728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Leaf Blowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Toro is the #1 rated brand. The Ultra delivers all the power and versatility you need to tackle every clean-up chore. It is the only Toro electric blower vac to offer a rugged metal impeller and an infinite variable speed air control. Its blower inserts for multiple applications allows you to tackle any space. The 235-mph air stream clears debris, sticks and large, heavy leaves. It converts quickly to an aggressive vacuum without any tools and reduces leaves up to 16 bags to 1. This product is covered by a two-year full warranty.
Overall rating:
4.316 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(1062 reviews) 1058
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product913 of 1,019reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,062 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(631)
4
(290)
3
(44)
2
(40)
1
(57)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product913 of 1,019reviews
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions | 193 Answers
Customer reviews for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
Review 1 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't Vacuum Well

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Toro Ultra works fine as a blower, but is a lousy vac. My 10-year old Black and Decker picked up all kinds of twigs, when it burned up last year, I bought a Toro Ultra. It won't pick up any twigs, and because of the shape of the intake tube, leaves tend to get clogged in it, then you have to push them with a wooden stick.
The Toro Ultra does shred well, if you lay it down, and push leaves into it, but that kind of defeats the purpose of a Power Vac. Just bought a Black and Decker Leaf Hog. It doesn't clog, and it picks up nearly all the twigs from my cottonwood tree. A huge improvement over the Toro.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

wouldn't buy this brand again

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This blower worked ok, but in less than a year and not much use, the motor slows down and it stops blowing completely. going to the trash pile, very disappointed.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dead after 1.5 years of very light use

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wow. I thought this thing was cool, but today it just broke. i was blowing leaves off my patio, very light amount. Turned it off, switched to the vacuum bag to suck the leaves up... and NOTHING. 2 year warranty, but i can't find my receipt, so not sure if HD will refund it. I'd be surprised and i'll update if they do. Good luck, you have been warned.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Buyer beware - motor may not last

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Most reviews on this item are written after initial use.
Product history for the unit it replaces (model 51599) indicates problems with motor failure within only two seasons' use. Good luck if you buy.
See Q&A, including response from Toro - motor in 51609 is the same as used in the 51599.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

1 Year Life Span

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I owned several Toro products over the years, including a lawn mower and electric chainsaw (I'm dating myself mentioning this one). I was disappointed that this blower only last a year with very light use. I thought if I paid more for the Toro it would last me, but I guess I was wrong. I will now think twice before buying anything made from Toro. Also, I read someone that Toro doesn't even make their low end products, only their commercial ones. Buyer beward!
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Don't buy if you actually want to mulch leaves!

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was initially excited about this product because I thought it would save me time and energy. I have a big backyard with lots of trees thus lots of leaves.
I got it home, put it together and was immediately disappointed. It clogged easily and would pull up very few leaves at a time. It was awkward to operate due to the design of the hardware, plus I had to hold it in a certain position so the bag was properly placed otherwise it did not vacuum at all.
The mulching feature is a joke. The leaves were still basically whole when I emptied the bag. It looked like someone had just taken some scissors and tried to cut them up. The bag was also hard to empty. The side-zipper seemed like a good idea but due to the fact that the zipper pull is at the top of the bag you have to lift the product up high over so that you don't dump the leaves everywhere.
I might have been happy with it just vacuuming the leaves, but there is no way to turn off the mulching feature. Also, it says not to vacuum/mulch any objects like sticks or acorns. I can understand not using it for a large stick, but it should be able to work with twigs and acorns, etc...
I have not used the blower feature so I can't say anything about that part.
I eventually put it down and went back to scooping the leaves. My was was faster.
I feel that I wasted my money because the vacuum/mulching feature was so poor. I already have a more light weight, powerful blow so I might never use this new one again
Pros: Great Engine
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not what I expected...AT ALL

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought our blower/vac last year and used it once to clear the leaves. We have 2 small maple trees and 1 small peach tree. Last year, it did good. The high setting on the knob wasn't very high, but it blew the leaves onto the concrete and sucked them up and mulched them pretty well, making our pile of leaves much smaller to get rid of.
This year is another story. The leaves are dryer and lighter than last year. We turned the thing on and instantly the power was half what it was last year. Started to blow the leaves toward the concrete and lost power eventually losing all power. Now, it won't move 1 leaf, not to mention the pile we have. Guess I'll be raking this year
For the money spent, this should have lasted longer than 2 uses.
DO NOT BUY!!
Cons: Not Durable, not long-lasting, bulky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Richmond, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Died after 2 uses

