728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can

2+ gal. Gas Can

The Smart-Fill Fuel Filling System is a safe and easy to use portable plastic fuel container. It is designed for easy and safe operation. It meets all applicable requirements for both child resistance and senior adult friendly as enforced by the Consumer Product Safety Council.
Overall rating:
2.061 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(114 reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
27%of customersrecommend this product30 of 110reviews
Rating Breakdown 114 reviews
2.1 out of 5
5
(14)
4
(10)
3
(14)
2
(7)
1
(69)
Features 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
Quality 
2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.7 out of 5
1.7 out of 5
Value 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
27%of customersrecommend this product30 of 110reviews
Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Review 1 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bad. NO! WHY!?!?!?!?

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot, do you like your customers? Then stop selling this gas can that does not pour gas.
Do you like pouring gasoline out of a container into your power tools? Yes you say? That's why you're buying a gas can? Then buy a different gas can. Not this one. At least not with this ANTI-POUR spout.
I bought a second one b/c I was sure what I had the first time was defective, and I then physically destroyed it trying to get it to work. NOPE, it is designed to fail.
This gas can is a failure.
Well technically the container does contain the gas, but the spout doesn't pour.
Did I mention that you should not buy this? Just Don't.
I can't even ...
Pros: contains gas
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, Not Durable, fails to pour the gas, breaks easily, wastes time and effort, i don't like it
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Atlanta, ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst design ever.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The release mechanism is very strong. I had to disassemble the spout for my application. It takes two hands to compress the spring, leaving one no way to hold on to a less than both feet on the ground position. Anyone dumb enough to need all of this protection should be restricted from using flammable fluids. I'm taking mine back (at least the pieces I still have), for a refund. My application requires me to stand on a piece of equipment, and extend the can toward the filler cap. Impossible with this design. One star rating is only because there was no zero choice.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from West Bloomfield Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good luck figuring out how to open the pour nozzle

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's a gas can. It does what other gas cans do - it holds gas.
My chief complaint is the kludgey pour nozzle - it has some sort of anti-pour design that requires an advanced understanding of mechanical engineering to operate. They managed to take something as trivial as opening a nozzle to pour gas and turned it into a confusing and frustrating process.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Dahlonega
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

don't like the nozzle

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I don't like the nozzle you have to twist the green thing and pull down on the nozzle at the same time to open up the air way to pour your fuel, why can't I just have the old style just a cap. Also, it can and sometimes leaks around that area.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Easley, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Horrible! I bought this thing and immediately filled it with gas only to learn when I got home that the lock on the spout was defective. I cannot return it until I use the 2.5 gallons of gas I purchased. I have doubt they will refund my money after a month! Be afraid! Buy something different!
Cons: Not Durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Austintown, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks.

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the lowest review I have ever given here on the Home Depot page, but the gas can is not that great. As a Health and Safety Engineer, I get the whole safety spout thing, but this one leaks and is hard to use. First off, the can is just hard to use. I noticed that not only do you have to twist the safety valve to the unlock position, but you have to pull up on it as well. This makes it very hard to keep the can steady while trying to fill up a small motor that takes little gas. secondly, it leaks. The safety release (the reason you probably bought this can) is its biggest flaw. I would not recommend this can.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, Leaks
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from St Paul, MN

Junk

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
The nozzle is hard to use and once you get it open it leaks gas anyway.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Leaks
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Athens, Greece
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Unbelievably great gas can

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This gas can... oh my... it causes the emotion to well up within me... I can hardly see with the tears that are flooding my eyes.
I went to the home depot, looking for an ordinary gas can, and what I found was something remarkable. The way it quietly contains the gasoline, or the precision with which it dispenses it... it's almost as though I don't even have to hold it, it just knows what to do.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

NaperReview

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great!!! Simple, no spills quality product. Other brands with similar nozzle designs felt cheap. Recommend this product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

What were they thinking

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This container holds gas great but pouring is a different story. I spilled as much gas on me and the ground as I poured in the mower. The spout is useless. I'm planning a dramatic end for this container, which it deserves.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrible...

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Gas can is a total piece of junk. In a emergency situation, where my wife and child were stranded, a half of a water bottle made a better funnel than this thing did. The one I had never dispensed gasoline. I will be returning this and not purchasing another. Total waste of time. Do not rely on this piece of junk.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Vestal, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

drip free gas can--far from it

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I confess I have yet to find one of the new "drip free" gas cans to be that, and this one spills more than any old style can ever did. Between having to shove it down hard for gas to flow--makes it easy to stop then doesn't it?--and it dribbling out so slow you can't hear any change in sound as the tank fills, it is pretty much a given that you are spilling gas every where when the tank you are filling over flows. How I wish I had saved every old gas can I ever saw when I helped clean out a friends garage about 10 years back.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from athens ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

get the job done

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this can works good for safty but It has one issue. when you go to fill it up the piece designed do keep the spout on is difficult to open and if you are older you might not be able to get it open. this is the only flaw I could find
Pros: Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

New nozzles stink

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very hard to use on small tools such as weed eater or blower. The nozzles are not user friendly, wish we could go back to the old fashion flex nozzles without the auto shut off.
Pros: small light weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Bothell, Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as good as I expected

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The spill safe feature doesn't work as intended and it spilled gas while filling the lawn mower.
Not only that it's impossible to fill any lawn equipment that are not heavy. Pushing the spout against the opening would tip the equipment over. I had to push back the nozzle by hand to keep it open to fill small equipments and this defeats the whole purpose of having spill proof nozzle.
I sure would like to have the old style cans with flexible spouts that I can easily bend around.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolute Piece o' Junk!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Couldn't get the darn thing to work! Threw it away..
Pros: none
Cons: Difficult to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

Gas Can

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Decent product however we had to fiddle with the spring released spout to make it work. There was something wrong with grooves that did not allow the locking mechanism to open fully.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Cleveland, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Smart fill is too smart for me

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
An intuitive function has become an unachievable task. I purchased two online and I can't get them back to the store fast enough. Don't waste your time, money or sanity.
Cons: Difficult to Use, No Instructions
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of Junk

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This can is a total piece of junk. After having gas in this can for less than one month, the nozzle doesn't work. The safety lock(the green sleeve) only turns with extreme force, the nozzle barely moves to dispence gas. We had to remove the nozzle and use a funnel to fill the mower. Buyer beware.
Cons: nozzle is usless.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Boston
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good Gas Can to put in the Trash Can

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Realizing I should have read the reviews before buying it. Bought a great Toro snowblower recently and just grabbed this gas can automatically cause I needed it in the short term.
The safety mechanism really just causes a whole host of problems. Might take advice mentioned and try to find an ez pour spout. Or, one of those super siphons often used to fuel boats when you're dealing with larger and more unwieldy cans.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>