728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can

2+ gal. Gas Can

The Smart-Fill Fuel Filling System is a safe and easy to use portable plastic fuel container. It is designed for easy and safe operation. It meets all applicable requirements for both child resistance and senior adult friendly as enforced by the Consumer Product Safety Council.
Overall rating:
2.009 / 5
2.0
 / 
5
(110 reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
25%of customersrecommend this product27 of 106reviews
Rating Breakdown 110 reviews
2.0 out of 5
5
(12)
4
(10)
3
(13)
2
(7)
1
(68)
Features 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
Quality 
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.6 out of 5
1.6 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
25%of customersrecommend this product27 of 106reviews
Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Review 1 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bad. NO! WHY!?!?!?!?

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot, do you like your customers? Then stop selling this gas can that does not pour gas.
Do you like pouring gasoline out of a container into your power tools? Yes you say? That's why you're buying a gas can? Then buy a different gas can. Not this one. At least not with this ANTI-POUR spout.
I bought a second one b/c I was sure what I had the first time was defective, and I then physically destroyed it trying to get it to work. NOPE, it is designed to fail.
This gas can is a failure.
Well technically the container does contain the gas, but the spout doesn't pour.
Did I mention that you should not buy this? Just Don't.
I can't even ...
Pros: contains gas
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, Not Durable, fails to pour the gas, breaks easily, wastes time and effort, i don't like it
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Atlanta, ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst design ever.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The release mechanism is very strong. I had to disassemble the spout for my application. It takes two hands to compress the spring, leaving one no way to hold on to a less than both feet on the ground position. Anyone dumb enough to need all of this protection should be restricted from using flammable fluids. I'm taking mine back (at least the pieces I still have), for a refund. My application requires me to stand on a piece of equipment, and extend the can toward the filler cap. Impossible with this design. One star rating is only because there was no zero choice.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Dahlonega
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

don't like the nozzle

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I don't like the nozzle you have to twist the green thing and pull down on the nozzle at the same time to open up the air way to pour your fuel, why can't I just have the old style just a cap. Also, it can and sometimes leaks around that area.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from West Bloomfield Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good luck figuring out how to open the pour nozzle

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's a gas can. It does what other gas cans do - it holds gas.
My chief complaint is the kludgey pour nozzle - it has some sort of anti-pour design that requires an advanced understanding of mechanical engineering to operate. They managed to take something as trivial as opening a nozzle to pour gas and turned it into a confusing and frustrating process.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Easley, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Horrible! I bought this thing and immediately filled it with gas only to learn when I got home that the lock on the spout was defective. I cannot return it until I use the 2.5 gallons of gas I purchased. I have doubt they will refund my money after a month! Be afraid! Buy something different!
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Austintown, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks.

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the lowest review I have ever given here on the Home Depot page, but the gas can is not that great. As a Health and Safety Engineer, I get the whole safety spout thing, but this one leaks and is hard to use. First off, the can is just hard to use. I noticed that not only do you have to twist the safety valve to the unlock position, but you have to pull up on it as well. This makes it very hard to keep the can steady while trying to fill up a small motor that takes little gas. secondly, it leaks. The safety release (the reason you probably bought this can) is its biggest flaw. I would not recommend this can.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, Leaks
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from St Paul, MN

Junk

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
The nozzle is hard to use and once you get it open it leaks gas anyway.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Bothell, Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as good as I expected

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The spill safe feature doesn't work as intended and it spilled gas while filling the lawn mower.
Not only that it's impossible to fill any lawn equipment that are not heavy. Pushing the spout against the opening would tip the equipment over. I had to push back the nozzle by hand to keep it open to fill small equipments and this defeats the whole purpose of having spill proof nozzle.
I sure would like to have the old style cans with flexible spouts that I can easily bend around.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Vestal, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

drip free gas can--far from it

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I confess I have yet to find one of the new "drip free" gas cans to be that, and this one spills more than any old style can ever did. Between having to shove it down hard for gas to flow--makes it easy to stop then doesn't it?--and it dribbling out so slow you can't hear any change in sound as the tank fills, it is pretty much a given that you are spilling gas every where when the tank you are filling over flows. How I wish I had saved every old gas can I ever saw when I helped clean out a friends garage about 10 years back.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

What were they thinking

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This container holds gas great but pouring is a different story. I spilled as much gas on me and the ground as I poured in the mower. The spout is useless. I'm planning a dramatic end for this container, which it deserves.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

Gas Can

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Decent product however we had to fiddle with the spring released spout to make it work. There was something wrong with grooves that did not allow the locking mechanism to open fully.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrible...

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Gas can is a total piece of junk. In a emergency situation, where my wife and child were stranded, a half of a water bottle made a better funnel than this thing did. The one I had never dispensed gasoline. I will be returning this and not purchasing another. Total waste of time. Do not rely on this piece of junk.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

Tricky

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Spout is very difficult to operate. Haven't been able to figure out how to keep it open without holding it. Bad engineering or insufficient instructions. Not sure which.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Messy! Wish I could just buy a gas can without the child-proofing that causes it to perform miserably!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The goal of the new gas can rules seem to be to prevent excess evaporation. Well, they fail. The reason is that the new systems required are so complicted that I end up spilling gas all over my mower and gloves trying to get the stupid thing to work! Never had that problem before. Wish they'd just trust me to poor and properly cap my can myself!
As I bemoanded to the clerk that I cannot buy a simple can any more (I'd even be happy with my last model that required me to pull a lever which provided the protection needed but was simple to use - I'm not against preventing evaporation, but why can't it be simple!), they commented "you need a degree in engineering to use them any more".
What's sad is I do have a degree in engineering and I had a hard timing figuring it out! All the other brands at other stores seem just as complex, so I have to assume it due to rules they have to follow. So sad, it could be simple and useful at the same time, but some non-engineer created a bunch of "rules". Sadder to say, I don't think there are any other gas cans around that avoid this issue, so while this one is poor, so are all the rest at all the stores I've checked.
What I really wish I could do is complain to the bureaucrat to made the rules, since it's not the problem HD nor the manufacturer, I think. Although if the rules allow a different mehtod of evalporatoin, istead of yhaving to "push" the spout to release the gas, then please re-design this (all the cans I looked at, however, seem to use this design). Sigh....
Cons: Difficult to Use, makes a mess
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Minot, North Dakota
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As advertised

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
2 gallon gas can. Holds 2 gallons of gas. Good quality red can.
Pros: Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

2+ Gal. Gas Can

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doesn't vent for an easy pour. The spout doesn't work.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from taunton, massachusetts. 02780
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worst gas can i ever bought

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
just got one at home depot,,,, so hard to open and close gas all over me, what a mess,, save your money
Pros: junk, save your money
Cons: Difficult to Use, No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolute Piece o' Junk!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Couldn't get the darn thing to work! Threw it away..
Pros: none
Cons: Difficult to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from east hartland, ct
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

gas can

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was very hard to figure out how to use the opening feature. Suppose to make it safe but it was a pain. I broke off the piece on end so I could just pour. Thought it would work without piece but you have to grab the end and pull back to get it to work. Its okay!
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Hugo, MN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a gas can

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What can I say, it's a gas can. Works well. I have had a couple of other ones but you notice the quality when it comes to the nozzle and how well it stays tightened and doesn't leak. I haven't had any leaking problems with this one.
Pros: Light Weight, Long-Lasting
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>