728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food

50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food

Nyjer Seed is the absolute favorite of Finches, such as the American Goldfinch, House Finch, Purple Finch, Pine Siskin and other small Songbirds. This tiny delicacy is used in Finch Feeders which have smaller holes and tiny perches – perfect for the Finches but discouraging to larger birds.
Overall rating:
4.905 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(178 reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
99%of customersrecommend this product167 of 169reviews
Rating Breakdown 178 reviews
4.9 out of 5
5
(165)
4
(11)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
99%of customersrecommend this product167 of 169reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
Review 1 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food

Confirmed Wagner Product but ...

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've previously bought the Wagner Nyjer seed in the 10 and 20 pound bags. They come packaged in a plastic bag with zip button closures. The seed is dark brown, seems to have good oil content and is very clean. This 50 pound product is another story. It comes in a triple lined paper sack as the picture shows. The outer layer of paper is perforated. I had concerns the perforated bag would mean the seed was going to be dry. The seed inside is VERY dusty. I sent an email to Wagner to confirm this was their product, as their website does not show a 50 pound option. Wagner confirmed it is their "bulk" product. I'm not a fan of the dust. One of my feeders is shaped like a lighthouse and made of white wire. The dust is also something I take care not to breathe in while filling. That said, the birds don't seem to mind :D I go through about 2 pounds a day, so this 50 pound option with it's bulk pricing is the way to go for my budget. I am reusing the plastic bags from my previous purchases to store some of the seed. The larger bags are great for filling the feeders too. If you're new to Nyjer seed feeders, you'll find some of the seed escapes the wire until you get the feeder full. I put my feeders inside the bag and use a scoop for the seed. No more mess; works like a charm.
Pros: price, 50 pound size
Cons: dust, packaging
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheaper Than Any Other Place! Birds LOVE It!

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our local Lowe's sells a 8# bag of this seed for $18. It was getting very expensive to feed the lovely little birds I love to see. My cats will sit and watch the birds for hours, but I found cost prohibitive to keep buying it at Lowe's and switched to a regular birdseed. Soon enough I had huge crows, squirrels and a lot of unwanted critters in my feeder and all the beautiful little song birds were gone.
If you'd like to have the beauty of songbirds I'd HIGHLY recommend this Nyjer seed from Home Depot. It has beautiful small black seeds, zero waste and filler and comes delivered right to your house.
To keep it fresh I simply bought 2 of their all purpose buckets with snap shut lids for $5. Easy to stack and store. You don't have to worry about seed spilling, anything getting into it and it's super easy to transport to your feeders with the buckets.
Another high quality product expertly delivered from The Home Depot!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, price, quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

""BIRD MAGNET!!!''

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
About the quality of the product I can only say "my customers love it" and there is no better price anywhere for a similar product. Before buying 50 pounds my local Home Depot sells small bags of the same brand, and it's very easy to see if the food will be popular. If you don't see this kind of bird around, give them a week....they will find the food and flock from "0' to over 50 in a week, my neighbors are feeding them too because "they are so cute"....a little bigger that hummingbirds. Everything was very easy.
I always have at least "good service", and many many times "great service" from Home Depot, either thru the web site or at "my store". This was "great service" for the product, price, shipping time, receiving condition, and customer service at pick up.
I score the total experience A+ !
Thank you
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, great price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Davidson, NC
Gender:Female

Great Value for the Money

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love watching birds, and wanted to give my indoor cats something to watch too, so I bought feeders I could hang off the eves of my house, but I didn't want seed that would spout in my beds. I was also really just interested in the smaller birds; Finches, Chickadees . . . I discovered Nyler seed was exactly what I was searching for, but the thought of spending a fortune was not appealing either, and this food was expensive at every place I looked, until I found the Home Depot site. I bought this 50 lb bag to get me through most of the summer, and I was thrilled with the price. I am attracting the small birds I was hoping for, and my cats are very entertained. I am also getting 0% growth in my beds.
I would highly recommend this seed to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food

AT LAST! Affordable,bulk Nyjer delivered to my door:-)

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We love helping out our wild, feathered friends with a variety of species-appropriate foods.
Hundreds of House & Purple Headed Finches and Goldfinches flock to us daily, but their favorite seed, Nyjer is too costly, bought in smaller bags from a variety of well-known pet and superstores, to feed our feathered visitors.
Online searching brought me to Home Depot. Who knew!
These bulk bags of quality Nyjer Seed last ages, feed our finch flocks and give us hours of entertainment watching and listening, for a fraction of the price per lb anywhere else we've looked. Delivered FREE to the door is icing on the cake! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED PRODUCT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Best Price and Quality for Nyjer Seed

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is really the best price I was able to find for bulk nyjer seed in a 50lb. bag and FREE SHIPPING is the kicker for such a heavy order. Also, I have bought this type of seed in bulk 50lb. bags before and there were (as I kind of expected) some small sticks in the bag with a low quality seed. This seed is exceptionally clean which is a plus as seed with sticks damages the nylon mesh 'socks' we use to feed wild finches. Also, this seed rivals the quality of smaller clear plastic retail bags of seed I have purchased with respect to the look and smell of the product. Overall, a great deal and a quality product!
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best price per pound anywhere + free delivery!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've attracted clouds of Lesser goldfinches, house- and purple-finches, and several species of sparrows to my feeders, as well as dozens of delightful Gambel's quail, and of course the unavoidable doves, who are attracted to the little birds' inevitable flinging of seeds to the ground. I refill my 2 tube feeders (almost daily) from an 18-gal Rubbermaid Roughneck storage bin--also from Home Depot--that I keep in my laundry/storage room. This is the most cost-effective way to buy nyjer seed that I've found, and when you factor in the free shipping, it really can't be beat.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Vallejo, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I appreciate the price!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've become pretty devoted to feeding the pretty little finches who winter (spring, summer and fall) in our area. Feeding them from the 5lbs. sacks of nyjer was bcoming prohibitively expensive. They're HUNGRY little things, often going through a full feeder in just a couple of days!!! Being able to buy the seed in bulk for a resonable price is great. And having it delivered to the door for free is icing on the cake. Thanks for helping us take care of our feathered friends! Oh, we bought the feeder at Home Depot, too. Attractive and easy to fill!
Pros: good price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from San Diego, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easiest way to buy nyjer seed

