728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Replacement Engines & Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 gal. Gas Can

5 gal. Gas Can

The Smart-Fill Fuel Filling System is a safe and easy to use portable plastic fuel container. It is designed for easy and safe operation. It meets all applicable requirements for both child resistance and senior adult friendly as enforced by the Consumer Product Safety Council.
Overall rating:
2.049 / 5
2.0
 / 
5
(122 reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
30%of customersrecommend this product34 of 115reviews
Rating Breakdown 122 reviews
2.0 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(12)
3
(8)
2
(16)
1
(71)
Features 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.9 out of 5
1.9 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
30%of customersrecommend this product34 of 115reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for 5 gal. Gas Can
Review 1 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Harvest, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaky but fixable

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This can worked well the first time I used it, but started leaking after I filled it back up and tried to pout gas out of it again.
I figured out that the cause of the leaking is a gasket that easily slips out of place when the spout is unscrewed. To fix it, reference the pictures and video I uploaded.
As for the rest of the features, this gas can is hard to use because it has no rear handle. The pour spout is still a terrible design even if it is fixable. It's hard to hold the can and the spout at the same time. And if it does leak, you're forced to hold the spout while it leaks gas all over your hands. There's also no vent, so the gas pours very slowly.
The only redeeming factor is that it's by far the cheapest gas can of this size.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Hattiesburg, MS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Were they trying to win a Worst Design Ever aware?

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first problem I had was unpacking the spout - the dust cap is packed inside of the spout and is just small enough to drop inside the can if you aren't careful. I wasn't, and the dust cap was permanently trapped inside the can. The spout leaks, the vent doesn't vent, and the flapper that is supposed to prevent fumes from escaping broke the second time I used it.
Pros: none
Cons: complete junk
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Smyrna, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst Gas Can EVER

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst gas can I have ever bought. I have used it twice and now the nozzle is broken and I have to take it off and use a funnel. Horrible design and poor quality. We need to go back to the old style spout. We spill more now than ever and I am sure that is worse than any fumes that escaped.
Pros: no pros
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Pittsford, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can's Alright - the Cap is garbage

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The can itself is built fairly well, but it is the cap that is a piece of Junk. Never in my life have I had such an issue opening up the spout to pour gas.
The reason this spout is difficult to use is because of their "safety valve". The "safety valve" does not allow you to just pour the gas, instead you have to:
1.Unlock - Turn the green collar right aligning green teeth with black notches.
2.Pump - Pull in the spout to vent the can prior to usage.
3.Unlock - Turn the green collar right aligning green teeth with black notches.
4.Pour - Place spout on tank using anchors to support. Push to pour. Lift to stop.
Try doing all this in the middle of winter.
UGH
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 gal. Gas Can

I spill more gas now

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst can I have ever used, difficult two handed operation, gas splashes while sucking air in at the same time. I can no longer fill my lawn mower in my garage because it spills so much gas and the fumes get trapped. Looking on craigslist now for a normal can.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Gerorgetown, IN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst spout ever

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The can itself is fine, but the spout is impossible to use. A person needs one hand (if not two) to hold and balance a full can. How is one supposed to do this and still work the spout? I can't even get the spout to work without spilling gas all over my hands and the ground, and something from the spout popped off and fell down into the gas inside the can while I was trying to get it to work so heaven only knows if it's even fixable now. Horrible design, completely unusable, and a complete waste of my money.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, leaks everywhere
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Vancouver

Good product but can be better

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Pros:
- Well built, feel very sturdy
- Locking mechanism is well design
Cons:
- The outer ring (green) of locking mechanism (you need to turn it in order to release the valve) is cheaply made. I used for a few times and it doesn't go back to locking automatically anymore.
- It is hard to pour gasoline when I need one hand to hold the noozle in open position, which leave me one hand to hold the can. Took a while to get used to it.
- It doesn't empty completely, there is still some gasoline inside. I need to unlock the noozle, turn it around, then do it again.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Hixson, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very hard to use not worth the money!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The smart fill fuel system is very aggravating it has a is spring loaded fuel door that need to have tension on it to stay open, so if you do not hold the can just right is closes the fuel door and the fuel stops flowing. Plus there is no rear vent so the fuel flow is slow. This can had a tendency to leak not a desirable quality in a gas can. It is beyond me how someone could take a fairly simple design of a gas can and screw it up, but they managed. Do not buy this product look for something else.
+37points
38out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 gal. Gas Can

Please do not buy

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just bought a house and needed a gas can for my lawn mower. I thought the anti spill valve would be good as i have a tendency to spill gas occasionally. The nozzle is very annoying to use. I spilled more gas trying to figure out the nozzle then i would have with a regular non saftey flow nozzle. The can also has no side handle for tipping ease. If your looking for a gas can to fill your mower or other power tools stay the heck away from this one. The only saving grace to this story is i took a old standard valve from my two cycle can i wasnt using anymore and put it on in place of the "anti spill" valve. What a piece of junk. Last time i buy briggs and stratton
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 gal. Gas Can

1 star because 0 isn't an option.

