728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Compressors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor

30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor

Husky Ultra-Quiet 30-Gal. compressor contains a cast iron, V-twin cylinder, oil-lubricated pump features 1-piece cast iron crankcase, thermally stable cast iron cylinder body, aluminum head and machined cast iron valve plate, automotive style ball bearings, and durable stainless steel reed valve. The compressor is ultra-quiet with a 74.7 dB sound rating. Compressor has a heavy duty induction motor for maximum performance and efficiency. 135 Max psi for optimum tool performance.
Overall rating:
4.073 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product34 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(12)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product34 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
Review 1 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
from South New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased so far.

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced a 25 year old sears craftsman air compressor with this.I will use for what I would call lite duty "garage" work. First hats off to my local homedepot I ordered it came in a little over a week very pleasant buying experience. Only two real dislikes are cheap gauges and having to install a ball valve for the drain, the drain valve is a must for easy access it's no big deal but it would be nice if it came with the unit. Unboxed ready to run, did the 20 minute break in changed the oil all though it did not look that bad. I like the bigger tank had a 20 gallon and really like the space saving vertical design. Looks nice in the black theme, pneumatic wheels are nice to absorb with the rubber feet vibration. Very quiet running for a aircompressor, if your in the market take a look at this husky 30 gallon compressor decent price for what you get.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: needs better gauges, had to add a ball valve drain
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice compressor

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just received this compressor, but its very sturdy, runs quiet, and is powerful...I took a while to decide on this compressor because I was looking at the Dewalt oiless compressor...but I read bad things about it and I wasn't so sure about an oiless life span...
I unboxed this, checked the oil...which it had, but I couldn't tell cause the factory worker overfilled it...I drained the oil, put fresh in, and ran it for 20 min as per break in procedure...I also added a ball valve to drain water, instead of the stock drain, just makes it easier to reach!...When I ran it to cut off, it stops at 150pis...I listened for any leaks, and sprayed a soapy solution on all air fittings, and all was good...I'm very pleased thus far!!...If after use I find any issues, I'll re submit another review...
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Solid Compressor, Good Value

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great compressor for the $$$. It has adequate tank storage combined with it's CFM ratings to supply air for my small shop mostly doing automotive work. I shopped around and did alot of research before buying this unit. I like others had to replace my failing oiless model and wished to no longer be forced to listen to the awful racket that they make. This compressor runs quiet as most belt driven units do, no problem staying in the garage while its running. I ran the break in procedure and although not required, I highly suggest you change the oil once that is complete. Mine was very dirty after break in. I also had an oil leak coming from the sight glass. I simply removed it, cleaned it and applied a thin layer of RTV black around it's flange. The leak has since disappeared. One final note, it's advertised as a 1.6HP compressor. The data plate on my motor shows that in fact it is really a 2HP unit.
Pros: Durable, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Mountain Home, AR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Compressor for the money!!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The compressor is made with quality and durability. It holds pressure when using a blowgun. The cast iron pump is quiet along with the motor. I run the break in process and then changed the oil. It had metal flakes in the oil. Due to break in. The unit is easy to handle and transport. I did replace the drain with a ball valve. It makes it easier to drain. Great buy for the money. I see years of use to come!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Utah
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Compressor

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great air compressor. Much more quiet than the compressors that do not have a belt drive. The tank completely fills in 5 minutes. I searched around online for every comparable compressor and this one seemed to be the best.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Compressor for the Money

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great compressor for the money. I researched a lot and found that this is the best for working in the garage. Couple of things to be aware of. 1st, make sure that the oil is changed after the break-in procedure. I went to a local auto store and talk in detail to one of the tool guru's and he gave me a bottle of 30 weight Non-detergent oil. He said that will do the trick. 2nd thing, the sight glass will make you wonder if all the oil is drained out, be careful, the compressor is tilted a little forward making it look like it isn't empty, What I did was drain the oil into a clear plastic bottle and made sure about 10 oz oil oil came out. then I refilled the oil with exactly 10 oz of the 30 weight. Works great. The only thing I'll change is the petcock at the bottom of the tank to drain the water. Its rather hard to get too.. I'll post my idea with pictures later. Good compressor so far.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Quiet, builds pressure quickly
Cons: petcock location hard to get too
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor

Top Shot

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After owning several compressors in the past, this was one of the better decisions I've made. It is so quiet I can't believe it. Recharge time is about 6 minutes. I use it mostly for automotive painting. Small parts and it never drains below 100 PSI.
The only thing I recommend is replacing the drain with a 1/4 inch ball valve for easier reach when draining. They are in the same Isle as the compressor accessories. I highly recommend this product.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Portable?

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Much heavier than the 22 gallon it replaced. Don't even think of getting it into the truck by yourself. Leaked from every joint but was able to tighten them, also a pin point leak in the welded coin where the gauges go. It is so small I decided to ignore it rather than take the compressor back. It is quieter than the air cooled one I had before and puts out almost enough to do light sandblasting without a full tank. Manual states you can run it without stopping but suggests only running at 50%. Only one hose connection and it points to the side. Hard to reach drain which I hope to replace. Pretty good compressor for the price.
Pros: Strong, quiet (not whisper quiet)
Cons: Limited Features, Too Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor

I would not suggest

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased 2 of these. The first one was return because it kept over heating. The oil was checked all connections were correct. The second unit worked great for a week then a metal piece broke and flew out of the belt drive area on top.
Pros: home depot return easily
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well made

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
as long as you don't expect an ultraquiet compressor,it's a quality item - cast iron, even the pulleywheel and the v-twin design ensure adaquate cooling and longevity. done the running-in procedure and now the oil stays nice and clean,which can be observed in the level-window. no airleak right out of the box. pneumatic wheels help moving it. plugs into walloutlet,never had to get a different fuse...very happy with it....well,until maybe oneday,they come out with a really ultraquit one ;-)
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

