728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

The Malibu Low Voltage 50 Watt Equivalent Flood Light is a do-it-yourself project that can be installed quickly and safely. The cast metal construction and waterproof seal allows this fixture to withstand any weather, making it ideal for installations such as illuminating trees around your home. Malibu outdoor lighting is a quick and simple way to enhance curb appeal, provide an extra sense of security and is a crucial ingredient needed for improving your entire outdoor living experience.
Overall rating:
4.37 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product43 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(37)
4
(11)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product43 of 49reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 67 Answers
Customer reviews for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
Review 1 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent lights, might be too bright

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Nice lights, very well made. Solid metal housing and quality adjustment screw. Lights are very bright for landscape lights at 300 lumens. Light pattern is smooth and does not look unsightly against the house with a nice wide beam. These lights are borderline too bright, and I am thinking of downgrading to the the 20w equivalent LED.
I used the quick connectors for testing and placement to get the lights up and running in 20 minutes, but once everything is exactly how I want it I will be going back and removing those connectors and splicing into the low voltage cable so they stay connected through the winter.
The attached picture shows 4 of these lights and the porch light on at the same time
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Miami, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Reliable Spot Light

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Draws only 11 watts but illuminates like a 50 watt spotlight. I have a string of 14 flood lights in my backyard and never had to replace a unit unless the gardener broke it at the base. Hard to do because the base is thick, but the weak point appears to be at the top of the stake where the threads begin. Another negative issue is that there is no apparent way to replace the LED bulb. Once it burns out, it's trash. This has happened frequently on the pathway lights, which makes me very unhappy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lighting up Old Glory

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I recently upgraded to a 32-foot brushed aluminum flagpole to replace a gnarly old 20-foot steel pole. At the same time, I decided to install some lights for nighttime display, and after doing some research I settled on these LED floodlights.
I wanted something a little more quality/permanent than the cheezy plastic ground spikes, and the bases screwed right onto half-inch threaded PVC pipes, which are set in concrete bases. I also purchased a Malibu power supply with "electric eye" that turns the lights on at dusk, off at dawn.
I'm quite pleased with the results. But be aware - these are FLOOD lights; I wish they were more of a "spot" beam to focus the light in a smaller space. But these will do. The light color is nice - not that stark bluish-white you think of with LED illumination.
I anticipate these lights will last a long, long time... and that the savings realized in lower energy consumption will reward me for the higher purchase price of LED illumination over incandescent.
I've attached a photo of my new flagpole, and you can see the two lights about 6 feet out from the base.
Pros: Functional, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

Perfect with frosted film on glass

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I first plugged this in I liked how bright it was but I didn't like how harsh it was. it looked like a U shaped beam on the wall with a sharp edge cutoff. Sort of like a projector based HID headlight.
Adding film on it completely softened the lights I it doesn't look like a flashlight. it should of come like this!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice lights

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have six of these in the front of my house including my light for my flag. I have them on a 300wt box and really get a lot of compliments.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Murfreesboro, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Product and Customer Service

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have been a user of Malibu products for a long time.
Malibu’s timers & transformers and flooding lights are easy to install and work well.
My experience with Malibu services has been excellent. I recently found one of my Malibu’s timer & transformer and one of the LED flooding lights not working in my front yard. I contacted Malibu Customer Service. After only a few necessary questions and red tapes on their side, Malibu decided to send me replacement transformer & timer and floodlight. All now is working fine. The Customer Service contact person was very helpful and supportive. I am very happy with Malibu products and services and recommend them.
Clovis Evangelista
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Southern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great light

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm using these uplights to accent trees and the look is terrific. Most of my low-voltage lights are the lower wattage LED ones that are less pricey and they work well but these are really impressive.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Very Bright
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

waste of money

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 6 of those Malibu LED's and they all stopped working within 6-9 months, like clockwork. 100% failure rate. The real problem: those flood lights are a one-way deal. The LED's cannot be replaced (and why are we made to believe they will work for thousands of hours??).
I sort of liked the housing of these flood lights and did not want to throw them away. After gutting them, I was able to rebuild them and fit MR 16 LED's (check YouTube, there are some interesting videos that explain how to do that). You can find those bulbs on eBay for $5 (or less) a piece and they work as well as the ones sold at your local retail store - and you'll save a bundle!
The sad reality: all these LED bulbs are still manufactured in CHINA.
LED lighting is the FUTURE but you don't want to waste your money on this particular flood light!
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: led's cannot be replaced after burning out
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Essex, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lights

