728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Leaf Blowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Toro is the #1 rated brand. The Ultra delivers all the power and versatility you need to tackle every clean-up chore. It is the only Toro electric blower vac to offer a rugged metal impeller and an infinite variable speed air control. Its blower inserts for multiple applications allows you to tackle any space. The 235-mph air stream clears debris, sticks and large, heavy leaves. It converts quickly to an aggressive vacuum without any tools and reduces leaves up to 16 bags to 1. This product is covered by a two-year full warranty.
Overall rating:
4.315 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(1058 reviews) 1054
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product909 of 1,015reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,058 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(628)
4
(289)
3
(44)
2
(40)
1
(57)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product909 of 1,015reviews
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions | 193 Answers
Customer reviews for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
Review 1 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from San Tan Valley, AZ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than I expected it to perform...

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After several weeks of researching blowers and hearing about this Toro blower being one of the best, I decided to buy it. Next day cut my lawn and plugged it up and it worked like a charm. Love the variable-speed option!! Got all my leaves and a corner and turned down the speed to get them right where I wanted them to go. My grass was a bit wet at the time and it still performed better than I expected...
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, lighter than i thought!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Huge time saver and a quality product

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a very large yard with a lot of trees. I have a nice backpack blower I bought at home depot several years ago. My method of leaf disposal was to blow the leaves into piles and bag them. That was very time consuming and we used A LOT of bags. I decided to try my luck with one of these mulcher/vacuums. Although my yard is large, I was able to blow the piles within reach of an extension cord with my gas blower. This year I picked up one of these. I went into the store to purchase the cheaper (black) model which gets good reviews, but noticed this one had a metal impeller vs plastic and was less than 20$ more. It worked great! After 3 solid weekends of use, here are my impressions:
1. Assembly and unboxing: Nice! there aren't a million zipties to cut, and there is very little waste inside the box to throw away after. Assembly is a breeze. It's ready to go out of the box. Just set it up for blowing or vacuum, and get to it.
2. Use: It works well. I primarily used this as a vacuum, however I did attach the blower nozle to clean up the piles a bit midway. It is very powerful for an electric blower. The speed control is great. As a vac/chipper, it was impressed. It handled wet leaves well, and even mulched up some debris that made it into the pile. The chute never clogged on me. The "16 to 1" bag reduction claim on the box is very generous. Comparing to my previous seasons, I would say I got an 8 to 1 bag reduction. That is still amazing considering the amount of bags I normally put out.
Ergonomics: really nice! It is very comfortable to use for long periods. The strap on the bag is wide and does not dig into your shoulder when the bag starts to get heavy. The handles are positioned well and both the handles and the control knob are comfortable and functional when wearing thick work gloves.
Issues: none really, just some minor annoyances. The bag is difficult to empty in to a paper lawn and leaf bag. It's really meant to be dumped into a barrel. This can be fixed by only unzipping it partially. In addition when the bag is full, it is a little difficult to get off of the machine. It took a few tries to figure it out, but a firm "up and down" wiggling does the trick.
I will say for the price I paid, this cannot be beat. My gas blower was around 4 times this cost. It saved me many hours of bagging leaves, and it saved me about 12 to 15 bags. I am really glad I got this and wondering why I didn't get one a few years ago. Even if you have a very large yard where an extension cord will just not cut it, this is a great compliment to a powerful gas blower and makes collection and bagging a breeze. Attached is a picture of the bags I got just from the front yard. There are 5 bags. Last year there were about 20.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Mulches Well, Light Weight
Cons: bag difficult to empty into lawn and leaf bags
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+82points
92out of 102found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Surprise, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Blower!

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This blower has been a great tool for us...cleans up the yard in minutes! The power is great and the weight of the product is light enough our 6 year old can even use the blower to help out!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Toro is best

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my third Toro blower/vac so obviously I like them. My last two were the 2 speed model. This one has the advantage of a variable speed control as well as a real handle to help manage the blower. I have only used it a couple times but find it very similar to the other model. The variable speed does make it easier to control the leaves when you try to put them in a pile without blowing them away. I have not used the vac function but the old one worked great and this is supposed to be a little better.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good tool for cleanup

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I brought it to keep my patio and walk way cleaned off. it is a great tool far better than sweeping with a broom saves your back for back suffers. Light weight my wife can handle it with no problems. would highly recommend this for senior's.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Geauga County, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toro Leaf Blower - Nice Product, Very Good Performance

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am not a big proponent of electric powered yard/lawn equipment. Give me the portability and long-lasting performance of liquid fuels (gas, diesel, etc.). I was hesitant to purchase the Toro Electric Leaf Blower, but I didn't need the reach of a fully portable unit; the Toro was purchased to clean the garage, the basement, and some ducting in my home. The unit is reasonably easy to assemble. The On-Off switch is straightforward to operate. The output is great and is adjustable from a "light breeze" to a "full, gale-force wind." Haven't used the vacuum feature, and probably will not; however, for the blower features, I highly recommend the Toro Ultra 235
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Portland, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Motor burned up after 2 yrs mild use

