728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

Milwaukee's 2603-22CT FUEL Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver features an all new Brushless Motor Technology that delivers up to 650in lbs of torque, up to 10X longer motor life. With up to 650 in lbs of torque, the 2603-22CT FUEL Brushless Drill/Driver is the most powerful drill in its class. The new Milwaukee designed and built POWERSTATE Brushless Motor provides unmatched power and sustained torque to complete the toughest of applications. The Brushless Motor outperforms all leading competitors and delivers up to 10X longer motor life for maximum durability. Powered by the most durable battery pack on the market – REDLITHIUM, the Milwaukee 2603-22CT delivers up to 50% more run-time than the competition. The M18 REDLITHIUM batteries provide longer battery life, with over 5X more recharges than leading competitors. A battery fuel gauge displays remaining charge for less down time on the job. The Milwaukee 2603-22CT contains the most advanced electronic system on the market, with REDLINK PLUS. REDLINK PLUS electronics provide total system communication with overload protection. The MIlwaukee 2603-22CT comes with the new multi-voltage charger, so you can charge all M12 and M18 batteries with one charger. A new contoured soft grip gives users the ultimate comfort during prolonged use. The Milwaukee 2603-22CT comes with an all metal ratcheting/locking chuck for maximum grip, bit retention and durability. The Tool features an LED light and is compatible with all REDLITHIUM batteries.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product42 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(8)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product42 of 46reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
Review 1 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This drill kit is incredible!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
From the moment I opened the case, I knew that this drill was everything I needed in a combo kit. The heavy duty construction, quick battery charger, extra battery, and impact handle makes this tool exactly what I need for every project.
The 18 volts gives plenty of power for every job around my house. So far, I have used it to install a coat rack, hang a shower curtain, and drilled some holes in my basement wall to hang lighting.
The battery came half charged and still has 1 bar left after 4 jobs. The charger took under an hour to charge! That is awesome!
I would most definitely recommend this great drill!
Please see my photos and video.
Happy drilling!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, built in light for working at night or in dim area, many torque settings for optimal usage, left or right hand capable
Cons: i wished it came with some drill bits
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

This is an amazing drill

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this drill to replace an 8 year old NiCad 18v drill that finally gave up. The difference was night and day! I have used the drill for everything from furniture assembly to installing a new fence. It has worked flawlessly. The battery life is impressive- I was able to completely re-slat 65 feet of fence on 1 battery charge. The drill is light weight and powerful.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Ohio
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome!

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this drill as a companion to my Fuel Impact Driver (AWESOME Tool!). This drill does NOT disappoint! Super powerful and great run time. Can't ask for anything more!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, i lke the rubberized grip
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Drill has Power!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This drill has more power than what most jobs require, along with the durability and endurance to last all day. Great size, compareable weight to similar drill in this class. The Brushless motor is strong and quiet for a drill, not silent, almost like using an air gun.
Some minor issues I have experienced although pertains to the chuck on the drill. When using it in reverse (back out) it loosens itself, if it is not very tight. This is the only issue I have really had so far with this drill.
The battery and charger are great, small, simple and fast. Easy intuitive instructions to charge the battery, comes with 2, great to keep working while one charges. Charges extremely fast, and quiet. The batteries themselves have an LED status indicator to see how much life is left, this is a very nice touch.
Overall this drill blew my expectations. Simple, durable and Powerful.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing rocks

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This drill rocks. Smooth, quit and drives 3 inch screws without a problem and fast. I will never buy a Dewalt drill again
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Fantastic power and run-time!

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This drill kicks butt! The most powerful and longest battery run-time I've ever had in a cordless drill. I get way more holes drilled and screws run on a single battery than ever before. Milwaukee has made a believer out of me in Red Lithium and FUEL! I'm switching all my guys over to the new FUEL drills.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Barrington, IL
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Milwaukee - 'nough said

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Milwaukee has a long reputation for their high-performance, high-quality tools. The M18 series is certainly no exception. Power and performance to meet just about anyone's needs, yet affordable enough for the average homeowner/DIYer. Whichever category you fall into, you cannot go wrong with this tool!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from maryland
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have only had the Milwaukee drill for about a month and so far it has demonstrated the power and reliability that I was hoping for.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

