728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Leaf Blowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac

Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac

Toro is the #1 rated brand. The Ultra delivers all the power and versatility you need to tackle every clean-up chore. It is the only Toro electric blower vac to offer a rugged metal impeller and an infinite variable speed air control. Its blower inserts for multiple applications allows you to tackle any space. The 235-mph air stream clears debris, sticks and large, heavy leaves. It converts quickly to an aggressive vacuum without any tools and reduces leaves up to 16 bags to 1. This product is covered by a two-year full warranty.
Overall rating:
4.305 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(853 reviews) 849
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product726 of 816reviews
Rating Breakdown 853 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(511)
4
(223)
3
(37)
2
(32)
1
(50)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product726 of 816reviews
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions | 164 Answers
Customer reviews for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
Review 1 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
StevoAZ
from San Tan Valley, AZ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than I expected it to perform...

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After several weeks of researching blowers and hearing about this Toro blower being one of the best, I decided to buy it. Next day cut my lawn and plugged it up and it worked like a charm. Love the variable-speed option!! Got all my leaves and a corner and turned down the speed to get them right where I wanted them to go. My grass was a bit wet at the time and it still performed better than I expected...
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, lighter than i thought!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
joelav22
from MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Huge time saver and a quality product

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a very large yard with a lot of trees. I have a nice backpack blower I bought at home depot several years ago. My method of leaf disposal was to blow the leaves into piles and bag them. That was very time consuming and we used A LOT of bags. I decided to try my luck with one of these mulcher/vacuums. Although my yard is large, I was able to blow the piles within reach of an extension cord with my gas blower. This year I picked up one of these. I went into the store to purchase the cheaper (black) model which gets good reviews, but noticed this one had a metal impeller vs plastic and was less than 20$ more. It worked great! After 3 solid weekends of use, here are my impressions:
1. Assembly and unboxing: Nice! there aren't a million zipties to cut, and there is very little waste inside the box to throw away after. Assembly is a breeze. It's ready to go out of the box. Just set it up for blowing or vacuum, and get to it.
2. Use: It works well. I primarily used this as a vacuum, however I did attach the blower nozle to clean up the piles a bit midway. It is very powerful for an electric blower. The speed control is great. As a vac/chipper, it was impressed. It handled wet leaves well, and even mulched up some debris that made it into the pile. The chute never clogged on me. The "16 to 1" bag reduction claim on the box is very generous. Comparing to my previous seasons, I would say I got an 8 to 1 bag reduction. That is still amazing considering the amount of bags I normally put out.
Ergonomics: really nice! It is very comfortable to use for long periods. The strap on the bag is wide and does not dig into your shoulder when the bag starts to get heavy. The handles are positioned well and both the handles and the control knob are comfortable and functional when wearing thick work gloves.
Issues: none really, just some minor annoyances. The bag is difficult to empty in to a paper lawn and leaf bag. It's really meant to be dumped into a barrel. This can be fixed by only unzipping it partially. In addition when the bag is full, it is a little difficult to get off of the machine. It took a few tries to figure it out, but a firm "up and down" wiggling does the trick.
I will say for the price I paid, this cannot be beat. My gas blower was around 4 times this cost. It saved me many hours of bagging leaves, and it saved me about 12 to 15 bags. I am really glad I got this and wondering why I didn't get one a few years ago. Even if you have a very large yard where an extension cord will just not cut it, this is a great compliment to a powerful gas blower and makes collection and bagging a breeze. Attached is a picture of the bags I got just from the front yard. There are 5 bags. Last year there were about 20.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Mulches Well, Light Weight
Cons: bag difficult to empty into lawn and leaf bags
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+81points
91out of 101found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
afan

Toro is best

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my third Toro blower/vac so obviously I like them. My last two were the 2 speed model. This one has the advantage of a variable speed control as well as a real handle to help manage the blower. I have only used it a couple times but find it very similar to the other model. The variable speed does make it easier to control the leaves when you try to put them in a pile without blowing them away. I have not used the vac function but the old one worked great and this is supposed to be a little better.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
Paul
from Fairfax County, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Performance & Features

