728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Removers & Thinners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Deck and Concrete Cleaner

Deck and Concrete Cleaner

Restore Deck and Concrete Cleaner removes tough stains from mildew, mold, algae, fungus and moss, and leaves the surface clean. Special surfactants penetrate the surface to safely and easily dissolve the toughest stains from dirt, oil, grease, bird droppings, tree sap, and acid rain. Even removes gray weathering on wood, chalking and oxidation. Recommended for wood and composite decks, fences and concrete.
Overall rating:
2.75 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
37%of customersrecommend this product7 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(1)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(8)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
37%of customersrecommend this product7 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
Review 1 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner

A little goes a long way

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's too bad this wasn't available in a smaller bottle. At 1 cup to a gallon, I have most of the gallon left after cleaning a 200 sq ft patio in preparation for the Restore. It did the job well, and the Restore X10 has remained intact on the patio, so I'm glad I used the cleaner as instructed. After diluting, I sloshed it all over the patio and used a good push broom to scrub the surface in both directions, then hosed it away with a high pressure nozzle. I suspect I can use the remainder to just clean my driveway really well some day, even though I don't plan to coat it with Restore.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner

Other reviews

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i notice the low raitings all say they had to do it again and scrub it and that there were no instructions. I only clicked the item and learned that is should sit for a bit, THEN BE SCRUBBED, then rinsed. It also said this is to remove finishes and coatings from deck so the new paint will adhear. I don't know if it's meant just to clean stains and mold. The video instruction i watched also said bad stains may need to be power washed. I'm going to try it just cause it was recomended before the Rustoleum Restore deck reserfacer. I will repost as soon as i get it done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

what a waste

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had high hopes when the green on my deck turned a brighter lime color that it was lifting and would be easy to spray off. Wrong. After spending an hour and a half spraying the cleaner and then washing it with a power nozzle on my hose, I had to spend another hour and a half wetting it down again, scrubbing it with a bristle brush and then rinsing again. What a pain. It looks slightly better than when I began the project. All the green between the slats is still there though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Jupiter, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not do anything!

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this to clean my concret proch and driveway. Mixed it to the directions and aplied it to the proch floor. After 10 minutes, I washed off and the stains were still there. Applied it again amd scrubed it in. Still nothing. Full strength, it will remove alge but so will bleach. I finally cleaned the porch with car wash soap and it did better thsn this product.
Pros: worthless
Cons: does nothing
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Brentwood, TN, USA

Worked for me!

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a 6-year old deck that was in dire need of cleaning & refinishing. Decided to take on the project this weekend after buying this cleaner almost a year ago. I used a pump sprayer and a large broom -- the stuff started working immediately. I did need to scrub a little in the worst places, but this deck was filthy. I couldn't believe the difference.
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Lansdale, PA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best deck cleaner I've ever used.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This stuff cleaned 20 years of toner & sealer off my deck. Great product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Restore Products are worthless

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Restore cleaner and Restore Paint for Decks, is Terrible. Not worth spending money on.
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy, No Instructions, Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Irwin, PA 15642, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What an amazing product!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this thinking, well I just threw 15.00 away, but boy was I wrong. It cleaned my deck, which is the light grey Deck Restore color perfectly. I did not even use a pressure washer, a stiff bristle brush with a long handle and dipped it in the bucket with the cleaner and scrubbed then hosed it off. WOW, looks like it did when I applied my Deck Restore two years ago. I am doing the pool deck this weekend with the cleaner, that deck has Deck Restore applied it it as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner

Adequate Job

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The deck was cleaned with this cleaner solution through a sprayer (then rinsed off with a garden hose). It appears that the cleaner worked to an extent.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth it

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you can read then you will see this is for cleaning the surface before you apply Restore, not for cleaning the Restored surface. I sprayed this on with a pump sprayer, waited 10 mins and then used pressure washer to wash off. It took green off deck but not sure if it did it or the pressure washer did it. Other than the green being removed, the rest of the deck looked the same as before I started. I don't think it is worth the $11 a bottle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This doesn't work very well at all as a spray on and scrub/hose off cleaner. It may very well work when used with a pressure washer, but we didn't have that option. The mold and dark stains on our deck were not easily removed with this product, it took multiple applications and a lot of elbow grease to remove them.
Cons: doesn't work as advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Juneau, AK, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

do not buy this product

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Never before have I seen product as worthless as restore deck cleaner. The water used to delute it was probably more effective then the product itself. After scrubbing my deck until I broke the threads off my deck brush I still had black mold and slime on my deck. Luckally I was able to find a third of a bottle of a competitors teak brightener in my garage to get the left over mold that I couldn't get with my deck brush. What a difference I could actually see the mold and slime disappear the other stuff. Even full strength the deck restore didn't do anything but wet the surface for a little bit before soaking in. There are deck cleaners out there that will simply amaze you, but restore has no value. Unfortunetly it is the most resent one I've used. Never again. Worthless!! Would give no stars if it was possible.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Fircrest, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not do any of the things it claims to do!!!

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Last year we used Restore to refinish our two large decks and we were mostly happy with the finished product. So when I just happen to stumble upon the cleaner designed for the product I figured it would be the best. (the finish does get very dirty over the winter due to the rough surface). NOT...after applying as directed I even used a scrub brush and none of the mildew, dirt or any staining was removed at all. After I rinsed my deck off I used another mold,algea cleaner which I have used in the past on my outdoor furniture etc. and it was a huge differance. Needless to say RESTORE DECK CLEANER will be returned to the store and more of the other product will be purchased.
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Restore Cleaner

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Based on reading the other reviews, I think they had used it for the wrong purpose. This product is intended to clean the deck prior to applying the Restore finish... in order to get it to adhere. Not to make your deck look pretty.
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner

What a waste of money

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm getting ready to refinish my deck with restore so I thought that I would try the deck cleaner. After following the instructions I came to one conclusion: I just threw away my money. I even tried doubling the ratio then even tripling and I still didn't notice any difference. My deck isn't even in bad shape! I tried a very diluted mix of water and bleach and I removed stains and mould that the restore cleaner couldn't get off straight out of the bottle. Thinking of buying this product? Do yourself a favor a go buy a $1.00 bottle if bleach.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from dog lady

Worked great

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great easy to use with my pressure washer and didn't kill plants!
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
from Middletown, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

did not do anything in my opinion

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i tried this on my deck in one spot and without in another and i do not see any difference.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not work

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product, per the directions, on half of my deck. Rinsed it off. Nothing. It did absolutely nothing. It does not work!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner

Waste of Money

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you have a power washer then you don't need this s.... Regular pressured water works better than this thing without the added inconvenience of pouring this thing in the tank of your power washer over and over again
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deck and Concrete Cleaner

Great deck cleaner

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Deck looked great after application. Cleaning was easier after use.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.