728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can

2+ gal. Gas Can

The Smart-Fill Fuel Filling System is a safe and easy to use portable plastic fuel container. It is designed for easy and safe operation. It meets all applicable requirements for both child resistance and senior adult friendly as enforced by the Consumer Product Safety Council.
Overall rating:
1.921 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
23%of customersrecommend this product17 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
1.9 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(7)
3
(8)
2
(5)
1
(49)
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.6 out of 5.0
1.6 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
23%of customersrecommend this product17 of 74reviews
Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Review 1 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from West Bloomfield Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good luck figuring out how to open the pour nozzle

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's a gas can. It does what other gas cans do - it holds gas.
My chief complaint is the kludgey pour nozzle - it has some sort of anti-pour design that requires an advanced understanding of mechanical engineering to operate. They managed to take something as trivial as opening a nozzle to pour gas and turned it into a confusing and frustrating process.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Vestal, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

drip free gas can--far from it

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I confess I have yet to find one of the new "drip free" gas cans to be that, and this one spills more than any old style can ever did. Between having to shove it down hard for gas to flow--makes it easy to stop then doesn't it?--and it dribbling out so slow you can't hear any change in sound as the tank fills, it is pretty much a given that you are spilling gas every where when the tank you are filling over flows. How I wish I had saved every old gas can I ever saw when I helped clean out a friends garage about 10 years back.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Easley, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Horrible! I bought this thing and immediately filled it with gas only to learn when I got home that the lock on the spout was defective. I cannot return it until I use the 2.5 gallons of gas I purchased. I have doubt they will refund my money after a month! Be afraid! Buy something different!
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolute Piece o' Junk!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Couldn't get the darn thing to work! Threw it away..
Pros: none
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Austintown, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks.

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the lowest review I have ever given here on the Home Depot page, but the gas can is not that great. As a Health and Safety Engineer, I get the whole safety spout thing, but this one leaks and is hard to use. First off, the can is just hard to use. I noticed that not only do you have to twist the safety valve to the unlock position, but you have to pull up on it as well. This makes it very hard to keep the can steady while trying to fill up a small motor that takes little gas. secondly, it leaks. The safety release (the reason you probably bought this can) is its biggest flaw. I would not recommend this can.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, Leaks
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Boston
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good Gas Can to put in the Trash Can

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Realizing I should have read the reviews before buying it. Bought a great Toro snowblower recently and just grabbed this gas can automatically cause I needed it in the short term.
The safety mechanism really just causes a whole host of problems. Might take advice mentioned and try to find an ez pour spout. Or, one of those super siphons often used to fuel boats when you're dealing with larger and more unwieldy cans.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Limerick, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Spout spring came out on both gas containers.

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two 5 gallon gas containers almost two years ago, and should have read the reviews before spending my money on these. Though I never had a problem with gas leaking, there was a recent problem with the locking mechanism on the sprout. Two weeks ago the tiny springs inside both locking caps suddenly popped out rendering them useless now. I'm guessing the manufacturer had known about this flaw because I saw replacement spouts online selling for about $5 each. I haven't checked them out yet to see if they'll fit my gas containers or not.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great concept, terrible execution

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This gas can has a great concept, however the execution of it is terrible. The second time I used it the pour spout snapped.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from houghton lake
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

would not recomend

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
nozzle does not operate at all, gas does not come out when turned to the proper position.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

Disappointed

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is probably the worst nozzle on any gas can that I have owned. It really should not be that hard to get the gas out of the can!
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Deerfield Beach, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Second one that broke

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second one that has broken for me.
The gas flow spring breaks.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

gas can

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
getting gas to come out of the spout is ridiculous. Wanted just a plain gas can.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

must have

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I hate the new safety spouts on all gas cans so this got a 3 because I cannot find a can without the safety spout. But I give all of these cans low marks for aggravation.
Pros: Durable, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

not good

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Leaks and doesn't lock right. I would not recommend it. The smell is all over my area from the seal not being right. Too bad I can't return it. Not recommended.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

What were they thinking

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This container holds gas great but pouring is a different story. I spilled as much gas on me and the ground as I poured in the mower. The spout is useless. I'm planning a dramatic end for this container, which it deserves.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Milwaukee, WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a leaker!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The spout design is horrible. Using this gas can is a two-handed operation and you are going to get gas on your hands or gloves. The spout leaked at the base where you tighten it, even though I made sure it was tight and everything was properly seated. Although I was able to figure out how to make it work, it is not straight-forward. (I haven't bought a gas can in 10 years) The good news is that I was able to get the gas smell out of my gloves. I returned it as being defective and I would not recommend it to anyone.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Leaks
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Concept but

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The container design is a good concept for safety and an effort to prevent spills but the spring (small black twist cap) that closes / locks is difficult to use has already broke. With a can full of gas it is difficult to return the container immediately, therefore I'll attempt to contact the manufacturer for a remedy.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Dearborn, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great gas can with safety nozzle

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought this gas can recently it has a safety nozzle and holds gas very well (spill proof), recommended
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from livonia mi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

gas can works good

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I like how it locks when ur pouring! It's lightweight and the locking system helps avoid spills.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrible...

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Gas can is a total piece of junk. In a emergency situation, where my wife and child were stranded, a half of a water bottle made a better funnel than this thing did. The one I had never dispensed gasoline. I will be returning this and not purchasing another. Total waste of time. Do not rely on this piece of junk.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>