3 lemons in a row

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1 star for poor build quality on 3 separate units. 4 stars for the value if you get a unit that is past the infant mortality stage (I didn't).
Would not recommend.
Pros: "ultra quiet" V-twin pump design. Two separate cylinders with separate air intakes and filters means a quieter pump that stays cooler and lasts longer than an inline two cylinder pump. The unit came with full oil, nice. The wheels are nice and squishy, making it easy to move. During pump break-in, I found it to be smooth and quiet. Started fine on 120V 20A breaker line in 45F air temp, ran 20 min pump break-in normally.
Cons: When I checked for leaks using the soapy-water test on the air fittings per the manual, I found a leak from the threads of the large brass brass fitting that screws into the top of the tank to deposit air from the pump. There were a large number of threads exposed. I tried to tighten this slightly but it's very hard to do that without disassembling the whole thing. Decided to return to the store and exchange for a better assembled unit. Another unit was wheeled out from the back with missing or broken parts (breather tube, air filter). I assume it was a returned item and asked for another one The third unit had fewer threads showing on the fitting at the top of the tank which might mean it would pass a leak check. However, the copper pipe between the two cylinders had a tack-welded heat sink with most of the welds broken. That makes the heatsink useless due to lack of good thermal contact. No other units were in stock so at this point I gave up and canceled the purchase.
Another gripe: the drain valve on the bottom of tank is a small knurled knob that is difficult to turn by hand. Should have made this a wingnut or petcock type instead. This can be replaced so it's not as big of a deal.
Conclusion: The side of the tank says "Assembled in USA". From this experience, that phrase does not instill much confidence.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
from La Porte, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good compressor

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Much quiter than my other oil-less compressor. I've only used this one for a couple of months now. If any issues I will report. The only thing that I was not very impressed with was the water drain on the bottom is not very user friendly. So I added a 90 and put on a stainless breaded hose with a small 90 ball valve and set the thing on a couple of 2x6's. ahh much better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Adairsville, GA 30103, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does the job.

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got this unit after my old one bit the dirt. I cannot believe the noise level verses a oil less unit. I mean really quite but it does take up a little space. Over all a good deal for all I needed it for.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, quite
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Mooresville, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Knocking Home Depot.

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is an update to my product review titled "Knock Knock". After calling the manufacturer and reviewing the situation, CH recommended bringing the unit back to the Home Depot where I bought the first one. This time, we ran the pump in the break-in mode for an hour, checked the oil, changed it and then allowed the compressor to fully charge up.
After cycling it several times in use, there was no knock and it ran great. We checked the system for pressure leaks and found none. This compressor did not get overly warm during the break-in time, as the other one did. Also the oil darkened a little, but not a lot. To be safe, we just changed it out anyway. A couple of bucks for fresh oil is a small investment. The replacement oil is still light and clear after 8 hours of use.
I can't say enough about the service at the Home Depot store. They did their best to make up for the first experience. We made sure to have all the parts, manuals and replacement oil we would need before we left the store this time.
This certainly makes up for the problems we had with the first compressor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: break in instructions not cautious enough.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
from new jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

30gallon air compressor

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my 1st review ever. The compressor works. Some other reviewer complain about the fitting leaking. If you cannot fix the fitting , you should not buy a compressor for anything!My leaked so I fix it.I have been a auto tech for over 30 years in a chevy dealer.All machines are not perfect just like people.And people like to complain. Just fix it and keep on working. Thank-You
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, it works like a compressor
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Austin Tx USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good compressor, small footprint, good pressure recovery

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Only had for one week. Would recommend that you change the oil in the compressor after the break-in period. My oil was quite dirty and black after just 25 minutes of use, Also had flakes of black material suspended in the oil. Time to build up to cut off pressure from 0 lbs was about 6 minutes. Time to buildup to cut off from 100 lbs about 1.25 minutes.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great compressor

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just did the 20 min break in.Filled the tank and reached 148psi in 6.00 min,I am impressed with it and I think that it makes around 6 cfm/min not what is rated at.Make sure you replace the oil after the break in.
Pros: Durable
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor

So far so good

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this for about a month and so far its been a pretty good compressor. I do mobile paint and body and Im constantly running my DA sanders or spraying and it keeps up pretty well. Ive had 2 of the Dewalt 15 gallon oil less compressors and both popped after about 7-8 months. This compressor is really quite also which is a major plus.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Fenton, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product work great

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this for impacts, nail guns, air ratchet etc. Never had a problem. Only thing I found to have a problem is the oil plug leaks a little
Pros: All In One
 
Products related to my review
 
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30-Gal. Ultra-Quiet Portable Electric Air Compressor
from Mooresville, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Knock Knock

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Compressor would have been perfect for my new shop. Unfortunately, it was not set up at the store properly, there were parts missing, that forced us to return to the store for a second time to get it set up.
Followed the break-in instructions to the letter, and even changed the oil after break-in which was not required. Oil added at the store was in the proper level and it was refilled to exactly the same mark at the top of the red dot before we started to use it.
It went through the first cycle after break-in perfectly and worked for the second cycle too. Then the pump started knocking when pressure exceeded 110 PSI. on the third cycle.
We installed a dedicated 20 amp 115V circuit for this and had no motor stall or circuit trip issues, but there is no way we could have foreseen this pump knock. We made a special trip to Home Depot for this purchase and now have to weigh the value of driving all the way back again to either trade this in or just return it.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, lousy pump design, improper set up at the store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-3points
13out of 29found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>