728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

The Malibu Low Voltage 50 Watt Equivalent Flood Light is a do-it-yourself project that can be installed quickly and safely. The cast metal construction and waterproof seal allows this fixture to withstand any weather, making it ideal for installations such as illuminating trees around your home. Malibu outdoor lighting is a quick and simple way to enhance curb appeal, provide an extra sense of security and is a crucial ingredient needed for improving your entire outdoor living experience.
Overall rating:
4.292 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product37 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(11)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product37 of 43reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer reviews for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
Review 1 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent lights, might be too bright

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice lights, very well made. Solid metal housing and quality adjustment screw. Lights are very bright for landscape lights at 300 lumens. Light pattern is smooth and does not look unsightly against the house with a nice wide beam. These lights are borderline too bright, and I am thinking of downgrading to the the 20w equivalent LED.
I used the quick connectors for testing and placement to get the lights up and running in 20 minutes, but once everything is exactly how I want it I will be going back and removing those connectors and splicing into the low voltage cable so they stay connected through the winter.
The attached picture shows 4 of these lights and the porch light on at the same time
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Miami, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Reliable Spot Light

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Draws only 11 watts but illuminates like a 50 watt spotlight. I have a string of 14 flood lights in my backyard and never had to replace a unit unless the gardener broke it at the base. Hard to do because the base is thick, but the weak point appears to be at the top of the stake where the threads begin. Another negative issue is that there is no apparent way to replace the LED bulb. Once it burns out, it's trash. This has happened frequently on the pathway lights, which makes me very unhappy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lighting up Old Glory

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I recently upgraded to a 32-foot brushed aluminum flagpole to replace a gnarly old 20-foot steel pole. At the same time, I decided to install some lights for nighttime display, and after doing some research I settled on these LED floodlights.
I wanted something a little more quality/permanent than the cheezy plastic ground spikes, and the bases screwed right onto half-inch threaded PVC pipes, which are set in concrete bases. I also purchased a Malibu power supply with "electric eye" that turns the lights on at dusk, off at dawn.
I'm quite pleased with the results. But be aware - these are FLOOD lights; I wish they were more of a "spot" beam to focus the light in a smaller space. But these will do. The light color is nice - not that stark bluish-white you think of with LED illumination.
I anticipate these lights will last a long, long time... and that the savings realized in lower energy consumption will reward me for the higher purchase price of LED illumination over incandescent.
I've attached a photo of my new flagpole, and you can see the two lights about 6 feet out from the base.
Pros: Functional, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

Perfect with frosted film on glass

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I first plugged this in I liked how bright it was but I didn't like how harsh it was. it looked like a U shaped beam on the wall with a sharp edge cutoff. Sort of like a projector based HID headlight.
Adding film on it completely softened the lights I it doesn't look like a flashlight. it should of come like this!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice lights

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have six of these in the front of my house including my light for my flag. I have them on a 300wt box and really get a lot of compliments.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Southern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great light

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm using these uplights to accent trees and the look is terrific. Most of my low-voltage lights are the lower wattage LED ones that are less pricey and they work well but these are really impressive.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Very Bright
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Murfreesboro, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Product and Customer Service

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been a user of Malibu products for a long time.
Malibu’s timers & transformers and flooding lights are easy to install and work well.
My experience with Malibu services has been excellent. I recently found one of my Malibu’s timer & transformer and one of the LED flooding lights not working in my front yard. I contacted Malibu Customer Service. After only a few necessary questions and red tapes on their side, Malibu decided to send me replacement transformer & timer and floodlight. All now is working fine. The Customer Service contact person was very helpful and supportive. I am very happy with Malibu products and services and recommend them.
Clovis Evangelista
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Throws a lot of light