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product as a spare replacement for the same model that is 5 years old and well used and abused. It has more blowing power than any other unit I have ever used. My neighbors keep borrowing it because it does more work than the ones they have. The variable speed location allows you complete control during use, whether blowing or chipping. In suction mode, the bag can get heavy due to the small size of the chipped leaf. The metal impeller is a must in chipping mode as the suction will pull everything in, small rocks and sticks included. A plastic impeller will self destruct. The overall weight is not a problem and the handle is at a natural balance point so it does not wear you out. If you need a blower/mulcher, this is the one to buy.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
JimR
from Lake Placid, FL 33852, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value that gets regular use

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This blower is a replacement for an earlier Toro unit that finally had an impeller problem. Rather than repair the old unit, it was worth it to buy the new unit. It's not too heavy, and extremely powerful, making it very easy to clean up leaves -- even wet soggy piles of leaves -- from around the house. If someone stole this one I'd go out and replace it with the same item again.
The only thing I'd like to see added would be a small tip for the blower with a 45-90 degree bend so that I could easily blow behind cabinets, water tanks, etc. Not being able to blow around corners is the only reason I rated "Features" as 4 stars instead of 5. (I also have a cordless blower that has a modest capability to get behind objects, but not satisfactorily.)
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
Dave
from Lebanon, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great blower/vac, but check the box!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This blower/vac works well, both as a blower and as a vac. Metal impeller is a big plus over many similar tools, especially when using the blower/vac in the vacuum mode. Only problem I had was that the first one I bought had parts missing from the box (no bag and some missing hardware). Took first one back and exchanged for another that had all parts present. HD exchanged, no questions asked.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
ectjn
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good for an eclectrical blower

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used to be a landscaper and have used many gas blowers in the past but this is not bad for an electric blower.
THE BAD: It's not as strong as the gas models. Too many attaching parts to store. Need long electrical cord to drag around.
THE GOOD: Cheap. Light weight and easy to handle. Vaccumm and cut up leaves. Longer lasting life than gas model and less breakdown. No stop to refill gas while using and no mixing gas with oil for small engine.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
Rick
from Branson, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performance & Value

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros:
1. Variable speed dial. Much better than blowers/vacs that have a Low/High speed switch.
2. Easy conversion from blower to vac, although the claim it takes seconds, is dependent upon age.
3. Bag attachment /removal for emptying is simple and easy, bag holds a good amount of leaves.
4. Easy to handle as a blower, concentrator nozzle is a super attachment.
5. Metal impeller, should last longer than the typical plastic one, although if you accidentally picked up a rock I would not want to be in the vicinity.
Cons:
1. If you wear gloves while operating, you could brush against the variable speed dial (located under the handle), changing the speed.
2. Removing the suction tube is somewhat difficult. But most blower/vacs have the same problem.
I use mine to vac leaves from the deck and solid surfaces, and it works like as advertised. As a blower it’s primarily used in the yard. Mostly to blow the leaves and small branches into the woods. I have never owned a blower/vac that was efficient for wet leaves; it’s not its purpose. It will mulch dry leaves efficiently; wet ones will either clog the tube/weight the bag down.
I would suggest anyone considering to purchase a blower/vac reads it’s capabilities first, don’t poorly rate any tool because only does what it is designed to do
It’s been 2 months since my purchase, the Toro Ultra 3-in-1 Blower, Vacuum and Leaf Shredder
Meets my expectations and is doing a great job
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
Dolbydog
from Katy, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this just to clear off the back porch from leaves and seed casings since we like to feed the birds and it works great. It has a dial to increase the speed of the wind being blown which is nice and it's very easy to handle which I was a little worried about since I am a 5'2" female and not a heavy lifter. I would definitely describe this as easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
cruxbuilds
from Portland Or
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ok for light residential use

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My second one of these just died, the motors burn out after about two years in my experience. I used this to clear leaves often in the fall and for monthly mowing of a 5K ft. lot. These machines are great right until they lose all power. I take care of my tools and find it a bit frustrating that this blower doesn't seem to last longer than two years. If I didn't have lots of leaves in the fall I suspect it would last longer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
Theresa
from Nlv
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great power

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It has good power. Only problem is, if the leaves or branches are wet they sometimes stick to the blade.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
Marko

Nice, but....