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This nyjer seed from Home Depot is good quality with a small amount of inedible debris. This debris ends up in the bottom of the feeders as it will not go through the small openings in the finch feeders, but it isn't difficult to discard when refilling. Buying in bulk is the way to go when buying nyjer seed as it is very expensive in smaller quantities, but as hauling 50 pounds from a retailer is not feasible for many consumers, having it delivered to the home for free is AWESOME. Thank you, Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from St. Peters, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

I shopped this product all over the internet and felt that this was a very good price and product.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The key feature was the free shipping. I found the product for less on other sites but by the time you factored in the shipping charged (some of which were ridiculous) they were substantially more.
Regarding the product.. if you are a bird watcher you can't go wrong with njyger seed for watching gold finch and similar birds. They love it! The only problem is that they eat it so fast! We have a three tube feeder and have literally had 15 gold finch on it at once!
Pros: High Quality, free shipping
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from San Diego, CA

Great Price, Great Seed!

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have searched online for this seed in large quantities but this is the best price I have found, not only on the seed but the free shipping. The seed is great quality and clean without a lot of other junk in it. I go through it like crazy all year round so this last time I went ahead and bought 2 bags instead of just the 1. It is not unusual for my feeder to be absolutely covered with finches chowing down. As much as they eat, I'm surprised they can still fly!
Pros: High Quality, Good Size & Weight, good price
Cons: Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value!

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have purchased this economical 50 lb. bag of Nyger seed and our finches are happy and by their quick devouring of the seed are greatly enjoying it. Rather than make several trips to the store to replenish our quickly dwindling seed supply this spring and summer, we found that The Home Depot sold this large bag of seed online. It is delivered to the door with free shipping as well so its a win-win for both us and our feathered friends!
Pros: High Quality, Economical, convenience
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Bellingham, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finches in my area love it!

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Largest bag/best price of nyjer seed I have found. Same quality of small bags of name brand nyjer seed I can buy locally (at a much higher price) except this one shows up packed in a box right at my door. Doesn't get better than that! Finches here love it...we have seen many varieties come through this summer with as many as 30 feeding at the same time. Thanks Home Depot! Please continue to carry and we will continue to buy it!
Pros: High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from SF Bay area, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best price I have ever found for quantity

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I go through nyjer seed as if the local finches haven't eaten in weeks. This is the best price I have found for a large quantity bag. I prefer not to go to the store every two weeks to buy 10 lb bags. Plus this 50 lb bag is delivered to my doorstep. Even with delivery added, it is still a great deal and the quality is excellent. I pour the seed into a smaller dispenser for easy filling of the feeders.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Williamsburg, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The birds give it 5 stars

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our birds empty our thistle feeder 2-3 times a week and buying small bags of Nyjer seed locally was getting awfully expensive.($3.00-$4.00 per pound). Buying a 50 lb. bag from the internet lowered the cost to approximately $1.00 per pound. There was no delivery charge or tax added and the bag was delivered directly to my house in less time than was estimated when I placed the order.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Orange County, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great quality, great price

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you buy Nyjer seeds in 5 or 10 pound bags, this is your best bet. Even with the best price on-line for a 20 pound bag, this 50 pound bag is almost $1 a pound cheaper. I often go through 1.5 to 2 pounds a day (lots of goldfinches). This is the only way to by Nyjer seeds. Great quality seeds, very little waste with sticks, etc. I'll be buying lots more. Quick free shipping, too!
Pros: High Quality, price
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Shelton, Connecticut
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Price

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the second time I have bougth this 50 lb bag of nyjer and I'm very pleased. The quality is excellant. I couldn't find any waste mixed in with the seed. No sticks, leaves or other material. This size saves a lot over buying small 2 or 4 lb bags each week. I would advise keeping the seed in a small metal garbage type can to keep it fresh and to avoid pests.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Reno, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Finches give it two wings up

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although awkward to handle the box and bag, once I get it emptied into a food bin for easy scooping, this is a good choice for my finch feeders. Nyjer is expensive, and this is the best value I have found. I sometimes have up to 50 birds on my feeders at a time, so I look for bargains! The seed is fresh, with very little 'trash' along with it. I buy it regularly.
Pros: good value
Cons: packaging unfriendly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product and value with convenient home delivery.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My back yard is filled with the most beautiful variety of birds. I love being a birdwatcher they add so much to my life and I can afford to keep them fed all year with this bulk value.
The bag is designed to open at the top corner and pour easily into a smaller bag for regular refills. This is the best deal I could find on (quality) Nyjer seed. I will buy more!
Pros: High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, very affordable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from S. CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

if yu bought this much nyjer seed at Walmart in their scrawney 8 lb bags, it would cost you almost twice this amount.

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best buy going for bird lovers. Easy to handle, packed well, quick delivery to the front door; it doesn't get any better than this. I seperate it into used plastic buckets for storage, but that was easy to do and tmakes it more manageable. This was the first time i even thought about getting it on line and couldn't believe it was available like this!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>