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install gives off bright white light. Ihope it last as long as they claim it will
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

Good for up lighting

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this second set of lights to illuminate our backyard as we had used them for the front yard house lighting and were very happy with the light output. The downside of these lights is the bulky transformer needed. Ours was installed on an outlet that frequently loses power and we are having to constantly reprogram the timer on the transformer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Key West Fla
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great outdoor light at a Great Price

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These lights make easy work of either a new installation or replacing existing landscape lighting. Two of us installed two 300 watt transformers, each with 500 feet of wire, 250 feet per leg and connected 12-15 lights per leg. This system works beautifully and lights up the yard so the older owners are not afraid to return home late at night. The only drawback is the connecter... I see these push in connecters failing in the first year. I made all me connections directly with waterproof wire nuts... That is the correct way to install it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Very Bright
Cons: don't like connector to 12 ga wire
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Thousand Oaks, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great landscap light

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
great light but the attaching cord should be 6" longer.
Also, make sure the light cover is on tight. any moisture will kill the LEDs
Pros: Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good fixture for the price

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This fixture is attached to the low voltage wire in the same manner as all of the Malibu fixtures. I purchased 8 of these fixtures and had difficulty attaching the spike into the body on each of them. This was particularily frustrating since it is a simple 1/2" pipe thread. The problem is that the male threaded spike has a split thread so it is extremely difficult to screw them together squarely. That's a really stupid design. Not quite sure what the designers were thinking. Fortunately, this doesn't affect the functionality of the fixture in any manner. Each of the fixtures have 4 bright warm white LED's. They are similar in color and brightness to 50 watt halogen. On one of the fixtures, 2 of the 4 LED's were dead on arrival. As with all HD items, I assume replacement won't be an issue.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Stillwater, OK
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I purchased eight lights a few weeks ago and needed two more.

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very happy with my purchase and was glad there was free shipping.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Keller, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Landscaping Lights Ever!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
2-2.5 Times brighter than standard landscaping lights of the same wattage.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Throws a lot of light

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We have used Malibu low voltage lighting for quite a while and have never found fault with product quality. However, I am constantly frustrated with their connector design. It works well but I hope you never want to move a light from its original location. It's very difficult to remove the connector without damage.
Pros: Functional, Very Bright
Cons: connector design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement landscape light for the 50 Watt Halogen originals.

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had some older 50 watt halogen Malibu fixtures that had finally (after 10 years) stopped working. These are a FANTASTIC replacement! Less energy and VERY bright. I installed 4 as replacements on my existing line and it took all of 10 minutes to complete the task. I am actually considering replacing the remaining 6 halogen fixtures with these.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

W O W

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Malibu may have hit this one out of the park. A metal, 50w equivalent LED spotlight for under $30? I was skeptical, but these things work!
Very solid construction. Easy connections.
Very bright. Not sure if they're really "50w equivalent," but they are BRIGHT. Forget CFL - LEDs are the future. I cannot believe I'm getting this kind of output on just 11 watts. Saves money and transformer space.
Also very low color temp. No blue tint here. Blends perfectly with the color of my 11w incandescent path bulbs.
As for longevity, only time will tell... I've only been running them for a week, and no major storms yet.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light

Great light

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to connect to existing line and brightness level is awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Low Voltage LED Black 50W Equivalent Flood Light
from West Palm
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good LED spot for outdoor use

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased the light to replace an older bulb unit. The plug at the end was meant for another type system. However a simple cut and slice worked perfectly and light put out a warm glow that matched the old light. I would recommend this product.
Pros: Looks Great
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>