728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Leaf Blowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Toro is the #1 rated brand. The Ultra delivers all the power and versatility you need to tackle every clean-up chore. It is the only Toro electric blower vac to offer a rugged metal impeller and an infinite variable speed air control. Its blower inserts for multiple applications allows you to tackle any space. The 235-mph air stream clears debris, sticks and large, heavy leaves. It converts quickly to an aggressive vacuum without any tools and reduces leaves up to 16 bags to 1. This product is covered by a two-year full warranty.
Overall rating:
4.316 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(1105 reviews) 1101
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product948 of 1,060reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,105 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(660)
4
(296)
3
(47)
2
(42)
1
(60)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product948 of 1,060reviews
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions | 196 Answers
Customer reviews for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
Review 1 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Orange, CA

It sucks, it blows, it has a metal impeller A-OK!

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I required a blower that was also a vacuum in order to pick up small rose leaves and rose petals that are near-impossible to sweep up. I narrowed my choices down to the Weed-Eater current model and this TORO model. There aren't a lot of blowers that are also vacuums to begin with...
I found that the Weed-Eater current model was made by the Husqvarna company, which I found makes a lot of private label blowers and puts different brand name stickers on them. If you've ever been held hostage in a finger-pointing dilemma, this is like a contractor blaming a sub-contractor, "but wait guys, my roof is still not completed, and now it's starting to snow!". I also found that the Weed-eater model has had numerous complaints with the flimsy zipper for the vacuum bag (for unzipping to remove vacuumed-up stuff, the zipper breaks usually upon first usage per reviews I read), and Weed-eater is generously sending replacement vacuum bags out to their clientele right and left because they know it is a DEFECTIVE DESIGN VACUUM BAG.
I was impressed with the TORO company because they directly manufacture this blower, no contracting-out. They also listened to their customers, even in a product that sells for less than $100, who in the prior year had hoped for a metal impeller, which is used to mulch and chew everything up before dumping it into the vacuum bag. This year it IS a METAL IMPELLER Also, they improved the motor switch from a two speed last year to a variable-speed motor switch this year; it's just like turning a radio volume knob, want more power? just turn the switch a little more clockwise.
My only disappointment is that the nice wand that is used for the blower feature is NOT the same method that is used for vacuuming. The vacuuming "nozzle" is about 7 inches in diameter and attaches below the motor as opposed to in front of the motor like the blow wand does. It's about the size you need to also accidentally vacuum up your neighbor's cat that makes your dog bark. It's a little awkward to use, but it is very functional, and is a very powerful vacuum when full power vacuuming is desired.
You usually don't even need it at 50% motor speed, and it picks up small leaves nicely. The nice thing about the variable speed motor is that you can set it at a speed that it will pick up leaves sitting atop redwood bark or mulch, and the vacuuming will leave the redwood bark or mulch intact, untouched. Be careful not to vacuum up rocks or large sticks, because their first point-of-contact in the motor would be the impeller, which is like a finned fan blade; it's purpose is to turn leaves into mulch, and I think it would find a rock hard to digest, if not altogether damaging.
If you buy it at the Home Depot, search the internet ("Home Depot Coupon Codes" search engine search) FIRST to see if HomeDepot.com promotion codes are available. I was able to save $5 less than even the Home Depot retail store price from a HomeDepot.com Father's Day promotion code, and shipping for a $50 or more order was free, and I didn't even have to leave my house, it came to me by UPS.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Huge time saver and a quality product

