728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

For the perfect union of convenience and versatility, nothing beats the Ryobi ONE+ system. This 18-Volt String Trimmer features a high capacity Lithium-ion battery that works with all Ryobi ONE+ tools. That's over 50 products running off the same battery. This ONE+ trimmer is ideal for anyone who's tired of dealing with gas and cords. With a lightweight design and instant starting, this trimmer also features an adjustable cut width so you can cut a larger path, or reserve your battery power. This trimmer also functions as an edger just rotate the shaft, and you're ready to tidy up your edges. Got a larger job. No problem. The 18-Volt Lithium-ion battery recharges in just 1 hour, and provides your ONE+ tools with fade-free performance for the entire life of the charge. All backed by a 3 year warranty, look to Ryobi for performance and versatility.
Overall rating:
4.014 / 5
4
 / 
5
(370 reviews) 369
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product287 of 359reviews
Rating Breakdown 370 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(190)
4
(92)
3
(28)
2
(23)
1
(37)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product287 of 359reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Review 1 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very affordable

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am really liking the Ryobi 18 volt lithium ion tool line up. I Purchased the chainsaw last year and just love the ease of use to trim up the trees in my yard as well as cutting that log that is a pinch too long to fit in my wood burner; & right in the basement. (low noise no fumes) So that led me to buy the trimmer/edger. Charged the battery and have used it twice for about 25 minutes each time and still have charge left. the string automatically extends, very ez tool to use verses a gas model. I also own the older style drill, 4" circular saw, & sawsall. All very good tools.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Windham, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Me and My Ryobi

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ryobi did not disappoint! Buying their 18 Volt Cordless Trimmer.Edger was a great investment, Being a woman with 3+ acres and a lot of trimming to do, the Ryobi cut through the weeds and low lying brush like butter. Lightweight and very easy to manage, it is my new best friend!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Bay City, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exactly what I was expecting

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't usually write reviews, but since I've been so pleased with this product, that I had to. Since losing my husband two years ago, I've been slowly working to find ways to ease my "chores". Last summer I purchased a Ryobi chain saw. Since I was so happy with that, I thought I would go with the weed wacker from Ryobi this summer. Trying to work the old gas one was horrible and this makes the job so much more manageable. Literally took it out of the box with little effort to put it together, charged the battery and off I went. I have a fairly large yard, but the battery lasted with no problem. So light weight and easy to use. Thank you Ryobi!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+92points
94out of 96found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have only had the trimmer for a couple of months and it has worked great so far. My yard is only about an 3/4 acre, but i have a lot of trimming and edging to do. I probably run the trimmer for about 45 min to an hour at a time and haven't ran out of battery yet. It is powerful enough to pretty much cut anything in my yard so I am very happy with the purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+53points
70out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Grove City, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMAZING!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I havent trimmed my yard since spring began. I never had trimmer. I bought this trimmer, because, I wanted no gas and no cords to slow me down. I had grass at least a foot high. Around my patio and in front of my house. I turn it on and never let off the trigger. If I burn it up, then its not good enough. The back yard around the patio was the worst. Non stop just chewing up the grass. Im not light on my hardware, I expect it to take the abuse and deliver. WOW...it sure did. Im so very impressed with this trimmer. Im just so amazed. I love it so much, I just went out and bought the cordless hedge trimmer. RYOBI, YOUR AWESOME!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+50points
50out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Kansas City, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

YES! No cords and no pull start!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I enjoy cutting the grass, but cannot run the weed-whacker that my hubby has. I can't even pull the cord to start it! Now that he works out of town, I needed a trimmer that I could handle. This cordless trimmer is fantastic! So lightweight, and not so vicious that I'm scared I'm going to cut my foot off. Really a great solution to my problem!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Johnstown, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I wanted!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this trimmer for myself 1 year ago and have been very happy with it. My father mentioned how nice he thought it was, so I purchased one for him for Father's Day. He just mentioned to me the other day that he loves it. He was able to do his entire yard on just one battery and best of all - he didn't have to mess with a cord or mixing up gasoline.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from St. Paul, Minnesota
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for trimming where mower won't reach.

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this today, and couldn't wait for the P-105 battery to charge, so I used one of my P-102 compact batteries on it. It ran for 25 minutes on that battery, went around most of the trees and around the back of the garage against the footings and part way up the drive around solar lights. I left the wire guide for edging down so that I would not injure several young pine trees. The trick is to keep the motor running so that it doesn't keep advancing the line every time you shut it off. Didn't use any line at all. You have to remember that it"s not designed for heavy duty weeds.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Mansfield, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Maybe I got a lemon

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Maybe I am just the unlucky one, but I purchased this model on June 1, because I have many of the other Ryobi One + tools. I had used the trimmer twice and when I went to use it June 28, the motor is seized and will not run. I live in a small residential neighborhood, so it is not like I was really over using the trimmer, and pushing it beyond what it's capabilities should have been. Returned product with no problems and going to purchase a different brand gas powered trimmer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2-Years of use review

