728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Leaf Blowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Toro is the #1 rated brand. The Ultra delivers all the power and versatility you need to tackle every clean-up chore. It is the only Toro electric blower vac to offer a rugged metal impeller and an infinite variable speed air control. Its blower inserts for multiple applications allows you to tackle any space. The 235-mph air stream clears debris, sticks and large, heavy leaves. It converts quickly to an aggressive vacuum without any tools and reduces leaves up to 16 bags to 1. This product is covered by a two-year full warranty.
Overall rating:
4.317 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(1141 reviews) 1137
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product980 of 1,096reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,141 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(682)
4
(306)
3
(48)
2
(43)
1
(62)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product980 of 1,096reviews
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 196 Answers
Customer reviews for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
Review 1 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Surprise, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Blower!

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This blower has been a great tool for us...cleans up the yard in minutes! The power is great and the weight of the product is light enough our 6 year old can even use the blower to help out!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from San Tan Valley, AZ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than I expected it to perform...

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After several weeks of researching blowers and hearing about this Toro blower being one of the best, I decided to buy it. Next day cut my lawn and plugged it up and it worked like a charm. Love the variable-speed option!! Got all my leaves and a corner and turned down the speed to get them right where I wanted them to go. My grass was a bit wet at the time and it still performed better than I expected...
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, lighter than i thought!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Huge time saver and a quality product

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a very large yard with a lot of trees. I have a nice backpack blower I bought at home depot several years ago. My method of leaf disposal was to blow the leaves into piles and bag them. That was very time consuming and we used A LOT of bags. I decided to try my luck with one of these mulcher/vacuums. Although my yard is large, I was able to blow the piles within reach of an extension cord with my gas blower. This year I picked up one of these. I went into the store to purchase the cheaper (black) model which gets good reviews, but noticed this one had a metal impeller vs plastic and was less than 20$ more. It worked great! After 3 solid weekends of use, here are my impressions:
1. Assembly and unboxing: Nice! there aren't a million zipties to cut, and there is very little waste inside the box to throw away after. Assembly is a breeze. It's ready to go out of the box. Just set it up for blowing or vacuum, and get to it.
2. Use: It works well. I primarily used this as a vacuum, however I did attach the blower nozle to clean up the piles a bit midway. It is very powerful for an electric blower. The speed control is great. As a vac/chipper, it was impressed. It handled wet leaves well, and even mulched up some debris that made it into the pile. The chute never clogged on me. The "16 to 1" bag reduction claim on the box is very generous. Comparing to my previous seasons, I would say I got an 8 to 1 bag reduction. That is still amazing considering the amount of bags I normally put out.
Ergonomics: really nice! It is very comfortable to use for long periods. The strap on the bag is wide and does not dig into your shoulder when the bag starts to get heavy. The handles are positioned well and both the handles and the control knob are comfortable and functional when wearing thick work gloves.
Issues: none really, just some minor annoyances. The bag is difficult to empty in to a paper lawn and leaf bag. It's really meant to be dumped into a barrel. This can be fixed by only unzipping it partially. In addition when the bag is full, it is a little difficult to get off of the machine. It took a few tries to figure it out, but a firm "up and down" wiggling does the trick.
I will say for the price I paid, this cannot be beat. My gas blower was around 4 times this cost. It saved me many hours of bagging leaves, and it saved me about 12 to 15 bags. I am really glad I got this and wondering why I didn't get one a few years ago. Even if you have a very large yard where an extension cord will just not cut it, this is a great compliment to a powerful gas blower and makes collection and bagging a breeze. Attached is a picture of the bags I got just from the front yard. There are 5 bags. Last year there were about 20.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Mulches Well, Light Weight
Cons: bag difficult to empty into lawn and leaf bags
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+82points
92out of 102found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Toro is best

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my third Toro blower/vac so obviously I like them. My last two were the 2 speed model. This one has the advantage of a variable speed control as well as a real handle to help manage the blower. I have only used it a couple times but find it very similar to the other model. The variable speed does make it easier to control the leaves when you try to put them in a pile without blowing them away. I have not used the vac function but the old one worked great and this is supposed to be a little better.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Electric Blower/Vacuum

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the Toro Electric Ultra Blower/Vacuum Model 51609 around the end of July 2014. It was very easy to assemble and works perfectly for clearing leaves and debris from my patio, side walks, and street curb. It produces very moderate noise when in use and very little when on low speed, which I feel is a great advantage. I enjoy the infinitely variable speed. It is light and easy to use. Having to rely on an electrical cord is a bit of an inconvenience, but I could hardly ever start my previous, much more expensive, Sears Craftsman gas blower, even when it was new and despite having it serviced twice before I finally gave up on it. So it is nice to have a blower I can depend on. I have not yet used the vacuum feature.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Washington , CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Stops working after 3 uses

