728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Under Cabinet Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light

8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light

RibbonFlex Pro Custom Color RGB LED tape lighting transforms spaces like no other lighting can. Add creative color lighting to tray ceilings, coves, under cabinets, architectural elements and more. High performance RGB LEDs can produce an endless array of colors including shades of white making it exceptionally versatile for creative accent lighting. Use a color controller to select a static color and brightness level of your choice, or create color changing scenes and effects. Ultra thin and flexible (measuring just over 3/8 in. wide by 1/8 in. thick), it works where other lighting can’t. Designed for custom installations, RGB LED lighting is highly configurable and can be cut to size every 4 in. or easily linked together to create longer lengths of lighting. 3M high-bond adhesive tape backing makes installation as easy as peel-and-stick. Requires an RGB LED controller and a 12 Volt DC power supply, each sold separately.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product10 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product10 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light
Review 1 for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light
PhotoSculptor
from Plano, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Armacost RibbonFlex Pro LED Lights the Winner

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've read about and seen LED lighting for some time now and knew that's what I wanted in my new office. Searching the net I came across Armacost at HomeDepot and I quickly knew I found a winner. But I had no idea it would be that good! This lighting is so good I've been able to remove my separate task lights. Besides being able to dim the lights and change their color if installed per their recommendations these lights cast no shadows. The spread precision and quality is beyond my wildest dreams. I am a Photoshop user and not having any shadows anywhere in my work area is critical. Heck - I don't even need my back-lit keyboard anymore. Armacost you rock!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light
Anonymous

Inconsistent Appearance

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had this product installed by an electrician and in any area over 6ft we have drastic color shift. I bought the colored LEDs versus the white to allow me to select the warmness of the lights. Instead my lighting is pinkish on one end and greenish on the other end. There were also a few bad spots in the center that had to be swapped out but nothing seems to correct the color shift. I wish I would have just installed the white. (They also flicker if on the lower dim settings).
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Cons: Appearance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light
BillM
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installed color LED in kitchen, love the look

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed 8 foot color LED and a color mixer in my kitchen. I absolutely love the lights. The lights arrived with clear directions and were simple to install. I cut the strip in 2 pieces and connected them together with 22awg wire to go over the stove area. We had a problem with some colors on the strip that was away from the power supply. I contacted Armacost technical support and worked with an excellent representative named Matt. He immediately reassured me that he was going to help me get the lights working. Very confidently. We walked through a couple troubleshooting steps, then Matt determined the was a problem with part of the set. He promptly shipped out a new set. I installed the new set in 15 minutes after they arrived, and they work well. These lights are a great value. I don't know why anyone needs anything more elaborate, or expensive for their kitchen area. We love playing with the color choices. We mounted the color mixer and power supply inside a cabinet that holds our microwave.
I definitely recommend buying these lights. I've attached a few pictures.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light
steve
from ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not use connectors

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are a brain surgeon and have the patience of a Saint go for it. Otherwise do not try to cut and use the snap connectors. Spent hours and just gave up. The tape is wider than the connector so the end prongs do not go over the tape. Get a tiny eyeglass screwdriver to pry up the pin to get the tape underneath and the connection only works if you press down on it with your finger. Use the whole thing with no connections and you will be OK. The connectors need some help. Sad because it looks cool but too much of a hastle. Looking at other options
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light
moots2
from Northville, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fun under cabinet lighting

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These "rainbow" lights are fun and easy to install. They are not super bright however they do cast enough light in the natural and white tones to light a counter top work area.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light
Joey
from Seattle
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ho hum

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed these lights under my kitchen cabinets as a replacement for older fluorescent bulbs.
All in all, the lighting looks however if you plan to daisy chain multiple tapes together, BE ADVISED that the electrical connectors are extremely shoddy and will cause color shift from voltage drop. It took many unsuccessful attempts before I gave up and soldered the connections directly.
If you are up to the challenge, the lighting looks nice but I would recommend a product which chains together easier.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light
Apple123
from Newcastle, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fun undercabinet lighting!

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought the RGB LED tape for undercabinet lighting, as well as the warm bright white LED tape. We ended up using the GRB LED in our bar area of the kitchen cabinets, and it's perfect for that location!
As part of kitchen remodel, our electrician hard-wired this in. I liked the 'white' color in the "warm bright white" LED tape better because it was brighter, and the color was warmer than what can be achieved by setting the RGB LED to the white color option.
The best part of LED in general is that the light is very bright, there are no large, hot, bulky lights peeking from under the cabinet, and it's energy efficient. We will be buying more of these in our bathroom remodel!
Pros: Functional, Unique, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light
Abby
from Utah, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product, even more great customer service