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a very large yard with a lot of trees. I have a nice backpack blower I bought at home depot several years ago. My method of leaf disposal was to blow the leaves into piles and bag them. That was very time consuming and we used A LOT of bags. I decided to try my luck with one of these mulcher/vacuums. Although my yard is large, I was able to blow the piles within reach of an extension cord with my gas blower. This year I picked up one of these. I went into the store to purchase the cheaper (black) model which gets good reviews, but noticed this one had a metal impeller vs plastic and was less than 20$ more. It worked great! After 3 solid weekends of use, here are my impressions:
1. Assembly and unboxing: Nice! there aren't a million zipties to cut, and there is very little waste inside the box to throw away after. Assembly is a breeze. It's ready to go out of the box. Just set it up for blowing or vacuum, and get to it.
2. Use: It works well. I primarily used this as a vacuum, however I did attach the blower nozle to clean up the piles a bit midway. It is very powerful for an electric blower. The speed control is great. As a vac/chipper, it was impressed. It handled wet leaves well, and even mulched up some debris that made it into the pile. The chute never clogged on me. The "16 to 1" bag reduction claim on the box is very generous. Comparing to my previous seasons, I would say I got an 8 to 1 bag reduction. That is still amazing considering the amount of bags I normally put out.
Ergonomics: really nice! It is very comfortable to use for long periods. The strap on the bag is wide and does not dig into your shoulder when the bag starts to get heavy. The handles are positioned well and both the handles and the control knob are comfortable and functional when wearing thick work gloves.
Issues: none really, just some minor annoyances. The bag is difficult to empty in to a paper lawn and leaf bag. It's really meant to be dumped into a barrel. This can be fixed by only unzipping it partially. In addition when the bag is full, it is a little difficult to get off of the machine. It took a few tries to figure it out, but a firm "up and down" wiggling does the trick.
I will say for the price I paid, this cannot be beat. My gas blower was around 4 times this cost. It saved me many hours of bagging leaves, and it saved me about 12 to 15 bags. I am really glad I got this and wondering why I didn't get one a few years ago. Even if you have a very large yard where an extension cord will just not cut it, this is a great compliment to a powerful gas blower and makes collection and bagging a breeze. Attached is a picture of the bags I got just from the front yard. There are 5 bags. Last year there were about 20.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Mulches Well, Light Weight
Cons: bag difficult to empty into lawn and leaf bags
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+82points
92out of 102found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from San Carelos, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pretty Good

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used it for the first time yesterday.
1. The blower is very powerful and generally works well, but it's less effective in dislodging and then moving around oak acorns on grass (that was frustrating). I ended up raking the last 1/4 of the yard because of the acorns could not be moved when concentrated much at all.
2. The weight is very managable. I wish there were a trigger on/off button rather thann the rheostat speed dial. I'm not sure there would ever be a need for a low speed blast so on/off would generally be sufficient.
3. The vac function feels considerably weaker than the blower, it did just OK in picking up oak leaves and clogged a few times. It struggles to pick up oak acorns because of their density and maybe 1/2 or more fall back out against the air flow. I suspect that the vac bag clogs up from dirt much like a household vac does, then the air-flow drops down and thus the vacuum velocity. Also as the bag fills up the surface area of the vac bag get very reduced so that too makes the vacuum power much lower. It beats manual raking as far as effort, but the suction is not as high as I would have liked.
4. If I were to recommend an improvement, it would be to replace the vac bag with a 10'-12' vacuum discharge hose that I could stick in my yard waste recycle bin; the reasoning being that would not restrict the air velocity the way the bag does and I wouldn't have to empty the bulky bag over and over. The bag sucks up dust and dirt so seems to clog too much too quickly.
5. I was covered in dust and debris after a 4-5 hour marathon overdue yard and roof cleanup. But with a rake it would have taken 3-4 times as long.
6. It works spectacularly well to clear leaves and acorns off of my roof without damaging the shingles like a rake or broom might.
7. I made sure that I bought a unit with a metal impeller and glad I did. The hard acorns and twigs would have destroyed a plastic impeller very quickly. After one use, I could see wear on the aluminum impeller's edges. That is probably the most vulnerable working part period.
8. Generally speaking I worry about the durability of the plastic parts holding up to the demands I place on the equipment, in particular the snap on parts at the intake near the impeller. It looks like a plastic part could be easily broken if I accidentally stepped on something covered in leaves for instance.
9. The change-over between blower to vac was easy enough, but I was less enthusiastic about doing it by the 10-12th time. The change-over takes about 30-40 seconds but the parts retrieval time was far longer as I moved around the house.
Overall it was a decent unit and time will tell how it holds up.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: vacuum is a bit weak, bag is probablly clogging up with dust.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy This One.

