728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED

3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED

The Champion Power Equipment 46561 gasoline powered, wireless remote start portable generator is powered by a 196cc Champion single cylinder, 4-stroke OHV engine that produces 3500 running watts and 4000 starting watts. Equipped with integrated auto-choke for true one-touch starting and a 3.8 gal. fuel tank this unit can run up to 12 hours at 50% load. Our OHV engine is equipped with a low oil shut-off sensor and designed for long life and easy maintenance. This unit - equipped with wheel kit - is ideal for RV's, camping trips, hunting, traveling, jobs around the house, or home back-up power during emergencies. EPA approved for 49 states.
Overall rating:
4.31 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product36 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(27)
4
(10)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product36 of 41reviews
Customer reviews for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
from Lake Charles, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great price, great features

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this generator after doing a lot of research. The price is amazing given the features that it has. It has pull cord start, switch start or remote start. It also has a 30 amp receptacle which is great for using with an RV and 3500 Watts should be ample to run most RV components, including the AC unit.
The package arrived intact via UPS on the day promised. It took about 15 minutes to put everything together, I put oil and gas in it and it started first time. I stopped it and started it several times and it never failed. The remote start is a great feature, this would be useful when connected to an RV in bad weather. You can leave a 30 amp cord plugged in to the RV all the time since the generator has a delay to prevent power surges to components when starting.
It is quiet for a 3500 Watt generator, I have used several different brands on job sites before and this one is quiet. I'm sure it is not as quiet as a Honda or Yamaha inverter generator, but it is about a quarter of the price.
The only criticism I have is the design of the oil filler plug. It is very awkward to get to because of the battery wires. Apart from that, it is a great unit. If you are looking for a generator with a reasonably high output at a great price, you can't go wrong with this one.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
from Elizabethton, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The champion 3500/4000 watt generator

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is well worth the money. At 1660 ft. this unit puts out a little less than 3500 nominal. It will easily hold 2500 watts at a clean 60hz all day but any more distorts the output. For faster starting change the spark plug after break in, i used the recommended ngk and it cranks up right away. The remote start with power delay is really convenient cause you can start it from your bed and it will idle a bit before powering your rig. I was surprised at the thickness of the cage, guards and the rather large muffler. Its is the quietest generator i own now, unbelievable from a low priced genny. It is a smooth runner and has every thing you should have in a generator.
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED

This product works great - easy to setup

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ordered via online with the remote option, which works great, for starting/stopping from inside the trailer. Followed the fast start up instructions, added oil, and gas, it started on first try. One thing I noticed is that it would stop after running awhile. Did some research and previous reviewers recommended that you change the oil once it had run for awhile. Did that and now running like a champ. Power enough to run the air conditioner and TV/DVD player at same time. So far so good.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Bad experience!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this generator to run our new RV. The very first time we used it dry camping, it ran great for one hour and then stopped. We tried several times over the next few days to start the unit but no luck! Checked the plug, fuel, wires etc and we never could get it going again. Took it back to Home Depot and got our money back. Home depot did take care of us and gave us the refund without any problem.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
from tennessee
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Govenor went out after 5 hrs.

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Its is being repaired under warranty but 5 hours, come on? Im glad i had nothing being powered at the time, it would have ruined my equipment. The battery died also.....
Cons: Short Battery Life, bad motor
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
from Utah
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best bang for the buck for me

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received the product in a timely manor without any damage in shipping and had it set up quickly.allthough the battery was discharged it started right up by pull start after adding fluids and ran very quietly ( for this size and type generator ) it performed within the stated specifications. and I ran a load on it for 4 hours. After determining that the battery would not hold a charge I called customer service and they sent a new battery out which I hooked up and then used the remote and electric start.Although it is quiet it did become more noisy after 4 hours but when I changed the oil after break in and started it again it ran even quieter than before.I am very happy with this purchase and the product.There may be better generators out there but not at this price and not with these features and at this price I have never heard a quieter one.After running it I asked my neighbors if it bothered them and they said they did not hear it running. I intend to use this product as a general medium duty emergency power generator but may also occasionally use it for boondocking in my RV and power tools outside . I might add it is a good looking unit too
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
from Meredith,NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

easy to assemble,starts all the time,easy on gas.

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
havent needed it in an emergency,but I do use it with electric tools in the woods.Beats draging long electric cords.
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
from Northern, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

3500/ 4000-Watt Portable Gas Generator

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After being without power in the Northern Virginia area for more than two days a few weeks ago I decided to purchase a generator that would keep a few appliances (like the freezer and 'frig) going. This Champion was easy to assemble and started on the first touch of the remote control starter button. (Very nice feature.) It run quieter than I expected.
Instructions are good.
The only reason I didn't give it a five-star rating is because I haven't really put it to the test. Nonetheless, it's looking like a good buy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, reasonably quiet
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
from N.C.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very happy about the product except ONE THING=MADE IN CHINA!! No where in the add did it say, MADE IN CHINA.

