728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine

5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine

RIDGID Power Tools offers reliable, clean power with the RIDGID Portable Generator Line. This 5,700-Watt Generator is engineered to handle your toughest power needs on the jobsite or at home. With a heavy-duty yamaha MZ300 Engine, this generator delivers 5,700 Running Watts (7,125 Starting Watts) and features a large 6 gal. fuel tank for up to 11 hours of runtime at 50% load. Featuring the Armour heavy-duty Alternator with auto voltage regulator, this generator produces clean power so you can power everything from a laptop to a table saw. This generator features a GenSmart monitoring system which displays essential functions including Wattage, Voltage, Hertz, hours of use and even reminds you when it is time for maintenance. The heavy-duty Zero Gravity hand-truck frame design and 10 in. tires keeps the unit protected while making it easy to transport even in the toughest conditions. The outlet panel features (4) 120-Volt 20 Amp (GFCI Protected) outlets and (1) 240-Volt 30 Amp (GFCI Protected) Twist Lock Outlet to meet all your power needs. Backed by a 3 year warranty, you can trust RIDGID to work as hard as you do.
Overall rating:
4.346 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product71 of 79reviews
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(52)
4
(18)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product71 of 79reviews
Customer questions and answers:
45 Questions | 100 Answers
Customer reviews for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
Review 1 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from Michigan

Love It

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought it from Home Depot on 11/17/2013 when our power went out. I've been running it for 3 days straight with no problems whatsoever. Some people indicated problems with the gas cap. I believe the problem must have been corrected, because mine runs perfect 24-7. One major annoyance I have noticed is the wattage meter does not indicate how many watts are being used when using the 220V connector - it only reads wattage when using the 110V, which is a little disappointing. But still works fantastic. Runs our house without any problems. Tires are solid rubber, so they won't run out of air. My wife has no problems starting it on the first pull.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from WA

easy to use

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This generator was very easy to put together and get started. This is my first generator and after attaching the wheels and foot rests I just added the included engine oil and non ethanol gas from a local gas company. I set the choke and pulled the starting cord twice. Up and running no problems at all.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from Barnegat Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved us from Sandy

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I scored this generator the Sunday night before Hurricane Sandy hit us here at the Jersey Shore. I put it together moments after the power went out. It has been running all of the critical circuits in our home including the kitchen appliances - fridge, freezer, gas stove and oven controls, coffee pot, microwave, toaster oven, TV, some lights, gas furnace controls, well pump. Can't imagine what else we could ask of this generator. Life would be miserable without it after 5 days without power. It has consumed between 1/2 to 3/4 gallons per hour of gas. Best $700 I ever spent!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from Breckenridge, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ridgid Never Disappoints

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Solid frame, clean design, and powerful motor. I put the oil and fuel in, turned the valve on... WOW. This baby started right up! I plugged in my jack hammer and started demo; well the digital readout told me total watts used "1970" !! Yea, it tells you how many watts are being used as you add loads so that you don't have to worry about overloading or wonder if it will handle another! Also, folding dolly design makes it a breaze to transport. Don't hesitate, you will not regret this buy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from Berks co., PA

Runs OK but, ...

