728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED

AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED

The Yamaha powered Smarter Tools AP2000i is whisper quiet, lightweight, and easy to use. It is an ideal outdoor power source capable of powering sensitive electronics and microcomputer-controlled electric tools. It weighs a mere 44 compact pounds, making it easy to transport and easy to store. TheAP2000i with Yamaha MZ80 Engine has the longest emission engine life ratings issued by the environmental protection agency.
Overall rating:
4.04 / 5
4
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product19 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Features 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product19 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Value for the price

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for use on camping/hunting trips after getting rid of another generator that provided too much variance in voltage output. Wanted a high-end inverter-generator that put out a steady current without paying high-end prices. This one fit the bill and my pocketbook. Starts on the first pull, runs great, powers a refrigerator, vacuum sealer and 12-volt battery charger all at the same time, consumes less than a gallon of fuel in six plus hours and is whisper-quiet. I couldn't be happier with this product.
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Orlando, FL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works nicely with UPS backups, keeps office/server equipment running smoothly, & purrs like a cat!

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This generator works perfectly with a variety of UPS backups. I tested it with both my cheaper TrippLite Omni900 UPS, and with my more expensive APC SmartUPS 1500RM UPS, and contrary to what one person ("mvrm") had written about ECO mode on his APC 1000 & 1500 UPS, neither of mine had any problems. My guess is that he had not seen the "sensitivity" switch on the back of some APC models, and inadvertently set it to "high sensitivity"... or he was trying to run a heavy load in ECO mode!
I wanted to be absolutely sure that I could use ECO mode to extend the run time on my UPS during the hurricane season, so I ran several tests with loads ranging from 150W to 300W and the generator just purred quietly in ECO mode, with no issues on either UPS, and no issues on my TV, internet or computer equipment. Just as a point of reference, my TrippLite UPS has stepped sinewave with sluggish AVR response & no sensitivity switch, while my APC has smooth sinewave output with instant AVR response, set the defaults for "medium" sensitivity & 127V cut-off, and both worked without a hiccup. The APC reported 124.8V @60.25hz the whole time.
So then I did even more tests, using a meter to watch the voltage while switching from ECO to regular mode & back, and still, it maintained a steady output of 124V despite the changes in speed.
I also shut the generator off, then started it back up a couple minutes later, and I had no trouble starting it on the 2nd pull (1/4 choke), and I also confirmed that it is able to start with a small load (300W), so when the manual states to unplug the load before starting, they appear to be referring to heavier loads.
In the end, I confirmed this generator will work very nicely in ECO mode, and should be able to power my equipment for 9 hours straight on a mere 1 gallon of gas... that's fantastic!
By the way, I also took a very good look inside, and when they say "work smarter, not harder" they seriously know what they are talking about. The electronics have been dipped in epoxy to improve heat dissipation, the case is sealed like a computer to drive air-flow over sensitive parts, the engine is wrapped in heat shielding with a second case layer channeling air flow from the generator intake fan back around & over engine's cooling fins & over the exhaust to improve cooling, and the case is lined with rubber cushioning to deaden noise. At nearly half the price of a Honda, its a nice little generator & worth every penny!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, gas efficient, low noise
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
14out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This generator is all it's advertised as.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The first thing that caught my eye was this generator is powered by a Yamaha engine. From previous research, I knew Yamaha generators were rated #2 on noise and #1 on durability. The second thing was the price. At least $300 less than a Honda or Yamaha. I took it out of the shipping box, filled it with gas and oil (Don't just blindly dump the whole container supplied in the crankcase as it will overflow and make a big mess), read the quick start instructions and started it up. From the first try to every subsequent try, it was 1 pull to start. I have taken it camping with me on 3 seperate occasions now and I couldn't be happier. I used to own a motor home with an Onan Generator that brought noise complaints from my neighbor campers every tme I fired it up. All I get when I fire this one up is compliments. I really like the fuel pet cock valve that allows you to shut off the flow of fuel so the generator starves itself to a stop. This eliminates any fuel from collecting in the fuel line or carburetor between uses.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Voorhees NJ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Filled with Oil, started right up. As Quiet as I had hoped. Brews Coffee from our 10 Amp Electric Perk.

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an Excel sheet with dimensions features displacement power etc. Smarter Tools came out on top for Noise (51db) Displacement (75cc) Max Power ~16 amps , Weight 44lbs and similar dimensions. It's price was positioned well between the well known Honda and Yamaha and the cheaper, louder versions.
After I figured out that I had to pull fairly hard to get the side panel off everything went well. Oil fills very slowly but it was in and fill level seemed appropriate.
Turn on gas valve, switches in recommended position, pull on choke and a couple of pulls and it started right up.
We used it to brew some coffee and marveled for a few moments on how nice and quiet it is.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Cons: great sine wave generator
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Frisco, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works as advertized

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is equal to the Yahama generator that sells for $300 more. All the same features and very quiet. Starts on the first pull and handles 1600 watts of devices. Better features than the Honda, especially fuel shutoff for storage. Put out 19 volts trying to charge a dead battery. Excellent. Smarter Tools tech group very knowledgable and helpful prior to purchase. HD should put these on their shelves. Mine was delivered within 5 days with no shipping charges. Will bring to the boat soon to charge batteries, make coffee, run the microwave, heat 6 gallon HWH and maybe run the 1/2 ton AC unit (doubtful) in aft berth. Will see how it does in the salt water environment of FL
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Fort Pierce, FL 34951, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AS good

