728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 4.5 Gal. UltraLightweight Premixed Joint Compound

4.5 Gal. UltraLightweight Premixed Joint Compound

Sheetrock ultralightweight all purpose joint compound is an exceptionally lightweight, latex-based compound used for embedding joint tape as well as filling, leveling, and finishing over gypsum panel joints, fasteners, bead, and trim. Nearly 40 percent lighter than conventional weight joint compounds, Sheetrock ultralightweigh. All purpose joint compound continues a record of lightweight innovation by USG, building off the success of its ultralight wallboard portfolio. The compound offers good open time and improved slip while delivering excellent bond over bead, trim, and fastener concealments. It can be applied by hand or machine and, despite its tough surface, it sands easily.
Overall rating:
2.5 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
44%of customersrecommend this product4 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
2.5 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
44%of customersrecommend this product4 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 4.5 Gal. UltraLightweight Premixed Joint Compound
Review 1 for 4.5 Gal. UltraLightweight Premixed Joint Compound
from maryland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

product works great if used properly.

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I do not believe this product is intended for applying in heavy coats. It does shrink and takes longer to dry if applied heavily. This product is perfect for skim coat over old rough walls or the final coat on new sheetrock. It sands very easily.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4.5 Gal. UltraLightweight Premixed Joint Compound
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Used for setting tape, more follow-up

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been using this product for the last 5 days and decided to try it out for setting the tape on some areas I hadn't done yet. I don't know what happened to the other guys but I still didn't have any major problems. Drying time is the same as any other product, I only saw 1 crack and that was where I filled a big joint in. This would happen with any weight compound. Those other reviewers must have had outdated or bad product, which is very possible depending on shelf time at the retailer. The more I use this , the more I appreciate the light weight. If problems arise, I'll write back.
Pros: Performs Well, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4.5 Gal. UltraLightweight Premixed Joint Compound

Do not use

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this. Do not use this.
This product is extremely light and makes it easy to move the bucket around. This is the only benefit to this.
It is harder to work with then all purpose joint compound. It is impossible to get it flat or smooth. It will take you 4 times longer to apply this. Maybe even longer. It dries very slowly. VERY SLOWLY. I had to wait two weeks for some joints to dry so I could sand them. When it dries you will have an extreme amount of cracks and pits. You will need multiple applications for cracks and they still will not be gone unless you use a different compound.
I went back to all purpose compound and threw away about half of this bucket after trying it out on a small room.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4.5 Gal. UltraLightweight Premixed Joint Compound
from VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Worst joint compound in the USG line

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst product in the USG line. I have used just about every type of joint compound over the years (hot mud, cold mud, blue lid, purple lid, green lid…etc..) And each did something well or had a purpose…expect this. I was skeptical of this compound and would never use it for taping (that is what all purpose or durabond is for :-) ) but it was the only thing in stock at the moment and I figured that for a skim coat it would not be that bad….I was horribly wrong. First off I had the problem of air bubbles like another reviewer mentioned…ok so I remixed it to get them out and if that was the worst of it I would have been ok. This mud is prone to cracking in even the thinnest application. I used it for a second coat over paper faced drywall corner bead that was dry for 2 days and it cracked (less then 1/16th thick… I measured with a micrometer..) It cracked just about everywhere I used it too (seems, inside corners as a second coat). The mud was used in a heated house at 68 degrees with about 30% humidity…..(I have a indoor gauge). The mud does not seem to stick nearly as well as even light weight joint compound and it never dries. Since it was cracking I scraped it off the walls and it has been four day and the pile of scrapings are still damp. I am so happy that I did not tape with it and that it only failed as a second coat. I grabbed a bucked of midweight and finished the job with no problems. One of my friends also used this and had the same result…had to redo the seems and the taping…In closing this product does nothing well and is only slightly lighter the lightweight joint compound ….and fails in every way possible…….way to mess this one up USG….
Pros: none
Cons: useless
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4.5 Gal. UltraLightweight Premixed Joint Compound
from Tonawanda, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Junk

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Because I'm always looking for ways to make finishing drywall easier, I bought a bucket of this stuff. First off when I first used it, way too many air bubbles. It was hard to work with. Secondly, I opened the bucket about 5 weeks after buying it, and the bucket was full of mold and the compound was practically water. Junk, this stuff is junk.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent, Maintenance
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4.5 Gal. UltraLightweight Premixed Joint Compound
from bel air maryland

Junk - don't buy

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've worked weekly with premixed joint compound for 20 years. With that said, this stuff is everything bad, that the other reviewers mentioned, and then some.
It's hard to believe that it made it into the market.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4.5 Gal. UltraLightweight Premixed Joint Compound
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

all this is joint compond with extra air manufactured in it. Makes harder to work and forced to apply a second coat.

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased and used it and has too much air in it. Its similar to what Hersheys Candy did. They fill the product with air during the manufacturing to make it lighter. Thus it requires more unnecessary coats. To get the air out and cut cost just mix in some dish washing liquid. Don't recommend this product. Use orginal joint compound.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent, Difficult to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4.5 Gal. UltraLightweight Premixed Joint Compound
from Saratoga Springs, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Easy to work with

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like this mud much more than the blue lid or Dark green lid. It sands way easier than the others. The dark green is like sanding concrete compared to this stuff. The one drawback is the amount of air in the mix when you get it. One must be sure to mix WELL before using or be prepared to fill bubbles over and over.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean
Cons: needs a lot of mixing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4.5 Gal. UltraLightweight Premixed Joint Compound

Try it for yourself

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have been finishing drywall for years, and after reading other reviews, I feel like I'm using a different product than most of the other reviewers. After a little mixing, I have never had problems with cracks or air bubbles. I love how light weight it is, I can get more done without my arm getting worn out, especially ceilings. It's a little pricier but well worth it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4.5 Gal. UltraLightweight Premixed Joint Compound
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Slow drying time, not suitable for multiple layers

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product dries even slower that regular joint compound when applied thickly. After drying it is not as hard as regular joint compound so subsequent coats and tooling can cause the lower layer to scuff up. Might be OK for thin skim coats but provides no benefit over regular joint compound.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.