728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

For the perfect union of convenience and versatility, nothing beats the Ryobi ONE+ system. This 18-Volt String Trimmer features a high capacity Lithium-ion battery that works with all Ryobi ONE+ tools. That's over 50 products running off the same battery. This ONE+ trimmer is ideal for anyone who's tired of dealing with gas and cords. With a lightweight design and instant starting, this trimmer also features an adjustable cut width so you can cut a larger path, or reserve your battery power. This trimmer also functions as an edger just rotate the shaft, and you're ready to tidy up your edges. Got a larger job. No problem. The 18-Volt Lithium-ion battery recharges in just 1 hour, and provides your ONE+ tools with fade-free performance for the entire life of the charge. All backed by a 3-year warranty, look to Ryobi for performance and versatility.
Overall rating:
3.998 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(547 reviews) 546
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product427 of 536reviews
Rating Breakdown 547 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(279)
4
(135)
3
(43)
2
(33)
1
(57)
Features 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product427 of 536reviews
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 68 Answers
Customer reviews for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Review 1 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

when it works, it's OK

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The problem I have with this trimmer is that the string frequently wraps around beneath the trimmer head, and so it stops trimming. It's hard to unwind the string, and impossible (for me, apparently) to figure out how to remove the head to get access to the string that's wrapped around inside the mechanism. This makes the trimmer essentlially useless. Anybody know how to remove the head? (not the spool).
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Shreveport, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

String kept slipping, mostly used up after one use

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been doing yard work for over 30 years so I know how to use a cordless trimmer. My front yard is only 74 feet across. I had to stop and re-insert the string through the hole SEVEN times within that 74 feet while edging. Using it upright rather than as an edger got the same result. I would get a cut of maybe 4-6 feet before the string disappeared. Once I finally got through my entire job only about a foot of the string was left. Ridiculous. I am extremely disappointed with this thing and will be returning it to the store.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very affordable

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am really liking the Ryobi 18 volt lithium ion tool line up. I Purchased the chainsaw last year and just love the ease of use to trim up the trees in my yard as well as cutting that log that is a pinch too long to fit in my wood burner; & right in the basement. (low noise no fumes) So that led me to buy the trimmer/edger. Charged the battery and have used it twice for about 25 minutes each time and still have charge left. the string automatically extends, very ez tool to use verses a gas model. I also own the older style drill, 4" circular saw, & sawsall. All very good tools.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have only had the trimmer for a couple of months and it has worked great so far. My yard is only about an 3/4 acre, but i have a lot of trimming and edging to do. I probably run the trimmer for about 45 min to an hour at a time and haven't ran out of battery yet. It is powerful enough to pretty much cut anything in my yard so I am very happy with the purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+54points
71out of 88found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Bay City, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exactly what I was expecting

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't usually write reviews, but since I've been so pleased with this product, that I had to. Since losing my husband two years ago, I've been slowly working to find ways to ease my "chores". Last summer I purchased a Ryobi chain saw. Since I was so happy with that, I thought I would go with the weed wacker from Ryobi this summer. Trying to work the old gas one was horrible and this makes the job so much more manageable. Literally took it out of the box with little effort to put it together, charged the battery and off I went. I have a fairly large yard, but the battery lasted with no problem. So light weight and easy to use. Thank you Ryobi!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+93points
97out of 101found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Grove City, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMAZING!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I havent trimmed my yard since spring began. I never had trimmer. I bought this trimmer, because, I wanted no gas and no cords to slow me down. I had grass at least a foot high. Around my patio and in front of my house. I turn it on and never let off the trigger. If I burn it up, then its not good enough. The back yard around the patio was the worst. Non stop just chewing up the grass. Im not light on my hardware, I expect it to take the abuse and deliver. WOW...it sure did. Im so very impressed with this trimmer. Im just so amazed. I love it so much, I just went out and bought the cordless hedge trimmer. RYOBI, YOUR AWESOME!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+51points
51out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Westmintser, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product for the price

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product for several reasons - I needed a One+ battery for another tool, I needed to replace an older cordless trimmer, and there wasn't another cordless one that I was willing to purchase for this price point.
Putting it together was a snap. I charged the battery for a day, then went to edge my front lawn. I had no issues edging - using the guard made it easy and I had no problem with the string. I did notice that the automatic line feeder was NOT functioning, but to me, this is certainly nothing to complain about. My last trimmer wouldn't feed line either, and I am quite content to flip the trimmer up to feed in what I need. NOTE: automatic line feed may occasionally work too well and use up string faster.
A few days later I trimmed the whole yard. The battery charge lasted for the whole task, there was no power drop off, and the yard looks great!
For those of you with issues with this trimmer, have you contacted either Ryobi or your local Home Depot store with your concerns?
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Johnstown, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I wanted!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this trimmer for myself 1 year ago and have been very happy with it. My father mentioned how nice he thought it was, so I purchased one for him for Father's Day. He just mentioned to me the other day that he loves it. He was able to do his entire yard on just one battery and best of all - he didn't have to mess with a cord or mixing up gasoline.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Santa Maria, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst Weed Trimmer Ever