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this for 2 years with zero issues. Works great. Light. Not one complaint.
Buy it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from East Tawas, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what we hoped for.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife wanted a cordless trimmer. We investigated several different models by various manufacturers. Then we discovered the Ryobi One+. I had purchased a Ryobi One+ 18 volt cordless drill last year from Home Depot. When we realized that the trimmer and drill used the same battery, it became an instant no brainer. Especially with Home Depot's free shipping to home. The trimmer is able to trim our entire yard with plenty of battery to spare. And by the way, the Ryobi One+ 18 volt cordless drill was an excellent value and has performed great for nearly a year now.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Buffalo NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ugh

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had this product for couple years.. not enough power. would get stuck in heavy grass. & grass would wind around the spool would have to remove with tools. poorly engineered spool system. this year used it the grass got wrapped around it & heated up and melted off the whole spool set up. One advantage was no mixing of gas, but they need to engineer better.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow, great trimmer!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I stepped up from a super cheap trimmer that had to be "tapped" to release string. What a difference! Not only the auto feed, but long battery life and the handy conversion from trimmer to edger. My yard looks much bigger with much more ease! My only complaint - the battery is difficult to detach when you have small hands with contracted fingers like mine (a disability.) I imagine a man can reach all the way around to both clips with one hand - I cannot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: detaching battery
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product & does the job. Line feed - here's a tip that works for me...

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I agree wholeheartedly with the majority of the positive reviews. I own a number of Ryobi cordless products and am very satisfied with all of them, and this trimmer is no exception.
I was however, initially disappointed with the line feeding system, which seemed to more likely to not "auto feed" when attempting to do it as per the instructions - which is to simply release the trigger, wait 2 seconds and press the trigger again. I resorted mainly to manually turning it over, pulling the string while clicking the button on the bottom to advance the line about 1/2 inch with every click, while muttering curses...
Anyway, here's my discovery and tip... When you need to feed line, make sure the line is under load when you pull the trigger. Having the string in close proximity to the weeds you are whacking, or tilted to the ground so the too-short string is hitting it as it starts up. The additional pull of the line hitting the obstacle is what engages the autofeed! Voila! Repeat a few times until enough line feeds and you hear the string self-trimming itself on the cutoff blade. And conversely, start the trimmer with the string away from the weeds to prevent it from feeding and wasting line every time you pull the trigger.
This is what I discovered works for me.
The system makes sense if you stop and think about it. Only wished the instructions made it as clear...
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Creedmoor, NC 27522
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT for large yards or massive property!

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased it but HE used it on our weeds and for the most part, it was great, however, after 45 mins the battery was drained because he had to spend 3 times as long getting the more stubborn weeds removed.
He said it is light and EZ to handle and operate but NOT for massive land or large yards, like ours.
The other thing you need to be aware of is that a NEW LITHIUM battery costs almost as much as you would spend to buy a brand new one and they only last ONE YEAR!
But, if you live in a condo, apt or house in a sub/division and have a very small yard, it is perfect!
If it weren't for the battery only lasting one year, I'd say go for it, but for me, it's a deal breaker. :(
8/2014
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store, not made for large yards or acres of land!
Cons: you are out of power in 45 mins, rechargeable battery only lasts 1 yr!, can't tackle super weeds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Columbia, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm disappointed!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was so excited when I purchased this trimmer/edger, it had everything I wanted and was reasonably priced. My first use was disappointing but I held judgment thinking it could be the user (me), After many uses my initial impression has not changed. I have a very small yard and the battery does not last through the entire job. Although the battery charges in about an hour, it is a nuisance to have to stop and recharge the battery each time. The line continually unwinds in the reel while in use and I have to rewind it at least 1-2 times during each use. I also found it to be under powered. I certainly would not purchase this product again nor would I recommend it.
Pros: All In One
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Idaho
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST THINGS i HAVE EVER BOUGHT

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No more trying to start the 2 cycle trimmers for 10-20 minuets worth of work. It last long enough to do around my 1/3 acre lot a couple times before needing charged. And putting line on this thing is the easiest I have ever seen.
I LOVE IT
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from san antonio texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

best one by far

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Light and easy to hold and carry. Battery last long time
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from SLC , UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy and Dependable

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love that it uses the same batteries as all our other ryobi products. I don't have to mess with a cord either. I just pop in a battery and go. And I don't have problems getting it started like I did with my old trimmer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love my Weed Eater!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a weed eater that was easy to use. I tried my Dad's but it was hard to start, heavy and used gas. When I used the other weedeater, my hands we numb and shoulders ached. I could not stand the smell of the gas and it didn't feel safe.
I ordered the Ryobi and love it. I was easy to assemble, I charged the battery overnight but it only needed an hour.
Once the battery pack was clipped on, it was just a click of a button and the weed eater was running... I love it.
My hands don't feel numb.... I can hold it without distress and no GAS.
The sting used it tough and worked well in very high grass..... My lawn mower was broke and I cut my lawn with this weed eater.... I am a fan for life.
I bought my Dad a Ryobi drill years ago and it had 2 One batteries... I charged them while I cut ... and all I had to do was switch out... it was great.
One of the best buys from Home Depot and well worth the money.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 18 >>