728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

The Malibu Low Voltage 50 Watt Equivalent Flood Light is a do-it-yourself project that can be installed quickly and safely. The cast metal construction and waterproof seal allows this fixture to withstand any weather, making it ideal for installations such as illuminating trees around your home. Malibu outdoor lighting is a quick and simple way to enhance curb appeal, provide an extra sense of security and is a crucial ingredient needed for improving your entire outdoor living experience.
Overall rating:
4.242 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product24 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product24 of 29reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
Review 1 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
bikeboy
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lighting up Old Glory

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I recently upgraded to a 32-foot brushed aluminum flagpole to replace a gnarly old 20-foot steel pole. At the same time, I decided to install some lights for nighttime display, and after doing some research I settled on these LED floodlights.
I wanted something a little more quality/permanent than the cheezy plastic ground spikes, and the bases screwed right onto half-inch threaded PVC pipes, which are set in concrete bases. I also purchased a Malibu power supply with "electric eye" that turns the lights on at dusk, off at dawn.
I'm quite pleased with the results. But be aware - these are FLOOD lights; I wish they were more of a "spot" beam to focus the light in a smaller space. But these will do. The light color is nice - not that stark bluish-white you think of with LED illumination.
I anticipate these lights will last a long, long time... and that the savings realized in lower energy consumption will reward me for the higher purchase price of LED illumination over incandescent.
I've attached a photo of my new flagpole, and you can see the two lights about 6 feet out from the base.
Pros: Functional, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
Cmill
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice lights

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have six of these in the front of my house including my light for my flag. I have them on a 300wt box and really get a lot of compliments.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
JTee

Perfect with frosted film on glass

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I first plugged this in I liked how bright it was but I didn't like how harsh it was. it looked like a U shaped beam on the wall with a sharp edge cutoff. Sort of like a projector based HID headlight.
Adding film on it completely softened the lights I it doesn't look like a flashlight. it should of come like this!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
jeadec

waste of money

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 6 of those Malibu LED's and they all stopped working within 6-9 months, like clockwork. 100% failure rate. The real problem: those flood lights are a one-way deal. The LED's cannot be replaced (and why are we made to believe they will work for thousands of hours??).
I sort of liked the housing of these flood lights and did not want to throw them away. After gutting them, I was able to rebuild them and fit MR 16 LED's (check YouTube, there are some interesting videos that explain how to do that). You can find those bulbs on eBay for $5 (or less) a piece and they work as well as the ones sold at your local retail store - and you'll save a bundle!
The sad reality: all these LED bulbs are still manufactured in CHINA.
LED lighting is the FUTURE but you don't want to waste your money on this particular flood light!
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: led's cannot be replaced after burning out
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
leonardo
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 of 4 failed upon delivery

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered 4 of these. I tested all of them before putting them out. On 2 of them only 2 of the 4 LED's worked. A pretty big failure rate. I suppose it may last if it doesnt fail right a way.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
Robert
from Nesbit, Hernando, MS 38651, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, easy to install...would buy again.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is great and it makes such a difference in the night time appearance of our home.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
mreev90
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good fixture for the price

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This fixture is attached to the low voltage wire in the same manner as all of the Malibu fixtures. I purchased 8 of these fixtures and had difficulty attaching the spike into the body on each of them. This was particularily frustrating since it is a simple 1/2" pipe thread. The problem is that the male threaded spike has a split thread so it is extremely difficult to screw them together squarely. That's a really stupid design. Not quite sure what the designers were thinking. Fortunately, this doesn't affect the functionality of the fixture in any manner. Each of the fixtures have 4 bright warm white LED's. They are similar in color and brightness to 50 watt halogen. On one of the fixtures, 2 of the 4 LED's were dead on arrival. As with all HD items, I assume replacement won't be an issue.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
MCPU
from Texas

Great replacement fixture

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had to replace 5 existing halogen 50watt fixtures that had finally stopped working. Decided to go forth with 5 of these LED models. Looks fantastic and quite impressed with the brightness. Did have one DOA and had to return for a replacement. Powering with a 300watt transformer.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
woody
from Bradenton, FL, USA

great natural light for a LED product

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light output is great for only 11 watts, allowing many more lights to be placed on one transformer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
Jayinlauderdale
from Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very bright white light