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've written 2 other product reviews in recent years, so you know this is not my thing. But this is the best blower/mulcher we have ever used, so have to say something. Have used it heavily for 3 weekends and only a single small operational flaw. The unit is maybe 1/4 the weight of the gas blower/mulcher that died suddenly. Its high CFM volume results in the strongest blower and suction I have ever used. The tube never got plugged up with leaves/twigs. The metal impeller has ground leaves literally to dust and withstood everything, including unintended small stones mixed in with the debris. Changing from blower to mulcher and back requires no tools and only a moment. So, now I do that routinely. The bag is the best designed for any such yard tool I have seen or used. Chiefly, Its big, right-sized, nicely made, and the zipper runs the length of the bottom of the bag, so I am able to empty it completely into the wheelbarrow in seconds with little effort while still shouldering the bag. The bag easily clips and unclips to the unit in seconds, so very easy to stop, empty, and restart. I have found the variable speed control is effective at controlling the blowing force and I use speeds down to "idle" to move the leaves in tight situations without launching them from the pile. Though on mulch I find that top speed is best. It is amazing how crunched dry and semi-dry leaves become. I believe the 16:1 ratio bragged on the box. This 1 feature will greatly reduce your time to get the leaves up. I tie the extension cord in a 1-twist loop around the handle, then plug the machine in. So, no issues going back to the cord. I did not mark the quality as top because the unit housing is cast in 2 halves, with the halves even bisecting the push-clip that holds the vac/mulcher and blower tubes on. One side of the clip on mine has less "spring" than the other and the vac tube has come off several times with the machine off. If this gets worse next year, I'll jam a small wedge of wood between the clip and the housing. If you think I am too picky in marking down the quality for this, then reflect equally on the great things i have said about this model. I have found the best technique for vacuuming leaves is to move the tube around in small circles on the surface of the leaf pile at about 1 foot/sec.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Danvers, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Top Notch Quality on a Budget

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've really never been too sold on these sort of "shortcut" products (as I've considered them) or their value, at least until I did 40 bags of leaves between my 2 residences last year. Any help helps, so I decided to bite the bullet, and give technology a try.
For the price, this thing is pretty awesome. Though it advertises 230+ mph blowing speed, I live in the northeast, and the semi frozen leaves barely moved at all. I'd have to assume the blowing speed would prove effective if the conditions were ideal, i.e warmer and not wet. Despite this, this leads me to this unit's biggest strength: the vacuum/mulcher!
I was pretty surprised at the power of the vac, as with the metal blade it had powerful, consistent suction, and destroyed frozen leaves, small twigs and branches, pine cones, tree nuts and was overall easy to use. The vac attachment is very wide, and thru the 20 bags I mulched, I was unable to clog it.
The speed is adjustable, though it clogged on every speed except max. The bag and strap are designed in a way that it is easy to empty, as well as comfortable to wear. I encountered little discomfort during operation, which is as simple as swinging the end back and forth thru a large pile.
I still found myself raking some, but the added benefit of the vac definitely proved to be worth the investment and indeed helped the job along much faster than normal, in addition to performing as advertised with effectively reducing the amount of bags/effort.
Though I would not recommend it if you're intending to use with a very large lawn, If you're on the fence, and you can spare the expense of picking it up, I would definitely give it a try, especially if you have a yard a half acre or smaller. It should make quite a difference in the work time and efficiency.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Tampa Bay

