728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can

2+ gal. Gas Can

The Smart-Fill Fuel Filling System is a safe and easy to use portable plastic fuel container. It is designed for easy and safe operation. It meets all applicable requirements for both child resistance and senior adult friendly as enforced by the Consumer Product Safety Council.
Overall rating:
1.692 / 5
1.7
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
16%of customersrecommend this product8 of 51reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
1.7 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(4)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(37)
Features 
1.8 out of 5.0
1.8 out of 5
Quality 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.5 out of 5.0
1.5 out of 5
Value 
1.8 out of 5.0
1.8 out of 5
16%of customersrecommend this product8 of 51reviews
Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Review 1 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Cmill
from Austintown, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks.

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the lowest review I have ever given here on the Home Depot page, but the gas can is not that great. As a Health and Safety Engineer, I get the whole safety spout thing, but this one leaks and is hard to use. First off, the can is just hard to use. I noticed that not only do you have to twist the safety valve to the unlock position, but you have to pull up on it as well. This makes it very hard to keep the can steady while trying to fill up a small motor that takes little gas. secondly, it leaks. The safety release (the reason you probably bought this can) is its biggest flaw. I would not recommend this can.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Brian
from Boston
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good Gas Can to put in the Trash Can

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Realizing I should have read the reviews before buying it. Bought a great Toro snowblower recently and just grabbed this gas can automatically cause I needed it in the short term.
The safety mechanism really just causes a whole host of problems. Might take advice mentioned and try to find an ez pour spout. Or, one of those super siphons often used to fuel boats when you're dealing with larger and more unwieldy cans.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
rrjune
from Milwaukee, WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a leaker!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The spout design is horrible. Using this gas can is a two-handed operation and you are going to get gas on your hands or gloves. The spout leaked at the base where you tighten it, even though I made sure it was tight and everything was properly seated. Although I was able to figure out how to make it work, it is not straight-forward. (I haven't bought a gas can in 10 years) The good news is that I was able to get the gas smell out of my gloves. I returned it as being defective and I would not recommend it to anyone.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Milo

Difficult to use

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While understanding the purpose of the features of this gas can, it is difficult to use. Having to push on the nozzle to get the gas out is cumbersome and takes quite a bit to get used to. End up spilling more gas than with another type of can.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
ASK613

What were they thinking

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This container holds gas great but pouring is a different story. I spilled as much gas on me and the ground as I poured in the mower. The spout is useless. I'm planning a dramatic end for this container, which it deserves.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Jtrudel
from Deerfield Beach, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Second one that broke

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second one that has broken for me.
The gas flow spring breaks.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Rob44
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrible...

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Gas can is a total piece of junk. In a emergency situation, where my wife and child were stranded, a half of a water bottle made a better funnel than this thing did. The one I had never dispensed gasoline. I will be returning this and not purchasing another. Total waste of time. Do not rely on this piece of junk.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Brokedown

Don't bother

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The nozzle is very difficult to operate and you end up with more gas on you than in your tank...
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Dick
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great with modification

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Okay, so we all know that the well-intentioned people in Sacramento meant to stop fuel vapor pollution, but unfortunately none of them have ever used a lawn mower, so they don't understand that they have increased vapor pollution at least 100X. SO, what you need to do is add the EZ-Pour Spout you can get on-line for $9. It replaces the stupid "spill-proof" spout (that actually spills 1/2 the fuel onto the ground) with a simple spout that works beautifully and DOES NOT LEAK. I used to hate using these cans because I had to get gas all over me to use them. Now it is no problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Charlie

Useless and Terrible

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
All of the other reviews are spot on. This gas can is awful. The plastic nozzle mechanism has worked very poorly every time I have used it, and it warped and broke within half a dozen uses. Do not buy.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, No Instructions
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
MarkyMark
from Irving Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Yes, this one worked

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wish I had been smart enough to read a review before buying a gas can. This works if you do what it tells you to do. There is even a video on the internet to tell you how to use it. You are supposed to push down on the spout while it's in the gas tank, then turn the green knob, and it works as advertised. It leaked a little I think, and it came out quick. I tried to test it before I put gas in it. I could not get it to work in my hand. I don't get that. But it didn't. I wish I would have tried it the way it told you to do it with my one gallon can. After trying it, I gutted the spout, and sealed it back together with gasket seal. Not an easy task. I may have damaged it trying to force it the way I wanted it to work. There is an internal spring, that I may have dislodged. Before I would ever buy another one of these cans, I would test it out (dry) on a mower gas tank. You can order external vents and old style spouts on the internet. But they are not cheap with shipping. More then the gas can cost.
Cons: Difficult to Use, test before you buy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
skiouting
from Cleveland, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Smart fill is too smart for me

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
An intuitive function has become an unachievable task. I purchased two online and I can't get them back to the store fast enough. Don't waste your time, money or sanity.
Cons: Difficult to Use, No Instructions
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
MuffinMan
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Defective

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't like any of the new style gas cans but I am resigned to the fact that regulations dictate what stores are able to sell. However the can I bought was defective as it leaked out of the cap screw area when I inverted the can. I wound up with gasoline all over my garage floor. I returned it to the store and purchased a different brand in another store.
Cons: leaked
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
lettuceman
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of Junk

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This can is a total piece of junk. After having gas in this can for less than one month, the nozzle doesn't work. The safety lock(the green sleeve) only turns with extreme force, the nozzle barely moves to dispence gas. We had to remove the nozzle and use a funnel to fill the mower. Buyer beware.
Cons: nozzle is usless.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Steve
from Telford, PA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Go back to the old nozel

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I understand the "safety" concept since that works - of course you can't get gas out of the can. I have two of these 2 1/2 gal. tanks and the first nozel broke the first time I tried to use it. The second one works with a whole lot of time and patience, not convenient at all.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
b1LL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big Red Can

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is Big, It is Red, and it is Plastic. Perfect storm solution for storing gas around the house; garage, bedroom, kitchen, etc. A Must Have Product!!
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, it is red, it is big
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Duong0904
from Paramus, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

leaks

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It leaks on the closing cap, tried so tight and haven't used it until the snow day. But cannot return because it passed the return date.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Rolf
from Williamsburg, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Am returning this piece of junk

PostedMay 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One of the worst products I have ever bought. Product leaks and is almost impossible to use. Safety mechanism failed after three uses. Am returning for a refund.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, Leaks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
PartyBargCapt

It's a gas can. It holds gas.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It doesn't leak.
I hate the nozzle.
Would be nice if they made one you could smoke around.
Pros: Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
panino
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

NOT

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
VERY HARD 2 OPEN SAFETY FEATURE would not recomend 2 any 1 2 buy
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>