728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 gal. Gas Can

5 gal. Gas Can

The Smart-Fill Fuel Filling System is a safe and easy to use portable plastic fuel container. It is designed for easy and safe operation. It meets all applicable requirements for both child resistance and senior adult friendly as enforced by the Consumer Product Safety Council.
Overall rating:
2.058 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(137 reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
28%of customersrecommend this product37 of 130reviews
Rating Breakdown 137 reviews
2.1 out of 5
5
(17)
4
(13)
3
(10)
2
(18)
1
(79)
Features 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.9 out of 5
1.9 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
28%of customersrecommend this product37 of 130reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for 5 gal. Gas Can
Review 1 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Harvest, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaky but fixable

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This can worked well the first time I used it, but started leaking after I filled it back up and tried to pout gas out of it again.
I figured out that the cause of the leaking is a gasket that easily slips out of place when the spout is unscrewed. To fix it, reference the pictures and video I uploaded.
As for the rest of the features, this gas can is hard to use because it has no rear handle. The pour spout is still a terrible design even if it is fixable. It's hard to hold the can and the spout at the same time. And if it does leak, you're forced to hold the spout while it leaks gas all over your hands. There's also no vent, so the gas pours very slowly.
The only redeeming factor is that it's by far the cheapest gas can of this size.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 gal. Gas Can

Bad design

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Spout is poorly designed. Broke almost immediately.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Scepter 5 Gallon Gas Can

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a review for the Scepter 5 Gallon Gas Can with the bent spout. I'm not sure why the Briggs and Stratton can is pictured in this review. Nevertheless, I wish Scepter would include a straight spout with 5 gallon cans, and a bent spout on their smaller cans. I have no clue why they would include a bent spout on a can this large. I literally need to invert the can to get the gas out, the bent spout is not going to work well and they stopped selling the straight ones. I have two of these cans now to keep extra fuel on hand for my generator. Other than for not having 2 different spout designs, I don't have any issue with it.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Cons: bent spout
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 gal. Gas Can

It does work

PostedJuly 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The spout is a new design and different. Rest the nozzle on the edge of the opening and let the weight of the can do all the work. Easy and no spill.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Brighton, mi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor design

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is poorly designed product. Their is no integrated handle on back of can to allow for two hand usage when pouring fuel, making very difficult to handle. Likewise, unlike other designs with safety release near top handle, this release is on spout. May be ok for unmovable objects, but virtually impossible when attempting to pour into fixed tank on boat. I would not recommend this product to anyone, find a different manufacturer.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, poorly designed
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Jefferson, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I hate this thing

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's a gas can, but the nozzle on this thing is terrible. The locking mechanism on the nozzle is a horrible, gas only comes out if you push the nozzle slightly back into the gas can. It would be fine if you were only filling up cars or boats, but for my lawn mowers and pressure washers I have to push the nozzle in with one hand while holding the can with the other to get them gassed up. It's a real pain!
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Hattiesburg, MS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Were they trying to win a Worst Design Ever aware?

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first problem I had was unpacking the spout - the dust cap is packed inside of the spout and is just small enough to drop inside the can if you aren't careful. I wasn't, and the dust cap was permanently trapped inside the can. The spout leaks, the vent doesn't vent, and the flapper that is supposed to prevent fumes from escaping broke the second time I used it.
Pros: none
Cons: complete junk
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Hixson, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very hard to use not worth the money!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The smart fill fuel system is very aggravating it has a is spring loaded fuel door that need to have tension on it to stay open, so if you do not hold the can just right is closes the fuel door and the fuel stops flowing. Plus there is no rear vent so the fuel flow is slow. This can had a tendency to leak not a desirable quality in a gas can. It is beyond me how someone could take a fairly simple design of a gas can and screw it up, but they managed. Do not buy this product look for something else.
+38points
39out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Apopka, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad Nozzle

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the nozzle is difficult at best, fell apart and I had to use a funnel to fill my edger with gas.
Cons: Difficult to Use, bad nozzle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Nov, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gas Can

PostedAugust 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought two of these, can't get the gas to pour out. Tried everything. Removed the inner cap, turned to the open position, nothing happens.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Bristol, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worse gas can ever purchased

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This can is very awkward to use and the spout stopped working properly after a few weeks. I have spilled more gas trying to fill my mowers than I ever did with the old-style cans. I now take the cap off and use a funnel.
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, Not Durable, no rear handle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Unionville, MO.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Balance is awkward when despencing full can. Needs second handle on end opposite spout.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 gal. Gas Can

Please do not buy

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just bought a house and needed a gas can for my lawn mower. I thought the anti spill valve would be good as i have a tendency to spill gas occasionally. The nozzle is very annoying to use. I spilled more gas trying to figure out the nozzle then i would have with a regular non saftey flow nozzle. The can also has no side handle for tipping ease. If your looking for a gas can to fill your mower or other power tools stay the heck away from this one. The only saving grace to this story is i took a old standard valve from my two cycle can i wasnt using anymore and put it on in place of the "anti spill" valve. What a piece of junk. Last time i buy briggs and stratton
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 gal. Gas Can