Great Performer

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I finally replaced my Toro Super Blower with the Ultra. The only fault I have had in the fifteen years of owning it was the plastic impeller that could not handle too many twigs at one time. The metal impeller along with the extra power performs well. The Ultra came with a blower reducer tip for a more focused force of air. It worked well with wet and lodged leaves. I could live without the variable speed switch I seem to keep it WFO. The vacuum is really useful when trying to pick up leaves on a windy day or in and around flower beds. It's not really designed to go around the whole yard sucking up leaves unless you need a change of pace. I may notch out the end of the vacuum tube because it will get stuck to the ground or driveway if moving too slowly across it. Converting the blower to vac was a little easier with the Super than with Ultra. The Ultra requires a little finesse to secure it in place and pressing the release latch when removing it. I compared other units and decided I was happy with the Toro brand and the performance of the Super. There is more weight with the Ultra and the balance is different but all in all I am pleased with the purchase. I'll still keep the Super handy for my trips up to the roof and dusting off the cars in the driveway. The only reason I am writing this review is because I was considering the W--X model and last night I saw an infomercial for it and couldn't stop laughing. They presented it in an indoor set landscaped with sod. It seemed underpowered even in that controlled of a setting. They were slowly and neatly pushing and rolling little grass clumps down the paths and walks with it. One blast of the Super or the Ultra would of send the grass into oblivion.
P.S. Don't forget your safety goggles and ear plugs.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from South Central PA

Toro Ultra Blower/Vac Model 51599

PostedDecember 10, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Highly recommended.
A real time saver.
Beats mixing gas.
Pros.
Well balanced easy to handle.
Real good suction did not seem to clog easily.
This machine reduced my bags of leaves from 80+ to about 18 bags
Light weight and has a well made large zippered easy to empty leaf bag.
Strong blower with variable speed, the lower speeds comes in real handy offering better control when blowing and directing the leaves into piles.
Metal Impeller should last longer than the plastic ones.
Blower and vacuum attachments connect and disconnect easily.
Quiet compared to a gas model.
Cons.
The variable speed switch is located in the handle in an area that’s real easy to accidentally bump the switch with your hand, changing the speed when you don’t want it changed.
The concentrator nozzle would be better if made to attach on the outside of the blower tube instead of dropping it from the inside. Too remove the nozzle you must completely remove the discharge tube.
Comparisons. Toro Ultra Blower/Vac Model 51599 vs. the Black and Decker BV 4000.
Blowers are about the same, advantage B&D concentrator nozzle connects externally. Advantage Toro variable speed.
Vacuums about the same, advantage B&D seems to pickup more twigs but that is hard on It’s plastic impeller. Advantage Toro Metal impeller.
Mulch ratio is about the same.
Weight and balance and handling are about the same.
Tips.
Try to vacuum dry leaves if possible. Wet leaves are heavier, do not mulch as well, clogs easier, makes the bag wet.
Avoid sucking up twigs, acorns, pinecones, rocks and stones, it’s hard on the impeller.
Blow leafs into piles to be vacuumed as oppose to your house vacuuming leaf by leaf.
I really like the Toro it does a great job !
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Biggest Benefit is the Mulching Function

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
11/20/2013 - Purchased from the Home Depot Store in Gates, New York.
Positives - Overall I like this product because it mulches the leaves. The mulching function saves on the number of paper bags used to store the waste, at least a three to one ratio. I found I did not have to use my back as much as opposed to raking the leaves, bending down to scoop them up with my hands and dumping them into a paper bag. My purchase cost including sales tax was less than $80.00 and the product has a 2 year full warranty.
Negatives - If you have a large area to sweep at one time (3,000 sq. feet or more) you will probably need at least a 100 ft electrical cord. I did not save on total work time since using the blower and vacuum process is not as efficient as simply raking the leaves in a pile (I think, anyways).
Functional Use - The process of using the vacuum to sweep an area is not fast. The blower provides enough power to blow debris and has different nozzles for hard to reach places. The vacuum intake tube is adequate in diameter (6 inches?) but if a lawn has small leaves like the size of my Burning Bushes, the vacuuming will be slow going. I recommend filling up the bag to 3/4 capacity at the most since emptying the attachment bag is cumbersome and messy due to the zipper running longitudinally along the length of the bag.
Ergonomics - Wear ear protection because the motor is loud, especially in a closed space (garage). Also, I recommend wearing a dust mask since the mulching function is not air tight and fine particles will be sprayed into the air. This could be a problem for those persons who have pulmonary issues and are susceptible to reactions from mold or fungus that attach to plant leaves.
Pros: Mulches Well
Cons: cumbersome to use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Pembroke Pines, FL