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed these in our kitchen as over/under cabinet lighting. Originally while redoing our kitchen I planned to install puck lights and had even purchased them for my electrician. However, I started reading reviews online and it seemed like everyone had problems with them and in general disliked them.
I had heard about this type of LED tape lighting from my electrician, but had thought it would be too expensive or maybe not bright enough. I am in gratitude for the reviews on this site that helped me change my mind in the middle of the night, hours before the electrician arrived, and have him wire for installation of these lights instead.
THESE ARE SO AWESOME! First, they are thin strips of tape with teeny lights on them. I have no idea how so much light and so many different colors can come from these strips of tape. It's magic. I don't know.
You simply peel off the paper on the back of the tape, stick it to whereever you want it applied (which could be anywhere - cabinets like us, stairways, counters, bookshelves, I don't know... anywhere!) and hook them into the wires that your electrician will have sticking out of the walls for you. You can cut and reconnect the tape pieces together to make them longer or shorter, you can have them all plug into one power switch somewhere and turn them on and off easily...and I don't think I'm really good at explaining this... I just promise it's cool and you'll love it WAY better than puck lights (according to all the other people reviewing on this site).
So while regular LED tape lights are awesome (I assume), these particular ones are extra awesome because while they can be regular old white light, you can also change their color via remote control to be red, green, blue, yellow, purple, orange, turquoise, pink, etc, etc... Do you know how fun it is to change the lights in your kitchen to electric blue while watching a movie in the adjoining family room? Do you know how cool the neighbor kids will think your house is? You can also adjust modes with the controller we have to fade in and out between colors, adjust the the brightness/dim level, change how fast it rotates. I just can't wait to have a party now.
On top of all of this, the Armacost customer service (the people who make this product) is excellent. They have replied to me with detailed help by phone and through email with every question or concern I've had. (Just google their website, and contact them directly instead of Home Depot customer service, as that worked best for me.)They are way above and beyond. If you have any question about installing these or making them work right (as you or your electrician might, because it's sort of new), don't worry. They are a very good company and will help you out immediately.
So anyway, these are AWESOME. I LOVE THEM! Since everyone else's bad reviews of the puck lights and good reviews of the LED tape light led me to my happy multi colored cool kitchen, I wanted to give back and tell you to get them for your house as well. Also, I was so impressed with Armacost as a company, I think everyone should buy their stuff from them. Because seriously, most customer service super stinks. And these guys had a dude calling my cell phone the morning that I emailed for help, and walked my electrician through what to do. They also shipped to me days before the rest of my order from Home Depot came, even though I placed one big order all together. They are just fast and helpful.
Enjoy your super cool new lights! You're welcome!!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Unique, Eco-Friendly, Good Size & Weight
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light
Scott
from Tampa Bay, Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great until you exceed 8 ft

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I built a home theater room and wanted some special lighting. I do all of my own wiring and hookups. I bought one string (8ft) with the transformer and the remote color/mode changer and the dimmer as a test I mounted it on the upper outside lip of crown molding running just below the ceiling with the transformer, changer and extra wire tucked inside the crown. You simply pull the paper covering off of the back of the light strip and the adhesive is very strong and works great..ONE TIME ONLY! If you peel it off to move, it will NOT stick a 2nd time. They looked great and very high tech, exactly the look I wanted. So I returned to Home Depot and bought another transformer and another remote changer as you can only run 32 ft per transformer/changer and 7 more sections of lights as I needed 64 ft. So I will tell you right here, if you only need 8ft or less, very easy to install and look fantastic they only problem is having a place to get the wire, the transformer and the controller out of sight, plan it in advance and be sure you have the tape laid out properly as you only get one chance.. However, problems arise when you go to splice long strands together. You have to cut the electrical wire connections off all but the first strip of lights, then use one of the splicing connectors, you have to cut ONLY in marked areas about every 4 inches, if you cut elsewhere, the light upstream of the cut do not work back to the next marked cut area...And once you cut at the marked cut area you have to sand a light film off of the copper connecters. The tape is only semi flexible so a little hard to work with when having to hang it while using a ladder. I tried one 32 ft section by splicing it together on the floor first, then sticking it to the molding, be sure to pull about an inch of the protective covering off of the tape before splicing as it is very hard to get off if you splice on top of it. It was very hard working with a 32 ft section of this, my wife helped but when we got it up 3 of the 4 splices had loosened and no longer lit up, I had to keep playing with them to get them all to light. On the 2nd set of 32 ft., I installed one section at a time, splicing them while up on the ladder, for me, that was easier, but the connections are a real pain. You spend over half of you time on the splices. They have been up for a while now and I am constantly having to play with the connections as they apparently expand and contract and at least once a week, I am having to get out the ladder and play with the splice, on one string, it shrank just enough, that I could not make a connection, there is no way to make longer and I had to replace 2 lengths to get them working again. Beside not working at all, you also have issues with colors bleeding together from the splicing. The copper connections on the tape are very close together, the splice connection is designed to slip the flat copper connections under it, but in doing so, you sometime have two of the color connections touching and screwing up the colors between 8 ft sections. If the company designing these made them in various lengths up to 32 ft, I would give 5 stars, but with all of the issues on having to splice four 8 ft sections together, I only give it a two rating and would not recommend unless you only need 8 ft of lights or less or at the most 2 sections spliced together, any more than that will be a constant battle imo.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light
Toocool
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT TECH SUPPORT, EASY TO INSTALL

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Found this product to be very easy to install and tech support was very helpful with specific questions. Go with the RGB LED tape - the colors are such fun! Am setting my kitchen up with three controllers, will do red-white-blue for the 4th of July, red-green-white for Christmas, pink-blue-green or yellow-pink-green for Spring, orange-red-yellow for Thanksgiving, plan to have some great fun with it all!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Unique, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light
Chop804

Great product, amazing colors

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I chose RGB not because I want a colorful bedroom. It's because I want more white light choices for different time of the day. This RGB indeed offers two white color choices - regular white and candlelight white. This product is easy to install, plus Armacost is super helpful answering my questions. I also recommend visiting their website as they have other cool stuff.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light
rdmdiy
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and easy to install

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased Five sets of the Armacost RGB lights and controllers. They are so easy to install and link together. Have had no issues with using the lights.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light
usmciceman

Easy to install and looks great!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
By far the best quality product I have seen w/ great pricing. Easy to read instructions and great results.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light
GG72

Great product

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product, fantastic support with a live person that is easy to call with no automated phone system. will buy again, highly recommend!! Some DIY skills needed.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, get a dimmer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 ft. LED RGB Color Changing Tape Light
goblueGW
from ashburn, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product, but be sure to buy all required add-ons

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Lights are very bright, much brighter than most of the competing products I have tried. Note that you have to buy power supply and controller separately...driving the total price well above these other products.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.