728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Replacement Engines & Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can

2+ gal. Gas Can

The Smart-Fill Fuel Filling System is a safe and easy to use portable plastic fuel container. It is designed for easy and safe operation. It meets all applicable requirements for both child resistance and senior adult friendly as enforced by the Consumer Product Safety Council.
Overall rating:
2.047 / 5
2.0
 / 
5
(149 reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
26%of customersrecommend this product37 of 144reviews
Rating Breakdown 149 reviews
2.0 out of 5
5
(17)
4
(14)
3
(17)
2
(12)
1
(89)
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.7 out of 5
1.7 out of 5
Value 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
26%of customersrecommend this product37 of 144reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Review 1 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bad. NO! WHY!?!?!?!?

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot, do you like your customers? Then stop selling this gas can that does not pour gas.
Do you like pouring gasoline out of a container into your power tools? Yes you say? That's why you're buying a gas can? Then buy a different gas can. Not this one. At least not with this ANTI-POUR spout.
I bought a second one b/c I was sure what I had the first time was defective, and I then physically destroyed it trying to get it to work. NOPE, it is designed to fail.
This gas can is a failure.
Well technically the container does contain the gas, but the spout doesn't pour.
Did I mention that you should not buy this? Just Don't.
I can't even ...
Pros: contains gas
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, Not Durable, fails to pour the gas, breaks easily, wastes time and effort, i don't like it
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Roscoe, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hate it!

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is supposed to have an on-off valve in the spout but it does not work. The tab moves into the flow and no-flow positions but the gas won't flow through. The first time I use it I ended up throwing the spout aside and pouring gas directly out of the can into my mower. That was fun! If I had looked at this stupid design more closely I would never have bought it. Now I use the plain spout off an older can which happens to fit this one but the spout that came with this one is useless. Kind of defeats the intended purpose of containing gas leakage to have to move my older spout back and forth between cans. This is the only brand my Home Depot sells so I will look elsewhere and throw this one away when I can get a decent one.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Atlanta, ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst design ever.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The release mechanism is very strong. I had to disassemble the spout for my application. It takes two hands to compress the spring, leaving one no way to hold on to a less than both feet on the ground position. Anyone dumb enough to need all of this protection should be restricted from using flammable fluids. I'm taking mine back (at least the pieces I still have), for a refund. My application requires me to stand on a piece of equipment, and extend the can toward the filler cap. Impossible with this design. One star rating is only because there was no zero choice.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Lansing, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Gas Can

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The spout stared out being very difficult to pour gas from, and now I have to remove it from the can and pour it through a funnel.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Boston, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Good

PostedApril 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wish I read these reviews before I bought this. Brought it home and couldn't get the gas to pour either. Tried everything. Thought I was doing something wrong. Clearly I was not..
Defect Defect Defect
Don't waste your money.
Does anyone know if Home Deport will give you your money back even though it has been filled with gas?
Cons: won't pour
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from West Bloomfield Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good luck figuring out how to open the pour nozzle

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's a gas can. It does what other gas cans do - it holds gas.
My chief complaint is the kludgey pour nozzle - it has some sort of anti-pour design that requires an advanced understanding of mechanical engineering to operate. They managed to take something as trivial as opening a nozzle to pour gas and turned it into a confusing and frustrating process.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

AWKWARD - MESSY

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Safety Mechanism on the Spout is this Products primary downfall. As most people, use of a small gas container is for small engines, which some require lubricating oils. The mechanism is awkward to use causing delivery of gasoline/oil to the tank of the engine to be messy. This requires additional time and inconvenience to clean if you properly maintain your equipment. Otherwise, let that fuel/oil spill all over your machine. It will get all greasy fast. I recommend that you purchase a better product with a better spout instead.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Bolingbrook, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Difficult to pour

PostedJune 11, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sturdy item but the safety feature on the cap and nozzle is hard to operate at the best of times and the lock on the plastic cap and the screw on part at the opening can tear your skin to pieces. Frustrating at times. I bought this for brand name recognition and am disappointed.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

DO NOT BUY! This is gas tank is a compete failure

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this gas tank in store I should have read the reviews. DO NOT BUY! The failure mechanism is within the spout. It has a mechanism that you twist to unlock or twist to lock however after first use it no longer unlocks. Look at the other reviews this is not an isolated incident. I use to for my lawn mower and didn't catch this until I needed my second refill by then it was too late to return. Now it's just an expensive regular gas tank that I need a separate funnel for. DO NOT BUY!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Maui Hawaii
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very poor design

PostedJune 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's just a very poor design. I bought two, one for a mower, another for a weed eater. Both of them leak on the equipment. And even if they didn't leak, operating the spout is difficult and requires two hands. No matter how hard I try to avoid it, I get fuel on myself.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Dahlonega
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

don't like the nozzle

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I don't like the nozzle you have to twist the green thing and pull down on the nozzle at the same time to open up the air way to pour your fuel, why can't I just have the old style just a cap. Also, it can and sometimes leaks around that area.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fair product

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Not too easy to figure how to use it, but if you use it right, it's helpful. Spring loaded valve may malfunction sometimes.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Sullivan County, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor spout design

PostedMay 29, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I cannot get the spout to pour without spilling, so I end up removing the funnel portion to pour or else gas goes everywhere. What was intended to be a non-spill feature keeps it from pouring correctly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Clifton Park
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reasonable and good quality product!

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The feature designed to prevent leak is good but the instruction about how to use or operate is not clear. Be sure to find the video from youtube and view before use. You will find actually it's quite simple and straight forward. Twist, place the hook then push to pour. Of course, to stop, just lift the gas can.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: no clear step by step instruction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Easley, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Horrible! I bought this thing and immediately filled it with gas only to learn when I got home that the lock on the spout was defective. I cannot return it until I use the 2.5 gallons of gas I purchased. I have doubt they will refund my money after a month! Be afraid! Buy something different!
Cons: Not Durable
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

Ugh, "Safety" features

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Pour control valve is awful to use, but easily removed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Product

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I poured gas on my mower and lawn trying to use this gas can. To engage the safety mech takes one hand, to pour takes another hand. Then the gas leaks out of the can... Simply put, this is a terribly designed product.
Pros: holds gas
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Roswell GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gas can

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am not the village idiot. Went to the station to fill with gas and was totally puzzled. I guy next to me at the station by chance bought the same item the previous day said he had the same problem and helped me set it up. Never thought I need an engineering degree to use a gas can. Dislike the the necessity to push the nozzle against the tank you are filling to release the gas into the tank. Also the seal to the container leaks even after multiple adjustments. Whatever happened to take the cap off and pour??????????
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Austintown, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks.

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the lowest review I have ever given here on the Home Depot page, but the gas can is not that great. As a Health and Safety Engineer, I get the whole safety spout thing, but this one leaks and is hard to use. First off, the can is just hard to use. I noticed that not only do you have to twist the safety valve to the unlock position, but you have to pull up on it as well. This makes it very hard to keep the can steady while trying to fill up a small motor that takes little gas. secondly, it leaks. The safety release (the reason you probably bought this can) is its biggest flaw. I would not recommend this can.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, Leaks
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from metairie, louisiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad Value Gas container

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Badly designed and will not last, the price tag of 15.00 is too expensive for the 2 gallon can. over time some of the small plastic parts will fail and are not replaceable. It is an example of reverse engineering. the rubber seal is lightweight and will also not last. all of these things make it a bad purchase and one that will need to be replaced sooner than it should be.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>