728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Compressors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor

20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor

Husky 20-Gal. compressor features a powerful 1.5 HP induction motor and oil-free pump that delivers up to 150 max psi and 4 SCFM at 90 psi. High quality, extended life motor windings equate to 3 times longer life than comparative products. Fully enclosed shroud protects the motor and pump components.
Overall rating:
3.694 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(72 reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product54 of 70reviews
Rating Breakdown 72 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(19)
3
(9)
2
(3)
1
(12)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product54 of 70reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
Review 1 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
MikeG
from Mountlake Terrace, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Husky 20 GAL Portable Air Compressor is Awesome!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The features are a huge plus for me especially since the unit is oil-less. It's easy to move about and takes up a very small footprint compared to my old craftsman compressor. The maintenance for this compressor is almost non-existent with the only thing to remember is drain the tank from time to time. It doesn't take forever to fill to full as some people have mentioned (probably use to a larger model etc.) It is louder than an oil fill unit but that is to be expected with minimal lubrication but it surely shouldn't be a drawback unless you intend to use indoors and that is pretty unlikely. The customer service was excellent as, as soon as I walked up to the service desk, I was waited on almost immediately and helped by Kyle the store manager of all staff! What a pleasant purchase online and the pickup - they even had a staff person help me lift the unit in to the back of my Escape!! I keep my new "baby" in the storage room of the house when not using it. I have to create a secure location in the carport so is doesn't disappear :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, color is black and goes with any garage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
nivek

What will you be using it for?

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using this compressor constantly with a number of tools and have not had an issue. The true question you have to ask yourself is what will you be using this for? And making sure that the compressor matches with the the amount of air scfm the tools requires to operate good. Also, be sure to read the instruction manual before using. Things like draining the valve under it every hour can go a long way.
What have i used this for?
I recently painted a whole 4x4 short bed Nissan truck. Now i knew that a 20gal compressor was not going to keep up with painting the whole truck at one cycle so i painted sections at a time and then like the compressor refill to insure i had the recommended 40psi going through my Husky HVLP. The results where beautiful. I couldnt be happier knowing i spent 160 on this compressor. Below are the estimated continuous run times before the compressors starts to loss the tools recommended psi scfm due to not cycling fast enough to keep up.
Husky Gravity feed HVLP- 3min @40psi
Husky DA Sander- 2min @ 100psi
Husky Air Blow Gun- 1min @100psi
Harbor Frieght 3'' cutter- 2min @ 60psi
Iwata Airbrush- For every @30psi
Again, this compressor will not keep up for large projects such as painting a car. But it is possible if you do it in sections and have patience waiting for it to refill with air.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
ThisOldGarageNJ
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Deal For the $$$$$

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Husky 20 Gal compressor gives the
appearance monstrous unit...Its not monstrous but its
a terrific deal for the money spent.
The Machine came very well packed assuring no damage
during shipping.
After unpacking and making sure all valves
and drains were closed I plugged it into a
dedicated 20 amp GFCI receptacle line I have in my shop.
(the reason I use a GFCI is the plug is often used
for outdoor work)
Turning on the compressor I then turned the valve to
80 psi and put on my 50 foot hose with a splitter on
the end, then a
addidional 2-25 ft lines on the splitter and attached
2 air nailers.
With my assistant, we worked on my custom fence I'm
building around my back yard, Both Nailing at the same
time. Nailing through 1/2 - 1 inch strips of Pressure
treated wood.
Initial fill took about 6-9 minutes and with the 2
nailers working it cycled about every 30 minutes
and Worked Flawlessly throughout the day.
Next test was my 3 Inch air angle grinder. Setting the
pressure gauge to 70 psi(its a 4 C.F.M unit) I could run about
15 min betweencompressor cyclings. Getting plenty of
air to the tool.
The small upright size makes it take up less room
in the garage, while still light enough to roll to my truck
and lift it in the back for moving to a jobsite..
A test with my sound meter showed it produced 70 Db at 10 feet
in an enclosed space, Not really noisy compared to others on the
market. My smaller 4 gallon pancake compressor came in at 85 Db
(hearing loss begins at 80 Db of continuos Noise)
A quick search on the web also showed that the Husky unit is
manufactured for HD by Campbell Hausfeld, A very reputable name
in compressors.
Overall I would give this compressor a great rating for anything
from blowing out sprinkler lines to medium use air tools for the
homeowner/handyman/home mechanic.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, minor assembly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+36points
37out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
MarilynB
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT AIR COMPRESSOR, WORKS PERFECTLY!!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This air compressor arrived very well packaged, double boxed with foam padding in between each box. The only assembly that was required was to attach the wheels with the bolts/nuts provided. Even though the tank has a wholesome weight, the rubber wheels make it very easy to move it around (and I only weigh a few pounds more than it does!). The rubberized grip on the handle is a nice feature too. It appears to be a well made piece of equipment with a heavy-duty cord. It stands 38" tall and the width across the wheels is about 18".
Although I am familiar with using an air compressor, I would have liked to see the instructions include more information for a first-time owner. For example, they do not explain for a novice what additional items are needed for use. I was happy to find that the 1/4" plug and fittings that we have for our smaller compressor will also work with this one, although I probablly will purchase a longer hose than the one we have on that one.
The manual tells you to tip the tank forward to drain, but the drain is not as shown - it is in the center of the curved bottom -no need to tip the tank, simply turn the knob on the drain. There is no mention of the air filter, which I have shown in my photos. (The soft rubber cap slips off to reveal a block of foam which can be cleaned or replaced easily).
After plugging it in, it took 7 minutes to fill the 20 gallon tank. Of course there is some noise, which is to be expected, but not excessive -and I even tested it in my small laundry room.
Everything works perfectly, there are no leaks and the gauges work as expected. One of things I always use air for is to clean the garden tractors after mowing, so the larger tank will be appreciated. I feel this air compressor is well worth the asking price and I am impressed with its performance.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, good quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+36points
39out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
JimmyDIY
from Logan, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well and has great features, very loud

