728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360

6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360

RIDGID Power Tools offers reliable, clean power with the RIDGID portable generator line. This 6800-Watt electric start generator with Idle-Down is engineered to handle your toughest power needs on the jobsite or at home. The Idle-Down function automatically idles the engine when power is not required, helping prevent wear and tear on the engine and alternator, increasing overall runtime, and reducing noise. With a heavy-duty 357cc OHV Commercial-Grade Yamaha Engine, this Generator delivers 6800 Running -Watt (8500 Surge/Starting -Watt) and features a large 7 Gal. fuel tank for up to 9.5 hours of runtime at 50% load. Featuring the Armour Alternator with AVR, this generator produces 6800-Watt of Clean Power so you can power everything from a laptop to a table saw. This generator features the GenSmart monitoring system that displays essential functions including Wattage, Voltage, Hertz, Hours of use and even reminds you when its time for maintenance. The heavy-duty Zero-Gravity hand-truck frame design and 10 in. tires keeps the unit protected while making it easy to transport even in the toughest conditions. The outlet panel features four 120-Volt 20-Amp (GFCI Protected) standard outlets and one 240-Volt 30-Amp Twist Lock outlet to meet all your power needs. Backed by a 3-year commercial warranty, you can trust RIDGID to work as hard as you do.
Overall rating:
4.102 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(226 reviews) 226
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product175 of 216reviews
Rating Breakdown 226 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(137)
4
(44)
3
(6)
2
(9)
1
(30)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product175 of 216reviews
Customer questions and answers:
117 Questions | 311 Answers
Customer reviews for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
Review 141 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Chatham, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Powerful and robust

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used for 4 days straight after Hurricane Irene and nearly a week after winter storm outage. Shut down regularly for suggested oil changes, air filter maintenance and unit has been flawlessly reliable. Able to operate sump pumps, refrigerator, an interior space heater and lamp and occasionally switch a plug to use microwave or coffee maker. Very loud (need earplugs), but does extremely well on gas usage and is more than I expected for the price. Highly, highly recommended.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 142 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from MiddleRiver, Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is absolutley great!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product helped my mom and I when we had the Durecio Storm June 29, 2012. My mom has a heart condition and I was able to meet all her needs. The feature of bringing the plug in part inside of my home kept me secure that no one could tamper with this generator. It powered everything necessary, refrigerator, deep freezer, microwave, lights and 2 air conditioners 8,000 BTU, and a 13,000 BTU., and charge my cell phone! It was wonderful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 143 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from warren county, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Purchased this Rigid 6800 W prior to Hurricane Sandy

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was one of the lucky ones who was able to grab a generator before Hurricane Sandy hit. The Rigid 6800 W is easy to use (electric start) and the wattage was large enough to run our entire home using extension cords. We will definitely be calling on our electrician to install the sub panel so we can plug the generator direct for easier us of our electronics, fridge and furnace for future use. Great buy!
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 144 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Past the Hurricane Test

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought durning hurricane Sandy and had it wired into ATS panel in house. Engine ran flawlessly but experienced "fuel starving and engine shutdown" on day 1 because fuel cap is too air tight creating a vacuum effect in the tank. Loosen gas cap and engine performed as expected. Idle control feature is good to conserve fuel when load demand is low. Very heavy duty frame that would survive any situation.
Cons: home depot pricing policy ethics
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 145 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Mechanicsburg, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Selling Point Short Fall

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
One of the selling points of this generator is "a one-of-a-kind removable control panel that allows you to move and mount essential controls and outlets anywhere you need them". The power cable to do this is no longer sold with the generator. Worse yet, it is not available at any Home Depot store nor is it available at Home Depot.com
Pros: Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 146 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product has dependability issues

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Purchased, set up, and started. Motor would run for 10-15 mins and stop. Would always restart after 2-3 mins but shut off again. Longest run was 2+ hours before a shut off. Called Rigid Tech support and trouble checked everything- no improvement after hours of phone time. Technician had received similar calls/ complaints and thinks it is a " vapor lock" and gas flow issue combined. Also the gas on/ off switch could it be operated as installed and had to remove from the panel to use it. Shame of it is that when it did run it ran great - just would not keep running consistently without manually having to restart. Bottom line, tech guy was good and agreed to a return to Home Depot for a full refund. When at the store returning the unit- heard 4-5 similar stories on this model from store employees, etc. It is too bad as really liked the features and design but not the performance. This one had a Yamaha 360 OHV motor. Home Depot guys were great and return was smooth especially with approval from Rigid Sr Tech
Pros: Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: inconsistent performance out of the box, gas on/ off switch
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 147 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sad

