728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can

2+ gal. Gas Can

The Smart-Fill Fuel Filling System is a safe and easy to use portable plastic fuel container. It is designed for easy and safe operation. It meets all applicable requirements for both child resistance and senior adult friendly as enforced by the Consumer Product Safety Council.
Overall rating:
1.933 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(90 reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
23%of customersrecommend this product20 of 87reviews
Rating Breakdown 90 reviews
1.9 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(9)
3
(10)
2
(5)
1
(58)
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.6 out of 5.0
1.6 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
23%of customersrecommend this product20 of 87reviews
Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Review 1 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from West Bloomfield Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good luck figuring out how to open the pour nozzle

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's a gas can. It does what other gas cans do - it holds gas.
My chief complaint is the kludgey pour nozzle - it has some sort of anti-pour design that requires an advanced understanding of mechanical engineering to operate. They managed to take something as trivial as opening a nozzle to pour gas and turned it into a confusing and frustrating process.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Easley, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Horrible! I bought this thing and immediately filled it with gas only to learn when I got home that the lock on the spout was defective. I cannot return it until I use the 2.5 gallons of gas I purchased. I have doubt they will refund my money after a month! Be afraid! Buy something different!
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Austintown, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks.

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the lowest review I have ever given here on the Home Depot page, but the gas can is not that great. As a Health and Safety Engineer, I get the whole safety spout thing, but this one leaks and is hard to use. First off, the can is just hard to use. I noticed that not only do you have to twist the safety valve to the unlock position, but you have to pull up on it as well. This makes it very hard to keep the can steady while trying to fill up a small motor that takes little gas. secondly, it leaks. The safety release (the reason you probably bought this can) is its biggest flaw. I would not recommend this can.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, Leaks
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Vestal, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

drip free gas can--far from it

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I confess I have yet to find one of the new "drip free" gas cans to be that, and this one spills more than any old style can ever did. Between having to shove it down hard for gas to flow--makes it easy to stop then doesn't it?--and it dribbling out so slow you can't hear any change in sound as the tank fills, it is pretty much a given that you are spilling gas every where when the tank you are filling over flows. How I wish I had saved every old gas can I ever saw when I helped clean out a friends garage about 10 years back.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolute Piece o' Junk!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Couldn't get the darn thing to work! Threw it away..
Pros: none
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Westmont, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not the best

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The instructions for use are not easy to read and when using the gas discharges so fast that it is hard to control and spillage occurs.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Store
Cons: not easy to control
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Reading, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst gas can ever

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Why make something so simple, to much trouble. Dont think you need a Masters Degree to figure out how to unlock this Spill proof spout. And like others, purchased the gas can and went out and filled it up. Once filled with gas, you cant return it. Such a epic fail.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Olney, Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awefull gas can

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The kind of mechanism to let the gas flow is very hard to use and I quit using the flow mechanism and I started using a funnel . Unscrew the whole top piece and get a small funnel or buy a different type .
Pros: none
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worst purchase ever

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i tried and tried to get it to work finally had my girl friend try it she gave up.
Pros: terible
Cons: wont work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Boston
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good Gas Can to put in the Trash Can

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Realizing I should have read the reviews before buying it. Bought a great Toro snowblower recently and just grabbed this gas can automatically cause I needed it in the short term.
The safety mechanism really just causes a whole host of problems. Might take advice mentioned and try to find an ez pour spout. Or, one of those super siphons often used to fuel boats when you're dealing with larger and more unwieldy cans.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Fuquay Varina NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not happy

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The nozzle broke after one use.Will be returning it as soon as possible. The concept was good the finished product not so much.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

What were they thinking

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This container holds gas great but pouring is a different story. I spilled as much gas on me and the ground as I poured in the mower. The spout is useless. I'm planning a dramatic end for this container, which it deserves.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Difficult to Use; broke the first time I tried to "unlock"

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I understand safety features are necessary on certain products, such as, a gas can; however, this product is what I like to call "junk." I followed the instructions for setting up the "lock" type pour spout. I reviewed the instructions numerous times to determine how to "unlock" the pour spot so that the gas would pour out. First attempt, the threaded area leaked. Second attempt, tightened the threads, no leak, but also no gas. Pushed, twisted the locking mechanism with no luck. Now I was angry, so the third attempt happened a day later. Reread the instructions, twisted to "unlock" still no gas. Twisted again and a spring fell out. Took off the pour spot, used a funnel and put gas into my mower. Returned to the store for full refund.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, poorly made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrible...

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Gas can is a total piece of junk. In a emergency situation, where my wife and child were stranded, a half of a water bottle made a better funnel than this thing did. The one I had never dispensed gasoline. I will be returning this and not purchasing another. Total waste of time. Do not rely on this piece of junk.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Greer, SC

Look for another can...

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Maybe it's user error but I ended up breaking the spring when trying to release the safety lock the first time I used it. Not bothering to return, just unscrew the cap and pour. Will not purchase another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

gas c can

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't like the lock function on the can.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Viisalia, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Home Depot Has No Business Selling this Product

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Where do I start? The safety clip is very hard to turn so have a Phillips screwdriver handy. The sealing gasket rests on the thin rim of the container opening and slips around, so don't wear good shoes or pants while pouring -- you're going to get plenty on you. The safety lock (to stop accidental pours when nozzle is in place) is EXTREMELY cheap and doesn't work -- either preventing pouring when you want it or remaining open when you don't. This can fails to hold vapors, and on a warm day your garage will reek. The spout angle doesn't allow you to pour all the gas out into a typical car gas tank, so if you don't want to store gas, plan on pouring out the roughly 1/4 gallon leftover somewhere safe. I could go on but simply said this is a rip-off.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Decatur, Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2+ Gal. Gas Can

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The design of the can is confusing to use. However, it is a good. product.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Limerick, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Spout spring came out on both gas containers.

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two 5 gallon gas containers almost two years ago, and should have read the reviews before spending my money on these. Though I never had a problem with gas leaking, there was a recent problem with the locking mechanism on the sprout. Two weeks ago the tiny springs inside both locking caps suddenly popped out rendering them useless now. I'm guessing the manufacturer had known about this flaw because I saw replacement spouts online selling for about $5 each. I haven't checked them out yet to see if they'll fit my gas containers or not.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Cleveland, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Smart fill is too smart for me

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
An intuitive function has become an unachievable task. I purchased two online and I can't get them back to the store fast enough. Don't waste your time, money or sanity.
Cons: Difficult to Use, No Instructions
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>