728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound

Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound

SHEETROCK ultra lightweight all purpose joint compound is an exceptionally lightweight, latex-based compound used for embedding joint tape as well as filling, leveling, and finishing over gypsum panel joints, fasteners, bead, and trim. Nearly 40% lighter than conventional weight joint compounds, SHEETROCK ultra lightweight. All purpose joint compound continues a record of lightweight innovation by USG, building off the success of its ultra light wallboard portfolio. The compound offers good open time and improved slip while delivering excellent bond over bead, trim, and fastener concealments. It can be applied by hand or machine and, despite its tough surface, it sands easily.
Overall rating:
3.227 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product13 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
3.2 out of 5
5
(9)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product13 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
Review 1 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound

WORST JOINT COMPOUND

PostedJune 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Been doing this a long time and this product is absolutely horrible. Extremely long dry time. Work in the northeast and the humidity already makes for longer dry times. Took days for second coats to dry. Air bubbles even after multiple mixes. You have to go back and fill every pit hole. I will never use this product again and don't recommend it to anyone.
Pros: none
Cons: everything
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound

Fantastic Product!

PostedJune 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've done drywall for over 30 years and this is by far my favorite mud to work with. Ultra light is great because it requires half the sanding! Anyone who has done this job for any length of time knows how important this is!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from New York
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Daily

Light but Strong

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was cautious at first but was informed that it dries like Green but works like Blue lid. Once dried it was as strong as the dark green lid that I normally use. Great product, took a minute to get use to because you dont have to pull as hard with the knife since its so much lighter.
Pros: High Quality, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Worst joint compound in the USG line

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst product in the USG line. I have used just about every type of joint compound over the years (hot mud, cold mud, blue lid, purple lid, green lid…etc..) And each did something well or had a purpose…expect this. I was skeptical of this compound and would never use it for taping (that is what all purpose or durabond is for :-) ) but it was the only thing in stock at the moment and I figured that for a skim coat it would not be that bad….I was horribly wrong. First off I had the problem of air bubbles like another reviewer mentioned…ok so I remixed it to get them out and if that was the worst of it I would have been ok. This mud is prone to cracking in even the thinnest application. I used it for a second coat over paper faced drywall corner bead that was dry for 2 days and it cracked (less then 1/16th thick… I measured with a micrometer..) It cracked just about everywhere I used it too (seems, inside corners as a second coat). The mud was used in a heated house at 68 degrees with about 30% humidity…..(I have a indoor gauge). The mud does not seem to stick nearly as well as even light weight joint compound and it never dries. Since it was cracking I scraped it off the walls and it has been four day and the pile of scrapings are still damp. I am so happy that I did not tape with it and that it only failed as a second coat. I grabbed a bucked of midweight and finished the job with no problems. One of my friends also used this and had the same result…had to redo the seems and the taping…In closing this product does nothing well and is only slightly lighter the lightweight joint compound ….and fails in every way possible…….way to mess this one up USG….
Pros: none
Cons: useless
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from New Jersey
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Daily

Lightest ever

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best compound to use for all applications. You can use it from taping to skim coatins. I use it everyday and love how light it is and easy to sand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound

Best Compound on the Market

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best compound to work with. Great to use for taping and great to use for finish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound

Ultra Light compound

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
lighter and great to work with. Love it. only mud that I use. Less sanding.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound

Do not use

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this. Do not use this.
This product is extremely light and makes it easy to move the bucket around. This is the only benefit to this.
It is harder to work with then all purpose joint compound. It is impossible to get it flat or smooth. It will take you 4 times longer to apply this. Maybe even longer. It dries very slowly. VERY SLOWLY. I had to wait two weeks for some joints to dry so I could sand them. When it dries you will have an extreme amount of cracks and pits. You will need multiple applications for cracks and they still will not be gone unless you use a different compound.
I went back to all purpose compound and threw away about half of this bucket after trying it out on a small room.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from Fenton Mi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great stuff easy to use

