728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

RIDGID Power Tools offers reliable, clean power with the RIDGID Portable Generator Line. This 6800 Watt Electric-Start Generator with Idle-Down is engineered to handle your toughest power needs on the jobsite or at home. The Idle-Down function automatically idles the engine when power is not required, helping prevent wear and tear on the engine and alternator, increasing overall runtime, and reducing noise. With a heavy-duty 357cc OHV Commercial-Grade Yamaha Engine, this Generator delivers 6800 Running Watts (8500 Surge/Starting Watts) and features a large 8 gallon fuel tank for up to 11 hours of runtime at 50% load. Featuring the Armour Alternator with AVR, this generator produces 6800 Watts of Clean Power- so you can power everything from a laptop to a table saw. This generator features a one-of-a-kind removable control panel that allows you to move and mount essential controls and outlets anywhere you need them- all while the GenSmart monitoring system displays essential functions including Wattage, Voltage, Hertz, Hours of use and even reminds you when its time for maintenance. The heavy-duty Zero-Gravity hand-truck frame design and never-flat tires keeps the unit protected while making it easy to transport even in the toughest conditions. The outlet panel features (4) 20 Amp (GFCI Protected) standard outlets and (1) 240V 30 Amp Twist Lock outlet to meet all your power needs. Backed by a 3 year commercial warranty, you can trust RIDGID to work as hard as you do.
Overall rating:
3.967 / 5
4
 / 
5
(184 reviews) 184
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product138 of 174reviews
Rating Breakdown 184 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(102)
4
(40)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(29)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product138 of 174reviews
Customer questions and answers:
90 Questions | 236 Answers
Customer reviews for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Review 141 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
organguy
from Chatham, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Powerful and robust

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used for 4 days straight after Hurricane Irene and nearly a week after winter storm outage. Shut down regularly for suggested oil changes, air filter maintenance and unit has been flawlessly reliable. Able to operate sump pumps, refrigerator, an interior space heater and lamp and occasionally switch a plug to use microwave or coffee maker. Very loud (need earplugs), but does extremely well on gas usage and is more than I expected for the price. Highly, highly recommended.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 142 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Nopwrinwv
from west virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent generator

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We picked up this generator the day after a big storm. We have been without power for over 3 days so far and have our well, two portable a/c units, 2 frigs, 2 freezers, several lights, convection toaster oven, a couple of fans, tv and entertainment center running on this guy. This thing is a champ, husband says he loves how easy it is. The seperate panel that tells us our load is great, and he wants to get the 8,000 model to run our washer/dryer off of. I would definately recommend this product, it has truly saved us thousands - from losing all of our frozen and refrigerated food.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 143 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
SamtheOvenGuy
from Dexter, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simply Fantastic

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It starts, it runs and has a tank big enough for 12+ hours. You'll be happy with this generator.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 144 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Chuck
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good generator

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Set up easy, started on first pull, ran my whole house including the furnace, lights, and well for a several hour test. Could not tell it was on a generator, ran everything just like power from the street. Really like the hand truck design, makes it easy to move. Quieter than a smaller generator that I borrowed. Very happy with my purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 145 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
greg
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

the product has to many problems for the money

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
returned first unit kept shutting down and fuel leaked from carb when not in use. had for about a week
2nd unit will probably be going back to won`t idle down and fuel leaks from carb when not in use. other than that runs good. for $1000.00 it shouldn`t have these problems
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 146 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Dissapointed
from Vernon, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Hard to rate since it never started.

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was so excited to start this generator. It was a gift for my wife, since we live in a rural area, and lose power very often. Since I'm currently on active duty I purchased this unit based on the reviews from other customers who claim this product was great and starts on the first or second pull. Well it did not start! So needless to say I'm not very happy with this unit.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 147 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
cap1
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

e

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to move no more flat tires 3 pulls on 1st start
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 148 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
anissan
from usa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great features

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Top quality , fit and finsh , extremely well put together, I was going to put 5***** but little noise, that is normal . Don't hesitate to purchase its worth the investment, and we love the remote monitor and controls.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 149 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Dissapointed
from Vernon, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

2nd chance!