Does the job

PostedApril 14, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had this blower / vac for about 2 months now. I've compared other "non gas" brands within the same price range and it was a tie between a Black and Decker model and Toro. This Toro had a slightly more powerful vac spec and lower noise db rating so I went with it. It is light weight and a powerful blower/ vac for its size. I used it to clear leaves from my driveway, front lawn and back yard and it does it easily. The metal impeller does a decent job of breaking down the leaves, but at higher vac speeds some whole leaves do get through. I'd say 20% a full bag is whole leaves. Not bad. However, I can clean my total area filling one 30 gal bag as opposed to raking and filling 2 1/2 60 gal bags with the same amt of leaves. Saves the lawn and sucks up fine tree pollen as well. Some design thoughts on this Toro. The metal impeller pictured on the box is not the one used. The current impeller could be an updated version. The bag zipper is placed in an ackward position and emptying it can be slightly messy and tedious than it needs to be. Attaching on vac and blower adapters is a snap. It's so easy, in less than 10 secs your from a blower rounding up leaves, to a vac ready to suck em. You'd have to buy a proper guage and length outdoor extension chord as it is not suplied and makes sense why. I bought a Husky 25ft extension cord, and including HomeDepot's 2yr extended warranty and replacement, it came up to $101. I hesitated to buy this blower vac for 3 weeks thinking its unecessary since I can rake it, but the trees shed lots of leaves, flower and pollen so often it just made it easier and faster. I'm happy about this purchase.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Powerful Blower - Unimpressive Vacuum

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this blower/vac based on other reviews. I needed something to clear my yard of all of the fall leaves. I get a lot of leaves in my yard during fall. The blower is incredibly powerful. It easily blows leaves, twigs, and even some rock and loose asphalt. I can blow a ton of leaves to any corner of my yard very quickly. Unfortunately, I don't have the same praise for the vacuum feature. It takes much longer than I expected to suck up a small amount of leaves. The bag is also small, so it fills very quickly. Another gripe I have about the unit and the vacuum itself is that it is awkward to hold the unit properly and keep the bag strapped over your arm or shoulder, while vacuuming. Because the bag connects to where the blower tube would go, it feels like the bag is leading you and not you leading the bag. Using the vacuum really isn't comfortable. I would not get this product if the point is to vacuum leaves and other debris.
Overall, this is a good product. The blower definitely gets the job done. Even though the blower does a great job, I would warn anyone reading this review that I think the blower is more suited for smaller yards that either do not get many fall leaves or yards that have defined corners where you can blow leaves to. My yard is .25 acres, which gets many, many fall leaves. Personally, I think I need a walk behind blower or back pack blower to take care of my space. However, this discovery of mine does not diminish what this blower is advertised to do; blow lots of leaves really fast.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: poor vacuum design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum

Don't buy if you actually want to mulch leaves!