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked well very happy with results. Went through 10 5gallon buckets. I guess if I had a question it would be on sqft coverage but would use again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from Greenfield, IN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Lightweight, but that's the only benefit

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this because a bucket of compound that we had opened about 1 1/2 years ago had gotten moldy. We used this (more on that later) and within a week of opening it, it had already developed mold. This doesn't seem to work as well as the heavier compound we were replacing. As some other reviewers mentioned, it doesn't hold the tape well and it takes a long time to dry enough to sand.
I would not recommend this product. This company makes other products that, while heaver and harder to move the bucket, are much better products and a better value.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: goes bad fast, doesn't work well for the stated purpose
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from Tonawanda, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Junk

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Because I'm always looking for ways to make finishing drywall easier, I bought a bucket of this stuff. First off when I first used it, way too many air bubbles. It was hard to work with. Secondly, I opened the bucket about 5 weeks after buying it, and the bucket was full of mold and the compound was practically water. Junk, this stuff is junk.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent, Maintenance
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

all this is joint compond with extra air manufactured in it. Makes harder to work and forced to apply a second coat.

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased and used it and has too much air in it. Its similar to what Hersheys Candy did. They fill the product with air during the manufacturing to make it lighter. Thus it requires more unnecessary coats. To get the air out and cut cost just mix in some dish washing liquid. Don't recommend this product. Use orginal joint compound.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent, Difficult to Install
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from State College
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Professional Advice

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You have to understand the intended purpose for some things...I believe this mud might be most effective should you be applying an acoustic textured ceiling. I agree with most reviews:
Dry time was disappointing
Air bubbles seemed inevitable
Cracks
Workability was pleasant, I would like that from some other types of mud
I had high hopes based on producer descriptions but the results did not meet my expectations.
I only advise this product as a means of texturing, and only because of it's density. I do not recommend this product as a means of coating joints.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound

Good Product

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product worked very well for me. I used it from taping to finishing coat. This shuff will work well, but you have to be sure to mix it very well and add additional water if needed. Some of the buckets do not have enough hydration. Build it up in thin coats. Do not use too many thick coats. If the coat is too thick, it will have small cracks when it dries.
Pros: Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound

Try it for yourself

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have been finishing drywall for years, and after reading other reviews, I feel like I'm using a different product than most of the other reviewers. After a little mixing, I have never had problems with cracks or air bubbles. I love how light weight it is, I can get more done without my arm getting worn out, especially ceilings. It's a little pricier but well worth it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from Dearborn, mi
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

I like it

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I tried other drywall mud from different color lids. This by far has given me the best quality. I did have to mix it. My only complaint was that I had a bucket of mud and left it for a few weeks and it somehow turned to water
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from Saratoga Springs, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Easy to work with

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I like this mud much more than the blue lid or Dark green lid. It sands way easier than the others. The dark green is like sanding concrete compared to this stuff. The one drawback is the amount of air in the mix when you get it. One must be sure to mix WELL before using or be prepared to fill bubbles over and over.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean
Cons: needs a lot of mixing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Used for setting tape, more follow-up

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've been using this product for the last 5 days and decided to try it out for setting the tape on some areas I hadn't done yet. I don't know what happened to the other guys but I still didn't have any major problems. Drying time is the same as any other product, I only saw 1 crack and that was where I filled a big joint in. This would happen with any weight compound. Those other reviewers must have had outdated or bad product, which is very possible depending on shelf time at the retailer. The more I use this , the more I appreciate the light weight. If problems arise, I'll write back.
Pros: Performs Well, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound

Great product

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great bang for your buck. Used it to repair my kitchen ceiling
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra Lightweight 4.5 Gal. Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from maryland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

product works great if used properly.

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I do not believe this product is intended for applying in heavy coats. It does shrink and takes longer to dry if applied heavily. This product is perfect for skim coat over old rough walls or the final coat on new sheetrock. It sands very easily.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>