728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine

5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine

RIDGID Power Tools offers reliable, clean power with the RIDGID Portable Generator Line. This 5,700-Watt Generator is engineered to handle your toughest power needs on the jobsite or at home. With a heavy-duty yamaha MZ300 Engine, this generator delivers 5,700 Running Watts (7,125 Starting Watts) and features a large 6 Gal. fuel tank for up to 11 hours of runtime at 50% load. Featuring the Armour heavy-duty Alternator with auto voltage regulator, this generator produces clean power so you can power everything from a laptop to a table saw. This generator features a GenSmart monitoring system which displays essential functions including Wattage, Voltage, Hertz, hours of use and even reminds you when it is time for maintenance. The heavy-duty Zero Gravity hand-truck frame design and 10 in. tires keeps the unit protected while making it easy to transport even in the toughest conditions. The outlet panel features four 120-Volt 20-Amp (GFCI Protected) outlets and one 240-Volt 30-Amp (GFCI Protected) Twist Lock Outlet to meet all your power needs. Backed by a 3-year warranty, you can trust RIDGID to work as hard as you do.
Overall rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(96 reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product86 of 94reviews
Rating Breakdown 96 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(64)
4
(21)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Features 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product86 of 94reviews
Customer questions and answers:
49 Questions | 106 Answers
Customer reviews for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
Review 1 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from East Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More than I expected!

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a wonderful surprise in build quality. Rigid did a great job putting this package together, everything on it is excellent, it is larger than I thought by the pictures, no store around East Texas stocked these, so I took a chance, but knowing Home Depot would take it back if I didn't want to keep it. Oh yes I'm keeping it. The Yamaha engine is a lot larger than the pictures depict it, it is very impressive in power, it has no problem at all pushing the genny full power. I have run he chop saw and swamp fan on 110v, separate and together, both hit hard on start up and generator had no problem. Hooked up my 180 Lincoln welder full 180a and did perfect. I have no doubt this unit will power our household needs when the time comes. Will update down the road longevity. I gather Honda is top of the line household generators, and priced accordingly, these units are way above all the other brands in this price range in build quality, I looked at almost all of them.,
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Plymouth county
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ya-ma-ha!! Nice machine!!

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far so awesome!! This generator started right up out of the box, in fact I was only testing the pressure on the pull cord and very slowly pulled it out not trying to start it and it fired right up!! I plugged in my big dewalt compressor and let it fill then started the table saw and ripped a p.t. 2 x 6. Plenty of power, and yes, just like the other reviews my choke is backwards but I knew that before I bought it from reading these reviews, figured I'd return the favor and write one myself. The choke is just like my Honda power washer, pull out to start then push it in after it's starts. Nice machine, bought it for this weekends storm here in cape cod so I know i'll be watching tv in the warmth during the storm
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy, No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine

choke instructions

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just bought this generator and I read thru the manual. after filling with oil and gas i went to start it. following the choke instructions on the generator I could not start it. Finally I read some reviews and saw that the manual and machine differ on which way the choke is operated. Finally realized my mistake and started on the first pull. other then the conflict in choke instructions the machine runs great.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Michigan

Love It

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought it from Home Depot on 11/17/2013 when our power went out. I've been running it for 3 days straight with no problems whatsoever. Some people indicated problems with the gas cap. I believe the problem must have been corrected, because mine runs perfect 24-7. One major annoyance I have noticed is the wattage meter does not indicate how many watts are being used when using the 220V connector - it only reads wattage when using the 110V, which is a little disappointing. But still works fantastic. Runs our house without any problems. Tires are solid rubber, so they won't run out of air. My wife has no problems starting it on the first pull.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine

Awesome

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Started first pull, runs everything I needed; well pump, furnace, lights, fridge, TV anor more. Not as noisy as I thought it would be according to other reviews. Awesome product, great price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Barnegat Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved us from Sandy

