728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Compressors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor

20 gal. Portable Air Compressor

Husky 20 gal. compressor features a powerful 1.5 HP induction motor and oil-free pump that delivers up to 150 max psi and 4 SCFM at 90 psi. High quality, extended life motor windings equate to 3 times longer life than comparative products. Fully enclosed shroud protects the motor and pump components.
Overall rating:
3.689 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product75 of 100reviews
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(44)
4
(25)
3
(11)
2
(4)
1
(19)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product75 of 100reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
Review 1 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Robust Air Compressor

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent value air compressor. The unit is a bit heavy so you'll need help getting it home. Setup a easy. All you need is to install the wheels and your good to go. The compressor is a bit loud but bearable. It takes about 7 minutes to till to max (150psi). The compressor can do 5.0 scfm @ 40psi and 4.0 scfm @ 90psi. This enough for most household projects and air tools. Overall I am very happy with this compressor, its easy to move around, recovery rates are decent and its well made. I would recommend this to any looking for a value 20 gallon air compressor!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plenty of Air

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Couldn't ask for an easier, ready to use air compressor. The only thing I had to do was to put on the wheels, and these are no cheap wheels either. Very well made 7 inch wheels. After the wheels are on, it's ready to go. Just plug in a quick release hose and get to work. It took just under seven minutes to fill to its maximum pressure, 150 psi. Its small and easy enough to move around, if needed, and the pressure to do what I need around the house. Very well constructed. The gauges are up high and easy to read. It has a nice heavy duty cord, oil and maintenance free motor, 120v 1.5hp motor, 2 year manufacturer warranty. The weight on the label says 106lbs, but it feels lighter than that on the concrete floor. I maxed out the pressure and left it for a few days, no hose attached, and no loss of air at all. None! This is the perfect size and unit for around the house use and more. I really like this one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, install wheels and go!, airtight no leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor

What will you be using it for?

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using this compressor constantly with a number of tools and have not had an issue. The true question you have to ask yourself is what will you be using this for? And making sure that the compressor matches with the the amount of air scfm the tools requires to operate good. Also, be sure to read the instruction manual before using. Things like draining the valve under it every hour can go a long way.
What have i used this for?
I recently painted a whole 4x4 short bed Nissan truck. Now i knew that a 20gal compressor was not going to keep up with painting the whole truck at one cycle so i painted sections at a time and then like the compressor refill to insure i had the recommended 40psi going through my Husky HVLP. The results where beautiful. I couldnt be happier knowing i spent 160 on this compressor. Below are the estimated continuous run times before the compressors starts to loss the tools recommended psi scfm due to not cycling fast enough to keep up.
Husky Gravity feed HVLP- 3min @40psi
Husky DA Sander- 2min @ 100psi
Husky Air Blow Gun- 1min @100psi
Harbor Frieght 3'' cutter- 2min @ 60psi
Iwata Airbrush- For every @30psi
Again, this compressor will not keep up for large projects such as painting a car. But it is possible if you do it in sections and have patience waiting for it to refill with air.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Deal For the $$$$$

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Husky 20 Gal compressor gives the
appearance monstrous unit...Its not monstrous but its
a terrific deal for the money spent.
The Machine came very well packed assuring no damage
during shipping.
After unpacking and making sure all valves
and drains were closed I plugged it into a
dedicated 20 amp GFCI receptacle line I have in my shop.
(the reason I use a GFCI is the plug is often used
for outdoor work)
Turning on the compressor I then turned the valve to
80 psi and put on my 50 foot hose with a splitter on
the end, then a
addidional 2-25 ft lines on the splitter and attached
2 air nailers.
With my assistant, we worked on my custom fence I'm
building around my back yard, Both Nailing at the same
time. Nailing through 1/2 - 1 inch strips of Pressure
treated wood.
Initial fill took about 6-9 minutes and with the 2
nailers working it cycled about every 30 minutes
and Worked Flawlessly throughout the day.
Next test was my 3 Inch air angle grinder. Setting the
pressure gauge to 70 psi(its a 4 C.F.M unit) I could run about
15 min betweencompressor cyclings. Getting plenty of
air to the tool.
The small upright size makes it take up less room
in the garage, while still light enough to roll to my truck
and lift it in the back for moving to a jobsite..
A test with my sound meter showed it produced 70 Db at 10 feet
in an enclosed space, Not really noisy compared to others on the
market. My smaller 4 gallon pancake compressor came in at 85 Db
(hearing loss begins at 80 Db of continuos Noise)
A quick search on the web also showed that the Husky unit is
manufactured for HD by Campbell Hausfeld, A very reputable name
in compressors.
Overall I would give this compressor a great rating for anything
from blowing out sprinkler lines to medium use air tools for the
homeowner/handyman/home mechanic.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, minor assembly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+41points
48out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from North Las Vegas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst air compressor ever

