728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 gal. Gas Can

6 gal. Gas Can

The Smart-Fill Fuel Filling System is a safe and easy to use portable plastic fuel container. It is designed for easy and safe operation. It meets all applicable requirements for both child resistance and senior adult friendly as enforced by the Consumer Product Safety Council.
Overall rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
58%of customersrecommend this product14 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Features 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
58%of customersrecommend this product14 of 24reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 gal. Gas Can
Review 1 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from South Carolina, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy it

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The container itself is good. What good is a good gas can if you can't get the gas out of the can? The nozzle is completely useless. All nozzles broke on first use. I bought 5 cans and had to go on ebay to buy regular old fashion nozzles to replace all the originals. What a waste.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, No Instructions, easily broken
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Difficult to pour

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The new "approvied" nozzle mechanism is, to put it mildly, a pain. The can itself is good quality but lifting 6 gallons to waist height to fill a generator, and trying to keep that nozzle engaged until you can prop the spout on the fill opening is no small task, and I am a pretty strong person! There must be a better way. Would not recommend unles you are a really strong person.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from N.O. Pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great cans

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are nice cans it can empty 6 gallons into the car in minutes. i saw complantes about the spouts breaking off not sure how they are doing it but I let it rest in tank and support it no problems.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Mercer, PA 16137, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It has broken already.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The idea and size is great for my needs but the complex moving parts are cheap and are already broken.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Conway, NH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work at all

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The anti-leak function is also anti-work, no matter what it won't release the value and pour. Will try to return it but not sure I can with 5 gallons of gas in it.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Alaska, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a gas can

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What more can I say than the subject line. I needed a few 6 gallon cans and these fit the bill perfectly. Like all new gas cans, pouring with this one is slow. It is listed as 2.5 gallons per minute flow rate but it's not even close because all these new cans suck thanks to the EPA regs. Pouring gas is not exactly a complex task but I tend to make a bigger mess with these "spill proof" designs than the old style vented cans. $15 each shipped to the door is a great price. Dealing with the home depot is always a good experience. I've never had any customer service issues at the store and my first online purchase with them is also a positive one.
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 gal. Gas Can
Gender:Male

Excellent product with a good price point

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Checked around locally and these cans proved to of better quality and better pricing than the normal places you would buy Gas cans like auto parts store, and outlet stores, etc.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 gal. Gas Can

Great gas can for the price.

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These cans are 6 gallons, not the typical 5 gallon cans. I use 4 of these to add fuel to my 110 gallon capacity boat. The larger size makes a difference when using multiple cans. the spill-proof nozzles work extremely well. there is an initial slight leakage when twisting the spill proof nozzle to get it aligned to pour, but it is nominal and a rag will keep you and the environment clean. they are a little slow to empty out but that is the trade-off for the spill-proof nozzle. Got these for $15 each, outstanding value. larger capacity and spill-proof nozzles.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 gal. Gas Can

large capacity, did the job!!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
after reading a bunch of reviews on various containers, it seems like nobody is really satisfied with any of their purchases. i think with any container, you should expect to have a little bit of leakage but if you really use it the way the manuf instructs you to, it should be fine. when filled to capacity, the container does get heavy and might be difficult to hold high to for long periods to release to a car gas tank, but then i would recommend two people to handle it. overall, i luv the large capacity, and i would recommend this product.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Long Island ny
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great gas tank for filling generators

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a generator with a 7 gal gas tank and these 6 gal gas cans are perfect for filling it. I wait for the tank to be almost empty, and just dump the whole can in. No worries about overfilling or needing more gas to get the fill done.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 gal. Gas Can

works fine

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Read and follow the instructions and the spout works fine. No dripping, no spilling. Works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Leicester, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great gas can, and its 6 gallons...great for a generator

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
well made, easy to handle, spout is very sturdy.....great product, I have 6 of them now, for my generator.....
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, its a 6 gallon can
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from New England
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can is great -- spout, not so great

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The pour spout is really not sturdy enough for this large a can (6 gal.). I already broke one of the 3 spouts for the 3 cans I purchased AND I was only emptying the last half gallon out of the can because I used a syphon to get the first 5.5 gals.
Pros: solid/sturdy can, 6 gal instead of the usual 5 gal
Cons: pour spout is not very sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Central Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Delighted with these gas storage containers!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Gas storage containers in the U.S. are manufactured to a certain safety standard, so no doubt these units meet those requirements. What is a particular plus is that they hold SIX rather than the usual FIVE gallons, which allows considerable flexibility when filling and using them and makes them easier to use. The one issue is that the spout, which requires turning and holding in place with one hand while pouring, along with having to hold the whole unit in one's other hand, makes it a little awkward to use. However, given that this is a safety feature, we cannot even call this a criticism.
-13points
1out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It's a gas can.

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought 5 of these to have gas on hand for my generator.
I like that they are 6 gal capacity. The nozzles are the new fangled safety thingys that are kind if a pain but if they really bother you, buy an aftermarket old style kind. Great deal for the money.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great material

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tank is really big and strong. I had purchased one from Lowes buy return it when I saw how much better this one is. Should have gotten two.
Pros: Durable, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Strong & compact- yet has large capacity; smooth pouring.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This can meets my needs very well. Well built & reliable. Tight sealing cap with design that stops most spills and leaks. User must learn how to twist the pouring valve to eliminate leaks. I like this can very much and would recommend it to most anyone.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Mountian California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great tank

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tank is a great deal ,,, it got beat hard and never once leaked or broke ever..... and it fell over 15ft down on rocks 5 star.................
Pros: All In One, Sturdy, Durable, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from South Plainfield, NJ, USA

Just bought 4 of these to go with my new Generator

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are by far the best gas cans I could have asked for... the quality is unmatched. I love that they are 6 gallons, and the tank in my generator is 6 gallons, so that makes it a perfect one to one ratio. I also love the pouring mechanism that other folks seem to dislike. I find it easy to use and above all, extremely safe. Simply twist the green lock and push in the pouring spout to enable the flow of gas. Only dislike I would have to say is that 6 gallons of gas is a bit hard to lift waist high, in order to fill my generator i did have to bring over a chair to put the can on so that the bulk of the lifting was on the chair and not my arms. But overall, VERY happy with these cans.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Clifton, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The spout is a nightmare

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Why can't someone make a simple gas can simple to use for a gal like me? I could not figure out how to hold the green thing in place in order to pour the gasoline. Result was I got gasoline all over my gloves. I'll take one reviewers suggestion of just using a funnel and pouring straight from the can.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 >>