728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

For the perfect union of convenience and versatility, nothing beats the Ryobi ONE+ system. This 18-Volt String Trimmer features a high capacity Lithium-ion battery that works with all Ryobi ONE+ tools. That's over 50 products running off the same battery. This ONE+ trimmer is ideal for anyone who's tired of dealing with gas and cords. With a lightweight design and instant starting, this trimmer also features an adjustable cut width so you can cut a larger path, or reserve your battery power. This trimmer also functions as an edger just rotate the shaft, and you're ready to tidy up your edges. Got a larger job. No problem. The 18-Volt Lithium-ion battery recharges in just 1 hour, and provides your ONE+ tools with fade-free performance for the entire life of the charge. All backed by a 3 year warranty, look to Ryobi for performance and versatility.
Overall rating:
4.007 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(458 reviews) 457
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product358 of 447reviews
Rating Breakdown 458 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(234)
4
(113)
3
(38)
2
(26)
1
(47)
Features 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product358 of 447reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Review 1 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Westmintser, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product for the price

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product for several reasons - I needed a One+ battery for another tool, I needed to replace an older cordless trimmer, and there wasn't another cordless one that I was willing to purchase for this price point.
Putting it together was a snap. I charged the battery for a day, then went to edge my front lawn. I had no issues edging - using the guard made it easy and I had no problem with the string. I did notice that the automatic line feeder was NOT functioning, but to me, this is certainly nothing to complain about. My last trimmer wouldn't feed line either, and I am quite content to flip the trimmer up to feed in what I need. NOTE: automatic line feed may occasionally work too well and use up string faster.
A few days later I trimmed the whole yard. The battery charge lasted for the whole task, there was no power drop off, and the yard looks great!
For those of you with issues with this trimmer, have you contacted either Ryobi or your local Home Depot store with your concerns?
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Shreveport, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

String kept slipping, mostly used up after one use

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been doing yard work for over 30 years so I know how to use a cordless trimmer. My front yard is only 74 feet across. I had to stop and re-insert the string through the hole SEVEN times within that 74 feet while edging. Using it upright rather than as an edger got the same result. I would get a cut of maybe 4-6 feet before the string disappeared. Once I finally got through my entire job only about a foot of the string was left. Ridiculous. I am extremely disappointed with this thing and will be returning it to the store.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very affordable

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am really liking the Ryobi 18 volt lithium ion tool line up. I Purchased the chainsaw last year and just love the ease of use to trim up the trees in my yard as well as cutting that log that is a pinch too long to fit in my wood burner; & right in the basement. (low noise no fumes) So that led me to buy the trimmer/edger. Charged the battery and have used it twice for about 25 minutes each time and still have charge left. the string automatically extends, very ez tool to use verses a gas model. I also own the older style drill, 4" circular saw, & sawsall. All very good tools.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great trimmer for small to mid-sized jobs!

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a medium sized yard (approx 5,000 sq/ft) and this trimmer is perfect for it. It's definitely not the most powerful trimmer on the market, if you have a lot of brush, thick branches, etc you might want to go with a gas trimmer or even the 40v trimmer... but for normal grass and small vines, this is the perfect tool. One charged battery is enough edge my entire yard. I like the fact that it has adjustable length and it flips around for easy edging around the driveway/flower beds. It's very light and super easy to use, just plug and play. I also like that I don't have to deal with gas and oil nor do I have to prime it, etc... just pull the trigger and go. It's also considerably quieter than a traditional gas trimmer which is very nice. Overall I really enjoy using this.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

Works really well.

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Once again, I'm pleased and impressed with a Ryobi product. I have several of the 18+ tools that I use commercially, so it made sense to try their cordless trimmer. Plenty strong for most trimming and edging, (not meant for real heavy field work...) and the light weight and multiple adjustments make it a handy tool that anyone could use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Cleveland,TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little cordless trimmer

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a cordless trimmer for my yard for several years before it gave up on me this spring. I wanted something I could do my whole yard with without having to re-charge. It has proved itself and more. It completes my yard and still has juice left. My only complaint is that the auto feed does not always work, but with the manual release button on the side of the head, that is easily adjusted. No more mixing oil and gas.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Magna, UT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy RyobiONE+

PostedMay 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have issue of my back, arms, and legs - but I am beyond impressed with this - it cuts the weeds easy and I have some pretty tall ones. The charger lasts for a good hour or more - more if I'm not doing tall weeds. I highly recommend this Trimmer/edger - we had one once before but it was stolen; so this replaces one we love!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have only had the trimmer for a couple of months and it has worked great so far. My yard is only about an 3/4 acre, but i have a lot of trimming and edging to do. I probably run the trimmer for about 45 min to an hour at a time and haven't ran out of battery yet. It is powerful enough to pretty much cut anything in my yard so I am very happy with the purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+54points
71out of 88found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

