728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Replacement Engines & Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can

2+ gal. Gas Can

The Smart-Fill Fuel Filling System is a safe and easy to use portable plastic fuel container. It is designed for easy and safe operation. It meets all applicable requirements for both child resistance and senior adult friendly as enforced by the Consumer Product Safety Council.
Overall rating:
2.046 / 5
2.0
 / 
5
(129 reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
26%of customersrecommend this product33 of 125reviews
Rating Breakdown 129 reviews
2.0 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(12)
3
(15)
2
(9)
1
(78)
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.7 out of 5
1.7 out of 5
Value 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
26%of customersrecommend this product33 of 125reviews
Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Review 1 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bad. NO! WHY!?!?!?!?

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot, do you like your customers? Then stop selling this gas can that does not pour gas.
Do you like pouring gasoline out of a container into your power tools? Yes you say? That's why you're buying a gas can? Then buy a different gas can. Not this one. At least not with this ANTI-POUR spout.
I bought a second one b/c I was sure what I had the first time was defective, and I then physically destroyed it trying to get it to work. NOPE, it is designed to fail.
This gas can is a failure.
Well technically the container does contain the gas, but the spout doesn't pour.
Did I mention that you should not buy this? Just Don't.
I can't even ...
Pros: contains gas
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, Not Durable, fails to pour the gas, breaks easily, wastes time and effort, i don't like it
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Atlanta, ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst design ever.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The release mechanism is very strong. I had to disassemble the spout for my application. It takes two hands to compress the spring, leaving one no way to hold on to a less than both feet on the ground position. Anyone dumb enough to need all of this protection should be restricted from using flammable fluids. I'm taking mine back (at least the pieces I still have), for a refund. My application requires me to stand on a piece of equipment, and extend the can toward the filler cap. Impossible with this design. One star rating is only because there was no zero choice.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from West Bloomfield Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good luck figuring out how to open the pour nozzle

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's a gas can. It does what other gas cans do - it holds gas.
My chief complaint is the kludgey pour nozzle - it has some sort of anti-pour design that requires an advanced understanding of mechanical engineering to operate. They managed to take something as trivial as opening a nozzle to pour gas and turned it into a confusing and frustrating process.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Boston, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Good

PostedApril 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wish I read these reviews before I bought this. Brought it home and couldn't get the gas to pour either. Tried everything. Thought I was doing something wrong. Clearly I was not..
Defect Defect Defect
Don't waste your money.
Does anyone know if Home Deport will give you your money back even though it has been filled with gas?
Cons: won't pour
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Dahlonega
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

don't like the nozzle

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I don't like the nozzle you have to twist the green thing and pull down on the nozzle at the same time to open up the air way to pour your fuel, why can't I just have the old style just a cap. Also, it can and sometimes leaks around that area.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Downingtown Pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Gas Can

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The gas can leaks. The engineers over engineered this can. I understand all cans have prevent the escape of gas fumes but the spout has too many parts which do not seal correctly when the can is tipped in the pouring position. The over engineered spout leaks gas where the spout connects to the can as well as where the spout splits to allow the gas to flow out of the can. From the spot on my driveway, it looks like more gas made it to my driveway than into my lawnmower. I would not recommend this gas can.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: leaks gas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Easley, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Horrible! I bought this thing and immediately filled it with gas only to learn when I got home that the lock on the spout was defective. I cannot return it until I use the 2.5 gallons of gas I purchased. I have doubt they will refund my money after a month! Be afraid! Buy something different!
Cons: Not Durable
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Austintown, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks.

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the lowest review I have ever given here on the Home Depot page, but the gas can is not that great. As a Health and Safety Engineer, I get the whole safety spout thing, but this one leaks and is hard to use. First off, the can is just hard to use. I noticed that not only do you have to twist the safety valve to the unlock position, but you have to pull up on it as well. This makes it very hard to keep the can steady while trying to fill up a small motor that takes little gas. secondly, it leaks. The safety release (the reason you probably bought this can) is its biggest flaw. I would not recommend this can.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, Leaks
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from long island, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Can works well and I did not have any issues spilling fuel. User must twist the green collar in order to open the spout to pour so fueling the lawn mower is a two hand operation but not difficult.
Warning before you use the can - make sure you remove the green plug on the inside of cap or you won't be able to open the spout.
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks Everywhere

PostedMay 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The "spill prevention"/"child-safety" makes this difficult to use and leaks about 1/5th of the gas from the spout.
Pros: makes spilling gas easy
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

POOR DESIGN

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pour spout is almost impossible to use. I simple have to pour directly from the can. Would not have purchased, but could not find alternative at a reasonable price.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

AWKWARD - MESSY

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Safety Mechanism on the Spout is this Products primary downfall. As most people, use of a small gas container is for small engines, which some require lubricating oils. The mechanism is awkward to use causing delivery of gasoline/oil to the tank of the engine to be messy. This requires additional time and inconvenience to clean if you properly maintain your equipment. Otherwise, let that fuel/oil spill all over your machine. It will get all greasy fast. I recommend that you purchase a better product with a better spout instead.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Winder, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

maybe it was a defect...

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The container is great for holding the gas, but the spout leaks every time I pour...I took it off and make sure the gasket was seated properly and it was. Maybe I just got a bad one.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Burr Ridge
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worst Purchase ever!!!

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not easy to unlock very bad product to use the worst I ever bought!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

What were they thinking

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This container holds gas great but pouring is a different story. I spilled as much gas on me and the ground as I poured in the mower. The spout is useless. I'm planning a dramatic end for this container, which it deserves.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from St Paul, MN

Junk

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
The nozzle is hard to use and once you get it open it leaks gas anyway.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Leaks
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrible...

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Gas can is a total piece of junk. In a emergency situation, where my wife and child were stranded, a half of a water bottle made a better funnel than this thing did. The one I had never dispensed gasoline. I will be returning this and not purchasing another. Total waste of time. Do not rely on this piece of junk.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

Do not buy!

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst gas can I've ever bought. I have used three of them and on each one the cap/spout broke and then didn't allow fuel to come out! Not to mention it's very difficult to use. Will be returning to the store. Home depot needs to stop selling these!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Bothell, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wish I had read these reviews!

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I had done my research online before buying this at the store. This product is awful. The spring inside the nozzle broke within 2 weeks of purchase... Don't waste your time.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Bremerton, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good buy

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After learning how to use this gas can, I love the feature where it doesn't drip all over when filling my lawn mower. Was a wee-bit tricky for this older woman to figure out, but it's been easy and great to use since.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>