728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Leaf Blowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Toro is the #1 rated brand. The Ultra delivers all the power and versatility you need to tackle every clean-up chore. It is the only Toro electric blower vac to offer a rugged metal impeller and an infinite variable speed air control. Its blower inserts for multiple applications allows you to tackle any space. The 235-mph air stream clears debris, sticks and large, heavy leaves. It converts quickly to an aggressive vacuum without any tools and reduces leaves up to 16 bags to 1. This product is covered by a two-year full warranty.
Overall rating:
4.317 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(1149 reviews) 1145
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product986 of 1,103reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,149 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(686)
4
(308)
3
(50)
2
(43)
1
(62)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product986 of 1,103reviews
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 202 Answers
Customer reviews for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
Review 1 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not what I expected...AT ALL

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought our blower/vac last year and used it once to clear the leaves. We have 2 small maple trees and 1 small peach tree. Last year, it did good. The high setting on the knob wasn't very high, but it blew the leaves onto the concrete and sucked them up and mulched them pretty well, making our pile of leaves much smaller to get rid of.
This year is another story. The leaves are dryer and lighter than last year. We turned the thing on and instantly the power was half what it was last year. Started to blow the leaves toward the concrete and lost power eventually losing all power. Now, it won't move 1 leaf, not to mention the pile we have. Guess I'll be raking this year
For the money spent, this should have lasted longer than 2 uses.
DO NOT BUY!!
Cons: Not Durable, not long-lasting, bulky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Plymouth, MI 48170, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 2 Machines. The zipper on both bags failed within the first year I owned them. I bought the second one with hopes the problem would be improved. Bad decision on my part I guess.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Didn't work for me

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I bought it for the vacuum feature...mainly to vacuum leaves off my rock garden and grass clippings off the walkway. I saw my friend using a similar outdoor vac in his yard and I thought this was exactly what I needed to clean up my yard. I tried it on two separate occasions. It really wasn't picking up much. After an hour of yard work I ended up with a bag that was less then 1/3 full (which is a joke considering how my yard is covered in leaves right now) and a very sore back.
It was very heavy for me and awkward to move around. The bag was awkward no matter how I adjusted the strap. So, on one side I was trying to balance the bag on my shoulder/back and the other I was trying to keep the electrical cord out of my way. All the while trying to hold the vac at the right angle to the ground and adjust the suction to somewhere in between stuck the the ground and actually vacuuming stuff up. The vibration was also much more than I expected, after about 10min my hands were numb.
I thought several times that maybe I'm a few inches too short (I'm 5'6") to get the right angle with the ground. I know my rake and broom will be way more efficient to get the job done.
Sadly, I'm returning this blower/vac. It did not even come close to my expectations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthless

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this in September, and I was immediately disappointed as it does not have much power to move leaves. I used it once, then my wife used it and it didn't have the multi-speed function any more, then the next time I used it it would randomly turn on and off as the switch mechanism was malfunctioning. I would not recommend this to any one! Don't buy it save yourself the hassle, please.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Parsippany NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Motor / Switch Doesn't Last Long - Toro has poor customer service

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've owned two of these Toro Ultra Vacs and both stopped working after only a few hours. I returned the first one to Home Depot for an exchange after only using it for a few hours when the switch started smoking and then shut off. The second one lasted for two seasons cleaning up the fall leaves in my small yard then that one stated to burn out and stopped working. I contacted Toro and they sent me a general response so I emailed them again and explained again how two of these stopped working with only very limited use and they never replied back. I owned a Black and Decker for over 10 years and never had a problem until I broke a part on it. I will never buy another Toro product again. I also found out they don't even sell replacement parts.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Dallas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Add Toro to the scrap heap.

