728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Removers & Thinners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Deck and Concrete Cleaner

Deck and Concrete Cleaner

Restore Deck and Concrete Cleaner removes tough stains from mildew, mold, algae, fungus and moss, and leaves the surface clean. Special surfactants penetrate the surface to safely and easily dissolve the toughest stains from dirt, oil, grease, bird droppings, tree sap, and acid rain. Even removes gray weathering on wood, chalking and oxidation. Recommended for wood and composite decks, fences and concrete.
Overall rating:
2.808 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
44%of customersrecommend this product11 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(3)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(10)
Quality 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
44%of customersrecommend this product11 of 25reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
Review 1 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner

A little goes a long way

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's too bad this wasn't available in a smaller bottle. At 1 cup to a gallon, I have most of the gallon left after cleaning a 200 sq ft patio in preparation for the Restore. It did the job well, and the Restore X10 has remained intact on the patio, so I'm glad I used the cleaner as instructed. After diluting, I sloshed it all over the patio and used a good push broom to scrub the surface in both directions, then hosed it away with a high pressure nozzle. I suspect I can use the remainder to just clean my driveway really well some day, even though I don't plan to coat it with Restore.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from COLORADO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DECORATIVE CONCRETE CONTRACTOR REVIEW

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Okay..... so after reading many of the reviews for this product I felt it necessary as a professional contractor to chime in and give my two cents for what it's worth. Keep in mind folks that this product is a preparatory product NOT! an end product to produce sparkly "Mr. Clean" results transforming blemished decks and concrete pads into newly looking surfaces. To remove moss and stains from concrete entirely takes profiling the surface with mechanical etching equipment, same goes for wood decks to remove scaling of old paint ( mechanical equipment being different for each surface mind you ) So this product is not intended as an end product but is to serve as a preparatory product to recondition the chemical composition of a concrete slab to stabilize the PH in the concrete while at the same time removing as many foreign particulates as possible... "chemically profiling" NOT! "mechanically profiling" the substrate... While other processes require you to purchase a 1. a cleaner 2. a degreaser 3. chemical profiler 4. a chemical neutralizer... This product with LOW ! V.O.C. has all the above in one unit... Compare that to other industrial specific products and the Value of this "concentrated" product is superb. As far as performance ALL! substrates are different from one to the next... so while others will require a simple chemical prep, others may require mechanical prep and sorry to be the one to break that news to you but thats the brass tacks facts... NOW ALL THAT SAID! for the money "value" and what this product is intended to do " chemically prep " & balance the PH in the concrete... this product does the job it was designed to do... Follow up with the appropriate coating and you will increase your chances of a superior bond and decrease your chances of bond failure which many coatings products get a bad name because individuals do not "PREP" properly... your coating will only be and will always remain to be as good or as strong as your prep work.. Also keep in mind that for concrete it is a very good idea to look for an efflorescent or MVB ( moisture vapor barrier ) in liquid form to apply to the slab after prep but before your coating... this is the number one cause of spalling or delaminating of the coating of which the coating product get a bad wrap... SEE WHERE I AM GOING WITH ALL THIS. ? it's not the product often times it's usually the operator... Sorry if you disagree but that is my two cents...
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from pittsburgh,pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

crummy crummy crummy

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
could have done better with a bottle of dish soap which I used after this and it brightened up the wood considerably better. Then purchased a different brand of deck cleaner for a 3rd cleaning and again significantly brighter.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: doesnt cut grime on a deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Typical

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The product performed similar to other brands of this type. This product was chosen for its non-toxic formula.
Pros: Easy to Use, non-toxic
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Ruidoso, NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Deck Cleaner

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This cleaning solutions worked very well and was easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Brentwood, TN, USA

Worked for me!

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a 6-year old deck that was in dire need of cleaning & refinishing. Decided to take on the project this weekend after buying this cleaner almost a year ago. I used a pump sprayer and a large broom -- the stuff started working immediately. I did need to scrub a little in the worst places, but this deck was filthy. I couldn't believe the difference.
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner

Other reviews

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i notice the low raitings all say they had to do it again and scrub it and that there were no instructions. I only clicked the item and learned that is should sit for a bit, THEN BE SCRUBBED, then rinsed. It also said this is to remove finishes and coatings from deck so the new paint will adhear. I don't know if it's meant just to clean stains and mold. The video instruction i watched also said bad stains may need to be power washed. I'm going to try it just cause it was recomended before the Rustoleum Restore deck reserfacer. I will repost as soon as i get it done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from East Tn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Do not buy this product

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hopefully you are reading this before purchasing this product, unlike me....this did not work on my concrete drive or patio; with or without scrubbing with a very stiff brush. I thought if got some of the dried on pollen off of my polycarbonate paneled greenhouse...it didn't. Not sure what it would do on vinyl siding. The best wash I found for vinyl is E-Z Mold Armor House Wash. Unfortunately, it doesn't work on concrete.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Lewiston, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good cleaner on concrete

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We used it in a garden pump sprayer, mixed easily. we hosed everything down first , then sprayed the cleaner on and let it set for 5-10 minutes. we used a pressure sprayer to hose off. You could see the dirt coming off as you sprayed. Took off what we needed.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Jupiter, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not do anything!

