728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

For reliable power and a great value, PowerStroke is the brand that has it all. This PowerStroke Portable Generator features a reliable 212cc engine and delivers 3500 Running Watt (4375 Starting Watt) for up to 10 hrs at 50% load. Featuring a hand truck frame design with 9 in. flat-free wheels this generator is easy to transport. For added convenience, this unit is also equipped with low-oil shut down and automatic Voltage regulator for cleaner, more reliable power. The easy access control panel conveniently features four 120-Volt 20-Amp standard outlets and one 120-Volt 30-Amp RV outlet making this generator ready to meet your power needs at home, work and at play. All backed by a 3-Year Unit, 2-Year Engine Warranty.
Overall rating:
4.176 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product43 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(30)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Features 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product43 of 49reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Review 1 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The little generator that could

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This little generator provided our family with some sanity during the 14 day power outage after Hurricane Sandy. After 4 days without power, my wife made it her mission to find a generator while I was at work. She called and told me she found a 3500 watt unit at Home Depot. While I wanted a 7000 watt, I told her to grab it and we'd make do. Well this little thing provided all the power we needed to run the oil burner, one full size refrigerator, many lights, and the coffee maker all at the same time! It is very fuel efficient and easy to start. It's 4 gal tank would last us about 10-12 hrs. For the price, you can't beat it! We just love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, 4350 watt surge
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Edmonton
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Strong Generator!!!

PostedJune 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this generator to power my 25' fifth wheel trailer. Has the 30 amp plug on the generator.
Started this generator up plugged in my camper, turned on everything!!! A/C, Refrigerator, 7 lights, radio, TV, DVD player, RV Pump and microwave all at the same time and it powered it all!! very satisfied, the only reason i didn't give this full rating on features was cause it does not have a fuel level indicator. Love how easy it is to move with wheels and handle!!! would recommend this to anyone!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
Cons: no fuel indicator
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy for the price

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Saw this generator at my local Home Depot, compared it online to others, went back to buy it. Installed the wheels and rests, added the oil, filled the tank, and it started first pull. Plugged in two air compressors, a jaws electric chain saw and a vacumn cleaner and it powered them all with no problem. Not crazy about buying something with an overseas engine, but anything with a Briggs was so much higher priced and wasn't worth the added cost for the limited use this one will get. Nice looking unit, hope it performs as well as it looks. Didn't have any 30 amp appliances to test it on, but having the 30 amp outlet and four 20 amp outlets sure is nice.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, affordable, 4 x 120v 20 amp outlets, 1 x 120v 30 amp outlet
Cons: no gauges
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Harrison,Oh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 strikes

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered this generator to my local store. When I went to pick it up, the box was pretty damaged. I should have inspected it in the store but, I gave them the benefit of the doubt. Turns out. Instruction manual was missing, wheels were missing and a breather tube was broken off. Returned and re ordered. Went to pick up new one and opened in store. Same breather tube is broken off. Asked for a refund on the spot. Went elsewhere and bought a different brand.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Bowling Green, Kentucky
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Best Generator for the Price

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great little generator, easy setup and even on a cold day, starts with one easy pull. Liked it so much I went and bought one for a family member. The only negative thing I would have to say is the starting lever which sets the choke is made of plastic and is rather long and has a lot of flex in it. Over time I'm not sure if it might fail over time. You cant beat this generator. Never seen one like it that starts this easy with one pull, in the dead of winter when it is 20 degrees outside.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Buffalo Narrows, Saskatchewan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great purchase

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great little generator, I'm at half load +/- and using ~1 gallon for 4 hours... It's noise level at 40' is 71dba, and I can live with that, but definitely wouldn't take it to a provincial park! The wheels are for pavement or packed path, could have been a bit more clearance, but overall great purchase.
Pros: All In One
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from The Woodlands, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Generator

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this for power outages and has worked well so far. Just add the oil and gas, put the choke on and in 2 or 3 pulls starts right up. When you are done using it if there is still gas in it, you want to start it up turn the fuel knob to off and let it run till it dies. This gets all the gas out of the carb and then any gas in the tank needs to emptied after about 3 months. The wheels are a major plus easy to move around and store.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Littleton, MA, USA

Solid Built Generator excellent value

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This Generator has Started 2 times on the first pull after being in storage for a few weeks between tests. It is solidly built. It powered my 14.5 amp 120v electric chain saw and full sized refrigerator, gas furnace circuits with circulator motor and 3 household lights with with slight slowdown(normal) in a test. The gas tank is all steel and has a shut off valve with easy access hoses for easy draining for long term storage. The only thin this generator is missing is a gas gauge otherwise I would give it excellent ratings all over. It is as loud as a typical push lawn mower, which was not too bad as well. Instructions(included), and complete parts list are available from Powerstroke's website.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation, great clalaspable hauling handle
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Edmonton, AB. Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very good low priced generator

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great little machine. Only problem so far is that you have to remove the wheel to use the 30 amp receptacle. All 30 amp rv extension cord are made with a 90 degree male end. Would really like to find a straight 30 amp 3 prong male end but no luck so far.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Deep South
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not bad, not too bad at all