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am now attempting to contact Toro for a refund. Used twice, simply stopped running on third use.
Pros: All In One
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Conroe, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Blower Vac Purchase

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The blower/vac is almost identical to one I had for many years that finally died. I was happy to find a great replacement at Home Depot and have already used the product several times. I would highly recommend this product to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
Cons: not very easy to convert from blower to vac
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good for an eclectrical blower

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used to be a landscaper and have used many gas blowers in the past but this is not bad for an electric blower.
THE BAD: It's not as strong as the gas models. Too many attaching parts to store. Need long electrical cord to drag around.
THE GOOD: Cheap. Light weight and easy to handle. Vaccumm and cut up leaves. Longer lasting life than gas model and less breakdown. No stop to refill gas while using and no mixing gas with oil for small engine.
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Best Leaf Blower Ever ! ! !

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I know power equipment & this leaf blower out performs any gas model that I have owned in the past. I would highly recommend it and it's very powerful and for the price you can't beat it.☆☆☆☆☆
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Newport News, Va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to assemble and use. Lightweight and powerful so the job goes quickly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

great tool

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It meets all my need for it,works well easy to carry around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Elyria, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful Blower

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Powerful, easy to use, and not too loud. Very nice purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from leesburg, virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ultra vacuum blower

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
thus far I have used the vacuum for the trampoline, which is the primary reason I purchased it, but I also used it for the yard and it seems to be efficient. I purchased a similar one several years ago, but used on it wet leaves, which always equates to motor failure. I have another blower, but this one is by far more powerful. the product is very inexpensive, so I tend to treat it and other similar devices, as disposable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Branson, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performance & Value

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros:
1. Variable speed dial. Much better than blowers/vacs that have a Low/High speed switch.
2. Easy conversion from blower to vac, although the claim it takes seconds, is dependent upon age.
3. Bag attachment /removal for emptying is simple and easy, bag holds a good amount of leaves.
4. Easy to handle as a blower, concentrator nozzle is a super attachment.
5. Metal impeller, should last longer than the typical plastic one, although if you accidentally picked up a rock I would not want to be in the vicinity.
Cons:
1. If you wear gloves while operating, you could brush against the variable speed dial (located under the handle), changing the speed.
2. Removing the suction tube is somewhat difficult. But most blower/vacs have the same problem.
I use mine to vac leaves from the deck and solid surfaces, and it works like as advertised. As a blower it’s primarily used in the yard. Mostly to blow the leaves and small branches into the woods. I have never owned a blower/vac that was efficient for wet leaves; it’s not its purpose. It will mulch dry leaves efficiently; wet ones will either clog the tube/weight the bag down.
I would suggest anyone considering to purchase a blower/vac reads it’s capabilities first, don’t poorly rate any tool because only does what it is designed to do
It’s been 2 months since my purchase, the Toro Ultra 3-in-1 Blower, Vacuum and Leaf Shredder
Meets my expectations and is doing a great job
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Lancaster, Pa.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the variable speed

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
... and that it doesn't suck my clothes into the propeller! It is light-weight, but still powerful. I haven't tried shredding with it yet, but since it does such a great job on everything else, I know I won't have a problem with it. I highly recommend this blower!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from New Baltimore, MI

"Exactly" as described.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well.
I purchased this model to replace an old similar Toro model I used for 7-years.
I like that the impeller is metal instead of plastic.
I always used the previous blower on "Maximum Warp"; so no need for the variable-speed.
I use it to vacuum debris from my lava rocks (don't ask).
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Powerful, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Not worth the money

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked great until it burnt up less than two years after I bought it. I can understand if it were used all time, but I only used it lightly. I wouldn't recommend this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Chandler, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Blower/Vac combo

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is Toro's best hand held combo. The metal impeller makes all the difference and is worth the few extra bucks over the less expensive model with the plastic one. If you don't mind pulling an extension cord around, its the next best thing to gas. The bag design still not the greatest, will leak at end of zipper after a couple of uses. This is the 3rd Toro combo I've owned. They get the job done.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: vacuum bag quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Goose Creek,SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A good item to have during the fall season

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It has a powerful vacuum and blowing capability.
The only drawback I found , is it is a little heavy to use for an extended time.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Bethlehem, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good power blower,

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The blower power is good. Had a switch problem, Toro replace a new blower in one week.
Will continue to Toro product,
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 33 >>