728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 gal. Gas Can

5 gal. Gas Can

The Smart-Fill Fuel Filling System is a safe and easy to use portable plastic fuel container. It is designed for easy and safe operation. It meets all applicable requirements for both child resistance and senior adult friendly as enforced by the Consumer Product Safety Council.
Overall rating:
2.057 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
31%of customersrecommend this product25 of 81reviews
Rating Breakdown 87 reviews
2.1 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(14)
1
(49)
Features 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.9 out of 5.0
1.9 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
31%of customersrecommend this product25 of 81reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for 5 gal. Gas Can
Review 1 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Harvest, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaky but fixable

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This can worked well the first time I used it, but started leaking after I filled it back up and tried to pout gas out of it again.
I figured out that the cause of the leaking is a gasket that easily slips out of place when the spout is unscrewed. To fix it, reference the pictures and video I uploaded.
As for the rest of the features, this gas can is hard to use because it has no rear handle. The pour spout is still a terrible design even if it is fixable. It's hard to hold the can and the spout at the same time. And if it does leak, you're forced to hold the spout while it leaks gas all over your hands. There's also no vent, so the gas pours very slowly.
The only redeeming factor is that it's by far the cheapest gas can of this size.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Leawood, KS

DON"T BY THIS FAULTY PRODUCT!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst product I ever bought from Home Depot. The environmentally friendly pour spout is a complete failure. This gas can is nothing but frustration from poor design. The spout leaks gas everywhere and the gas pours very slowly because there is not return air value to let the gas flow. The safety latch is a nightmare. Try holding a 5 gallon gas can upside down with one hand while the other hand is attempting to hold open the safety mechanism while gas is slowly dripping out. I had this gas can for 1 year and then the safety mechanism broke. Save yourself money and do not buy this product!!!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, Too Heavy, poor design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 gal. Gas Can

Please do not buy

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just bought a house and needed a gas can for my lawn mower. I thought the anti spill valve would be good as i have a tendency to spill gas occasionally. The nozzle is very annoying to use. I spilled more gas trying to figure out the nozzle then i would have with a regular non saftey flow nozzle. The can also has no side handle for tipping ease. If your looking for a gas can to fill your mower or other power tools stay the heck away from this one. The only saving grace to this story is i took a old standard valve from my two cycle can i wasnt using anymore and put it on in place of the "anti spill" valve. What a piece of junk. Last time i buy briggs and stratton
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Seminole, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has bad features

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hard to use.Leaks from cap when pouring.Has a flap valve on the spout that you have to twist a release locking mechanism that is covered in gas since it's on the spout that is stored inside the can. And it has no relief cap so the gas gurgles ever so slowly in to you tank while leaking the whole time. Taking it back poor design.
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Use, poor design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Hixson, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very hard to use not worth the money!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The smart fill fuel system is very aggravating it has a is spring loaded fuel door that need to have tension on it to stay open, so if you do not hold the can just right is closes the fuel door and the fuel stops flowing. Plus there is no rear vent so the fuel flow is slow. This can had a tendency to leak not a desirable quality in a gas can. It is beyond me how someone could take a fairly simple design of a gas can and screw it up, but they managed. Do not buy this product look for something else.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Mobile, Al
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do No Buy!!!

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Valve is hard to activate.
The inner seal will not stay in place so it gets more fuel on me than in my boat tank.
There is no air vent so Glug Glug Glug. It drains PAINFULLY SLOOOOW!
I was able to replace the bad valve spout with a spout off of my old can and now it doesn't leak but it still pours slowly. Holding a 5 gallon can of fuel while it trickles out is exhausting.
Did anyone even test this thing?
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!
Pros: it's red
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, Leaks, no air vent
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Vermont
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You Can't Spill The Gas When Nothing Comes Out

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I think the other reviewers have already driven the point home, but in case it wasn't already abundantly clear, these gas cans do not work. Even in the first month after I purchased this can the gas would barely trickle out when holding pressure on the lock valve. Within a month the spout stopped working entirely. Please do not purchase.
Cons: Difficult to Use, defective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 gal. Gas Can

Hard to use

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Big brother has mandated safety fill vales on gas cans. This makes cans difficult to use in general and this one is no different. Twisting and holding to nozzle to get a trickle of gas out makes it difficult.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 gal. Gas Can

Seriously, do not buy it!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would only buy it for the storage value. So if you were desperate like i was to get gas then buy it. The spout is horrible and it pours it out in a "dripping" speed. In order to get the gas out i worked it differently. I took the spout off, cut a 2 litre bottle of soda's bottom off and used that as the "spout." I was able to pour the contents quickly enough to not have to spend a year to get the gas out. So again, DO NOT BUY THIS unless you have no other way to get gas. Be ready to work some other way to get the gasoline out. GOOD LUCK!
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Roswell, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Basic plastic 5 gallon gas can

