728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit

Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit

Thanks to the Rejuvenate Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit you'll never have to live with abused and scratched up stainless steel ever again. The remover kit will remove the finest surface scratches to the worst deep gauges, as well as rust spots, discoloration, and more in minutes, safely and easily.
Overall rating:
3.328 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product37 of 60reviews
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
3.3 out of 5
5
(27)
4
(9)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(21)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product37 of 60reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
Review 1 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from San Antonio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I want to cry..

PostedJune 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just bought this on 6-7-2015 and was so happy to use it.... Well it does not work. I followed the steps one by one and regret using it. See pics attached. I wish I would have never bought this product. Now I have to buy new handle bars.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Ever for the Price!!!

PostedAugust 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This by far best product to repair scratches on stainless steal appliances. My son put a magnet on my stainless steal refrigerator and I dragged it leaving a long noticeable scratch. Then I rubbed with the green side of scrub sponge. Terrible! So I was horrified and didn't know what to do. I drove to Home Depot that night and I purchased this cheap product and it did the job. If you look close you can still see a littl difference in color but it still was worth using cause its not that noticeable. I had to but two cause I needed more liquid. Its comes in a small pack. Maybe they should put in a small bottle. In all, I would definitely buy again!!! Love it!!!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: amount of liquid too small
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from Georgetown, SC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Noticeable improvement. Tough to use in small spaces.

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bottom line, the kit made numerous scratches on our stove top nearly imperceptible.
The kit comes with three types of "polishing cloths" that are essentially to sand scratches out from the surface. As long as you stay parallel with the grain of the surface you'll come out with an overall improved look. If you cut corners and try to slide between sections instead of moving it off of the surface you'll get some swirls. If you need to get to a very small area, the pads can't get much movement or pressure but of course these areas are less noticeable anyway.
The only real drawback to the kit is that it includes only a single non resealable pouch of the "cutting lube". Makes it only a one time use kit (maybe you can squeeze in multiple areas in a single day).
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: single use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
23out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from Fairfax, vA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Horrible!

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought based on recommendation of HD appliance salesman. This simply does not work on brushed stainless steel. Following the directions precisely it leaves a bright area where you've used the various buffing pads which is extremely visible. I would have been far better off leaving the original scratches in than using this stuff.
Cons: does not replicate original finish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from Boise, ID
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Received free product:Yes

Good, but be very careful using on SS appliances

PostedJune 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a couple of very fine scratches that look like two checkmarks next to each other. I followed directions to a "T" and used the finest pad in the kit. After several light swipes I could tell that the scratches were fading. Then I did the final blending step. It helped get rid of the obvious spot, but when you get real close you can see the fine changes in the surrounding area. No biggie. However, if I were to do it again I would have just left the scratches alone. They weren't noticeable except in certain light, and now I have a "smear" that is visible in certain light. I would say definitely use it for deeper scratches, but not if they are very fine and small. The picture I attached is showing the area of the two scratches where I concentrated the effort. It's only visible from that very angle with the light hitting it just right.
I do wish I'd had this kit when I was refinishing a stainless sink in a prior house. I used simply a green scrubby pad that worked well, but a lot of elbow grease. Really think this kit would have done a super job on the sink without as much effort. Nice selection of pads from coarse to very fine.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from WA

Ruined my Kitchenaid refrigerator!

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Basically, used product as instructed and it caused hazy, ugly scratches to cover up the initial scratches. In retrospect the scratches this product caused look worse then the initial scratches from every angle. It will NOT make your refrigerator doors look restored or new! I contacted a claims representative at For Life Products, who gave me further instructions on how to fix the damage from their "chemist". Followed instructions given by the chemist, and it didn't help and made it look worse. I was also told it may take a few weeks for the natural oxidation process to improve the look over time with mineral oil…no difference. Of course, I was reminded that they are not responsible for damage caused by their product…go figure. I know you maybe desperate to find a product to fix your appliance, but you are better off skipping this product.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from Olympia WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Scratches erased!

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First off, the instructions for this product are wonderful and I tried my best to follow them. We recently remodeled our kitchen with all new appliances, sink and the works and the first thing my husband did was wash a bbq grill in the sink, scratching the stainless steel. So, I first took the medium pad and put the drops on it and after a couple times I could see that one of the scratches wasn't moving quite as much as the others. I then put the heavy duty pad on (and no drops per instructions) and as you can see by the photos, all scratches in the area I worked on are really no longer noticeable. The first photo here is the sink before treatment, the second is after using the medium pad and the drops. the third is the final using the heavy duty pad. I will surely finish the rest of the sink, probably using all the pads, as there are scratches of all different sizes. I'm very happy to have a product work like promised and even happier to have my nice new sink look new! Plus, my husband is no longer in the dog house ;-) I'm not sure what order the photos are in, so be sure to read the captions! Great product...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from New England
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ruined our Bosch dishwasher!!!!