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As good as the Honda 2000, but $200+ cheaper. The rating is the same as Honda. As from as my RV, run's everything ,but the AC, so I would need 2.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Lower Alabama
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

first impression

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got this as an inverter generator to use for portability and quietiness. It has the Yamaha engine rated for long life! smart control to slow down idle with steady load.
The gas cap was broken on shipment; email to company and I had a new one in two days; no charge.
runs nice and quite. Have not really loaded it at this stage. no official power outage to test it with yet.
It has two 110 V outlets or one battery charging outlet .
No twist lock plugs like some bigger generators have. About 44 lbs makes it easy to move.
Pros: Compact
Cons: two 120 v outlets;
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not as quiet as claimed

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this unit mostly because of it's name brand engine and it's claim of 51 decibel sound level. First time I tried it the gas cap broke. They admitted there was a problem and sent me another. The unit is not as quiet as they claim. It is not as loud as a regular generator, but it is not as quiet as the name brand unit of the same size. The second time I used it the gas cap was broken again. When Hurricane Sandy hit I tried to use it again and the red overload light came on and I shut it down to reset the internal breaker( according to instructions). I was never able to get it to run properly after that.
To their credit Home Depot allowed me to return it to the store even though I bought it online and it was a few days after the return period. I will definitely continue to shop with Home Depot, but I will spend the extra money and get the name brand generator.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
Cons: louder than advertised, gas cap is flawed
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Benson, AZ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has the features I was looking for at a price I could afford

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this generator to use in my RV while dry camping. After one trip I am very happy with the performance. Maybe a little bit louder that I would have expected also geting the side off and back on to add or check the oil may be difficult for some people.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Logan, oh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quality product for the price.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I loved the low volume of these generators. We purchased 3 to run a food buggy. They were able to operate commercial refrigerators and steam tables. One of the generators had a bad gas cap, causing a lack of oxygen and then the unit shuts off. If I leave the cap off, it runs fine. Will get a new cap from the manufacturer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Oakland county , Mi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love, Love, Love this little guy.

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It runs a tv a few lights but the main job is to run the blowers on my fire place. I run it at night so not to bother the neighbors .... it is sooo quiet. I have the Mac daddy 12 kw to run the whole house, but when you only need a few things on its awesome. Thanks Santa !!!!!
Pros: All In One
Cons: adding oil
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

excellent toy.

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Fuel efficient,quite operation..nice power source.
Pros: Great Sound Quality, Compact, Stylish, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Downers Grove, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lighter weight than most. Easy for me (a woman) to start and operate.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works very well. Quiet. Easy to start, carry and store. Would work well for campers, too, or anyone who wanted to take it with to an event like tailgaiting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Gilroy, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deal.

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Though it has a Yamaha engine, this generator is made in China. The first unit I bought the on/off switch was not working. The unit would start, but I could not turn it off. I emptied the gas and oil and returned it to the store without any issues. The second unit works as advertised. Easy to start and very quiet - much quieter than the Champion 3500/4000 that I also have. With this unit running in smart throttle mode, you can stand right next to it and have a conversation. I also plugged in a shop vac and a band saw - turned both on while it was in smart throttle mode and it did not trip the breaker. The unit throttled up to meet the demand. Great value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Niceville, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought generator online. Delivered in three days. Generator performs great. Good bargain over Honda equivalent that sells for $300 more. After adding oil and gas, started on third pull. Quiet operation, low fuel consumption, good electrical supply. Added features make this a definite winner over Honda.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Lots of Features, Quiet
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice Small Gen Set

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Started on second pull, runs like a top. I would recommend this for someone needing easy start and carry features.
Pros: Compact, Clear Instructions, easy set up
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very quiet and very good product. Thank you Home Depot.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GENERATOR WAS DEFECTIVE BUT HOME DEPOT TOOK IT BACK WITHOUT A PROBLEM

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THE UNIT IS QUIET WITH THE YAMAHA ENGINE. ACTUAL DB'S 72@ 10FT IN FULL POWER MODE, 68 @10FT IN LOW POWER MODE. 51 DB WAS ACHEIVED IN LOW POWER MODE @30FT.
THE UNIT COMES WITH OIL IN A CONTAINER. INSTRUCTIONS INDICATE THIS IS THE AMOUNT YOU SHOULD ADD. IF YOU DO, YOU WILL OVERFILL AND HAVE A MESS ON THE INSIDE OF THE GENERATOR.
MY UNIT WORKED OK ON LIGHTS, TV AND LEAF BLOWER. HOWEVER, IT SHUT OFF WITH A 900w MICROWAVE AND A 1500w HEATER. I CONATCED SMARTER TOOLS (GOOD LUCK GETTING ANYONE TO ANSWER) AND THEY SAID IT WAS DEFECTIVE. THEY OFFERED TO SHIP A REPLACEMENT, BUT I RETURNED TO HOME DEPOT AND AM PURCHASING A DIFFERENT TYPE - NAME BRAND!!
MY BAD EXPIERENCE MAY HAVE BEEN AN EXCEPTION, BUT I WONT TAKE ANOTHER CHANCE ON AN UNPROVEN PRODUCT.
Cons: received a defective product
+3points
12out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Valkaria, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I Was Looking For

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The assistance from Home Depot employees was commendable!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AP-2000i, 1,600 Continuous Watts, Gasoline Powered Inverter Generator with Yamaha Engine-DISCONTINUED
from Rye NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great so far

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Starts right up.. Purrs quietly haven't really load tested it yet.
I like the concept of the inverter. The generator doesn't have to spin as fast under light loads. It's also a good design to have 12 volts available
I also like that the motor is a name brand that I recognize.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>