728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

The Milwaukee M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Hammer Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit packs plenty of power and technology to tackle your toughest applications. Featuring a 2-speed POWERSTATE brushless motor that delivers up to 650 in. lbs. of torque, this tool's REDLITHIUM battery delivers exceptional work per charge and longer pack life and has a fuel gauge so you know exactly how much remaining charge you have. The REDLINK PLUS Intelligence provides optimized performance and overload protection using advanced power tool electronics for total system communication between tool, battery and charger for steady, reliable operation and less downtime. Easy and comfortable to use, the contoured soft grip provides the ultimate comfort and control for prolonged use, while the all-metal ratcheting/locking chuck provides maximum bit retention and durability.
Overall rating:
4.529 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product47 of 51reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(38)
4
(9)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product47 of 51reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
Review 1 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This drill kit is incredible!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
From the moment I opened the case, I knew that this drill was everything I needed in a combo kit. The heavy duty construction, quick battery charger, extra battery, and impact handle makes this tool exactly what I need for every project.
The 18 volts gives plenty of power for every job around my house. So far, I have used it to install a coat rack, hang a shower curtain, and drilled some holes in my basement wall to hang lighting.
The battery came half charged and still has 1 bar left after 4 jobs. The charger took under an hour to charge! That is awesome!
I would most definitely recommend this great drill!
Please see my photos and video.
Happy drilling!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, built in light for working at night or in dim area, many torque settings for optimal usage, left or right hand capable
Cons: i wished it came with some drill bits
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Drill has Power!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This drill has more power than what most jobs require, along with the durability and endurance to last all day. Great size, compareable weight to similar drill in this class. The Brushless motor is strong and quiet for a drill, not silent, almost like using an air gun.
Some minor issues I have experienced although pertains to the chuck on the drill. When using it in reverse (back out) it loosens itself, if it is not very tight. This is the only issue I have really had so far with this drill.
The battery and charger are great, small, simple and fast. Easy intuitive instructions to charge the battery, comes with 2, great to keep working while one charges. Charges extremely fast, and quiet. The batteries themselves have an LED status indicator to see how much life is left, this is a very nice touch.
Overall this drill blew my expectations. Simple, durable and Powerful.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Barrington, IL
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Milwaukee - 'nough said

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Milwaukee has a long reputation for their high-performance, high-quality tools. The M18 series is certainly no exception. Power and performance to meet just about anyone's needs, yet affordable enough for the average homeowner/DIYer. Whichever category you fall into, you cannot go wrong with this tool!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very nice tool so far. Balance and ergonomics are excellent.

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Owned for less than a month. I use this for my Handyman Business, and so far I am very happy. I like everything about it, except twice the clutch slipped to a lower setting. I recently had this happen when I was really working it hard, such as cutting a hole in a metal door for a deadbolt. In the future I'm going to try avoiding putting my left hand over the body of the drill when working it hard. Hopefully this will provide a solution.This drill is powerful, smooth operating, comfortable in the hand, and tons of torque. At this point I think this is a keeper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
Cons: had clutch slip twice but possiby operator error.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Tichigan, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This drill has great power

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this drill to power a 5 inch dia. ice auger. It power through 12 inches of ice like a breeze and get twenty holes or better on a charged battery. Love it!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Stockton, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good drill - light location not so good

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This drill is easy to use and performs as promised.
HOWEVER - The built-in light is located right below the chuck, so that it casts a shadow right over your work - right where you want the light. - rather annoying.
Other than that, it's great.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: poor location of built-in light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

solid product

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this as an alternative ice auger w a drill attachment but upon seeing it's capabilities it's also a much better drill than I have w 2 seemingly bottomless batteries if you're skeptical try it all steel internal gears lifetime drill vs a junk craftsmen I have as a hand me down watch the youtube videos of this thing anything above 550 is good torque but 650 feels effortless milwaukee all day
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Fantastic power and run-time!

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This drill kicks butt! The most powerful and longest battery run-time I've ever had in a cordless drill. I get way more holes drilled and screws run on a single battery than ever before. Milwaukee has made a believer out of me in Red Lithium and FUEL! I'm switching all my guys over to the new FUEL drills.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

Milwaukee does it again!

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Milwaukee puts it to the competition again! This drill has so much torque! Picked it up the other day and was drilling 3/4" holes with a spur auger with no problem! I had the chance to demo it in the store and it blew away every drill that is carried in the store. This one is a winner and the benchmark for every other brand!
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from McKinney, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great drill for the competent homeowner

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this drill last week to replace a 5 year-old Rigid 12V. The difference (as expected) was night and day. It's extremely powerful and I can't imagine any home improvement project that it wouldn't be able to handle. I can't speak for it's ability to drill through masonry/concrete but it has no trouble driving 2.5 inch screws into studs without pilot holes. It's a bit expensive but is worth every penny.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Summerville, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Power drills have been improved bit by bit!