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I owned 2 husky air compressors, the first one was a 3 gallon air compressor it went after 2 months of little or no use so figured that if I buy a larger 26 gallon compressor it would be more durable, no such luck. This unit went after 2 years of little use, to whom it may concern you guys should stop pretending that you are an air compressor manufacturers.
Pros: there aren't any
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, Too Heavy
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT AIR COMPRESSOR, WORKS PERFECTLY!!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This air compressor arrived very well packaged, double boxed with foam padding in between each box. The only assembly that was required was to attach the wheels with the bolts/nuts provided. Even though the tank has a wholesome weight, the rubber wheels make it very easy to move it around (and I only weigh a few pounds more than it does!). The rubberized grip on the handle is a nice feature too. It appears to be a well made piece of equipment with a heavy-duty cord. It stands 38" tall and the width across the wheels is about 18".
Although I am familiar with using an air compressor, I would have liked to see the instructions include more information for a first-time owner. For example, they do not explain for a novice what additional items are needed for use. I was happy to find that the 1/4" plug and fittings that we have for our smaller compressor will also work with this one, although I probablly will purchase a longer hose than the one we have on that one.
The manual tells you to tip the tank forward to drain, but the drain is not as shown - it is in the center of the curved bottom -no need to tip the tank, simply turn the knob on the drain. There is no mention of the air filter, which I have shown in my photos. (The soft rubber cap slips off to reveal a block of foam which can be cleaned or replaced easily).
After plugging it in, it took 7 minutes to fill the 20 gallon tank. Of course there is some noise, which is to be expected, but not excessive -and I even tested it in my small laundry room.
Everything works perfectly, there are no leaks and the gauges work as expected. One of things I always use air for is to clean the garden tractors after mowing, so the larger tank will be appreciated. I feel this air compressor is well worth the asking price and I am impressed with its performance.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, good quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+36points
43out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not impressed yet

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Just hooked up the new air compressor to check its operation. I found two leaks after pressure build up. The pressure switch was leaking around the threads. The compressor copper discharge line to the tank was also leaking around the the compression fitting at the compressor end under the cover. I was able too tighten the fitting and also remove the pressure switch and reseal the threads. I have not noticed any other leaks as of yet. The overall operation is good and the compressor is a little quitter than I expected. I read a few posts that said that it was real noisy. I'm not ready to give up on it yet since the operation seems to be okay. I just wanted to inform anyone that is interested in this product of what I have found so far. I think I would still recommend this product for now.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: be aware of leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor

I recommend a different compressor

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Everything looked great out of the box. Wheels went on easily, plugged it in and the compressor started to fill...until it reached 120 PSI. At that point it shut off. I cycled the system about 8 times total over the weekend and it reached the advertised tank pressure of 150 only one time. Three times it failed to cycle and wouldn't start. I had to completely empty the tank and turn the compressor on again for it to fill partially. I have owned a DeWalt compressor for 5+ years and it has worked flawlessly. I exchanged this malfunctioning compressor plus $180 and got another DeWalt and some peace of mind that I will be able to finish my work.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor

Save your money

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a piece of junk. Lasted just over a year of very occasional use before everything in it fell apart.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Chillicothe, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Disappointed