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice blower/vac that does what it says it does. No complaints there.
But.... when using the vacuum and the enclosed leaf bag, you will be in for a surprise. The vacuum leaf bag zips open down the side to empty the leaves. It does not zip open at the bottom where you would expect it to. This is a royal pain when trying to empty the leaf bag into one of the paper recycling bags.
The rest of the machine is just fine, but they should have gotten emptying the leaf bag right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
gmaplants
from mid missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I am glad I bought this one

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It takes some getting used to as the bag is a bit cumbersome but I have no clue that there is anyway to fix the issue. I do like using the bag as anymore would be too heavy for me. So far so good at giving me nicely mulched leaves to use in the yard and garden. I work slowly so this works great for me, it makes me take my time.
Pros: Mulches Well, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
NCJohn
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great medium duty blower/vac

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Toro blower/vac lives up to its reputation. I've used it on damp leaves mixed with gum ball tree pods and small twigs and it has handled them all with ease. The metal impeller makes all the difference and the mulching action is quite good. Certainly worth a few dollars more than the plastic impeller version.
It is a bit awkward to use in the vac mode where the suction tube is basically straight up and down and be sure to keep the bag straps tight enough to take the strain on the bag and not the attachment point to the motor
In the blower mode it's pretty easy to use with more than enough power to move leaves and smaller yard waste.
The only con was the lack of some sort anti strain or cord lock feature for the power cord.
This was ideal for me being a town home owner and it's going to save me a lot of time come Fall this year.
Pros: Powerful, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no lock for power cord
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
djinfla
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powefull at a reasonable price.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I only rated this good so far as it has only been used once so far. I bought this to use strictly as a yard leaf blower as I have about a dozen oak tress around the house and they do shed. It is a bit of a hassle dragging a long enough cord around 125' to do the yard but for the price and performance of the blower well worth it. It does not go head to head with my neighbor's Stihl gas blower but then he paid $300 and I paid $70 and no gas or maintenance is required on mine.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
HumbleSage70
from Southern California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a fine machine at a great price

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I went on line and compared a few electric Blower Vacs. This vari-speed Toro 51609 is available in the store at Home Depot for $75, a real bargain. I paid $12 for two more years of warranty--4 total. With tax= $92.00 (Its two speed version is also there, at $55.)
It's a bit tough at first to figure out how to snap the few parts together, but once you see how it goes, it's easy. I couldn't believe the power of the Blower and rarely turn the full variable speed function all the way up. The Vacuum is a bit awkward to handle and the bag is not easily supported when in use but the suction is strong and does the job. It can be manipulated so as not to take up stones, etc., though there is a racket with the metal impeller when it's pulling in little sticks and debris. I empty the bag frequently so it's not weighing down the somewhat heavy machine. My wife would struggle handling it as a vac.
I'd buy a 75/100-foot 14 gauge cord if you don't have one.
This machine is well designed and works very well. I'm impressed.
Pros: Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: lots of parts to store, electric machines require careful cord management
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
rcfj
from Largo, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for the DIY type

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This leaf blower vacuum is just the right size and power for the medium to small yard. When in vacuum mode, the mulching action stores quite a bit in the bag reducing the volume significantly. My wife handles it quite easily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
Brian
from Atlanta
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Avoid vacuuming pine cones. Fried motor.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my second one of this model. The first time around, I fried the motor by sticking the vacuum nozzle into a pile of leaves, completely my fault. I went and bought a second one, being very careful while vacuuming leaves. I use this to vacuum leaves from around landscaping bushes, which works great, until I sucked up a pine cone unknowingly. Motor fried again. Not buying another. Going with a gas product next time.
Blower was really good, I never had any complaints about that configuration.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
NRHTX2006
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am impressed for a blower that I have to plug in. I managed to shred some leafs and the blower on this thing is fast and quiet.
not bad I hope it last me about 5 years
Pros: All In One, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra 235 mph Electric Leaf Blower Vac
Monzster
from hanover virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than expected

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I must admit I had really low expectations from an electric blower. I have been switching my gas yard tools to electric because of the ethanol in the gas that we have now. I am tired of rebuilding and replacing the parts on them. This blower is actually better than my gas one. I have used the blower several times clearing about a half an acre around the house and a 3 foot ditch with a 300 foot cord and haven't had any problems. At this time I have not used the mulching part and most likely will not need to because I just blow the leaves into the woods. Overall this product in my opinion is excellent.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 28 >>