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I scored this generator the Sunday night before Hurricane Sandy hit us here at the Jersey Shore. I put it together moments after the power went out. It has been running all of the critical circuits in our home including the kitchen appliances - fridge, freezer, gas stove and oven controls, coffee pot, microwave, toaster oven, TV, some lights, gas furnace controls, well pump. Can't imagine what else we could ask of this generator. Life would be miserable without it after 5 days without power. It has consumed between 1/2 to 3/4 gallons per hour of gas. Best $700 I ever spent!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Plymouth, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Started on the first pull

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this generator in anticipation of a blizzard arriving. Haven't used it other than to fire it up and become familiar. Our electrician will install a switch on our breaker panel. The generator has what he insisted we have - 240 volt, 30 amp twist plug.
Set up was a snap. Installed two wheels, added oil and fuel, and pulled the cord.
Only one complaint. To register for the warranty, rigid wants the upc from the box. Good to know BEFORE the box is recycled!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Too Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Awesome generator

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This generator has been an asset in many ways, my family has put it to good use several times with NO problems
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from raleigh, nc
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Little Generator

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I don't usually write these but.... This is a great little generator. Starts on the first pull, provides clean power for electronics, the 2 20 amp outlets are nice as many generators only provide 15 amp outlets, fuel usage is pretty good and for a generator its not all that loud. The power usage readout / hour meter are nice little touches.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Applling, Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

5700 watt Rigid Generator

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Generator is easy to move around and easy to use. Have not used in emergency situation yet, but overall very pleased.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Breckenridge, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ridgid Never Disappoints

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Solid frame, clean design, and powerful motor. I put the oil and fuel in, turned the valve on... WOW. This baby started right up! I plugged in my jack hammer and started demo; well the digital readout told me total watts used "1970" !! Yea, it tells you how many watts are being used as you add loads so that you don't have to worry about overloading or wonder if it will handle another! Also, folding dolly design makes it a breaze to transport. Don't hesitate, you will not regret this buy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Waldwick, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product Would Reccommend

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had a generator prior to Sandy and this was my back up unit. Had to run power for 10 days and thank god I had this unit because my old unit when on the fritz. This took over without a glitch. In fact it worked better than my old unit and was very quiet. Love the features like the on board wattage usage. As we brought on zones within our house we could tell the power consumption. Also bouhgt it due to having a Yamaha Engine which is known for durability. Thumbs up to the Home Depot great unit for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Easton, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this after having no power for 4 cold days during hurricane Sandy. It appears to have the updated fuel tank venting with the red fuel filter and I've run it for about 3 hours so far with no stalling. The engine starts on the first pull hot or cold. I was drawn to the Yamaha engine as I ride Japanese sportbikes and trust the quality. I have a 3000 sq ft house and had an electrician set up backfeeding the box with an interlock. I turned on our central (gas) heat, fridge, 46" TV, 1000 watt microwave, laptop and many 100 watt lights and it hummed along making clean consistent power. The oil that came with the unit poured out like molasses so instead I used some 5W-30 synthetic I had. The build quality is excellent, it's relatively quiet, easy to move around and the volt/amp/hertz/hour combo meter is great. Seems all the bad reviews are due to the fuel tanking venting issue and with that resolved now I think this is the best unit on the market for the money.
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great generator

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
13 year - old boy set up and started this generator by himself last night. Powers all 6 switches/things in my house that are on the transfer switch:
1. well pump (2 switches)
2. refrigerator
3. furnace/ hot water
4. some downstairs lights
5. some upstairs lights
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Rhode Island, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Worked well but choked few times

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this generator 2 months ago and used it with Sandy for the first time. It worked well for the first 4 hours, but after I moved away from a window it started to choke, I had to open the gas cap and then it worked again. I read some other reviews about this and that is how I found out about opening the gas cap a little. I let it run with the gas cap not completely closed and did well. I contacted Ridgid and the claim the gas tank has a vent and should not choke and the denied having sent gas cap replacements and state there is no need for one because it does not choke, but my guess the representaive who talked to me nevere used it....IT DOES CHOKE.
Pros: Easy Installation, good value for the price
Cons: Too Heavy, too loud, chokes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Bennington, Vermont
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One pull and she started right up!