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought the 51599 three years ago to the day from Home Depot. Used it 10 minutes a week for that time and the motor just burned out. Great that it has a two year warranty.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Greeley, CO

Leaf Vacuum

PostedNovember 10, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This leaf vacuum function was not able to handle large leaves.
Constantly clogged the intake.
Home Dept was vey helpful with its ease of return policy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Don't buy this

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My first lasted only about two weeks when it just quit working. I first thought it was my extention cord, but no, it just quit. I returned it for a replacement and it lasted about 9 months, but again just quit. When it works, it works well, but the bags get holes in them easily and require freqeunt repair or replacement.
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from 22015
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Deteriorating quality of the product

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Toro leaf blowers have a declining quality. The item does not last as long as they used to. Today's product while having replaced the impeler to a metal one supposedly for durability, does not last as long as the ones they used to make. The motor of the 1st one I got in 2004 burned out after 5 yrs of rough use. The more recent ones burned out after one use (a fluke I thought?) and the latest one's motor burnt out after a mere 14 months. The later ones can not take any abuse i.e. accidental drop from knee height. The body cracks or the motor quits. If you prefer to get this despite the poor and deteriorating quality, you might want to get the extended warranty (at least you'll be guaranteed a replacement for two years). It would be better to avoid it completely and get something else or a gas powered one.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Stopped working after 3rd use

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I found the attachments difficult to attach and switch out and I'm a middle aged relatively strong man. The blower and vacuum were strong but the item stopped working after the 3rd time I used it. I used the item for about 30 min cumulatively before the safety switch on the bottom of the unit stopped working. When returning it to the store I saw 3 other units behind the returns desk. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Puerto Rico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Electrical Problems

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is excellent...when it work. I returned my second product today, only work in 3 occassions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Henderson, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Burned out after 2 uses

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this blower after our previous one finally quit after 16 years. We used it twice and the motor burned out. Didn't expect that to happen so I don't have the sales receipt for return. Won't purchase again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Mt. Prospect,IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just 3 years old. The varible speed switch going bad. Sometimes you have to wiggle or slightly bang on it to get it to work. Only have a small yard and short driveway. I guess Toro looks at it as being a throwaway tool. I would check out other brands.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Hendersonville, NC

Keep your receipt

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm writing out of frustration. I owned one of these at my former home for years and it was a great investment in upkeep. I've now moved across country and had to get another blower so I got the same model, at the local Homedepot. I got a lemon. Foolish me I also misplaced my receipt. The blower was missing a strategic part that was needed to blow and, the switch didn't turn on. A piece of useless junk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Agawam, Massachusetts

Failed after one season

PostedApril 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The bag on this item fell apart during the first season.
At the start of the second season (after buying a new bag) the machine started to spark to the point where you could see flashes through the red plastic case.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I had the good fortune of the other reviewers

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Last year, when I wanted to purchase a leaf vacuum, I read the glowing reviews for this Toro Blower Vac, and rushed to buy it. The Vac did VERY little to mulch the leaves (dry ones), so I returned it, and the store gave me a new one when I brought a bag of the leaves to show them the results. However, the new one did not mulch the leaves much better, so all I can say is I was GREATLY disappointed. No doubt this may not be included in the reviews, but it has been my experience with the item.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't Vacuum Well

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Toro Ultra works fine as a blower, but is a lousy vac. My 10-year old Black and Decker picked up all kinds of twigs, when it burned up last year, I bought a Toro Ultra. It won't pick up any twigs, and because of the shape of the intake tube, leaves tend to get clogged in it, then you have to push them with a wooden stick.
The Toro Ultra does shred well, if you lay it down, and push leaves into it, but that kind of defeats the purpose of a Power Vac. Just bought a Black and Decker Leaf Hog. It doesn't clog, and it picks up nearly all the twigs from my cottonwood tree. A huge improvement over the Toro.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unless you only need to blow a 100 sq ft area with very light leaves, this is not the blower you need. Turned up to it's maximum speed, it is like blowing through a straw. When using the vacuum, you practically have to press it on the ground to suck anything up. After 10 minutes of trying to vacuum a small pile of leaves, I gave up and swept them up. When I emptied the bag, it didn't even mulch any of the leaves.
Don't waste your money.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Hoffman Estates, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Save your money

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked great for two seasons ,then the power switch wouldn't work. It only had the minimmal power and that was it. I went on line to try and get a replacement switch only to find out there is none available. To every one who gave it a good review, Good luck in the future.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Palm Harbor
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

NFG

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchase this one 3yrs ago and had very little use and the motor was shot,Would never buy a Toro again.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 33 >>