728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

For reliable Power and a great value, PowerStroke is the Generator that has it all. This 3500 Watt Portable Generator is the ideal solution for all your Recreational/Camping Needs, and it’s also powerful enough for the jobsite and emergency back-up power. With a reliable 212cc engine and 4 gallon fuel tank, this generator provides 3500 Watts of running power (4375 Surge/Starting Watts) for up to 11 hours at 50% load. This generator is also equipped with low-oil shut down to keep your engine protected, and a noise-reduced spark arrest muffler keeps the engine noise to a minimum. The easy-access control panel conveniently features (4) 20 Amp Standard Outlets and one 30 Amp RV Outlet, so this generator is ready to meet your power needs at home, work and at play. 3 years Limited Warranty.
Overall rating:
4.237 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product33 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(11)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product33 of 37reviews
Customer reviews for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Review 1 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy for the price

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Saw this generator at my local Home Depot, compared it online to others, went back to buy it. Installed the wheels and rests, added the oil, filled the tank, and it started first pull. Plugged in two air compressors, a jaws electric chain saw and a vacumn cleaner and it powered them all with no problem. Not crazy about buying something with an overseas engine, but anything with a Briggs was so much higher priced and wasn't worth the added cost for the limited use this one will get. Nice looking unit, hope it performs as well as it looks. Didn't have any 30 amp appliances to test it on, but having the 30 amp outlet and four 20 amp outlets sure is nice.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, affordable, 4 x 120v 20 amp outlets, 1 x 120v 30 amp outlet
Cons: no gauges
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The little generator that could

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little generator provided our family with some sanity during the 14 day power outage after Hurricane Sandy. After 4 days without power, my wife made it her mission to find a generator while I was at work. She called and told me she found a 3500 watt unit at Home Depot. While I wanted a 7000 watt, I told her to grab it and we'd make do. Well this little thing provided all the power we needed to run the oil burner, one full size refrigerator, many lights, and the coffee maker all at the same time! It is very fuel efficient and easy to start. It's 4 gal tank would last us about 10-12 hrs. For the price, you can't beat it! We just love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, 4350 watt surge
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Cranford, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performed well on test run

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The first thing I noticed after starting it was that is was not as noisy as other generators that I have heard (the engine exhaust was well muffled).
The manual was quite clear and made the set up easy. It started quickly and the 1500 watt load test I put on it resulted in only a 1/2 volt drop.
The three year warranty, being wheeled, and free delivery made it an excellent buy.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Littleton, MA, USA

Solid Built Generator excellent value

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This Generator has Started 2 times on the first pull after being in storage for a few weeks between tests. It is solidly built. It powered my 14.5 amp 120v electric chain saw and full sized refrigerator, gas furnace circuits with circulator motor and 3 household lights with with slight slowdown(normal) in a test. The gas tank is all steel and has a shut off valve with easy access hoses for easy draining for long term storage. The only thin this generator is missing is a gas gauge otherwise I would give it excellent ratings all over. It is as loud as a typical push lawn mower, which was not too bad as well. Instructions(included), and complete parts list are available from Powerstroke's website.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation, great clalaspable hauling handle
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like an insurance policy

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Past power outages have ruined a chest freezer full of food a couple of times. I bought this generator because it had a good wattage rating for the price. I only ran it once on the day I received it. It was easy to start and it had no trouble keeping several devices running, including the freezer. The only cheep feeling component is the choke lever. I plan to treat it gently. The instructions for emptying the gas were confusing. I was uncomfortable with dismantling critical gas lines in order to get all of the gas out. I’m not sure how other generators accomplish this. I just siphoned the excess gas out of the tank and ran the engine until the lines were empty. That took about 15 minutes.
Pros: Easy to Use
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Wothless

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this (Dec 21, 2013) as it was the only one with an RV receptacle already on it, and it was sized right. I installed wheels, oil, etc. Fired it up and it ran what I thought extremely quiet and smooth. Plugged in an electric heater, and a couple of other items, powered them up great. I always try to run equipment on a monthly basis to make sure it runs with no problems.
We had a bad storm and the power went out, so I said, ok now, let's try this baby out. Fired it up, plugged in a couple of cords and nothing. Would not power up anything. Pushed all the resets and still nothing. Finally gave up, turned it off and put it away. Spent the next 8 hrs in the dark. Called Powerstroke to get a repair facility which is Norther Tool, which is a 45 minute drive each way. Took it to them on March 11, 2014. It has been there till today June 8, 2014. Still unrepaired, and the store manager said that there is no information on the repair ticket. I hope I can get it repaired somewhere as Norther Tool did not come through with the repair. I will see what Powerstroke has to say about it. But so far, I can not nor will not recommend one to anybody.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, rv receptacle
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from quebec
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

incredible engine

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I LIVE I N Canada,province of quebec....
-30 degres celcius pull the rope 4 times and this fabulous machines Runs!!!!!
I am very happy...because the storm cause electrical shut down for many hours.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PowerStroke3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have only had the generator for month however is has been used constantly, in saying this obviously we cannot state anything concerning long term durability.
Our various uses: RV electric and miscellaneous power tools.
It is small (enough to move easily and store in the RV) and only holds enough gas to power the RV for 12 hours so you do have to haul fuel when camping.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HURRICANE SANDY

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WOW i was skeptical of its quality an such, but WOW was i wrong. here in the northeast with no power for days on end, this was a god send. its a lil noisy but who cares, it ran my house at better then stated 4 gallons for 11 hours, i got 15 lil more. on sites we use generators all the time, this performed just as well for more bang for the buck. i'm impressed
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Ms
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best buy for price

