728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Compressors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor

20 gal. Portable Air Compressor

Husky 20 gal. compressor features a powerful 1.5 HP induction motor and oil-free pump that delivers up to 150 max psi and 4 SCFM at 90 psi. High quality, extended life motor windings equate to 3 times longer life than comparative products. Fully enclosed shroud protects the motor and pump components.
Overall rating:
3.683 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(123 reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product88 of 118reviews
Rating Breakdown 123 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(53)
4
(30)
3
(11)
2
(6)
1
(23)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product88 of 118reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
Review 1 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Santee, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Great middle weight air compressor

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This unit is a great upright air compressor. I particularly liked the fact the unit came with out an air hose because I could buy what I needed for my specific needs. The unit takes around 7 minutes to fill, and has a decent air flow 5.0 scfm @ 40psi & 4.0 scfm @ 90psi which is perfect for home garages, and house hold needs. The unit only requires two wheels to be put on and your up and running - I made sure I bought an air hose for my specific needs right away. The noise level isn't bad on this unit when you consider it's an air compressor- hey their loud.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Robust Air Compressor

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an excellent value air compressor. The unit is a bit heavy so you'll need help getting it home. Setup a easy. All you need is to install the wheels and your good to go. The compressor is a bit loud but bearable. It takes about 7 minutes to till to max (150psi). The compressor can do 5.0 scfm @ 40psi and 4.0 scfm @ 90psi. This enough for most household projects and air tools. Overall I am very happy with this compressor, its easy to move around, recovery rates are decent and its well made. I would recommend this to any looking for a value 20 gallon air compressor!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plenty of Air

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Couldn't ask for an easier, ready to use air compressor. The only thing I had to do was to put on the wheels, and these are no cheap wheels either. Very well made 7 inch wheels. After the wheels are on, it's ready to go. Just plug in a quick release hose and get to work. It took just under seven minutes to fill to its maximum pressure, 150 psi. Its small and easy enough to move around, if needed, and the pressure to do what I need around the house. Very well constructed. The gauges are up high and easy to read. It has a nice heavy duty cord, oil and maintenance free motor, 120v 1.5hp motor, 2 year manufacturer warranty. The weight on the label says 106lbs, but it feels lighter than that on the concrete floor. I maxed out the pressure and left it for a few days, no hose attached, and no loss of air at all. None! This is the perfect size and unit for around the house use and more. I really like this one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, install wheels and go!, airtight no leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor

not such a good purchase

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
when I first bought my compressor I loved it then 6 months later the regulator went out, after I installed a new one it worked better than ever then 4 months later it started to going down hill almost every time I went to use it, it would build up and shut off like it was suppose to but would not build pressure when it was suppose to I had to order a pressure switch for it so overall spend the little extra money and get a better brand. I love my compressor when it works but I shouldn't have to work on my compressor when it is just over a year old so husky you need to better I hope this helps everyone on there decision on this unit
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: not good quality, cheap parts, over heats
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor

What will you be using it for?

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been using this compressor constantly with a number of tools and have not had an issue. The true question you have to ask yourself is what will you be using this for? And making sure that the compressor matches with the the amount of air scfm the tools requires to operate good. Also, be sure to read the instruction manual before using. Things like draining the valve under it every hour can go a long way.
What have i used this for?
I recently painted a whole 4x4 short bed Nissan truck. Now i knew that a 20gal compressor was not going to keep up with painting the whole truck at one cycle so i painted sections at a time and then like the compressor refill to insure i had the recommended 40psi going through my Husky HVLP. The results where beautiful. I couldnt be happier knowing i spent 160 on this compressor. Below are the estimated continuous run times before the compressors starts to loss the tools recommended psi scfm due to not cycling fast enough to keep up.
Husky Gravity feed HVLP- 3min @40psi
Husky DA Sander- 2min @ 100psi
Husky Air Blow Gun- 1min @100psi
Harbor Frieght 3'' cutter- 2min @ 60psi
Iwata Airbrush- For every @30psi
Again, this compressor will not keep up for large projects such as painting a car. But it is possible if you do it in sections and have patience waiting for it to refill with air.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor

Can't keep up

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this air compressor to do home improvement projects around the house.
The first project, and the only project this compressor will see, was screwing 3" lag bolts into the ceiling trusses for ceiling shelves using an impact wrench. The first bolt may get half way into the ceiling joist before the compressor kicks on and it takes a good two minutes to drive the screw into the ceiling. By the third bolt, there is not enough air to drive the wrench. You might as well screw the fourth bolt in by hand; it's faster than waiting for the compressor to recover.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Denver CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works But Loud