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my Rigid generator just under a month ago at Home Depot. Last night the power went out under the worst conditions of two decades of frigid weather for a power outage. So I was excited to connected the generator to my home. I first started the generator to make sure it started and to warm the oil. The temperature was about 30 below zero. The generator started fine with the electric start and ran fine. I then shut it down and took it to the side of my home to connect it. again, the generator started fine with the electric start and ran fine. About 1/2 hour later while I was inside warming up the generator shut down. I went and checked the fuel and the tank was full. I started it again and but electric start failed. I used the pull start and it did start. I went back inside and again the generator shut down about a 1/2 hour later. At this point I was very upset. Fortunately the neighbors lights were on so I turned the home back on to the grid. Half way though supper the power went off again. I waited about 10 minutes and the power did not come back on so back to the garage I went. I connected it go my home but this time I loosened the gas cap because I read about a vapor lock. It worked with the gas cap off. What an adventure and I would not want to happen again. I did call home depot and they will replace the generator. I hope the next one will work better. One more change or I go with another brand.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong
Cons: stalls, electric start failed
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 148 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Dayton, Ohio

So Far So Good

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Provides plenty of juice for my whole house. Reasonably quiet, wish they had an add on that's make it quieter though. Having some trouble with the power guage on the front. Had them take the first one back and the replacement seems to be the same. No bar indicator of power usage as is advertised on the box. 1 pull start though and that's working great. All in all a very nice generator.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 149 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Galveston, TX

Quality Unit

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very good capacity for emergencies or remote power needs. Very sturdy and heavy(240lbs.). Needs electric start but it does start nearly first pull every time. Display is nice but difficult to read. Have not tried remote panel but nice to have if you want to isolate exhaust and noise from work area. Reasonably quiet but not as quiet as RV generator.All in all a very good unit so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 150 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Seems to be very well built

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is a first impression review. The generator was well packed and, although heavy was not hard to de-van at home (I am 63). It went together very easily and is easy to move around and has great features including a 3-year warrantee. Tomorrow I shall fire it up and see if it works
Pros: Compact, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 151 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from nyc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

rd6800

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked flawlessly during hurricane sandy and was pretty frugel with the gas , the remote box is excellent and pretty accurate.The machine is well designed and worth every penny i would recommend to anyone for the right home see ya.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 152 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good generator

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Set up easy, started on first pull, ran my whole house including the furnace, lights, and well for a several hour test. Could not tell it was on a generator, ran everything just like power from the street. Really like the hand truck design, makes it easy to move. Quieter than a smaller generator that I borrowed. Very happy with my purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 153 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Saucier, MS 39574, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Best Generator!!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had a few generators in my time, but this one by far beats all of them combined. Home Depot should stock these generators in every store. Excellent product and very happy with my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Lots of Features, Nice Design, electric start., auto idle down when no load is required.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 154 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360

completly satisfied

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
great product very pleased, easy to use, super heavy duty
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 155 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360

Fuel Issue

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stalls out frequently, usually when gas tank is half full, others have complained about the same issue issue
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 156 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
Age Range:35 to 44

Easy to start!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Haven't had to use yet but easily set up and started when arrived.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 157 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from west virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent generator

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We picked up this generator the day after a big storm. We have been without power for over 3 days so far and have our well, two portable a/c units, 2 frigs, 2 freezers, several lights, convection toaster oven, a couple of fans, tv and entertainment center running on this guy. This thing is a champ, husband says he loves how easy it is. The seperate panel that tells us our load is great, and he wants to get the 8,000 model to run our washer/dryer off of. I would definately recommend this product, it has truly saved us thousands - from losing all of our frozen and refrigerated food.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 158 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from Bergen County
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Life Saver

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After the freak snow storm October 29th, we lost power so I went to HD to purchase this generator. Great buy. The removable panel is great, pull start a bit hard but its a great generator. Ran it for 18hrs and it did not skip a beat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 159 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360

UPDATE FOR "AWESOME GENERATOR !!" REVIEW

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well shortly after writing my review i started to experience surging engine and hard starting after i shut it down,so i took it to home depot to find out the deal with these gens. the manager there told me exactly what the problem was and that they were aware of it and said they would repair it,he said it would take about 10 days.well exactly 1 week later i got the call that is was ready and i went to pick it up.they told me they put a "fuel ventilating kit" on it and that ridgid had sent out the kits so the gens could be repaired ON-SITE in the store.i read some reviews that stated how ridgid could continue to sell these gens knowing they had this minor problem.i believe that so many sold so quickly due to the storm (sandy) that they were out in circulation before they could be fixed with the ventilation kit.well from what i can see they redirected a couple hoses and replaced the fuel filter(the new one is red) and its running great!! very steady and smooth as silk. im very happy i gave them the chance to do the right thing, they were very courteous and thanked me for "sticking with them". of course it was a bit of a hassle luggin' it back and forth but after all was said and done it was all worth it. like i said previously THIS THING IS AWESOME !!! 5 stars for ridgid and 5 stars for home depot for doing the right thing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 160 for 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360
from usa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great features

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Top quality , fit and finsh , extremely well put together, I was going to put 5***** but little noise, that is normal . Don't hesitate to purchase its worth the investment, and we love the remote monitor and controls.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 >>