and on each one the cap/spout broke and then didn't allow fuel to come out! Not to mention it's very difficult to use. Will be returning to the store. Home depot needs to stop selling these!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Bothell, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wish I had read these reviews!

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I had done my research online before buying this at the store. This product is awful. The spring inside the nozzle broke within 2 weeks of purchase... Don't waste your time.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from St Paul, MN

Junk

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
The nozzle is hard to use and once you get it open it leaks gas anyway.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Leaks
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Bremerton, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good buy

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After learning how to use this gas can, I love the feature where it doesn't drip all over when filling my lawn mower. Was a wee-bit tricky for this older woman to figure out, but it's been easy and great to use since.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

What were they thinking

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This container holds gas great but pouring is a different story. I spilled as much gas on me and the ground as I poured in the mower. The spout is useless. I'm planning a dramatic end for this container, which it deserves.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

Gas Can

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not good. Spills fuel all the time. Don't waste your money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrible...

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Gas can is a total piece of junk. In a emergency situation, where my wife and child were stranded, a half of a water bottle made a better funnel than this thing did. The one I had never dispensed gasoline. I will be returning this and not purchasing another. Total waste of time. Do not rely on this piece of junk.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Huntington,NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

more instructions needed

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The instructions that came with the can were inadequate to understand how it worked.I had to return to
the store where an employee explained how to use it. Now, I am happy with the can.
Cons: Difficult to Use, inadequate instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from nyc, ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrible design

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst gas can I have ever owned. A Rube Goldberg designed spout. If you need to pour gas in a snow blower or lawn mower this is definitely not the can you want. Save your money.
Pros: no pros
Cons: Difficult to Use, poor spout design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Boston, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Spills everywhere

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this gas can a little over a year ago and find that gas spills from the round lock collar every time I go to my lawnmower or snowblower. The only time it doesn't spill out is if the can is only 1/4 full.
Save your money and buy something else.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Vestal, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

drip free gas can--far from it

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I confess I have yet to find one of the new "drip free" gas cans to be that, and this one spills more than any old style can ever did. Between having to shove it down hard for gas to flow--makes it easy to stop then doesn't it?--and it dribbling out so slow you can't hear any change in sound as the tank fills, it is pretty much a given that you are spilling gas every where when the tank you are filling over flows. How I wish I had saved every old gas can I ever saw when I helped clean out a friends garage about 10 years back.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Athens, Greece
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Unbelievably great gas can

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This gas can... oh my... it causes the emotion to well up within me... I can hardly see with the tears that are flooding my eyes.
I went to the home depot, looking for an ordinary gas can, and what I found was something remarkable. The way it quietly contains the gasoline, or the precision with which it dispenses it... it's almost as though I don't even have to hold it, it just knows what to do.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Cleveland, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Smart fill is too smart for me

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
An intuitive function has become an unachievable task. I purchased two online and I can't get them back to the store fast enough. Don't waste your time, money or sanity.
Cons: Difficult to Use, No Instructions
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>