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought I was buying a higher-end blower/vaccuum that would last me some time....metal mulcher device, more powerful than many others. Maybe my expectations were unreasonable to think it should last more than 2 years. (Actually died 2 months after the warranty ran out.) My use of the tool was actually pretty light. I'd used it maybe twice for vaccuum/multching, but mostly just for blowing off my deck, which is what I was doing when it met it's demise. I've decided these are more like "disposable" tools - so this time I bought one that cost half as much and ponied up for the in-store, money-back, extra warranty.
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Louisville
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for vacuuming and mulching leaves.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This vacuum/blower worked even better than I expected. I have only used the vacuum/leaf shredding at this point, but I have no doubt the blowing will be equal. I found the device easy to handle. The bag has a convenient side zipper that makes emptying easy. I do recommend this as a low price option. I don't have a lot of leaves, so not sure how it would work with high volume. One thing I learned that I will pass on to you...this is not designed to vacuum and shred plastic cups, bags, etc. I did this by accident, but it will stop up the shredder portion.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Michigan's U.P.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High Velocity Bargain

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The electric leaf blower works as advertised for blowing. I will not be using the suction feature until the leaves fall later this year. I primarily use the blowing feature for cleaning debris from the zero turn mower, tractor, and sawmill. We have landscape stone and retaining rocks around all sides of our house and will be using the blower/suction to remove the leaves this fall. Tie a knot before connecting the extension cord as the connection will loosen.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Dallas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Add Toro to the scrap heap.

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought the 51599 three years ago to the day from Home Depot. Used it 10 minutes a week for that time and the motor just burned out. Great that it has a two year warranty.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good for an eclectrical blower

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used to be a landscaper and have used many gas blowers in the past but this is not bad for an electric blower.
THE BAD: It's not as strong as the gas models. Too many attaching parts to store. Need long electrical cord to drag around.
THE GOOD: Cheap. Light weight and easy to handle. Vaccumm and cut up leaves. Longer lasting life than gas model and less breakdown. No stop to refill gas while using and no mixing gas with oil for small engine.
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Apopka, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

all abuzz

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This blower/vacuum assembles in moments. It's powerful and easy to use. The only thing I would change is the location of the zipper on the catch bag. It would be easier to transfer the contents to a yard bag, if the zipper were on the end opposite the blower.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Aurora, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ever Been In A Tornado?

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to buy this one, since there isn't a battery powered one with as much power. I love the variable speed. And this vacuums as well as blows. For this guy, I don't mind plugging it in. Just does an amazing job!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Branson, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performance & Value

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros:
1. Variable speed dial. Much better than blowers/vacs that have a Low/High speed switch.
2. Easy conversion from blower to vac, although the claim it takes seconds, is dependent upon age.
3. Bag attachment /removal for emptying is simple and easy, bag holds a good amount of leaves.
4. Easy to handle as a blower, concentrator nozzle is a super attachment.
5. Metal impeller, should last longer than the typical plastic one, although if you accidentally picked up a rock I would not want to be in the vicinity.
Cons:
1. If you wear gloves while operating, you could brush against the variable speed dial (located under the handle), changing the speed.
2. Removing the suction tube is somewhat difficult. But most blower/vacs have the same problem.
I use mine to vac leaves from the deck and solid surfaces, and it works like as advertised. As a blower it’s primarily used in the yard. Mostly to blow the leaves and small branches into the woods. I have never owned a blower/vac that was efficient for wet leaves; it’s not its purpose. It will mulch dry leaves efficiently; wet ones will either clog the tube/weight the bag down.
I would suggest anyone considering to purchase a blower/vac reads it’s capabilities first, don’t poorly rate any tool because only does what it is designed to do
It’s been 2 months since my purchase, the Toro Ultra 3-in-1 Blower, Vacuum and Leaf Shredder
Meets my expectations and is doing a great job
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Hanapepe, HI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

a good choice of blower

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
value durable and powerful unit. no need to buy gas and oil. clean large areas on low power setting with less noise for the neighbors. not good for small areas. one of my best purchases.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Great unit

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with this blower. The only comment I would make is that the variable opening mechanism is a bit awkward.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toro leaf blower/vauum

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After putting it together it was a little diffcult to take apart but is getting better as I use it. The vacuum portion works very well on leaves. It really takes a lot of leaves and chips them up mostly in small pieces. I haven't used the blower portion yet. I have a smaller Toro blower that my husband purchased at least 9 yrs ago from Home Depot.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Branson mo
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Turn the switch on and go. I did like the different speeds . Buy a good cord.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from San Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to Use, Effective Blower Vacuum

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've mostly used the vacuum function on this Ultra Blower Vac unit of mine. It's quite effective for removing all the detritus that falls from my back yard's oak tree. It sucks up and shreds leaves, twigs, oak balls and all with aplomb. I can even run it right over my rock bed and suck up all the dropped junk without sucking up the rocks themselves. Fantastic!
The blower function works as expected: it blows stuff around.
This unit is quieter than I expected. The lowest setting is strong enough for most of my needs in the yard. At this lowest setting, the unit sounds very quiet indeed: not much louder than a typical household vacuum cleaner. Neighbor-annoyer this unit is not!
The unit is of medium weight: I noticed the weight after half an our of vacuuming, but no sore muscles nor back resulted.
My only nit: the vacuum bag is somewhat tricky to remove from the unit when it's full and needs emptying. But, with patience, and strong hands, the bag does detach.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Mulches Well, Quiet
Cons: difficult to remove vacuum bag
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just okay.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've used both functions now and rate them adequate. My old blower was stronger than this one, especially the vacuum feature. I tried to vacuum dead grass from around the edges of my driveway and it really did not work. Does work okay for loose leaves, but not grass. The blower is stronger and not as loud as the old one. I like the blower feature better than the vacuum feature. Converting them is not too difficult for me and I'm not mechanically gifted or strong.
Pros: All In One, Sturdy, Easy to Store
Cons: weak vacuum
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 31 >>