728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Leaf Blowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Toro is the #1 rated brand. The Ultra delivers all the power and versatility you need to tackle every clean-up chore. It is the only Toro electric blower vac to offer a rugged metal impeller and an infinite variable speed air control. Its blower inserts for multiple applications allows you to tackle any space. The 235-mph air stream clears debris, sticks and large, heavy leaves. It converts quickly to an aggressive vacuum without any tools and reduces leaves up to 16 bags to 1. This product is covered by a two-year full warranty.
Overall rating:
4.324 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(1215 reviews) 1211
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product1,044 of 1,166reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,215 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(728)
4
(326)
3
(52)
2
(45)
1
(64)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product1,044 of 1,166reviews
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions | 208 Answers
Customer reviews for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
Review 1 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Tampa bay

Bearing burnt out after out of warranty

PostedMarch 9, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
a little after 2 years old bearing went out.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Greeley, CO

Leaf Vacuum

PostedNovember 10, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This leaf vacuum function was not able to handle large leaves.
Constantly clogged the intake.
Home Dept was vey helpful with its ease of return policy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Agawam, Massachusetts

Failed after one season

PostedApril 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The bag on this item fell apart during the first season.
At the start of the second season (after buying a new bag) the machine started to spark to the point where you could see flashes through the red plastic case.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Didn't work for me

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I bought it for the vacuum feature...mainly to vacuum leaves off my rock garden and grass clippings off the walkway. I saw my friend using a similar outdoor vac in his yard and I thought this was exactly what I needed to clean up my yard. I tried it on two separate occasions. It really wasn't picking up much. After an hour of yard work I ended up with a bag that was less then 1/3 full (which is a joke considering how my yard is covered in leaves right now) and a very sore back.
It was very heavy for me and awkward to move around. The bag was awkward no matter how I adjusted the strap. So, on one side I was trying to balance the bag on my shoulder/back and the other I was trying to keep the electrical cord out of my way. All the while trying to hold the vac at the right angle to the ground and adjust the suction to somewhere in between stuck the the ground and actually vacuuming stuff up. The vibration was also much more than I expected, after about 10min my hands were numb.
I thought several times that maybe I'm a few inches too short (I'm 5'6") to get the right angle with the ground. I know my rake and broom will be way more efficient to get the job done.
Sadly, I'm returning this blower/vac. It did not even come close to my expectations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Will be returning

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The vacuum blows dust all over you. The vacuum feature should not get that dirty from using it.
-7points
3out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Don't buy this

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My first lasted only about two weeks when it just quit working. I first thought it was my extention cord, but no, it just quit. I returned it for a replacement and it lasted about 9 months, but again just quit. When it works, it works well, but the bags get holes in them easily and require freqeunt repair or replacement.
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Good product

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Came. Complete. Easy instructions. Works well. Meets all my requirements.
-15points
1out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Well......................

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I so loved this blower which I bought last season. Worked great & got the job done. Yes, I have taken excellent care of it. I really thought I had made a great purchase.........well, it quit running today :~\. It will not do anything!! So much for my great purchase.........looks like if I stick with this one then I will have to replace every season.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Plymouth, MI 48170, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 2 Machines. The zipper on both bags failed within the first year I owned them. I bought the second one with hopes the problem would be improved. Bad decision on my part I guess.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

wouldn't buy this brand again

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This blower worked ok, but in less than a year and not much use, the motor slows down and it stops blowing completely. going to the trash pile, very disappointed.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I had the good fortune of the other reviewers

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Last year, when I wanted to purchase a leaf vacuum, I read the glowing reviews for this Toro Blower Vac, and rushed to buy it. The Vac did VERY little to mulch the leaves (dry ones), so I returned it, and the store gave me a new one when I brought a bag of the leaves to show them the results. However, the new one did not mulch the leaves much better, so all I can say is I was GREATLY disappointed. No doubt this may not be included in the reviews, but it has been my experience with the item.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't last very long