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was initially excited about this product because I thought it would save me time and energy. I have a big backyard with lots of trees thus lots of leaves.
I got it home, put it together and was immediately disappointed. It clogged easily and would pull up very few leaves at a time. It was awkward to operate due to the design of the hardware, plus I had to hold it in a certain position so the bag was properly placed otherwise it did not vacuum at all.
The mulching feature is a joke. The leaves were still basically whole when I emptied the bag. It looked like someone had just taken some scissors and tried to cut them up. The bag was also hard to empty. The side-zipper seemed like a good idea but due to the fact that the zipper pull is at the top of the bag you have to lift the product up high over so that you don't dump the leaves everywhere.
I might have been happy with it just vacuuming the leaves, but there is no way to turn off the mulching feature. Also, it says not to vacuum/mulch any objects like sticks or acorns. I can understand not using it for a large stick, but it should be able to work with twigs and acorns, etc...
I have not used the blower feature so I can't say anything about that part.
I eventually put it down and went back to scooping the leaves. My was was faster.
I feel that I wasted my money because the vacuum/mulching feature was so poor. I already have a more light weight, powerful blow so I might never use this new one again
Pros: Great Engine
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, Too Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Newington, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great mulcher

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I dropped my old blower/mulcher and shattered the motor housing. My yard was full of oak leaves and I don't rake. So after a couple days of research, the Toro seemed to be the choice. Right features, right price..So headed to Home Depot and made my purchase.
Easy and quick to assemble. Headed out to tackle oak leaves.
!!WOW!! no where near as noisy. sucked up acorns, small twigs, and leaves with no problems. ++Much larger collection bag which cut down on the number of trips to empty. And when I did dump leaves, the shred was much finer than my old blower. Tough to do with Oak leaves..
I have a large yard and use my garden tractor for most of leaves, but I have several areas that I can't use tractor. Hill side rock garden and steep slopes. The light weight made these areas easy to do.
By the way I also have a gas blower that I use when I reach the end of the 100' extension cord. I blow the leaves with in reach of the Toro and mulch with it. Gas blower to heavy.
I have showed all my neighbors the capability of the Toro blower and all were impressed.
I do have two minor problems..
1. removing the bagger can be difficult.
2. THERE should be a better way to keep the extension cord attached to the blower cord than a square knot..
My previous blower had a slot that you passed a loop of the ext. cord thru and then passed the end of the cord thru the loop. Worked perfect.
I strongly recommend this blower/mulcher to anyone. :)
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Quiet
Cons: bagger can be difficult to remove, need loop slot for ext cord connect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Branson, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performance & Value

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros:
1. Variable speed dial. Much better than blowers/vacs that have a Low/High speed switch.
2. Easy conversion from blower to vac, although the claim it takes seconds, is dependent upon age.
3. Bag attachment /removal for emptying is simple and easy, bag holds a good amount of leaves.
4. Easy to handle as a blower, concentrator nozzle is a super attachment.
5. Metal impeller, should last longer than the typical plastic one, although if you accidentally picked up a rock I would not want to be in the vicinity.
Cons:
1. If you wear gloves while operating, you could brush against the variable speed dial (located under the handle), changing the speed.
2. Removing the suction tube is somewhat difficult. But most blower/vacs have the same problem.
I use mine to vac leaves from the deck and solid surfaces, and it works like as advertised. As a blower it’s primarily used in the yard. Mostly to blow the leaves and small branches into the woods. I have never owned a blower/vac that was efficient for wet leaves; it’s not its purpose. It will mulch dry leaves efficiently; wet ones will either clog the tube/weight the bag down.
I would suggest anyone considering to purchase a blower/vac reads it’s capabilities first, don’t poorly rate any tool because only does what it is designed to do
It’s been 2 months since my purchase, the Toro Ultra 3-in-1 Blower, Vacuum and Leaf Shredder
Meets my expectations and is doing a great job
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Charlotte, NC

