728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

Milwaukee's 2603-22CT FUEL Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver features an all new Brushless Motor Technology that delivers up to 650in lbs of torque, up to 10X longer motor life. With up to 650 in lbs of torque, the 2603-22CT FUEL Brushless Drill/Driver is the most powerful drill in its class. The new Milwaukee designed and built POWERSTATE Brushless Motor provides unmatched power and sustained torque to complete the toughest of applications. The Brushless Motor outperforms all leading competitors and delivers up to 10X longer motor life for maximum durability. Powered by the most durable battery pack on the market – REDLITHIUM, the Milwaukee 2603-22CT delivers up to 50% more run-time than the competition. The M18 REDLITHIUM batteries provide longer battery life, with over 5X more recharges than leading competitors. A battery fuel gauge displays remaining charge for less down time on the job. The Milwaukee 2603-22CT contains the most advanced electronic system on the market, with REDLINK PLUS. REDLINK PLUS electronics provide total system communication with overload protection. MIlwaukee 2603-22CT comes with the new multi-voltage charger, so you can charge all M12 and M18 batteries with one charger. A new contoured soft grip gives users the ultimate comfort during prolonged use. The Milwaukee 2603-22CT comes with an all metal ratcheting/locking chuck for maximum grip, bit retention and durability. The Tool features an LED light and is compatible with all REDLITHIUM batteries.
Overall rating:
4.489 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product43 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(9)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product43 of 47reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
Review 1 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This drill kit is incredible!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
From the moment I opened the case, I knew that this drill was everything I needed in a combo kit. The heavy duty construction, quick battery charger, extra battery, and impact handle makes this tool exactly what I need for every project.
The 18 volts gives plenty of power for every job around my house. So far, I have used it to install a coat rack, hang a shower curtain, and drilled some holes in my basement wall to hang lighting.
The battery came half charged and still has 1 bar left after 4 jobs. The charger took under an hour to charge! That is awesome!
I would most definitely recommend this great drill!
Please see my photos and video.
Happy drilling!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, built in light for working at night or in dim area, many torque settings for optimal usage, left or right hand capable
Cons: i wished it came with some drill bits
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Drill has Power!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This drill has more power than what most jobs require, along with the durability and endurance to last all day. Great size, compareable weight to similar drill in this class. The Brushless motor is strong and quiet for a drill, not silent, almost like using an air gun.
Some minor issues I have experienced although pertains to the chuck on the drill. When using it in reverse (back out) it loosens itself, if it is not very tight. This is the only issue I have really had so far with this drill.
The battery and charger are great, small, simple and fast. Easy intuitive instructions to charge the battery, comes with 2, great to keep working while one charges. Charges extremely fast, and quiet. The batteries themselves have an LED status indicator to see how much life is left, this is a very nice touch.
Overall this drill blew my expectations. Simple, durable and Powerful.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very nice tool so far. Balance and ergonomics are excellent.

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Owned for less than a month. I use this for my Handyman Business, and so far I am very happy. I like everything about it, except twice the clutch slipped to a lower setting. I recently had this happen when I was really working it hard, such as cutting a hole in a metal door for a deadbolt. In the future I'm going to try avoiding putting my left hand over the body of the drill when working it hard. Hopefully this will provide a solution.This drill is powerful, smooth operating, comfortable in the hand, and tons of torque. At this point I think this is a keeper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
Cons: had clutch slip twice but possiby operator error.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Tichigan, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This drill has great power

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this drill to power a 5 inch dia. ice auger. It power through 12 inches of ice like a breeze and get twenty holes or better on a charged battery. Love it!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Stockton, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good drill - light location not so good

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This drill is easy to use and performs as promised.
HOWEVER - The built-in light is located right below the chuck, so that it casts a shadow right over your work - right where you want the light. - rather annoying.
Other than that, it's great.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: poor location of built-in light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Fantastic power and run-time!

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This drill kicks butt! The most powerful and longest battery run-time I've ever had in a cordless drill. I get way more holes drilled and screws run on a single battery than ever before. Milwaukee has made a believer out of me in Red Lithium and FUEL! I'm switching all my guys over to the new FUEL drills.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

Milwaukee does it again!

