728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)

Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)

The Victor Mini PestChaser emits high frequency sound waves that effectively repel rodents from protected areas. For use in average-sized rooms, kitchens, garages, attics and basements. The sound is completely inaudible to people and non-rodent pets. Varying intensity and frequencies of ultrasonic sound waves prevents rodents from getting used to the Victor Mini PestChaser. Since the sound is inaudible, a red LED light tells you the unit is working properly. It's kinder than traps, safer than poisons, and there are no dead rodents to dispose of so it minimizes human contact with mice, rats, and other disease-bearing rodents. Reduction in rodent activity should occur within 6-10 days. Estimated service life of the unit is 3-5 years. Note: Ultrasonic sound cannot penetrate furniture, cabinets or walls. Multiple units required for multiple rooms.
Overall rating:
3.157 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product30 of 48reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(11)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product30 of 48reviews
Customer reviews for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
Review 1 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Three in a package. I like the design as it is simple and small in size. There is no sound at all, no buzz, nothing but a little red light. I plugged 2 in the garage and 1 in the kitchen just to make sure no rodents wants to dig my garbage. So far I have not seen any pest. I have a small dog and so far she does not seem to have any issue with the device. No barking from her at all.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't get a whole lot easier

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I keep bags of dog food, cat food, bird seed, squirrel food, water softener salt pellets and a whole lot more stuff in my garage - so far, no intruders. I just plugged it into the bottom outlet like it told me and voila. It is that easy. Another went in my basement and although I am not as active with my possessions down there, it's nice to have that little bit of extra protection down there too. Mice can be anywhere at anytime, even when you least expect it. Trust me - I've experienced it and lost stuff because of their destruction. Better to be safe than sorry - especially when it is this easy and inexpensive (compared to your items).
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from chicago, IL

Squeaking in wall gone

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had squeaking and scratching in my bedroom wall which made it incredibly hard to sleep. I bought this product and squeak no more. It worked the minute I plugged it in, I haven't heard a peep since. The unit does have a night light on it which might keep some people up at night. It also buzzes alittle, but you quickly get use to it. I highly recommend this product, it saved me from having to cut into my wall.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No sign of life.

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of those products where no news is good news. I had thought I was hearing movement in my attic, and there was sign that I was right. I plugged two of these in the prime areas, as well as one in my shed in the back yard. I haven't heard any more activity from the attic, and alrhough the shed was a precautionary measure since I store bird seed there, it has resulted with no activity there as well. As far as I can tell, these are working fine.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from Gibsonton, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Squirrels don't like this product

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You get a package of 3 units that plug into any available AC outlet. The first was put on the screened-in patio. The screen has many holes from squirrels/rats chewing their way inside to get to the parrot's cage for their food. The screens were repaired & the cage removed but the squirrels persisted. After installing the device, there was an audible squeal from the device that could only be heard if you put you ear to it. Of course, the light was lit which is your indicator that it has power. The only indication that it is working is the absence of rodents. While squirrels have been seen outside on the fence, none crawl across the patio windows. Apparently, they don't like this area any more. The other units were placed in the attic & a relative's house but no results from those as yet. Perhaps the good news is no news.
Pros: Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceMarch 6, 2014
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer,

We reached out to the MFG with your review and below is their response.

"We are glad that this product has been effective in protecting your patio from destructive squirrels. Please keep in mind however, that this is recommended for indoor use only. The sound waves are designed to bounce off of hard object such as walls to reverberate throughout a room. By using this PestChaser® in a screened in patio, its effectiveness may be reduced.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. Our Consumer Relations Team is available six days a week at 1-855-5-VICTOR (1-855-584-2867).

Best Regards,

Susan
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Victor®
"
Review 6 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from Beverly Hills, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great with multiple units in a large space.

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was skeptical about these, but since I could return them for my money back and I really wanted to prevent any unwanted visitors. So far so good!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, as described
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from Maine, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works for mice or rates not squirrels!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I have previous used this product in an apartment to keep mice and rats away and it worked well. However this time it was to keep squirrels away and was not effective. In fairness however, squirrels are usually very difficult to control. Would recommend depending on intended use.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: doesn't work for all rodents
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from Whiteland, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more mice, shrews or spiders in the garage

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought a four pack a while back as we were having issues with mice and shrews getting into my garage. I live in a subdivision, but there is a field behind us. After messing with kill traps, live traps and other things I gave these a try.
Several months later and no more mice or shrews, even after the field behind us flooded. the funny thing is, we would get spiders once in a while. they have also disappeared. I will see a small one once in a while, but nothing worth noting.
It should be noted that I used all four in my 2.5 car garage. I put two up high on opposite walls and put the other two on extension cords. I laid them on the floor, also on opposite sides. They are working great!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from North Reading, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to be Working

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Put one in my garage to scare off a brazen chipmunk, I think it is working. I guess we will know better when the weather gets cold and he is looking for shelter.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)