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this to clean my concret proch and driveway. Mixed it to the directions and aplied it to the proch floor. After 10 minutes, I washed off and the stains were still there. Applied it again amd scrubed it in. Still nothing. Full strength, it will remove alge but so will bleach. I finally cleaned the porch with car wash soap and it did better thsn this product.
Pros: worthless
Cons: does nothing
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This doesn't work very well at all as a spray on and scrub/hose off cleaner. It may very well work when used with a pressure washer, but we didn't have that option. The mold and dark stains on our deck were not easily removed with this product, it took multiple applications and a lot of elbow grease to remove them.
Cons: doesn't work as advertised
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

what a waste

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had high hopes when the green on my deck turned a brighter lime color that it was lifting and would be easy to spray off. Wrong. After spending an hour and a half spraying the cleaner and then washing it with a power nozzle on my hose, I had to spend another hour and a half wetting it down again, scrubbing it with a bristle brush and then rinsing again. What a pain. It looks slightly better than when I began the project. All the green between the slats is still there though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Fircrest, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not do any of the things it claims to do!!!

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Last year we used Restore to refinish our two large decks and we were mostly happy with the finished product. So when I just happen to stumble upon the cleaner designed for the product I figured it would be the best. (the finish does get very dirty over the winter due to the rough surface). NOT...after applying as directed I even used a scrub brush and none of the mildew, dirt or any staining was removed at all. After I rinsed my deck off I used another mold,algea cleaner which I have used in the past on my outdoor furniture etc. and it was a huge differance. Needless to say RESTORE DECK CLEANER will be returned to the store and more of the other product will be purchased.
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Juneau, AK, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

do not buy this product

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Never before have I seen product as worthless as restore deck cleaner. The water used to delute it was probably more effective then the product itself. After scrubbing my deck until I broke the threads off my deck brush I still had black mold and slime on my deck. Luckally I was able to find a third of a bottle of a competitors teak brightener in my garage to get the left over mold that I couldn't get with my deck brush. What a difference I could actually see the mold and slime disappear the other stuff. Even full strength the deck restore didn't do anything but wet the surface for a little bit before soaking in. There are deck cleaners out there that will simply amaze you, but restore has no value. Unfortunetly it is the most resent one I've used. Never again. Worthless!! Would give no stars if it was possible.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Restore Products are worthless

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Restore cleaner and Restore Paint for Decks, is Terrible. Not worth spending money on.
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy, No Instructions, Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner

What a waste of money

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm getting ready to refinish my deck with restore so I thought that I would try the deck cleaner. After following the instructions I came to one conclusion: I just threw away my money. I even tried doubling the ratio then even tripling and I still didn't notice any difference. My deck isn't even in bad shape! I tried a very diluted mix of water and bleach and I removed stains and mould that the restore cleaner couldn't get off straight out of the bottle. Thinking of buying this product? Do yourself a favor a go buy a $1.00 bottle if bleach.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Lansdale, PA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best deck cleaner I've ever used.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This stuff cleaned 20 years of toner & sealer off my deck. Great product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Restore Cleaner

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Based on reading the other reviews, I think they had used it for the wrong purpose. This product is intended to clean the deck prior to applying the Restore finish... in order to get it to adhere. Not to make your deck look pretty.
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Irwin, PA 15642, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What an amazing product!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this thinking, well I just threw 15.00 away, but boy was I wrong. It cleaned my deck, which is the light grey Deck Restore color perfectly. I did not even use a pressure washer, a stiff bristle brush with a long handle and dipped it in the bucket with the cleaner and scrubbed then hosed it off. WOW, looks like it did when I applied my Deck Restore two years ago. I am doing the pool deck this weekend with the cleaner, that deck has Deck Restore applied it it as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth it

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you can read then you will see this is for cleaning the surface before you apply Restore, not for cleaning the Restored surface. I sprayed this on with a pump sprayer, waited 10 mins and then used pressure washer to wash off. It took green off deck but not sure if it did it or the pressure washer did it. Other than the green being removed, the rest of the deck looked the same as before I started. I don't think it is worth the $11 a bottle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>