728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Solar Power or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer

6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer

The Coleman 6 Watt Solar Battery Trickle Charger is the ideal solution for maintaining 12 Volt batteries for your cars, RVs, tractors, ATVs, electric fences, deer feeders, boats, and more. This unit is completely weatherproof and charges in all daylight conditions, even in the shade. The built-in blocking diode protects battery discharge at night. A perfect solution for battery maintenance, this unit is completely maintenance free and easy to install. The complete kit includes: 6 Watt amorphous panel, 12 Volt DC plug, battery clamps, mounting hardware, and Quick Connect Technology. It has a maximum power output of 6 Watt, 400 mAh.
Overall rating:
4.526 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product34 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(27)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product34 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
Review 1 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from SanDiego CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I expected except the length of the cord.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looking for a way to maintain the battery thats is in our enclosed trailer. It operates a winch and lights and isn't always near electricity for use of an electric charger. I mounted this on the roof permanently although I wasn't happy about drilling holes in it. I did have to extend the wire that attaches to the battery, not sure why they make it is so short, I think it is about 4'. The requirement is 16ga wire and a maximum of 25'. I didn't purchase the extension cord I removed the battery clips and attached the wire via two butt connectors and re attached the battery clips.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: wire/cable too short
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Nevada Deserts.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Sun-Power.! Free All Day.!

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Any car battery will last a year or more longer with this solar charger, battery-maintainer. Bought it for my race-car..
Pros: Compact
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Pahrump, nevada
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works perfect

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Keeps the battery in my lawn tractor from running down in the cold weather
Pros: worked perfectly
Cons: cable could be 6 feet instead of 3 ft
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Parkesburg
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great idea

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is easy to assemble and hook up. The directions are explicit and to the point
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: cord from solar to battery could be longer
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product, great price

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
simple and effective
easy install
roof mounted on rv to maintain battery
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Simi Valley Ca.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

second panel purchased

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought the 1st one to use on my sail boat, ended up trying it on my Seadoo. Worked excellent! Unpack it, connect solar panel to battery cables which are included, connect to battery. how much easier can it get?
Bought a second one to use on my sailboat. Had to extend the wires. (did it myself even though an extension is available through Coleman), again, plugged panel into extended cables, connected it to the battery, put a volt meter on the battery & watched it increase in voltage. Excellent product, works exactly as advertised. Would recommend it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Lake County California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Comparison Shopping Purchase

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was apprehensive about buying a solar battery 'trickler/charger/maintainer'. I researched several other products, a few costing 3X as much as I paid for the one I bought at Home Depot. The reviews included "I get no reading on my voltmeter." and "Does this thing actually work?" I have trusted the Coleman Brand name for; Canoes, Air Mattresses, Lanterns, ice boxes and other outdoor goods, and at a great price why not this solar unit? When I got it I took it into the yard and hooked it up to a BMW M/C voltmeter. Facing the direct sun the meter registered 16 volts and corresponded with the needle depending on my angle to the sun. It has an overcharge guard built in. I'll be putting this on a sailboat w/ a Bluetop Optima Battery and expect a winning combination. Have already recommend it to friends. I trust a company who has a reputation to maintain - the Coleman name is right on it.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer

Simple solar charging

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This solar panel came in a timely manner, was packaged well, and looked to be of good quality. I chose to mount it slightly off the surface of my shed roof, and the wire was plenty long to run inside to charge my mower battery during the winter months. I have already recommended it to three or four other people.
Pros: Easy to Use
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solar battery maintainer

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I stay at a friends cabin in Ontario, Canada several times a year. I have sleep apnea and need a cpap machine when sleeping, We don't have electricity in the cabin so I have to use a battery to operate the machine. I simply connect the solar charger to the battery while we are on the lake fishing and the battery is ready for another full night of power for my cpap machine
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Fresno, Calif
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Two connectors, and easy to use

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Only thing I will add is a 12volt LED for a visual sign it is working without having to use my volt meter. I knew this when I bought it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Seems to work fine

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Installed this on our camper to keep the battery charged over the winter.
So far the tester shows the battery is at over 13 volts.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Smithville, TN 37166, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
First time buying a solar panel. This was easy to install and worked great. Increased battery power almost immediatly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Smyrna, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Put solar panel on my sailboat- it works great!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I researched this product on the internet. Several companies market the exact same product, but Home deport had the best price and I did not have to pay for shipping! I have been checking my battery with a volt meter and this solar panel keeps my boat battery charged up and no problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Upstate New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is as advertised

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Have used these types of low wattage solar collectors before... Simple to use and do a reasonable job at maintaining the charge in a good battery... This one seems to be on par with other manufactures...
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer

Does what it's supposed to do; well-constructed.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had one panel for over a year charging the two batteries in my stored RV (isolated each battery with additional blocking diodes), but I just bought a second solar panel so that I could charge the batteries individually, because the lower-voltage battery will suck up all the current. With the panel in full sunlight, I measured 220mA going into a fully-charged battery. Just remember to clean the panel periodically -- it won't work well covered with dirt!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Glen Rock, PA 17327, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extends the batery life.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this on the electric fence around my large garden. I run the fence with an inverter and a car battery, only turning the fence on at night and off in the morning. The Coleman Charger doesn't keep the battery fully charged but it does extend the charge by one night. I still have to re-charge the battery but only every 4 days instead of every 3. It was very easy to install and use and would probably charge the battery in 2 or 3 days if I only used it once a week or so.
Pros: Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Antioch, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So Far So Good

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a Diesel truck that I don't drive very much any more ant the batteries are getting old. Recently, every time I need to use the truck the batteries are dead. Ever since I started using the Colman battery maintainer the truck syarts right up.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Santa Fe, NM, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product performs as advertised. Great

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is perfect for my wife's car. Her car just sits there and is hardly ever used. Before this the battery would run down. Now it''s always up and starts the car immediately.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Highly Recommend this Product

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The solar battery maintainer was an excellent purchase. Within 36 hours two batteries were charged just by using this device. We couldn't be happier. Coleman brand products are always a great quality for the money.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Pipersville, PA 18947, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works as expected. However, a Plug-in adapter would be nice to have with the product ins tea of the battery alligator clips. Had to make my own in order to utilize the equipment's plug-in jack.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 >>