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I needed a generator to replace the Champion which seems to have sprouted feet and left... stolen! I've been up in the air whether or not to purchase another Champion unfortunately ran out of time and had to buy another. Yeah, not too bad... it starts easy, not so heavy as to stop me from putting it in the back of the pickup and muscle it around and it pulls the full 30 amp load without issue...
Not too bad.... not too bad at all!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: don't have any
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like an insurance policy

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Past power outages have ruined a chest freezer full of food a couple of times. I bought this generator because it had a good wattage rating for the price. I only ran it once on the day I received it. It was easy to start and it had no trouble keeping several devices running, including the freezer. The only cheep feeling component is the choke lever. I plan to treat it gently. The instructions for emptying the gas were confusing. I was uncomfortable with dismantling critical gas lines in order to get all of the gas out. I’m not sure how other generators accomplish this. I just siphoned the excess gas out of the tank and ran the engine until the lines were empty. That took about 15 minutes.
Pros: Easy to Use
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Everywhere
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love it

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A little noise but they are have that. Starts easy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from tennessee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best generator for RV

PostedJune 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I wanted a generator for dry camping as we have a 35' camper with 30AMP service. I tried the Champion 3500/4000 watt unit, not bad but struggled. Then I tried a Generac 3300, this unit has a 14AMP breaker! What the heck, all you can run is you A/C. Well took both of the back and got htis unit and it has a 30AMP breaker! You can run most of the camper while being in the field for a day or 2. Hope this helps. Just wish it had a fuel guage, amp meter and hour meter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lousy warranty

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I would recommend this generator for someone who might use it on occasion. I use mine at remote camping sites that have no other power available. I liked this one for the fact it had a 30 amp RV plug built in. I have run this unit for hours on end, sometimes 48-72 constantly only shutting off to refuel. I purchased because of the warranty listed on the box. The packaging is misleading though. On the box it states 3 year warranty. Well, open up the users manual and read the warranty details. I read and found out that basically nothing is covered??? Took mine in for engine work and my shop couldn't locate any supplier with the parts that were needed. Needless to say I paid $50.00 for them to tell me they couldn't fix it.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, fuel efficient
Cons: Not Durable, lousy warranty, cannot find repair parts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HURRICANE SANDY

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
WOW i was skeptical of its quality an such, but WOW was i wrong. here in the northeast with no power for days on end, this was a god send. its a lil noisy but who cares, it ran my house at better then stated 4 gallons for 11 hours, i got 15 lil more. on sites we use generators all the time, this performed just as well for more bang for the buck. i'm impressed
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Jackson, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

affordable quality

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I received the generator via UPS on friday and set it up sat. Added oil, gas and ONE pull later (in 22 degree temps) it was running. I ran it for about 10 minutes before loading it to test it out. All the oulets worked and I ran a 12 amp chainsaw on one outlet and a 12 amp leaf blower on the other at the same time just to test it. I used the chainsaw to cut some tree branches and the wife used the leaf blower to blow the powdered snow off the deck. I ran it for 40 minutes (using 24 of the 29 amps) and it never even hiccuped. so far so good. Hopefully it does that well when it's really needed. Oh, and it is slightly quieter then my B&S engine lawn mower.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Upstate New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great value for the price

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this generator to power my camper. I've only used it once but it worked great. It is loud but not as loud as I thought it would be. The wheels are kind of cheesy but I'm not using it for work so they should be fine. The bottom line is that you can't beat the price. It was $50 cheaper than my next choice for a 4000W minimum unit. I plugged in the camper and turned on everything I could to try it out. It powered it all and the compact size with the handle folded down is great. It fits in the bed of my pickup under the tonneau cover. So far, so good as long as it lasts...
Pros: Compact, good value
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Wothless

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this (Dec 21, 2013) as it was the only one with an RV receptacle already on it, and it was sized right. I installed wheels, oil, etc. Fired it up and it ran what I thought extremely quiet and smooth. Plugged in an electric heater, and a couple of other items, powered them up great. I always try to run equipment on a monthly basis to make sure it runs with no problems.
We had a bad storm and the power went out, so I said, ok now, let's try this baby out. Fired it up, plugged in a couple of cords and nothing. Would not power up anything. Pushed all the resets and still nothing. Finally gave up, turned it off and put it away. Spent the next 8 hrs in the dark. Called Powerstroke to get a repair facility which is Norther Tool, which is a 45 minute drive each way. Took it to them on March 11, 2014. It has been there till today June 8, 2014. Still unrepaired, and the store manager said that there is no information on the repair ticket. I hope I can get it repaired somewhere as Norther Tool did not come through with the repair. I will see what Powerstroke has to say about it. But so far, I can not nor will not recommend one to anybody.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, rv receptacle
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from quebec
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

incredible engine

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I LIVE I N Canada,province of quebec....
-30 degres celcius pull the rope 4 times and this fabulous machines Runs!!!!!
I am very happy...because the storm cause electrical shut down for many hours.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3,500-Watt 212cc Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great quality

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The fold down handle and wheels make it easy to move. Easy start. Reasonably quiet operation. Worth the price. Very satisfied with it. I would like to have a volt meter and hour meter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features, needs a volt meter and hour meter
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>