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the Ryobi 18-volt trimmer to replace my old Craftsman trimmer. The Ryobi was highly recommended by the Home Depot employee who helped me. I liked that the Ryobi was light, but when I started using it I found its switch arrangement to be uncomfortable to use and found that the line would either break off and not automatically advance, or would break off inside the housing. Having used the Craftsman a lot, but not really being a yard trimming expert, I kept thinking I must be doing something wrong when installing the line. I read the instructions over several times and watched a You Tube video of someone installing line in the very same trimmer, but was unable to get the thing to go more than a few feet before having to take off the battery, open the housing, and pull the line out. I have had it too long to return it, so will just be purchasing a different brand. I have read some of the other reviews and it seems that some people really like the Ryobi and some people have had the same experience I had. I wonder if some of them are just lemons.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, line constantly breaks off
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Missouri
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's what I expected for the size and power source

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I only needed a residential trimmer, and desired a battery pack to keep things simple. I only purchased this product 5-6 weeks ago, but this Ryobi seems to hold it's charge really well so far. It has a feature that extends the cutting wire with a double trigger pull, which is nice, but there's something gratifying about the old-school option of pounding the trimmer head on the ground. The option to adjust the shaft for ease of edging is gimmicky-- I prefer just to hold it sideways and go to town. My only real complaint is that, despite what seems like impressive torque, it lacks real cutting power. In conclusion, there's much beefier options on the market. But, if you're like me and don't plan on regular trim work (rather than monstrous trailblazing) then this weedeater will work just fine without costing you a fortune, but don't expect your neighbors to be envious.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow, great trimmer!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I stepped up from a super cheap trimmer that had to be "tapped" to release string. What a difference! Not only the auto feed, but long battery life and the handy conversion from trimmer to edger. My yard looks much bigger with much more ease! My only complaint - the battery is difficult to detach when you have small hands with contracted fingers like mine (a disability.) I imagine a man can reach all the way around to both clips with one hand - I cannot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: detaching battery
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from North Central Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good weed eater...to bad it is no longer available for public use

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We were looking for two identical weed eaters for our families and we liked what this unit had to offer. We had to go to the company to order online, but they arrived within 4 days and we put them to use. We like the lightweight ease of using and the strength of the batteries.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger

Very happy

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed a new trimmer and edger and after weighing my optiins and prices, I decided on this one. A 2 cycle Ryobi gas trimmer with edge adapter was $160 at its lowest. This was half that and super easy to use. No mixing of gas and oil, less noise and super light. The power really surprised me! Lasts a full 30 mins. I dont know why more people dont buy this. Gas trimmers only make sense for landscapers and not even, because of extra batteries. It charges fully in about an hour. Ryobi batteries are interchangeable with my other tools too like my drill and saw. Thanks again Ryobi.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Satellite Beach, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good Timmer

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really like this trimmer, the only thing that I have an issue with is the advancing of the line. I usually have to do it manually.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Orlando
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Second unit

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is the second if these I've purchased. They work well, battery holds up to do the yard 2 or 3 times for me. Just grab it and go.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Lawn equipment

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This tool is lightweight and it is a great value for a single homeowner with modest lawn space.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: string replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Burkburnett, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Replacing an older Ryobi One+ 18-Volt that has lasted for years.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Peachtree City, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cordless trimmer and shopping for other things

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The spool doesn't feed correctly. ................
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use, my old one was much better
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Mendocino California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor durability.

PostedAugust 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great battery, but very light weight as far as durability. Motor burned up after dozen uses.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger
from Wisconsin
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only good for three uses

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this one year ago. I have a small yard and have only had to use it three times. After the third use it stopped taking a charge. I called Ryobi because it has a three year residential warranty, they require me to bring it to the nearest service center. I then had to drive 45 miles to the nearest service center, which is actually the return counter at Home Depot, pay the $18.95 to send it out for diagnostics, go at least three weeks without the trimmer and when and if it does come back fixed, have to drive 45 miles back to pick it up. Hello, I bought it online because I didn't want to drive the 45 miles to HD in the first place let alone twice. Low quality product, poor warranty solutions. On the up side, when it was actually working it was a pretty good little trimmer.
Cons: broke after three uses
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 27 >>