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The spout has never worked, they have made them too fancy to work. I will try to return but doubt I can since its used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 gal. Gas Can

Seriously, do not buy it!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would only buy it for the storage value. So if you were desperate like i was to get gas then buy it. The spout is horrible and it pours it out in a "dripping" speed. In order to get the gas out i worked it differently. I took the spout off, cut a 2 litre bottle of soda's bottom off and used that as the "spout." I was able to pour the contents quickly enough to not have to spend a year to get the gas out. So again, DO NOT BUY THIS unless you have no other way to get gas. Be ready to work some other way to get the gasoline out. GOOD LUCK!
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Covington, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not very good

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The spout is not very good for trying to fill a lawn mower and not having a rear handle makes it hard to handle.
I plan to get rid of it soon and get another type of can.
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Mobile, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very difficult to use.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This gas can attempts to update a time tested disign by venting the can through the same spout through which the gas pours out. It is difficult to use. I would not purchase it again.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Hoover, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great as a paperweight, but not to pour gasoline.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, the item that is pictures is NOT the item in the store. The item in the store uses a different nozzle (which all sizes have in common, by the way). This nozzle is spring loaded.
Since Home Depot has graciously given us a space to review the product, I shall do my very best to comply in great detail:
My daughter ran out of gas on the interstate less than two miles from a Home Depot store (not her fault, new used car with defective gas gauge - will resort to the write-down-your-mileage-method). We went to the Home Depot and purchased the 5 gallon "can" (actually plastic, so theoretically not a "can"). All sizes had the same type of nozzle, which I thought was designed to dispense fuel. I thought wrong.
We went to the gas station and put 3 gallons of gas in the can and then went back to the car. That's when the adventure began in earnest.
I unscrewed the nozzle (no type of cap on it, just the nozzle and the ring around it) and placed the nozzle in the dispensing position (again, "dispensing" is used as a figurative term, not to be taken literally).
Allow me to describe the nozzle. It is about six inches long, grey in color. In the middle of it is a groove that allows the spring loaded guide to come down. Approximately 3/4" of an inch from the top of the nozzle is a notch that sticks out and when pressure is applied, this forces the spring to go down, therefore allowing the gas to flow out.
When used with an automobile built after 1976 (when unleaded gas became mandatory and the gas tanks would only accept a special sized nozzle) this becomes an exercise in futility (although a three armed human being could possible pull it off) designed to spill as much fuel on the ground as possible, with zero going into the tank.
The problem is that the notch-spring-mechanism is not sized correctly to work on a post-1976 automobile. Actually, it wouldn't work on a pre-1976 car either. I don't see it working on a lawnmower either, however, if you want to saturate your lawn/driveway/interstate/shoes/pants/living room with gasoline, this is the perfect product to use.
To be fair, Home Depot did not build nor design this piece of garbage, however they do sell it. And I understand why they don't put the right picture on their web site.
After spilling over a gallon on the side of the road, I proceeded to go to the competitor of Home Depot located about 4 miles away and purchase their version of the gas "can". I poured the gas from the HD can to the L can and ran basically into the same issue, although they had a different nozzle which also didn't work.
I ended up pulling a McGyver (my daughter didn't know who that was - sad) and used a plastic fork to force the gas opening on the car into an open position, then pouring gas into a funnel, then into the opening. This accomplished the goal of getting at least 2 gallons into the tank (and also melted the plastic fork), which was enough to get her to a gas station. Just as I had poured the last drop, a highway trooper pulled up to ask if we needed help. We didn't. At least he knew who McGyver was.
Moral of the story: Don't buy this piece of garbage. And don't run out of gas.
Pros: holds gasoline
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, No Instructions, spills gas when being used
+31points
32out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Leawood, KS

DON"T BY THIS FAULTY PRODUCT!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst product I ever bought from Home Depot. The environmentally friendly pour spout is a complete failure. This gas can is nothing but frustration from poor design. The spout leaks gas everywhere and the gas pours very slowly because there is not return air value to let the gas flow. The safety latch is a nightmare. Try holding a 5 gallon gas can upside down with one hand while the other hand is attempting to hold open the safety mechanism while gas is slowly dripping out. I had this gas can for 1 year and then the safety mechanism broke. Save yourself money and do not buy this product!!!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, Too Heavy, poor design
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 gal. Gas Can

BAD NOZZLE

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Put gas in and can't get it out. The nozzle is simply non-functional. I bought 3 of these to use with my generator for hurricane Sandy. I could not get gas to come out of the nozzle. I tried messing with it in the freezing cold and gave up. I ended up removing the cap and using a funnel to fill the generator. Worst design ever for something so simple. I will be returning these cans. They're not good for emergency situations except to hold gas.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Seminole, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has bad features

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hard to use.Leaks from cap when pouring.Has a flap valve on the spout that you have to twist a release locking mechanism that is covered in gas since it's on the spout that is stored inside the can. And it has no relief cap so the gas gurgles ever so slowly in to you tank while leaking the whole time. Taking it back poor design.
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Use, poor design
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 gal. Gas Can

Dont Buy this gas can - I can't believe Home Depot would sell this thing

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I had my gas can stolen, so I had to have a new one so came to home depot and bought this one....a gas can is a gas can...right? Wrong. This gas can is not even usuable. I am very handy and could not even get it to despense gas...and then the spring broke.
Something so simple, made so complex that an engineer with a masters degree cant figure it out. I guess I get to buy another one, empty out my gas, then take this thing back. What a great use of time. Thanks home depot.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, No Instructions
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

5 gallon gas can

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The gas can is a plastic container with the new design spout. The preoccupation with safety is fine, but the ability to fill the gas tank on my tractor has me weary of holding the thing while the gas slowly runs out. It is a good value.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Difficult to Use
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 gal. Gas Can

Junk

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doesn't even have a handle on the side to pour. You can not even put gas in the engines they make. The nozzle leaks and the spring-loaded thing broke after one time use. Which means it takes 2 hands to make it work while you balance the can on your legs. Dont buy total junk.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>