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to put together, Started right up. Works great in cold Vermont temps. No complaints. I have only used it twice this winter but it was around 10 below zero. Wind was strong but one pull and it started right up. You just can't beat that!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine

Great features, no reliability

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this generator after a power outage. Excellent build quality and a Yamaha engine. It has great features like low oil shut-off, digital gauge and with the "zero gravity" handle it's easy to move. However it won't stay running for more than 20 minutes at a time. I couldn't run a refridgerator and a fan without this thing shutting off. I bought another generator with almost no features, but it ran all night without a hiccup. All the features in the world mean nothing if it won't run.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Portland, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far this has worked has expected. I have it for backup house power but will also use it for some light construction. I would prefer to give it occasional use rather than having it sit for months unused. So far I'm just past the break-in cycle and will try to update this review after I get more time with the generator.
Setting it up was very easy. The feet and wheels are simple to install and work well. Getting the generator started the first time was also easy. Put in oil, gave it could of gentle pulls to get things lubed. put in fuel and it started on the 2nd pull. It has always started on the first or 2nd pull for me since then. Have probably started it 20 time in past two weeks.
Here's what I did for break in: I let it run for about 2 mins with no electrical load. Then shut it down and checked the oil. I always like to ensure the level is adequate after running for a few minutes after an oil change. I then let it run for another 5 minutes with no load and shut it down and checked oil again. I then let it run for 30 minutes with a very small constant load (~150W work light). Not sure this is necessary or helpful. Some people claim it's bad to run a generator without any load.
After this ~45 minutes of running I let it cool down and changed the oil. A few days later I fired it back up and let it run with a light load for 10 minutes. Shut it down and checked oil. After starting it back up I started to vary the loads I put on it. Sometimes low, sometimes higher, up to ~2000W. Did this for 20 mins or so. Then ran it with changing loads up to 4000W for another 20 mins. I did this by plugging in a work light (500W), a whole house vacuum(1000W) and then running different tools from it, including my chop saw. My goal was to stress the engine a little over time to ensure it had some stress. I considered disconnecting the governor to break it in with different RPMs but didn't want to risk the warranty by touching anything I wasn't supposed to.
After the 2nd ~45 mins with heavier loads I changed the oil again. This time I did it with the sun low and shining on the oil running out. As it came out it looked like it had glitter in it. Lots of little metal shavings coming out. This is the point of a break-in period and is the reason it's critical to change the oil during and after break in.
I also found that I got out more oil by tilting the generator toward the drain plug. If you tilt too far you'll get less out. I'd guess about 25-30 degrees from horizontal worked best for me. This is easier with 2 people but can be done solo if you're careful.
I used Yamilube for break-in. I doubt this is necessary, but it's cheap enough and I want to be in a defensible position if I have any engine issues. I may run synthetic in it after my 4 quarts of Yamilube are gone. Given all the metal I saw coming out of the last oil change I'll likely change it again soon as there has to be some left in there I'd like to get out. (I know these small generators try to keep cost and complexity down. However I wish they had some sort of oil filtration. Without it there's almost no way to ensure all the debris is every out of the crankcase).
So far it runs well, starts easily, and handles the loads I put on it. It will struggle to come back up to RPM when a heavy load is applied - you can hear it and see an attached light dim. The same dimming effect happens on house a/c when I start my saw. I don't see this as an issue at all.
The noise is a little worse than I expected, but right about where it's advertised per my Radio Shack sound meter. I'm getting ~75 db about 5 feet away from it. I would like to find a way to get it quieter. Some people are putting on motorcycle or auto mufflers and changing the air intake to reduce noise on similar generators. Not sure it's worth the effort and there's also the warranty issue to consider. You'll hear it running inside with the windows closed, but I find the noise acceptable. I may try the muffler option after I research it more. A lot of the noise from a generator comes from the engine mechanisms and the a/c generator, not just the exhaust.
The air intake has a nice sized foam filter that is easy to get to and clean. I was glad to see a large, washable filter. It looks like the gas tank breather house runs into the filter. Mine had a small amount of gas on it where the breather hose touches the filter. I don't see this as an issue.
Last comment: I debated between this generator and the smaller one with the Subaru engine. I decided on this one because after doing the math I decided I wanted the extra head-room this gives me for starting watts. It also has 240 out and the smaller one doesn't. You can get the smaller one connected to a house panel but it's more complicated and obviously won't run any 220. I could theoretically run a small 220 a/c unit with this generator.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from Berks co., PA

