728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 gal. Gas Can

5 gal. Gas Can

The Smart-Fill Fuel Filling System is a safe and easy to use portable plastic fuel container. It is designed for easy and safe operation. It meets all applicable requirements for both child resistance and senior adult friendly as enforced by the Consumer Product Safety Council.
Overall rating:
2.096 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(114 reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
31%of customersrecommend this product34 of 108reviews
Rating Breakdown 114 reviews
2.1 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(12)
3
(7)
2
(15)
1
(65)
Features 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5
31%of customersrecommend this product34 of 108reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for 5 gal. Gas Can
Review 1 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Harvest, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaky but fixable

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This can worked well the first time I used it, but started leaking after I filled it back up and tried to pout gas out of it again.
I figured out that the cause of the leaking is a gasket that easily slips out of place when the spout is unscrewed. To fix it, reference the pictures and video I uploaded.
As for the rest of the features, this gas can is hard to use because it has no rear handle. The pour spout is still a terrible design even if it is fixable. It's hard to hold the can and the spout at the same time. And if it does leak, you're forced to hold the spout while it leaks gas all over your hands. There's also no vent, so the gas pours very slowly.
The only redeeming factor is that it's by far the cheapest gas can of this size.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Leawood, KS

DON"T BY THIS FAULTY PRODUCT!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst product I ever bought from Home Depot. The environmentally friendly pour spout is a complete failure. This gas can is nothing but frustration from poor design. The spout leaks gas everywhere and the gas pours very slowly because there is not return air value to let the gas flow. The safety latch is a nightmare. Try holding a 5 gallon gas can upside down with one hand while the other hand is attempting to hold open the safety mechanism while gas is slowly dripping out. I had this gas can for 1 year and then the safety mechanism broke. Save yourself money and do not buy this product!!!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, Too Heavy, poor design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 gal. Gas Can

Please do not buy

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just bought a house and needed a gas can for my lawn mower. I thought the anti spill valve would be good as i have a tendency to spill gas occasionally. The nozzle is very annoying to use. I spilled more gas trying to figure out the nozzle then i would have with a regular non saftey flow nozzle. The can also has no side handle for tipping ease. If your looking for a gas can to fill your mower or other power tools stay the heck away from this one. The only saving grace to this story is i took a old standard valve from my two cycle can i wasnt using anymore and put it on in place of the "anti spill" valve. What a piece of junk. Last time i buy briggs and stratton
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Spring Lake, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst product design change I've seen

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The design of the non-spill spout is possibly the worst change to a product that ever happened. It does exactly what it is supposed to prevent. When you tip the can to pour gas it spills out everywhere through the lock mechanism on the spout. I've never spilled as much gas in my driveway and garage as I did with this garbage product. I'm going to see if I can find one that works so I can move the five gallons of gas out of this one and return it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Hixson, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very hard to use not worth the money!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The smart fill fuel system is very aggravating it has a is spring loaded fuel door that need to have tension on it to stay open, so if you do not hold the can just right is closes the fuel door and the fuel stops flowing. Plus there is no rear vent so the fuel flow is slow. This can had a tendency to leak not a desirable quality in a gas can. It is beyond me how someone could take a fairly simple design of a gas can and screw it up, but they managed. Do not buy this product look for something else.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

5 gallon gas can

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The gas can is a plastic container with the new design spout. The preoccupation with safety is fine, but the ability to fill the gas tank on my tractor has me weary of holding the thing while the gas slowly runs out. It is a good value.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 gal. Gas Can

Seriously, do not buy it!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would only buy it for the storage value. So if you were desperate like i was to get gas then buy it. The spout is horrible and it pours it out in a "dripping" speed. In order to get the gas out i worked it differently. I took the spout off, cut a 2 litre bottle of soda's bottom off and used that as the "spout." I was able to pour the contents quickly enough to not have to spend a year to get the gas out. So again, DO NOT BUY THIS unless you have no other way to get gas. Be ready to work some other way to get the gasoline out. GOOD LUCK!
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 gal. Gas Can
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I don't think there is much choice when it comes to gas cans. This model gets the job done. It was not intuitive to me that you had to pull down on the nozzle to get the gas to come out. Also, it leaks all over my hands as I'm pouring the gas out. It can be heavy when full - this is not the product's fault though - just don't fill it all the way.
Cons: leaks from spout
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

5 GAL. GAS CAN with tricky cap

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I picked up this can during a power outage to supplement my gas for my generator. The cap is needlessly complicated and not sturdy. Very irritating when filling up on a freezing night during the black-out.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Seminole, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has bad features