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Runs the AC and refrigerators on my travel trailer as stated on box
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Upstate New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great value for the price

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this generator to power my camper. I've only used it once but it worked great. It is loud but not as loud as I thought it would be. The wheels are kind of cheesy but I'm not using it for work so they should be fine. The bottom line is that you can't beat the price. It was $50 cheaper than my next choice for a 4000W minimum unit. I plugged in the camper and turned on everything I could to try it out. It powered it all and the compact size with the handle folded down is great. It fits in the bed of my pickup under the tonneau cover. So far, so good as long as it lasts...
Pros: Compact, good value
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Jackson, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

affordable quality

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received the generator via UPS on friday and set it up sat. Added oil, gas and ONE pull later (in 22 degree temps) it was running. I ran it for about 10 minutes before loading it to test it out. All the oulets worked and I ran a 12 amp chainsaw on one outlet and a 12 amp leaf blower on the other at the same time just to test it. I used the chainsaw to cut some tree branches and the wife used the leaf blower to blow the powdered snow off the deck. I ran it for 40 minutes (using 24 of the 29 amps) and it never even hiccuped. so far so good. Hopefully it does that well when it's really needed. Oh, and it is slightly quieter then my B&S engine lawn mower.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Generator for the price

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased the PowerStroke generator for running my chop saw and portable table saw on my land to build a fence on an outparcel. Could not ask for a better performing generator for the money! Only con is the generator does not have a 240v outlet. Still, an excellent 120v performer!
Al
Holden Beach, NC
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Commack, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good...

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Picked this up yesterday. As i was walking in somebody was returning it (un-opened, they got their power back on by the time they got home). Set up took less than 5 mins started on the 1st pull. Running most everything I’m throwing at it (including my wife’s hair dryer). Gas consumption seems pretty good. Came with oil but they include a can to top it off. Its little loud (most open frame generators are) I have an older Honda 2200 and that’s a bit quieter. I can’t speak for the longevity of this generator. For $60 i picked up the 3 year protection plan from Home Depot as I'm not super comfortable with the longevity of Chinese products. But in the end a 3500 for $350 is a super deal.
Pros: Nice Design, Easy Installation
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Lee's Summit, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Affordable and powerful

PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this product. I use it to lift my boat lift and it seems great a little heavy but overall pleased....
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Westchester, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good power

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got thru Sandy with this machine. Powered oil heat/hot water (4 Taco 007 circ pumps, not all at once) easy to wire to boiler. Ran Fios box for tv, Internet, cfl lights 14 watt recommended. Could have done fridge but food already spoiled, if unsure, Count start watts and power off oil burner if House is warm, plug in fridge. Cons: need transmission funnel (10" hose attached) for oil port
Pros: Easy Installation, Powerful, easy start, quiet compared to my neighbors, wheels ok not great
Cons: oil port difficult, gas pet cock removal instr wrong must be on then, push thru generator housing
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Hendersonville, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good value great design

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I researched several portable generators for home use in emergency situations. The power force unit I purchased is a good balance between price and features. I like the hand cart design that makes it easy to move the generator around. It's compact design allows easy storage and the reserve power for start up should meet my emergency power needs.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no gas guage
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Second Mesa, Arizona
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

B&S not what it used to be, but it'll get you through in a pinch

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I would have bought this sooner if the HD website had accurately depicted the connections. This model DOES have the 30-amp connection for a camper.
I have been able to economize fuel efficiency by leaving the hot water heater off (only turning on when I need it). My experience is in the summer with the AC and other high use items (like a standup freezer), one 4-gallon tank lasted 8 hours. Now in the winter the 4-gallon tank lasts me 16 or more hours (using electric blankets and a 750-watt space heater). The common devices used in both scenarios are refrigerator, 50-inch LED TV, entertainment system, printer, laptop, desktop, DVD player, charging cell phone, charging power pack, etc.
The generator was more difficult to assemble than the Champion (but still falls in the easy category). It is slightly quieter than the Champion. It is also slightly taller than the Champion, sticks up above the bed in my F250. This generator has wheels and a little handle (which could be longer to be useful). I was able to lift this generator (empty) in to and out of my pickup.
HOWEVER: My experience with this model from B&S is that they are of very poor quality. One problem is that the air intake vibrates off and I have to keep installing successively larger washers to keep it in place. Plus I've had 3 quit in exactly the same manner: they begin by leaking oil around the seal and within a matter of days to weeks, they seize up, even with proper oil changes & fluid level. Having said that, the 1rst B&S that I bought, and subsequently returned, was refurbished by the Tool Department in store. When I returned the 3rd B&S, I re-purchased the 1rst one- rebuilt. This B&S began leaking oil in the same manner after 3 days; yet after 4 weeks of off & on use, it is still running. That's why I say this one will get you through in a pinch, and I would recommend having one for the occasional natural disaster/emergency. But I really can't recommend it for reliable use.
Personally, I bought a 2,600 watt inverter generator by Lifan through another outlet (for only $729, in store). I'm done dealing with B&S & HD on this issue. Even though HD has been good about refunding money, the stress of having to drive 216 miles round trip after working an 8-hour shift, and being without power with no notice is not without cost.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best value around.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I shopped new and used (pawn shops, craigslist, etc). By far the nicest, best valued portable generator I found. Set up was easy, starting - just two pills and I was off and running. Primarily used to power my RV travel trailer, I continue to find other uses as well. Good warranty and good value overall.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3,500-Watt 212 cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Sunrise, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has great features

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product has great features This product has great features This product has great features This product has great features
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>