728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer

6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer

The Coleman 6 Watt Solar Battery Trickle Charger is the ideal solution for maintaining 12 Volt batteries for your cars, RVs, tractors, ATVs, electric fences, deer feeders, boats, and more. This unit is completely weatherproof and charges in all daylight conditions, even in the shade. The built-in blocking diode protects battery discharge at night. A perfect solution for battery maintenance, this unit is completely maintenance free and easy to install. The complete kit includes: 6 Watt amorphous panel, 12 Volt DC plug, battery clamps, mounting hardware, and Quick Connect Technology. It has a maximum power output of 6 Watt, 400 mAh.
Overall rating:
4.486 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product31 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(24)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product31 of 34reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
Review 1 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from SanDiego CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I expected except the length of the cord.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looking for a way to maintain the battery thats is in our enclosed trailer. It operates a winch and lights and isn't always near electricity for use of an electric charger. I mounted this on the roof permanently although I wasn't happy about drilling holes in it. I did have to extend the wire that attaches to the battery, not sure why they make it is so short, I think it is about 4'. The requirement is 16ga wire and a maximum of 25'. I didn't purchase the extension cord I removed the battery clips and attached the wire via two butt connectors and re attached the battery clips.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: wire/cable too short
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Pahrump, nevada
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works perfect

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Keeps the battery in my lawn tractor from running down in the cold weather
Pros: worked perfectly
Cons: cable could be 6 feet instead of 3 ft
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Simi Valley Ca.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

second panel purchased

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought the 1st one to use on my sail boat, ended up trying it on my Seadoo. Worked excellent! Unpack it, connect solar panel to battery cables which are included, connect to battery. how much easier can it get?
Bought a second one to use on my sailboat. Had to extend the wires. (did it myself even though an extension is available through Coleman), again, plugged panel into extended cables, connected it to the battery, put a volt meter on the battery & watched it increase in voltage. Excellent product, works exactly as advertised. Would recommend it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solar battery maintainer

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I stay at a friends cabin in Ontario, Canada several times a year. I have sleep apnea and need a cpap machine when sleeping, We don't have electricity in the cabin so I have to use a battery to operate the machine. I simply connect the solar charger to the battery while we are on the lake fishing and the battery is ready for another full night of power for my cpap machine
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Upstate New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is as advertised

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Have used these types of low wattage solar collectors before... Simple to use and do a reasonable job at maintaining the charge in a good battery... This one seems to be on par with other manufactures...
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Lake County California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Comparison Shopping Purchase

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was apprehensive about buying a solar battery 'trickler/charger/maintainer'. I researched several other products, a few costing 3X as much as I paid for the one I bought at Home Depot. The reviews included "I get no reading on my voltmeter." and "Does this thing actually work?" I have trusted the Coleman Brand name for; Canoes, Air Mattresses, Lanterns, ice boxes and other outdoor goods, and at a great price why not this solar unit? When I got it I took it into the yard and hooked it up to a BMW M/C voltmeter. Facing the direct sun the meter registered 16 volts and corresponded with the needle depending on my angle to the sun. It has an overcharge guard built in. I'll be putting this on a sailboat w/ a Bluetop Optima Battery and expect a winning combination. Have already recommend it to friends. I trust a company who has a reputation to maintain - the Coleman name is right on it.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer

Simple solar charging

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This solar panel came in a timely manner, was packaged well, and looked to be of good quality. I chose to mount it slightly off the surface of my shed roof, and the wire was plenty long to run inside to charge my mower battery during the winter months. I have already recommended it to three or four other people.
Pros: Easy to Use
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Highly Recommend this Product

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The solar battery maintainer was an excellent purchase. Within 36 hours two batteries were charged just by using this device. We couldn't be happier. Coleman brand products are always a great quality for the money.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Seems to work fine

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Installed this on our camper to keep the battery charged over the winter.
So far the tester shows the battery is at over 13 volts.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from grafton mass
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

solar maintainer

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
worked fine on maintaining lawn mower and an old second car
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Ellsworth, Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As advertised

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this solar panel to charge a small battery that operates a bilge pump in an unattended boat on a morring. So far, after almost 2 months, it is doing a great job
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Smithville, TN 37166, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
First time buying a solar panel. This was easy to install and worked great. Increased battery power almost immediatly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Pipersville, PA 18947, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works as expected. However, a Plug-in adapter would be nice to have with the product ins tea of the battery alligator clips. Had to make my own in order to utilize the equipment's plug-in jack.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Athens,TN.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product,well built,and looks like it will last.

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product was well packaged and arrived in perfect condition, all parts of it seem very well built,and I believe that it will last a long time,I'm happy with my purchase.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Fresno, Calif
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Two connectors, and easy to use

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Only thing I will add is a 12volt LED for a visual sign it is working without having to use my volt meter. I knew this when I bought it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Palm City, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a huge time and money saver.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This solar panel is hooked up to a boat bilge pump in a boat that has no other way to discharge water. It automatically pumps water and having the solar panels relieves us from replacing or recharging a car battery we previously had the bilge pump connected to. This is the second one I am using. The first one is over a year old and works great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Alamogordo New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Working Well So FAr

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was having a problem with using any type-brand of AC Powered Battery Maintainer (Battery Tender and Pulsetech) on my Tahoe in conjunction with my Viper 5701 2-way Alarm.
Evidently, an AC Ripple was causing the Alarm to activate-trip within a short period of time after arming.
While in storage, and without some sort of Maintainer, my battery would be close to dead from parasitic draw in short time, just 2-3 weeks time on average.
This Solar Charger seems to be maintaining my Optima Yellow Top Battery just fine. Even though the Charger is not in direct Sunlight for much of the day, and gets only ambient daylight as it is hung-strung under my Carport alongside the SUV, it seems to be doing its job by maintaining the Battery against the parasitic amperage draw.
It would probably produce more current output placed out in direct sunlight, where it would get more direct sun for more hours a day, but the New Mexican Desert weather here is brutal on anything sitting out in the sun.
Too early to tell since I've only had this Charger a few weeks,, but should I at least get a year or so use from this charger, I'll be happy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer

Easy to install and works as advertised.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I like the fact that it will not overcharge my batteries. Living in Florida we have a lot of sun and if that function did not work it would mean trouble.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from south carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for boat

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used in the winter to keep my boat battery charged
Pros: Compact
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6-Watt 12-Volt Solar Battery Maintainer
from Smyrna, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Put solar panel on my sailboat- it works great!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I researched this product on the internet. Several companies market the exact same product, but Home deport had the best price and I did not have to pay for shipping! I have been checking my battery with a volt meter and this solar panel keeps my boat battery charged up and no problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 >>