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We have used Malibu low voltage lighting for quite a while and have never found fault with product quality. However, I am constantly frustrated with their connector design. It works well but I hope you never want to move a light from its original location. It's very difficult to remove the connector without damage.
Pros: Functional, Very Bright
Cons: connector design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

waste of money

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 6 of those Malibu LED's and they all stopped working within 6-9 months, like clockwork. 100% failure rate. The real problem: those flood lights are a one-way deal. The LED's cannot be replaced (and why are we made to believe they will work for thousands of hours??).
I sort of liked the housing of these flood lights and did not want to throw them away. After gutting them, I was able to rebuild them and fit MR 16 LED's (check YouTube, there are some interesting videos that explain how to do that). You can find those bulbs on eBay for $5 (or less) a piece and they work as well as the ones sold at your local retail store - and you'll save a bundle!
The sad reality: all these LED bulbs are still manufactured in CHINA.
LED lighting is the FUTURE but you don't want to waste your money on this particular flood light!
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: led's cannot be replaced after burning out
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

Great light

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to connect to existing line and brightness level is awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good fixture for the price

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This fixture is attached to the low voltage wire in the same manner as all of the Malibu fixtures. I purchased 8 of these fixtures and had difficulty attaching the spike into the body on each of them. This was particularily frustrating since it is a simple 1/2" pipe thread. The problem is that the male threaded spike has a split thread so it is extremely difficult to screw them together squarely. That's a really stupid design. Not quite sure what the designers were thinking. Fortunately, this doesn't affect the functionality of the fixture in any manner. Each of the fixtures have 4 bright warm white LED's. They are similar in color and brightness to 50 watt halogen. On one of the fixtures, 2 of the 4 LED's were dead on arrival. As with all HD items, I assume replacement won't be an issue.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

3 out of 13 defective...

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not use this product again. Malibu need a quality control department.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Accent Lighting

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The lighting was simple to install and the light is crisp, clean and bright. I have had many different types of low voltage lights, these by far look the best. You will need less lights to cover the same area. The culture shock is the price. They are higher but with no bulb replacement, they should be cost effective.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: initial cost
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement landscape light for the 50 Watt Halogen originals.

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had some older 50 watt halogen Malibu fixtures that had finally (after 10 years) stopped working. These are a FANTASTIC replacement! Less energy and VERY bright. I installed 4 as replacements on my existing line and it took all of 10 minutes to complete the task. I am actually considering replacing the remaining 6 halogen fixtures with these.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

W O W

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Malibu may have hit this one out of the park. A metal, 50w equivalent LED spotlight for under $30? I was skeptical, but these things work!
Very solid construction. Easy connections.
Very bright. Not sure if they're really "50w equivalent," but they are BRIGHT. Forget CFL - LEDs are the future. I cannot believe I'm getting this kind of output on just 11 watts. Saves money and transformer space.
Also very low color temp. No blue tint here. Blends perfectly with the color of my 11w incandescent path bulbs.
As for longevity, only time will tell... I've only been running them for a week, and no major storms yet.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 of 4 failed upon delivery

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered 4 of these. I tested all of them before putting them out. On 2 of them only 2 of the 4 LED's worked. A pretty big failure rate. I suppose it may last if it doesnt fail right a way.
Pros: Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

LED Lighting

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Fantastic and easy to install. Did it in a couple of hours.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from San Juan, Puerto Rico
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Long Lasting and easy installation

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have all of those lighting in my landscape, great product
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Estero, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Fixture, not perfect

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
LED landscape lights (whether Malibu or ???) are SLOWLY getting better in quality. The absolute detrimental factor for these types of lights is moisture. When moisture gets in the fixture, it will be ruined. I have installed 3 of these in SW Florida in last 9 months in a high moisture environment with an irrigation system. They have performed as expected. If you want a foolproof/long lasting connection for this type of fixture - discard the mechanical crimp connection, splice the wires, wire nut, electrical tape and call it good. Those type of connections eventually FAIL. You can spend upwards of $250/ea for a "professional" grade fixture, but not sure you are gaining that much. Most LED fixtures like these will only last 5-7 years based on a 10,000 -15,000hr life
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: longevity, need longer lead wire
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from COLORADO SPRINGS COLORADO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Bright , natural light

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am replacing all my lights with led the technology and efficiency cant be beat
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>