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to use, nice upright position on tilt-wheels, good price, not sure on value as that's an normally an equation of price, reliability/use over time and I've only had it 2 months. It is very loud; louder than your average pneumatic compressor when running to build pressure in tank. Good enough to use for blowing out my sprinklers and using for air tools but I think I will have to build a baffling-box around this thing to make the noise more tolerable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: loud
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT AIR COMPRESSOR, WORKS PERFECTLY!!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This air compressor arrived very well packaged, double boxed with foam padding in between each box. The only assembly that was required was to attach the wheels with the bolts/nuts provided. Even though the tank has a wholesome weight, the rubber wheels make it very easy to move it around (and I only weigh a few pounds more than it does!). The rubberized grip on the handle is a nice feature too. It appears to be a well made piece of equipment with a heavy-duty cord. It stands 38" tall and the width across the wheels is about 18".
Although I am familiar with using an air compressor, I would have liked to see the instructions include more information for a first-time owner. For example, they do not explain for a novice what additional items are needed for use. I was happy to find that the 1/4" plug and fittings that we have for our smaller compressor will also work with this one, although I probablly will purchase a longer hose than the one we have on that one.
The manual tells you to tip the tank forward to drain, but the drain is not as shown - it is in the center of the curved bottom -no need to tip the tank, simply turn the knob on the drain. There is no mention of the air filter, which I have shown in my photos. (The soft rubber cap slips off to reveal a block of foam which can be cleaned or replaced easily).
After plugging it in, it took 7 minutes to fill the 20 gallon tank. Of course there is some noise, which is to be expected, but not excessive -and I even tested it in my small laundry room.
Everything works perfectly, there are no leaks and the gauges work as expected. One of things I always use air for is to clean the garden tractors after mowing, so the larger tank will be appreciated. I feel this air compressor is well worth the asking price and I am impressed with its performance.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, good quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+40points
47out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Deal For the $$$$$

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Husky 20 Gal compressor gives the
appearance monstrous unit...Its not monstrous but its
a terrific deal for the money spent.
The Machine came very well packed assuring no damage
during shipping.
After unpacking and making sure all valves
and drains were closed I plugged it into a
dedicated 20 amp GFCI receptacle line I have in my shop.
(the reason I use a GFCI is the plug is often used
for outdoor work)
Turning on the compressor I then turned the valve to
80 psi and put on my 50 foot hose with a splitter on
the end, then a
addidional 2-25 ft lines on the splitter and attached
2 air nailers.
With my assistant, we worked on my custom fence I'm
building around my back yard, Both Nailing at the same
time. Nailing through 1/2 - 1 inch strips of Pressure
treated wood.
Initial fill took about 6-9 minutes and with the 2
nailers working it cycled about every 30 minutes
and Worked Flawlessly throughout the day.
Next test was my 3 Inch air angle grinder. Setting the
pressure gauge to 70 psi(its a 4 C.F.M unit) I could run about
15 min betweencompressor cyclings. Getting plenty of
air to the tool.
The small upright size makes it take up less room
in the garage, while still light enough to roll to my truck
and lift it in the back for moving to a jobsite..
A test with my sound meter showed it produced 70 Db at 10 feet
in an enclosed space, Not really noisy compared to others on the
market. My smaller 4 gallon pancake compressor came in at 85 Db
(hearing loss begins at 80 Db of continuos Noise)
A quick search on the web also showed that the Husky unit is
manufactured for HD by Campbell Hausfeld, A very reputable name
in compressors.
Overall I would give this compressor a great rating for anything
from blowing out sprinkler lines to medium use air tools for the
homeowner/handyman/home mechanic.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, minor assembly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+49points
59out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor

Good economical air compressor

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The air compressor does everything as advertised. It is a good size and the handle and wheels make it very portable. The only cons are that it is loud and takes a while to fill up. I wouldn't expect it to fill up instantly but I've noticed that it takes longer than other 20 gallon compressors. The noise level also seems to higher than comprable 20 gallon compressors. All and all it has been good so far for a house hold unit. I like the easy-to-grip drain valve on the bottom of the tank.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: loud
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Ontario, Canada
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought the floor model, huge discount, huge worries

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought the floor model expecting to have issues, eventually. I used it sparingly for bigger projects (swapping tires, etc). A few times I tried it at the barn last year, but it didn't seem to want to work. Figured it's number was up. Took it out this year and it seemed to work for taking the tires off. Bought a nail gun for a fencing project, and ran into issues again. Went to the manual and said "wrong extension cord". Plugged it in directly, worked. Bought a heavy duty cord, and it worked. Looks like that was the issue (user error). The bottom line, it is a solid unit. No issues. No more worries. I would definitely get this again, or recommend it to someone else.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Mountlake Terrace, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Husky 20 GAL Portable Air Compressor is Awesome!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The features are a huge plus for me especially since the unit is oil-less. It's easy to move about and takes up a very small footprint compared to my old craftsman compressor. The maintenance for this compressor is almost non-existent with the only thing to remember is drain the tank from time to time. It doesn't take forever to fill to full as some people have mentioned (probably use to a larger model etc.) It is louder than an oil fill unit but that is to be expected with minimal lubrication but it surely shouldn't be a drawback unless you intend to use indoors and that is pretty unlikely. The customer service was excellent as, as soon as I walked up to the service desk, I was waited on almost immediately and helped by Kyle the store manager of all staff! What a pleasant purchase online and the pickup - they even had a staff person help me lift the unit in to the back of my Escape!! I keep my new "baby" in the storage room of the house when not using it. I have to create a secure location in the carport so is doesn't disappear :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, color is black and goes with any garage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Workshop Compressor