Runs OK but, ...

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The generator runs OK, I started it up for a short test run after assembly. A few quibbles follow.
The manual parts list shows four 5/8” washers to be used, two per, on the axles holding the wheels. I only got two. I called the support number and the person who answered, even having my model number, used an apparently different manual – her part numbers would not match up with mine. After going around a few minutes I gave up trying to resolve this. It’s not a big deal, I can get washers anywhere but it doesn’t bode well for future episodes.
I only wanted to run the generator for a few minutes to check the outputs, observe operation, and generally get the feel of the thing. I put just a little bit of fuel in and it wouldn’t start. Apparently, a minimum amount is needed to get gravity to pull the gas down to the carburetor. Not faulting RIDGID here since the instructions do say to fully fill the tank.
I set the choke lever to the START position and pulled a lot of times and the machine wouldn’t start. I eventually set the choke to the middle position (there are detents in a nylon bell crank) and it did start and run. However, when the choke lever was moved to the ‘RUN’ position the generator would immediately die. If the lever was quickly pulled back to the middle position the engine would recover and continue running, albeit with an occasional miss. In the interest of science I experimented with the ‘CHOKE’ position after warmup. The engine didn’t miss a beat, it kept right on running. In fact, strangely, the missing noted above ceased. It didn’t seem so strange after referring to the manual, the drawing of which, by the way, didn’t exactly match what I was seeing. Disregarding the lever and the labeling and instead, moving the choke lever to where the drawing indicates it should be made the engine run smoothly.
No load indicated output frequency was 62.9 Hz, a little high but within specification. I tweaked this down with a screwdriver.
I called back about the choke issue and got connected to a tech. When I described the situation it was suggested I pull the carburetor off and clean it. So, on a brand-new-out-of-the-box product (!!??) I, the dumb user, am supposed to start maintenance/repair procedures? This is not encouraging.
Synopsis: The generator runs OK but I think RIDGID has documentation problems. To wit, I think the people on the support line should be using the same manual I’ve got, not some in-house product, so we can communicate intelligently. Also, it appears that the labeling on the generator is reversed regarding the choke lever position.
Pros: Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5,700-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ300 Engine
from oxford, mi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent buy, even better timing

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this the day before a major storm came through (pleasant coincidence) resulting in a 12 hour power outage. The (limited) assembly is very simple, the frame is sturdy and the motor has so far started on the first pull every time.
Noise is reasonable, but the only thing that I do not like is the low oil light. It is literally a single LED dangling from wires on the side of the engine block. This generator's larger brother has a larger plastic control panel, which has the LED mounted on it along with the fuel valve and stop switch, but no such luxury on this particular model. It looks almost forgotten, which is very odd on what appears to be a very tidy design otherwise.
Used this together with a new manual transfer switch (reviewed separately), and had beautiful continuous power to the house for all 12 hours. Ran the fridge, sump, well, furnace and one lighting circuit with no issues at all. I have not confirmed the exact fuel usage per hour yet. The only odd detail is that the watt meter in the panel does not display the usage for the 3-phase/240V output, which is the only one I used. It does work on the 110V sockets. It does not really matter, because the transfer switch does display this info, but it is odd.
Love it so far, and I am much less worried about the impact of power outages in the future.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>