728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine

6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine

RIDGID Power Tools offers reliable, clean power with the RIDGID Portable Generator Line. This 6800-Watt Electric-Start Generator with Idle-Down is engineered to handle your toughest power needs on the jobsite or at home. The Idle-Down function automatically idles the engine when power is not required, helping prevent wear and tear on the engine and alternator, increasing overall runtime, and reducing noise. With a heavy-duty 357 cc OHV Commercial-Grade Yamaha Engine, this Generator delivers 6800 Running -Watt (8500 Surge/Starting -Watt) and features a large 7 gallon fuel tank for up to 9.5 hours of runtime at 50% load. Featuring the Armour Alternator with AVR, this generator produces 6800-Watt of Clean Power- so you can power everything from a laptop to a table saw. This generator features the GenSmart monitoring system that displays essential functions including Wattage,Voltage, Hertz, Hours of use and even reminds you when its time for maintenance. The heavy-duty Zero-Gravity hand-truck frame design and never-flat tires keeps the unit protected while making it easy to transport even in the toughest conditions. The outlet panel features (4) 20 Amp (GFCI Protected) standard outlets and (1) 240V 30 Amp Twist Lock outlet to meet all your power needs. Backed by a 3 year commercial warranty, you can trust RIDGID to work as hard as you do.
Overall rating:
3.995 / 5
4
 / 
5
(191 reviews) 191
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product143 of 181reviews
Rating Breakdown 191 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(107)
4
(42)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(29)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product143 of 181reviews
Customer questions and answers:
94 Questions | 264 Answers
Customer reviews for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
Review 141 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
Age Range:35 to 44

Easy to start!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Haven't had to use yet but easily set up and started when arrived.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 142 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
from Princeton, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality Generator with Good Customer Support

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's nicely designed, particularly the balance of the unit on its wheels which enable easy generator movement which at 240 lbs is quite an achievement. The oil fill is tricky and absolutely requires a funnel which Ridgid should really have supplied. Otherwise the design is practical and works well. A fuel gauge would have been nice, though.
I had to call customer service in the immediate aftermath of Hurricane Sandy because I could not get my Xantrex XW solar inverter to synchronise with the generator and thus accept generator power through its built-in transfer switch. Seems as if bonding the neutral to ground at the generator was causing problems. My call was answered quickly, the problem understood and the means to fix it provided in no time at all. How often does that happen!
I would really have liked a diesel generator but that would have cost thousands of dollars more. As it is I've seen run times around 16 hours on a full tank from this unit at about 3 kW load so at least refuelling isn't too frequent. Oil changes every 100 hrs are a nuiscance though. No worse than your average auto at 5,000 miles but still a pain when one is without power for days on end.
Bottom line is this unit provides enough power to run an average house for quite a while at an affordable price. It's a little noisy as most gas generators are but not too bad if you can keep it 50 ft or more away from inhabited spaces.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, well built
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 143 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine

Don't Buy It

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible. Bought it for weather, outdoor tools use. Could not get it to start. I suspect it has the gas cap vacuum problem. I tried all different things for about three hours trying to get it to start. I figured if I could get it going once then it would be ok after that. In all my attempts at starting, It turnover only once, sputtered, and died. For $999.00, I feel like it should work. I am taking it back to the store. Going to have to rent a truck to do it. I like Ridgid products, but I am going to have to seriously think about Ridgid in the future. This is actually the first review I have ever written, just to give you the scope of my disappointment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 144 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
from west virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent generator

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We picked up this generator the day after a big storm. We have been without power for over 3 days so far and have our well, two portable a/c units, 2 frigs, 2 freezers, several lights, convection toaster oven, a couple of fans, tv and entertainment center running on this guy. This thing is a champ, husband says he loves how easy it is. The seperate panel that tells us our load is great, and he wants to get the 8,000 model to run our washer/dryer off of. I would definately recommend this product, it has truly saved us thousands - from losing all of our frozen and refrigerated food.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 145 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good generator

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Set up easy, started on first pull, ran my whole house including the furnace, lights, and well for a several hour test. Could not tell it was on a generator, ran everything just like power from the street. Really like the hand truck design, makes it easy to move. Quieter than a smaller generator that I borrowed. Very happy with my purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 146 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
from Dexter, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simply Fantastic