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The generator runs OK, I started it up for a short test run after assembly. A few quibbles follow.
The manual parts list shows four 5/8” washers to be used, two per, on the axles holding the wheels. I only got two. I called the support number and the person who answered, even having my model number, used an apparently different manual – her part numbers would not match up with mine. After going around a few minutes I gave up trying to resolve this. It’s not a big deal, I can get washers anywhere but it doesn’t bode well for future episodes.
I only wanted to run the generator for a few minutes to check the outputs, observe operation, and generally get the feel of the thing. I put just a little bit of fuel in and it wouldn’t start. Apparently, a minimum amount is needed to get gravity to pull the gas down to the carburetor. Not faulting RIDGID here since the instructions do say to fully fill the tank.
I set the choke lever to the START position and pulled a lot of times and the machine wouldn’t start. I eventually set the choke to the middle position (there are detents in a nylon bell crank) and it did start and run. However, when the choke lever was moved to the ‘RUN’ position the generator would immediately die. If the lever was quickly pulled back to the middle position the engine would recover and continue running, albeit with an occasional miss. In the interest of science I experimented with the ‘CHOKE’ position after warmup. The engine didn’t miss a beat, it kept right on running. In fact, strangely, the missing noted above ceased. It didn’t seem so strange after referring to the manual, the drawing of which, by the way, didn’t exactly match what I was seeing. Disregarding the lever and the labeling and instead, moving the choke lever to where the drawing indicates it should be made the engine run smoothly.
No load indicated output frequency was 62.9 Hz, a little high but within specification. I tweaked this down with a screwdriver.
I called back about the choke issue and got connected to a tech. When I described the situation it was suggested I pull the carburetor off and clean it. So, on a brand-new-out-of-the-box product (!!??) I, the dumb user, am supposed to start maintenance/repair procedures? This is not encouraging.
Synopsis: The generator runs OK but I think RIDGID has documentation problems. To wit, I think the people on the support line should be using the same manual I’ve got, not some in-house product, so we can communicate intelligently. Also, it appears that the labeling on the generator is reversed regarding the choke lever position.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from Waldwick, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product Would Reccommend

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a generator prior to Sandy and this was my back up unit. Had to run power for 10 days and thank god I had this unit because my old unit when on the fritz. This took over without a glitch. In fact it worked better than my old unit and was very quiet. Love the features like the on board wattage usage. As we brought on zones within our house we could tell the power consumption. Also bouhgt it due to having a Yamaha Engine which is known for durability. Thumbs up to the Home Depot great unit for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from Easton, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this after having no power for 4 cold days during hurricane Sandy. It appears to have the updated fuel tank venting with the red fuel filter and I've run it for about 3 hours so far with no stalling. The engine starts on the first pull hot or cold. I was drawn to the Yamaha engine as I ride Japanese sportbikes and trust the quality. I have a 3000 sq ft house and had an electrician set up backfeeding the box with an interlock. I turned on our central (gas) heat, fridge, 46" TV, 1000 watt microwave, laptop and many 100 watt lights and it hummed along making clean consistent power. The oil that came with the unit poured out like molasses so instead I used some 5W-30 synthetic I had. The build quality is excellent, it's relatively quiet, easy to move around and the volt/amp/hertz/hour combo meter is great. Seems all the bad reviews are due to the fuel tanking venting issue and with that resolved now I think this is the best unit on the market for the money.
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid generator

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Ridgid 5,700 watt Yamaha powered generator is a well made product that is easy to use. I initially ran the generator for 20 minutes with no load and then tested it with a sump pump, Ridgid vacuum, Hoover vacuum and hair dryer, which totaled about 4,300 watts. The generator ran smoothly with constant frequency (60-62 Hz) for about 30 minutes until I shut it down. Decibel level was in the high 80s right near unit, but it drops off to low 70s at 70 feet, like Ridgid claims, which is reasonable for a portable generator.
There is conflicting info about choke operation on the unit I bought, which was built in 12/2013. The Ridgid manual and the instructions on the front of the air filter housing say to move choke lever to the right to start, and to the left once engine has run for about 30 seconds. The Yamaha manual says the opposite- pull the choke lever out (to the left) to start a cold engine and push the lever in or to the right once engine has been running. For my generator, the Yamaha instructions are correct- the choke lever has the shape of an 'O' at the end as shown in the Yamaha manual picture. The Ridgid manual shows a picture of a choke lever that has the shape of an elongated 'U', probably from an earlier model.
The generator has a small green light to the right of each pair of 120V receptacles, indicating they are on. If this light is not on, reset the GFCI switch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
Cons: instructions need updating
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from Orlando Fl.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Let me down big time!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this generator for a small but time sensitive project. (builder's model home center) It ran flawlessly for 2 days but on the 3rd day, 6 hours into the day it just quit. (yes, I checked the oil and gas) There was 4 hours of the work day left. That equals 16 man hours lost that day! (4 men times 4 hours). Thanks Rigid for making me look so bad!
I have a Rigid 6800 watt generator at home that ran for 2 days before it started leaking gas and started running poorly. It had to be shipped all the way to Atlanta Ga for repair. It was gone for 3 weeks. It is my home emergency backup power source . I'm going to sell it and go with Generac.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from oxford, mi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent buy, even better timing