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned many air compressors over the years but this is the first Husky and the first larger compressor I've owned. The Husky 20 Gallon Air Compressor is a stout air compressor that works very well.
The features I really like about this 20 gallon compressor are:
-Holding 20 gallons of air means the motor runs less than smaller models
-The 1.5 HP motor has the power to fill the compressor without struggling; although it takes a while
-The stout motor is oil-free and has no belts so maintenance will be minimal
-Thick rubber tires and leg pads absorb most vibration
-Large tires make transporting the compressor over uneven ground easy even though it is a big, heavy compressor
-The hand grip on the handle is noticeably comfortable
-The easy to read gauges indicate your psi level at a quick glance
-The pressure adjustment knob is large and red which makes it easy to find and use
-The power switch is located on the top right of the shroud with is convenient and it is also red which makes it easy to find
Although the compressor has a lot of great features, there is an area that can be improved upon; this thing is loud! If you are using it in a garage while you work, you have to discontinue conversation until the compressor motor stops running.
I plan to move this compressor to an insulated room in my basement and run an air hose to the garage. This will free up space in my garage and help minimize noise.
This is a great compressor that I plan to use for many years. Just be prepared for the noise output. I would recommend this product based on the noise consideration.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
18out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor

Good economical air compressor

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The air compressor does everything as advertised. It is a good size and the handle and wheels make it very portable. The only cons are that it is loud and takes a while to fill up. I wouldn't expect it to fill up instantly but I've noticed that it takes longer than other 20 gallon compressors. The noise level also seems to higher than comprable 20 gallon compressors. All and all it has been good so far for a house hold unit. I like the easy-to-grip drain valve on the bottom of the tank.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: loud
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
DC34
from Arlington, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This compressor has come really handy.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't have to worry about going to a tire shop now with my new product or other things I do at home around the house as a hobby. I am going to teach my kids and cousin how to use this product in all the ways of my knowledge. I was wanting this product for so long that my wife got it for me this Christmas.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
Cutworm
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Workshop Compressor

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received the Husky compressor and put it right to work. I made a cabinet and first used it with my pneumatic stapler. The compressor only cycled once during the assembly that required about 50 staples. The real test came next. The compressor did great supplying air for my HVLP gun I used to spray finish the cabinet.
The compressor is easy to move around and balanced well. It wasn't as loud as I expected it to be. Husky did a good job with the shroud over the compressor that baffles the noise. The vertical design has a small footprint making it perfect for a small shop. The only opportunity for improvement would be a larger pressure gauge on the regulator. It's small and is a 200 psi full scale gauge making fine adjustments a little harder.
If you have a small shop or are a hobbyist this is the compressor for you.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
19out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
jbreitmun
from Osceola, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not too big but not too small!

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Husky 20 gallon air compressor is an excellent addition to my garage wood shop. It is completely portable with the built in dolly system but in my application I will be keeping it stationary. I have a smaller pancake compressor that I take on jobs but it's not always sufficient or accessible in my shop projects. I ordered the RapidAir system from Home Depot to make the transition to a fixed air system much easier. This will allow me to have three wall mounted air access ports with the room to expand. This compressor at 150 psi max and 4.0 SCFM at 90 psi is more than plenty for all my woodworking applications. And with the 20 gallon tank it will cycle much less than my pancake compressor. This of course will save on my hearing. I've used it with a few finish nailers, staplers, and even my framing nailer with outstanding results! I would say the noise of this while cycling is about average for a typical compressor of this size. The moisture drain valve on the bottom is easily accessible and is tool-less in operation. The instructions are adequate and the only assembly was bolting the wheels on. It comes in an oversized box with the product in another box. This allowed for adequate cushion protection from the shipper while in transit. Overall, I am very pleased with this Husky brand compressor from The Home Depot!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
15out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
LightningBoy67
from Miramar, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent compressor for the money.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This compressor is a pretty good choice for most most home do it yourselfers. You can use it for your basic mechanic tools for intermittent jobs, not continuous. Be careful with the CFM ratings, and make sure that this compressor is within the specifications for your tools.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: loud, extended run time when filling tank
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
PaulinCT
from Bristol, CT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad Experience, But........

