728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360

6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360

RIDGID Power Tools offers reliable, clean power with the RIDGID portable generator line. This 6800-Watt electric start Generator with Idle-Down is engineered to handle your toughest power needs on the jobsite or at home. The Idle-Down function automatically idles the engine when power is not required, helping prevent wear and tear on the engine and alternator, increasing overall runtime, and reducing noise. With a heavy-duty 357 cc OHV Commercial-Grade Yamaha Engine, this Generator delivers 6800 Running -Watts (8500 Surge/Starting -Watts) and features a large 7 gal. fuel tank for up to 9.5 hours of runtime at 50% load. Featuring the Armour Alternator with AVR, this generator produces 6800-Watt of Clean Power- so you can power everything from a laptop to a table saw. This generator features the GenSmart monitoring system that displays essential functions including Wattage,Voltage, Hertz, Hours of use and even reminds you when its time for maintenance. The heavy-duty Zero-Gravity hand-truck frame design and 10 in. tires keeps the unit protected while making it easy to transport even in the toughest conditions. The outlet panel features (4) 120-Volt 20 Amp (GFCI Protected) standard outlets and (1) 240-Volt 30-Amp Twist Lock outlet to meet all your power needs. Backed by a 3 year commercial warranty, you can trust RIDGID to work as hard as you do.
Overall rating:
4.071 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(210 reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product162 of 200reviews
Rating Breakdown 210 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(124)
4
(43)
3
(6)
2
(8)
1
(29)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product162 of 200reviews
Customer questions and answers:
103 Questions | 287 Answers
Customer reviews for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
Review 141 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Seems to be very well built

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is a first impression review. The generator was well packed and, although heavy was not hard to de-van at home (I am 63). It went together very easily and is easy to move around and has great features including a 3-year warrantee. Tomorrow I shall fire it up and see if it works
Pros: Compact, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 142 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360

Fuel Issue

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stalls out frequently, usually when gas tank is half full, others have complained about the same issue issue
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 143 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I like the unit. Quiet relative to others I have listened to. Starts easy. Overall I am very happy with it.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I can't offer much here because I picked it up at the store. However it was there when I went to pick it up and it was an online order that was shipped to the store. I travelled over 2 hours to get there so I appreciated that it was there and they helped me load it and was friendly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 144 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360

UPDATE FOR "AWESOME GENERATOR !!" REVIEW

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well shortly after writing my review i started to experience surging engine and hard starting after i shut it down,so i took it to home depot to find out the deal with these gens. the manager there told me exactly what the problem was and that they were aware of it and said they would repair it,he said it would take about 10 days.well exactly 1 week later i got the call that is was ready and i went to pick it up.they told me they put a "fuel ventilating kit" on it and that ridgid had sent out the kits so the gens could be repaired ON-SITE in the store.i read some reviews that stated how ridgid could continue to sell these gens knowing they had this minor problem.i believe that so many sold so quickly due to the storm (sandy) that they were out in circulation before they could be fixed with the ventilation kit.well from what i can see they redirected a couple hoses and replaced the fuel filter(the new one is red) and its running great!! very steady and smooth as silk. im very happy i gave them the chance to do the right thing, they were very courteous and thanked me for "sticking with them". of course it was a bit of a hassle luggin' it back and forth but after all was said and done it was all worth it. like i said previously THIS THING IS AWESOME !!! 5 stars for ridgid and 5 stars for home depot for doing the right thing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 145 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
Age Range:35 to 44

Easy to start!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Haven't had to use yet but easily set up and started when arrived.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 146 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Malvern, PA 19355, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well Built - but disappointing running issue

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Well built and easy to maneuver -
BUT, I am having the same issue with the choking out and vapor lock, I had tried to remove the cap etc, but to no avail.
The generator would run and then just die out.
I am glad that I don't need this now for a storm.
After speaking with Rigid customer service all that they could offer me is a free fix, well hello, yes it will be free, I just bought the item. So I am trying to schedule time with the local service center for them to reroute the vacuum lines etc, drill some holes, I am sure it will get done and run properly, but I have to borrow a neighbors truck, load 230 pounds of brand new equipment on it, etc. This is not what I am expecting on something brand new, perhaps Rigid could have arranged pick up etc, but they were deaf to my nudges about that situation. I am just glad that I don't need the item now for a storm or I would be livid.
So bottom line, if you buy this product, be prepared to have to take it to the service center to get it fixed and don't expect Rigid to do anything more than arrange that appointment for you.
Disappointed with the Rigid customer service.
For any buyer of this generator, please run the item right away to determine if your generator has the defect or not, else you may find out when you really need it and who knows what the warranty may provide at that time when you really need it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 147 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Princeton, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality Generator with Good Customer Support

