728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)

MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)

The Mirage by MasterCool is innovation at its finest. This slim, wall hugging unit has a narrow profile - only 10 inches. It is constructed of heavy-duty, UV resistant, corrosion free virgin polypropylene plastic for years of worry free maintenance. This evaporative cooler performs best in dry, arid climates.
Overall rating:
4.233 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product23 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product23 of 27reviews
Customer reviews for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
Review 1 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
from Reno, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far the cooler has been great here in Reno,Nv!

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been looking forward to installing a cooler through my wall and get rid of the one in my kitchen window blowing anyone out that is in the kitchen. And this unit has been fantastic. Installation was a snap with the under 100lbs. weight! I have a 2 story house just under 1500 Sq.Ft. And it has been performing great! My bedroom faces the hottest sun of the day(S-SW) on the 2nd floor, so performence is key to our comfort. In fact sometimes it has been to cold for my girlfriend. With the 3 speeds I have hardly had on anything but low. We have not been really hot yet (under 90) but I suspect it will still pass with flying colors! I love the thin profile and the smaller water holding capability so when the purge pump kicks in I waste less water! Though the water does go directly to landscaping. Since installed a bit higher up my wall for better 2nd floor access, I love the remote! I absolutely reccomend this unit! I know it is a newer unit and few have owned it very long. But with it's lack of metal construction I believe it will last for a very long time with few issues! Thanks for your time on reading my detailed review.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
from Barstow, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Better Than Expected -- WPL44NP

PostedMay 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Based on the other 4 reviews posted I bought and installed this unit and am very happy with it.
It keeps my home about 75 degrees F when it is 85'F to 100'F outside.
Based on watching my electric meter turn, I calculate the unit costs me 5 cents per hour to run (18 cents per kilowatt hour). At 12 hours a day, that's only $18 per month.
A very pleasant surprise with this unit is that it blows air into my home in an outward expanding vortex so that instead of a blast of air running through the middle of the living area, I feel air moving gently everywhere. I can stand in front of the fan and not have to comb my hair afterwards. It's great!
I also love the remote. It is so nice to be able to turn this unit on or off or up or down with a light tap either on the unit's easy control panel or the remote across the living area, in my case 30 feet away.
I've included a photo so you can see how attractive the unit is installed.
I absolutely recommend this unit to others.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fairly Good unit

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good overall unit. Does what it says it will do. Fairly simple to install as well. However, be carefule with the plastic fittings! Don't know it they were old or just poor quality. But everyone I snugged-up broke off. Went ahead and replaced all with better quality stuff from the hardware store. After that was all done, fairly reliable system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: plastic fittings poor quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Price and Small Profile

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit to help cool down the house during the hot Phoenix summers. We have a 1600 sq ft home and so far it is doing well at cooling the house when the outside temp is in the 90’s. I just installed it so it has not been through a brutal summer yet, but I suspect it will do well. This will really help reduce my electric bill this summer. I used a power meter and determined that the cooler only draws 3 amp with the fan and pump running. One thing I would recommend it that you install a purge pump. The unit is all ready set up to take a second pump. You should use a regular pump and not a special “purge pump” that cost more. The built in electronics of the unit will activate the purge pump about every 8 hours of pump time, therefore you do not and should not use a “purge” type pump. This cooler was blowing air at about 65 degrees with an outside temp of about 94 degrees. Im looking forward to a summer with a cool home and a small electric bill.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
from Redding, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'd buy it again

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Application: We bought it for a 1200sq. ft modular home. the unit was a little overkill since the advertisement states it will cool up to 1600sq. ft (the markings on the box says 1500 sq. ft). we live in a dry climate...Northern Califonia where temps can get up to 117.
The Pros: It looks a whole lot better than the metal box-looking evaporitive coolers....very nice design. Installation wasn't to bad especailly because it was light weight. I'd say it took my wife and I about 3 hours to install including the water line. Cooling is as promised...works better that our central AC (though it hasn't got any hotter than 95 since we installed it...Im still waiting fo the 110 -117 days).
Cons: A little more expensive than the traditional units (but I think it's worth it). Took a couple of days to get passed the wet cardboard smell that comes with new pads ....now we have great cooling with no odor. Be sure to read the additional installation inserts with the instruction manual. Apparently the pump they originally put in was so powerful it put out too much water...hence water would spray into the house. They did down size the pump but it still very effective...so effective that you'll find a clamp from the pump to the pads that can reduce the water flow even further (you will need to reduce the flow since running the fan on high will pull the water off the pads and spray it in the house). Easy fix, but be aware so that you don't inadveratly cause water damage. Also, it's designed for a window that has a vertical opening as opposed to a horizontal opening like mine...hence the screen inserts that come with the unit are totally ineffective. You'll need to make something that will fit into the opening.
I bought this after several days on internet searching on evaporative coolers. As of 7/1/12 I've used it for about a week.......I like it. The style and effectiveness is a definate for added home value. I beleive it should pay for itself within 2 years because of decreased utilities
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fantastic

PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this cooler. I have a 2500 sqft home and it cools the whole house with no problem. From people coming over visiting I have sold 6 other units. We live in Arizona and are able to use it until July 1st and then again towards the middle of Sept. Love, love, love it.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

awesome cooler

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have a 1700 sq. ft. home and this cooler works great.all though i did noy pay nearly what they are selling for now.i would still buy another one if i had to.i have owned mine for 5 years now and just now had to replace the pump.100 degrees outside and still 70 to 75 degrees inside.very light weight and ez to store.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, cools all of the 2000 sq.ft. 2-story house.

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit in July of 2012 and after installing it, found that the med. fan speed did not work. Being a very hot Summer in Colorado, replacement units were never in stock so we just used the defective one for the season. The thing worked so well that my wife would have me turn it off at the end of the night because it was too cold when sleeping. I removed the unit from the window for the Winter since it is pretty easy to do and would prolong the life of the cooler. This May I took the cooler to Home Depot (along with all of my documentation of purchase and correspondences with customer service) and they did an even trade with me for a new one. I installed it today and it was perfect. Bring on the hot weather and thanks to Home Depot for the great customer service.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: fan is a little loud but it is pretty powerful.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The master cool is working as advertised

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
After about 4 weeks of use I am satisfied. The cooler is mounted in a bedroom window and with a couple of living room windows open it keeps a 2500 sqft house under 80 with the oat about 100.
It is a little louder than a squirrel cage, but not too bad.
I expect it to work good to cool the house for most days until about the end of June.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked great until it wouldn't turn on...

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the instructions had two "supplements" that were less than helpful... but when we got it in it worked great until the control mechanism stopped working.. Per the 1-800 # the earlier models have a problem and they "didn't get the word" to the vendors or manufactures in time. When I called they said they knew about the problem and were very nice on the phone and will send out a part that will be here in 7-10 business days, can be time consuming to replace and there are no instructions available at this time on how to make the installation. The customer service representative was very nice but one week for something they should have fixed and knew about. Not happy and hot!
Cons: stops working
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So Far a Great Machine

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently purchased this unit, as the Bonaire Durango (the unit we wanted) was and is sold out, and we needed a cooling solution quickly. Although both my husband and I grew up in CO, until this year we were not familiar with swamp coolers. Both of us had either had central air or window units.
With that said, we learned about the new, improved version of evaporative coolers and decided to research the possibility. We were pleased with what we found, a green cooling solution.
This unit cools our 1400 sq. foot two level home very well. We have the unit installed on the first floor, and surprisingly by opening the window slightly upstairs as a vent, the unit cools even our upstairs well, running on low. Yes, the fan on high is loud, but it is very powerful and no louder than a noisy window a/c. On low, it is a very pleasant fan sound.
Now, in terms of installation, there is a word of reality. My husband who installed a GFCI and a water line for this unit is quite handy. His handiwork was fine; however, out of the box the compression fitting was faulty making the connection leaky. Sure, we bought a new fitting and solved the problem, but just know that it might not be plain and simple installing this unit. My husband said, the directions are lousy, and again because he is great with handiwork, no biggie. Lastly, you must make sure that the screws to the casing (on the back of the unit) are put back in before running the pump, or the unit will leak. It does make note of this in the directions. Just an FYI!
Overall, for the price, the energy efficiency, and the result, the unit is worth the installation headaches. On low the last two days with 100 degree temps outside, our indoor temp has been 69 degrees downstairs and 73 degrees upstairs. Plus, the slim profile of this unit is nonobtrusive. We live in a neighborhood with all 100 plus year old houses that are no more than three feet apart, and this unit does not obstruct passage to and from the backyard. Honestly, for the price, we are very pleased!
(I will repost in a month or two, once I know the financial reality of running this unit and have a better idea of how it performs.)
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Economical
Cons: Difficult to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
from Colorado
Gender:Male

Delivery was prompt. Unit was easy to install, and performs well.