No more squirrels!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For years I tried EVERYTHING to keep the squirrels out of my crawl space. I caught a family of five, one at a time, in my Havahart trap, and drove them miles away to the forest preserve. I would spin the cage around in circles before releasing each one to try to mess with its sense of direction. Maybe those squirrels didn't come back, but they were quickly replaced by new tenants. Next, I spent a few thousand dollars to have my eaves replaced. The workmen finished the job one morning--even putting spiky things in the crooks of my downspouts so the squirrels wouldn't have a place to sit while trying to claw through the eaves--and that same afternoon the squirrels were back. Major swearing on my part.
After reading reviews on Amazon (which are a little better than the reviews here), I thought, "What do I have to lose?" I bought a package for $20, put each one on a $2 extension cord, and put them inside each access panel to my crawl space. *Poof* No more squirrels. And it's been that way for well over a year.
Now I will say that I recommended these to my son who has mice in his apartment, and they didn't work for him. But they worked for me when nothing else did. So if you're on the fence, I'd say that, for this price, what have you got to lose? It definitely beats spending three thousand dollars to replace your eaves.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not one of my best purchases

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will be returning this product back to the store. I was so disappointed with this product! It is good to use as night light but as a mice & coach roach deterrent it was a disappointment. Three days later there was new evidence of mice & the coach roaches begin appearing again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from Stafford, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

rodent repellent

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It seems to be working. We have not seen a rodent since we install the repellent
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product did not work. We installed the unit and the mice continued to make our home their home.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceMarch 6, 2014
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer,

We reached out to the MFG with your review and below is their response.

"The sound waves produced by the item are not able to pass through furniture or walls. For best results they should be placed in open areas to allow the waves to bounce around throughout the room. Also, please keep in mind that rodents are able to tolerate unpleasant changes to their environment for short times; it may take 6-10 days before you see a decrease in rodent activity. For larger infestations, it may be necessary to use traps along with the Victor® Mini PestChaser® for total control.

Above all, we want to ensure that you are satisfied with your purchase and apologize that you have not yet seen the desired results. Please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-VICTOR (1-855-584-2867) for additional assistance.

Best Regards,

Susan
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Victor®"
Review 14 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ineffective and audible noise

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't work for my mouse problem. bought some a few years ago and didn't make any noise audible just the power light and worked well but must have become defective or the mice became immune to them. This version is smaller but has an audible hum and have mouse droppings w/I 3 inches of the plug, so ineffective, will be taking these back for a refund.
Cons: Noisy, ineffective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Effective

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Doubles as a nightlite. Seems to be very effective.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)

Does not work at all

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I saw a mouse eating a pear in front of the devise -- it was supposed to repel it....
Cons: not usable
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceJuly 11, 2013
Dear Todor,

I have reached out to the manufacturer for more information and below is their response to you:

"We are sorry to hear that you have not seen the desired results with this product.

When you plug in the PestChaser® in you are creating an unwelcome environment for rodents. However, rodents are desperate and hungry and will go through extreme measures for survival. They will put up with the unpleasant sound waves if they can quickly and easily access food and run. It is very important that when controlling rodents that your home be clear of any accessible food and nesting supplies.

We hope you found this information helpful. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-VICTOR (855-584-2867)."

Thank you!
Review 17 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from North Canton, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Seems to work

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No rodents so far! I am hoping that this product will also reduce the amount of insects infesting the building.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from St Paul MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

working for me

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Is this ultrasonic or sonic? Anyway have been using this product for about a week now and all indications are it is working. I would find mouse droppings in certain places every day before. Once I plugged these in those droppings aren't anywhere and still aren't. I'm thrilled about this because I wanted a humane way to get rid of them---traps,and other methods can turn out to be tortuous for the animal--you've heard the stories. I was going to catch them in a cage---but this is so much better.
After this I plan on going to any holes etc and using steel wool.
Also I bought 2 packages so I have 6 of these in my house --3 in the kitchen and one in laundry room.
I'm going to buy another package and put 2 in garage and one in bedroom.
VERY SATISFIED CUSTOMER!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from Arlington, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lack of evidence does the talking...

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While changing the sheets for the first time on my brand new mattress, I noticed three small yellow spots toward the edge that were not there a few days before; I found the spots were also on the bottom sheet, and had soaked through to the mattress. Obviously a rodent had paid me a visit (and left his calling card). I was willing to try anything to put an immediate stop to this repulsive activity... What I can say here is based on (lack of) evidence; that being no more signs (of any kind) of rodent activity since installing these three units at various locations within my bedroom. I see NO indication of these particular devices not performing as advertised. I've set a trap (with peanut butter and bird seed) just in case, but it remains untouched...
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mini Pestchaser Ultrasonic Rodent Repellent (3-Pack)
from New York, NY, USA

This product has worked for my NYC apt.

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live in the city of mice so while heavy renovations were going on, I found my neighbors to be having mice in their apartments. I bought these and strategically placed them throughout my apartment. Allowing for the sound waves to be open and not obscured by furniture or any apparatus. I have not seen nor found a clue of any mice in my home. I also do not leave food out and proactively take trash that may build up any odors out nightly before retiring. My sister uses them in her home as well and has had the same, if not better, results.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, easy to relocate
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>