728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Replacement Engines & Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 gal. Gas Can

6 gal. Gas Can

The Smart-Fill Fuel Filling System is a safe and easy to use portable plastic fuel container. It is designed for easy and safe operation. It meets all applicable requirements for both child resistance and senior adult friendly as enforced by the Consumer Product Safety Council.
Overall rating:
3.22 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
55%of customersrecommend this product21 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
3.2 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(6)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(12)
Features 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
55%of customersrecommend this product21 of 38reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 gal. Gas Can
Review 1 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Mercer, PA 16137, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It has broken already.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The idea and size is great for my needs but the complex moving parts are cheap and are already broken.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Conway, NH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work at all

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The anti-leak function is also anti-work, no matter what it won't release the value and pour. Will try to return it but not sure I can with 5 gallons of gas in it.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Bellingham WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nozzle design is flawed

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The nozzle broke after 3 times of use.
When you twist the green spring loaded cap to the "on" position, it wants to keep twisting back to "off". IF you can get it working, you'll then need to push down on the nozzle for the gas to flow through. Unfortunately, this is where the big problem is. Sometimes the nozzle gets caught in the car's gas fuel line. While I was trying to remove the nozzle, it got caught and the whole contraption fell apart.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 gal. Gas Can

Gas Can

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a good gas can. If it was not for the nozzle it would score much higher. However, it is very hard to find gas cans without the new EPA nozzle so I would still recommend the product
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 gal. Gas Can

Great buy

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great deal on this six gallon gas can . Works good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 gal. Gas Can

bad

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Leaks gas when pouring. The cap cannot seal as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Long Island ny
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great gas tank for filling generators

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have a generator with a 7 gal gas tank and these 6 gal gas cans are perfect for filling it. I wait for the tank to be almost empty, and just dump the whole can in. No worries about overfilling or needing more gas to get the fill done.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 gal. Gas Can

works fine

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Read and follow the instructions and the spout works fine. No dripping, no spilling. Works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Strong & compact- yet has large capacity; smooth pouring.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This can meets my needs very well. Well built & reliable. Tight sealing cap with design that stops most spills and leaks. User must learn how to twist the pouring valve to eliminate leaks. I like this can very much and would recommend it to most anyone.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 gal. Gas Can

Excellent product

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best gas can I have ever used. It is the perfect size holding 6 gallons. The spout makes the can perfect you can put exactly the amount of fuel in you want. Like say you want to fill up and not spill and with this can you can do that with out a funnel. It's the best can ever and is worth it. The spout is only plastic you have to be careful when pouring but I never have a problem with it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Alaska, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a gas can

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What more can I say than the subject line. I needed a few 6 gallon cans and these fit the bill perfectly. Like all new gas cans, pouring with this one is slow. It is listed as 2.5 gallons per minute flow rate but it's not even close because all these new cans suck thanks to the EPA regs. Pouring gas is not exactly a complex task but I tend to make a bigger mess with these "spill proof" designs than the old style vented cans. $15 each shipped to the door is a great price. Dealing with the home depot is always a good experience. I've never had any customer service issues at the store and my first online purchase with them is also a positive one.
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Connecticut

6 gal. Gas Can

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree with the rest of the crowd. That is the dumbest spout I have ever worked with. After trying to follow the instructions how to pull and push down the green part to unlock the spill, still nothing comes out. I thought it is me but no, it is the engineering/design on the spout. My advice, throw out the spout right away, don't even try to figure it out, and use an old fashion funnel. Otherwise it might create unnecessary headaches.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 gal. Gas Can

Pouring mechanism is VERY poor

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pouring mechanism in these cans was poorly designed -- for all the reasons others have noted. It also breaks easily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Puyallup, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value. Extra capacity extends refueling time.

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent construction. Good feed from nozzle. Easy to carry and shape of container makes for easy fit in storaging with other equipment/containers.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Central Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Delighted with these gas storage containers!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Gas storage containers in the U.S. are manufactured to a certain safety standard, so no doubt these units meet those requirements. What is a particular plus is that they hold SIX rather than the usual FIVE gallons, which allows considerable flexibility when filling and using them and makes them easier to use. The one issue is that the spout, which requires turning and holding in place with one hand while pouring, along with having to hold the whole unit in one's other hand, makes it a little awkward to use. However, given that this is a safety feature, we cannot even call this a criticism.
-13points
1out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It's a gas can.

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought 5 of these to have gas on hand for my generator.
I like that they are 6 gal capacity. The nozzles are the new fangled safety thingys that are kind if a pain but if they really bother you, buy an aftermarket old style kind. Great deal for the money.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from South Carolina, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy it

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The container itself is good. What good is a good gas can if you can't get the gas out of the can? The nozzle is completely useless. All nozzles broke on first use. I bought 5 cans and had to go on ebay to buy regular old fashion nozzles to replace all the originals. What a waste.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, No Instructions, easily broken
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 gal. Gas Can

Great Gas Can

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the 6 gallon capacity sturdy plastic and well made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 gal. Gas Can

Good value for money

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The safety nozzle is a pain, otherwise it is a good purchase. I bought 3 to keep as a backup for any natural disasters. Hope not to use it though.
Pros: Accurate
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 gal. Gas Can
from South Plainfield, NJ, USA

Just bought 4 of these to go with my new Generator

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are by far the best gas cans I could have asked for... the quality is unmatched. I love that they are 6 gallons, and the tank in my generator is 6 gallons, so that makes it a perfect one to one ratio. I also love the pouring mechanism that other folks seem to dislike. I find it easy to use and above all, extremely safe. Simply twist the green lock and push in the pouring spout to enable the flow of gas. Only dislike I would have to say is that 6 gallons of gas is a bit hard to lift waist high, in order to fill my generator i did have to bring over a chair to put the can on so that the bulk of the lifting was on the chair and not my arms. But overall, VERY happy with these cans.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>