728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

For the perfect union of convenience and versatility, nothing beats the Ryobi ONE+ system. This 18-Volt String Trimmer features a high capacity Lithium-ion battery that works with all Ryobi ONE+ tools. That's over 50 products running off the same battery. This ONE+ trimmer is ideal for anyone who's tired of dealing with gas and cords. With a lightweight design and instant starting, this trimmer also features an adjustable cut width so you can cut a larger path, or reserve your battery power. This trimmer also functions as an edger just rotate the shaft, and you're ready to tidy up your edges. Got a larger job. No problem. The 18-Volt Lithium-ion battery recharges in just 1 hour, and provides your ONE+ tools with fade-free performance for the entire life of the charge. All backed by a 3-year warranty, look to Ryobi for performance and versatility.
Overall rating:
4.021 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(523 reviews) 522
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product410 of 512reviews
Rating Breakdown 523 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(270)
4
(129)
3
(41)
2
(31)
1
(52)
Features 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product410 of 512reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 61 Answers
Customer reviews for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Review 1 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

when it works, it's OK

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The problem I have with this trimmer is that the string frequently wraps around beneath the trimmer head, and so it stops trimming. It's hard to unwind the string, and impossible (for me, apparently) to figure out how to remove the head to get access to the string that's wrapped around inside the mechanism. This makes the trimmer essentlially useless. Anybody know how to remove the head? (not the spool).
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Shreveport, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

String kept slipping, mostly used up after one use

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been doing yard work for over 30 years so I know how to use a cordless trimmer. My front yard is only 74 feet across. I had to stop and re-insert the string through the hole SEVEN times within that 74 feet while edging. Using it upright rather than as an edger got the same result. I would get a cut of maybe 4-6 feet before the string disappeared. Once I finally got through my entire job only about a foot of the string was left. Ridiculous. I am extremely disappointed with this thing and will be returning it to the store.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very affordable

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am really liking the Ryobi 18 volt lithium ion tool line up. I Purchased the chainsaw last year and just love the ease of use to trim up the trees in my yard as well as cutting that log that is a pinch too long to fit in my wood burner; & right in the basement. (low noise no fumes) So that led me to buy the trimmer/edger. Charged the battery and have used it twice for about 25 minutes each time and still have charge left. the string automatically extends, very ez tool to use verses a gas model. I also own the older style drill, 4" circular saw, & sawsall. All very good tools.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have only had the trimmer for a couple of months and it has worked great so far. My yard is only about an 3/4 acre, but i have a lot of trimming and edging to do. I probably run the trimmer for about 45 min to an hour at a time and haven't ran out of battery yet. It is powerful enough to pretty much cut anything in my yard so I am very happy with the purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+54points
71out of 88found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Bay City, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exactly what I was expecting

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't usually write reviews, but since I've been so pleased with this product, that I had to. Since losing my husband two years ago, I've been slowly working to find ways to ease my "chores". Last summer I purchased a Ryobi chain saw. Since I was so happy with that, I thought I would go with the weed wacker from Ryobi this summer. Trying to work the old gas one was horrible and this makes the job so much more manageable. Literally took it out of the box with little effort to put it together, charged the battery and off I went. I have a fairly large yard, but the battery lasted with no problem. So light weight and easy to use. Thank you Ryobi!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+94points
97out of 100found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Westmintser, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product for the price

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product for several reasons - I needed a One+ battery for another tool, I needed to replace an older cordless trimmer, and there wasn't another cordless one that I was willing to purchase for this price point.
Putting it together was a snap. I charged the battery for a day, then went to edge my front lawn. I had no issues edging - using the guard made it easy and I had no problem with the string. I did notice that the automatic line feeder was NOT functioning, but to me, this is certainly nothing to complain about. My last trimmer wouldn't feed line either, and I am quite content to flip the trimmer up to feed in what I need. NOTE: automatic line feed may occasionally work too well and use up string faster.
A few days later I trimmed the whole yard. The battery charge lasted for the whole task, there was no power drop off, and the yard looks great!
For those of you with issues with this trimmer, have you contacted either Ryobi or your local Home Depot store with your concerns?
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Grove City, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMAZING!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I havent trimmed my yard since spring began. I never had trimmer. I bought this trimmer, because, I wanted no gas and no cords to slow me down. I had grass at least a foot high. Around my patio and in front of my house. I turn it on and never let off the trigger. If I burn it up, then its not good enough. The back yard around the patio was the worst. Non stop just chewing up the grass. Im not light on my hardware, I expect it to take the abuse and deliver. WOW...it sure did. Im so very impressed with this trimmer. Im just so amazed. I love it so much, I just went out and bought the cordless hedge trimmer. RYOBI, YOUR AWESOME!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+50points
50out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Santa Maria, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst Weed Trimmer Ever

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the Ryobi 18-volt trimmer to replace my old Craftsman trimmer. The Ryobi was highly recommended by the Home Depot employee who helped me. I liked that the Ryobi was light, but when I started using it I found its switch arrangement to be uncomfortable to use and found that the line would either break off and not automatically advance, or would break off inside the housing. Having used the Craftsman a lot, but not really being a yard trimming expert, I kept thinking I must be doing something wrong when installing the line. I read the instructions over several times and watched a You Tube video of someone installing line in the very same trimmer, but was unable to get the thing to go more than a few feet before having to take off the battery, open the housing, and pull the line out. I have had it too long to return it, so will just be purchasing a different brand. I have read some of the other reviews and it seems that some people really like the Ryobi and some people have had the same experience I had. I wonder if some of them are just lemons.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, line constantly breaks off
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

