728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine

5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine

RIDGID Power Tools offers reliable, clean power with the RIDGID Portable Generator Line. This 5,700-Watt Generator is engineered to handle your toughest power needs on the jobsite or at home. With a heavy-duty yamaha MZ300 Engine, this generator delivers 5,700 Running Watts (7,125 Starting Watts) and features a large 6 Gal. fuel tank for up to 11 hours of runtime at 50% load. Featuring the Armour heavy-duty Alternator with auto voltage regulator, this generator produces clean power so you can power everything from a laptop to a table saw. This generator features a GenSmart monitoring system which displays essential functions including Wattage, Voltage, Hertz, hours of use and even reminds you when it is time for maintenance. The heavy-duty Zero Gravity hand-truck frame design and 10 in. tires keeps the unit protected while making it easy to transport even in the toughest conditions. The outlet panel features four 120-Volt 20-Amp (GFCI Protected) outlets and one 240-Volt 30-Amp (GFCI Protected) Twist Lock Outlet to meet all your power needs. Backed by a 3-year warranty, you can trust RIDGID to work as hard as you do.
Overall rating:
4.37 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product88 of 98reviews
Rating Breakdown 100 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(66)
4
(21)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(7)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product88 of 98reviews
Customer questions and answers:
51 Questions | 113 Answers
Customer reviews for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
Review 1 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Nameless, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very pleased

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am very pleased with this generator. I have just come from using it a week at a remote construction site. It is easy to start, easy to move around with the wheels. So far it has been very easy on fuel. I initially put 6 gallons in it, it has run for 15 hours powering a cement mixer, air compressor and skill saw and it still has approximately a half a tank of fuel. I would highly recommend this generator.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from East Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More than I expected!

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a wonderful surprise in build quality. Rigid did a great job putting this package together, everything on it is excellent, it is larger than I thought by the pictures, no store around East Texas stocked these, so I took a chance, but knowing Home Depot would take it back if I didn't want to keep it. Oh yes I'm keeping it. The Yamaha engine is a lot larger than the pictures depict it, it is very impressive in power, it has no problem at all pushing the genny full power. I have run he chop saw and swamp fan on 110v, separate and together, both hit hard on start up and generator had no problem. Hooked up my 180 Lincoln welder full 180a and did perfect. I have no doubt this unit will power our household needs when the time comes. Will update down the road longevity. I gather Honda is top of the line household generators, and priced accordingly, these units are way above all the other brands in this price range in build quality, I looked at almost all of them.,
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Plymouth county
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ya-ma-ha!! Nice machine!!

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far so awesome!! This generator started right up out of the box, in fact I was only testing the pressure on the pull cord and very slowly pulled it out not trying to start it and it fired right up!! I plugged in my big dewalt compressor and let it fill then started the table saw and ripped a p.t. 2 x 6. Plenty of power, and yes, just like the other reviews my choke is backwards but I knew that before I bought it from reading these reviews, figured I'd return the favor and write one myself. The choke is just like my Honda power washer, pull out to start then push it in after it's starts. Nice machine, bought it for this weekends storm here in cape cod so I know i'll be watching tv in the warmth during the storm
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy, No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Michigan

Love It

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought it from Home Depot on 11/17/2013 when our power went out. I've been running it for 3 days straight with no problems whatsoever. Some people indicated problems with the gas cap. I believe the problem must have been corrected, because mine runs perfect 24-7. One major annoyance I have noticed is the wattage meter does not indicate how many watts are being used when using the 220V connector - it only reads wattage when using the 110V, which is a little disappointing. But still works fantastic. Runs our house without any problems. Tires are solid rubber, so they won't run out of air. My wife has no problems starting it on the first pull.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine

choke instructions

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just bought this generator and I read thru the manual. after filling with oil and gas i went to start it. following the choke instructions on the generator I could not start it. Finally I read some reviews and saw that the manual and machine differ on which way the choke is operated. Finally realized my mistake and started on the first pull. other then the conflict in choke instructions the machine runs great.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Barnegat Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved us from Sandy

