728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can

2+ gal. Gas Can

The Smart-Fill Fuel Filling System is a safe and easy to use portable plastic fuel container. It is designed for easy and safe operation. It meets all applicable requirements for both child resistance and senior adult friendly as enforced by the Consumer Product Safety Council.
Overall rating:
1.901 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(101 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
23%of customersrecommend this product22 of 97reviews
Rating Breakdown 101 reviews
1.9 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(10)
3
(12)
2
(5)
1
(66)
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.5 out of 5.0
1.5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
23%of customersrecommend this product22 of 97reviews
Customer reviews for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Review 1 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from West Bloomfield Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good luck figuring out how to open the pour nozzle

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's a gas can. It does what other gas cans do - it holds gas.
My chief complaint is the kludgey pour nozzle - it has some sort of anti-pour design that requires an advanced understanding of mechanical engineering to operate. They managed to take something as trivial as opening a nozzle to pour gas and turned it into a confusing and frustrating process.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bad. NO! WHY!?!?!?!?

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot, do you like your customers? Then stop selling this gas can that does not pour gas.
Do you like pouring gasoline out of a container into your power tools? Yes you say? That's why you're buying a gas can? Then buy a different gas can. Not this one. At least not with this ANTI-POUR spout.
I bought a second one b/c I was sure what I had the first time was defective, and I then physically destroyed it trying to get it to work. NOPE, it is designed to fail.
This gas can is a failure.
Well technically the container does contain the gas, but the spout doesn't pour.
Did I mention that you should not buy this? Just Don't.
I can't even ...
Pros: contains gas
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, Not Durable, fails to pour the gas, breaks easily, wastes time and effort, i don't like it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Easley, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Horrible! I bought this thing and immediately filled it with gas only to learn when I got home that the lock on the spout was defective. I cannot return it until I use the 2.5 gallons of gas I purchased. I have doubt they will refund my money after a month! Be afraid! Buy something different!
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Austintown, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks.

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the lowest review I have ever given here on the Home Depot page, but the gas can is not that great. As a Health and Safety Engineer, I get the whole safety spout thing, but this one leaks and is hard to use. First off, the can is just hard to use. I noticed that not only do you have to twist the safety valve to the unlock position, but you have to pull up on it as well. This makes it very hard to keep the can steady while trying to fill up a small motor that takes little gas. secondly, it leaks. The safety release (the reason you probably bought this can) is its biggest flaw. I would not recommend this can.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, Leaks
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Vestal, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

drip free gas can--far from it

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I confess I have yet to find one of the new "drip free" gas cans to be that, and this one spills more than any old style can ever did. Between having to shove it down hard for gas to flow--makes it easy to stop then doesn't it?--and it dribbling out so slow you can't hear any change in sound as the tank fills, it is pretty much a given that you are spilling gas every where when the tank you are filling over flows. How I wish I had saved every old gas can I ever saw when I helped clean out a friends garage about 10 years back.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from St Paul, MN

Junk

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The nozzle is hard to use and once you get it open it leaks gas anyway.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

What were they thinking

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This container holds gas great but pouring is a different story. I spilled as much gas on me and the ground as I poured in the mower. The spout is useless. I'm planning a dramatic end for this container, which it deserves.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolute Piece o' Junk!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Couldn't get the darn thing to work! Threw it away..
Pros: none
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrible...

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Gas can is a total piece of junk. In a emergency situation, where my wife and child were stranded, a half of a water bottle made a better funnel than this thing did. The one I had never dispensed gasoline. I will be returning this and not purchasing another. Total waste of time. Do not rely on this piece of junk.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

Gas Can

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Decent product however we had to fiddle with the spring released spout to make it work. There was something wrong with grooves that did not allow the locking mechanism to open fully.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Messy! Wish I could just buy a gas can without the child-proofing that causes it to perform miserably!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The goal of the new gas can rules seem to be to prevent excess evaporation. Well, they fail. The reason is that the new systems required are so complicted that I end up spilling gas all over my mower and gloves trying to get the stupid thing to work! Never had that problem before. Wish they'd just trust me to poor and properly cap my can myself!
As I bemoanded to the clerk that I cannot buy a simple can any more (I'd even be happy with my last model that required me to pull a lever which provided the protection needed but was simple to use - I'm not against preventing evaporation, but why can't it be simple!), they commented "you need a degree in engineering to use them any more".
What's sad is I do have a degree in engineering and I had a hard timing figuring it out! All the other brands at other stores seem just as complex, so I have to assume it due to rules they have to follow. So sad, it could be simple and useful at the same time, but some non-engineer created a bunch of "rules". Sadder to say, I don't think there are any other gas cans around that avoid this issue, so while this one is poor, so are all the rest at all the stores I've checked.
What I really wish I could do is complain to the bureaucrat to made the rules, since it's not the problem HD nor the manufacturer, I think. Although if the rules allow a different mehtod of evalporatoin, istead of yhaving to "push" the spout to release the gas, then please re-design this (all the cans I looked at, however, seem to use this design). Sigh....
Cons: Difficult to Use, makes a mess
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

2+ Gal. Gas Can

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doesn't vent for an easy pour. The spout doesn't work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Boston
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good Gas Can to put in the Trash Can

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Realizing I should have read the reviews before buying it. Bought a great Toro snowblower recently and just grabbed this gas can automatically cause I needed it in the short term.
The safety mechanism really just causes a whole host of problems. Might take advice mentioned and try to find an ez pour spout. Or, one of those super siphons often used to fuel boats when you're dealing with larger and more unwieldy cans.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from east hartland, ct
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

gas can

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was very hard to figure out how to use the opening feature. Suppose to make it safe but it was a pain. I broke off the piece on end so I could just pour. Thought it would work without piece but you have to grab the end and pull back to get it to work. Its okay!
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Shelton, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gas can

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This gas can is horrible. It has some kind of gadget on it to do I don't know what and it's a pain in the neck and doesn't dang work! I hate it!
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2+ gal. Gas Can

Junk

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The second one I have bought and I will be returning it. The nozzle is junk...it doesn't work. Never did. The first one I bought broke after the second use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Cleveland, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Smart fill is too smart for me

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
An intuitive function has become an unachievable task. I purchased two online and I can't get them back to the store fast enough. Don't waste your time, money or sanity.
Cons: Difficult to Use, No Instructions
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Des Moines, IA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would not recommend

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fuel cap would not open properly to allow the fuel to exit the container. I had to purchase a separate fuel cap in order to get it to work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of Junk

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This can is a total piece of junk. After having gas in this can for less than one month, the nozzle doesn't work. The safety lock(the green sleeve) only turns with extreme force, the nozzle barely moves to dispence gas. We had to remove the nozzle and use a funnel to fill the mower. Buyer beware.
Cons: nozzle is usless.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2+ gal. Gas Can
from Telford, PA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Go back to the old nozel

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I understand the "safety" concept since that works - of course you can't get gas out of the can. I have two of these 2 1/2 gal. tanks and the first nozel broke the first time I tried to use it. The second one works with a whole lot of time and patience, not convenient at all.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>