A much better alternative to gas blowers

PostedJanuary 27, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After going thru my second gas powered leaf blower from Sears- the first one being a Craftsman and the second a Ryobi- I decided it was time to switch to an electric blower. After much review, I chose the Toro Ultra due to the positive reviews I read and the fact that the fan/mulching blades were made of metal.
After using the blower for a weekend I can tell you that this piece of equipment was engineered by someone who actually has leaves to collect in the fall and uses a blower to do it. The power and wind speed is second to none. Better yet, changing attachments is a breeze, especially compared to the gas powered models I have used in the past. No more having to use a screwdriver to unsnap the fan cover to attach the mulching tube and then having to unscrew the blower attachment to the then attach the bag attachment. It is now a simple snap on and snap off process. Even better is the bag and the fact that the zipper runs the entire length of the bag. With my gas powered model, the zipper did not run the entire length which meant the opening was not large enough for the leaves, even mulched, to fall out freely. Instead, I had to constantly reach into the bag and pull the leaves out by hand. With the Toro, this step is now completely eliminated.
Yes, having the cord to wrestle with is something I need to get used to but the benefits of this blower far outweigh what I consider a minor nuisance.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from N. Huntingdon, PA

Toro Electric Ultra Blower/Model #51599

PostedNovember 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never owned a blower before this one. Since I do a good bit of my shopping at homedepot, I went to the website to read the reviews about the Toro Ultra Blower. Any product that has as many 5 star ratings as this product had is definitely a product to consider. The high points that were pointed out were right on the money. It is much quieter than a lot of the ones I hear running around the neighborhood. It basically comes out of the box ready to role. Plug it in and off you go. It has a power control knob for running it at various speeds. Nice feature. It also has more than enough power for blowing leaves or vacuuming up leaves or any small twigs or branches. One of the complaints about other blowers that I researched was changing the blower from a blower to a vacuum. It was a breeze. The strap on the bag makes it not only easy to use it as a vacuum, but it makes it easy when you disconnect the bag from the unit to carry it to where it needs to be emptied. All and all it is a very easy to use and a very efficient piece of equipment. But the best part of all guys, is that when my wife saw me using it, she had to take a turn using it. If you can find a product for cleaning the yard and the wife has to give it a try, what else do I have to say. So while she is using it, I have the time to come in here and write this review. You won't go wrong purchasing this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from g-burg md

toro a good bull but lacks.....

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this blower/vac from doing lots of research and speaking with other home owners. I decided to give it a whirl.
First right out of the box the instructions are easy to see and read, and understand. Second the blower worked great, and I liked the different speeds from low to hi, making easy work of my yard work. I have over 1/2 an acre of land and in no time I was able to blow the leaves into huge piles. I did have a little bit of a hard time on some wet leaves that were under the dry leaves.
Second changing the blower to vac was easy peasy. I started vaccuming the leaves, and you have to go side to side and not just sticking the vac nozzle right into the leaves. The vac worked great on dry leaves but the wet ones were a different story. The wet ones were hard to pick up and clogged the impeller.
Third emptying the bad was easy to do but a little messy, trying to empty it into a lawn bag. I had to use a large trash can (larger opening) which made it easier to empty the bag. The 100ft extension cord was good however i had to frequently had to stop cause the cord got stuck around a rock or bush, and I had to stop and free up the cord. Otherwise this is a great blower/vac, and for the money you can't beat the price and the two year warranty covers everything as well which is awesome. I will continue to use it and will post again if any problems should arise.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from St Paul, MN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great blower and mulcher

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a while for an easy to use but powerful blower to clear grass clippings from my driveway and patio. Today I realized I could also use a mulcher for all the leaves in our yard. I was looking at a unit by Worx until I saw this unit from Toro. Based on the reviews and price, I decided to get this unit.
I am very happy with my purchase. I love the easy variable speed adjustment. The blower is very powerful and with an optional turbo tip you can make short work of debris on hard surfaces.
I was most impressed by the mulching feature though. We had four huge piles of leaves and this little machine made pretty short work of them. It has a lot of suction and mulches pretty well. The mulch isn't super fine but it is way more compacted and certainly chopped up some. A couple of times the tube got too clogged but after turning the unit off and tapping the tube, I was back in business.
This has a metal impeller which is a VERY nice feature. After sucking up some small twigs and other yard junk, I'm glad I have the metal impeller and not a plastic one. The leaves, sticks, and anything else were all sucked up and chopped with no problem.
The unit is fairly light and very easy to use. You can switch from mulching/vacuuming to blowing with just a couple of steps.
I definitely would recommend this.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't last very long