Very good product

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a Ryobi 18B drill and wanted to stay with the 18V size. I bought this trimmer and I had a large brush covered lot. The string size for this unit is .065. I went through that initial spool in a matter of minutes. I measured the string opening and found that .095 string will fit. I purchased a small toll of .095 and wound the spool with it. It is a little difficult to wind but once on the spool I tried it on the brush. I had plenty of power and the sting lasted through 3 battery charges. Battery life was shortened as I expected but I was able to cut through some pretty thick brush with ease. The only trouble I had with the string advance was with rewound spools. The reels I wind with the larger string works great. I tried the trimmer as an edger and the string kept breaking in s matter of seconds. But as a trimmer it was great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Bay City, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exactly what I was expecting

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't usually write reviews, but since I've been so pleased with this product, that I had to. Since losing my husband two years ago, I've been slowly working to find ways to ease my "chores". Last summer I purchased a Ryobi chain saw. Since I was so happy with that, I thought I would go with the weed wacker from Ryobi this summer. Trying to work the old gas one was horrible and this makes the job so much more manageable. Literally took it out of the box with little effort to put it together, charged the battery and off I went. I have a fairly large yard, but the battery lasted with no problem. So light weight and easy to use. Thank you Ryobi!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+95points
97out of 99found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from New England
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Average at best

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was attracted to the price and previous experience with Ryobi products. I loved the interchangable batteries, but this trimmer is greatly unpowered and the battery life is shorter than my previous B&D. Oh, and the string doesn't advance (perhaps just a bad spool). Additional batteries are pricy - overall, appreciate the Ryobi approach, don't love this particular trimmer.
Pros: All In One, Light Weight
Cons: battery life
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cordless trimer

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Cordless trimmer work well, but battery life is 20-30 minutes of use so if you have a lot of trimming you wil need an extra battery.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: battery life
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Grove City, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMAZING!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I havent trimmed my yard since spring began. I never had trimmer. I bought this trimmer, because, I wanted no gas and no cords to slow me down. I had grass at least a foot high. Around my patio and in front of my house. I turn it on and never let off the trigger. If I burn it up, then its not good enough. The back yard around the patio was the worst. Non stop just chewing up the grass. Im not light on my hardware, I expect it to take the abuse and deliver. WOW...it sure did. Im so very impressed with this trimmer. Im just so amazed. I love it so much, I just went out and bought the cordless hedge trimmer. RYOBI, YOUR AWESOME!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+50points
50out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Chesapeake Square, Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

JOKE ... for the auto advance.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this Ryobi because I needed something light weight. What a JOKE about auto advance. You have to stop and push buttons to advance. Then you have to do it several times to advance enough to get the job done. Most of the time the line would break all the way into the casing and then had to manually take it apart and restring it. At this rate...I'd be using a spool of string once a month. It's going back TOMORROW.
Cons: poor auto advance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Valley Springs, AR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just bought one. Not ment for any amount of use.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these because I have a lot of the One + tools. This one lasted for about an hour. The motor started smoking and then before I knew it, it just plain stopped. I'd say they need to do a bit more work on the design before making these available. I was not too happy that I'll be taking it back for a REFUND. No exchange until I know that I can run one for at least as long as my gas trimmer without it dying. It burned up before one battery was dead.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great power. Easy to set up and use right out of the box.

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just purchased this tool last weekend. So far so good. Works well, has enough power for my smallish yard, the battery charges quickly and I have a new Lithium-Ion battery for my old blue Ryobi power tool set.
Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because I'm not sold on the automatic line feed system/process. Was a little frustrating when it didn't feed when I needed it to. May need to just work with it some more. Not a fan yet though. Additionally, the line itself is pretty thin and I can see where you could go thru it pretty quickly. Line replacements work out to a little more than $6 each. Could get pricey if you use it a lot.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Cons: line feed system/process
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Johnstown, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I wanted!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this trimmer for myself 1 year ago and have been very happy with it. My father mentioned how nice he thought it was, so I purchased one for him for Father's Day. He just mentioned to me the other day that he loves it. He was able to do his entire yard on just one battery and best of all - he didn't have to mess with a cord or mixing up gasoline.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Windham, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Me and My Ryobi

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ryobi did not disappoint! Buying their 18 Volt Cordless Trimmer.Edger was a great investment, Being a woman with 3+ acres and a lot of trimming to do, the Ryobi cut through the weeds and low lying brush like butter. Lightweight and very easy to manage, it is my new best friend!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow, great trimmer!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I stepped up from a super cheap trimmer that had to be "tapped" to release string. What a difference! Not only the auto feed, but long battery life and the handy conversion from trimmer to edger. My yard looks much bigger with much more ease! My only complaint - the battery is difficult to detach when you have small hands with contracted fingers like mine (a disability.) I imagine a man can reach all the way around to both clips with one hand - I cannot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: detaching battery
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Nettleton, MS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best cordless string trimmer ever purchased

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have owned a cordless string for years. The first ones had a built in battery that did not stay charged a long time. When Ryobi came out with the 18 volt we bought one and have been using eversince. This to replace one that was worn out. We love this product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 23 >>