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Generally a good gas can.
A couple of issues:
It you plan on using it to pour gas into a car, you'll have a hard time pouring out the last half gallon or so, because of how the can is shaped and the length of the spout.
Also, the spout can be a bit difficult to negotiate. I understand the need for it: to minimize spillage, but it it tricky when you're trying to hold 5 gallons of gas (>30lbs) with your other hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Medina, OH
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst gas can EVER

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The absolute worse gas can EVER made! The pour spout is a horrible design and gets stuck in the locked position. Have only owned for 2 hours and will return it once I find something to dump the gas into.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 gal. Gas Can
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

gas can

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the spout is terrible,i gave it away. didn't work. will not buy another one.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 gal. Gas Can
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke first week

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
To many parts to break had mine for a week and the spout came apart
Pros: junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Puerto Rico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value and nice security features

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Needed to replace my old gas can and this one had a nice price and security features that my old one did not have. I'm very pleased with my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Mobile, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very difficult to use.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This gas can attempts to update a time tested disign by venting the can through the same spout through which the gas pours out. It is difficult to use. I would not purchase it again.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Grand rapids, mi
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very hard to use

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The gas spout is very difficult to use. I have to pour without it into a one gal. container and then transfer to my riding lawn mower. Would never buy again! Store could not help.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Chesterfield MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

GREAT FOR LARGE AMOUNTS OF FUEL

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Large and just right for my Golf Cart needs easy to fill and cary. Not for small needs, but for heavy use.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Langhorne, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awkward to open spout

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only objection is that you nearly need to be a contortionist to twist and pull the spout back in order to pour the gasoline. I would have appreciated a simple written diagram which would have saved me 5 full minutes fiddling around trying to figure it out. Other than that, a gas can is a gas can.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Hoover, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great as a paperweight, but not to pour gasoline.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, the item that is pictures is NOT the item in the store. The item in the store uses a different nozzle (which all sizes have in common, by the way). This nozzle is spring loaded.
Since Home Depot has graciously given us a space to review the product, I shall do my very best to comply in great detail:
My daughter ran out of gas on the interstate less than two miles from a Home Depot store (not her fault, new used car with defective gas gauge - will resort to the write-down-your-mileage-method). We went to the Home Depot and purchased the 5 gallon "can" (actually plastic, so theoretically not a "can"). All sizes had the same type of nozzle, which I thought was designed to dispense fuel. I thought wrong.
We went to the gas station and put 3 gallons of gas in the can and then went back to the car. That's when the adventure began in earnest.
I unscrewed the nozzle (no type of cap on it, just the nozzle and the ring around it) and placed the nozzle in the dispensing position (again, "dispensing" is used as a figurative term, not to be taken literally).
Allow me to describe the nozzle. It is about six inches long, grey in color. In the middle of it is a groove that allows the spring loaded guide to come down. Approximately 3/4" of an inch from the top of the nozzle is a notch that sticks out and when pressure is applied, this forces the spring to go down, therefore allowing the gas to flow out.
When used with an automobile built after 1976 (when unleaded gas became mandatory and the gas tanks would only accept a special sized nozzle) this becomes an exercise in futility (although a three armed human being could possible pull it off) designed to spill as much fuel on the ground as possible, with zero going into the tank.
The problem is that the notch-spring-mechanism is not sized correctly to work on a post-1976 automobile. Actually, it wouldn't work on a pre-1976 car either. I don't see it working on a lawnmower either, however, if you want to saturate your lawn/driveway/interstate/shoes/pants/living room with gasoline, this is the perfect product to use.
To be fair, Home Depot did not build nor design this piece of garbage, however they do sell it. And I understand why they don't put the right picture on their web site.
After spilling over a gallon on the side of the road, I proceeded to go to the competitor of Home Depot located about 4 miles away and purchase their version of the gas "can". I poured the gas from the HD can to the L can and ran basically into the same issue, although they had a different nozzle which also didn't work.
I ended up pulling a McGyver (my daughter didn't know who that was - sad) and used a plastic fork to force the gas opening on the car into an open position, then pouring gas into a funnel, then into the opening. This accomplished the goal of getting at least 2 gallons into the tank (and also melted the plastic fork), which was enough to get her to a gas station. Just as I had poured the last drop, a highway trooper pulled up to ask if we needed help. We didn't. At least he knew who McGyver was.
Moral of the story: Don't buy this piece of garbage. And don't run out of gas.
Pros: holds gasoline
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, No Instructions, spills gas when being used
+30points
31out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Lithia Springs, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Idea, poor quality

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I think the engineers had a really great concept when they designed this product, but with such poor quality plastics in the nozzle, be prepared to replace after the very first use. Not to mention that it's going to take all day once the fuel actually starts to flow. The only real plus is that the container itself is made in a manner to be able to stack several side by side without taking up as much space as others.
Pros: Compact
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>