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I scored this generator the Sunday night before Hurricane Sandy hit us here at the Jersey Shore. I put it together moments after the power went out. It has been running all of the critical circuits in our home including the kitchen appliances - fridge, freezer, gas stove and oven controls, coffee pot, microwave, toaster oven, TV, some lights, gas furnace controls, well pump. Can't imagine what else we could ask of this generator. Life would be miserable without it after 5 days without power. It has consumed between 1/2 to 3/4 gallons per hour of gas. Best $700 I ever spent!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine

Got a bad one

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Couldn't get in and Add to my existing review to update original, sorry to say mine failed after 1 hour. Problem was on the 240 output, it would run the shop heater that I was load testing with 3k 4k and 5k watt just fine, but when I turned the heater off, the generator wouldn't release the charge, and the engine started laboring, was showing 88hz and 240 on 110 outlets. I Don't think this would be a continuing problem, it occurred so fast showing a defective part in the gen unit. I hated it the thing looks very well made. HomeDepot has superb customer service and handled it with no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine

Failed first time used

PostedJune 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Motor ran great but the gfi outlets are horrible, only running one server off it at 600 watts it kicks the gfi outlet (not the breaker) in 30 seconds, you can have all the watts in the world but if the outlets won't stay engaged what good is it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine

Awesome

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Started first pull, runs everything I needed; well pump, furnace, lights, fridge, TV anor more. Not as noisy as I thought it would be according to other reviews. Awesome product, great price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Breckenridge, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ridgid Never Disappoints

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Solid frame, clean design, and powerful motor. I put the oil and fuel in, turned the valve on... WOW. This baby started right up! I plugged in my jack hammer and started demo; well the digital readout told me total watts used "1970" !! Yea, it tells you how many watts are being used as you add loads so that you don't have to worry about overloading or wonder if it will handle another! Also, folding dolly design makes it a breaze to transport. Don't hesitate, you will not regret this buy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from North Richland Hills, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quaility Generator by Ridgid

PostedJune 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The unit got to me pretty quick and I really had no problem get a call from HD and picking up the product.
The instructions are written in Dummy 101 so they are "TOO" easy to follow and the complete assembly was done under 5 minutes or make it 10 if you have no mechanical knowledge. I put the oil in and just a gallon of fuel and pulled 1 time and it started up and ran 30 minutes under a Window A/C 12000 BTU unit. This is not the quietest unit but by no means the loudest either. You will notice the frame is actually wielded in spots they would normally slip the 2 pipes together and stick a nut and bolt on.
Here are some of the main reasons for me buying this unit are as follows
Yamaha engine "Commercial Engine" Compare this engine to those bargain brands and let me know how that works out
GenSmart™ Digital Display – Tracks Usage, Load, Voltage, Hertz, and Engine Maintenance--Man oh Man am I gadget geek and this unit gives all the info you could want and then some. The Voltage load is really sweet since you can keep plugging items in and see what you are pulling off the unit and keep from going over
Armour™ Heavy-Duty Alternator, you might want to check the brand that is attached to your engine plus the Armour has less the 6% THD so you can run a TV or computer off the juice it makes
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Cons: small con but i would of liked a bigger fuel tank
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Waldwick, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product Would Reccommend

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had a generator prior to Sandy and this was my back up unit. Had to run power for 10 days and thank god I had this unit because my old unit when on the fritz. This took over without a glitch. In fact it worked better than my old unit and was very quiet. Love the features like the on board wattage usage. As we brought on zones within our house we could tell the power consumption. Also bouhgt it due to having a Yamaha Engine which is known for durability. Thumbs up to the Home Depot great unit for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Plymouth, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Started on the first pull

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this generator in anticipation of a blizzard arriving. Haven't used it other than to fire it up and become familiar. Our electrician will install a switch on our breaker panel. The generator has what he insisted we have - 240 volt, 30 amp twist plug.
Set up was a snap. Installed two wheels, added oil and fuel, and pulled the cord.
Only one complaint. To register for the warranty, rigid wants the upc from the box. Good to know BEFORE the box is recycled!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Too Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from raleigh, nc
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Little Generator