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this the day before a major storm came through (pleasant coincidence) resulting in a 12 hour power outage. The (limited) assembly is very simple, the frame is sturdy and the motor has so far started on the first pull every time.
Noise is reasonable, but the only thing that I do not like is the low oil light. It is literally a single LED dangling from wires on the side of the engine block. This generator's larger brother has a larger plastic control panel, which has the LED mounted on it along with the fuel valve and stop switch, but no such luxury on this particular model. It looks almost forgotten, which is very odd on what appears to be a very tidy design otherwise.
Used this together with a new manual transfer switch (reviewed separately), and had beautiful continuous power to the house for all 12 hours. Ran the fridge, sump, well, furnace and one lighting circuit with no issues at all. I have not confirmed the exact fuel usage per hour yet. The only odd detail is that the watt meter in the panel does not display the usage for the 3-phase/240V output, which is the only one I used. It does work on the 110V sockets. It does not really matter, because the transfer switch does display this info, but it is odd.
Love it so far, and I am much less worried about the impact of power outages in the future.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from Northern Wisconsin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Backup Power

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had to call the store to answer a couple of questions, but once we figured it out, good to go. Enough power to run everything I needed for the two day power outage......plus the neighbors plugged in also.
Pros: Strong, enough power for the job
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from Rhode Island, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Worked well but choked few times

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this generator 2 months ago and used it with Sandy for the first time. It worked well for the first 4 hours, but after I moved away from a window it started to choke, I had to open the gas cap and then it worked again. I read some other reviews about this and that is how I found out about opening the gas cap a little. I let it run with the gas cap not completely closed and did well. I contacted Ridgid and the claim the gas tank has a vent and should not choke and the denied having sent gas cap replacements and state there is no need for one because it does not choke, but my guess the representaive who talked to me nevere used it....IT DOES CHOKE.
Pros: Easy Installation, good value for the price
Cons: Too Heavy, too loud, chokes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from Brentwood, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in Brentwood MD where we have been hit quite badly with all the storms in the area... I have lost power five different occasions for up to days at a time. After storms came through wednesday and thursday after 11pm last week, causing me to lose power, I became depserate for at a minimum to have my AC still running in the house. I heard that a few people had returned this model of generator to the Home Depot on Rhode Isand Ave and I went to see if I could find a deal. Sure enough, there were several there for ~$520. I grabbed one immediately, got the necessary 12 gage power cords and took it home. I then started reading these reviews and it made me nervous I had bought a faulty generator. Yes, when I started it up it did stall, several times. Yes, some of the outlets didn't work. However, if anyone knows how these generators are supposed to work, they would realise that it is stalling because the gas cap isn't venting properly creating a vaccuum in the gas tank and causing the engine to suffocate, or stall. I turned the cap so it was half screwed in and the generator magically didn't stall. From reading other reviews, it seems the company already knows about this issue and will send you a new gas cap. The second issue, the outlets. If an outlet doesn't work on this generator, you can't just repeatedly hit the reset button and expect it to work. You have to turn off power to whatever you have it hooked to, unplug the appliance, and then reset the outlets, plug back in the appliance, turn on the power to the appliance and the outlet will work. Two of the outlets weren't working when I started the generator, it took a minute to reset them properly and now I have a perfectly running generator. Everyone who thinks this product is faulty and gave it a really low rating and review should really make sure they have read the directions and understand how to use something like this before they claim its faultly and return it. However, for those of you who did just that, thank you from me because I bought your unit and saved myself $200.
+30points
38out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine