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased a couple of weeks ago at Home Depot to vacuum up pecan and ash leaves from around my Christmas lawn decorations. Used it twice for about 1 1/2 hours each time. Yesterday I was going to use it again and it was dead. I made sure the safety switch was depressed (you have to have either the vacuum tube installed or the blower attachment installed). Plug was fully engaged on both ends. Tested extension cord with a trouble light, no problem. I save receipts, so I'll be taking it back for a refund. Will research other manufacturers.
Pros: Powerful, Mulches Well
Cons: product life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I had the good fortune of the other reviewers

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Last year, when I wanted to purchase a leaf vacuum, I read the glowing reviews for this Toro Blower Vac, and rushed to buy it. The Vac did VERY little to mulch the leaves (dry ones), so I returned it, and the store gave me a new one when I brought a bag of the leaves to show them the results. However, the new one did not mulch the leaves much better, so all I can say is I was GREATLY disappointed. No doubt this may not be included in the reviews, but it has been my experience with the item.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't last very long

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this blower about 3 1/2 years ago. It works great as a blower, light blowing to heavy blowing are very easy. It is light and easy to carry. As a vacuum it did so/so. it often got clogged on leaves over 2" which was aggravating because you have to stop and empty it out or unplug then run your arm up in it to clear it which is time consuming. It did mulch the leaves up very well which made either bagging them or using them for mulch very easy. The bag was easy to carry over your shoulder.
I'm extremely disappointed in the durability of this model. I bought this one due to the metal "fan" which did hold up well. HOWEVER. i used this blower maybe twice a year to either blow or vacuum and blow my yard which while FULL of leaves is very small. This year would have been it's 4th season of use. Last year it got used once due to a broken foot. This year I was 1/2 way thru my front yard (maybe 30 min max of use) and it just died. Flat dead, engine dead no use. I would expect this if I had paid maybe $40-$50 bucks from Walmart but at nearly $100 and from Home Depot I expected much better quality. At least it lasting more than probably 30 hours of combined use. I won't buy any Toro products again. If I'm going to put up with constant clogging and only 2-3 yrs of use, I'll buy something much cheaper.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

This product is worthless as a leaf vacuum.

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I decided to try the Toro unit because of its metal impeller. I have tried to use it twice now as a vacuum. It is worthless. It clogs very easily and has very suction. The vacuum tube converges until half way up the allowing the leafs to clog.
Cons: Not Durable, does not vacuum
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from NorCal
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great blower....... while it works

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have now had my second one die in about 18 months. The variable speed goes out and you can't turn it off. It's a great, lightweight, powerful blower while it works, but I am over having to return them for warranty. I would GLADLY pay double this price for a more durable corded electric model.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Plymouth, MI 48170, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 2 Machines. The zipper on both bags failed within the first year I owned them. I bought the second one with hopes the problem would be improved. Bad decision on my part I guess.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unless you only need to blow a 100 sq ft area with very light leaves, this is not the blower you need. Turned up to it's maximum speed, it is like blowing through a straw. When using the vacuum, you practically have to press it on the ground to suck anything up. After 10 minutes of trying to vacuum a small pile of leaves, I gave up and swept them up. When I emptied the bag, it didn't even mulch any of the leaves.
Don't waste your money.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Hoffman Estates, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Save your money

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked great for two seasons ,then the power switch wouldn't work. It only had the minimmal power and that was it. I went on line to try and get a replacement switch only to find out there is none available. To every one who gave it a good review, Good luck in the future.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Palm Harbor
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

NFG

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchase this one 3yrs ago and had very little use and the motor was shot,Would never buy a Toro again.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will never buy one of these again

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these last fall to take care of my leaves...it mulched the leaves but after a few days of use, would not turn off if the dial was set to "0". We just went with it until we were done with the leaves and returned it to the store.
We exchanged the old blower/vac for a new one of the same model, and didn't use it until yesterday. We took it out of the box and a half hour after we started using it, the speed selector started malfunctioning and the off position kept moving around. After 2 hours of use, the blower/vac will not turn on.
My recommendation is to find another one to buy. It's $70 but invest the extra $$ for a more reliable model.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Mulches Well
Cons: Not Durable, is not built to last
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor Quality

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this product only 3 times and already the power dial switch does not work and the engine compartment/case it coming apart. The screws are tight and it was never dropped or suffered a large impact. Nothing should fall apart after only 3 times of use. On this date I contacted TORO, but as of today, I am very disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Fort Collins, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Died after 10 hrs of use

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Died after 10 hrs of leaf blowing and vacuuming. Great power but very poor value.
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inadequate

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did not vacuum up debris and thus did not do the job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 31 >>