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Milwaukee puts it to the competition again! This drill has so much torque! Picked it up the other day and was drilling 3/4" holes with a spur auger with no problem! I had the chance to demo it in the store and it blew away every drill that is carried in the store. This one is a winner and the benchmark for every other brand!
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from McKinney, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great drill for the competent homeowner

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this drill last week to replace a 5 year-old Rigid 12V. The difference (as expected) was night and day. It's extremely powerful and I can't imagine any home improvement project that it wouldn't be able to handle. I can't speak for it's ability to drill through masonry/concrete but it has no trouble driving 2.5 inch screws into studs without pilot holes. It's a bit expensive but is worth every penny.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Summerville, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Power drills have been improved bit by bit!

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have a corded drill, you can probably relate to the burden of dragging along the power cord. You probably also thought it didn't give you enough power. This drill will fix that right up and more.
Everything is set up to go out of the box. It comes with a charger, two batteries, the drill, and a chuck for stability and bit retention. The drill worked right away, the battery has an push-button LED indicator for battery life. The batteries are easy to change out and put into the charger.
The drill has aggressive power! Extremely easy to hold and use. I think the only thing missing is a bubble level on the drill to keep it level when drilling; without it, if you're not careful, you could screw in at the wrong angle. It comes with a flash light that automatically turns on when you're drilling, this is rather handy! Another thing I'd note is, the charger should really have two battery chargers, not one. But the idea is, you charge one while you use the other, so in this regard, I can't complain!
The instructions have their own little compartment inside the case, which is definitely appreciated! You've probably thrown your older tools' instructions away because you didn't have a place for them, but this case addresses that, and I think that's pretty smart! The 5 year product limited warranty and 2 year battery limited warranty are both great to have included with this product.
Overall, this drill will not let you down, it's of great quality and value, and I highly recommend it for all your drilling needs!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

Drill is outstanding and lives up to the advertised ruggedness

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is an unpaid/uncompensated review (note that others in this list are compensated reviews).
The drill works well, the case is great the issue that I have is with the battery. One of the batteries was defective as delivered. It would take a full charge but when put into the drill it would not work. I worked with customer service (directly with Milwaukee) and they made it right and did it quickly! They sent me a new battery which worked perfectly.
The drill is a great weight partly due to the compact battery. The batteries do charge in less than half and torque lives up to the claims.
I have read other reviews that comment on the chuck not grabbing the bit in a manner which would prevent the bit from falling out when inverted. I have to say that I have not found that to be an issue as long as the chuck is properly tightened.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, the hard case
Cons: the case needs space for bits
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

Great drill

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Drill has plenty of power and is nice and compact. Getting it on sale for $159 was a steal. Very impressed with the drill.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

High expectations, Very disappointed

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this drill during a Milwaukee promotion. I was hesitant to spend top dollar on new technology but got sucked in by the hype. The drill came with a third battery, T-shirt, utility knife, drill bits, and hex head bits. I fully charged the batteries and clicked one onto the drill only to find no response when i pulled the trigger. Tried other two batteries with same outcome. Very disappointed, I returned the drill and got a Compact Dewalt 20v Hammer drill. I'll wait until the second generation brushless drills come out. Hopefully they can work out the bugs.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, looks good in box
Cons: did not work
-24points
0out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing rocks

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This drill rocks. Smooth, quit and drives 3 inch screws without a problem and fast. I will never buy a Dewalt drill again
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Fort Smith, AR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Tool but would get the bigger batteries

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This drill is powerfull! It has a ton of torque. I use it to drill the frames of pickup trucks to install 5th wheel and gooseneck hitches. The batteries were not big enough for my needs so I returned and got the same drill with the 3 amp hour batteries. (versus the 1.5 amp hour batteries in this kit) I previously have owned makita, bosch, and dewalt. None of those had this kind of power. The warranty on this thing is also one of the best on the market.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

This is an amazing drill

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this drill to replace an 8 year old NiCad 18v drill that finally gave up. The difference was night and day! I have used the drill for everything from furniture assembly to installing a new fence. It has worked flawlessly. The battery life is impressive- I was able to completely re-slat 65 feet of fence on 1 battery charge. The drill is light weight and powerful.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from West Chester, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not complete hype