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this blower about 3 1/2 years ago. It works great as a blower, light blowing to heavy blowing are very easy. It is light and easy to carry. As a vacuum it did so/so. it often got clogged on leaves over 2" which was aggravating because you have to stop and empty it out or unplug then run your arm up in it to clear it which is time consuming. It did mulch the leaves up very well which made either bagging them or using them for mulch very easy. The bag was easy to carry over your shoulder.
I'm extremely disappointed in the durability of this model. I bought this one due to the metal "fan" which did hold up well. HOWEVER. i used this blower maybe twice a year to either blow or vacuum and blow my yard which while FULL of leaves is very small. This year would have been it's 4th season of use. Last year it got used once due to a broken foot. This year I was 1/2 way thru my front yard (maybe 30 min max of use) and it just died. Flat dead, engine dead no use. I would expect this if I had paid maybe $40-$50 bucks from Walmart but at nearly $100 and from Home Depot I expected much better quality. At least it lasting more than probably 30 hours of combined use. I won't buy any Toro products again. If I'm going to put up with constant clogging and only 2-3 yrs of use, I'll buy something much cheaper.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't last very long

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this blower about 3 1/2 years ago. It works great as a blower, light blowing to heavy blowing are very easy. It is light and easy to carry. As a vacuum it did so/so. it often got clogged on leaves over 2" which was aggravating because you have to stop and empty it out or unplug then run your arm up in it to clear it which is time consuming. It did mulch the leaves up very well which made either bagging them or using them for mulch very easy. The bag was easy to carry over your shoulder.
I'm extremely disappointed in the durability of this model. I bought this one due to the metal "fan" which did hold up well. HOWEVER. i used this blower maybe twice a year to either blow or vacuum and blow my yard which while FULL of leaves is very small. This year would have been it's 4th season of use. Last year it got used once due to a broken foot. This year I was 1/2 way thru my front yard (maybe 30 min max of use) and it just died. Flat dead, engine dead no use. I would expect this if I had paid maybe $40-$50 bucks from Walmart but at nearly $100 and from Home Depot I expected much better quality. At least it lasting more than probably 30 hours of combined use. I won't buy any Toro products again. If I'm going to put up with constant clogging and only 2-3 yrs of use, I'll buy something much cheaper.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra 235 mph 390 CFM Electric Leaf Blower Vacuum
from Austin, Tx

Not what they claim, but It does the job

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought a Weedeater brand blower/vac back in '02 that I was pretty impressed with. With the shredding vac I could reduce about 10 bags of leaves to about 2 or 3, and I didn't think it would ever die.. had to replace the switch a few times, but I continued to use it until last year (2010), when it finally burned up. I started researching new blower/vacs to replace it with and was very disappointed in the reviews I read; it seems the Toro units were the only ones to consider. One thing I was hoping to find in a shredder was a metal blade, as my old Weedeater was plastic... although it did last longer that expected, even when it appeared to be dull. This Toro has a metal blade, and the variable speed was a welcome bonus... and a claimed 16:1 mulch ratio! Wow...
Okay, so maybe the 16:1 ratio is a bit optimistic... a bit. More like 2:1 (with ash and oak leaves); not as good as my old one, but it does the job, and if I really need to reduce it down, I can dump the bag and run it through again for an additional 1.5:1. The vacuum strength isn't as good either, but adequate. The only other nit is that the zipper on the bag gets jammed easily too; larger teeth would fix this.
One thing that I love though is the variable speed; I don't know how I lived without it before. Now to see how long it lasts...
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 32 >>