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My wife purchased this for me on "Black Friday" for $150. I got it on Christmas. I opened it up and the only thing you have to do is attach the wheels with 2 bolts. Then you plug it in and turn it on. I plugged it in and it ran for about 3 minutes and then shut off. I checked the gauge and it read about 50psi. I made sure I had it set to 150psi. After a little bit, I figured out the switch on the compressor was shorting out. I brought it back to my local store and they switched it out with another one. I brought it home, opened it, and the whole plastic cover was broken into about 100 pieces. I went back again, and they switched it out for the last one they had. I had them open it in the store and plug it in to make sure it worked. So far, so good. Performs very well now with no issues so far (knock on wood!!). Good compressor for the money. Fills quick and not too loud.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Assemble
Cons: check packaging and electrical!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
Doresoom
from Harvest, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done without breaking the bank

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This air compressor is a great option if you're looking for a larger capacity compressor without spending a ton of money. I already had a 1-gallon portable compressor, but it couldn't run any serious air tools (it was only 0.9 CFM @ 90 PSI!), and it was practically worthless for blowing off my workbench or table saw. This Husky 20 gallon compressor is the perfect complement to a small portable compressor. This Husky puts out a respectable 4 CFM at 90 PSI, and 5 CFM at 40 PSI.
It's a pretty heavy piece of equipment, and I ended up cutting the box off from around it. The only assembly required was attaching the wheels, and that went pretty fast. I used a 3/4" socket and an 11/16" wrench. I'm pretty sure Husky planned different sizes for the nut and bolt so it could be assembled with a single set of wrenches. Even after the wheels were attached, this thing was pretty heavy to move across the threshold of my garage. It rolls great on smooth concrete though.
It's an oil-less compressor, so you can just plug it in and get going. The cord is beefy, but only about 6' long, which was annoying since I wanted to place it about 10' from the nearest outlet. It's easy enough to move a few feet across the garage, but it would be nice if I could just use it where it is without having to bother with it. The initial fill-up took a little over 8 minutes for the compressor to reach 150 PSI, and it cut off a little bit over at 160 PSI. It's LOUD! I'm used to running my smaller compressor in the garage with the door closed without any hearing protection. Not the case for this one. I didn't feel comfortable from across the garage without hearing protection on.
It performed pretty well for blowing sawdust off of tools and surfaces, and ran a brad nailer without any problems. Since I'm used to a smaller compressor, I don't have any higher volume air tools to really test it out on yet though. The tank holds pressure fairly well - I let it sit overnight with a full tank at 160 PSI, and it was at 155 PSI 24 hours later.
The only other feature I wish this had was a hook for looping an air hose around. The handle can act as a makeshift hose-holder, but then the hose sits right on top of the gauges. I'm a little wary of doing this, because I can just see a brass hose connector smashing the glass on the gauges if I'm not careful.
Pros: affordable, Large Capacity, Performs Well
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
Espada
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Buyer's remorse

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would recommend any other brand over this poorly designed compressor. We snapped this up after our 10 year old, pre-owned Craftsman bit the dust and it was broken within 2 weeks of purchase. Husky needs to quit lowering the bar. Avoid this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, inexpensive
Cons: Not Durable, poorly designed, broken within 2 weeks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
yogi
from Parker, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great compressor for the money

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had some trepidation about another Husky after my pancake blew up in its 2nd year and minimal use. I've had this one for 4 months and its been a pleasant surprise. It's much quieter than my pancake, seems to actually fill quicker even with a much larger tank. Build quality has been good, the wheels work very well. You can even roll it up/down stairs w/o much exertion. The drain is much easier to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: doesn't come with any connectors hose or tools
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
bigmig
from new castle, colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Compressor

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One thing to note. If you are doing things like blowing out sprinkler lines, you will need to buy a valve. This unit does not come with a line shut off valve installed.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
MrsHandyman

My husband loves this!!

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my husband for Christmas and he has been very pleased with the ability of the product to meet the needs we have. He has already used it many times on several different projects and states the amount of pressure is great and couldn't be happier.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
DRoss52
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this compressor for my garage. Have used it a couple of times with no complaints. It came out of the box in good shape, nothing damaged during shipping. It pressured up to 150# and shut down like it was supposed to. No leaks. It takes up little space being a vertical unit. It is fairly loud, but most air compressors are. All in all a good purchase so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
madmax87
from AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works good as long as your not in same room

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product performs as decribed but motor operation is extremely loud. cannot even talk in same room with it running. Box says quiet operation. Sorry, not even close.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
jimsright
from Phoenix
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Compressor for Price

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This compressor is very loud for 7 min while it fills. If you are using a tool that requires a lot of air the compressor will only be on noisy momentarily once a while based on your air needs. You can adjust the out going pressure which is really nice to fit your needs. The wheels are sturdy and rolls easily. The relief valve is on the bottom but still easy to reach.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20-Gal. Portable Air Compressor
Heavydar
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good air compressor for the price.

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Received the item quickly. It was easy to set up and use.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>