Best Cordless Drill On The Market

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned and used several cordless drills over the years and I can say without question that the Milwaukee M18 Fuel drill is the absolute best I've seen. I was able to use a friend's M18 Fuel drill and was sold after using it a few times. It is built extremely well, has a great ergonomic feel, more than enough power, and very good battery life. It will easily handle a 3" hole saw to cut through both wood and steel. The battery has a neat feature that will query the amount remaining capacity which gives you a little notice before needing to change batteries. Batteries charge quickly too. The 1/2" keyless chuck holds bits well and makes tool changes a snap. You won't be disappointed with this drill.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Kingman AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Professional Quality

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This item replaced an 18V that I have had for almost 13 years. The lightweight design is much more comfortable and easy to use than its predecessor. I purposely tried to run down a fully charged battery the first day. Where the older unit usually started to run down, this new unit kept right on going. To tell you the truth, I'm on my second day and it is still going strong. So far the battery pack appears to have over three times the running time than the older NiCad 18V unit.
The torque is unbelievable for this small unit. Quite impressive. All I can say is you better hold on tight...this thing means business.
Great drill! I should have gotten one sooner than this.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST DRILL I EVER USED

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this drill 5 weeks ago and I already used it every weekend the first job was to build a 16X5 dock at the lake a two day job. I used pressure treated lumber, lag bolts 4x4's about 5lbs of 3 1/2" screws for the most part and some 4" too. I used one battery one and half days and the other battery the next day and is still going the drill never stop. on the other weekends just light work drill holes in 6x6's etc. It has great power and balance any one can use my wife like to help and she can handle it as well. I have had other cordless drills, years ago never was inpress with them no power or the batteries die or would not recharge till now!!. The cost is a little high but worth it. I was told that milwaukee tool was good from the pro's I know, they are right, in the pkg they give you two batteries and a charger but they a special get a extra batteries best birthday/father's day gift yet!!!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Drill

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I do security alarm installation and have been using a white Makita 18V lithium-ion drill (a lighter duty class of drill but comparable) for the last 3 years. Over that time I've been very very impressed with those little drills.
I was headed to the store to buy another one for a new employee with I spotted this (Milwaukee 18v) bad boy with 3 batteries for $229 and I had to give it a try.
This Drill is MEAN. that's the best way to describe it. It's fast, torque-y, and tough.
things I like more about the Milwaukee:
More Speed! (I use spade bits alot)
More Torque (big big big difference)
Battery life indicator
things I like more about the Makita:
better grip
lighter
better chuck (doesn't loosen ever)
easier to remove battery
more controllable speed
Things I don't like about the Milwaukee:
Chuck loosens up if not really tight
heavy-ish
off balanced (top heavy)
battery a little harder to remove.
Things I don't like about the Makita:
Not enough torque for heavy drilling
(3/4" auger bits kinda work)
Slow
Battery life is so so
Overall I think the Makita is a better drill for light duty drilling and great for screw work. I think the Milwaukee is a beast in heavy drilling and okay at screw work. I'm still within 90 days but I can't bring myself to take the Milwaukee back and buy the Makita. The Milwaukee is just that much better at drilling.... and the Makita feels like a toy after using the Milwaukee for a couple months..
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice compact yet powerful drill!

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comes with 2 batteries and charger along with the case. This is an excellent drill and is quite powerful. Batteries seem to last very well and charge quickly. Has worked very well while building our new deck. It's not overly heavy for me to use with relative ease. Highly recommend this product!!!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hands Down...The Best Drill I've Owned!