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I received the Husky compressor and put it right to work. I made a cabinet and first used it with my pneumatic stapler. The compressor only cycled once during the assembly that required about 50 staples. The real test came next. The compressor did great supplying air for my HVLP gun I used to spray finish the cabinet.
The compressor is easy to move around and balanced well. It wasn't as loud as I expected it to be. Husky did a good job with the shroud over the compressor that baffles the noise. The vertical design has a small footprint making it perfect for a small shop. The only opportunity for improvement would be a larger pressure gauge on the regulator. It's small and is a 200 psi full scale gauge making fine adjustments a little harder.
If you have a small shop or are a hobbyist this is the compressor for you.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
23out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Home Compressor

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Been using this compressor heavily since we got it and it works great. Really fits the bill for home use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Logan, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well and has great features, very loud

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've owned many air compressors over the years but this is the first Husky and the first larger compressor I've owned. The Husky 20 Gallon Air Compressor is a stout air compressor that works very well.
The features I really like about this 20 gallon compressor are:
-Holding 20 gallons of air means the motor runs less than smaller models
-The 1.5 HP motor has the power to fill the compressor without struggling; although it takes a while
-The stout motor is oil-free and has no belts so maintenance will be minimal
-Thick rubber tires and leg pads absorb most vibration
-Large tires make transporting the compressor over uneven ground easy even though it is a big, heavy compressor
-The hand grip on the handle is noticeably comfortable
-The easy to read gauges indicate your psi level at a quick glance
-The pressure adjustment knob is large and red which makes it easy to find and use
-The power switch is located on the top right of the shroud with is convenient and it is also red which makes it easy to find
Although the compressor has a lot of great features, there is an area that can be improved upon; this thing is loud! If you are using it in a garage while you work, you have to discontinue conversation until the compressor motor stops running.
I plan to move this compressor to an insulated room in my basement and run an air hose to the garage. This will free up space in my garage and help minimize noise.
This is a great compressor that I plan to use for many years. Just be prepared for the noise output. I would recommend this product based on the noise consideration.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
19out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not impressed yet

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Just hooked up the new air compressor to check its operation. I found two leaks after pressure build up. The pressure switch was leaking around the threads. The compressor copper discharge line to the tank was also leaking around the the compression fitting at the compressor end under the cover. I was able too tighten the fitting and also remove the pressure switch and reseal the threads. I have not noticed any other leaks as of yet. The overall operation is good and the compressor is a little quitter than I expected. I read a few posts that said that it was real noisy. I'm not ready to give up on it yet since the operation seems to be okay. I just wanted to inform anyone that is interested in this product of what I have found so far. I think I would still recommend this product for now.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: be aware of leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Virginia

OK but not reiable

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this on 12/9/2014 and today on 1/202015 the regulator valve has started to leak very bad. This item has only been used 12 to 15 times since purchased. Since it would take replacing the part I would not recommend this compressor. Also this unit is not a quiet as I had thought it would be. I had a Craftsman 20 gal before this Husky that was not as noisy when running and the Craftsman did not need any replacement parts until it was 12 years old with heavy use. I do have a small Husky 3 gallon compressor that has never given me trouble.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, air leak at regulator
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from South Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impressed with this compressor , nice upgrade from my old one.

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this compressor after my old one gave out after 10 years.
Very good upgrade , and the Price was also very good. Doing the job of the Bigger compressors for a fraction of the cost.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

great deal!

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the perfect compressor for the DIYer. While heavy, I had no problem attaching the wheels and then moving it wherever needed. The gauges are easy to read, and it took around 8 minutes to fill. It was easy to attach the hose and the valve to empty the tank when done is on the bottom.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Chillicothe, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Disappointed

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have only had this air compressor for 4 months and have used it for approx 1 hour when the compressor froze up. I had to take it to a repair authorized dealer today requiring round trip amounting to 100 miles and an 1 1/2 hrs of my time to drop it off and then repeating this in two weeks if indeed it does get repaired. Needless to say at this point I am very dissatisfied.
Pros: none
Cons: air compressor only worked for one hour
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>