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you have a corded drill, you can probably relate to the burden of dragging along the power cord. You probably also thought it didn't give you enough power. This drill will fix that right up and more.
Everything is set up to go out of the box. It comes with a charger, two batteries, the drill, and a chuck for stability and bit retention. The drill worked right away, the battery has an push-button LED indicator for battery life. The batteries are easy to change out and put into the charger.
The drill has aggressive power! Extremely easy to hold and use. I think the only thing missing is a bubble level on the drill to keep it level when drilling; without it, if you're not careful, you could screw in at the wrong angle. It comes with a flash light that automatically turns on when you're drilling, this is rather handy! Another thing I'd note is, the charger should really have two battery chargers, not one. But the idea is, you charge one while you use the other, so in this regard, I can't complain!
The instructions have their own little compartment inside the case, which is definitely appreciated! You've probably thrown your older tools' instructions away because you didn't have a place for them, but this case addresses that, and I think that's pretty smart! The 5 year product limited warranty and 2 year battery limited warranty are both great to have included with this product.
Overall, this drill will not let you down, it's of great quality and value, and I highly recommend it for all your drilling needs!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

Drill is outstanding and lives up to the advertised ruggedness

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is an unpaid/uncompensated review (note that others in this list are compensated reviews).
The drill works well, the case is great the issue that I have is with the battery. One of the batteries was defective as delivered. It would take a full charge but when put into the drill it would not work. I worked with customer service (directly with Milwaukee) and they made it right and did it quickly! They sent me a new battery which worked perfectly.
The drill is a great weight partly due to the compact battery. The batteries do charge in less than half and torque lives up to the claims.
I have read other reviews that comment on the chuck not grabbing the bit in a manner which would prevent the bit from falling out when inverted. I have to say that I have not found that to be an issue as long as the chuck is properly tightened.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, the hard case
Cons: the case needs space for bits
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

Great drill

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Drill has plenty of power and is nice and compact. Getting it on sale for $159 was a steal. Very impressed with the drill.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Crown Point, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very satisfied!!!

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am a professional retail installer, and use my cordless tools on a daily basis. This tool has all the torque and speed I could ask for in a drill driver. As to the battery life , I have nothing but good things to say about the LI batteries. They charge fast, and last a long time even with constant use. Overall, I couldn't be happier with this tool. I would highly recommend this tool to anyone who needs a quality tool for a reasonable price. Don't know about the life span yet, but I anticipate many years of use from this product. Well done Milwaukee, AND Home Depot!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

High expectations, Very disappointed

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this drill during a Milwaukee promotion. I was hesitant to spend top dollar on new technology but got sucked in by the hype. The drill came with a third battery, T-shirt, utility knife, drill bits, and hex head bits. I fully charged the batteries and clicked one onto the drill only to find no response when i pulled the trigger. Tried other two batteries with same outcome. Very disappointed, I returned the drill and got a Compact Dewalt 20v Hammer drill. I'll wait until the second generation brushless drills come out. Hopefully they can work out the bugs.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, looks good in box
Cons: did not work
-23points
1out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 16 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

Powerful and Versatile

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've never had a cordless drill/driver. But now I'm happy I have one. It's convenient not to have to plug in your drill and get tangled in the wire.
This Milwaukee is powerful. I had no problems driving in screws. It's not too heavy and it charges quickly.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing rocks

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This drill rocks. Smooth, quit and drives 3 inch screws without a problem and fast. I will never buy a Dewalt drill again
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Fort Smith, AR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Tool but would get the bigger batteries

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This drill is powerfull! It has a ton of torque. I use it to drill the frames of pickup trucks to install 5th wheel and gooseneck hitches. The batteries were not big enough for my needs so I returned and got the same drill with the 3 amp hour batteries. (versus the 1.5 amp hour batteries in this kit) I previously have owned makita, bosch, and dewalt. None of those had this kind of power. The warranty on this thing is also one of the best on the market.
 
Products related to my review
 
M18 FUEL 18-Volt Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/ Driver XC Battery Kit with Free M18 XC 4 Ah Battery
5.0 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

This is an amazing drill

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this drill to replace an 8 year old NiCad 18v drill that finally gave up. The difference was night and day! I have used the drill for everything from furniture assembly to installing a new fence. It has worked flawlessly. The battery life is impressive- I was able to completely re-slat 65 feet of fence on 1 battery charge. The drill is light weight and powerful.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

Great drill!

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This the best drill I've used. Battery technology is getting to be great, these drills work!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>