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hard to use.Leaks from cap when pouring.Has a flap valve on the spout that you have to twist a release locking mechanism that is covered in gas since it's on the spout that is stored inside the can. And it has no relief cap so the gas gurgles ever so slowly in to you tank while leaking the whole time. Taking it back poor design.
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Use, poor design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Mobile, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very difficult to use.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This gas can attempts to update a time tested disign by venting the can through the same spout through which the gas pours out. It is difficult to use. I would not purchase it again.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Hoover, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great as a paperweight, but not to pour gasoline.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, the item that is pictures is NOT the item in the store. The item in the store uses a different nozzle (which all sizes have in common, by the way). This nozzle is spring loaded.
Since Home Depot has graciously given us a space to review the product, I shall do my very best to comply in great detail:
My daughter ran out of gas on the interstate less than two miles from a Home Depot store (not her fault, new used car with defective gas gauge - will resort to the write-down-your-mileage-method). We went to the Home Depot and purchased the 5 gallon "can" (actually plastic, so theoretically not a "can"). All sizes had the same type of nozzle, which I thought was designed to dispense fuel. I thought wrong.
We went to the gas station and put 3 gallons of gas in the can and then went back to the car. That's when the adventure began in earnest.
I unscrewed the nozzle (no type of cap on it, just the nozzle and the ring around it) and placed the nozzle in the dispensing position (again, "dispensing" is used as a figurative term, not to be taken literally).
Allow me to describe the nozzle. It is about six inches long, grey in color. In the middle of it is a groove that allows the spring loaded guide to come down. Approximately 3/4" of an inch from the top of the nozzle is a notch that sticks out and when pressure is applied, this forces the spring to go down, therefore allowing the gas to flow out.
When used with an automobile built after 1976 (when unleaded gas became mandatory and the gas tanks would only accept a special sized nozzle) this becomes an exercise in futility (although a three armed human being could possible pull it off) designed to spill as much fuel on the ground as possible, with zero going into the tank.
The problem is that the notch-spring-mechanism is not sized correctly to work on a post-1976 automobile. Actually, it wouldn't work on a pre-1976 car either. I don't see it working on a lawnmower either, however, if you want to saturate your lawn/driveway/interstate/shoes/pants/living room with gasoline, this is the perfect product to use.
To be fair, Home Depot did not build nor design this piece of garbage, however they do sell it. And I understand why they don't put the right picture on their web site.
After spilling over a gallon on the side of the road, I proceeded to go to the competitor of Home Depot located about 4 miles away and purchase their version of the gas "can". I poured the gas from the HD can to the L can and ran basically into the same issue, although they had a different nozzle which also didn't work.
I ended up pulling a McGyver (my daughter didn't know who that was - sad) and used a plastic fork to force the gas opening on the car into an open position, then pouring gas into a funnel, then into the opening. This accomplished the goal of getting at least 2 gallons into the tank (and also melted the plastic fork), which was enough to get her to a gas station. Just as I had poured the last drop, a highway trooper pulled up to ask if we needed help. We didn't. At least he knew who McGyver was.
Moral of the story: Don't buy this piece of garbage. And don't run out of gas.
Pros: holds gasoline
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, No Instructions, spills gas when being used
+31points
32out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Tennant, Ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

handy when needed

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this 5 gallon gas can before. I like the way it is easy to put the gas in and
the easy way to handle it to put the gas into the tank. The only problem I have is it
develops legs and walks away and I have to buy another one. I haven't figured a
way to put a leash on it to keep it home.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 gal. Gas Can
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good gas can

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Much easier to use than previous versions I have used.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Asheville NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Difficult to use

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This gas container is so difficult to use. If I hadn't already used it, I would have returned it to Home Depot. The security lock is hard to open and next to impossible to pour gasoline into my mower without spilling. I am currently looking for yet another gas can to replace it.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Most gawd-awful design

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Short review... Horrible design, horrible website.
Pros: nothing
Cons: Difficult to Use, abysmal design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Somersworth NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Old style gas cans worked much better

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Old style gas cans worked much better. These new style are poor.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 gal. Gas Can

BAD NOZZLE

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Put gas in and can't get it out. The nozzle is simply non-functional. I bought 3 of these to use with my generator for hurricane Sandy. I could not get gas to come out of the nozzle. I tried messing with it in the freezing cold and gave up. I ended up removing the cap and using a funnel to fill the generator. Worst design ever for something so simple. I will be returning these cans. They're not good for emergency situations except to hold gas.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Connecticut
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Faulty Gas Can Connection

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the attachment of the spout to the can was faulty causing gas to spill everywhere
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 gal. Gas Can
from Wilmington, De
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice but Questionable

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I like the safety feature BUT do not really like the fact that if fumes build up the container swell's REALLY BAD and you have to carefully release the pressure yourself.
It would be nice if it had a vent valve.
Shouldn't it have a pressure release valve of some sort ?
The safety feature is a little odd and takes some getting used to to use.
Besides venting issues, I do like this container this :-)
Container is sturdy and seems well made.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: not self venting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>