728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

For the perfect union of convenience and versatility, nothing beats the Ryobi ONE+ system. This 18-Volt String Trimmer features a high capacity Lithium-ion battery that works with all Ryobi ONE+ tools. That's over 50 products running off the same battery. This ONE+ trimmer is ideal for anyone who's tired of dealing with gas and cords. With a lightweight design and instant starting, this trimmer also features an adjustable cut width so you can cut a larger path, or reserve your battery power. This trimmer also functions as an edger just rotate the shaft, and you're ready to tidy up your edges. Got a larger job. No problem. The 18-Volt Lithium-ion battery recharges in just 1 hour, and provides your ONE+ tools with fade-free performance for the entire life of the charge. All backed by a 3 year warranty, look to Ryobi for performance and versatility.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(440 reviews) 439
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product343 of 429reviews
Rating Breakdown 440 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(224)
4
(108)
3
(37)
2
(26)
1
(45)
Features 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product343 of 429reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Review 1 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very affordable

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am really liking the Ryobi 18 volt lithium ion tool line up. I Purchased the chainsaw last year and just love the ease of use to trim up the trees in my yard as well as cutting that log that is a pinch too long to fit in my wood burner; & right in the basement. (low noise no fumes) So that led me to buy the trimmer/edger. Charged the battery and have used it twice for about 25 minutes each time and still have charge left. the string automatically extends, very ez tool to use verses a gas model. I also own the older style drill, 4" circular saw, & sawsall. All very good tools.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Valley Springs, AR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just bought one. Not ment for any amount of use.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these because I have a lot of the One + tools. This one lasted for about an hour. The motor started smoking and then before I knew it, it just plain stopped. I'd say they need to do a bit more work on the design before making these available. I was not too happy that I'll be taking it back for a REFUND. No exchange until I know that I can run one for at least as long as my gas trimmer without it dying. It burned up before one battery was dead.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from St. Louis
Age Range:25 to 34

Poor Product

PostedApril 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product looking for ease of use. I have a Ryobi gas trimmer that was a pain, so I opted to try out this battery operated one. I was also excited it would work with existing batteries I owned. Well.... this product is a piece of garbage. Literally. It didn't even last an entire summer season. I used it one week, put it back in my shed, and then it just didn't work the next time I took it out. I have a medium size lawn and basically only trimmed along wood privacy fences every other week. I would suggest you save your money.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable, randomly stopped working
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Shreveport, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

String kept slipping, mostly used up after one use

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been doing yard work for over 30 years so I know how to use a cordless trimmer. My front yard is only 74 feet across. I had to stop and re-insert the string through the hole SEVEN times within that 74 feet while edging. Using it upright rather than as an edger got the same result. I would get a cut of maybe 4-6 feet before the string disappeared. Once I finally got through my entire job only about a foot of the string was left. Ridiculous. I am extremely disappointed with this thing and will be returning it to the store.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have only had the trimmer for a couple of months and it has worked great so far. My yard is only about an 3/4 acre, but i have a lot of trimming and edging to do. I probably run the trimmer for about 45 min to an hour at a time and haven't ran out of battery yet. It is powerful enough to pretty much cut anything in my yard so I am very happy with the purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+54points
71out of 88found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Bay City, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exactly what I was expecting

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't usually write reviews, but since I've been so pleased with this product, that I had to. Since losing my husband two years ago, I've been slowly working to find ways to ease my "chores". Last summer I purchased a Ryobi chain saw. Since I was so happy with that, I thought I would go with the weed wacker from Ryobi this summer. Trying to work the old gas one was horrible and this makes the job so much more manageable. Literally took it out of the box with little effort to put it together, charged the battery and off I went. I have a fairly large yard, but the battery lasted with no problem. So light weight and easy to use. Thank you Ryobi!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+94points
96out of 98found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Grove City, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMAZING!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I havent trimmed my yard since spring began. I never had trimmer. I bought this trimmer, because, I wanted no gas and no cords to slow me down. I had grass at least a foot high. Around my patio and in front of my house. I turn it on and never let off the trigger. If I burn it up, then its not good enough. The back yard around the patio was the worst. Non stop just chewing up the grass. Im not light on my hardware, I expect it to take the abuse and deliver. WOW...it sure did. Im so very impressed with this trimmer. Im just so amazed. I love it so much, I just went out and bought the cordless hedge trimmer. RYOBI, YOUR AWESOME!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+50points
50out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Westmintser, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product for the price