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's nicely designed, particularly the balance of the unit on its wheels which enable easy generator movement which at 240 lbs is quite an achievement. The oil fill is tricky and absolutely requires a funnel which Ridgid should really have supplied. Otherwise the design is practical and works well. A fuel gauge would have been nice, though.
I had to call customer service in the immediate aftermath of Hurricane Sandy because I could not get my Xantrex XW solar inverter to synchronise with the generator and thus accept generator power through its built-in transfer switch. Seems as if bonding the neutral to ground at the generator was causing problems. My call was answered quickly, the problem understood and the means to fix it provided in no time at all. How often does that happen!
I would really have liked a diesel generator but that would have cost thousands of dollars more. As it is I've seen run times around 16 hours on a full tank from this unit at about 3 kW load so at least refuelling isn't too frequent. Oil changes every 100 hrs are a nuiscance though. No worse than your average auto at 5,000 miles but still a pain when one is without power for days on end.
Bottom line is this unit provides enough power to run an average house for quite a while at an affordable price. It's a little noisy as most gas generators are but not too bad if you can keep it 50 ft or more away from inhabited spaces.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, well built
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 148 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good generator

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Set up easy, started on first pull, ran my whole house including the furnace, lights, and well for a several hour test. Could not tell it was on a generator, ran everything just like power from the street. Really like the hand truck design, makes it easy to move. Quieter than a smaller generator that I borrowed. Very happy with my purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 149 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Greenfield, Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceeds Expectations

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This generator does everything I expected plus it is much quieter than I expected. I found this unit to be very easy to maneuver, even though it is very heavy and built like a tank. I think it is a good value compared to other generators in the same category.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, quieter than most, easy to maneuver
Cons: no ground wire
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 150 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Been great , son-n-low also got one love the long run time!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ezy start , long run time ,love the idle down option and the Yamaha it truly holds up to the job needed here for me , would definitely recommend this portable generator to any one in need of power or jest as a back/up.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 151 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Dayton, Ohio

So Far So Good

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Provides plenty of juice for my whole house. Reasonably quiet, wish they had an add on that's make it quieter though. Having some trouble with the power guage on the front. Had them take the first one back and the replacement seems to be the same. No bar indicator of power usage as is advertised on the box. 1 pull start though and that's working great. All in all a very nice generator.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 152 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Galveston, TX

Quality Unit

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very good capacity for emergencies or remote power needs. Very sturdy and heavy(240lbs.). Needs electric start but it does start nearly first pull every time. Display is nice but difficult to read. Have not tried remote panel but nice to have if you want to isolate exhaust and noise from work area. Reasonably quiet but not as quiet as RV generator.All in all a very good unit so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 153 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from west virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent generator

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We picked up this generator the day after a big storm. We have been without power for over 3 days so far and have our well, two portable a/c units, 2 frigs, 2 freezers, several lights, convection toaster oven, a couple of fans, tv and entertainment center running on this guy. This thing is a champ, husband says he loves how easy it is. The seperate panel that tells us our load is great, and he wants to get the 8,000 model to run our washer/dryer off of. I would definately recommend this product, it has truly saved us thousands - from losing all of our frozen and refrigerated food.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 154 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good generator!

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fantastic generator, we recently had a major ice storm here and it ran for three days without any issues. It is large enough to handle all household power needs with the exception of the electric dryer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 155 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Dexter, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simply Fantastic

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It starts, it runs and has a tank big enough for 12+ hours. You'll be happy with this generator.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 156 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360

Don't Buy It

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible. Bought it for weather, outdoor tools use. Could not get it to start. I suspect it has the gas cap vacuum problem. I tried all different things for about three hours trying to get it to start. I figured if I could get it going once then it would be ok after that. In all my attempts at starting, It turnover only once, sputtered, and died. For $999.00, I feel like it should work. I am taking it back to the store. Going to have to rent a truck to do it. I like Ridgid products, but I am going to have to seriously think about Ridgid in the future. This is actually the first review I have ever written, just to give you the scope of my disappointment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 157 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from usa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great features

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Top quality , fit and finsh , extremely well put together, I was going to put 5***** but little noise, that is normal . Don't hesitate to purchase its worth the investment, and we love the remote monitor and controls.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 158 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Bergen County
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Life Saver

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After the freak snow storm October 29th, we lost power so I went to HD to purchase this generator. Great buy. The removable panel is great, pull start a bit hard but its a great generator. Ran it for 18hrs and it did not skip a beat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 159 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best purchase ever

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
powered everything but the clothes dryer. ran the microwave , toaster, hot water, well pump, tv, wii, furnace, fridge , freezer all for 89.4 hours after an ice storm. easy to start.
Pros: perfect
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 160 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Vernon, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

2nd chance!

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just received replacement unit. Generator started on 1st pull. Now will see how it works. Very happy, this product looks and feels solid.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 >>