728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Pots & Planters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)

Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)

The Plant Caddie by River stone Industries Corporation is the ultimate pulley system for your home plants. It allows you to raise and lower your hanging plants in a flash to water and care for them, using a user-friendly pulley system with the only patented manual pull brake. No more maintenance hassles and no more worrying about your plants dying, you don't even need to have a green thumb. The Plant Caddie is perfect for new construction with high ceilings, for the elderly as a safe alternative to standing on chairs to reach plants, and for anyone that loves the look a healthy plant can make inside or outside of a home. The construction and design allows the Plant Caddie to be used for other things around the house like bird feeders, storage baskets in the kitchen or garage or anything that a homeowner would want to hide when not being used. Watering cans are heavy and messy and hoses are a chore, but with the Plant Caddie you can care for your hanging plants with just a simple pull on the brake cord as you guide the plant down with your other hand to an height you want. When the brake cord is released the Plant Caddie locks in place and holds the plant stable. To retract is just as simple pull on the brake cord and push gently on the bottom of the plant pot. The super strong reinforced material extends up to 42 in. to reach as high as you need to. If you can put a secure hook into a ceiling you can use the Plant Caddie.
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product12 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product12 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
Review 1 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Federal Way, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product meets my needs for hanging baskets and hummingbird feeders

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This works fairly well. It is not as good, or easy to use as the pulleys you carried last year.
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong
Cons: Difficult to Use, string gets in the way
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Marietta, GA.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great description

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The pulleys looked weak but are strong. We have large planters on them and watering is easy.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Strong
Cons: none
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Newtown Square, PA 19073, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great item

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love being able to reach the hanging porch plants to water
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works as advertised. Easy up and easy down.

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product holds our hanging basket of plants fine, the operator needs to understand that when the lock latch is pulled the load will come down.
We are very happy with the way the pulley system works, it seems to perfectly either up or down and the lock holds everything securely. Excellent price for the set of 3.
The holding clip is a little on the light side as I had to re bend it to tighten up on the hanging basket hook.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from FArmington, MIchigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pulley Plant Hanger

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are excellent for watering plants. I searched my garage & can't find mine, so I'm ordering them again. Makes caring for your hanging plants a lot easier.
Pros: Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Independence, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is ver easy to use.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works wonderfully with our bird feeders. Easy to raise and lower them to the height that we want. Disconnects and latches easily. Very happy with this purchase.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GREAT PRODUCT!!

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Finally I found these pullies!! They are wonderful and have made my life sooooo much easier!! Have been in for about 3 weeks, and 1 full week of heavy rain and no issues whatsoever. For me to use they work flawlessly. NOTE: These are for adults to operate and not for kids to pull on --- my daughter pulled the string trying to figure it out and pulled to the point where she kept pulling the string down and the mechanics of the pulley broke. This was her fault and not the system failing. Also the strings are not low so that a toddler can grab, or even a small child. ALSO: When I raise these to their "up" position I aid by guiding, slight lifting, with my hand under the basket; also do the same for lowering. I REALLY LOVE THESE. NO MORE LADDER EVERY DAY!!!!!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Review sold me

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for something to for our hanging plants and for the price thought I would give it a try. The other review sold me on this. I have to say, this is really a great item for hanging plants. Wish it came in more colors though.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love them!

PostedApril 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased 6 hanging baskets and after two day realized I needed the pulley system. No stores carried them in stock so I ordered them through Home Depot. They were easy to install and operate. They work perfectly. I highly recommend this product.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)

Great product!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is very durable & holds wet plants well. It's much more durable than the cheaper models.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)

Great Idea

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just bought this for my parents who have a lot of hanging plants. They love it. Now we don't have to worry about them standing on a chair to water their plants.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from San Diego, CA 92105, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Pulley System for bird feeders 3-pack

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm very pleased with my merchandise. I'm disabled and the control I have with my bird feeders is just what I was looking for. The fact that I received 3 at one time, and at such a reasonable price, worked great for me. I will definitely use your services again.
Pat
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Rogers, AR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It could be better!

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This could be a good product if it was made a little stronger, and had a better pulley on it. We tried to hang our hanging baskets on it and the pulley did not want to work right at all. No I would not recommend this product.
Cons: pulley did not work right.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)

Do not waste your money

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What the description does not tell you is that the maximum it will hold is only 8 lbs. This they tell you in the enclosed instructions. This information should be included in the online description. Most planters weight at least that without any dirt or plant. Having the item in hand, I question whether it will hold even 8 lbs. It is basically worthless.
Cons: flimsy misleading online discription
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)

DO NOT BUY THESE

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2 broke the first time we tried to use them. I should have paid more attention to the negative reviews. They are junk! I would give 0 stars if I could.
Cons: Not Durable
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Granite Falls, MN 56241, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very bad purchase-don't waste your money.

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fell apart before we even attached the birdfeeder. It is a piece of junk and I will return all 3 of them the next time I am in a town that has a Home Depot (I certainly am not going to pay return shipping). So much for online shopping!! Do not waste your money on this piece of junk!!! Very disappointed.
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from North Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Disappointing

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did not meet my expectations. Hung two. One already broke. The other seems to be stuck and won't go all the way back up.
Cons: Not Durable, tricky to operate
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)

pulley system

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The first pulley broke the first time we tried it. The second is holding but is not as easy to use as I had anticipated.
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.