728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bird & Wildlife Supplies or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food

50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food

Nyjer Seed is the absolute favorite of Finches, such as the American Goldfinch, House Finch, Purple Finch, Pine Siskin and other small Songbirds. This tiny delicacy is used in Finch Feeders which have smaller holes and tiny perches – perfect for the Finches but discouraging to larger birds.
Overall rating:
4.923 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(130 reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product120 of 122reviews
Rating Breakdown 130 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(121)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product120 of 122reviews
Customer reviews for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
Review 1 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

""BIRD MAGNET!!!''

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
About the quality of the product I can only say "my customers love it" and there is no better price anywhere for a similar product. Before buying 50 pounds my local Home Depot sells small bags of the same brand, and it's very easy to see if the food will be popular. If you don't see this kind of bird around, give them a week....they will find the food and flock from "0' to over 50 in a week, my neighbors are feeding them too because "they are so cute"....a little bigger that hummingbirds. Everything was very easy.
I always have at least "good service", and many many times "great service" from Home Depot, either thru the web site or at "my store". This was "great service" for the product, price, shipping time, receiving condition, and customer service at pick up.
I score the total experience A+ !
Thank you
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, great price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Davidson, NC
Gender:Female

Great Value for the Money

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love watching birds, and wanted to give my indoor cats something to watch too, so I bought feeders I could hang off the eves of my house, but I didn't want seed that would spout in my beds. I was also really just interested in the smaller birds; Finches, Chickadees . . . I discovered Nyler seed was exactly what I was searching for, but the thought of spending a fortune was not appealing either, and this food was expensive at every place I looked, until I found the Home Depot site. I bought this 50 lb bag to get me through most of the summer, and I was thrilled with the price. I am attracting the small birds I was hoping for, and my cats are very entertained. I am also getting 0% growth in my beds.
I would highly recommend this seed to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food

AT LAST! Affordable,bulk Nyjer delivered to my door:-)

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love helping out our wild, feathered friends with a variety of species-appropriate foods.
Hundreds of House & Purple Headed Finches and Goldfinches flock to us daily, but their favorite seed, Nyjer is too costly, bought in smaller bags from a variety of well-known pet and superstores, to feed our feathered visitors.
Online searching brought me to Home Depot. Who knew!
These bulk bags of quality Nyjer Seed last ages, feed our finch flocks and give us hours of entertainment watching and listening, for a fraction of the price per lb anywhere else we've looked. Delivered FREE to the door is icing on the cake! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED PRODUCT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Best Price and Quality for Nyjer Seed

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is really the best price I was able to find for bulk nyjer seed in a 50lb. bag and FREE SHIPPING is the kicker for such a heavy order. Also, I have bought this type of seed in bulk 50lb. bags before and there were (as I kind of expected) some small sticks in the bag with a low quality seed. This seed is exceptionally clean which is a plus as seed with sticks damages the nylon mesh 'socks' we use to feed wild finches. Also, this seed rivals the quality of smaller clear plastic retail bags of seed I have purchased with respect to the look and smell of the product. Overall, a great deal and a quality product!
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best price per pound anywhere + free delivery!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've attracted clouds of Lesser goldfinches, house- and purple-finches, and several species of sparrows to my feeders, as well as dozens of delightful Gambel's quail, and of course the unavoidable doves, who are attracted to the little birds' inevitable flinging of seeds to the ground. I refill my 2 tube feeders (almost daily) from an 18-gal Rubbermaid Roughneck storage bin--also from Home Depot--that I keep in my laundry/storage room. This is the most cost-effective way to buy nyjer seed that I've found, and when you factor in the free shipping, it really can't be beat.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Vallejo, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I appreciate the price!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've become pretty devoted to feeding the pretty little finches who winter (spring, summer and fall) in our area. Feeding them from the 5lbs. sacks of nyjer was bcoming prohibitively expensive. They're HUNGRY little things, often going through a full feeder in just a couple of days!!! Being able to buy the seed in bulk for a resonable price is great. And having it delivered to the door for free is icing on the cake. Thanks for helping us take care of our feathered friends! Oh, we bought the feeder at Home Depot, too. Attractive and easy to fill!
Pros: good price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from San Diego, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easiest way to buy nyjer seed

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This nyjer seed from Home Depot is good quality with a small amount of inedible debris. This debris ends up in the bottom of the feeders as it will not go through the small openings in the finch feeders, but it isn't difficult to discard when refilling. Buying in bulk is the way to go when buying nyjer seed as it is very expensive in smaller quantities, but as hauling 50 pounds from a retailer is not feasible for many consumers, having it delivered to the home for free is AWESOME. Thank you, Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from St. Peters, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

I shopped this product all over the internet and felt that this was a very good price and product.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The key feature was the free shipping. I found the product for less on other sites but by the time you factored in the shipping charged (some of which were ridiculous) they were substantially more.
Regarding the product.. if you are a bird watcher you can't go wrong with njyger seed for watching gold finch and similar birds. They love it! The only problem is that they eat it so fast! We have a three tube feeder and have literally had 15 gold finch on it at once!
Pros: High Quality, free shipping
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value!