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been wanting this drill in the worst way ever since I received an email from Milwaukee announcing it's availability. Milwaukee quality, 18 volt FUEL, Brushless motor, and 2 Li-Ion batteries...Sounds like a wish list.
When this drill arrived, I was not disappointed. The fit, finish, and quality were visibly apparent. When I picked up the drill I was amazed at how well it felt in my hand. It had an outstanding balance, and felt as if the grip was molded for my hand. Switch placement was dead-on for ease of forward / reverse selection. Running through the clutch settings and Hi / Low speed's produced a smooth, yet continuous fluctuation in speeds.
With the motor being brushless, the sound this drill makes is very unique, unlike all the other drills I've owned. There is absolutely no motor strain or high-pitched whine witnessed, even after driving about a dozen 3" outdoor screws in a project I was finishing up. This drill simply didn't skip a beat.
The batteries are remarkable. After driving all those screws into pressure treated 2x6's, the battery indicated only one bar of charge used. I easily would have changed batteries at least once using my old Li-Ion's in my other drill. It appears the M18 FUEL speaks for itself.
I love the fact that Milwaukee had the foresight of the charger being of dual use. This way, I can take the batteries from my Milwaukee 12 volt and charge them along with these using the same charger, thus eliminating yet another battery charger laying around. Nice touch.
There is absolutely nothing I don't like about this drill...It is easily the best drill I've ever owned. I am thrilled with it, and know that this beast of a drill will long be a productive asset within my tool arsenal.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, great feel in your hand, great balance, outstanding battery life, brushless motor, milwaukee quality
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

Drill is outstanding and lives up to the advertised ruggedness

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is an unpaid/uncompensated review (note that others in this list are compensated reviews).
The drill works well, the case is great the issue that I have is with the battery. One of the batteries was defective as delivered. It would take a full charge but when put into the drill it would not work. I worked with customer service (directly with Milwaukee) and they made it right and did it quickly! They sent me a new battery which worked perfectly.
The drill is a great weight partly due to the compact battery. The batteries do charge in less than half and torque lives up to the claims.
I have read other reviews that comment on the chuck not grabbing the bit in a manner which would prevent the bit from falling out when inverted. I have to say that I have not found that to be an issue as long as the chuck is properly tightened.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, the hard case
Cons: the case needs space for bits
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit

Milwaukee does it again!

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Milwaukee puts it to the competition again! This drill has so much torque! Picked it up the other day and was drilling 3/4" holes with a spur auger with no problem! I had the chance to demo it in the store and it blew away every drill that is carried in the store. This one is a winner and the benchmark for every other brand!
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

so this is how a real drill feels

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this drill about 2 weeks ago. I use it at home and for work. Built the frame for a deck,drilled several holes through concrete,and installed several peices of equipment.Still on the first battery.Have never had a cordless drill of this quality. I cant wait to use it again.I also have a Mwky 18v sawzaw that I found in my service van when I inherited it. It still works great. Any power tool I buy from now on will be a mwky.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Summerville, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Power drills have been improved bit by bit!

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have a corded drill, you can probably relate to the burden of dragging along the power cord. You probably also thought it didn't give you enough power. This drill will fix that right up and more.
Everything is set up to go out of the box. It comes with a charger, two batteries, the drill, and a chuck for stability and bit retention. The drill worked right away, the battery has an push-button LED indicator for battery life. The batteries are easy to change out and put into the charger.
The drill has aggressive power! Extremely easy to hold and use. I think the only thing missing is a bubble level on the drill to keep it level when drilling; without it, if you're not careful, you could screw in at the wrong angle. It comes with a flash light that automatically turns on when you're drilling, this is rather handy! Another thing I'd note is, the charger should really have two battery chargers, not one. But the idea is, you charge one while you use the other, so in this regard, I can't complain!
The instructions have their own little compartment inside the case, which is definitely appreciated! You've probably thrown your older tools' instructions away because you didn't have a place for them, but this case addresses that, and I think that's pretty smart! The 5 year product limited warranty and 2 year battery limited warranty are both great to have included with this product.
Overall, this drill will not let you down, it's of great quality and value, and I highly recommend it for all your drilling needs!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Drill handles nicely, batteries have lasted, warranty repair was painless

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had this drill for 18 months, using it multiple times a week for a variety of tasks including high torque work like hole sawing. The drill is very solid and nice to use, it has a ton of torque and the drill body is really durable. The two standard sized batteries have lasted really well. The drill stopped working a few weeks ago...some kind of issue with the gear casing, but I returned it for a repair under warranty and they had it back to me in 8 days, working perfectly, free of charge. So....slightly surprised that an expensive drill would fail after 18 months, but they made up for it with excellent service.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for M18 Fuel 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Compact Battery Kit
from springfield, va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very light weight and powerful

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This drill is great for home use. It offers a lot of power and is very light weight. I have had others brands of cordless drills that were also 18volt but this one is certainly more powerful than the others.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>