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have only had this air compressor for 4 months and have used it for approx 1 hour when the compressor froze up. I had to take it to a repair authorized dealer today requiring round trip amounting to 100 miles and an 1 1/2 hrs of my time to drop it off and then repeating this in two weeks if indeed it does get repaired. Needless to say at this point I am very dissatisfied.
Pros: none
Cons: air compressor only worked for one hour
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Mountlake Terrace, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Husky 20 GAL Portable Air Compressor is Awesome!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The features are a huge plus for me especially since the unit is oil-less. It's easy to move about and takes up a very small footprint compared to my old craftsman compressor. The maintenance for this compressor is almost non-existent with the only thing to remember is drain the tank from time to time. It doesn't take forever to fill to full as some people have mentioned (probably use to a larger model etc.) It is louder than an oil fill unit but that is to be expected with minimal lubrication but it surely shouldn't be a drawback unless you intend to use indoors and that is pretty unlikely. The customer service was excellent as, as soon as I walked up to the service desk, I was waited on almost immediately and helped by Kyle the store manager of all staff! What a pleasant purchase online and the pickup - they even had a staff person help me lift the unit in to the back of my Escape!! I keep my new "baby" in the storage room of the house when not using it. I have to create a secure location in the carport so is doesn't disappear :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, color is black and goes with any garage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor

Good economical air compressor

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The air compressor does everything as advertised. It is a good size and the handle and wheels make it very portable. The only cons are that it is loud and takes a while to fill up. I wouldn't expect it to fill up instantly but I've noticed that it takes longer than other 20 gallon compressors. The noise level also seems to higher than comprable 20 gallon compressors. All and all it has been good so far for a house hold unit. I like the easy-to-grip drain valve on the bottom of the tank.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: loud
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked 10 minutes and died

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked 10 minutes then motor died would not restart. Back to Home Depot is goes will spend a few extra bucks and see if I can buy an American made product or a quality brand. I guess the saying is true you get what you pay for .
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Stuarts draft va.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice compressiors but way too loud

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Runs at 96 db.have too leave shop when running.if you don't mind loud buy it
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: painfully loud
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor

First big air compressor I've owned, very impressed!!!

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this husky 20 gal. air compressor today and couldn't believe how great it works.. people in other posted have said it was extremely loud but I disagree. yes it is a little noisy but what compressor isn't?!?.. Bought this compressor with the husky 4 piece air tool kit, the angled die grinder and the husky 3/8" x 50 feet red rubber air hose. Only have filled up my tires on f350 so far but did it very quickly. very impressed and would definitely recommend to a friend!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Denver CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works But Loud

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to use, nice upright position on tilt-wheels, good price, not sure on value as that's an normally an equation of price, reliability/use over time and I've only had it 2 months. It is very loud; louder than your average pneumatic compressor when running to build pressure in tank. Good enough to use for blowing out my sprinklers and using for air tools but I think I will have to build a baffling-box around this thing to make the noise more tolerable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: loud
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

great deal!

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the perfect compressor for the DIYer. While heavy, I had no problem attaching the wheels and then moving it wherever needed. The gauges are easy to read, and it took around 8 minutes to fill. It was easy to attach the hose and the valve to empty the tank when done is on the bottom.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Buyer's remorse

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would recommend any other brand over this poorly designed compressor. We snapped this up after our 10 year old, pre-owned Craftsman bit the dust and it was broken within 2 weeks of purchase. Husky needs to quit lowering the bar. Avoid this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, inexpensive
Cons: Not Durable, poorly designed, broken within 2 weeks
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Workshop Compressor

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received the Husky compressor and put it right to work. I made a cabinet and first used it with my pneumatic stapler. The compressor only cycled once during the assembly that required about 50 staples. The real test came next. The compressor did great supplying air for my HVLP gun I used to spray finish the cabinet.
The compressor is easy to move around and balanced well. It wasn't as loud as I expected it to be. Husky did a good job with the shroud over the compressor that baffles the noise. The vertical design has a small footprint making it perfect for a small shop. The only opportunity for improvement would be a larger pressure gauge on the regulator. It's small and is a 200 psi full scale gauge making fine adjustments a little harder.
If you have a small shop or are a hobbyist this is the compressor for you.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
21out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 gal. Portable Air Compressor
from Apopka, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Great design

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent upright air compressor, that fits neatly in the corner of my garage. Works great without taking up as much horizontal space as my other compressor. I don't know why all of these aren't designed this way.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>