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just received replacement unit. Generator started on 1st pull. Now will see how it works. Very happy, this product looks and feels solid.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 150 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Salvatore
from Bergen County
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Life Saver

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After the freak snow storm October 29th, we lost power so I went to HD to purchase this generator. Great buy. The removable panel is great, pull start a bit hard but its a great generator. Ran it for 18hrs and it did not skip a beat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 151 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Anonymous
from Wausau, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This unit has worked well

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Unit works well. It was shipped in good condition.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 152 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Specialized2010

Pretty good so far

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this for Sandy over the phone because it was not available online and at stores. Luckily, we didn't lose power during the storm but I went ahead and ordered the generator anyway to be prepared for any type of emergencies. This was an upgrade from the RD6800 that I sold 2 months ago because I wanted the electric start and idle down feature. After it arrived yesterday, I took my time setting it up which took me about 30 minutes. After that I started it with the electric starter and it fired up right away. I didn't even have to use the choke. I ran it with the load that I needed for 20 minutes and it ran fine. It did seem to rev up and down slightly under load for a little bit the first minute or so but stabilized the rest of the time. I hope I won't have the fuel cap issue like what these other folks experienced. I'm going to run my unit longer this weekend under load and then store it with a full tank treated gas. I really like the build quality and the look of these units.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 153 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Yotraj
from Dayton, Ohio

So Far So Good

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Provides plenty of juice for my whole house. Reasonably quiet, wish they had an add on that's make it quieter though. Having some trouble with the power guage on the front. Had them take the first one back and the replacement seems to be the same. No bar indicator of power usage as is advertised on the box. 1 pull start though and that's working great. All in all a very nice generator.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 154 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
bobd7912
from Galveston, TX

Quality Unit

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very good capacity for emergencies or remote power needs. Very sturdy and heavy(240lbs.). Needs electric start but it does start nearly first pull every time. Display is nice but difficult to read. Have not tried remote panel but nice to have if you want to isolate exhaust and noise from work area. Reasonably quiet but not as quiet as RV generator.All in all a very good unit so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 155 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
timmy
from georgia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good for a while, now wont run

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use GOOD ethanol free gas and i keep this generator in my shop. I crank it up and run an electrical appliance often. We got hit last night by a tornado, and this thing would NOT run...i will have to take it back for warranty repair...i hope to God they dont feed me a line like-well you had bad gas or something--not happy with this product
Cons: wont run
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 156 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
LGLDSR73
from Boston, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent but the major downside is....

PostedApril 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
...you cannot connect this to a Transfer Switch (unless I am overlooking something).
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 157 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
DISAPPOINTED

Very Hard to start

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just purchased unit. Can not start. Bought this product based on reviews, very disappointed.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 158 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Mark
from Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another Rigid generator with vapor lock!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this generator prior to hurricane Sandy. Luckily I did not need to use it. After hearing several reviews regarding the engine stalling during use, I decided to put mine to the test. Sure enough after about ten minutes of run time it shut down. I called Rigid and they told me it was not a gas cap issue, but to take it to a service center. I am not lugging a brand new 250 pound generator to a service center. I did however lug it back to Home Depot for a full refund. It is a shame because the Yamaha engine seems very well built. I do not know how RIDGID can release so many bad units. They must not have a Quality Assurance Department...maybe they should run each unit for five or ten minutes before sending them out to the consumer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 159 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
2Brook
from Mt Laurel, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Started right up only to stall out in 2 minutes.

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Generator started up immediately then cut out...would not restart for about 1 hour. Neighbor came over to check it out as he works with them for a living and he could not figure it out..He thought there was some kind of fuel system problem. He got it started multiple times and it would run a bit and stall. Loosened the gas cap as some suggested by that did not help...Called Home Depot to pick it up and returned it. Don't need a undependable generator that's for sure. Not interested in sending it out for service as it is BRAND NEW! Lol.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
Cons: Burns Out, defective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 160 for 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
genRevGuy

Generally good product - same problem as BadM5

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had the same problem as BadM5. I loosened the fuel cap and problem seems to have gone away. But i am not sure if it was a venting problem or if i had something in the carb that finally blew itself out. I have not really tried to run it a long time w the cap tightened to see if the problem returns but think i need to. When the cap was on it would stall out. Sometimes after 15 minutes or sometimes after 3 hours. With the cap loosened i ran it for three full days (but I turned it off each night) and had no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 6 7 8 9 10 >>