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Recommendations: 1) strengthen the material locally around fasteners (it is pretty easy to drive them into the material if slight over-torqued; 2) provide better information on the proper tubing to be used for the water connection. (I am personally unfamiliar with the correct type of material to use and purchased clear tubing first. The wall thickness was too large, and I am told mold can form inside easily); 3) it would be nice if there were an even lower fan speed available.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, Economical, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cools great but noisy and the back cover difficult to put on

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just installed this cooler 2 days ago, and it works great. It's more noisy than my old swamp cooler ( in fact I haven't used the high setting because of that), and the back cover is difficult to get back on correctly after you remove it. I had to adjust the water flow this morning and it took me an hour and a half to get the back cover to fit back on properly because of the design. It has a lip on the top that has to fit over the front of the unit, and it's almost impossible to get it to slide on correctly. You really need two people just to do that. I'm already dreading my fall maintenance.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, does a great job cooling
Cons: Noisy, back cover hard to put on
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
from Golden, CO

when it works . . .

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
when it works, it cools really well.
However, my unit is now just over 1 year old and I've had to replace the control module 3 times (which requires removing the entire unit from the window).
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, unreliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
from Conifer, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's ok but know a few things before buying

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just installed this model and there are a few things to know before selecting it. It is extremely sensitive to being absolutely level and plumb otherwise not all of the paper cooling element will get water which is important for maximum cooling efficiency. I had to re adjust its mounting twice to get the water flowing evenly (I mounted mine in a wall not a window which I think would be much harder to get it right). Also the inner water hose had a slight kink that seemed to impede water flow. This had to be corrected.
The fan is much different than tradition swamp coolers that use squirrel cages. It works well but it's somewhat louder and the noise is not the more pleasant "white noise" sound from a squirrel cage but more like a large axial fan.
The biggest unpleasant surprise for me was the electronic controls. The don't allow the use of a thermastat control as when the power is interrupted the unit always defaults to off. This means having no possible automation of the controls.
The unit is plastic so no rust but it seems rather brittle and fragile. Not sure it will with stand 10 plus years of being serviced twice a year like a metal one will easily handle.
Unless you need the clearance this slim unit offers you might want to go with the more traditional metal units.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
from Soap Lake, WA 98851, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says and more!

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This cooler I have yet to run it higher than the low setting if I make sure to turn it on before it hits 75 in the house. The more windows that are open the better it works and I love being able to have the windows open in the summer. We have had over 100 degree days and the unit will keep the house below 77 on the low setting. Extremely affordable compared to air conditioning. It is so quiet compared to the other boxy type of coolers, love that feature most of all!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)

Very cold and looks great!

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit blows very cold air and cycles the water reservoir every so often to prevent bacteria from building up. I do recommend you upgrade your electrical outlet to a GFCI outlet. My electrical system in mine is already shot due to bad power. I called and they sent me a new part for free and the company told me that this happens once in a while if you don't have that added protection on that outlet. Overall, very pleased with this. Cools almost my entire 4 bedroom house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
from colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The cooler was not difficult to install, and does work well.

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The installation was actually pretty simple, and the performance of the unit is satisfactory. The fan on the unit is actually quite noisy however, and was not something I expected. House is 1200sf, and on low setting I can hear it on the other side of the house. On high setting, it's too loud to even be on the phone in the same room with it. Temps have been hovering around 100 degrees since the install, and inside is a comfortable 75-77 degrees.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)
from Morrison, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love it, wish it had come out years ago

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like the way it mounts up against the outside wall, you hardly notice it when your outside. The lowest setting blows like a bandit. You sit in front of it you will need a sweater. i'm saving about $25 a month on my electric bill. Only one fan exhaust, to draw the cool air thru the house, instead of 4-5. And that rebate cut my purchase cost more than half.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MasterCool 4000 CFM Slim Profile Window Evaporative Cooler for 1600 sq. ft. (with motor)

Set up instructions

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like this but the set up instructions could be better. I am sure a HVAC tech would have no problem, but for the general population it would help if the instructions were a bit better when it comes to the internal set up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>