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I don't usually write these but.... This is a great little generator. Starts on the first pull, provides clean power for electronics, the 2 20 amp outlets are nice as many generators only provide 15 amp outlets, fuel usage is pretty good and for a generator its not all that loud. The power usage readout / hour meter are nice little touches.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Easton, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this after having no power for 4 cold days during hurricane Sandy. It appears to have the updated fuel tank venting with the red fuel filter and I've run it for about 3 hours so far with no stalling. The engine starts on the first pull hot or cold. I was drawn to the Yamaha engine as I ride Japanese sportbikes and trust the quality. I have a 3000 sq ft house and had an electrician set up backfeeding the box with an interlock. I turned on our central (gas) heat, fridge, 46" TV, 1000 watt microwave, laptop and many 100 watt lights and it hummed along making clean consistent power. The oil that came with the unit poured out like molasses so instead I used some 5W-30 synthetic I had. The build quality is excellent, it's relatively quiet, easy to move around and the volt/amp/hertz/hour combo meter is great. Seems all the bad reviews are due to the fuel tanking venting issue and with that resolved now I think this is the best unit on the market for the money.
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Awesome generator

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This generator has been an asset in many ways, my family has put it to good use several times with NO problems
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Applling, Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

5700 watt Rigid Generator

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Generator is easy to move around and easy to use. Have not used in emergency situation yet, but overall very pleased.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Rhode Island, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Worked well but choked few times

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this generator 2 months ago and used it with Sandy for the first time. It worked well for the first 4 hours, but after I moved away from a window it started to choke, I had to open the gas cap and then it worked again. I read some other reviews about this and that is how I found out about opening the gas cap a little. I let it run with the gas cap not completely closed and did well. I contacted Ridgid and the claim the gas tank has a vent and should not choke and the denied having sent gas cap replacements and state there is no need for one because it does not choke, but my guess the representaive who talked to me nevere used it....IT DOES CHOKE.
Pros: Easy Installation, good value for the price
Cons: Too Heavy, too loud, chokes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Berks co., PA

Runs OK but, ...

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The generator runs OK, I started it up for a short test run after assembly. A few quibbles follow.
The manual parts list shows four 5/8” washers to be used, two per, on the axles holding the wheels. I only got two. I called the support number and the person who answered, even having my model number, used an apparently different manual – her part numbers would not match up with mine. After going around a few minutes I gave up trying to resolve this. It’s not a big deal, I can get washers anywhere but it doesn’t bode well for future episodes.
I only wanted to run the generator for a few minutes to check the outputs, observe operation, and generally get the feel of the thing. I put just a little bit of fuel in and it wouldn’t start. Apparently, a minimum amount is needed to get gravity to pull the gas down to the carburetor. Not faulting RIDGID here since the instructions do say to fully fill the tank.
I set the choke lever to the START position and pulled a lot of times and the machine wouldn’t start. I eventually set the choke to the middle position (there are detents in a nylon bell crank) and it did start and run. However, when the choke lever was moved to the ‘RUN’ position the generator would immediately die. If the lever was quickly pulled back to the middle position the engine would recover and continue running, albeit with an occasional miss. In the interest of science I experimented with the ‘CHOKE’ position after warmup. The engine didn’t miss a beat, it kept right on running. In fact, strangely, the missing noted above ceased. It didn’t seem so strange after referring to the manual, the drawing of which, by the way, didn’t exactly match what I was seeing. Disregarding the lever and the labeling and instead, moving the choke lever to where the drawing indicates it should be made the engine run smoothly.
No load indicated output frequency was 62.9 Hz, a little high but within specification. I tweaked this down with a screwdriver.
I called back about the choke issue and got connected to a tech. When I described the situation it was suggested I pull the carburetor off and clean it. So, on a brand-new-out-of-the-box product (!!??) I, the dumb user, am supposed to start maintenance/repair procedures? This is not encouraging.
Synopsis: The generator runs OK but I think RIDGID has documentation problems. To wit, I think the people on the support line should be using the same manual I’ve got, not some in-house product, so we can communicate intelligently. Also, it appears that the labeling on the generator is reversed regarding the choke lever position.
Pros: Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine

Great features, no reliability

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this generator after a power outage. Excellent build quality and a Yamaha engine. It has great features like low oil shut-off, digital gauge and with the "zero gravity" handle it's easy to move. However it won't stay running for more than 20 minutes at a time. I couldn't run a refridgerator and a fan without this thing shutting off. I bought another generator with almost no features, but it ran all night without a hiccup. All the features in the world mean nothing if it won't run.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>