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It starts, it runs and has a tank big enough for 12+ hours. You'll be happy with this generator.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 147 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not to bad other than stalling issue

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased this unit due to an upcoming snow event that warned of possible power outages. Unit was easy to assembly and looks to be built sturdy. I had read reviews of the stalling issues but thought they would have had this resolved by know. Started generator and it only took about 10 minutes to shut down. Tried this about five more times with and without load and the same thing happened. Called service number and they told me to loosen gas cap that it was probably a vapor lock issue. Did this and it corrected the problem and now I have to take it to a service center to get this issue repaired.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 148 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
from Stanardsville, VA 22973, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beware of this unit!!

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picked up this generator 3 days before Sandy hit. Just like so many others you will read about - unit started up just fine and ran great until it stalled out about an hour later. The last thing I wanted was to be outside in the middle of the night when Sandy was at her worst, restarting the generator only to have it stall again and again and again. I don't care if it is a problem which can be resolved by drilling holes into the unit as was once suggested to me by someone at Rigid's customer service. I do not want to purchase a defective generator, period. The best I could do was to haul that 240 lb. beast back to HD.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 149 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
from Dayton, Ohio

So Far So Good

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Provides plenty of juice for my whole house. Reasonably quiet, wish they had an add on that's make it quieter though. Having some trouble with the power guage on the front. Had them take the first one back and the replacement seems to be the same. No bar indicator of power usage as is advertised on the box. 1 pull start though and that's working great. All in all a very nice generator.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 150 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
from Galveston, TX

Quality Unit

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very good capacity for emergencies or remote power needs. Very sturdy and heavy(240lbs.). Needs electric start but it does start nearly first pull every time. Display is nice but difficult to read. Have not tried remote panel but nice to have if you want to isolate exhaust and noise from work area. Reasonably quiet but not as quiet as RV generator.All in all a very good unit so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 151 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
from Vernon, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Hard to rate since it never started.

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was so excited to start this generator. It was a gift for my wife, since we live in a rural area, and lose power very often. Since I'm currently on active duty I purchased this unit based on the reviews from other customers who claim this product was great and starts on the first or second pull. Well it did not start! So needless to say I'm not very happy with this unit.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 152 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
from usa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great features

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Top quality , fit and finsh , extremely well put together, I was going to put 5***** but little noise, that is normal . Don't hesitate to purchase its worth the investment, and we love the remote monitor and controls.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 153 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
from Bergen County
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Life Saver

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After the freak snow storm October 29th, we lost power so I went to HD to purchase this generator. Great buy. The removable panel is great, pull start a bit hard but its a great generator. Ran it for 18hrs and it did not skip a beat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 154 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
from Vernon, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

2nd chance!

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just received replacement unit. Generator started on 1st pull. Now will see how it works. Very happy, this product looks and feels solid.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 155 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

e

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to move no more flat tires 3 pulls on 1st start
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 156 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
from Wausau, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This unit has worked well

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Unit works well. It was shipped in good condition.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 157 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine

Very Hard to start

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just purchased unit. Can not start. Bought this product based on reviews, very disappointed.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 158 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine

Good quality, easy setup, quick shipping

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use, quick and courteous shipping, very easy setup, runs fairly quiet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 159 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine
from Bonita Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hurricane ready

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Living in Florida this is a necessity to have back-up power and this generator has all I need. Easy operation, easy start, awesome power
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 160 for 6,800-Watt 357 cc Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine

Pretty good so far

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this for Sandy over the phone because it was not available online and at stores. Luckily, we didn't lose power during the storm but I went ahead and ordered the generator anyway to be prepared for any type of emergencies. This was an upgrade from the RD6800 that I sold 2 months ago because I wanted the electric start and idle down feature. After it arrived yesterday, I took my time setting it up which took me about 30 minutes. After that I started it with the electric starter and it fired up right away. I didn't even have to use the choke. I ran it with the load that I needed for 20 minutes and it ran fine. It did seem to rev up and down slightly under load for a little bit the first minute or so but stabilized the rest of the time. I hope I won't have the fuel cap issue like what these other folks experienced. I'm going to run my unit longer this weekend under load and then store it with a full tank treated gas. I really like the build quality and the look of these units.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 6 7 8 9 10 >>