Very happy

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed a new trimmer and edger and after weighing my optiins and prices, I decided on this one. A 2 cycle Ryobi gas trimmer with edge adapter was $160 at its lowest. This was half that and super easy to use. No mixing of gas and oil, less noise and super light. The power really surprised me! Lasts a full 30 mins. I dont know why more people dont buy this. Gas trimmers only make sense for landscapers and not even, because of extra batteries. It charges fully in about an hour. Ryobi batteries are interchangeable with my other tools too like my drill and saw. Thanks again Ryobi.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Johnstown, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I wanted!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this trimmer for myself 1 year ago and have been very happy with it. My father mentioned how nice he thought it was, so I purchased one for him for Father's Day. He just mentioned to me the other day that he loves it. He was able to do his entire yard on just one battery and best of all - he didn't have to mess with a cord or mixing up gasoline.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Newbury Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi 18 v string trimmer

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought to replace a TRB 22EC gas trimmer which blew piston seals after 2 years . Overall I was impressed with ease of use and power that it offers for such a light weight tool. More than sufficent battery life for my one acre lot to edge and trim. If cutting heavy brush may need second battary. I love that it is compatable witht he ryobui one batteries that I already have for my shop tools. And bravo including a charger that can charge all ryobi bateries ( Nicad and Li ion) Overall graet value for 90% of homeowner use needs.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow, great trimmer!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I stepped up from a super cheap trimmer that had to be "tapped" to release string. What a difference! Not only the auto feed, but long battery life and the handy conversion from trimmer to edger. My yard looks much bigger with much more ease! My only complaint - the battery is difficult to detach when you have small hands with contracted fingers like mine (a disability.) I imagine a man can reach all the way around to both clips with one hand - I cannot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: detaching battery
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Livermore, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money or time

PostedJuly 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wanted to like this because the ergonomics aren't bad and I have other Ryobi equipment that uses the same battery. Unfortunately it's painful to use and I'd return it if I could. The line feeder tends to feed too much and the cutting edge that supposed to keep the line from getting too long often doesn't cut it. The result is it likes to wrap around it's own head and fail to work. I'm pretty fed up with it at this point and have resorted to using my old black and decker with it's dying battery. Not a good design
Cons: poor line feeder and cutter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great trimmer for small to mid-sized jobs!

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a medium sized yard (approx 5,000 sq/ft) and this trimmer is perfect for it. It's definitely not the most powerful trimmer on the market, if you have a lot of brush, thick branches, etc you might want to go with a gas trimmer or even the 40v trimmer... but for normal grass and small vines, this is the perfect tool. One charged battery is enough edge my entire yard. I like the fact that it has adjustable length and it flips around for easy edging around the driveway/flower beds. It's very light and super easy to use, just plug and play. I also like that I don't have to deal with gas and oil nor do I have to prime it, etc... just pull the trigger and go. It's also considerably quieter than a traditional gas trimmer which is very nice. Overall I really enjoy using this.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Indiana
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Works well for me (owned about a month, used weekly)

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far, so good. I'm using it to trim around about a dozen trees, do the full perimeter of my house, edging along the drive, etc. Takes me maybe 20 minutes. Never had an issue running out of charge, and I keep it running most of the time since hitting the button triggers line spool. I do sometimes feel like it doesn't unspool enough line and have to flip it over to manually do it, but there's a button that allows this, so it's no big deal. I keep the battery on the charger in the garage. I will agree with the reviewer who said the battery is so wide it's kind of hard to release with one hand! I've only had it a month or so, but so far I'm very happy with this purchase!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works good for a cordless

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This trimmer works pretty good for a cordless. My wife and kids enjoy it because they dont have to try to start it. It would be better if it came with a faster motor and better battery.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Short Battery Life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

Great Trimmer

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This trimmer is great for small to medium yards. Easy to use and light weight. Operates for 15-20 minutes per charge, which is good for the way I use it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Windham, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Me and My Ryobi

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ryobi did not disappoint! Buying their 18 Volt Cordless Trimmer.Edger was a great investment, Being a woman with 3+ acres and a lot of trimming to do, the Ryobi cut through the weeds and low lying brush like butter. Lightweight and very easy to manage, it is my new best friend!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Neptune City, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Battery Trimmer

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Love the fact I can use this wihtout cords or gasoline. Very good product
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Flint mi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You can have my gas trimmer. This Ryobi works!

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my 3rd summer with the same Ryobi, battery, and charger. My brother recommended this trimmer to me after he owned his for an entire summer. I'm a 65 yr old disabled woman with a whole lot of determination, but I couldn't start our gas trimmer. The 18v Ryobi was also recommended by the HD saleswoman who had this 18V and thought the 24V would be too heavy for me. My Ryobi started out of the box. I had a little difficulty with the auto string release, but figured it out after a few tries. (There is an informative review on here that explains that the string releases when the trimmer is held in the position to cut and against the grass or weeds. The string does not release when the trimmer is up in the air.). It will cut grass and weeds for over two hours on a full charge and this is more than I need for my double city lot. It recharges in about 30 minutes, but I usually recharge mine before I put it away. BE AWARE that if you are a person with small hands (not me) or have any hand issues (me) you should continue reading. The dual safety start buttons are sometimes a challenge for me to push together. I ALWAYS struggle with grasping the battery to squeeze in on the release buttons on each side while pulling up on the battery to remove it from the trimmer or battery charger. I would like the battery to pop out easier. So why would I give my Ryobi five stars? It works! It does a good job and meets my needs. I'm going into my third season and it took care of all my spring trimming. I came on line to check the price, because I'm going to buy the same Ryobi for my daughter.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting
Cons: the battery release is difficult
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 26 >>