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this product with hope that it would get rid of a minor scratch in our stainless Bosch dishwasher. BIG mistake!!! This stuff did nothing but make it SIGNIFICANTLY worse!!!! Now, there is a big white streak where the little scratch was that sticks out like a giant sore thumb. I would have rather had the little scratch than this giant eyesore!!! I just contacted this company by phone and they had me send them photos of the damage, which I just did. They'd BETTER replace our dishwasher or I will be reporting this to the Better Business Bureau!!! If you have a scratch in a stainless appliance, avoid this junk at all costs!!! It will only make it worse!
Cons: makes scratches even worse!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from iberkeley
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Did not work

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I returned the kit, did not do anything except left patches larger than my scratches.
Cons: did not do what it was intended to do
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from Boston

You need a light touch - but works as advertised.

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased a stainless steel Bosch range hood that was used as a floor model. There were a number of surface scratches but the unit was so heavily discounted we couldn't pass it up. Needless to say, after using the scratch repair kit the range hood looks practically brand new. For all of the reviewers saying that you ruined your appliances, blame the technique and not the product. You need to take your time and be patient go WITH THE GRAIN of the stainless - just like doing fine sanding on anything else.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from henderson nv
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

don't purchase

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed the directions, the scratches were removed, but what was left in their places was hazy, smudgy marks that refuse to blend. Now, I am left with more eye-grabbing marks on the fridge and microwave as a result. I have tried other scratch removers and wax to try to remove the hazy marks, but to no avail, so I am still searching for a remedy. Don't use, I would have rather had the scratches at this point.
Cons: leave hazy marks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from Fort Lauderadale, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best ever

PostedAugust 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent. I was horrified when using the green/yellow sponge trying to remove tape from hanging pictures created a thin scratch on the refrigerator door.
The kit worked a miracle.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from Merritt Island, Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product has a great concept, clear insructions and would work perfectly - if the kit was correctly assembled

PostedAugust 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is an odd situation... You see I was prepared to use the product, simple applying, easy directions (very thorough and clear), this was going to be exactly what I needed.
I ran into problems right off the bat and unfortunately wasted a lot of time til I had figured out - the abrasive pads are to sort of "Velcro" onto the application handle so that way the product and abrasive material is distributed evenly (which is important) yet mine weren't and were never going to Velcro together because in order to Velcro there is two things necessary: 1.)a soft side & 2.)a side which is a bit more rough so that it sticks to the softer side. To my surprise, the handle had a soft side and the abrasive part did also? So this wasn't going to work. Notice I said the even distribution is important, it is. I tried without the handle and it wasn't even so it didn't blend as well.
Had I had the correct Velcro on the handle part I would be very happy with the results I believe. The product works great, clear instructions just the accessories to apply it I had an issue with.
Pros: Clear Instructions
Cons: assembled incorrectly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from Lakeville, CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow - It really works!

PostedJuly 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not sure how it happened, but in putting the griddle back on the GE Cafe oven, it badly scratched the stainless surface. I never thought it could be fixed, but I tried this product and it worked! Scratches gone like magic. I'm buying another package of this next time I'm in the store. Can't say enough about it.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit

Fabulous!

PostedMay 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a scratch on my fairly new stainless steel dishwasher. I asked a repair tech what I could do and she told me there was nothing I could do to fix it. Saw this product & decided to try it. WOW! No more scratch! Looks like new. Then, used on my sink & it, too, like new!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit

Worked great!

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got out the scratches left my a wheel chair across my stainless steel fridge, dishwasher and stove. Took a few packages but totally worth it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from Bay Area, CA

Perfect for the repair

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So I cleaned my BBQ grill with a metal brush in my under-mount stainless steel sink... boy I was in trouble. Wanted to buy the scratch-b-gone online but found this at home depot; works like a charm. Used as instructed and then did an entire refinish of the sink to avoid shiny spots as reported by other guy.
Note: Bring down larger scratches to smaller scratch & change pads. Next bring it to fine scratch & change pad again. Use the liquid provided, as instructed. I'd recommend emptying the liquid in some lid or something as it spills.... mine spilled in the sink so no worries.
It's small so you might need more than one if you have multiple surfaces. My surface was smooth so worked well... not sure how it would work with some patterns in stainless steel.
Pros: Easy to Use
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

stainless steel scratch eraser kit

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was trying to remove a scratch and it just made it ten times worse. Would not recommend
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit
from Durham, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMAZING! It really works!

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Who would have thought this simple kit could remove scratches in the bottom of our new stainless steel sink so quickly? I expected to spend 12 - 15 minutes scrubbing with some sort of pad to see results, it only took 10 strokes to remove, and looked so good we didn't need to do the fine scratch removal step to blend with the rest of the sink.
Simply amazing - we will keep a couple of these kits under the sink from now on....
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stainless Steel Scratch Eraser Kit

Worked for me and made the wife happy!

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought all new Samsung Stainless Steel Appliances in Nov 2013. New fridge is much larger than then the old fridge and we didn't realize it but when opened all the way it hit the wall next to it. Put a nice new vertical scratch/smudge about 1 cm wide and the appliances were only 24 hours old. To say we were upset would be an understatement. Bought this product and was really nervous about using it... but decided last night to give it a try. Used the gray bad, no lube as directed to do, and just rubbed up and down a few times and it's completely gone. Truly Amazing. Not sure if you would need this kit or just a very soft scotch brite pad for most scratches but this kit is cheap and it's all there so why not. I'm very glad I did. Make sure you only use this on real stainless steel, with no coatings. For me all is better and we're happy and know in the future we could probably remove another scratch if and when it comes along.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>