728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Patching & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.

Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.

"Elmer's Carpenter's Wood Filler Max, for interior and exterior use, is our most versatile and strongest wood filler. Its patent-pending formula is ideal for repairing holes, dents, scratches, and defects on wood, wallboard, molding, or painted surfaces.
Overall rating:
2.375 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
40%of customersrecommend this product6 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(8)
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
40%of customersrecommend this product6 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.
Review 1 for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.

Do not use on exteriors, especially decks.....

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After power-washing and sanding my deck, I tested a spot with Elmers Wood Filler Max. It appeared to be a solid patch and for exterior use, so I applied it to several areas on my deck and let it cure for a few days. I then applied three coats of stain and the deck looked great, 6 months ago. Now EVERY place I applied the filler has disintegrated and I now need to dig out all the filler, find a product that works, and start again.
Cons: does not hold up to weather, not an exterior product
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.

Original Formula Much Better

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Difficult to work while wet and hard to sand. I made the mistake of buying this and expecting an improvement over the original formula. Big mistake in expense, working and cleanup. Home Depot should stock the original formula which is better and less expensive.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, hard to work and sand
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.
from NJ
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to patch a large and deep area next to the bathtub where the floor had rotted. Because the area was so deep it took 3 applications. However, the product dried incredibly hard and sanded extremely smooth. I was very satisfied with this wood filler.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.

Dries very hard; To re-liquefy just add water

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
An improvement over the previous formula in that it dries much harder. It is more grainy, though, which takes some getting used to. If the lid doesn't close tightly (frequent complaint) and it gets dry, just add a little water and stir: it'll be good as new.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.
from Lehigh Valley, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is an awesome product!

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does exactly what it says - it is sandable, stainable and just a great overall repair tool for any damage or imperfections in floors (used in conjunction with the wood markers or stains to hide the repair). The one thing I would want to point out to anyone who tries this is that it truly does dry very quickly, so you have to move fast in wiping up any excess or you may end up with a "cloudy" surface on areas not intended to receive repair. Otherwise, the quick-drying feature is awesome when you need a quick repair -- you can patch and color / stain within a half hour or less!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.
from Tustin, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

easy to work with

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I almost didn't buy this based on the other reviews. I found it easy to use. It stuck well to the surface. It sanded easily to a smooth surface. It took the paint well. Now I only need to see how well it will hold up to the weather as I just applied it. I also liked the container and had no problem closing it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.

not for smooth surfaces

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
+easy of use, no mixing hardener +low odor
Cons:
- too gritty. Hard to get the smooth surface I needed and ended up using Minwax filler for subsequent coats.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Packaging is useless

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The container for this product is useless. The lid will not re-seal, requiring the use of a zip-type plastic bag to prevent waste of any remaining product. I am sure many users have thought that they have sealed the lid only to later discover that the remaining product has hardened like a roc in the opaque container. It also has a problem accepting "stains". This company's wood glues have similar packaging problems as their familiar "Orange" push/pull nozzles invariably snap off before the product has been used up. The company has replaced them for me - but the hassle has sent back to Elmer's direct competitor whose product I now realize is a superior and no hassle relief. BTW ... just a handy homeowner who wants value and longevity in products that can't immediately be used in their entirety ...
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: No Instructions, container will not re-seal
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great stuff but pricey

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Dried hard and strong. but the other day I saw a quart at Wally World for eight
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.
from Worcester,MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

What were they thinking about?

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ran out of the tan Elmer's and the only wood filler that the Home Depot in Worcester, MA was selling was this stuff. It might be fine if you're filling a deep hole, but this stuff has the consistency of coarse sandpaper and as such, you cannot get it to lay down thin. If Elmer's really wanted to improve their products, they should address the beyond cheap container's they sell. I can get a better sealing container from my deli-counter.
Pros: there isn't one
Cons: home depot needs to test their products
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.
from Tucson
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Container is terrible

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The container will not reseal so you must find something else to to put it in between jobs or it will try up.
Look guys, the container is so bad that I start to believe Elmer's want the filler to dry up. Why reward a company that does not care for it's customers.
Cons: bad box
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.

The old stuff is better

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have always used Elmer's wood filler for many years, so I thought I would give the new Max a try. It was more expensive than the old and when I tried to apply it, it was gritty had a very dark color, which made me question its stainability even though I was going to paint over it. I gave up on after a short while as it would not spread evenly and smooth and what I did get smooth, dried very dark and so I sanded it off. I plan to return the new and buy the old formula.
Cons: dries dark, difficult to spread and smooth, gritty
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.

do not buy

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
used it outdoor and still wet after 8 hours (on 80degree weather). check it again the next day and still not dry. waste of money. hard to apply. i want my $back
Cons: hard to apply out of box.hard to reseal package
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.
from Evansville, IN, USA

Stick with DAP

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Although this product is a little more easy to shape than DAP wood filler it comes with a price. It is unbelievable gritty and dries very dark. It is practically impossible to get a smooth surface as well. I was using this for furniture building but had to switch back over to DAP to finish the job.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean, gritty, dries dark
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.

Not Great

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product to fill in some gouges in my hardwood floor. It does dry hard and sand smooth. My problem was that it wasn't as stainable as I was led to believe. It will take stain, but will still stand out like a sore thumb. product dries a cream color. If you have dark wood - i would try a different product. Go Mets!
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Interior and Exterior Wood Filler Max Qt.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Formula traditional original is much better

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I dont like the new woodfiller max. I prefer the old original formula.
Definitely the original, traditional Elmer's Woodfiller formula (from the Orange top -reorder # E842) has major advantages of use on quality works, excellent for very fine restorations even.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.