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased 800.00 worth of these lights. Wasn't sure how bright they would be or how they would perform. I was very surprised. They were very powerful pure bright white light. In fact I bought 12 of them first, liked them enough to go back and buy another 12. The only caveat is that I haven't had them for very long. I cannot comment on how well they work over a period of years. I was constantly replacing my incandescent yard lights at about 10 dollars a bulb. The cost of a replacement led bulb versus buying the whole fixture was the same so I bought the fixtures instead.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design, Powerful
Cons: unsure how they will age
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
FloridaJim
from Estero, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Fixture, not perfect

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
LED landscape lights (whether Malibu or ???) are SLOWLY getting better in quality. The absolute detrimental factor for these types of lights is moisture. When moisture gets in the fixture, it will be ruined. I have installed 3 of these in SW Florida in last 9 months in a high moisture environment with an irrigation system. They have performed as expected. If you want a foolproof/long lasting connection for this type of fixture - discard the mechanical crimp connection, splice the wires, wire nut, electrical tape and call it good. Those type of connections eventually FAIL. You can spend upwards of $250/ea for a "professional" grade fixture, but not sure you are gaining that much. Most LED fixtures like these will only last 5-7 years based on a 10,000 -15,000hr life
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: longevity, need longer lead wire
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
ToolGirl

4 led's in fixture, only 2 of them worked right out of the box

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased in store, connected today. The two-piece snap-together connector is not the easiest to use if your landscape wire is of the higher quality, thicker variety.
Managed to get this light installed (after disassembling it in order to conceal the wires inside the stake so they cannot be damaged by enthusiastic string trimmer); upon powering up, only two of the four diodes illuminate. Not a good indication of quality control.
Will be returned tomorrow; wasted an hour of my time today, will be wasting more time and gas visiting the store again tomorrow.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: no quality control
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
Mklos
from Walled Lake, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good lamp at a decent price

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is about the same output as my 35 watt bulb units. The light is the nice golden white like the bulb units, not the glaring blue/white that some of the LED Christmas lights produce. Really a nice replacement. Could be a little tighter "spot" but not bad. The only thing I didn't like is the length on the connection cable. It was about 6 inches shorter than the lamp I replaced but I made it work. If this lasts like other LED items I own, this will be a great purchase. I lost bulbs in my outdoor spot lamps about three times per year and replacing them was a drag. Just not having to wade through my hedges to do that was worth it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made
Cons: short connection wire
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
JoCo

W O W

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Malibu may have hit this one out of the park. A metal, 50w equivalent LED spotlight for under $30? I was skeptical, but these things work!
Very solid construction. Easy connections.
Very bright. Not sure if they're really "50w equivalent," but they are BRIGHT. Forget CFL - LEDs are the future. I cannot believe I'm getting this kind of output on just 11 watts. Saves money and transformer space.
Also very low color temp. No blue tint here. Blends perfectly with the color of my 11w incandescent path bulbs.
As for longevity, only time will tell... I've only been running them for a week, and no major storms yet.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
Anonymous
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement landscape light for the 50 Watt Halogen originals.

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had some older 50 watt halogen Malibu fixtures that had finally (after 10 years) stopped working. These are a FANTASTIC replacement! Less energy and VERY bright. I installed 4 as replacements on my existing line and it took all of 10 minutes to complete the task. I am actually considering replacing the remaining 6 halogen fixtures with these.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
sasi
from West Palm
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good LED spot for outdoor use

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the light to replace an older bulb unit. The plug at the end was meant for another type system. However a simple cut and slice worked perfectly and light put out a warm glow that matched the old light. I would recommend this product.
Pros: Looks Great
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
JPor
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great clear light

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These give off a very clear light and look good too.
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
docofalltrades
from Central Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LED-hopefully a blessing

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very bright light; great color; good quality but a touch pricey (LED!); would have liked to see more teeth on the angle screw to finely adjust. I am anxious to see if the light works for years. Seems like the incandescent it replaced would go out in the winter or when we had days of rain
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: needs finer teeth to adjust to more angles
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
Alffs

Bright Lights - Terrible Connectors

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These lights are surprisingly bright. I was very impressed. The connection tabs break too easily. Of the four lights I installed, two of them ended up with broken connectors. I had to splice the connections together.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Cons: cheap connectors
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
Jimmy
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
excellent value for the price. Simple design. works well easy to install
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>