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this blower about 3 1/2 years ago. It works great as a blower, light blowing to heavy blowing are very easy. It is light and easy to carry. As a vacuum it did so/so. it often got clogged on leaves over 2" which was aggravating because you have to stop and empty it out or unplug then run your arm up in it to clear it which is time consuming. It did mulch the leaves up very well which made either bagging them or using them for mulch very easy. The bag was easy to carry over your shoulder.
I'm extremely disappointed in the durability of this model. I bought this one due to the metal "fan" which did hold up well. HOWEVER. i used this blower maybe twice a year to either blow or vacuum and blow my yard which while FULL of leaves is very small. This year would have been it's 4th season of use. Last year it got used once due to a broken foot. This year I was 1/2 way thru my front yard (maybe 30 min max of use) and it just died. Flat dead, engine dead no use. I would expect this if I had paid maybe $40-$50 bucks from Walmart but at nearly $100 and from Home Depot I expected much better quality. At least it lasting more than probably 30 hours of combined use. I won't buy any Toro products again. If I'm going to put up with constant clogging and only 2-3 yrs of use, I'll buy something much cheaper.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthless

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this in September, and I was immediately disappointed as it does not have much power to move leaves. I used it once, then my wife used it and it didn't have the multi-speed function any more, then the next time I used it it would randomly turn on and off as the switch mechanism was malfunctioning. I would not recommend this to any one! Don't buy it save yourself the hassle, please.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Palm Harbor
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

NFG

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchase this one 3yrs ago and had very little use and the motor was shot,Would never buy a Toro again.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from 22015
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Deteriorating quality of the product

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Toro leaf blowers have a declining quality. The item does not last as long as they used to. Today's product while having replaced the impeler to a metal one supposedly for durability, does not last as long as the ones they used to make. The motor of the 1st one I got in 2004 burned out after 5 yrs of rough use. The more recent ones burned out after one use (a fluke I thought?) and the latest one's motor burnt out after a mere 14 months. The later ones can not take any abuse i.e. accidental drop from knee height. The body cracks or the motor quits. If you prefer to get this despite the poor and deteriorating quality, you might want to get the extended warranty (at least you'll be guaranteed a replacement for two years). It would be better to avoid it completely and get something else or a gas powered one.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Puerto Rico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Electrical Problems

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is excellent...when it work. I returned my second product today, only work in 3 occassions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unless you only need to blow a 100 sq ft area with very light leaves, this is not the blower you need. Turned up to it's maximum speed, it is like blowing through a straw. When using the vacuum, you practically have to press it on the ground to suck anything up. After 10 minutes of trying to vacuum a small pile of leaves, I gave up and swept them up. When I emptied the bag, it didn't even mulch any of the leaves.
Don't waste your money.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Hoffman Estates, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Save your money

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked great for two seasons ,then the power switch wouldn't work. It only had the minimmal power and that was it. I went on line to try and get a replacement switch only to find out there is none available. To every one who gave it a good review, Good luck in the future.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will never buy one of these again

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these last fall to take care of my leaves...it mulched the leaves but after a few days of use, would not turn off if the dial was set to "0". We just went with it until we were done with the leaves and returned it to the store.
We exchanged the old blower/vac for a new one of the same model, and didn't use it until yesterday. We took it out of the box and a half hour after we started using it, the speed selector started malfunctioning and the off position kept moving around. After 2 hours of use, the blower/vac will not turn on.
My recommendation is to find another one to buy. It's $70 but invest the extra $$ for a more reliable model.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Mulches Well
Cons: Not Durable, is not built to last
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dead after 1.5 years of very light use

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wow. I thought this thing was cool, but today it just broke. i was blowing leaves off my patio, very light amount. Turned it off, switched to the vacuum bag to suck the leaves up... and NOTHING. 2 year warranty, but i can't find my receipt, so not sure if HD will refund it. I'd be surprised and i'll update if they do. Good luck, you have been warned.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 34 >>