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Milwaukee Tool has a video of this drill pulling a bulldozer, and a makita brushless dying in its effort. The "authentic" video is a bit laughable, but: as every other reviewer will attest to this drill's power and normal capabilities, I wanted to look at it though direct competition.
The competition was unfair: a $100 Hitachi 18v, that felt more than adequate in the two years I've owned it, even drilling with holesaws through 1" treated lumber -- though it took time and a few rest stops for my wrist and the drill. The M18 Fuel is $100 more, but gets the job done effortlessly. It somehow simply does a better job with a buffing pad, and for a ridiculous test I used a kitchen blender attachment and mixed 30 lbs of various dry protein powders. It performed as if this is what it was designed to do; the Hitachi had trouble and may have stopped altogether had I pushed it.
From other reviews, I'm concerned about the drill's longevity, but I understand the warranty is very good -- hopefully against protein powder saturation as well. The batteries run their entire line of M18s; the Hitachi's batteries are only good for it and a flashlight, something I hadn't realized when purchasing. The battery life indicator ought to be standard on all rechargeables, and it does seem to recharge much faster than the HItachi or my 18v Dewalts. My Dewalt 18v wrecking saw is a very different animal, but you can tell by palp this drill is a far more powerful monster. Once I get a fix on the longevity I'll probably (hopefully) regret buying any other brand at any price.
As I expected as soon as I picked up this drill that the $100 dollar branded specials are adequate, and the extra $100 buys you reliability and shocking performance, in my opinion well more than $100 dollars' worth.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Really GOOD drill...

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Once this drill arrived on my porch I was excited to use it on my next fence project. I use tons of decking screws to produce a quality end product and this drill delivers. The charger charges the battery quickly and having two in a set-up is key so you can swap out and charge without skipping a beat. The drill is powerful for pre-drilling but I am sure I'll end out running it through its paces on other misc. tasks that pop up. The grip is possibly the best I have used to date and fits very well and feels as though trigger fatigue will not be an issue with the grip and tool balance. I know one thing, this drill does put other brands down but there is a price point you must understand when purchasing power tools...cheaper price may be a lesser quality and still perform and more expensive such as this drill here will give you the added comfort that it should outlast its competition which I am sure it will...As I have been told being this is my first Milwaukee product in my arsenal, one ongoing test with Milwaukee power tools is the trigger switch so we'll see how well it lasts...but knowing that and what I have experienced with this drill is that I would love to try out the hammer version since I have yet to discover a great hammer drill and I am new to using Milwaukee power tools.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, fits the hand well
Cons: the added stability handle seems long for me, must buy belt clip and bit holder seperately
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from springfield, va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very light weight and powerful

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This drill is great for home use. It offers a lot of power and is very light weight. I have had others brands of cordless drills that were also 18volt but this one is certainly more powerful than the others.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

Best Cordless Drill On The Market

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned and used several cordless drills over the years and I can say without question that the Milwaukee M18 Fuel drill is the absolute best I've seen. I was able to use a friend's M18 Fuel drill and was sold after using it a few times. It is built extremely well, has a great ergonomic feel, more than enough power, and very good battery life. It will easily handle a 3" hole saw to cut through both wood and steel. The battery has a neat feature that will query the amount remaining capacity which gives you a little notice before needing to change batteries. Batteries charge quickly too. The 1/2" keyless chuck holds bits well and makes tool changes a snap. You won't be disappointed with this drill.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST DRILL I EVER USED

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this drill 5 weeks ago and I already used it every weekend the first job was to build a 16X5 dock at the lake a two day job. I used pressure treated lumber, lag bolts 4x4's about 5lbs of 3 1/2" screws for the most part and some 4" too. I used one battery one and half days and the other battery the next day and is still going the drill never stop. on the other weekends just light work drill holes in 6x6's etc. It has great power and balance any one can use my wife like to help and she can handle it as well. I have had other cordless drills, years ago never was inpress with them no power or the batteries die or would not recharge till now!!. The cost is a little high but worth it. I was told that milwaukee tool was good from the pro's I know, they are right, in the pkg they give you two batteries and a charger but they a special get a extra batteries best birthday/father's day gift yet!!!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 >>