Seriously, do not buy it!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would only buy it for the storage value. So if you were desperate like i was to get gas then buy it. The spout is horrible and it pours it out in a "dripping" speed. In order to get the gas out i worked it differently. I took the spout off, cut a 2 litre bottle of soda's bottom off and used that as the "spout." I was able to pour the contents quickly enough to not have to spend a year to get the gas out. So again, DO NOT BUY THIS unless you have no other way to get gas. Be ready to work some other way to get the gasoline out. GOOD LUCK!
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Metro Detroit, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
A different design from old-fashioned cans, but once you figure it out, it is very easy to use. I don't understand why there are so many complaints about this can. Read the directions. It works well and the self-closing spout valve prevents spills if it gets knocked over.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Mobile, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very difficult to use.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This gas can attempts to update a time tested disign by venting the can through the same spout through which the gas pours out. It is difficult to use. I would not purchase it again.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Smyrna, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst Gas Can EVER

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst gas can I have ever bought. I have used it twice and now the nozzle is broken and I have to take it off and use a funnel. Horrible design and poor quality. We need to go back to the old style spout. We spill more now than ever and I am sure that is worse than any fumes that escaped.
Pros: no pros
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Hoover, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great as a paperweight, but not to pour gasoline.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, the item that is pictures is NOT the item in the store. The item in the store uses a different nozzle (which all sizes have in common, by the way). This nozzle is spring loaded.
Since Home Depot has graciously given us a space to review the product, I shall do my very best to comply in great detail:
My daughter ran out of gas on the interstate less than two miles from a Home Depot store (not her fault, new used car with defective gas gauge - will resort to the write-down-your-mileage-method). We went to the Home Depot and purchased the 5 gallon "can" (actually plastic, so theoretically not a "can"). All sizes had the same type of nozzle, which I thought was designed to dispense fuel. I thought wrong.
We went to the gas station and put 3 gallons of gas in the can and then went back to the car. That's when the adventure began in earnest.
I unscrewed the nozzle (no type of cap on it, just the nozzle and the ring around it) and placed the nozzle in the dispensing position (again, "dispensing" is used as a figurative term, not to be taken literally).
Allow me to describe the nozzle. It is about six inches long, grey in color. In the middle of it is a groove that allows the spring loaded guide to come down. Approximately 3/4" of an inch from the top of the nozzle is a notch that sticks out and when pressure is applied, this forces the spring to go down, therefore allowing the gas to flow out.
When used with an automobile built after 1976 (when unleaded gas became mandatory and the gas tanks would only accept a special sized nozzle) this becomes an exercise in futility (although a three armed human being could possible pull it off) designed to spill as much fuel on the ground as possible, with zero going into the tank.
The problem is that the notch-spring-mechanism is not sized correctly to work on a post-1976 automobile. Actually, it wouldn't work on a pre-1976 car either. I don't see it working on a lawnmower either, however, if you want to saturate your lawn/driveway/interstate/shoes/pants/living room with gasoline, this is the perfect product to use.
To be fair, Home Depot did not build nor design this piece of garbage, however they do sell it. And I understand why they don't put the right picture on their web site.
After spilling over a gallon on the side of the road, I proceeded to go to the competitor of Home Depot located about 4 miles away and purchase their version of the gas "can". I poured the gas from the HD can to the L can and ran basically into the same issue, although they had a different nozzle which also didn't work.
I ended up pulling a McGyver (my daughter didn't know who that was - sad) and used a plastic fork to force the gas opening on the car into an open position, then pouring gas into a funnel, then into the opening. This accomplished the goal of getting at least 2 gallons into the tank (and also melted the plastic fork), which was enough to get her to a gas station. Just as I had poured the last drop, a highway trooper pulled up to ask if we needed help. We didn't. At least he knew who McGyver was.
Moral of the story: Don't buy this piece of garbage. And don't run out of gas.
Pros: holds gasoline
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, No Instructions, spills gas when being used
+31points
32out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Pittsford, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can's Alright - the Cap is garbage

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The can itself is built fairly well, but it is the cap that is a piece of Junk. Never in my life have I had such an issue opening up the spout to pour gas.
The reason this spout is difficult to use is because of their "safety valve". The "safety valve" does not allow you to just pour the gas, instead you have to:
1.Unlock - Turn the green collar right aligning green teeth with black notches.
2.Pump - Pull in the spout to vent the can prior to usage.
3.Unlock - Turn the green collar right aligning green teeth with black notches.
4.Pour - Place spout on tank using anchors to support. Push to pour. Lift to stop.
Try doing all this in the middle of winter.
UGH
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from New jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DONT BUY THIS GAS CAN. DONT. BUY. DONT BUY. DONT BUY

PostedJuly 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These new cans are a pain in the butt to use. I bought one about 2 months ago and today it broke. A spring shot out and it's not fixable. Very hard to use. At least I got my money back. Now the problem is where do you get a real gas can.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>