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wondered why the price was so low and and now I know=Made in China! The unit seems very well built and works great, but had I had more $$$ and known it was made in China, I'd have bought a USA product. Started 2nd pull and really like all the features, volt meter, low oil shut-down, etc, etc.
Again, the product seems to perform at/above my expectations, but now I feel like I let down my COUNTYMEN-working class folk such as myself.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED

Great Generator for Price + Free S&H

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this generator from HD.com and when it arrived two of the engine mounts were cracked and there was batter acid on the surface of the unit. Took it back for a pain-free refund. The replacement unit arrived this week, and after 15 minutes of assembly it cranked 1st attempted using the switch. Turned it off, and then started on 1st attempt using the remote. Will put this to work in the near future.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
from Bradford, PA 16701, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The electric start option works great

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This generator is well worth the money, I bought this generator for camping. It can handle all of my power requirements on my 31 foot camper including my ac unit 15,000 btu. It is not the quietest generator on the market nor is it the loudest works very well. The remote works at least 60 feet away from inside my camper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED

Quiet, runs well

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used during Hurricane Issac. The remote start/stop is great. Did not have to go outside to turn it on, runs for at least 10 hours on a tank of gas. Much quieter than my old one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
from Millinocket Lake, Maine 04462, USA

So far so good

PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Item was received in good condition. Shipping only took a few days. Took about 5 minutes to install wheels and .6 quarts of oil. I have put 50 hours on it running 2 cabins at the same time. I have been getting aroun 14 hours per tank drawing somewhere around 1500 watts total. I have used it with a chop saw with no problem even though it stated on the outside of the box that it doesn't have enough power to run power tools. The remote works well but the range is fairly limited. It is fairly loud in comparison to inverter models but it is much quieter than most industrial generators. I really like that it has a display showing hours and voltage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
from Millersburg, OH 44654, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Remote Control works through walls!

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The remote control is the most awesome thing about this generator!! We keep it in an outdoor shed, and can turn it on from inside the house!! Yes, it works through walls!!! It helps save on gas, too, because you can wait to turn generator on until you absolutely need it, and then can turn it off as soon as you are done, because you can do so with one push on the remote!! One warning--spark arrestor will drive you nuts!!! Take it off right away!!! If it clogs up (which mine did every 100 hours), it will make the generator shut off repeatedly, and without warning!!! So either pitch it like I did, or clean it every 50 hours!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation, remote control, fuel saver
Cons: oil fill hard to reach, spark arrestor is nuisance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
from Reno, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product for the price

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I searched for an economical generator that would be reliable and easy to use. This one is it. It will power your basic home essentials during an outage and is light enough to take camping also. It is a good mid-range generator that won't break the bank. I have only fired it up twice but it seems to be fine so far. I like the remote start and it was easy to assemble. It even included the perfect amount of oil in the shipping container to get it up and running, (sign of a good product), and the battery had enough charge to start it right up. Instructions were clear and simple and shipping was fast. I am very happy with this purchase so far. Hope it lasts for the long haul.
Pros: Great Sound Quality, Compact, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
from herndon va
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

medium noise level, great product

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received this generator 2 weeks after the big storm that knocked out power in northern Virginia for almost a week. Delivered by UPS via Home Depot online order. Delivered in good condition. total of 15 min setup out of the box, partialy filled it with stabilized gas, hit the wireless remote start to "on"........started right up within 5 seconds. No damage from delivery...............ran great. would recommend this model to friends...........cost a lot less than the honda or yamaha models of same wattage..........comes with two year warranty. Great choice.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED

It arrived broken... TWICE!

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My mother ordered one, and I had to assemble it for her. During assembly, I saw that the end cap was cracked all the way through where it attached to the motor mounts. We called HD, and they had us take it back and ordered another one for us. It arrived a couple of weeks later. I inspected it and it was cracked again, and in the EXACT SAME PLACE! The end cap was cracked all the way through in the exact same place as the first one. Keep your junk. I won't buy another Champion generator, or another generator from Home Depot.
Cons: low build quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
from US
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

We're quite pleased.

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The noise is loud, but about like most. It powers more than we expected. It runs our roof mounted a/c unit that we bought it for. To our surprise, it also runs the a/c, our electric frying pan, tv, and dvd player all together. We've tried nothing more, but sounds like it could handle more. The remote works from inside and at a distance. The fuel consumption seems to be as advertised. It's great! We've only had it a short time. Quality and value can really only be judged over time, but so far, we are thrilled with our purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
from South Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for our base camp and perimeter lighting as we spend weekend devloping our mountain acreage in a RAW environment!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought for function, light weight, the length of time it can run between refills, and the remote start. Although we Open carry on our land and we bring our two Rotwieler pupies with us (at 13 months, each weighs about 125-130 pounds) it's still nice to push a button when they start growling and have everything lit up. We actually lower it down to our base camp using pullies and 550 cord! It keeps all my dewalt tool batteries and the puppies "Motivation to follow command" collars charged at all times.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Battery Length, remote electric start, length of run on 1 tank of gas, handles everything our family of 3 needs
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3,500/ 4000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with RV Ready-DISCONTINUED
from Yuma, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very nice & easy set up! Just not as powerful as others that were all familar with.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
However, it wasn't $3000.00. I purchased this to mainly run my AC in my older (1967)hunting & fishing travel trailer while camping. It started the AC no problem but when it came to recycling the AC compressor, it almost didn't get the job done. that's the only reason for the 4 stars.I'm sure it would run a newer AC unit with ease. I'm hoping after break in period it will perform better as I really like it. The remote start is fantastic and it's not all that loud.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>