Great features, no reliability

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this generator after a power outage. Excellent build quality and a Yamaha engine. It has great features like low oil shut-off, digital gauge and with the "zero gravity" handle it's easy to move. However it won't stay running for more than 20 minutes at a time. I couldn't run a refridgerator and a fan without this thing shutting off. I bought another generator with almost no features, but it ran all night without a hiccup. All the features in the world mean nothing if it won't run.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from Arlington, VA, USA

Best clean power generator for this price range

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had researched almost all generators in the market, and decided on this one because of the clean power it generates and the price point. Having a Yamaha engine helps too. This is a heavy unit. The display on this unit shows volts, hours used, watts and frequency. This display in itself is found in higher priced generator units. The watt meter is only for the 120v outlets. The frequency dropped a bit as new loads were added, but stabilized very quickly for each new load. The throttle can be adjusted to bring it close to 60 hz if needed for any load. I am not sure if I like the zero gravity frame as it is difficult to balance on an uneven surface. But it is easier than lifting a 190 lb generator on one side and pushing. The noise is comparable to any alternator generator running at 3600 rpm. A fuel gauge on the gas tank will be good to have, but I can always open the gas cap to see how much is left. I did not have the gas cap issue yet, but I have not run it for a long time. The 120v outlets are GFCI protected, and needed reset to get power to it. This is like the GFCI outlets in our home kitchen or bath. The 120/240v L14-30R outlet is what I plan to use, and luckily this one is not GFCI protected. Some higher end generators come with GFCI protection for the 120/240v outlet due to OSHA regulations, and that is a problem if using a generator interlock kit on the sub panel for the generator hookup. Ridgid should have provided a small funnel with slanted base to pour the engine oil like other competing products come with.
Pros: Lots of Features, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: Too Heavy, no fuel gauge, no oil filler funnel provided
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from owosso, Mich.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very happy with unit

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very happy with this generator bought it at Christmas time during the ice storm lost our power for 5 days had a different generator 4500 watt generator would not operate our furnace was putting out dirty power was not designed to operate sensitive electronice devises [furnace would not start or would shut down saying reverse polarity] the new furnaces will not run on dirty power.this new generator states right on it that it puts out clean power and will operate sensitive electronics .when purchaseing a new generator always be sure they say that on the generator and you shouldn't have any problem .
very happy with this generator runs all I need .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine

Good Generator with weak link

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a nice generator with problem gas cap. The gas cap is not vented causing gas starvation after 15 minutes causing stalling. They have redesigned the cap, but you must call to get the new one. Until then, you cannot tighten it so air can enter the tank. A cheap fix that should not have been overlooked.
Cons: non vented gas cap
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Unit! Very pleased with it thus far

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
More than ample power for all of the essentials in the house... plus a/c units at night. Easy set up. Not as loud as some others in the market, but not quiet by any means. The hand truck style portability make it easy to transport from here to there. A natural gas / propane conversion kit is also available for this engine (MZ300) through US carburetion. I converted to natural and it runs even better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Portable Generator is GREAT

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this generator for my 800 square foot cottage which seems to loose power frequently on the Lake. We had a 4 day outage and I bought this unit, plugged in my (and my neighbor's) frig, lights and TV. It ran for 24 hours on a full tank of gas and wasn't nearly as loud as other generators. I am having my cottage wired so that I can use it as a whole house generator because it definitely has enough wattage for my small place on the Lake. Easy to move around with the attached wheels and folding handle bar. Remember to plug in the highest surge appliance first and then add the others after the surge goes down. This is a great generator with the Yamaha engine and I would recommend this product to anyone who needs a dependable, efficient, and well made generator!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MX300 Engine

Seems like a great generator so far.

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Seems to be high quality. I have only run it for 2 hours so far, but seems solid. Starts right up. The Yamaha engine is a plus. Waiting for the real test when we have a power failure. I purchased this along with the ProTran transfer switch and a 40 foot cable so I can run it in the shed protected from the elements. I can power the furnace, refrigerator, microwave, TV and some lights. I like the amp and voltage readout and it is the only unit I could find with Automatic Voltage Regulation that didn't cost an arm and a leg. After losing hundreds of dollars worth of food and taking cold showers, I was going to be prepared for the next storm.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>