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product for several reasons - I needed a One+ battery for another tool, I needed to replace an older cordless trimmer, and there wasn't another cordless one that I was willing to purchase for this price point.
Putting it together was a snap. I charged the battery for a day, then went to edge my front lawn. I had no issues edging - using the guard made it easy and I had no problem with the string. I did notice that the automatic line feeder was NOT functioning, but to me, this is certainly nothing to complain about. My last trimmer wouldn't feed line either, and I am quite content to flip the trimmer up to feed in what I need. NOTE: automatic line feed may occasionally work too well and use up string faster.
A few days later I trimmed the whole yard. The battery charge lasted for the whole task, there was no power drop off, and the yard looks great!
For those of you with issues with this trimmer, have you contacted either Ryobi or your local Home Depot store with your concerns?
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Johnstown, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I wanted!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this trimmer for myself 1 year ago and have been very happy with it. My father mentioned how nice he thought it was, so I purchased one for him for Father's Day. He just mentioned to me the other day that he loves it. He was able to do his entire yard on just one battery and best of all - he didn't have to mess with a cord or mixing up gasoline.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Windham, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Me and My Ryobi

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ryobi did not disappoint! Buying their 18 Volt Cordless Trimmer.Edger was a great investment, Being a woman with 3+ acres and a lot of trimming to do, the Ryobi cut through the weeds and low lying brush like butter. Lightweight and very easy to manage, it is my new best friend!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow, great trimmer!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I stepped up from a super cheap trimmer that had to be "tapped" to release string. What a difference! Not only the auto feed, but long battery life and the handy conversion from trimmer to edger. My yard looks much bigger with much more ease! My only complaint - the battery is difficult to detach when you have small hands with contracted fingers like mine (a disability.) I imagine a man can reach all the way around to both clips with one hand - I cannot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: detaching battery
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

Just what I wanted

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I can edge and trim my yard in one battery charge. I have never been able to do this with past battery operated trimmers.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: would like guide wheel for edging
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Vero Beach, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A nice item

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Nice for light work….hardly a commercial unit, but for someone with a small yard seems to be not a bad choice.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Philomath, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to use since there isn't any cord to get around.
Pros: All In One
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

absolutely love this cordless trimmer

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed to find a cordless trimmer that I could use when my husband wasn't home to do the yardwork. This is lightweight enough for me to use and has enough power to allow me to cover our entire yard on one battery charge. Love it!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Chicago
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Garden Tool in the Shed

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been using this trimmer for three seasons and love everything about it. I have a 6000 sq ft lot with driveway, sidewalks and trees and garden beds. The multiple head positions allow me to edge everything easily and the battery lasts long enough to do it all twice before recharging in about 30 minutes. It's not as strong as a gas trimmer, but it will whip off hosta stems in the fall. I'm tall and appreciate the length adjustment. Gotta love those lithium ion batteries.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

Very good for our needs

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a gas trimmer that was increasingly difficult to start. Based on reviews of the 18V Ryobi, I decided to give this trimmer a try. I have had it for three weeks now and I have been quite pleased with the trimmer. I have 0.6 acres with a lot of grass and areas that our lawn mower can't quite get. I am able to do our entire yard and still have charge left. The unit is relatively light and easy to handle. As other reviews have stated, the auto-feed mechanism does not work. Also, I expected to be able to keep the battery in the charger until the next weekend, but it appears to go into an error state after 1-2 days. So now I charge it fully and stick it back into the trimmer when I get a chance. Overall, I think it is a very good trimmer and worth the money. I am very glad that I got it.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product & does the job. Line feed - here's a tip that works for me...

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I agree wholeheartedly with the majority of the positive reviews. I own a number of Ryobi cordless products and am very satisfied with all of them, and this trimmer is no exception.
I was however, initially disappointed with the line feeding system, which seemed to more likely to not "auto feed" when attempting to do it as per the instructions - which is to simply release the trigger, wait 2 seconds and press the trigger again. I resorted mainly to manually turning it over, pulling the string while clicking the button on the bottom to advance the line about 1/2 inch with every click, while muttering curses...
Anyway, here's my discovery and tip... When you need to feed line, make sure the line is under load when you pull the trigger. Having the string in close proximity to the weeds you are whacking, or tilted to the ground so the too-short string is hitting it as it starts up. The additional pull of the line hitting the obstacle is what engages the autofeed! Voila! Repeat a few times until enough line feeds and you hear the string self-trimming itself on the cutoff blade. And conversely, start the trimmer with the string away from the weeds to prevent it from feeding and wasting line every time you pull the trigger.
This is what I discovered works for me.
The system makes sense if you stop and think about it. Only wished the instructions made it as clear...
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

ryobi

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product. Powerful and lots of power to to more than finish my lawn chores.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Johns Island, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

One+18-Volt Lithium-ion cordless string trimmer/edger

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product only gets 1 star. It works like a toy...no power to trim. We live way out of town and it has been over 30 days so I can't even return it. Our last trimmer is a Black & Decker. It had power and did a great job of trimming. Hands down on this RYOBI product. What a waste of money. I need to throw it in the trash:(
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 22 >>