728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer

6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer

The Coleman 6 Watt Solar Battery Maintainer is the ideal solution for maintaining 12 Volt batteries for your cars, RVs, tractors, ATVs, electric fences, deer feeders, boats, and more. This unit is completely weatherproof and can be used both indoors and outdoors. The amorphous solar panel charges in all daylight conditions, even in the shade. The built-in blocking diode protects battery discharge at night. A perfect solution for battery maintenance, this unit is completely maintenance free and easy to install. The complete kit includes: 6 Watt amorphous panel, 4 pre-cut holes for easy installation, 4 stainless steel screws and 9.5 ft. of wire, 12 Volt DC plug, battery clamps and Quick Connect Technology. It has a maximum power output of 6 Watt, 400 mAh.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product14 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product14 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
Review 1 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
Bill
from Machias

Cord is brittle outside

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The install was nice and easy. It was in the low 20's outside and when I tried to untangle the cord from the panel to the battery, it snanpped like a dry twig and exposed the wires. Not what I was expecting, and I will be returning it.
I would not recommend this be used in cold weather.
Pros: Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: cord breaks in cold
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
Chuckar
from Fresno, Calif
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Two connectors, and easy to use

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only thing I will add is a 12volt LED for a visual sign it is working without having to use my volt meter. I knew this when I bought it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
Tone
from Pipersville, PA 18947, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works as expected. However, a Plug-in adapter would be nice to have with the product ins tea of the battery alligator clips. Had to make my own in order to utilize the equipment's plug-in jack.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
Coop
from Santa Fe, NM, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product performs as advertised. Great

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is perfect for my wife's car. Her car just sits there and is hardly ever used. Before this the battery would run down. Now it''s always up and starts the car immediately.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
DMB1
from Grays Harbor
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Seems well built

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Seems weak for beneficial recharging, won't charge much unless the sun is directly on it. It does charge, only a little.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: too weak to be much benefit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
RudeDog

Does what it's supposed to do; well-constructed.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had one panel for over a year charging the two batteries in my stored RV (isolated each battery with additional blocking diodes), but I just bought a second solar panel so that I could charge the batteries individually, because the lower-voltage battery will suck up all the current. With the panel in full sunlight, I measured 220mA going into a fully-charged battery. Just remember to clean the panel periodically -- it won't work well covered with dirt!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
redracer
from Smyrna, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Put solar panel on my sailboat- it works great!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I researched this product on the internet. Several companies market the exact same product, but Home deport had the best price and I did not have to pay for shipping! I have been checking my battery with a volt meter and this solar panel keeps my boat battery charged up and no problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
uechikid
from Antioch, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So Far So Good

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a Diesel truck that I don't drive very much any more ant the batteries are getting old. Recently, every time I need to use the truck the batteries are dead. Ever since I started using the Colman battery maintainer the truck syarts right up.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
jozsef
from Fort Valley, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works as promised but not for my application,i needed to run a cooler fan but but this unit only works in full sunlight,any cloud shade kills it.
jozsef...
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Nice Design
Cons: Scratches Easily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
Brandy5812
from Florence, SC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Husband Luvs It!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this for my husband for fathers day. He absolutly loves it. He uses it in his boat and come hunting season he will be using it in the deer stand he is building. Great product, great value!
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
Ladypr
from Glen Rock, PA 17327, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extends the batery life.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this on the electric fence around my large garden. I run the fence with an inverter and a car battery, only turning the fence on at night and off in the morning. The Coleman Charger doesn't keep the battery fully charged but it does extend the charge by one night. I still have to re-charge the battery but only every 4 days instead of every 3. It was very easy to install and use and would probably charge the battery in 2 or 3 days if I only used it once a week or so.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
sloughfoot
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works better than cheaper models

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works well at all times does not drain battery on cloudy days or at night
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
EMartin
from Kitty Hawk
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good value; works great, too!

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought the solar panel to trickle-charge a marine battery operating an automatic gate opener. It's was easy to install & works perfectly. It looks good mounted & we like being a little greener.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design, green
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
Bugsy
from Monana
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems well built and easy to use

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used for the first time this last weekend, so don't really know how well it will keep the battery on my camper charged. Seems to be well built and small enough to set up just about anywhere.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
Cabinsteve
from Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for my purpose

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I store an ate in a shed that has no electricity. I mounted this on the roof and it has kept the ate battery completely charged, even when it was covered in snow!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
FarmerDon
from Goldendale, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good quality and great selection

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The selection at Home Depot is enormous and the employees are very helpful.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
Harry
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Product was exactly as presented

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality was good as suggested. Delivery was very timely.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Nice Design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
Ludy
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product has not yet worked.

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So far after 24 hrs. the panel has not charged the motor gate in my driveway. The instructions were to install the panel above the gate, but the online instructions were different. So, we are working on it, and I hope I do not have to return it.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.