728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)

Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)

The Plant Caddie by River stone Industries Corporation is the ultimate pulley system for your home plants. It allows you to raise and lower your hanging plants in a flash to water and care for them, using a user-friendly pulley system with the only patented manual pull brake. No more maintenance hassles and no more worrying about your plants dying, you don't even need to have a green thumb. The Plant Caddie is perfect for new construction with high ceilings, for the elderly as a safe alternative to standing on chairs to reach plants, and for anyone that loves the look a healthy plant can make inside or outside of a home. The construction and design allows the Plant Caddie to be used for other things around the house like bird feeders, storage baskets in the kitchen or garage or anything that a homeowner would want to hide when not being used. Watering cans are heavy and messy and hoses are a chore, but with the Plant Caddie you can care for your hanging plants with just a simple pull on the brake cord as you guide the plant down with your other hand to an height you want. When the brake cord is released the Plant Caddie locks in place and holds the plant stable. To retract is just as simple pull on the brake cord and push gently on the bottom of the plant pot. The super strong reinforced material extends up to 42 in. to reach as high as you need to. If you can put a secure hook into a ceiling you can use the Plant Caddie.
Overall rating:
3.621 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product19 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
3.6 out of 5
5
(16)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product19 of 28reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
Review 1 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Upper Marlboro, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Design Ever

PostedJune 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just installed 4 of these on our deck and used the pergola to anchor them - couldn't have been easier. And they work perfectly, but please read the instructions for raising and lowering as it can be tricky at first.
I really like that the pulley use strong nylon webbing as the material for the retractable mechanism and not flimsy cord
And for those complaining about the string hanging down, you can shorten it by removing the end cap on the plastic piece at the end of the string.
Also, someone noted that the maximum weight was 22 lbs, but my instructions say to not exceed 8 lbs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Federal Way, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product meets my needs for hanging baskets and hummingbird feeders

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This works fairly well. It is not as good, or easy to use as the pulleys you carried last year.
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong
Cons: Difficult to Use, string gets in the way
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)

Handy product, good concept, but...

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Really like the concept and this is the second generation pulley system I purchased. First was just ok. This is a much better product and it holds plants nicely allowing ease of watering, pruning, etc.
One of the three I received didn't work correctly, wouldn't relock when needed. Contacted HD customer service and supposedly they would call the manufacturer and have a replacement sent. That was over 3 weeks ago and I'll have to call HD again to see if it will happen. A little frustrating but not overwhelming.
All in all I'd buy again, but only gave it 4 stars for the little problem I'm experiencing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Smithville texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great purchase!

PostedAugust 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So easy to use. My 89 year old mother can use them with ease as well! I highly recommend them for bird feeders and plants!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WELL OVER RATED

PostedAugust 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
3 COME IN THE PKG. ONE BROKE WHILE JUST WORKING THE PULLY WITHOUT A PLANT ON IT. TYPICAL CHINESE PRODUCT. WE RETURNED.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Greenfield IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pull down hanging system

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was very easy to install and use. I would recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GREAT PRODUCT!!

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Finally I found these pullies!! They are wonderful and have made my life sooooo much easier!! Have been in for about 3 weeks, and 1 full week of heavy rain and no issues whatsoever. For me to use they work flawlessly. NOTE: These are for adults to operate and not for kids to pull on --- my daughter pulled the string trying to figure it out and pulled to the point where she kept pulling the string down and the mechanics of the pulley broke. This was her fault and not the system failing. Also the strings are not low so that a toddler can grab, or even a small child. ALSO: When I raise these to their "up" position I aid by guiding, slight lifting, with my hand under the basket; also do the same for lowering. I REALLY LOVE THESE. NO MORE LADDER EVERY DAY!!!!!
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works as advertised. Easy up and easy down.

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product holds our hanging basket of plants fine, the operator needs to understand that when the lock latch is pulled the load will come down.
We are very happy with the way the pulley system works, it seems to perfectly either up or down and the lock holds everything securely. Excellent price for the set of 3.
The holding clip is a little on the light side as I had to re bend it to tighten up on the hanging basket hook.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Painted Post, New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Addition to gardening project

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works exactly as advertised and is super for watering outdoor hanging plants especially at this time of year when plants are just getting started and need TLC....I am an elder gardener and climbing up and down to water and feed plants is not always what I want to do, these hangers make it so easy and fast....wish you carried then in the store garden center!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)

Great Pulley System For Hanging Plants

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have high ceilings and these pulleys are just what I needed for watering my plants. They have worked great so far as I have only had them for a few weeks. I would recommend them for plants as long as they keep within the correct weight limits.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Review sold me

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking for something to for our hanging plants and for the price thought I would give it a try. The other review sold me on this. I have to say, this is really a great item for hanging plants. Wish it came in more colors though.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Granbury, tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

pulley system for hanging plants

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought six and all broke.....would not ever again the very day ! BAD!!!!!!!
Total loss!
Cons: all broke
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Marietta, GA.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great description

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The pulleys looked weak but are strong. We have large planters on them and watering is easy.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Strong
Cons: none
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from rochester, ny
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A piece of garbage......I bought this product last yr. and it was a much better quality. It could hold more weight and didn't have the string to pull

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Should go back to other style and sell them in store
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Vermont

Worst Design Ever

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pulley has a long black string hanging down beside it. Who wants that hanging and blowing around out front of the house. Looks foolish. Would never have purchased if I realized it was string loaded.
Cons: looks foolish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love them!

PostedApril 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased 6 hanging baskets and after two day realized I needed the pulley system. No stores carried them in stock so I ordered them through Home Depot. They were easy to install and operate. They work perfectly. I highly recommend this product.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)

Great Idea

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just bought this for my parents who have a lot of hanging plants. They love it. Now we don't have to worry about them standing on a chair to water their plants.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)

Great product!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is very durable & holds wet plants well. It's much more durable than the cheaper models.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from San Diego, CA 92105, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Pulley System for bird feeders 3-pack

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm very pleased with my merchandise. I'm disabled and the control I have with my bird feeders is just what I was looking for. The fact that I received 3 at one time, and at such a reasonable price, worked great for me. I will definitely use your services again.
Pat
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pulley System for Hanging Plants and Bird Feeders (3-Pack)
from FArmington, MIchigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pulley Plant Hanger

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are excellent for watering plants. I searched my garage & can't find mine, so I'm ordering them again. Makes caring for your hanging plants a lot easier.
Pros: Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>