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have purchased this economical 50 lb. bag of Nyger seed and our finches are happy and by their quick devouring of the seed are greatly enjoying it. Rather than make several trips to the store to replenish our quickly dwindling seed supply this spring and summer, we found that The Home Depot sold this large bag of seed online. It is delivered to the door with free shipping as well so its a win-win for both us and our feathered friends!
Pros: High Quality, Economical, convenience
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Bellingham, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finches in my area love it!

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Largest bag/best price of nyjer seed I have found. Same quality of small bags of name brand nyjer seed I can buy locally (at a much higher price) except this one shows up packed in a box right at my door. Doesn't get better than that! Finches here love it...we have seen many varieties come through this summer with as many as 30 feeding at the same time. Thanks Home Depot! Please continue to carry and we will continue to buy it!
Pros: High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from SF Bay area, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best price I have ever found for quantity

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I go through nyjer seed as if the local finches haven't eaten in weeks. This is the best price I have found for a large quantity bag. I prefer not to go to the store every two weeks to buy 10 lb bags. Plus this 50 lb bag is delivered to my doorstep. Even with delivery added, it is still a great deal and the quality is excellent. I pour the seed into a smaller dispenser for easy filling of the feeders.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Williamsburg, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The birds give it 5 stars

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our birds empty our thistle feeder 2-3 times a week and buying small bags of Nyjer seed locally was getting awfully expensive.($3.00-$4.00 per pound). Buying a 50 lb. bag from the internet lowered the cost to approximately $1.00 per pound. There was no delivery charge or tax added and the bag was delivered directly to my house in less time than was estimated when I placed the order.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from S. CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

if yu bought this much nyjer seed at Walmart in their scrawney 8 lb bags, it would cost you almost twice this amount.

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best buy going for bird lovers. Easy to handle, packed well, quick delivery to the front door; it doesn't get any better than this. I seperate it into used plastic buckets for storage, but that was easy to do and tmakes it more manageable. This was the first time i even thought about getting it on line and couldn't believe it was available like this!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product and value with convenient home delivery.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My back yard is filled with the most beautiful variety of birds. I love being a birdwatcher they add so much to my life and I can afford to keep them fed all year with this bulk value.
The bag is designed to open at the top corner and pour easily into a smaller bag for regular refills. This is the best deal I could find on (quality) Nyjer seed. I will buy more!
Pros: High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, very affordable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Birds love this seed.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You'll attract all kinds of finches from blocks around when you fill your feeders with Nyjer seed. Their red and yellow plumage and lovely song will fill your backyard. You'll need the 50-lb. bag available with free delivery from Home Depot. And when some of the seed spills (as it inevitably will), it doesn't germinate. No more weeding all around your feeders!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

$28 less Best Deal on Internet for Nyjer Seed for small song birds

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the Best Deal on Internet for Nyjer Seed for small song birds with free shipping. With Home Depot's free shipping their Nyjer Seed is about $28 cheaper than any place you'll find. The average price for 50-pounds with shipping is about $92-$100...so at about $65 with free shopping this is the best deal you'll find on this normally very expensive seed.
Pros: High Quality, Good Size & Weight, very clean with no filler junk
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Southern California

The only deal out there!

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With the current high price of seed…this allows us to feed our goldfinces for months and months. Delivery was an added plus! The seed comes just a little on the dirty side, but the birds are not complaining….not at all. If you add a gurgling fountain, it won't take long for the habit of multiple baths a day to become part of their routine.
Pros: volume and quality for price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Las Vegas, NV, USA

Great price, fast free delivery!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unbeatable price! I used to buy bird seed in ten or twenty pound bags since it was the best deal I could find. The 50 pound bag of seed from Home Depot was almost half the cost of what I was used to buying--for the same quality of bird seed. With free shipping right to my door it is an unbeatable deal. I highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Salt Lake City, Utah

Best value

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At a buck per pound this was the best value I could find anywhere. The quality of the seed is very high; there are no other seeds or debris mixed in with the nyjer as you often find with other brands. This is the first year I've put a finch feeder out and we've been amazed at all the brightly colored birds it attracts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50 lb. Nyjer Seed Wild Bird Food
from Ladera Ranch, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Quality-Great Value-Great Service

PostedMay 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product at the best value! I buy 1 bag per month to feed several varieties of beautiful finches. Gold and House finch especially love this nyger seed! But morning doves and other larger birds hang under the feeder to catch the fallen seed. I even had an Oriole try this seed. Thank you Home Depot!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>