728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vacuum Cleaners & Floor Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose

2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose

Whether you need to replace the hose that was originally included with your vac, the extra reach of a longer hose or the extreme durability of our Pro Hose the RIDGID family of hoses has a solution for you. This RIDGID 20 foot Locking Wet/Dry Vac Hose contains all the great features of our standard replacement hose but at 20 ft. is nearly 3 times the length. It includes all of the adapters needed to fit any RIDGID vacuum.
Overall rating:
4.716 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
99%of customersrecommend this product91 of 92reviews
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(71)
4
(23)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Features 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
99%of customersrecommend this product91 of 92reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
Review 1 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from Eastern WA state
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This hose does the job, although is pretty 'light-weight'.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good value for the price. I checked around on Amazon and Ebay and similar hoses were at least
30-40% more expensive. The hose is quite light-duty, so you'll have to be careful not to kink it while it's being used. It came with three or four adapters so should fit quite a variety of vacuums. If you want something heavier-duty, more sturdy than this hose, be prepared to spend at least 3 times the money.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from Baton Rouge, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great for big nasty jobs.

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Cleaning out an attic recently that has so much dust and debris in it. Totally unreal job. Even some of it even gets pass the filter in the vacuum. So we put the vacuum unit outside so it could blow the excess filter passing dust outside. Two lengths of hose making 47' with the original one added still had a great amount of suction inside the attic. Dust, debris, critter mess, old saw dust all up the pipe and gone, One fourth the attic done and half a garbage can filled with dust and so on. It ran totally fine until the filter clogged up, several times! Requiring us to stop, shake it out and beat it clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, moves a lot of material
Cons: bit bulky
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from Albany, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product for Price

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a secondary hose for my dust collector. Was about to buy the 7'-8' replacement hose at the store for $20 but thought to look online first. Glad I did! Saw this 20' replacement hose for $25 with free shipping to store. Thanks!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from Augusta, Ga.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very useful around the house and shop!!!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Do you ever get aggravated with the short 6' hose that comes with your Wet/Dry Vac? This 20' hose eliminates the cumbersome, aggravation of your wet/dry vac following close behind you while you are cleaning. This long hose allows you to move more freely while you clean. You can reach high places without having to add the hard tubes that come with the wet/dry vac (which make it heavier) and cleaning your car or truck is better without the wet/dry vac being up under you. I do not know why Home Depot doesn't have this item in their stores because they would sell A LOT of them! Not to mention you pay MORE for the replacement 6' hose in the store than you do for this 20' hose online! Only in America.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, less expensive
Cons: none!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose

Just what I needed.

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This hose is longer and more flexible than the original on my old Craftsman Shop Vac. It allows me to cover more area without moving the vac. It is just what I needed!
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from Burke, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So please that I bought this hose extension, makes cleanup in the garage so much easier. Now I am not fighting with the vacuum, and dragging it all over. It feels shorter than it is, however it does measure 20ft. If you just have the hose your vac came with you need to upgrade. Before you do though, look in your manual and see how long of a hose your vac is rated for, this hose could impact your suction.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from Bellingham, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, but uncertain about its durability...

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The hose works fine. Using the connectors that come with it, there was no problem getting a good fit to the shop vacuum. My only concern is that it appears to be relatively "light duty" -- I am not sure how many years I will get out of the hose before it starts developing splits or holes. Time will tell (and perhaps I can add a comment about durability to this post after some time goes by).
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good buy!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This hose is the same as those that come with the larger Ridgid shop vacs. I needed a longer hose for sanding repairs to a ceiling after removing the 70's 'popcorn' texture. This connected directly to my sander, and it kept the dust to a minimum. The hose that came with my Ridgid shop vac isn't quite long enough, and this was exactly what I needed...and the price is roughly half of any other 20' hose available.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from Gray, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have put up with a six foot hose for 20 years and hated it, recently bought an eight foot hose from shop vac and it wasn't much better. This 20 foot hose is awesome, set the sixteen gallon vacuum in the center of the room and go to town. I Love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from Bellevue, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Tougher than a 55-gallon drum

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was using this hose as an extension to get the shop vac I have mounted to a 55-gallon plastic drum to reach out into our pond. During our first test, we did not have an air inlet to relieve the pressure and the drum collapsed under the vacuum while the hose held up fine. Rather impressive.
I appreciated that it cam with all the attachments including the one that fit directly to our shop vac and an adapter to link it to the hose already coming from our shop vac.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great for the price

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A little on the light duty side but I've been shopping around and couldn't find anything comparable for the price, not even close.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose

PERFECT FOR WHAT WE NEED

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We live in a small apartment, and are able to keep our shop vac in a coat closet in a centralized location of the apartment. With the new longer hose, coupled with the hose that came with the shop vac, we are able to vacuum the entire apartment without moving the shop vac. We also purchased a RIDGID 2-1/2 in Noise Reduction Muffler for the shop vac, which diffuses the exhaust beautifully so that the exhaust doesn’t blow everything in the closet to "smithereens," and greatly reduces the volume level of the noise. The hose is a bit bulky, but what else would you expect with a 2-1/2 in x 20 ft shop vac hose. It coils up easily when you are finished so you can store it away. Its construction is durable enough to vacuum with (would not recommend walking on it :-). Am VERY pleased with this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, price, works as intended
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from BAY CITY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GOOD FIT

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
HOSE WORKING GOOD ALLLOWS VACUME TO STAY OUT OF WAY TO GET TO JOB THAT NEEDS TO GET DONE.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great length and good value

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This hose is a great addition to the vacuum. lets me lean the garage without moving the vac much since the hose has enough slack.
The connector included with the new hose allows to easliy connect with the original hose to give you a total legth of 26 feet.
I would definitely buy again, wish I had done this ten years ago.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose

Ridgid 20' Shop Vac Hose

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Better than what I expected for the money. I purchase this hose to make my 6.5 hp 12 gal. Shop vac more of a wall unit. The hose is the same material as the competitors hose and also comes with an attachment to connect with my original 6' hose. The long length didn't cut down on any suction either. Very good product for the money.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from Sarasota fl
Gender:Male

Good hose

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was exactly what was portrayed on the website. It fitted perfectly and worked ver well
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from Powell OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PERFECT!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect addition to my shop's dust collection system. Connected it over my workbench so that it reaches all points in my shop. Adapters made for a smooth transition from my woodcraft reducer to my Ridgid vac wand and accessories.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from Lockport ny
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For my rain gutters

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The hose was perfect for my use. I was concerned that it might not fit my shop vac, but the included adapters worked just fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fits vacs that came with smaller hoses.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fit directly to my vac that came with 1 7/8 hose. Also the extra fittings are nice. I was able to join both size hoses together.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: poor description. wasn't sure of fit when ordered
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-1/2 in. x 20 ft. Universal Vacuum Hose
from ca

Does the job.

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good flexibility and length. Not much else to say about a hose...
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>